Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Lehigh University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 04/30/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    10 out of 16 people found this review useful. 2 people found this inaccurate. 1 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is situated on top of a mountain and I saw one police officer during my six hour visit. It is in an suburban/rural part of PA that doesn't look too different from say Trenton New Jersey or Troy New York. I've never hear of any incidents but if you do your research concerning this school you'll know that doesn't really mean anything.

    Greek Life

    Students state greeks are a big deal.

    Great for these types of students

    If you'd like to party and still graduate from a top ranked school i guess you could do it here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Apparently the Lafayatte versus Lehigh rivalry is one of the oldest in the country. In the gym was a countdown clock to the next match up against the rival school.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is way too over-priced. Its the same as many ivy league schools but many employers and job recruiters I spoke with aren't impressed with the school's reputation. The best part about the price is that when I began taking to my dad and several of his engineering friends about the school all they could say was Lee-who?

    What to do for fun

    The students at this campus openly admitted to partying. One mechanical engineering senior and sorirty member stated that parties could be found from Tuesday to Saturday. This was done in front of my parents. Really smooth champs.

    Food and Dining

    Its college food

    Dorm Life

    These dorms are obviously nicer then most state schools and on par with most private schools.

    Academic Rigor

    After speaking with a professor I was glad to learn this school was on par with the engineering schools. It is very respectable and holds the respect of a lot of engineering firm. That being said I'm not sure if its the best fit for a social science or liberal arts major given the price.

    Tips for prospective students

    Faculty is great, but if you are from an middle or upper middle class family don't expect to much help with financial aid. Admissions office was pretty rude despute the fact that I am admitted student and I was looking to narrow down my decision on which school I was going to. Lastly there is virtually no diversity on this campus. I thought that was kind of sad.

    In three sentences

    This campus is picteresque, the faculty was really nice however the admissions office and financial aid is the worst of my admitted college experiences. Because of their rude and derogatory behavior I refuse to go to this school even though I was accepted here.

  • 12/03/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 out of 9 people found this review useful. 2 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    -Students who go to school because they want to learn. -Students who are organized and disciplined enough to go out and party on the weekends but still do all of their work. -Students who have school spirit-the Lehigh-Lafayette rivalry is the oldest rivalry in the nation (search The Rivalry on Wikipedia if you're not sure). -Students who look good in earth tones-Go Brown and White!

    Tips for prospective students

    -Visit campus-much of my decision to come was based on the great atmosphere I was exposed to on my tour. -Examine all of the unique options for degrees that Lehigh offers-IDEAS, IBE, and IRE@L are all integrated degrees not offered by any other school that provide excellent educations. -Check out the spiral staircase in Linderman Library and picture yourself studying there...that image should be enough to make you want to come.

    Bang for the buck

    The professors are extremely knowledgeable in their fields and bring a great deal of experience to their classes. For instance, my international relations professor has published books, written for the Los Angeles Times, and been on NPR. The exposure that Lehigh grants is well worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    The atmosphere on campus is great from the people I've met to the activities offered. I know so many people who have found their niches in completely different areas from theater to sports to engineering clubs and that's what makes the campus so complete. And who doesn't want to be on a campus reminiscent of Hogwarts?

    Am learning a lot

    Even though I'm taking mostly prerequisite classes right now, they are more advanced than anything I'd taken in high school and the teaching styles of the professors are conducive to learning. The learning that occurs on campus isn't limited to strictly subject matter, and many classes bring in outside knowledge that is applicable in any situation and create well-rounded students, not just ones able to recite formulas and equations.

  • 07/09/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    5 out of 9 people found this review useful. 3 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who like to learn and be challenged in a close-knit setting.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus -- it's gorgeous!

    Will enjoy being here

    There's so much available to do on campus! Sports, music, greek, general social events

  • 02/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 4 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    unfortunately, bethlehem is not the safest town but lehigh offers a tracs service- take a ride around campus safely- and has blue phones scattered throughout campus in the event of an emergency. robberies do happen a few blocks off campus rather frequently but all dorms are secured with swipe card entry and separate keys for individual rooms.

    Greek Life

    greek life is quite abundant here- nearly 50% of students participate in it.

    Clubs and Activities

    lehigh has countless clubs- society of women engineers, engineers without borders, belly dancing club, and more. and if they don't have what you're looking for, you can petition to establish a new club pretty easily- you need around 5 signatures and student senate approval.

    Great for these types of students

    lehigh students pride themselves on being able to balance a busy social life with rigorous academics.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there are apparently some underground tunnels linking residence halls, but i'm not sure if that's only a rumor or if there's any truth behind the claims.

    Bang for the buck

    at lehigh, you really get the bang for your buck. you not only receive an excellent education, but you also are able to participate in a variety of clubs and activities and in short, you can really whatever you want out of lehigh if you know what you want and you look for it.

    What to do for fun

    movies are shown at kenner theater on campus every weekend. taylor gym is open most of time so you can either exercise or start a pickup game of basketball, soccer, etc. if you're a party goer, you'll love it here- there's always some sort of party on the hill at lehigh. if you're into athletics, especially football, you can enjoy the oldest college football rivalry between lehigh and lafayette. the mall and other convenient restaurants and shops are nearby. the good part of bethlehem is about a mile walk away, and the bus runs everyday, free for lehigh students.

