Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Lindenwood University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 11/01/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 out of 10 people found this review useful. 1 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Lindenwood University has a diversity of students, younger or older, and students from across the globe. You get to know these people and realise how similar you are even though you from two completely different places. Almost everyone at Lindenwood University is even an athlete which makes it easier to find common interests and the teachers teach students so well that anybody can understand.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always take opportunities that appear. Sometimes people say it is a joke or that it is pointless to go talk to advisers, career center people, and teachers, but if you want to truly succeed and get ahead of others then go and talk to them. They know information that others do not. With the Career center, they can help students look for jobs or internships because they know sometimes students can not go apply immediately everywhere. The Career Center is an excellent opportunity and so is talking with staff members.

    Bang for the buck

    At Lindenwood University students definitely get the bang for their buck. I did not think I was going to get to go to college, but with a sports scholarship, grants, and work and learn opportunities, Lindenwood University has made it possible for me to pursue my dream in Athletic Training and to continue to play my favorite sport in the world.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am enjoying my time here at Lindenwood University because I have already met many great people because no body at this school is shy and everyone knows one another. It is a smaller University but there is still a large amount of students and what is helpful is that the class rooms are not very big, meaning your teachers can get to know you a little better, allowing them to also help you beneficially in the class.

    Am learning a lot

    The five stars are not a joke. I am currently a freshman at Lindenwood University and I have learned so much within my first semester. Already I have learned with hands on experiences and in the classroom with terrific teachers. Those who are reading this should look further into the school because it is and excellent environment for both a student and student athletes because even the coaches work with their athletes and their education.

  • 12/29/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 2 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    ALL TYPES OF STUDENTS. THERE IS SUCH A VARIETY THERE!

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to everyone you can in admissions to see what you can get for scholarships. They truly are there to help!

    Bang for the buck

    Everything has been pretty reasonable, and out of everywhere I applied they offered me the biggest scholarship.

    Am enjoying being here

    I really enjoy the smaller school feeling. I love how the campus is outside and the exercise you get just walking from class to class. I enjoy all of the people there. Everyone is friendly. I feel like the majority of the professors really care about how you're doing.

    Am learning a lot

    I feel challenged everyday by the material itself and also by my professors to think outside the box.

  • 06/19/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any type of student can go here, i'm going for teaching and so far i've learned alot of great teaching tips that i can use someday

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to keep an eye on all your grades and be ready to send everything in when you apply.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a little pricey but from what i've seen its one of the cheaper universities

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is so beautiful it's even fun to just walk around and enjoy the scenery

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers are so helpful and they are there for you anytime you need them. Also the classroom size is pretty small so you don't feel cramped in the room.

  • 11/17/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 4 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Pretty much everyone! There is people from all over the US attending that school, and also from many, many parts of the world (including myself!)

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open and ready to experience new things. It's not home or high school anymore. Grow up, get out of your comfort zone, and learn new things. Some activities might not fit your standards, but if you give it a shot, you might enjoy it!

    Bang for the buck

    I think pretty much everyone here gets some kind of scholarship.

    Am enjoying being here

    Except for the crazy MO weather, I do love it here! I love the campus. A new building dedicated to students just opened. It is a great place to relax, hang out with your friends, play pool, basketball, or whatever.

    Am learning a lot

    I am definitely learning a lot! I never had more than 30 students in any of my classes and it creates a great learning environment. Your teachers actually know your name and are really willing to work with you.

  • 06/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    friendly, open minded, looking for a challenge, and dedicated.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come prepared to have fun, and ready for teachers who really do care about your success.

    Bang for the buck

    Everything here is worth every penny you pay for. Sometimes the internet is slow but it is still worth paying for.

    Am enjoying being here

    Yes i love it here ! i wouldn't choose any other school, everyone is so friendly and it is so easy to make friends.

    Am learning a lot

    I feel everyday we learn something new, and i feel that i have learned so much since high school.

  • 12/24/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Goal oriented, good attendance and professional personality.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great university for students that are sincerely looking for a good 4 year university with instructors that are concern with the success of students.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition cost is very inexpensive compared to other universities.

    Am enjoying being here

    Great liberal arts college with valuable honors.

    Am learning a lot

    A great learning environment. Instructors are very knowledgeable and concern with the success of students.

  • 02/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    much lower tuition than the major st louis schools. no tuition increase for out-of-state students, which i am. good instructors, small classes and a great campus.

    What to do for fun

    lots of intramurals, not as many student organizations as i would like though.

    Food and Dining

    i don't eat in the cafeteria. the on-campus coffee shops have decent food but the coffee is awful.

    Dorm Life

    i'm living off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    depends on the class, of course, but i definitely feel like i'm getting a good education.

    Tips for prospective students

    keep in touch with your instructors and your adviser. the better they know you, the harder they'll work to help you out.

    In three sentences

    lindenwood has small classes in a wide range of disciplines. the professors all seem genuinely interested in the success of their students. my adviser is very helpful and very involved with my academic progress.

  • 03/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    saint charles is a great city with a low crime rate. i never feel nervous walking around campus or even to my car. campus security is always driving around and willing to help.

