Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Leeward Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/14/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for people who want smaller class sizes and are not affraid to interact with other people since some classes are based on group learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be afraid to interact with other students on campus. Although there are a lot of classes and teachers, it is good to ask other peers about their experiences to help with your decision.

  • 10/07/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Am learning a lot

    This school is great-the staff, the students, and the activities! You have a huge opportunity to meet new people, and the teachers are really approachable. It's a very comfortable environment. I'm glad i made the decision to start my college career at a Community campus.

  • 03/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    security always seems to pop up at inconvenient times...

    Clubs and Activities

    lots of cool stuff to do!

    Great for these types of students

    laid back, easygoing, shy people that need to ease out of their shell, and any ethnicity... this is hawaii, we get all sorts!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the arts and music building is a great place to hang out, really relaxed and there's always somebody playing music/guitar/piano/saxophone/whatever!

    Bang for the buck

    great learning and networking opportunity, and cheap too!

    What to do for fun

    lots of small events and student life activities. some nice spots to practice parkour as well if you're into it.

    Food and Dining

    subway on campus, the cafeteria's not that great though.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms here!

    Academic Rigor

    really easy and laid back if you focus.

    Tips for prospective students

    make friends and participate! since you're on an island, the connections you make now will last no matter which hawaii college you decide to transfer to.

    In three sentences

    lcc is great for people who aren't ready to go to university. it's affordable and accessible for people living on the west coast. it has a fun and laid back atmosphere, great for easing into college life.

  • 08/05/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Hard-working, yet social students are welcome!

    Tips for prospective students

    Always keep an eye out for special events!

    Bang for the buck

    Not ready to go for the big universities? Don't worry! What you pay for one class at a university may be able to pay for a full-time status at Leeward!

    Am enjoying being here

    This school is a wonderful place to start your college studies. Everyone in the faculty is kind, caring, and will help you with whatever your needs are. The students are just as friendly, and most of them become your friends in the future!

    Am learning a lot

    The classes are very detailed and interesting to follow. The work may be tough, but the endurance and effort they require are sure to give you an understanding of what you're learning!

  • 10/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Affordable and Fun! The vibe you get here in this school is a warm friendly feel and everyone there are great responsible people. I can 't forget about the staff because they are willing to help everyone succeed in their college life. So, if you don't know where to start, try Leeward!

  • 12/09/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for any student who has at least one goal that sets them off in a direction.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to attend classes regularly or else you may fall behind in your work, even if you are ahead. If you don't attend classes regularly, you may fall into the habit of almost always skipping, which would result in–eventually–neglecting to do the work. Also, take advantage of the activities and such the school offers, it'll make the college experience all the more fun.

    Bang for the buck

    The prices are reasonable for what everything is worth. You often get what you paid for.

    Am enjoying being here

    The laid-back atmosphere on campus provides a comfortable feeling of relaxation while studying. You don't get a sense of being extremely stressed, even when it is exam week(s). In addition to this, talking to other students and teachers is very easy.

    Am learning a lot

    Due to small-sized classes, there is more interaction with the teachers and the rest of the students in the class as compared to a large-sized class. Being taught in such an environment allows you to really get the material down. Furthermore, most teachers are nice and open, and are readily available to help in any way they can.

  • 12/25/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    There are a lot of classes at different times and days and there are also online courses so it's great for any student.

    Tips for prospective students

    Schedule an appointment with a counselor for academic advising; they will help you choose the courses you need and help you schedule them. Check out ratemyprofessor.com before making your final choices. Ask studnets for advice who took the courses before.

    Bang for the buck

    Credits are inexpensive. Also, there are a lot of resources available for students which help you pass your course and learn the material. Academic help is provided through free tutoring, a learning resource center, the library, a math lab and a writing center. There are also computer labs and a laptop loan program. The staff is very helpful.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is nice. There are a lot of student activities and events that are fun.

    Am learning a lot

    The instructors are there to help you learn the material and help you pass your course. The classes are structured well.

  • 02/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    guards everywhere.

    Clubs and Activities

    i haven't personally seen any extra-curricular groups or activities.

    Great for these types of students

    students who are cost conscious.

    Bang for the buck

    the cost is fairly low and the teachers are, for the most part, exceptional.

    What to do for fun

    they have a student lounge, if you like card games and competitive video gamers. good place to relax though.

    Food and Dining

    the food is catered by lcc students so it varies but there is always a subway sandwich shop.

    Dorm Life

    i don't think there is dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes vary.

    Tips for prospective students

    keep a map on you to make it easier. make friends during nso.

    In three sentences

    lcc is fun and has many events catered towards their students. most of the professors are easy to relate to and know their subject. the campus is also fairly easy to navigate.

  • 04/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's relatively safe but we did have some domestic problems. Mostly at night.

    Greek Life

    ah...idk

    Clubs and Activities

    Soccor club plays sometimes on the fields.

