Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Lees-McRae College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 11/15/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 out of 12 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 1 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Active, outdoors, community service, athlete, non athletes, any one who wants to be known and recognized, loves snow and a chill in the air (even though it snows, it comes and goes a lot, but you are next to 4 ski resorts with in 10 minutes), skiers, snowboarders, tubers, anyone who likes to be in the water, hikes, climbs, bikes, backpacks, etc. Not for partiers and not for one who likes to hide in the classroom

    Tips for prospective students

    You are not a number you are a name and everyone will know you. You will be active and doing lots of projects and meeting new people.

    Bang for the buck

    What you get is what you pay for... I have friends from different countries and states. The food has gotten more fast-foody this year, but it is still good and always something to eat, and for a 109 year old college, it is in pretty great shape. But could use a few repairs, and yes I know we have great plans coming about soon to be started to be renovated.

    Am enjoying being here

    After I graduate in 2011, I plan to either work at the college or at least work in Banner Elk. It is so lovely and I really want to stay here. Too bad that LMC does not a Graduate program yet.

    Am learning a lot

    There is so much I do here at Lees-McRae. I am learning so much and so many new things.

  • 10/17/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 out of 9 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 2 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for those love the outdoors and want a career for the outdoors. The school is very small so it is great for those who want to have a closer relationship with their peers and also their professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you aren't sure where you would like to go, make a campus visit. You never really understand the college until you visit the campus and get a feel for the atmosphere. Really try to do well on your SAT/ACT. There are so many scholarships out there for those who do well on the standardized tests.

    Bang for the buck

    Overall this is a great school. The academics are on point and the atmosphere is perfect. Sure, the school could use a little improvements in some of the buildings, but it is still well worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    I absolutely love the atmosphere of the mountains and the college. Everything is more laid-back and more enjoyable. The campus is surrounded by beautiful mountain views and the crisp mountain air. There is always something to do outside, even in the dead of winter. The professors also make it great because you begin to form a bond with them because you are actually a person here, not some kid in a room of 200.

    Am learning a lot

    Lees-McRae has a great curriculum and great academics. I am a Wildlife Biology major and a lot of my classes are hands-on which helps a lot with the learning process. The small class sizes are great because professors can hear what their students have to say. The professors here are also very helpful. They really want to see their students succeed and do well in life, so they do everything they can to help you if you are having trouble with something. There is also plenty of tutoring help if you need help with a certain subject.

  • 02/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 3 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i've never had an issue on this campus. it's really safe here. the biggest concern is that sometimes bears like to wander around, but that rarely happens. besides, the school makes sure to send us emails and let us know what to do if we see a bear!

    Clubs and Activities

    we have plenty of clubs to choose from: -quidditch -nda/apo -more greeks -backpacking club -search and rescue -lmc players -h.i.c.s. -dance company -sga -sports -s.a.v.e. -recycling

    Great for these types of students

    if you're a student looking for a small school with a community atmosphere and plenty of outdoors-y stuff to do, this is the place for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    at lees-mcrae, we have two events that have really stuck out to me. during the fall semester, we have mountain day. all classes are cancelled and we walk to wildcat lake. we dance, kayak/canoe, eat, hang out, and just relax. it's a way to get to know everyone. spring semester, we have mountain day of service. once again, classes are cancelled, but this time we go perform community services. some groups do stuff on campus, for campus, and others go out into the community. you feel really good after mountain day of service. you feel like you've really accomplished something meaningful.

    Bang for the buck

    if you work hard and appreciate everything you're given here, it's worth every penny.

    What to do for fun

    there are a ton of school events to choose from. we have a quidditch team (yes, a quidditch team) starting to get on its feet. our outdoors program leads backpacking and camping trips all over the mountains on weekends. on some school nights, we'll have movies playing in evans. the most recent movie was the immortals. there are dances (like nda's black and white ball) and fundraisers to go to. we have relay for life during spring semester. there are a ton of ski and snowboard places here, and there are plenty of trails to go walk. there's a duck pond right by campus that's a great place to hang out and relax. during fall semester, you can go to wildcat lake, too. we're about half an hour from boone, so many students go there on weekends, too.

    Food and Dining

    i am only giving this a three because of circumstances that are finally starting to balance themselves out. for the past year or so, we've switched head chefs way too many times, which has made the food a little difficult to judge. our newest cafeteria head is a sweet woman who is doing an excellent job. and, to be honest, if you can't find anything you want to eat in the cafeteria, you can head to wily's when it opens. with your meal plan, you get a declining budget of wily's money, and it comes in handy. if you're craving some chicken strips, a salad, or a milkshake, it's the best place to go. plus, they have some of the best cookies i've ever had.