    Food and Dining

    lehigh's lower cort usually has really good food but is only open monday through friday. rathbone has disgusting food most of the time, but is open on the weekends as well. upper has amazing chinese food, salads, mexican dishes, and sushi. however, upper is closed on the weekends. pandini's has decent labrettis and salads (aso open on the weekends) and hawk's nest is open 4pm-4am every day. that being said, after a couple years, the food will inevitably wear on you. however, there are still tons of good restaurants right off campus.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are beautiful and the rooms are very spacious for the most part. rearranging furniture is easily done in most rooms. apartment housing is available as early as sophomore year, depending on your lottery number. lehigh has a relatively small campus, so no matter what dorm you're in, you're never too far from anywhere you need to go.

    Academic Rigor

    again, lehigh professors teach at a very fast pace. most classes only meet two or three times a week, and the typical topic coverage is about 1-2 chapters per week. some outstanding professors teach so well that the course textbook is unnecessary; other times, forming study groups is the best bet. either way, you might get stuck, but you will never be alone. professors' office hours are great for additional help, but making friends with classmates who can offer assistance is even better.

    Tips for prospective students

    lehigh's campus is gorgeous, but you probably won't want to stray too far on foot since the immediate surrounding neighborhood is in poor condition. however, there are plenty of buses that go to the local mall and wal-mart. if you are looking to excel in a fast-paced curriculum, lehigh is the place for you.

    In three sentences

    lehigh is a beautiful school with many opportunities for all kinds of students. all the professors know the material exceptionally well and in general will go out of their way to help students with any difficulties. the academics are challenging, but doable, and the social life is great- never a dull moment.

  • 05/07/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 out of 5 people found this review useful. 5 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Fun, outgoing, strong-willed, high achievers, explorers, go-getters!

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply Early Decision. Your chance for acceptance increases so much, it is worth your effort to apply early.

    Bang for the buck

    I received a $32,000 scholarship a year, Lehigh is $52,000 a year, so for the quality education it is, Lehigh did not give me one reason not to attend.

    Will enjoy being here

    Lehigh puts a lot of effort into having a lot to do around campus so having 4 years on the same campus is not wasted. I am very excited to have so many options open to me once the school year starts.

    Will learn a lot

    Lehigh's curriculum is challenging America's brightest minds and I consider myself proud and lucky to soon be apart of a student body that will achieving great things.

  • 10/19/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I think anyone that values a good education, but also is looking for an active social life and activities on campus would love Lehigh.

    Tips for prospective students

    SAT scores and GPA play a decent part in being accepted, but more importantly participate in volunteer programs and be active in your high school and community.

    Bang for the buck

    Lehigh is very expensive, but I realize I'm getting a great education, as well as the best four years of my life. Also, I believe the opportunities for my future after Lehigh will outweigh the costs to be here.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have never been happier. The campus, social life, and academic program I am in all make me feel that I am taking advantage of everything Lehigh has to offer me.

    Am learning a lot

    The variety of classes offered here, along with the hard-working professors, will allow you to learn more than you ever have in high school.

  • 12/26/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 7 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    -Hard working students -Those that want to learn a lot of information -Individuals who enjoy extra-curricular opportunities -Students who would like their college campus to be a world of its own

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are interested in Lehigh, first of all, don't stop working hard. The college curriculum is difficult to say the least, but learning time-management strategies early greatly aids in doing well. In addition, keep your mind open. There are some college experiences and groups that you, as a high school student, may never consider being a part of, but those are precisely the things that will make college so much fun.

    Bang for the buck

    There are a couple minor things that I wish students were more able to do, but overall, you are definitely paying for quality. Lehigh's tuition and other costs are not cheap by any account, but having all assets of an adult life covered within a college campus makes the daily routine much easier to handle.

    Am enjoying being here

    The feeling of attending Lehigh is a unique one, for whenever I leave the campus, I feel as if a part of me is missing. There are a ton of opportunities to get involved around campus and many different groups of people to get friendly with. It is truly an experience unlike any other, and it definitely helps that the campus looks amazing.

    Am learning a lot

    While the classes are getting quite difficult, that only shows that the quality of the material is effective. My freshman year, similar to most schools, was very basic and more of an introduction, while my sophomore year is full of new information more specific to my career. I am becoming familiar with more processes and the mindset of a mechanical engineer, and only look forward to learning more.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Downtown Bethlehem is a little scary and sometimes it seems the police are more concerned with busting parties than busting off campus crime.

    Greek Life

    If you're into that type of thing, there is plenty of it here, and everyone seems to fit in fine. If you're not into it, there are also plenty of people who avoid it.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a great variety of clubs to become involved in. It ranges anywhere from choir and band, to athletic support groups, to art clubs, to language clubs, to nerf gun club!

    Great for these types of students

    motivated, athletic, driven, energetic

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Lehigh/ Laf week is our spirit week filled with great traditions like Lehigh Lafapalooza and the Turkey trot and the football game which is the longest rivalry in history. We also have 4 o clock exams which are midterms twice in a semester.

    Bang for the buck

    Honestly, Lehigh is very expensive, but the value of your degree and education there is well worth it. Also, students are spoiled and treated well as we are given many opportunities and free material items. The living situations are well taken care of and I never felt dirty on campus.

    What to do for fun

    Go downtown, see a movie, go ice skating, spend time with friends, take busses into Philly and New York. LEHIGH/LAF WEEK

    Food and Dining

    It obviously isn't gourmet, but there are plenty of choices and I never got sick of the food.

    Dorm Life

    The people I met in the dorm became my closest friends. We all would go to dinner together, or go out together on weekends. These people were always there for me whether it was just to have a good time or comfort me in times of stress. It was always reassuring to know I had a great friend a couple doors down. Also the dorms were clean and roomy.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are challenging, but if you devote enough time to the classes you can excell. Also, if you connect with the professors they are always willing to help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved, try new things, have an open mind, get into a routine, get plenty of sleep, vary your diet, and balance your time between studying and socializing.