    Great for these types of students

    Great please for completing prerequisites for almost any major.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Well not sure if it's unusual but we do have an awesome view of pearl harbor and some of it's old battle ships.

    Bang for the buck

    It's more affordable then UH Manoa, definitely a Bang for the buck.

    What to do for fun

    There is a soccer club that plays some games on the lawns.

    Food and Dining

    We finally have subway in the cafe. The food there is okay.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms

    Academic Rigor

    There are a lot of teachers that demand more from their students and some that don't.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use RateYourProfessor website to pick your teachers. If you really want a good teacher and you want to learn, pick teachers that look hard but are knowledgeable. Don't be afraid of work, if you are maybe college is not for you.

    In three sentences

    Has some Awesome teachers! Has a verity of classes available.

  • 04/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Although they just raised their prices, it is still cheaper than the universities.

    What to do for fun

    It's nice to get involved in the school, like intramural sports. You can meet new people that are really nice!

    Dorm Life

    Leeward Community College does not have a dormitory facility for students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't procrastinate for deadlines of scholarships, homework, or anything pertaining to college. Anything you do will affect you either in a positive or negative way.

    In three sentences

    Leeward Community College is an awesome school that provides great professors to help students succeed. I really like how my school has a mixed generation of student nationalities, and we all get along. I love the atmosphere and positive vibes that the school brings.

  • 05/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is ensured on campus. Whether you have a morning class or an evening class, you can be sure your safe. There are campus securities everywhere making sure that everyone is safe. They also have a phone line you can reach them at just in case you need help such as walking to your car during the night for example.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities to choose from such as sports, student government, and even poetry to name a few. These are options for those with variety of interests.

    Food and Dining

    There is cafe on campus to satisfy your hunger. They have been trying to improve food and dining by adding more options for students. Just last year, they opened Subway on campus. There are many options for students and for every culture.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately, Leeward Community College does not provide housing on campus for students.

    Tips for prospective students

    For prospective students, seek for assistance especially by talking to counseling advisors. Apply for financial aid even if you know you don't qualify. Set up a campus tour and register early because courses can fill up really quickly. Always contact the school when you need help. They are very helpful and patient. They care about their students and are more than willing to help you every step of the way.

    In three sentences

    Leeward Community College is a great option for those who have not decided on a major. It is a great school for those who have financial problems. Many courses offered here are transferrable to four-year colleges.

  • 06/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Leeward would be great for easy-going new college students. It'll be like a little stepping stone to get you ready for better colleges.

    Bang for the buck

    Some classes were worth it while others definitely were not. I strongly advise students to always check ratemyprofessors.com to get an idea of the professor before they pay for their class.

    What to do for fun

    There's a lot of students to interact with in front of the library. Everyone's nice. Often, there are students playing soccer or volleyball in the field. There are a handful of events as well, including Free Food Day.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good. The culinary arts students sometimes prepare some really tasty desserts and other fancy dishes that are sold in the cafe. They recently installed a Subways and they're also putting in a coffee shop in the library. There's a very expensive 5-star restaurant on campus as well.

    Dorm Life

    I have not lived in a LCC dorm. Though, I can tell you that living in Hawai'i is no joke - it's very expensive. Paying for college is A LOT of money, but added to the cost of living in Hawai'i.. it's ridiculous.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are easy, but it depends on the teachers. Some classes are not very good because some teachers don't care much or teach a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    Leeward Community College would be a good college to help ease you into college life.

    In three sentences

    At Leeward, a lot of the teachers are very laid-back. There aren't a lot of available classes. It's very easy-going and simple.

  • 06/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 53

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Very

    Food and Dining

    Not that great

    Tips for prospective students

    Study!

    In three sentences

    Leeward is a great school. Friendly environment.

  • 06/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is like home! The security guards are always on the lookout and the maintenance workers are all over the campus so its a safe place to be.

    Greek Life

    I did not experience any Greek life, but the food is tasty.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs and all of the activities are a great way to expand ourselves. Plus, making new friends is awesome!

    Great for these types of students

    Leeward Community College is for all types of students is very much welcome. Lots of aloha (love)!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Go to the halau (a place for Hawaiian native or any students). There you'll find a place just like home. Much love and aloha for everyone on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Make friends with the local people because they know where to go to get some cheap eats.

    What to do for fun

    Living in Hawaii, the beach is the best way to have fun with spending a bundle.

    Food and Dining

    This could be a great challenge because dining out can be very expensive.

    Dorm Life

    I've never had a dorm life, but I think its a great opportunity to experience it.

    Academic Rigor

    Try to over exceed yourself in learning. As we increase our knowledge, good habits will reflect our learning experiences. Ant the able to see the connections, identify patterns, evaluate outcomes, speculate on possibilities and assess value.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't procrastinate because it can be over whelming and stressful. Do your homework right away and review daily is always a good tip. In this way, you'll be prepared and ready.