    Dorm Life

    oh, the dorm life. freshmen must live in designated freshmen dorms. for girls, that is avery. for guys, those are virginia and tennessee. i can't speak for the guy's dorm life, but for the girls, avery is a good location to be. it is right outside of the cafeteria and the student center. most of the classes you need to go to are five minutes away at max. if you wanted, you could wake up ten minutes before class and walk there. you will have your drama in the dorm, but it's four floors of girls. that's just a given. the ra's are really nice, and they're willing to help out with whatever you need. all in all, the dorm life is better than most places out there.

    Academic Rigor

    i'm in the honors program, and i think it's decent. a lot of things could be improved on, but there's nothing on that list that should push anyone away from this school. the core curriculum makes sure you become well rounded, and if you do most of it during your freshman year, you can focus on classes for your major the rest of your time here!

    Tips for prospective students

    if you don't like snow, don't come here. as i'm writing this review, it's snowing. this is a place to ski and snowboard. also, be ready for a small town feel. this is not a college city; it is small. you have to know the area you're living in before you decide to come here. show up to classes. there shouldn't be any reason for someone to fail a class here. the professors are very interested in knowing you. the class sizes are very, very small. if you fail a class, it's because you didn't show up. don't worry if you seemed overwhelmed that a school could be so small that everyone knows everyone. i promise that you'll get there too.

    In three sentences

    i love lees-mcrae. it is a beautiful mountain school that makes you feel like you live in a personal snow globe. this school prides itself on a strong community.

  • 10/21/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 4 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    LMC is great for any student that highly values being a name and a face instead of a number. The professors and faculty members truly do care about student success and well-being.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit the campus! You'll never truly know the closeness of the community until you step into it.

    Bang for the buck

    Lees-McRae's financial aid made the process of paying for school a breeze. The quality of education is well worth the price of attendance.

    Am enjoying being here

    The atmosphere of the campus is such a tightly knit community it is near impossible not to form relationships that will last a life time. That is true of both peer relationships and with faculty members.

    Am learning a lot

    The curriculum at Lees-McRae provides me with a great liberal arts overview of a cross-cultural education while really honing in on my majors of choice.

  • 10/24/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 5 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students that like to see every type of season, because the weather changes a lot in the mountains. If you are a student that likes a lot of one on one attention you will get it here.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like the outdoors, I would say this is one of the most beautiful places around. If you are interested in sports start talking to coaches now. If you are not an athlete this school offers a lot of extracurricular activities so look into getting involved, it will offer you more with your degree.

    Bang for the buck

    You get a lot for your money! I would also say don't let the price scare you away, because there are ways that you can make it affordable through grants and scholarships.

    Did enjoy being here

    I loved attending LMC, i would not change anything about my experience. If I could change anything it would be learning even more than I did from the people around me.

    Did learn a lot

    I Learned a lot in and out of the classroom while attending LMC. LMC gives you a lot of different option because it is a small school. While attending LMC i got to put on a local 5k running race, win a national title as a team, and also have a beautiful environment to learn in.

  • 05/03/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very secure. Girls are required to put the number to the security building in their phone just in case.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs on campus. There is a kayaking club, sororities and fraternities, open mic nights and mainly a lot of fun. You can start up your own club if you want to.

    Great for these types of students

    adventurous, studious, fun loving, outdoorsy.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The boys dorm is haunted. There is a cemetery on campus. Many of the students will sleep outside for the fun of it. Also they will go rock jumping in the river behind the athletic building. The theatre department is inside an old mill.

    What to do for fun

    go rock jumping in the river behind the athletic building.

    Food and Dining

    The food is amazing. If you want a special request food they will make it.

    Dorm Life

    Girls and guys are in separate dorms until your sophomore year. There is an Honors dorm. Also you can have you pet with you in the pet friendly dorm building. Plus there are many international students.

    Academic Rigor

    I have been accepted into the Honors Program where you have to take a n honors course every year. Also you could when a scholarship based off your academic performance.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get a head start on the application process as well as on scholarships. Try to convince your friends to come if you want to have some one you know there on campus with you. Get use to walking and studying more. Don't be afraid when someone starts petting their snake in the middle of science class.

    In three sentences

    Lees-McRae offers the most variety that I have seen so far at colleges. Lees-McRae offers more rigorous courses for students who like to be challenged in class. Lees-McRae is located on a beautiful campus that will inspire many different types of people.