    In three sentences

    The most striking thing about Lehigh University is it's beautiful sloping campus that is in between the downtown Bethlehem area and South Mountain. Furthermore, the academics at Lehigh are challenging but refreshing for any motivated student looking for a challenge. At Lehigh you can always find something to do, be it see a free movie on campus, enjoy the food downtown, or enjoying the benefits of a club or organization you joined.

  • 07/20/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Everyone. Almost. People who come here just to party away for four years don't last long, you have to put a minimum of effort in. Otherwise, I've seen every single type of person thrive and enjoy themselves here. It's hard not to find your niche here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out the campus and the people, both are amazing. Don't worry about the party-school stereotype. You don't have to party to enjoy this place.

    Bang for the buck

    It's one of the most expensive schools in the country, but it definitely makes up for it. The quality of education in the classrooms is extremely high, but you're also given the opportunity to attend lectures from high-end speakers and we have a top notch career center just to top it all off.

    Am enjoying being here

    Work hard play hard is the perfect motto for this school, and I'm loving it. It's also possibly the most friendly place I've ever been. Everyone always has a smile on, because everyone loves being here. Even the professors and faculty are wonderfully nice people. The campus itself is also amazingly beautiful all year round. It's just a happy place to be.

    Am learning a lot

    It varies a lot by what classes you take and what professor is teaching, but overall, the classes are very worth-while. Coming from a college prep school, the level of difficulty was a perfect step up for me. I felt neither too far ahead nor too far behind.

  • 03/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    the best fit for well off caucasian students who are interested in joining greek life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    dress in the craziest, most ridiculous combination of clothes that you can for football games that are not against lafayette (rival college). for lafayette, the brown and white school colors are a must.

    What to do for fun

    go to the events that are posted up in your halls, join clubs, try out the greek life, go the mall on weekends, etc.

    Food and Dining

    good facilities, enough options, but the food gets old after a while. there are places off campus, but it might not be worth going to all the off-campus restaurants as a freshman when you have so many meals left in your meal plan.

    Dorm Life

    dorms make it convenient to make new friends and hang out, and you'll find some hall events to make this easier. however, almost everyone has problems with their assigned roommates freshman year. it'll definitely get more comfortable and fun from sophomore year when you have made your friends at lehigh and can choose more wisely who to live with.

    Academic Rigor

    never fall into the trap of thinking that college is going to be a breeze. don't procrastinate and go to all your classes because it's not worth half-assing.

    Tips for prospective students

    lehigh is a party-hard school, but you will find communities that are not so into the greek life, though they may be hard to find. first-year students cannot have cars but i recommend bringing your cars from sophomore year. lastly, get the 225 block plan - it's the best value choice from the meal plans you're offered.

    In three sentences

    a mostly caucasian school, lehigh has been trying to increase the student body's diversity, but is still a long way from achieving its goal. because the campus is suburban, students need cars if they want to explore outside of campus. tuition is high but lehigh offers plenty of aid.

  • 05/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There's a police station right on campus! But wait, there's more: there are safety buttons set up all over campus. With one click, the police are notified, and it's such a close-knit campus geographically that it is hard to be worried. Which I find very comforting. There are also safety texts that are sent out to all the students if anything suspicious is happening.

    Greek Life

    I'm not apart of Greek life myself, but I do know it is a big thing for most people on campus. Lots of people are proud to wear their letters on their shirts, but it is not as segregating as I thought it would be since I am friends with a handful of Greeks! So I'm guessing, from a non-Greek's point of view, it's okay? Though I'd recommend steering clear of it to avoid any hazing and/or losing your individuality.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lehigh offers a wide range of clubs and activities that anyone is welcomed to join! Or at least try out if you wanted to be on a club sports team. Getting involved is a great way to gain connections and really become one with the school! Like I have.

    Great for these types of students

    Lehigh University, although the statistics say otherwise (primarily white), gushes with diversity. People come from everywhere at Lehigh, literally, and it's really great. If I am happy here, as a minority, being not only Hispanic but gay as well, I'm sure anyone can be!

    Bang for the buck

    It's a great school, all in all. But I'd never be going there if I didn't have financial aid. It's way too expensive, in my opinion, but if you have the money to expend I say it'd definitely worth it! I am having an amazing experience here, one that I probably couldn't have gotten anywhere else!

    What to do for fun

    There's plenty to do for fun here! Although it does seem like a gated community at times, there's plenty to do on campus! A movie plays every Friday in one of the buildings, there's almost always some sort of interactive event going on, and you'll find great people here that you can make your own fun with! There's also buses that run over the weekends to the mall.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is great! I can't say that for ALL the food, but the majority. There is always a big variety, too, so if you don't like something you can just have something else. You are not even limited to one dining hall; there are many!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life. It's the luck of the draw, really. You can get stuck with a bad roommate like I did, but that doesn't necessarily mean you will have a bad dorm life! I have made a multitude of friends outside of my room, and I'm extremely happy, to the point where I didn't even bother to get a room change!

    Academic Rigor

    Lehigh University really challenged me, and still is! I know that I have to prepare and study ahead of time for any course I take if I want to do well. Unlike when I was in high school and could study right before the exam and do well. It doesn't work like that here!

    Tips for prospective students

    First and foremost, I recommend taking AP level classes when you're still in high school. The courses are much more rigorous than normal high school level courses, and I know I felt behind because I never took them, unlike most of the other students here. If you want to avoid the big-fish-in-a-little-pond effect, you should take them!

