Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Lincoln Christian University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/18/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Crazy God-loving rich people with a desire to know the God's will and have a great time.

    Tips for prospective students

    When dining in the caf, it's very appropriate to ask Matt (cashier) what he recommends for your meal. Buy a little packet from Mr. Books to keep your ID in. I've lost mine twice this semester. There goes twenty bucks I could've tithed. Be prepared to make friends.

    Bang for the buck

    Eh... Lincoln's a small town, but you can't beat the great environment on campus!

    Am enjoying being here

    The Warehouse is open most of the time for students to come in, kick back, relax, play games, watch movies, do homework, and just generally hang out! It also serves premium Starbucks coffee at GREAT prices! All students who sign up for the meal plan get fifty dollars worth of coffee and treats from the Warehouse. Can't really beat that, can you? Plus, in the winter, there's a cute fireplace with fire in it. Great spot to kick up with a good book and a cup of hot cocoa with whipped cream.

    Am learning a lot

    First of all, the classes are mostly all religious, so if you're not Christian, don't apply here. You won't like it. Second, there's very few math and sciences courses, so for all of us uber-challenged, that's a huge plus! The professors are always open to helping new students. Many of them attended LCU or another similar college in the past and understand the difficulty of adjusting to the environment. They also understand a student's need to have fun and often join in!

  • 02/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 8

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    while lincoln is a small town and the campus even smaller there are still things to do like go to games, relax in the warehouse with a coffee, student organized games of capture the flag. in town we have the owl's roost, the small movie theater, and a number of restaurants.

    Food and Dining

    the majority of our food is very good with only occasional meals that seem maybe sub par.

    Dorm Life

    dorm life at lincoln christian university is something that can only be compared to family. everyone knows each other on each floor and there is a sense of community.

    Academic Rigor

    while some courses might not be particularly challenging there are just as many courses that meet the students and require them to put in a lot of time and effort. the majority of the time it is not too much to bare but other times it can seem overwhelming.

    Tips for prospective students

    to prospective students i would highly recommend scheduling a campus visit day where possible students are allowed to tour the campus and stay one night in the dorms. this experience could be a deciding factor for any future student.

    In three sentences

    lincoln christian university has been an excellent experience both in education and spirituality. their expectations for us are kept high and keep me motivated to succeed in my college career. lincoln christian university is doing an awe inspiring job at grooming future leaders.

  • 02/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    small amount of clubs and official activities, but the president is working to get more established.

    Great for these types of students

    outgoing, smart, creative

    Bang for the buck

    incredible. one of the least expensive private universities in illinois, and they ensure you get the scholarships you can. the education you receive is worth far more than what you pay.

    What to do for fun

    hang out with students. the town of lincoln is not conducive to awesome friday nights on the town. but the community here is phenomenal and anyone who likes hanging with people will enjoy it here.

    Food and Dining

    the food is very good, and the manager of the food company (sodexho) is always trying to please the students.

    Dorm Life

    very fun. i have spent countless hours hanging out with guys on my floor.

    Academic Rigor

    lcu is difficult, and will challenge your intellect and commitment to learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    visit campus, and stay overnight! you will have tons of fun.

    In three sentences

    lincoln christian university is an exceptional institution for learning how to think critically and engage with the world. lcu teaches its students not to blindly believe what they believe, but to question it and really believe it. in addition, their programs are very sound with incredibly intelligent and competent professors.

  • 08/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is not much around and Lincoln, IL is a quiet town. There are some students who feel perfectly fine to walk around campus in the middle of the night alone.

    Greek Life

    If by Greek Life you are looking for Houses to join and get drunk you should look else where. There is a covenant that all students are required to sign. Lincoln Christian University students are not allowed to drink until graduation. This does make it a lot easier to study in the Dorms though.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are some sport available to play: soccer, basketball, baseball and volley ball. There are also Intramural sports which are sport that are just for fun.

    Bang for the buck

    If you are looking for a place to help you, encourage you and challenge you in your spiritual life this is the place to go.

    What to do for fun

    Usually people watch movies together or participate in Intramural sports. There are also the official school sports which you can do AND get the required credit you need for Gym. There is a 24 hour Walmart in town, rumor has it that people go there to play Hide-and-Seek.

    Food and Dining

    There is a large selection of food and if you come there will be people who tell you that some of the food is either a hit or miss day. There are some things that are really good or just not. The soup is usually really good and the variety is awesome. Be careful that you choose healthy choices most of the time. The Freshmen 15 sneaks up on you.

    Dorm Life

    I cannot speak of the Guys' Dorm but the Girls' Dorm is very nice. The third floor has a workout room and the second floor has a large study room. There is also a community TV/Lounge on every floor. The atmosphere of every floor differs due to the people who live there. My floor was pretty wacky last year. We all got along, hung out, encouraged each other and prayed for one another.

    Academic Rigor

    The school work is challenging and a lot is expected of students but there is also a lot of help offered by the school like free tutoring. Students are expected to complete service learning and go to Chapel and Spiritual Formation Groups (SFG). It is difficult but rewarding.