  • 05/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Not much to do really, its good to find great hiking spots, and having friends to enjoy things with. There is also a couple rivers and waterfall to go to when its nice out.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great if you love small, close nit communities.

    In three sentences

    I love it here! The people are so nice and the whole school atmosphere is like nothing I've eve experianced.

  • 04/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's a really small town (one stoplight), so we very rarely have any interpersonal crime. Mostly we just have to look out for bears.

    Greek Life

    All sororities and fraternities are required to be service-based, and they do various projects throughout the year. Off the top of my head, we have chapters for Delta Zeta Nu, Alpha Alpha Psi, Alpha Psi Omega, Nu Delta Alpha, Beta Omicron Kappa, and a couple others.

    Clubs and Activities

    Equestrian club, hiking club, backpacking club, rock climbing competition team, dance company, Bobscats (a cappella group), Christian Choir, Nerd Club

    Great for these types of students

    Self-motivated, looking to double major in potentially unrelated subjects, uncomfortable in big cities/schools, can't live without your pet, active

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We were founded by a Presbyterian minister who devoted his life to service in the Blue Ridge mountains, so once a semester we have Mountain Day. In the fall, Mountain Day celebrates our history and culture as a Scottish-Presbyterian school, and we hike up Grandfather mountain for a whole picnic day out as a school. In the spring, it's Mountain Day of Service and you spend a day off class donating your time to a project in need of help on campus or in the community.

    Bang for the buck

    You're not going to find the personal attention and care at a bigger college, but even for a small college the faculty here make an exceptional effort to get to know you and support you through your education. As long as you're putting in effort, you will be given the tools to succeed.

    What to do for fun

    Go hiking, biking, rock climbing, enter intramural sports events, see athletic competitions, watch on-campus performances (for free), eat at Wily's, Sushi Club (dance club), go to Student Government events. Or if you want to get out of town, go to Boone or Johnson City.

    Food and Dining

    The service is spectacular but the food is still caf food, y'know? You can eat at the MacDonald Dining Hall (cafeteria), or you can eat at Wily's Cafe (diner). You only have limited Wily's money but you can check your caf card as many times during the day as you want (Fall 2013 and onward).

    Dorm Life

    Lots of good people, but you're still living with other teenagers. Options for pet-friendly, coed, and house/apartment living after your freshman year.

    Academic Rigor

    Three stars ONLY because it really does depend on the student. You can walk out of here with an easy degree earned on the bare minimum requirements, but it will only hurt your career in the long run. If you want a challenge, you will be challenged- you just have to take it upon yourself to ask for it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a tour! It's the best way to get to know the campus. You can sit in on any class if you want to see what a typical day is like. Be totally honest on the housing form, it makes a difference. PROTIP: You can get your application fee waved if you fill out an application on campus.

    In three sentences

    The college is pricy, but the financial aid department does a very good job of helping students afford it. This is the college to go to if you want special attention and academic flexibility. Double majoring is allowed, and supported even in completely unrelated majors (of which there are several unique ones).

  • 06/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Outdoors people will LOVE this school.

    What to do for fun

    You can ski, snowboard, hike, play in intramural sports, or go to on and off campus parties.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is not so great, however, Wylies (the after hours campus dining restaurant) is amazing and students enjoy eating there regularly.

    Dorm Life

    Everyone gets to know one another and you all become close. The RA staff is pretty cool and laid back.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your major, your classes can be pretty simple or extremely difficult!

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard, Meet as many people as you can, have fun!

    In three sentences

    This school located in an amazing small town. It has a low student-teacher ratio and the professors are great and get to know their students. The President is nice and loves to help students in any way he can.

  • 01/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is located at 4000ft, in the middle of the mountains. I haven't heard of one thing safety related that would cause concern for me yet.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are dozens of clubs and sports to partake in, I highly recommend doing so!

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are outdoorsy will have the best time here, but thats not to say there aren't indoorsy type things to do either!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Soccer Team Dance Off; Its pretty funny. Cycling Team Grand Prix; They ride around in costume several times a year, in snow, mud, rain, or otherwise crazed conditions. Its a lot of fun.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition here is broadcasted as being a lot more than it actually is. Getting financial aid and scholarships is incredibly easy, and all in all you'd be surprised to learn you actually pay less than a third of what the tuition is. And with all the things you can do on and around campus, its hard to say it isn't worth it.