    In three sentences

    The instructors at Leeward Community College have terrific skills in teaching. They will spend extra time with their students and share some of their strategies to succeed. Also, the tutors help are a blessing to have.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 53

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Tons of clubs and sports you can join and meet new people.

    Food and Dining

    Food in the cafe is on the expensive side, however there is a subway on campus that is pretty reasonable.

    Dorm Life

    I'm not dorming, so I have no review to give.

    Academic Rigor

    Not too easy, not too hard. Right in the middle. Depends on the student and their work habits.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to use ratemyprofessors.com to see what rating your teacher has before taking the class.

    In three sentences

    Very easy to get in. Perfect for students looking for a cheap way to get all the core classes out of the way. Also great for students planning on transferring to a 4-year university.

  • 08/12/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The cafe is pretty cool. They almost always have something worth trying. And if keeping it safe is your thing , they have SUBWAY!

    Dorm Life

    There isn't any lol.

    Academic Rigor

    Some teachers are gonna be what you expect and others actually step out the box to make you feel like you what are learning is actually note-worthy information.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open to new things you've never tried. Be willing to meet new people and to step out your comfort zone.

    In three sentences

    Cool vibe. Has an awesome student government that puts together relevant activities and fairs -personal and business related. Wide variety of courses to take too.

  • 10/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 53

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Lots of beaches to go to, places to sight see. Lots of activities.

    Food and Dining

    awesome, Hawaii has the best food. Poi and fish!

    Dorm Life

    Am sorry I do not live in the dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    excellent

    Tips for prospective students

    Continue to make plans, goals and ask questions if you do not understand. The counselors are helpful and would like to see the students succeed.

    In three sentences

    Awesome, helps the students succeed, check in with students to see if their on the right way to reaching their goals.

  • 11/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We always have security during class hours.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am a writing tutor.

    What to do for fun

    I go out with fellow classmates.

    Food and Dining

    I bring my own food to school.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm I live at home.

    Academic Rigor

    I want to be a substance abuse counselor. So that I can help my community where i live.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to school for all classes so you don't fall behind. And at any time when you don't understand your professor just let them know. They will help you.

    In three sentences

    I honestly believe that Leeward Community College in Waianae (LCCW) is a terrific school. At LCCW everyone is treated as if we are all family. And as for the professors they are all the bomb.

  • 12/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 53

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are different fun events that go on through the campus for different things. There are sports, video game competitions, performances, and much more. The student lounge is also a great place to just hang out, play video games, watch tv, or play some ping pong.

    Food and Dining

    The food is amazing. There are times where the culinary students actually do live cooking, where students can order food and have it made fresh. They also have times through the semester where they make delicious desserts. The pricing for the food is appropriate and more on the cheap side. There is also a 4 star restaurant located on campus, where the culinary students showcase their skills.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms for this college.

    Academic Rigor

    So far, I've gained a lot of knowledge from my classes and even came out with things I wouldn't have expected to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be more aware of the little things that go on throughout the campus and pay attention to newsletters. Always use every resource you possibly can, there are many that can be used to your benefit and often times are free.

    In three sentences

    Leeward Community College is a clean, safe, with a friendly staff, that meets my standards for a community college. I feel that it even has a better feel than the universities I have visited. I would recommend this college to anyone who wants to attend a good school, at a cheaper rate than a university.

  • 03/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Price is okay.

    Food and Dining

    I love the food they make but its kind expensive.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Its very good.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring home lunch because food can be a bit pricey.

    In three sentences

    Leeward community college is a very positive environment. Teachers are helpful. And the cafe is great with food.

  • 08/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Have dinning room but no food. Students need to bring our own.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

  • 08/21/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 22 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    security are always there. and there are buttons around campus if you need a security asap

    Food and Dining

    beautiful cafeteria

    Dorm Life

    No dorm room since it is a community college

    Tips for prospective students

    Nothing

    In three sentences

    very friendly. Teachers are great and helpful. Beautiful campus.

  • 06/22/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you do these simple things, you'll get closer to your goals in an understandable time manner. You can schedule appointments with teachers, tutors, counselors, etc. through email or by simply calling the offices. You can get involved by joining clubs or simply attending school events. There are many things that LCC offers, as well as many things that you can offer LCC as well, so go for it!

    Tips for prospective students

    As a New Student Orientation Leader, we always encourage new students to schedule an appointment with their counselors. Seeing your counselor really does help in the sense that they do know the school and whats needed to attain certain degrees for careers that people want. Another thing, attend class and try hard because work does get a long way. Apply for things like financial aid because things like that motivate you and kind of make you, in a sense, complete courses. Getting involved is another way that you can feel a sense of commitment and a sense of wanting to come to school.