    In three sentences

    Lehigh University is a REALLY great school. Although the courses are more rigorous than I expected, they are do-able and serve as great character builders. It provides a friendly environment, overall, and, as it has made me happy, I'm sure it will make anyone who decides to enroll there happy!

  • 12/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    All the dorms have alarms that go off if the doors are open to long, and there is a blue light system on campus as well as a bus system if you don't want to walk around after dark. On campus is very safe, off campus is ok if you're smart about it.

    Greek Life

    It's overwhelming. More than half of the school goes greek at some point and a lot of the activities are hosted by the frats or sororities, but there isn't a lot of pressure to join really. If you want to- there are TONS of options. If not, there's no reason you'd have to.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of different clubs and the club fair is usually swamped with people signing up for new things... and trying to get free stuff.

    Great for these types of students

    Outgoing Studious Involved

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Don't. Ever. Say ANYTHING. Positive. About LAFAYETTE.

    Bang for the buck

    It costs a fortune, but the financial aid is fair. For engineers, their reputation will precede you and this will help pay off your debts.

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of Lehigh After Dark events where there's trivia and prizes, movies playing every weekend, and other sporadic events to keep you entertained. North Side (of Bethlehem) is great for shopping but it's a long walk. Clubs often have their own events as well so get involved!

    Food and Dining

    For the first week you'll think the food is really good considering it's college food. And then you realize that despite the different options, there's a quality barrier. Some things are really great! And some things... aren't.

    Dorm Life

    Each dorm has a unique student population, but I've really enjoyed my hallmates and the people in my dorm. Everyone has different interests so you're bound to find people you get along with.

    Academic Rigor

    It really all depends on the classes, the number of credits, and the professor, but in general most people find that their schedules are demanding. The introductory courses are not like high school courses in the way they are graded so STUDY for the exams!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for a hefty workload. Often times some of the intro classes will try to weed out some of the engineers. It is easy to get distracted by all of the social opportunities so be prepared to manage your time.

    In three sentences

    It's a great school that has a lot of academic drive and is overall a beautiful mountain campus. The staff is great, and while some classes may be lectures, there are always opportunities to reach out. The people you meet are both unique and relateable.

  • 04/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Lehigh is very safe as long as you do not venture off campus. As long as you are on campus, you will be super safe.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is huge deal at Lehigh. At first it may seem as though everyone is involved but about half of the students do not join a fraternity or sorority.

    Clubs and Activities

    You will always find a club or organization that meets your interests. Lehigh also has many leadership opportunities to help us excel and build up our resumes.

    Great for these types of students

    If you like to make new friends and work super hard for good grades then this is the school for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Lehigh-Lafayette football game is a HUGE deal. Everyone is super excited whenever we beat our biggest rivals!

    Bang for the buck

    Lehigh is actually a bit expensive. Tuition costs rise pretty frequently.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something going on at Lehigh. Whether you are into sports or taking care of the environment, you will always find activities that are relevant to your interests.

    Food and Dining

    There are many places on campus where you could eat. However, there are places like Rathbone in which the food is not that great. The other places like UC or Hawk's Nest are not bad at all.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms themselves are not bad and in fact are pretty average. Upperclassmen housing is actually very good.

    Academic Rigor

    You are going to have to work relatively hard in most of the higher level classes. Always stay on top of your readings and homework.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come in with a possible mind set and set priorities. Be willing to work hard.

    In three sentences

    Everyone is very friendly and willing to meet new people. The campus is gorgeous, especially during the spring. Advisers are always willing to help you out and help make decisions about your possible major.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is an on-campus police force that does a great job insuring our campus is safe.

    Greek Life

    Strong Greek Life! If you come to Lehigh expect to want to go Greek!

    Clubs and Activities

    Break the Silence is a great woman's organization about preventing sexual assault on college campus. Lehigh students are able to create any club they wish with student support.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for engineer students, students interested in Greek Life, and students from NJ, NY, and PA.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Lehigh Lafayette week is a week of festivities celebrating our rivalry against Lafayette. All our sports teams compete and the amount of school spirit is incredible. It has shown me what being a Mountain Hawk really means!

    Bang for the buck

    Lehigh provides students with a future with the doors wide open with a diploma from Lehigh. Students are hired at the top companies through Lehigh's networking and stunning history of excellent graduates.

    What to do for fun

    Fraternities and sororities are the base of the social scene. Athletic events are always going on that students get very excited about.

    Food and Dining

    The meal plan is very flexible! Many options from buffet style to small restaurants that accept the meal plan.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are decently nice. They provide great apartments style on-campus housing after freshman year.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging, but manageable if you put the time and effort into each course.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a school for engineers and business students. Do not come here if you are looking for a music or art scene.

    In three sentences

    Lehigh has a lot to offer between the social scene, academics, and extra curricular. Time management is an essential to survive at this school. There is strong alumni relations, which is a strong factor to the success of Lehigh students.

  • 06/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are designated Lehigh Police officers on campus at all times. They are also available on call whenever needed. There is a blue-light system at every dorm and at select academic building locations. As a whole, the campus is very safe. However, as in all cases, there are some incidents that occur off-campus, but not too frequently. As long as you are smart and don't go off-campus during the wee hours of the night, you are in a very safe environment.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is a big component of Lehigh's campus. The sorority and fraternity houses are located on The Hill, which is towards the top of campus. Almost half of my grade went Greek, but it doesn't mean you are an outcast if you're not Greek. It really depends on your group of friends and your social preferences, but Greek life is quite prevalent among the crowds.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are over 150 student clubs and activities available, so there is almost always at least one that could interest anyone. If not, anyone has the option to create their own club. There are so many opportunities and options that the decision usually doesn't come down to if you should join a club or not, but rather which club or clubs should you join.