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of different clubs and sports to be a part of here at Lees-McRae, from the BobScats, to the Soccer Team, to the Cycling Team, and backpacking club. There is always a new thing to try and do.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay most of the time, but it isn't anything like mom's cooking!

    Dorm Life

    There is always something going on, and for the most part its a great place to live. The dorms are always interesting, you meet a lot of new and interesting people!

    Academic Rigor

    Its all about how you learn, and how much you apply yourself. Faculty here are all about helping you succeed, so reach out if you're having problems.

    Tips for prospective students

    1) Its a small school! Be yourself, its a surprisingly accepting community here. 2) Get used to the idea of snow, and cold. One of the hardest things to adjust to is the weather! It is an incredible place to live at all times of the year, but you have to love snow! 3) Get involved. Its easy to be a face in the crowd, but here at Lees-McRae being involved in something is a great way to destress over school.

    In three sentences

    Lees-McRae is an amazing place to go to school. Because it is a small school its easy to find people who are into the same things as you, and creating opportunities for yourself and others to try new things is always encouraged. I really enjoy school here.

  • 02/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There aren't many places to go within walking distance but Boone is only half an hour away and there are plenty of places to go hiking.

    Food and Dining

    Wily's is delicious but it would be nice to have more options there as well as in the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm rooms are small but everyone is friendly.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your major, the classes can be very difficult or relatively easy. It all depends on the teachers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you don't get too caught up in the social scene and focus on your studies. Your grades can and will catch up with you.

    In three sentences

    Lees-McRae has a beautiful campus and a caring staff. The small teacher-student ratio is especially helpful for student athletes who may need extra time with their teachers.

  • 05/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a campus security on campus, and the guards are very pleasant. They will help you whenever you are called no matter the time or situation. Also, if needed there is a police station right down the road and a fire department across the street. The campus is very safe with not a lot of action or trouble happening. The campus is home to at least one bear, and the guards are good about getting word out when the bear is roaming around and will walk students to and from places if needed.

    Greek Life

    There are only a few greeks on campus, but they are very active in the community with services they do around the town. Each greek is it's own and they each have their own rules. Throughout the year each greek club will hold parties and/or special events that are fun and neat to go to (ie. 20's themed dance).

    Clubs and Activities

    The school has a multitude of sports clubs on campus that can be explored more on the schools website. There is a club interest event where the students go and check out each club offered on campus and can join, or even start your own club.

    Great for these types of students

    Lees McRae is a great place for anyone in drama or wildlife. The school offers great programs for both of these majors. We have many students from out of the country, mainly for cycling. The school is known for its cycling, soccer, and women's lacrosse. If you like a small school setting then this school is also for you. The school and town is very private and many tourists come there every year.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is very old and was founded in 1900 by Edward Tuff. There js a Presbyterian church on campus with a grave yard so there are many ghost stories going around. Also, some of the dorms used to be part of a hospital so the rooms have not been changed much since it has been a hospital and there are ghost stories going around there. The most famous ghost story is about a 12 year old girl Emily that died around 1930's at the hospital of TB. She roams the campus but mainly fourth floor in Tate dorm. If you look for her tomb stone you won't find it because it moves. There is a tomb stone that looks like hers but that is of a 80 year old woman that died around the time she did. Many people get this grave confused for hers. A tradition that has been around the campus is Mountain Day. On Mountain Day, the school is closed for the day and everyone is to join a group to help clean up the campus. It's a mass service day and the school provides a great lunch with t-shirts. It's a nice way for everyone to get involved and just clean the beautiful campus.

    Bang for the buck

    The college is kind of pricey but for the amount of money you are paying you do get something out of the experience. However, if you do not find your major or the school does not have what you need, then I would consider transferring or not going. The school is expanding in programs, but they need to get started first. The college is pricey when all payments are broken down and calculated, so make sure you want something Lees McRae has to offer before you pay the money.

    What to do for fun

    There is not much to do in Banner Elk for those in college, it is a very small campus. However, there is a club across the street that is very college friendly. The main part of the area, Boone, which has the restaurants and stores is only about a 35 minute drive.There is a field open where people can play frisbee, lay out to tan, etcâ?¦ There are many trees evenly spaced across campus to hammock. The Blue Ridge Wildlife Institute, which is a wildlife rehabilitation facility, is great to volunteer at and is fun to see/work with the animals. The sports complex is open to the public to use, like track, pool, soccer, etcâ?¦ The campus will hold different events every week from movies to plays, themed nights (ie. casino night) to games (ie. dodgeball). The town holds many festivals, like Woolly Worm Festival, that are fun to do with friends or family. Also, the school sits between two large ski resorts that give discounts to students throughout the year. Also, the school is beside Grandfather Mnt. that also gives discounts to students as well as job opportunities.