    Bang for the buck

    Being a student at LCC really is a Bang for the Buck. Youre getting a great education from teachers who care, and credits for a career that you like, for a cheaper price than if you attended a University! I mean the books are expensive, and it may seem like classes are expensive, but really if you compare prices of classes to other schools and universities, going to LCC does save you money. And, there are ways to get books at a cheaper price; using resources such as friends/relatives, or sell back website engines online.

    Am enjoying being here

    Honestly, my enjoyment in being here grew as the years went on. At first, I wasnt outgoing and didnt care to meet friends. I actually slacked because I didnt attend school, mostly because I didnt get involved or like my teachers, but I did start getting involved with Student Life as a New Student Orientation Leader, I did start concentrating in school, as well as attended a few events that LCC offered, and I started enjoying school. The more open and upfront you are with others as well as with your professors, the more you can get to understand them, and they can understand you.

    Am learning a lot

    Thanks to the website, Ratemyprofessors.com, I was able to choose great teachers who genuinely care about their students. As long as you attend class, update your teachers on mishaps or give them legit reasons on why you couldnt make it, and of course do the work, then you do learn alot and pass the class!

  • 12/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for any type of student.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you check ratemyprofessor.com to review your prospective instructors.

    Bang for the buck

    Its about $2,000 for a full 15 credit schedule.

    Am enjoying being here

    You will ove the high school atmosphere and one on one teacher student experience.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors here at Leeward Community College are fantastic and are always willing to help you.

  • 01/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People that live close to Pearl City would benefit from this school or for people taking pre requisite classes to transfer.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out the rates/reviews on professors before taking them.

    Am learning a lot

    I learn quite a lot of interesting information. The teachers are great and love to help you.

  • 06/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Leeward has a soccer club, journalism activities, and many volunteer opportunities on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    If you didn't do so well in high school, that's all right. Leeward has classes tailored to all levels of education to get you on the path to an A.A. or acceptance to a 4-year school. If you're not planning on spending $10,000 a year on tuition, Leeward is a much more cost-effective education plan at about $100 per credit.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Student Lounge is an excellent place to wind down and take a nap. There are several televisions in here also.

    Bang for the buck

    At a much lower cost than a conventional University, the education you receive is still transferable to a higher degree.

    What to do for fun

    There are intramural sports and clubs to join on campus. Some teachers will even allot extra credit if you join them!

    Food and Dining

    Students make and serve all of the meals in the dining room. With that said, the quality of the meals aren't exactly amazing.

    Dorm Life

    As there are no dorms on campus, Dorm Life is irrelevant.

    Academic Rigor

    Although the classes are the same as those on UH Manoa's campus, the level that the classes reach aren't good for a Bachelor's Degree. Since it is a community college, all of the credits earned are either towards transferring or towards an Associate's Degree.

    Tips for prospective students

    See counselors often! They provide relevant information and services to what ever your future plans are.

    In three sentences

    Leeward Community College offers students a chance to pursue education at a very affordable cost. With friendly teachers and staff, learning is done in a fun and relaxed environment. The content you learn is akin to the material at UH Manoa, and all of the college-level courses transfer!

  • 07/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I do see a security guard that drives around in his little cart from early morning so that's good!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None what so ever!

    What to do for fun

    Nothing. Boring!

    Food and Dining

    I do know a subway was just opened. They have a cafe as well.

    Dorm Life

    No dorming places here. Most students live all near by. Bus it or drive it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply in advance for the classes that you know you need they fill fast. It's better to talk with a counselor face to face and have them really map out the course of your work.

    In three sentences

    A pretty popular college for many who will then transfer elsewhere. The looks of the school really isn't appealing. It's a so-so type school.

  • 07/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 53

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    In LCC we do have the lounge room where there are sofas for students to sit or lay down. A tv, a music player,& a free access of internet.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria always make sure that everyday they always the serve fresh & new menus for the students. If you are looking for sandwiches, there's Subway.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the campus.

    In three sentences

    Leeward Community College was actually my first choice before I got out of high school. The school offered the first major that I want to take & I live near the area. The school always provide enough support for students when they need help.

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Everything :)

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Go to the things Students Activities Group plans, they're fun and usually free.

    Bang for the buck

    Affordable and good at helping you find money if needed.

    What to do for fun

    Keep updated on Student Activities they have a lot of things to do.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet with your counselor! It truly helps. Take your work seriously. If you can try to join the work-study/ job programs.

    In three sentences

    Leeward Community College is a great college to get your start into the college world. They have many great professors and the staff is friendly and helpful. I would recommend this college to those who don't know if they're ready for the University.

  • 07/22/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    30 of 53

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Everything outdoors, from surfing to sports. Enjoying the beach and weather. Oahu is amazing, and there is an endless array of activities to suit everyone.

    Food and Dining

    Unsure, since I have never eaten here, although I have seen a cafe.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms here.

    Academic Rigor

    Unsure since I have not yet attended school here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus, and make sure to set up appointments and talk to everyone you can, in order to have all of your questions answered. They are there to help you, and whatever you need they want to assist you with. You are there to get your education and make sure that they know the goals you have in mind, so that they are able to help you.