    Great for these types of students

    Lehigh is interested in hardworking, passionate, go-getting students just like the types of students that apply for these scholarships.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Lehigh-Laf is the annual rivalry football game between Lehigh and our backyard rival, Lafayette College. The week leading up to the game, everyone goes crazy and goes out of their way to show their school spirit. The Friday before the big game, the Marching 97 Band interrupts classes, climbs on top of the desks and tables, and entertains the students and professors with fight songs to get everyone in the spirit! The whole week is crazy and fun, and it really unites the campus as a whole because we all have a common goal in mind: Beat Lafayette!

    Bang for the buck

    Although Lehigh's tuition is a little pricey, it is totally worth it! You get a top notch education and a top notch college experience; what more could you ask for?!

    What to do for fun

    There are so many opportunities to do fun things on both nights and weekends. Throughout the week over 150 clubs gather for weekly or monthly meetings, so there are always several different ways to get involved and have fun. On weekends the on-campus movie theater shows a relatively new flick for free, with free popcorn and sodas too! There is also a program called Late Nite Lehigh that features different activities each week that are free for students and provide entertainment such as music performances, games for prizes, massages, and much more! Then, there is always the option of attending sporting events and cheering on our championship winning Division I sports teams. There is never a dull moment at this campus, and anyone can always find something to do for fun!

    Food and Dining

    The food is awesome! There are so many options at the three cafeteria style dining halls: soup, salads, sandwiches, burger grill, vegetarian options, and pasta are available at every meal, as well as traditional hot food bar menu items that vary from day to day. You can always find something you like. In addition to the dining halls, there is a food court with over seven different food style options from Mexican to sushi to Chinese, as well as three other dining options scattered at different locations throughout campus. There is always something available, no matter what you're in the mood for! So many choices!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm is not a word commonly heard here anymore. What once were called dorms, residence halls offer students more than just a sleeping area. They are the scene for many social activities and are a great place to meet new people and try new things. The rooms are also quite spacious, which is just an added bonus!

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging and they are designed to test your knowledge. However, they are not impossible. Most professors want to see you do well, and will do whatever it takes to see you succeed. In the long run, though, the tough academic rigor is all worth it in the end because you are fully prepared for the real world upon graduation.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus and fall in love for yourself. Talk to past or current students about their experiences, and even spend a day with them in class or around campus. Don't stop pursuing this school; there is a wealth of information out there available to you, all you need to do is ask! D-LIFE: Discover that Lehigh Is For Everyone!

    In three sentences

    Lehigh is the perfect everything: perfect location, perfect size, perfect academics, perfect buildings, perfect food, and the list goes on! I could not be happier with my decision to attend Lehigh because I've been offered so many opportunities that I know I would not have found anywhere else. I have made so many memories with so many new friends, all while gaining a top notch education; who could ask for more?

  • 07/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There have been issues of security on campus, but I've personally always felt safe. Still, the surrounding area is more urban than what I'm used to and if I was going off-campus late at night I would always bring a friend.

    Greek Life

    I am involved in a sorority, and a lot of my friends are too. I also have a lot of friends who decided Greek life wasn't for them. I really think its a personal decision and you can have a great social life either way.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's so many clubs at Lehigh that it'd be impossible to not find something that interests you. The great part is that everyone is so welcoming and even if you're joining a group you know nothing about the members will be sure to help you out and make sure you feel included.

    Great for these types of students

    Its a good school for students who like to work and party hard. Everyone I know is super friendly and very outgoing.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    My favorite time at Lehigh is definitely Le-Laf week. There's fun stuff to do all week, and the week ends with the Lehigh vs. Lafayette game, the most exciting game of the season.

    Bang for the buck

    Lehigh's high price tag may scare some people off, but it really is a great school. The most impressive points are the amazing education and the awesome job placement.

    What to do for fun

    Honestly there's really not that much to do outside of parties. The school makes an effort to host some events on weekends like comedians, concerts and Make and Takes, but late at night the most common activity is just hanging out with friends.

    Food and Dining

    As much as I love Lehigh's food, I found I was getting kind of bored of it by the end of the year. Its really good food and there's a lot of options, but it can feel sort of repetitive sometimes.

    Dorm Life

    I lived in McClintic-Marshall my freshman year and I LOVED it. There's always people around hanging out in the lounges, and there's always someone who wants to go out with you- whether its to parties, to dinner, or to walk to class.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are definitely not going to be easy, but if you put time in they're going to be more than manageable. You should have time for both studying and hanging out with friends.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't slack off in high school and try to be as well rounded as possible with different activities and things. Also, if you can, visit the school! It shows your interest and will help you decide if the school is really for you.

    In three sentences

    Lehigh is a great school for both learning and socializing. There's always something fun and exciting to do. It became my home much quicker than I ever could have imagined, and I could never see myself anywhere else.

  • 08/03/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    17 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Lehigh University Police are much more lenient than Bethlehem police. There are security lamps distributed throughout campus. A TRACS van system runs all night through campus to get one safely to one's dorm.

    Greek Life

    1/3 of students are involved with Greek Life, so many students choose to choose Greek, yet it doesn't dominate campus. Greek and non-Greek relations are generally cooperative and friendly. Greek chapters are heavily involved with coordinating community service events and a few stand-out chapters have very high chapter GPAs.

