Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Lewis-Clark State College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/12/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Interested in Nursing Like small class sizes Like a small community

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early to get classes you want Tour campus

    Will learn a lot

    About 2,500 to 3,500 students go here, meaning your professors get to know you individually.

  • 08/01/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    (Natural) Science Majors Nursing Majors Students who like small class sizes

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet with your advisor often and early. Figure out what classes you need to take early so you are ready for registration. Classes fill up fast!

    Bang for the buck

    There are lots of great scholarship opportunities for students (especially out of state students, like me). I am only paying about $2500 out of pocket for up to 16 units. This includes room and board, and meal plans.

    Am enjoying being here

    All the professors and other students are very friendly. I have never felt more welcomed at a school! Not to mention the small class sizes (25-40 students/class) allows you to get to know the professors and really participate in class.

    Am learning a lot

    You will learn a lot in all of your classes, especially your science courses. You have to work at it, but you will learn tons and have fun while doing it.

  • 01/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students looking for a small school with great degree options and a good community.

    Tips for prospective students

    The dorms are really not all that fun. It takes a special person to be able to put up with some of the things that go on in some dorms.

    Bang for the buck

    College is not cheap in any way shape or form at any school. This school has a very low tuition rate compared to many other schools.

    Am enjoying being here

    It is a great school full of friendly people and someone always willing to lend a helping hand.

    Am learning a lot

    The farther I get into the education degree classes the more I learn. Some of the core classes I have had to take did not teach me a whole lot that will be useful.

  • 06/13/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Nursing small classes intimate setting

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for the cold!

    Will enjoy being here

    Hear that it is friendly and accomodating.

    Will learn a lot

    My friends that go to this college have nothing but amazing things to say about it. Small classes, beautiful campus.

  • 10/08/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    small classes community oriented intimate setting

    Tips for prospective students

    Tour campus!! (definitely tour a dorm) talk to the coaches if interested in athletics apply early

    Bang for the buck

    tuition is only $4,998 a year! one of the cheapest colleges.

    Am enjoying being here

    gorgeous campus and great campus life. over 40 intramural sports and over 70 clubs on campus. over 30 different countries represented, plenty of diversity

    Am learning a lot

    small classes sizes that provide more one on one opportunities with the teachers. classes for many different majors or interests. many new buildings and facilities to learn in.

  • 12/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Pretty much everybody!!! Just make sure your major/minor is available.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring your A-game because we have some hard classes here! Don't forget that just because you are local doesn't mean you can't take classes online!

  • 12/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you like a small teacher to student ratio, and like a smaller campus this college is for you!

    Tips for prospective students

    Always know where you are on student loans and register quickly and accurately!

    Am learning a lot

    Hello, My name is Jorge Cordoba and I am the first generation born in the United States! I have been married for eight years and have two sons Jorge jr. and Isaiah Cordoba. It has been a struggle going to college because i stated when my wife just had Jorge Jr. When my wife was pregnant with Isaiah she acquired the influenza. They both turned out fine even though Isaiah has a genetic disability called Down Syndrome! With all the special needs Isaiah has needed it has slowed my ability to achieve a bachelor degree in Math and Secondary Education Certified. I need money to graduate I am broke. The school and teachers have been good to me! Except they have limited upper level math tutors and classes rotate every two years so if you miss one, sorry about your luck until the next class comes. Other than that it has been a pleasure attending college!

  • 01/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are so many activitys to enjoy on campus, you just have to go out and look for yourself

    Food and Dining

    Great food and a nice place to enjoy it at.

    Dorm Life

    Takes some getting used to but its pretty fun

    Academic Rigor

    I have am really injoying my classes while attending LCSC

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your work and go to class and just enjoy yourself

    In three sentences

    Great College, Smalls class size, and hands on learning.

  • 01/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Great on campus coffee shops!

    What to do for fun

    Movies, shopping, parks, the river, 5 minutes and you're in washington!

    Tips for prospective students

    LCSC rocks.

    In three sentences

    Friendly students and staff, beautiful campus, and great school!

  • 05/08/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This is a must and always remains positive!

    Greek Life

    I will leave this up to people who are interested in this form of knowledge!

    Clubs and Activities

    You name it we have it, take a wild guess!

    Great for these types of students

    International students are always welcome!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Dog Wood Festival is a amazing event that contribute to the well being of coming together as a community here at our campus!

    Bang for the buck

    Unlimited amount of knowledge no one can take from you. It is up to you to decide you want what you want in life, a degree!

    What to do for fun

    Socialize and make new friends!

    Food and Dining

    A variety of foods that make it worth your bucks!