    In three sentences

    It is a beautiful outdoor breezy campus nestled in the hills of Oahu. The staff is friendly and helpful with any and every question that you may have. They will continuously help with all the goals you have set for yourself, and want to see you succeed.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    31 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    LOVE to go to their festivals, and especially when they have the BRUNCH for their culinary arts program every year!

    Food and Dining

    TOTALLY FRESH AND YUMMY!

    Academic Rigor

    Educational strictness is upon yourself on how far you want to take your education.

    Tips for prospective students

    MAKE IT FEEL LIKE HOME... because they're very welcoming :)

    In three sentences

    Love Leeward Community College, totally convenient location, social, eduction, and much more!

  • 08/09/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    32 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    For the prospective students, I suggest that they should attend this college. I know it may seem cheap and just a way out to get a better job but its more than that. College isn't like high school. College is where the real life start. Youre on your own. You have to provide everything on your own. You have to look for ways to come up with money to pay for your tuition. So my advice is to save up your money now or start applying for scholarships. Don't procrastinate because it will lead you to nothing.

    In three sentences

    Leeward Community College's staff was really helpful. The counselor I've met with was nice and very understanding. She was helpful and reminded me of the things I needed to finish. Before I could leave, she reminded me about checking out the materials I needed for my classes.

  • 09/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 53

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are lots of on-campus activities always happening through out the year.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get there early to avoid traffic

    In three sentences

    Leeward Community College is a great college. The teachers are excellent, and the campus is clean. The student body is also diverse in its ethnicities.

  • 09/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Non-traditional Students who want to take classes online Adult working students

    Bang for the buck

    Student ID is free and qualifies you for student discounts at the movie theaters and on the bus. Parking on campus is always hard to find, but if you're lucky you'll find street parking. Price per unit here is $101 for Hawaii residents (2012 price). $1212 for 12 units. I bought my books at amazon.com for around $200 total.

    What to do for fun

    Hey, I have fun wherever I go, but there are lots of clubs on campus. Check it out!

    Food and Dining

    Don't eat at school. I'm taking my classes online. I saw a hot dog stand when I was on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Not in a dorm. They're a community college. They don't have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm taking 12 units and getting A's in all of them. It's a lot of reading. I've decided to take all of my classes online, especially for this first semester.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start early! Go online to fafsa.gov and apply for a Pell Grant before you do anything else. I started this process late in July, so had to wait until after the semester started to get any financial aid. Then go online to the Leeward website and figure out what major and classes you want to take. I'll say it again..start early!

    In three sentences

    Leeward Community College has been great for me, especially since I am a returning student. I live on the Waianae Coast and the Leeward campus at the Waianae Mall is so convenient. The counselors and everyone there was so helpful and made me feel comfortable.

  • 10/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Even though I don't completely trust everyone with my things laying around, I'd say this campus is safe. I could leave my bag and laptop in a cubicle at the library for a couple minutes and know that no one would take anything. I've never heard anything about people stealing things, but maybe that's just me.

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm not in any club, but I know we have a soccer club, and drama club. I've been to one of the drama clubs plays and it was more than I expected. There are a lot of talented actors and actresses in this school that I had no idea about.

    Great for these types of students

    I think that Leeward CC is good for the type of students who are a little more laid back than others. When I say laid back I mean that they're not up in everyones business, they have an open mind to different things, and helpful towards others. Maybe it's just the Aloha spirit we have, but I think that's how you should be coming into Leeward CC because in Hawaii there are MANY different cultures here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I've never encountered any unusual traditions or locations on campus yet. I like to stay where I'm supposed to apposed to venturing off to where I'm not needed.

    Bang for the buck

    I'd say the cheapest thing to buy here is Subway. The other food they serve in the cafe are more expensive and sometimes I think are over priced.

    What to do for fun

    We have a student lounge where students can just hang around, play x-box, listen to music, play the guitar, etc. Or if you want some place to study besides the library, in our learning commons there are computers and isolated rooms you can use. If you want something a little more comfortable in the learning commons, there are always couches to sit and relax.

    Food and Dining

    We have a restaurant on campus that is run by Leeward CC students under professional supervision. I've never ate there, but in the cafeteria there are many options to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Leeward CC.

    Academic Rigor

    Leeward CC helps students get an AA or even transfer to 4-year universities, but there's only so much they could offer. Personally for me, Leeward CC is a good place to start especially if you don't know exactly what you want to major in. It gives me a chance to explore my options a little by taking different classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    A tip when going to see a counselor, you should already have at least a sketch of which direction you want to go. A lot of students say that counselors don't help them what so ever, but then again you can't expect someone to do all the work for you. Another tip for prospective students is that not every professor is the same. There are many different personalities on campus and you can't expect the same reactions from different people. Some personalities are stronger than others, so you would have to learn how to deal with them.