    Clubs and Activities

    Student Senate, University Productions (in charge of entertainment events on campus), Lehigh Philharmonic Orchestra, Greek life, Community Service Office, Intramural and Club sports.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who live by the Work hard, play hard motto, those who are interested in engineering, those who are not 100% sure about their major (easy to switch from one college to another- just a matter of paperwork), those who enjoy uphill campuses, those who are looking for a strong sense of pride and school spirit.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Bed races during Lehigh-Lafayette week- groups of teams select one individual to race down campus on the beds, while the other members help drag them down as quickly and as efficiently as they can.

    Bang for the buck

    Financial aid is much more generous than state schools and Lehigh did award a decent package, yet I wasn't honored a 100% need-based package. It doesn't hurt that Lehigh is ranked #12 in ROI (Return on Investment).

    What to do for fun

    Explore north side Bethlehem, take part in Greek Life activities, Lehigh-Lafayette week which includes bed races, a concert, and of course, celebration after beating the Lafayette football team, movies sponsored by University Productions each week, Sundaze spring concert.

    Food and Dining

    I have yet to have a meal there myself, but from what I've heard, the food at the food courts at Lehigh University are of mom quality and full of variety.

    Dorm Life

    My first-year dorm is at McClintic-Marshall House, which is known as the most social dorm on campus. I have heard from fellow students that hall mates quickly become close friends and many activities are run by the RAs called Gryphons to foster more hall spirit.

    Academic Rigor

    You receive what you put in. I am not yet a student here, but from what I have researched and heard from fellow students, academics are tough, but not impossible without some studying. Participate in class and get to know your professors and classmates and you should be fine (or so they tell me...)

    Tips for prospective students

    Be willing to work hard. The academics will be rigorous but well rewarding if you put in your best effort. Get involved and keep busy and campus will quickly become your home. I plan on meeting as many people I can as soon as I arrive, because I will never get the excitement and anticipation of that first month back.

    In three sentences

    A top-notch school that lives up to its unofficial motto, Work Hard, Play Hard. A beautiful mountain campus where chances of adding on the Freshman 15 are slim. A school famous for its excellent school spirit- go Mountain Hawks!

  • 09/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    very important

    What to do for fun

    There is lots going on on campus

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for lots of hills.

    In three sentences

    Lehigh is a great school. Beautiful campus, engaging classes, and a lot of fun. There is lots to do to get involved.

  • 10/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have our own police department not just security rent-a-cops they hold jurisdiction on campus with a full police station and patrol cars. There if you need them, but usually wont get in your way for anything.

    Greek Life

    Not a part of it and its not one of those schools where you have to be either. but its there if your interested.

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm not into many clubs but at the beginning of every year there is a club fair with over 100 clubs all there for you to ask questions and join up if you want. and they give free stuff away.

    Great for these types of students

    Engineers, everyone else is welcome but the whole school is centered around the engineering program its almost frowned upon to not be an engineer.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    LEHIGH vs. LAFAYETTE football game, longest lasting college football rivalry ever and its still strong. Alum buy tickets months in advance just to be able to beat the students to them. Longest and best tradition we have by far.

    Bang for the buck

    It's quite pricey but you won't get an education like it anywhere else. It's very apparent we consider ourselves (and we are) the best engineering school in the country. And plus they give away money like its candy

    What to do for fun

    There is always something going on at Lamberton Hall or other places. Free comedy shows from people on comedy central, free movies, make-and-take every Friday, sporting events, and contests, and of course school events such as recruiting information sessions. you would think that's not something to do for fun, but when big companies like Microsoft (for example, i only point them out because they were here the other day) they give away prizes and free food and offer chances to apply for internships and full time positions on the spot.

    Food and Dining

    Food isn't bad around here very wide selection at any of the three food courts and always something to eat. Also plenty of places to eat off campus if you just wanna change it up for a day.

    Dorm Life

    I loved my Freshmen and Sophomore year dorms I met all my best friends in my Freshmen dorm and now we all live together off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Its tough but if you got in, and keep up you should do fine. You don't get into Lehigh without being part of the top of your school. So don't fall behind on work and you'll do fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    VISIT! its not the same until you're here, visiting is what made up my mind. Keep up with work and approach your professors they are all very nice and very eager to help you learn the material and pass their class. Also don't be afraid of the hill, it grows on you.

    In three sentences

    This is the best school ever, I am very glad i choose to come here out of all my choices. The courses are challenging and therefore never dull. There is a lot of school spirit and its a very welcoming atmosphere. Couldn't have chosen a better school.

  • 11/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Lehigh is one of the few schools that has an actual credited police force on campus, not those security guards that many college students call their officers. There is always someone on shift patrolling the campus, especially on weekends, and I have never felt unsafe on campus nor in Bethlehem. The police also offer free self defense classes, and lectures on how to stay safe. If you are worried about your stuff getting stolen you can enter all you valuables on the Lehigh Campus Police Website for free.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is a large part of Lehigh's campus, about 50% of the students are Greek. However there is absolutely no pressure for anyone to become Greek, and the houses are regulated by Lehigh so they must meet Lehigh's safety regulations.

    Clubs and Activities

    I love all the choices of clubs Lehigh has! There are all sorts of sports, religion clubs, green clubs, any opinion club you can think of! And if the club you were looking for isn't there, you can make it! All clubs are student run. One thing I found interesting is that Lehigh has an equestrian team!

    Great for these types of students

    Great for hard workers who really know how to balance a social life and school. The work load is heavy, but certainly not unmanageable.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Lehigh has the oldest running college football rivalry with Lafayette! The week before the big game is full of festivities including bed racing! You heard me, you put wheels on beds and race them across campus. Also, there is a Lehigh bucket list of places to find around campus, such as the sculpture garden.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a very expensive school, but I definitely think it is worth its cost. It is giving me a quality education and I see my tuition money at work every day; I do not feel at all like it is wasted.