    Dorm Life

    Cheap!

    Academic Rigor

    I'm a participant of TRIO club!

    Tips for prospective students

    Time management skills, you gain a sense of ego and mainly build social networks that help sustain a brighter future to come!

    In three sentences

    Low student to teacher ratio in classroom setting. Lowest intuition in northwest. Friendly and helpful teacher environment.

  • 06/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We are a small town with low crime rates and our campus is located in a very nice part of the historical neighborhood.

    Greek Life

    None... that I know of.

    Clubs and Activities

    I personally love the Outdoor Recreation club!

    Great for these types of students

    All students! We have lots of students from different countries and from different parts of the United States. However, we are a smaller town with lots of outdoor activities.

    Bang for the buck

    The college is great! The low-cost is an extra bonus!

    What to do for fun

    The college has a great Outdoor Recreation program/club! I have been whitewater rafting twice with the club and backpacking to Zion National Park!

    Food and Dining

    The food is expensive and comes in TOO big of portions for me to eat. I end up feeling bad that I had to waste food.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    It really depends on the instructor, but I wouldn't say that courses were too difficult, but it might be because the class sizes are small and the instructors are super helpful and attentive!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are an undecided major, take beginning courses that are required for all degrees before taking anything too specific! It will cut down on costs later on.

    In three sentences

    My school has a great Nursing Program with very helpful advising staff! The new Nursing and Health Science building is a comfortable learning environment. The college campus is one of the most beautiful places in town!

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always security on-campus, 24/7 access with just a phone call, and they do everything in their power to make sure everyone is safe. I had to work with them for a civil problem, and they were quick, efficient, and most importantly, polite.

    Clubs and Activities

    I loved my time in the Speech and Debate club, and I'm sure the other clubs are just as fun.

    Great for these types of students

    I think LC is great for the more laid-back student, the ones that want to have a little fun after the homework is done.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Visit the coffee shop on campus if you want unusual drinks, like energy mixes! Also, don't forget to wear LC colors to any sports event!

    Bang for the buck

    I think the quality of classes is worth the cost, even if I wish the cost itself was a little lower.

    What to do for fun

    Is there anything that ISN'T there? There's a Speech and Debate team, theater group, groups for each major, and every sport but football. I personally liked going every so often to the events on campus, like magicians, ventriloquists, and comedians.

    Food and Dining

    I loved the variety in the cafeteria, and the dinner buffets are COMPLETELY worth the money. I thought they could tone down some of the prices on the lunch things, like wraps and sandwiches, but as to quality, it was worth it,

    Dorm Life

    I enjoyed my time in the Talkington dorm. It was on campus, right in the center of everything, well maintained if a little archaic, and there is a great staff that will help you if you need it. Just beware of loud teenagers on weekends.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes I've had so far are challenging, but not impossible. There are plenty of study options, and tutors are usually available no matter the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in a group or something on campus, knowing lots of people gives you lots of resources in case you need help! And have a little bit of money put onto your warrior card. You don't want to be caught at the library with no money to pay for a print job.

    In three sentences

    A great campus, with friendly people, teachers and staff. Excellent education in each class, great opportunities to meet people to help get through the classes, and many ways to get involved.

  • 06/05/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    13 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The river is close to campus and the satellite campuses offer awesome places to study at where one can really get outdoors.

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus is good.

    Dorm Life

    I cannot comment on dorm life as I have never been to the dorms; however, I have heard good things from others.

    Academic Rigor

    As stated before, the academic programs here are very respected in the Northwest community and a degree here is well-earned.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would advise checking out some of LCSC's satellite campuses throughout Idaho as they offer really interesting and inspiring locations.

    In three sentences

    This is an excellent college for students looking to get away from the typical college 'scene.' Academics definitely come first here; students should find that the academic work is good and that he or she will learn. All in all, this is an excellent, little college.

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe and friendly campis

    Great for these types of students

    If you want to get a degree, or just get te first or second year out of the way, this is the place

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Chech out the Sam Glenn building. Two circular buildings connected.

    Bang for the buck

    Great place to get your degree.

    What to do for fun

    Baseball games basketball games, intramural sports like flag football.

    Food and Dining

    Great food choices on campus and around town.

    Dorm Life

    Some are better than others. Some are next to campus and some give you the chance to get some exercise.

    Academic Rigor

    Very good instructors that expect you to spend the time and effort to learn. It is not just an extension of high school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study, study, study. It is too easy to take it easy and enjoy the school and forget to study.

    In three sentences

    Great faculty, small classes, and lots of majors to choose from.

  • 11/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Low tuition and great learning!

