Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Lincoln Memorial University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 11/05/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    9 out of 10 people found this review useful. 1 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who enjoy the outdoors.

    Tips for prospective students

    To give LMU a chance even though it is in a rural area the campus is beatiful and with 1,000+ acres.

  • 06/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Your safety is in good hands.

    Greek Life

    The are three great local sororities and fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs that you are bound to find one you want to join.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who love to be challenged.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Foam parties!

    Bang for the buck

    Academically yes but it is way over priced; especially the two meal plans you are forced to buy if you live on campus even though you are provided with a kitchen if you live in an apartment.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends or go out of town. The student center is an excellent on campus hang out.

    Food and Dining

    The food is edible but I can not find a lot to eat because of have a lot of stomach problems and allergies. I'm still unhappy that i have to pay for a meal plan that I never use.

    Dorm Life

    It's pricy but if you decide to live on campus, you will enjoy it.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are great! You will be challenged to your limits but the knowledge you acquire will be well worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for all the scholarships you can and try to live off campus because it is much cheaper and you will not be forced to buy an over priced meal plan.

    In three sentences

    It is a great school with excellent educational opportunities. However the technology is slow and unreliable. Also it is extremely expensive and is located in an area that is low income so they should find ways to lower tuition.

  • 10/14/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those that like smaller universities and enjoy the rural setting with mountains, trails, and peacefulness.

    Tips for prospective students

    You've got to check this campus out. It's awesome!!

    Am enjoying being here

    Beautiful area and small town that reminds me of home. Everyone is so nice and it's like one big family.

    Am learning a lot

    Love the smaller size classes. Teachers are very personable and very willing to assist you.

  • 01/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    go play ping pong or pool with your friends and just chill

    Food and Dining

    food is Awesome.

    Dorm Life

    all depends on your roommate. but other than that its good.

    Academic Rigor

    They will push you to do your best like college is supposed to but never to far to where you'll break.

    Tips for prospective students

    get your stuff submitted and set up early. first day is insane.

    In three sentences

    LMU is an awesome college. I transferred from Roane State Community College in Oak Ridge and LMU is so much better.

  • 04/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 19

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Lincoln Memorial University is a wonderful school to attend. They have very nice faculty and staff. Although I do think the tuition is way too high.

  • 01/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    intramurals

    Tips for prospective students

    try to make the best of it.

    In three sentences

    lincoln memorial university is a queit campus with a diverse student body.

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    7 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I do not know about the campus safety because I do commute to school and do not stay on the campus.

    Greek Life

    I do not about Greek life because I have not joined any sorority.

    Clubs and Activities

    I haven't joined any clubs or organizations, but I do plan on joining some.

    Great for these types of students

    I do not know what would be great for students that is on the campus because I commute.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I do not stay on the campus so I do not know what the traditions are on the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    I do not stay on the campus so I do not know what is the best deal around.

    What to do for fun

    I commute to school and do not have any information about what is fun to do around the campus.

    Food and Dining

    I do not have any information for food because I am a commuter.

    Dorm Life

    I have not stayed on campus. I do not have any information here.

    Academic Rigor

    I haven't attended so I can not give any information about this subject.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be afraid to ask questions. Make sure your school sends all up to date information like transcripts.

    In three sentences

    Everyone is so friendly and hopeful. The campus is beautiful and clean. There is no run arounds when trying to figure out where to go and what is needed to finish up the application process.

  • 06/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very safe. We have surveillance for every apartment as well as 24 hour patrol. I've always felt safe and secure at Lincoln Memorial University.

    Greek Life

    There is a wide range of sororities and fraternities that are very active around campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs and activities an many of the students do volunteer work with people in the community.

    Great for these types of students

    LMU is a great for students who are coming to pursue athletics, or love to learn and want to get out and find themselves. It is a place where you can identify with others and really get out an explore the options of life. It is a quiet and safe learning environment.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This school is home to the Abraham Lincoln Library and Museum. It is full of original artifacts and journals from as far back as Lincoln's days as a lawyer. We also have an amazing out door course that includes, zip lining and rock climbing.

    Bang for the buck

    Coming to LMU from such a big city I was concerned with whether or not I would like it, but I love it. I met a lot of amazing new people and got involved with the country. Being a student athlete, one of my biggest concerns was how I would manage my time and maintain superb performance in both the classroom and on the court; but with the help of my coaches and the faculty I pulled through. I met people that help me make a difference in my life, not only that, but amazing friends.