    What to do for fun

    Every weekend there is an activity called Late Night Lehigh. They have different activities every Friday and Saturday night. Sometimes its mini golfing, watching a movie, or glow in the dark rock climbing! There is never a lack of things to do. Also, on the weekends Lehigh offers movies that are out of theaters but not on DVD yet for FREE! And if you don't like what's on campus Philadelphia and New York are only a bus ride away.

    Food and Dining

    From the food I've tasted at other colleges, Lehigh's is top notch. There are two main dining halls and plenty of on campus restaurants where you can use your meals! Each dining hall has two dining options that change everyday and a made to order location. In addition they always have hamburgers and pasta. There is also a great selection for vegetarian students!

    Dorm Life

    I love my dorm and all who are in it. Our Gryphons (Lehigh's form of RAs) are very approachable and are not only a role model but a friend! Every month they hold an activity for our floor (if not the whole dorm) and its a great time because everyone is hanging out and having lots of fun!

    Academic Rigor

    I was in the top 10% of my class, and Lehigh has definitely been a challenging school. Don't let that discourage you though! There are plenty of opportunities to get extra help, and the professors love it if you go to there office hours and ask hem questions, that's what they're there for!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you visit the campus through the college. I know Lehigh looks at campus visits, and it could be a game changer. Its beautiful, but wear comfy shoes! Also make sure the school knows you are visiting, its good to stop by for a visit but there are special days with a lot of fun and informative activities for prospective students. Check out the website!

    In three sentences

    It is an amazing, challenging school with a beautiful campus! There is no loss of things to do here with hundreds of clubs, and varsity, club, and intramural sports! Students here know how to have a good time, but always focus on academics first.

  • 11/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    **** Stay out of trouble and trouble wont find you

    Greek Life

    lots of fun

    Great for these types of students

    All types of students, well diversed University

    What to do for fun

    Run, workout, pay music

    Food and Dining

    *** Food is as good as campus food can be Great off campus dining area

    Dorm Life

    ***** have to participate in Dorm life All dorms are pretty comfortable

    Academic Rigor

    ***** 5 out of 5 keeps you on your toes Must be prepared to work Rigorous but rewarding

    Tips for prospective students

    Be yourself Take your work seriously Think outside the box

    In three sentences

    Amazing professors. Great opportunities to expand your major Great location

  • 04/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Greek life is a huge part of Lehigh culture.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Lehigh-Laff week is so much fun!

    Bang for the buck

    Lehigh's tuition is on the higher end (and keeps rising).

    What to do for fun

    Get involved! There are many clubs and organizations that will appeal to your interests.

    Food and Dining

    Depends where you go. There are a few places to eat on campus so you will find something you like.

    Dorm Life

    Upperclassmen housing is nice.

    Academic Rigor

    You need to put much effort into the upper level classes. Teachers expect good academic performance.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be serious from day one (specially if you plan to go into the medical field). Classes can get though so work hard.

    In three sentences

    Lehigh has a beautiful campus. Lehigh has great professors. There are many things to do on campus!

  • 06/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is on a blue light system so you never feel you are in danger. And Lehigh provided TRACS (take a ride around campus safely) for students at night. There are two vans that run till 4 am so you do not have to walk at night!

    Greek Life

    Theres a hill with all the sorority and fraternity houses. The school is about 40% greek. Tons of people join houses, and tons don't!

    Clubs and Activities

    Countless clubs, and everyone is involved in something. It could range from greek life to ultimate frisbee.

    Great for these types of students

    People who want to do well academically, but have time to have fun!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every football game students dress up as silly as possible! If you look into the student section at games you will not see brown and white (our colors) but a ton of wigs, tutus, banana suits, etc.

    What to do for fun

    BBQs, movies, concerts, hanging out on the front lawn.

    Food and Dining

    the two main dining halls always provide you with a huge selection. If you like burgers or pasta, you'll never go hungry.

    Dorm Life

    Some of the dorms are small, and I have found my share of bugs... But the gryphons (an RA) always make sure you feel right at home.

    Academic Rigor

    Fast paced and its easy to fall behind if you do not do your homework. But professors extend office hours and try to help students as much as possible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Linderman Library is beautiful on the inside, and sometimes distracting! Always try to find a cubicle, or else you might not get as much work done as you planned!

    In three sentences

    Beautiful campus that you will never tire of. Always fun activities and new people to meet. Every professor you have wants to see you succeed.

  • 06/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Party

    Academic Rigor

    I have a friend who transferred to a state school who said Lehigh was far much more effort put into school work.

    In three sentences

    Lehigh's Greek Life dominates almost all aspects of the school not relating to academics. Lehigh tries to call itself diverse, but how diverse can a school really be at $56k a year? Although I have my complaints, I couldn't see myself anywhere else.

  • 10/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    If you stay on campus you're fine, Bethlehem can be a little sketch sometimes.

    Greek Life

    Over a third of students go Greek. Greek life dominates the campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Preppy Rich Outgoing Like to party Smart Works Hard

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Lehigh Lafayette, oldest rivalry and a ton of fun.

    Bang for the buck

    It's expensive, but you'll make your money back when you score a job making well over 60k a year.

    What to do for fun

    There's usually a party almost everyday of the week, and there is a scene for almost everyone. Lehigh also offers events like movies, trips, comedy shows and other things.

    Food and Dining

    Could be better.

    Dorm Life

    You'll make a lot of great friends.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go Greek! Study hard. Don't get cited.