    In three sentences

    Leeward CC is a very welcoming college, every faculty and staff member is passionate about their job here, and students are open minded and easy to relate to. If you need to get back up on your feet, Leeward CC can easily help you get started. They try to help you with your needs to get you to where you want to be.

  • 12/30/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    36 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    You cannot beat the price to go to school at Leeward. I have been to Boise State University and the price for classes at leeward was maybe 1/4 of the cost of Boise as well as any other 4 year college.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe always has good food readily available. There is also a Subway inside of the cafe.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open to being friendly. There are a lot of opportunities at Leeward and you could end up making friends that you will remember forever.

    In three sentences

    Leeward is in my opinion one of the best stepping stones to get to a 4 year university. The teachers are very friendly and are trying to help you to succeed. The campus atmosphere is also very laid back which is always a plus when finals come around.

  • 01/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 53

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    On my free time I like to go to the library, but there is a student lounge also on campus. Throughout the year they hold video game tournaments, and ,also, have other opportunities through the many clubs you can join.

    Food and Dining

    Every morning, when I enter the library, I get a scent of fresh coffee being made! This makes the college feeling more surreal to me. Also there is a cafeteria on campus that makes delicious food for their students. I have not visited it yet, but the food that my classmates bring looks amazing!

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I believe that the work here is very manageable. It is not hard that you want to pull your hair out, yet it is challenging enough that you learn something new each day.

    Tips for prospective students

    There are people who wish they could be in college, but because of their circumstances they are not able to enroll. Make the best of every opportunity. In the long run, that attitude will take you much further than just a degree in college.

    In three sentences

    Leeward Community College is a growing college that is getting set for great things. With a new construction on the way, there is going to be a growing population on campus in a couple of years. The teachers here are excellent and understand the needs of the students.

  • 02/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel no danger within the campus. Many security guards in the campus to serve and protect the students.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many diverse clubs and opportunities for a variety of activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone willing to learn.

    Bang for the buck

    Whatever you invest into the school, time, money, effort, etc. is what you will reap in the long run. If you work hard, wonderful opportunities will follow.

    What to do for fun

    There is a shopping center down the road for the ladies and a park as well. Campus-wise there is the Student Lounge and multiple rooms for anyone's particular interests.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not a five star restaurant and is tolerable. I eat breakfast there every morning I have class.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms in LCC.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends if you show your teachers whether you value the lessons that are being taught or not. Respect is expected from every student and teacher, likewise.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to attend class and turn assignments on time. College is easier than High school; so don't worry, be happy.

    In three sentences

    Leeward Community College is an outstanding college filled with an abundant amount of knowledge and learning opportunities. It is a safe environment where everyone is welcomed. Leeward Community College is a superb college in Hawai'i nei.

  • 02/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 53

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Enjoying the Sun and going to the beach. There are also plenty of student groups to join.

    Food and Dining

    Has a wonderful sit down restaurant on campus. The student cafeteria also has a subway and student lunch ordering area. But that part is cash only

    Dorm Life

    I don't know, I don't stay in a dorm there.

    Academic Rigor

    Very stimulating information and the amount you learn depends on the amount of effort you put into it. Has small class sizes so you get alot of one on one time with the professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check rate my professor to see which professor will mess the best with your learning style

    In three sentences

    Wonderful school. All of the professors are very helpful and make every effort to help you learn and understand material.

  • 02/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Safety team are always around and very helpful.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the Hooulu is a family Hawaiian setting and everyone is welcome with Aloha.

    What to do for fun

    The student Lounge is a fun area to hang out with. leeward also offers a movie night and lots of activities.

    Food and Dining

    Food are excellent and made mainly by the culinary arts students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask anyone if you don't know where to go. Keep in contact with your counselors they are very helpful.

    In three sentences

    Leeward community is an exceptional school. We have the spirit of Aloha in every Department that you go to. The Professors and Counselors are excellent.

  • 03/23/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    41 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    My sister had told me that food is not expensive yet is okay.

    Dorm Life

    I hadn't dormed...

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on the course you take and the professor you receive. I had Calculus I (Math 205) with Mr. Seffrood. He was great.

  • 04/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are securities all over the campus, and cameras at certain areas. There are emergency alarms, just in case anything happens.

    Great for these types of students

    International Students, I have many friends from different part of the world.

    What to do for fun

    What I do for fun, I would play the schools intermural, and hang out with friends!

    Food and Dining

    The School Cafeteria is Awesome, along with the Subway!! We have different meals for the day.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students, take advantage of the opportunities that is coming your way! Stop procrastinating, and take advantage on everything that is there to offer.

    In three sentences

    Leeward Community is awesome! There are many opportunities that can enhance students learning. Therefore, their is no excuse for not passing a class. Leeward has every program, and activities to help every individual.