    What to do for fun

    LMU's campus is very student oriented. For fun attend sports games. LMU multiple teams that have both obtained and maintained national rankings. Also, get involved with student activities. Each month student life puts out a calendar with lists of events going on around campus, such as, movie nights, ice cream socials, and pool tournaments.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria options are sometimes hit and miss but mostly hit. They offer a healthy selection for breakfast, lunch and dinner. There is also a Wingery of campus that stays open later in case students want a snack and if none of those options suffice, there is are plenty of restaurants around town to enjoy.

    Dorm Life

    LMU just added 4 new apartment complexes to their campus. Facilities are clean, well kept and safeguarded. majority of the living facilities are apartment style, with the exception of a couple other varieties. Students have the option to live in an all female or all male dorm if they feel more comfortable, or for students pursuing post graduate degrees LMU offers and off campus site for more of a quiet, study environment.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors at this university do their best to push their students to do the same. They challenge us so we can be the best in our fields. Admittedly, the work is hard but the benefits reaped are well worth the effort.

    Tips for prospective students

    As a prospective student you should always keep your eyes open for upcoming activities. These activities range from hiking trips, sporting events but most importantly, study groups. Always remember to stay on top of your school work, set deadlines and always ask for help. We have excellent academic advisors and facilities; take advantage of them.

    In three sentences

    Lincoln Memorial University is not only a fine place for academic study, but a place of solidity. This University offers exceptional degree programs that range from Criminal Justice to Veterinary Sciences, as well as, social activities to living up campus life. Lincoln Memorial is a place for growth both academically and personally.

  • 06/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a 24/7 campus security office and because the campus is so small the crime rate is really low. Also, the response time of the security team is fast in emergencies.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of academic organizations and sororities/fraternities. There are also several sports available to tryout for, but there is no football team.

    Great for these types of students

    LMU is great for all types of students. Honestly, a label cannot be placed on a specific person that would make this school an ideal option for them. It's not that black and white. It has more to do with a connection that each individual either feels or does not feel with the campus and the atmosphere of the school.

    Bang for the buck

    Personally, I feel like LMU is a little pricey, but it is a private university.

    What to do for fun

    The various student organizations on campus sponser several social events each month. Some invents include foam parties, black light parties, cookouts, movie nights in Middlesboro, KY, and bowling nights! Last year there was also a concert sponsored by one of the sororities.

    Food and Dining

    The food that is prepared in the cafeteria and the on-campus wingery is high quality and tastes great! My only caveat is that the food options are repetitive from day-to-day.

    Dorm Life

    The freshman dorms (Liles and West) aren't great, but they aren't terrible either. And once you do your time in those dorms, the other housing options are extremely nice-not to mention new- apartment-style dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I went to a really good high school that I feel was able to prepare me for the rigor of college. To me, my high school was more rigorous that LMU is.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip for prospective students would be to attend the weekend stay on campus and experience what its like to attend LMU before you commit to any school.

    In three sentences

    LMU is a small campus, but that is part of what makes it a great option for schooling. I find most of the teachers to be highly knowledgeable in their field of study. Also, the food isn't bad!

  • 09/04/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    10 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to gym to play basketball or lift weights. The few student activities.

    In three sentences

    A quiet campus and town with decent people to match it.

  • 12/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a walking trail that goes through campus.

    Food and Dining

    I do not eat on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are very challenging and rewarding.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enjoy your time in college.

    In three sentences

    Lincoln Memoiral University is a great school. The class sizes are small. The teachers are excellent.

  • 12/09/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    12 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Not staying on campus...

    Bang for the buck

    I just can't wait to start the nursing program!

    What to do for fun

    I have not been to the Harrogate campus to see what all they have out there.

    Food and Dining

    I am attending in Knoxville so food and dining is of course 5 stars.

    Dorm Life

    I will not be living on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    From what I've read and been told, LMU is a great school for academics, nursing being one of the top.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early! Don't wait until last minute to make sure you have all of your stuff together.

    In three sentences

    I have heard great things about Lincoln Memorial and their nursing program. I will be attending here beginning in January at the Physicians Regional Medical Center Cite. So far the most trouble I've had has been with getting my financial aid lined up.