    In three sentences

    This is a wonderful academic institution. We have stellar sport teams and a great night life. Greek life is also central to the scene.

  • 10/27/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    26 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are policemen everywhere on campus!

    Greek Life

    SO much Greek life! if you're not in a fraternity, you don't have an in on the latest parties and campus buzz.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It's located on a mountain! SO MUCH WALKING!! *phew*

    What to do for fun

    The students seemed to express their love for partying and fraternity housing.

    Food and Dining

    The food here was delicious!! SO much selection. But it's college food

    Dorm Life

    The dorms for freshmen are very crappy. NO AC!

    Academic Rigor

    The students I spoke to there expressed the difficulty they are experiencing keeping up with the work and socializing.

    In three sentences

    The campus is among one of the most gorgeous places I've visited. The surrounding city however is not so lavishing, leading me to assume the social life is contained within the campus walls. The students I spoke to there confirmed this but also mentioned that they make it work.

  • 10/30/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    27 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    haha, it is a big party school....

    Food and Dining

    Everyone says this is excellent!

    Dorm Life

    I havent gone there yet but only one building has air conditioning. Yikes!

    Tips for prospective students

    Your have to have done very well in high school and be very active in activities in your school.

    In three sentences

    It is such a beautiful campus it kind of looks like Hogwarts! It is an excellent school, especially for engineering majors. It is also a very small school good sized classes and people seem really friendly.

  • 02/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe, the surrounding area is a pretty low-income though.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is very active, approximately 50% of students are in Greek Life. Don't let this scare you if you don't want to go greek though!

    Clubs and Activities

    So many clubs here and it is so easy to start a club.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Lehigh has the most played college rivalry in the country (2014 is the 150th game!) So the week leading up to the Lehigh-Lafayette game is filled with contests, parties, concerts and bed races!

    What to do for fun

    Concerts, speakers, magicians, trivia nights, bingo and parties! There's literally always something going on here.

    Food and Dining

    Bleck... I've had worse, but I definitely don't enjoy eating here.

    Dorm Life

    All dorms are co-ed and the rooms aren't that small, not that they're big either! Cozy is a good word.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are hard, but the professors care a lot about how you do. Definitely expect to do a lot of work, but it is worth it!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't let Lehigh's reputation as an engineering school scare you! Our Arts & Sciences and Business schools are just as big, if not bigger than Engineering.

    In three sentences

    I love Lehigh so much because of the pride there is in the school and tons of ways to get involved. There is literally something for everyone here from football to a cappella to greek life to improv comedy. And if we're going to be honest it's one of the most beautiful campuses in the country; I mean, have you seen our library?

  • 03/07/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    29 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It's very expensive but what private college isn't? In my area, there are a ton of Lehigh alumni so the school has a great reputation.

    Food and Dining

    There are a lot of options on and off campus but it's not anything special or unique.

    In three sentences

    This school is built into the side of the mountain so you have to be prepared to be walking up and down hills a lot. For dorms and food, there are a lot of options for dinning and the dorms are much better than most state schools and average for private schools. The atmosphere is very competitive but there is also a huge greek presence on campus.

  • 04/29/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    30 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Lehigh recently earned an �A� rating for its campus security programs by Reader�s Digest, which ranked 135 of the nation�s top college campuses. Campus security works closely with the Bethlehem police department so both on and off campus students can feel safe.

    Greek Life

    the strong Greek system at Lehigh has been an important part of the student experience. The deeply rooted and well-established Greek system offers wide latitude in options, allowing most students interested in Greek life to find an organization that reflects their individual values, needs and interests.

    Clubs and Activities

    You can choose from among more than 150 clubs and organizations, including a capella singing groups, the World Affairs Club, academic honor societies, sports clubs, theater groups cultural organizations and even an emergency response crisis team. These organizations are recognized and funded through Lehigh�s Student Senate, which serves as the voice of the student body and provides an opportunity for students who are interested in representing their peers and improving the campus community to get involved in campus life.

    Great for these types of students

    Like a smaller campus, like to be known by teachers and students. Like the ability to do research, co-op and internships.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have bed races through the quad during spirit week, and other activities that take place before the rival football game with Lafayette. Since I haven't started yet, I look forward to learning about all the traditions they have.

    Bang for the buck

    I like the feel of this school, it's small size appealed to me and the teachers and students were all very friendly.

    What to do for fun

    Haven't started school yet, but I plan on joining clubs they have over 150 of them, and I plan on attending football and hockey games. They also have numerous act ivities throughout the year. They are a fairly small school and like to keep their students busy. Classes end each day at 4:00 so students can be involved in other non-academic activities if they choose.

    Food and Dining

    They have 2 all you can eat cafeterias and multiple other places to eat on campus. They are also very close to downtown Allentown where you can find more restaurants and they are all within walking distance from campus.

    Dorm Life

    I won't be living on campus so I can't say much about this.

    Academic Rigor

    I haven't started yet, but all the students I've spoken to tell me they hold you to a very high standard. However, they are all glad that standard was high because all of them were able to get jobs right out of college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you make as many visits as possible, and try to visit with a professor of the college your choosing for your major.

    In three sentences

    The campus is beautiful. Everyone there is friendly. They have great CO-OP and internship programs.

  • 08/19/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Strong and prominent on campus.

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities on campus so I assure you that there will always be something for someone who takes the time to look.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply Early Decision if you can because it gives you a better chance in my opinion and don't forget about the deadlines.

    In three sentences

    It has a beautiful campus. Lehigh is one of the best in engineering and business. Overall, a great school to attend.