    Tips for prospective students

    One of the toughest things that students face on campus is the Bible becoming more of a text book. Take your homework as an opportunity to worship God. Be very careful to balance your social life with your academic life. It is really important to have some fun so you don't burn out but not so much that you get bad grades.

    In three sentences

    Lincoln Christian University is a place where students can be challenged in their spiritual lives and are encouraged along the way. Students are also required to participate in community service activities that are related to their degree which helps students get real world experience while completing their degree. Lincoln is welcoming and the student body is active.

  • 11/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Lincoln is a small and safe campus. If students are caught doing any illegal activities, they are expelled from the university.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is inter-collegiate sports with other Christian colleges in the Mid-West.

    What to do for fun

    Students can look at various historical sites about Abraham Lincoln.

    Food and Dining

    Great food and an affordable meal plan.

    Dorm Life

    Lincoln is a very safe and quiet campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors make clear expectations for students to follow, and as long as one follows the syllubus well, then they will be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    You must be a Christian to go here, and it is a very diverse school.

    In three sentences

    The professors care about each student's success. It is a small campus that is very safe. It is very affordable considering it is a private university.

  • 02/05/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    6 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is small and on the outskirts of town. Most of the housing around the the campus is well lit and the students reported feeling safe when traveling around the campus.

    Greek Life

    There are no fraternities or sororities

    Clubs and Activities

    There are male and female competitive sports programs, cheer leading, chorale, opportunities to perform in the annual Christmas program and in the student coffee shop.

    Great for these types of students

    This is a Christian university and seminary, so the courses offered are geared toward Christian service, but there are also programs that provide prerequisites for programs in nursing and teaching.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    During spring break, students are expected to perform some type of mission oriented service. This can be anything from community service to an international mission trip.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition, and room and board are around $24,000 a year and the college has many scholarships that you can apply for if you qualify.

    What to do for fun

    Lincoln is a small town, but there are movie theaters, many good restaurants. nice parks and it's fairly close to bigger cities.

    Food and Dining

    Meals are included as part of room and board. There is a cafeteria that provides a large variety of food throughout the day that includes hot entrees and a salad bar. During the visit, I ate two meals in the cafeteria and they were excellent.

    Dorm Life

    Everyone I have spoken with loved living in the dorms. The faculty and staff pray over every applicant when making roommate assignments in an effort to make matches that are similar. There are not coed dorms, but there are hours each day when men can visit women's dorms for visiting.

    Academic Rigor

    I have been working hard on improving my writing skills, because I have been told there is a lot of writing as a way to reflect on what is being taught.

    Tips for prospective students

    I found a contact person during my first visit, so that as other questions came up, I had someone I could contact. The person I have been working with will be my advisor when I begin attending. I also recommend attending the prospective student weekend. You stay in a dorm and get to spend time with current students. I really learned a lot about the campus and student activities this way.

    In three sentences

    The faculty, deans and support staff were extremely friendly and took the time to answer all my questions and share information on the programs, financial aid, and student activities. I also was able to meet with students and get questions answered about student life. It was a very informative and fun day.

  • 03/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe!

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of intramurals!

    Great for these types of students

    Looking for a Christian community that is close knit

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the abandoned bridge!

    Bang for the buck

    It's pretty expensive...

    What to do for fun

    There is not a whole lot to do in Lincoln, but students find there way to make their own fun. You will find that you end up with more interesting memories that way :)

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for all the scholarships you can, it is a bit expensive! Make lots of friends and don't be shy!

    In three sentences

    The staff genuinely cares for the students. The facilities are very nice, especially the brand new girls dorm. I love the faith-based, caring community on campus.

  • 02/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Volleyball mens and womens basketball mens and womens soccer baseball Great Community of people and coaches very focused on spiritual growth!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    FOCUS- Focus is a worship night in the chapel that happens every other Wednesday at 9:15 at night it is soo great! Girls Dorm- Dorm pageant: super fun and super funny! each floor has a pageant to decipher their floor representative. Then there is a dorm wide pageant with lady staff judges where all the floor reps will compete. Only Girls know what happens that night. Guys dorm- There are a lot of crazy traditions over there. I dont know many, but I do know that one floor on the guys dorm celebrates Christmas like crazy. They start the day after halloween and that night at midnight they go caroling even in the girls lobby. Steak n Shake- a lot of people go there to hangout especially after focus!

    What to do for fun

    There is not much to do in Lincoln itself beside walmart, thrifting, and some good food places. There is though, towns close by such as Bloomington, Springfield, and Peoria where there is shopping and broader options of fun things to do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to read Be ready to be challenged Get involved on campus (it is easy) Don't be shy Let loose and have fun!

    In three sentences

    Lincoln Christian University is a fantastic genuine community. The Professors want you to succeed and be ready to go into the world equipped with useful skills to live a Christian lifestyle in a Secular world. They are engaged in your life and want to get to now you better.