  • 12/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The school is surrounded by beautiful mountains, so there are always plenty of opportunities for hiking and trail riding at the Pinnacle and other locations. Also, Middlesboro is about five minutes away, and there is a mall and several places to eat there.

    Food and Dining

    The food is decent, and there's always a large variety to choose from because it is an all-you-can-eat buffet. The cafeteria workers are always friendly and serve you with a smile. There is also a wings restaurant to eat at which is also pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    Because of the small number of students on campus, you interact with others closely and develop into a tight-knit family. Living on campus is a fun and wonderful experience I encourage everyone to experience.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic courses can be quite challenging; however, they push you to strive for excellence and do your best which will help you in the long run. Professors are always available and willing to help when needed as well as tutors who have already taken the courses who can offer you advice.

    Tips for prospective students

    When you enter college, be prepared to expand your horizons and reach out to new opportunities. Take advantage of situations that will help further you academically and socially and seize each day as if it were your last.

    In three sentences

    Lincoln Memorial has a very beautiful, welcoming campus. Since the campus is not very big, it is easier to interact with students and get to know people on a personal level to develop strong friendships. The staff are friendly and always willing to help you in any way they can.

  • 01/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe campus! We have security AKA LMU police drive around 24/7 and cameras in every building. It is safe to walk around at night but if you are afraid, you can call security and they will take you back to your dorm.

    Greek Life

    The greeks are not very popular on campus. There are 3 sororities and 3 frats. Each sorority has their own house, but the frats do not have a house. They often sponsor events such as bingo night, zombie tag, movie night, etc.

    Clubs and Activities

    ACTIVITIES:: Outdoor Movies, Pool Activities, Intramural Sports, Carnival Events, guest Speakers, Comedians, Trips ( skiing, hiking),Themed Sporting Events, Contest, Seasonal and Holiday Events, Hot Chocolate and Coffee on the Quad, Dances and Parties, And many more events. CLUBS:: Athletic Training Student Association, Criminal Justice Society, Psychology Club, SHARE Club, Students In Free Enterprise (SIFE) AKA ENACTUS, Studentâ??s, National Education Association, Student Wildlife Society, Veterinary Technology Club, Student Government Association, Baptist Collegiate Ministries, Concert Choir, Literary Magazine, Fellowship of Christian Athletes, High Adventure Series, House of Seven Tables, International Student Union, Pep Band, Yearbook, Cheerleading, Lincoln Ambassadors, Political Organizations, Earth Club, Art Club, Physical Education & Kinesiology, Paranormal Society, Lambda, Blacksmithing Club and Greek Life

    Great for these types of students

    Great for people majoring in the nursing, medical, and business major. Also for people that love being outdoors. NOT for people that like to party unless they are willing to drive to knoxville.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Abraham Lincoln Library and Museum is on campus. It has may original artifacts and journals.

    Bang for the buck

    LMU is a great school so I think it is worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    Free bowling once a month, hiking, biking, swimming, gym, ice cream socials, movie nights, pool tournaments, sports games, trail riding at the Pinnacle and other locations. There's a small mall in KY that's about five minutes away with a theater.

    Food and Dining

    The food is decent. We have a salad/soup bar, sandwich bar, international bar, dessert bar, pizza and hamburger bar. We also have a WOW (world of wings) & a STARBUCKS!!!

    Dorm Life

    fun! but it mainly depends on you and your roommate. make sure you room with a person who has the similar interests. Housing is very nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Some courses are very challenging. Professors expect you to study outside of class, take notes, and ask questions. They are willing to work with you if you have a problem. If for whatever reason you feel uncomfortable, you can go to the tagge to get tutored.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you visit the campus before moving in & have your financial aid stuff done ASAP. Ask questions, be social & involved.

    In three sentences

    LMU is a great university! The campus is beautiful & the professors are very helpful and understanding. It is very diverse; there are people from many places such as England, Scotland, Germany, New Zealand, Greece, Mexico, Russia, Guatemala, Brazil, and Japan.

  • 05/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Golf, walk in the neighboring park, hike the trails of the nearby national park, go to the movies, take part in many of the IM sports available through the school.

    Food and Dining

    One cafeteria, a cafe, and a Starbuck's is offered on campus. Within walking distance you can find: a coney, Subway, Hardee's, and Haymaker's (local BBQ).

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are newly built, expanding, and beautiful!