    What to do for fun

    There are many things to do for fun. LCSC has great intermural activities.

    Food and Dining

    There are many fast food restaurants in Lewiston. I am unsure of the cafeteria food at Lewis Clark State College for I do not have a food plan.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms. I would recommend it for any out of town students, the dorms seem very clean and updated.

    Academic Rigor

    The only challenges I have found is the balance between work and school. There are great resources available to help students with homework.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend prospective students to try and attend LCSC without working a job.

    In three sentences

    Lewis Clark State College is a great place to learn. The student to teacher ratio is outstanding, and the professors are very willing to work with the students. The campus is very easy to find your way around.

  • 12/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I often get out of class late and it is already dark out, I feel completely safe walking outside and across campus. The security is seen quite often patroling campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are posters and flyers hanging everywhere offering students a chance to join different clubs.,

    Great for these types of students

    Any type of students will fit in here!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    During the beginning of the fall semester this year, I would often be walking to class and hear music coming from somewhere, They had a band playing for all to see and enjoy right in the middle of campus, It was pretty neat!

    Bang for the buck

    This college is Awesome! I am a thirty year old mother of three little boy's, even though sometimes I feel guilty for having to be at school instead of with my boys, the college and professors make my time spent worth it. I know that they are willing and ready to help me succeed!

    What to do for fun

    The college offers all kinds of fun activities, from basketball and baseball games to musical performances and beach bbq's.

    Food and Dining

    The coffee shop is not only decently priced but also convenient and very good. There are snack and beverage machine everywhere for convenience and the main dining hall is clean.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are packed with fun teachers who actually act like they care whether you make it or not.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out the campus and ask questions, take full advantage of all the fun activities that the college has to offer.

    In three sentences

    Great teachers. The campus is clean and always kept up looking. The trio program is very helpful and rewarding.

  • 01/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is a small one, but I think that helps us feel more safe while we're here, also the surrounding area here in Lewiston isn't a 'bad' part of town. One of our dorms is a few blocks away and I feel perfectly safe walking there after dinner. We also have 24 security people who are super nice and helpful if you don't feel safe for any reason.

    Greek Life

    We do not have Greek Row here.

    Clubs and Activities

    As previously stated, there are TONS of different opportunities for everyone on and off campus.

    Great for these types of students

    I don't think LCSC caters to one type of student over another. I've seen every kind of student(older, fresh out of high school, quiet, loud, studious, not-so-studious) feel at home here and that says something in itself.

    Bang for the buck

    LCSC is the perfect college for the price that is required to attend. I feel like I am getting so much more than what I am paying for, and that is hard to find in higher education.

    What to do for fun

    So many clubs, organizations, and intramurals are offered here. They have something for every kind of person. People are always up for playing ping pong or frisbe or football on the library lawn. All you have to do is step outside your dorm and many opportunites await.

    Food and Dining

    The food is definitely not gourmet, but definitely not as bad as you may have had in high school.

    Dorm Life

    The are a couple different options for dorms and they have any kind that fit the kind of person you are. You'll meet many people and there always are things going on for you to attend.

    Academic Rigor

    The classest are probably not the toughest offered in the Northwest, but they definitely can be challenging and keep you on your feet.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be afraid to jump into clubs and organizations, especially when you're an incoming student/freshman. Also do not be afraid to step outside your 'normal' boundaries to meet new people. Last tip is to not be afraid of starting something new and exciting here, it is the perfect place!

    In three sentences

    LCSC is a small tight knit college that makes it feel like you can talk to everyone that walks by. Everyone is so friendly and kind whether you're long lost friends, or barely acquaintances. It's beautiful and such a nice place to spend my first four years of college at; I am so happy to be obtaining my degree here.

  • 02/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There seems to always something going on campus, from comedians, guest speakers, to intramural sports. And there is always things to do off campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is pretty good. Their quite a few options to choose from as they offer things for any kind of diet. Such as hamburgers, burritos, sub sandwiches, salads, fruit, ect.

    Dorm Life

    I actually have never lived in the dorms but they look pretty nice from a distance and living on campus is a great way to stay active in campus life.

    Academic Rigor

    This is a great place to stay focused on classes and assignments. There are many different places to go for help such as the writing lab, math lab, science lab, and the library is always available and full of any study material.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's good to have a plan on what you intend to study and what you want to learn. Being active in the college community is a great way to meet new people and receive any help. Have fun.

    In three sentences

    This is a great school as the faculty are helpful and really care about their students. The campus is the perfect size with everything within walking distance. It also has a good student to faculty ratio.

  • 03/17/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    19 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    They have a cute little coffee stand in the middle of campus.