  • 05/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security guards and cameras almost everywhere. The Campus Security is located almost in the center of campus and guards are always roaming around to ensure everyone's safety.

    Clubs and Activities

    Plethora of clubs and activities on campus. You just have to get connected. Everyone is very friendly and helpful.

    Great for these types of students

    ALL students

    What to do for fun

    There are a LOT of clubs on Leeward CC.

    Food and Dining

    Our Culinary Arts students make great food. We also have a Subway in the dining facility if you want a change of scenery.

    Dorm Life

    Leeward Community College is not a dorming college.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are harder than others and all teachers have different teaching methods. Like I mentioned earlier, they will help you if you let them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Leeward CC is a great two-year college for students who want to obtain all of their gen. ed. classes before continuing on to a four-year college. Classes are what you make of it. Professors will always work with you to help you achieve your best.

    In three sentences

    Great school with caring teachers. Smaller classes means more attention from professors. Student life is really great.

  • 05/23/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    44 of 53

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Intramural sports/ clubs.

    Food and Dining

    Loved Kimo Bean which was right next to the library. Good cafeteria and really good restaurant, where the culinary students work, called The Pearl.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes/professors were very relaxed and easy, but some were stricter and required a little more work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend class! A lot of the classes, even the hard ones, are easily passed as long as you show up and participate.

    In three sentences

    Overall, a good experience. High quality professors and helpful student resources/tutoring centers. Enjoyed the cafeteria and coffee shop (even though it was a little expensive.)

  • 08/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is safe with cameras and security at all times. I haven't heard of any theft or vandalising on campus. As a student at Leeward Community College I feel safe on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities such as spring fling, job fairs, college fairs, back to prom and so much more.

    Great for these types of students

    I think Leeward Community College is great for everyone. It's affordable and cheaper than going to a university for the first two years. There are a lot of military on campus as well new students and middled aged people that are coming back to school for the first time.

    Bang for the buck

    Leeward Community College is a bang for your buck. My tuition has a full time student with four classes is around $1,300. I think it is worth it because of the great staff and all the available resources on campus.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lots of clubs and sports teams available at Leeward Community College for students to join. For example there is a workout club, gamer club, soccer, basketball and so much more. Many of the clubs and sports are run by students or faculty. Leeward Community College is located close to a mall and 24 hour fitness.

    Food and Dining

    You can get a quick snack at the vending machines all around campus. The cafe always has new and exciting things to eat. Every semester the culinary students sell food in the cafe as well. The culinary program also has a restaurant on campus that students are more than welcome to go to. The campus also has a hot dog wagon that provides many toppings for your hot dog. All foods sold on campus are sold for a reasonable price.

    Academic Rigor

    I think academics at Leeward Community College is great because I have learned a lot within 2 semesters. It has been challenging but worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips for prospective students: -Apply for scholarships -Apply for classes early -Do not procrastinate -Read about the professor at ratemyprofessor.com before picking professor - BE POSITIVE

    In three sentences

    The faculty at Leeward Community College is fantastic. Everyone on campus is very welcoming, helpful and friendly. There are many faculties for additional help, mentoring and counseling.

  • 09/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The Ulwehi Cafe has some awesome food at low prices! There's even a Subway here and a coffee shop up on the second floor of the library. But just outside is a hot dog stand. And let me tell you, the Pizza Dog is da bomb! I've got my friends thinking the same thing.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm kinda a perfectionist so I have to make sure that everything is well perfect. Sometimes I get stressed with the simplest assignment but there's a lot of help around me if I need it here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't wait until the last minute to ask for help. If you do, then it'll probably be too late!

  • 09/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Lots of security all around, and it's possible to call security to be escorted to cars after night classes. Never witnessed or heard any threats, or fights on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lot's of opportunity to let go and be your own person, and if not that, to discover who you are.

    Great for these types of students

    I have seen every type of student present at this school, so no one really is excluded from attending.

    Bang for the buck

    For the education that's offered, definitely. Many great professors that go above and beyond, and much opportunity to get involved in community or school efforts.

    What to do for fun

    There's a bunch of clubs on campus and range from intramural sports or leadership such as government. Many people socialize in the student lounge or simple around campus.

    Food and Dining

    The culinary program at Leeward create themes for the different types of food they would like to serve. Besides the cafeteria, there is a student run restaurant that really allow those in the program to showcase their style of cooking. The price isn't bad for what you get either for both the cafeteria and restaurant.

    Academic Rigor

    Like any school, there are those professors that everyone avoids and those that have classes filled once the course is ready for enrollment. Everything won't be handed on a silver platter, students choose the difficulty of classes determined by how much research they're willing to put into each class. There is great academic opportunity at this campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be proactive and be open minded. Don't write off this school just because it's a community college, so much opportunity available if the energy to search is put in. Going to a community college before a full blown university is also a great way to keep college costs as low as possible.