    Tips for prospective students

    Great school if considering a medical centered career or potentially law (there is a law school up and coming). If your focus is arts/humanities/others, you may want to research offered programs first.

    In three sentences

    Quaint and beautiful campus setting tucked away in the mountains of Tennessee. The people are friendly and the education is of high quality. There are a lot of opportunities to out-reach to the surrounding community.

  • 07/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's a lot of stuff to do outdoors like biking, hiking, football, etc. There's not much to do in the city. You have to make your own fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food at LMU is awful. There's no way that the cooks would feed that stuff to their families, & yet they try to feed the students at the school that mess. It's awful. Get used to fast food because you will eat a lot of it.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is horrible as a freshman. It gets better as an upperclassman, but the rules are so strict that you can't really have fun.

    Academic Rigor

    Like any other college, it's going to require some serious dedication. The workload is decent, but it requires a lot of study time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Studying is most important. College requires study time in order to make A's and get the good grade.

    In three sentences

    The academic programs at LMU are exceptional. The social life at LMU is not that great. As long as you're going to higher your education level you won't be disappointed.

  • 10/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join a Club Join a intermural team

    Food and Dining

    Great variety of different foods

    Dorm Life

    Clean and sanitary

    Academic Rigor

    Great teachers with respected degrees in that particular field

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring a TV A Car and keep to yourself, everyone will try to intimidate you

    In three sentences

    Very small school with a high school type of environment. Small classes and more teacher student interactions that not many other schools can offer. Student body is quite involved in all collegiate athletics

  • 11/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus security is top notch. There is campus security and also armed Campus police officers that patrol and monitor 24/7. There is constantly at least 2 officers on duty who can be seen driving around monitoring activities on campus. They are for the most part very understanding and generous when it comes to traffic, visitation, and alcohol violations. There are security cameras in all university buildings and I can say first-hand that they are watched at all times(don' t ask haha).

    Greek Life

    There are 3 fraternities and 3 sororities on campus. They all have some sort of house or room that they conduct there activities in. Greek life is very active on campus all year round.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of clubs on campus that host a wide range of events all throughout the year.

    Great for these types of students

    It is definitely a great choice for those students that love the outdoors. There are many places in the surrounding area to hunt, fish, hike,mountain bike, rock climb, camp, etc. It is also good for students that prefer smaller communities and groups. The people on campus really are like a big family.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Student services puts on several events throughout the year ranging from open mic nights and lip syncing contests to foam parties and video game nights.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition/overall cost to attend is relatively inexpensive compared to other similar private schools. Especially if you are a Pre-Med, Vet Tech, or Wildlife/Fisheries major.

    What to do for fun

    The national park less than 10 minutes away is a good choice for those that enjoy hiking. (The pinnacle overlook is a must see when visiting campus). There is a decent sized mall with a very good value movie theater($3-4 movie tickets). If you like to party there are plenty of opportunities to do so all throughout the week both on and off campus, you just have to ask.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good, and if you live on campus you are required to sign up for a meal plan. The cafeteria has a good selection, with a wide variety of international and traditional foods. There is also a WOW Wingery and Starbucks on campus that has a good selection with decent prices.

    Dorm Life

    During the week the dorm life is great. It's the perfect balance of social life/ fun and privacy. The people on campus are generally very friendly and it is not hard to quickly find a good circle of friends around campus. The main complaint I have about dorm life is that it is by far a suitcase campus. A vast majority of students go home on the weekends, although there are still plenty of things to do around campus. It is definitely recommended to have a vehicle on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors on campus are all well educated, and will challenge you. The course work is rigorous, but it is do-able. Lots of opportunities for tutoring if needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to stay on top of the admissions staff. They have a history of taking awhile to get application/ financial aid info processed.

    In three sentences

    Lincoln Memorial is a good choice for students that prefer a smaller college environment. The area of Harrogate,TN and Middlesboro,KY is just big enough to have everything you need but not overcrowded.

  • 04/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The play quiddditch like on Harry Potter. There is a zip line!

    What to do for fun

    There isn`t much do in the city of Harrogate. There are a lot of student activities to do on campus. My favorite one so far is Quidditch.

    In three sentences

    Lincoln Memorial University is an awesome school. It`s really student-oriented and cares about the opinions of other to improve the school. LMU definitely cares about what people think and works to better the lives of the students, faculty and staff.