    Dorm Life

    Talkington hall appeared to be a much nicer dorm than Clark. However, we saw a boy's dorm in Clark and it was super messy!

    Academic Rigor

    Everyone I talked to mentioned how small the class sizes were, and how friendly the professors are.

    In three sentences

    This school is really nice. I have had great help with all of the administrative staff. It seems like such a tight knit community there.

  • 04/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I am a working mother, wife, sister, and daughter so needless to say life gets busy... Life cannot pause so you can start, or finish school. Flexible schooling hours as well as a variety of online classes have made it do-able!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    GOLF TOURNEY!!!

    Bang for the buck

    Lewis-Clark State College is very well acredited and I feel confident that I will not only get a job with the knowledge that I gained, but that I will easily succeed because of what of the real life scenarios I have learned.

    What to do for fun

    The local advisors love to through fun little get togethers such as bowling night, or the legendary golf tournaments. We also have get togethers at the beautiful lake shorelines. I have made life long friends though this college experience; you never know, maybe even colleagues some day soon!

    Food and Dining

    There are many local restaurants within walking distance of campus, and there is an option to eat at the cafeteria of the neighboring college.

    Dorm Life

    There are not dorms available for this local college, because of it's size. But this does not pertain to me, I already have a mortgage.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study, study, study! You have an amazing potential in you that the college experience, whether online or on campus, will bring out of you.

    In three sentences

    The staff in Coeur d'Alene is incredibly determined to see each student succeed. The financial aid office is always friendly and willing to answer any questions. The course work is appropriately challenging and evolved.

  • 04/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are several activities and clubs to be involved in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you look at what you need to complete your degree so that you can make efficient use of your time.

    In three sentences

    LCSC is a very good college. I have enjoyed my teachers and advisors. You really get to know them both.

  • 05/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 22 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I don't live near the campus.

    Food and Dining

    Live at home.

    Dorm Life

    Live at home.

    Academic Rigor

    They don't give you any more than you can handle. They want you to complete every course you take and get the degree you want.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work with your advisor to get the best of the college experience.

    In three sentences

    They give you great option to take course at the college. They have location around the state and through the Internet with online course. It is a great college with instructors that are available to help you with any problems that may come up during the year.

  • 02/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've always felt safe at LCSC. There are security guards on campus all the time. We are always notified by email if there is something happening on campus that we should be aware of.

    Great for these types of students

    Any students going into the nursing field or anything science related should definitely think about going to LCSC. Their science programs, and nursing program especially, are very highly regarded. If you're planning on getting a degree in science first and then going to grad school, attending LCSC is a great opportunity to get the undergraduate knowledge you need at a more affordable price.

    Bang for the buck

    Lewis-Clark State College definitely gives you the biggest bang for your buck. It is relatively cheap compared to most colleges but you will still receive an amazing education. I've loved every single professor I've had and have always felt that they would go out of their way to help me.

    What to do for fun

    There's a variety of clubs to get involved in at LC. Even if you aren't involved in one yourself, there are various clubs that plan activities that everyone is welcome to. Warrior Web has Warrior Wednesdays where they plan fun activities every other Wednesday for students to attend. They also schedule comedians, bands, and other performers for students to come watch free of charge. There is also a lot of different intramural sports, rock-climbing trips, skiing trips, etc.

    Food and Dining

    There isn't a really large number of dining options at LC like you would find at some larger universities. That being said, the ones that are available are pretty great. There are a few different coffee shops that serve different kinds of snacks and drinks. There's also the main cafeteria that serves students the main meals.

    Dorm Life

    I live off-campus so I don't have any direct input on the dorm life. However, I know multiple students who live in the dorms and I've heard good things about all of them. I have been inside Clearwater Hall and it is very nice. The students I know who live there love it. I also know that this college has a really great RA program and the RA's seem to be super caring and helpful!

    Academic Rigor

    I love the courses and professors at LCSC. I'm getting a degree in biology and the science professors are amazing. Not only do you learn so much from their classes but the class sizes are so small so it's easy to ask questions. More than likely, you'll end up having some of the same teachers multiple times. This makes it so much easier to learn when you aren't nervous about asking your professor for help. I love the fact that when I see the professors out and about on campus they know my name and ask how I'm doing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Strongly consider LCSC if you are planning to go on to grad school in the future. You'll receive a great education at a fraction of the price of most universities. If you aren't going to live on campus, try getting involved in one of the many clubs available so you can still make friends.

    In three sentences

    Lewis-Clark State College is located in a small town but is full of opportunities. The professors at this school are wonderful. This college has a variety of programs and undergraduate degrees to choose from.