    In three sentences

    Leeward has many is underestimated and underrated with the quality of education available. Definitely improving everyday with facilities and services available. Many professors that know how to do their job well, and want students to succeed in many different aspects.

  • 10/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 53

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Events and activities are available throughout the campuses. I don't go to any of them, but they do seem fun. For example, they have events where you can watch plays, check out a film festival, food events, and various other things. There is also a student lounge where a few clubs meet. On the LCC campus, there aren't too many clubs, but there a few foreign language clubs, an anime and manga club, gaming clubs, sports clubs, etc. If you look around, you may find something you like.

    Food and Dining

    Well, there is a Subway and the cafe food is pretty good. But if you want to save money, bring your own food. It's a bit expensive for students--especially if you don't have a job yet--and there are other places where you can get the same thing for cheaper.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The work is fairly easy and does not take a ridiculous amount of your time. Though I've heard otherwise from others. Overall, the work is focused on whatever topic at hand and the load is reasonably manageable.

    Tips for prospective students

    As long as you do your work, you'll be just fine. Study well and take it easy if it's your first semester in college. Also, register for your classes early so that you'll have your pick at classes and times. Make sure to meet up with a counselor as much as you need to. They are there to advise and guide you to your goal. Surprisingly, many students don't do this.

    In three sentences

    I like the campus for it's friendly atmosphere. The teachers and staff are very nice and willing to help. In fact, they expect and answer any questions.

  • 11/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The tuition at LCC is very decent, but when you have a full time student like me who has to work three jobs just to raise enough money for each semester, can tire that person out. I could really use some help because working three jobs is so not cool. I've had to drop out one year just so i could raise money, then started to falter on my studies again because i've been working to much, and so this time around, I really just want to focus on school but still be able to work to make income for myself to provide for school. But I don't want to be working three jobs and be a full time student. I'm still young, and It's sad to know that my life only consists of school and work.

    What to do for fun

    There are many things to do outside of class at LCC. They provide intramural sports, student government, there are events that take place.

    Food and Dining

    Food at LCC is good.

    Dorm Life

    Community colleges don't offer dorm life. I'm ok with that because I still reside with my parents.

    Academic Rigor

    Lcc provides various majors for students to enroll in. I enrolled in the education program, and let me tell you, this program is amazing. The staff on this program show so much care and support for their students. One more reason why I want to become a teacher.

    Tips for prospective students

    The only tip I would say, is to stay on top of your studies. No matter how much things are happening in your life, try to always make your studies number one priority.

    In three sentences

    Leeward Community College is a great school to attend. They provide various resources to help with academic needs. Professors, counselors and administrative staff are kind and polite from what i've experienced so far. I'm proud to be graduating from this campus with my Associates in Arts of Teaching next semester.

  • 12/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    A great variety of clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are very social, interactive with their peers and professors. Not afraid to ask questions or participate in class lessons or activities (being that the classes aren't too big).

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    So far, all I know is that there is this place on campus that they refer to as the Hawaiian Halau. It is supposedly a place for Hawaiian students to go and have a place where they can go to and do their work and also get help searching for scholarships .

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of groups that you can join. From sports, to different language clubs.

    Dorm Life

    I didn't dorm at Leeward, so I'm not too sure how the Dorm Life is.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you don't want to go far away from home and you want to start off at a small school, I'd suggest Leeward as a great first option.

    In three sentences

    A great way to get the full college experience through a community college. Environment is great. Professors are very self-explanatory and are willing to help.

  • 02/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 53

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Just follow what your professor's saying. Then, there will be no problem on you.

    Food and Dining

    I think quite good. We have school food and Subway in cafeteria. There are burgers, fries, desserts, cookies, and salad for school food. I like it.

    Dorm Life

    I don't know about dorm life. We don't have dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Just so so. I think it is not that much rigorous to study. Of course, some professors are strict, yet it is just some.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use all opportunities to help you from the school. UH is more expensive than Leeward CC. Take classes at Leeward CC as much as you can. Classes from UH and Leeward CC are totally same but price is different.

    In three sentences

    Teachers are really nice to students. They really have a lot of experiences about their subject. Students are also kind.

  • 03/07/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    52 of 53

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are alot of events on campus

    Food and Dining

    It's ok

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are pretty easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    take online classes seriously and have fun :) people are really nice

    In three sentences

    Campus is really and the guidance counselors are the best. They really care about you and your progress. I'm sad to leave the college :(

  • 03/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 53

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Like I said, Leeward is a big school so hanging out with friends will make your school life more fun.

    Food and Dining

    Food can be pricey and I have not tried any of the food there.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I would say it is good for a community college. So far I have not taken a class where I do not gain new knowledge.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make friends! Leeward is a big community college, your Leeward experience will be way better with friends.

    In three sentences

    All of the professors I have had are pro's. I can tell they have a lot of experience in the past and I am actually enjoying learning new things at Leeward. Campus is a little worn down, but Leeward has everything a student will need; resource wise.