    Food and Dining

    The food is diverse with something new everyday. They are open to vegetarians diets and have a vegetarian section everyday. There is a gluten free section as well but it is not as diverse as it could be. The cafeteria is spacious and always clean. There is also an on campus grill called Wily's. The food there is very good and it is nice to go there and hang out while you eat.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm rooms are a comfortable size. They aren't too small and some of the rooms are larger than others. The cleaning crew and maintenance personnel are very sweet and do a wonderful job. Not all the dorms are wheel chair friendly and do not have elevators. Only the library and a couple of other places have elevators. The dorms are nice and clean, it's all about the people living in them that students decide for themselves how they like the dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The college is all about academics. The teachers are very friendly and personable so if you need help don't be afraid to ask them. Also, the tutors are amazing and will help you on whatever subject you need in your learning style. If you study and pay attention in class the subjects are easy to learn. There are a variety of majors and minors available, and more are coming in every year the school expands. So, if your desired major is not available, you can ask administration and they will help you on the path to majoring in your desired degree even if it is not offered quiet yet.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open minded in meeting a diverse group of individuals from all over the world. Be ready to learn on an intense level of education, but don't be afraid to ask for help if needed. Our tutoring services are great and the teachers are all friendly and ready to get to know the students. Banner Elk is small so be prepared to not have as much outside activities to do, but the college provides us students with fun activities every week. The school is very small, so be prepared to know everyone or at least see everyone that goes to the school within the first couple of weeks. However, it is expanding as we speak. The campus is not very wheel chair friendly but it does have a few elevators.

    In three sentences

    Lees McRae College is a very diverse campus with any and all type of persons attending. The college is small, yet it's heart is large, and it's students and faculty are very involved in helping the school as well as helping the small community it's in. Lees McRae is always expanding to better fit the needs of its students and listens to what its students have to say.

  • 02/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is extremely safe on campus and security monitor the parking lots and building frequently. The only worries are the bears and bobcats that occasionally cross through!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The festival are always fun and the locals are all nice.

    Bang for the buck

    Taking a ski or snowboarding class is a must!

    What to do for fun

    The mountains offer a ton of things to so. Even if you are not into skiing, snowboarding, hiking, biking, etc. the views are so beautiful and the mountain overlooks are still a great place to sit quietly and relax.

    Food and Dining

    I would love to see the food get upgraded to more healthy choices with fresh food more often. Most of the foods are not very healthy overall.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm heating system is off but at I guess I can't complain when it is freezing outside.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are all great and understanding when it comes to athletes needing to travel for sports events.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get yourself organized and have questions written down ahead of time.

    In three sentences

    The admissions process was stress free and was quick to complete. I appreciated the attention given by the staff.

  • 06/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe! There is a security office located in the middle of campus. The security officers patrol the campus throughout the day.

    Greek Life

    I do not know much about this. There is a fraternity and a sorority but I know very little about them. This is not a big thing on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Various sports/outdoors clubs such as soccer, backpacking, quidditch, etc. plenty of school activities such as movies, study nights, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    athletic and outdoor-loving students. students who do not need to be right in the middle of a big campus or big city. students who like quiet.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Mountain Day of Service- a day in the spring and fall where everyone doesn't attend classes and cleans up/renovates the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    I think the school is overpriced, especially the housing and food. The meal plan is expensive and the dorms are overpriced. The education is quality, just overpriced.

    What to do for fun

    go rock climbing, go hiking, go to the lake, join a club/intramural sport, lounge in a hammock, go to a campus event such as a movie in the auditorium.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is decent. There is a wonderful salad bar. The hot foods are not always great. However, if you want different foods you can make a request and the staff usually listens to you.

    Dorm Life

    Most of the dorms are small. The bathrooms are decent. There are different dorms and housing options available for upper classmen but you must be selected from a lottery to live in them.

    Academic Rigor

    If you do your assignments and study a little bit every day, it is not hard to get an A. If you slack off, your grade will show it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not come if you can not stand cold, snowy weather. Do not come if you do not enjoy being outdoors.

    In three sentences

    Lees McRae College is located in one of the most beautiful areas, the Appalachian Mountains. Most all of the students are student athletes. The teachers are very friendly and helpful.