    Greek Life

    greek life has grown rapidly this past year adding a new fraternity and sorority to it's list. delta tau delta and zeta zeta zeta are looking for new members as well as many other fraternities and sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are so many clubs on campus, it would take forever to list them all. if you are interested in something, there is bound to be a club for you, and if there isn't, the school is always willing and excited to add additional clubs to it's university.

    Great for these types of students

    students who want hands on experience and teachers who have worked in their field of study should attend lindenwood university.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    football is fairly big at lindenwood. our football team just went d2, and games are a lot of fun to attend with friends. we also have rallies and bonfires before big games.

    Bang for the buck

    lindenwood is a little more expensive than a state college, but i honestly believe that the education i am getting at lindenwood is well worth my money.

    What to do for fun

    i love going to downtown saint charles and eating dinner on main street with my friends. the nightlife is great with live music, and it's very close to campus.

    Food and Dining

    lindenwood just opened a new facility geared only toward its students. the facility has a dining hall that is laid out in a mall food court fashion, so everyone can choose exactly what they want. there is also a second dining hall in the main academic building, as well as grab-in-go options all over campus.

    Dorm Life

    all of the dorms are either male only or female only. there are visitation hours every week and weekend, so it's nice to know that i have a place to work on homework without distractions.

    Academic Rigor

    i have been in three broadcast journalism programs and lindenwood's program is by far the best. i actually had hands on experience the first day of classes. also, their equipment is top notch, so i'm able to practice on equipment people are using in my field today.

    Tips for prospective students

    feel free to ask questions! all of my professors are amazing and since the school is fairly small, my professors are able to know me by a first name basis and help me out when ever i need them.

    In three sentences

    lindenwood has been an amazing college to attend, and i should know because this is the third university i have attended. i finally feel comfortable at a school, and i feel like i am actually getting the education i am paying for. when i graduated high school i would have never imagined attending lu, but i am so glad it has found its way back to me.

  • 03/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    In my time at Lindenwood, I haven't heard of any major safty issues.

    Greek Life

    Lindenwood does have Greek life, but I don't know much about it.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lindenwood has a lot of clubs to pic from. I'm sure we have a club to suit everyone. And if we don't, it's easy to start one.

    Great for these types of students

    Students of all types will do very well at Lindenwood

    Bang for the buck

    The price paid for Lindenwood is well worth it. Great people. Great teachers. Great place.

    What to do for fun

    Lindenwood has two gyms to workout in, three basketball courts that students can use at pretty much any time, an ice rink that students can use for free (skates included,) go for walks around campus, participate in any number of clubs, go to movie nights, go to the game room, and much much more.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Lindenwood is great. Lindenwood has many food options to pick from, as well as a few cofee shops.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are clean, quiet, and a great place to study. The other students in my building are very helpful, and we all share information in subjects that we understand well.

    Academic Rigor

    It can be tough at times, but not overwelming.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have a good GPA, great work ethic, and be willing to work hard and learn alot. You get out of it what you put into it.

    In three sentences

    Lindenwood, and its teachers are amazing. I can ask any of my teachers about anything I need help with, and they will take whatever time is needed to make sure that I understand the information. The price for the level of education I'm getting is great.

  • 01/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Lindenwood offers many intramural options in the brand new student activities building. The university also hosts several concerts and festivals throughout the year. Lindenwood is also only a 30 minute drive from downtown St. Louis, which boasts an array of activities, ranging from professional sports, clubs, shopping, and dining.

    Food and Dining

    The school has two dining hall options, one grab-n-go lunch stop, and three coffee shops on campus. One dining hall is all you can eat, while the other is pay as you go. The coffee shops are great for a relaxing stop in between classes.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at Lindenwood is strict, but for a reason. There are no co-ed dorms on campus, to ensure the safety and responsibility of students. The campus had many new dorms, and also many historic dorms for a variety of housing options.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic courses are challenging, and require lots of work, however, the teacher are willing and able to help due to the small class sizes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Lindenwood is a great school, in a great location. Things to consider are location, class size, quality of education, and atmosphere of the beautiful historic campus.

    In three sentences

    I really enjoy attending Lindenwood University. I love the small school feel, with the big city atmosphere of the location. The classes are small, which means great teacher-student interactions.

  • 02/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    hang out in fellow students rooms and attend athletic events.

    Food and Dining

    college food is pretty good. of course its not your moms home cooking. you learn what your likes and dislikes are. sure you will be ordering plenty of pizza, especially on the weekends.

    Dorm Life

    the rooms are a little small as most dorms rooms are however, make the space your own. dorm life isn't too bad. visitors must sign in and out upon entering the downstairs lobby.

    Academic Rigor

    again study,study, study and read so that you are prepared for class.

    Tips for prospective students

    study, study, study. take advantage of your free time to read and indulge yourself in whatever needs to be done to prepare for class. if you don't understand something don't be afraid to ask questions. it is said if you don't ask you won't know.

    In three sentences

    lindenwood university is very beneficial learning environment. the classes are smaller than larger universities therefore, it allows us a students to become more personable with the instructors. at some colleges the classes are so large the professor doesn't know the student as an individual. they take time to work with you and provide assistance if needed. so far my first year experience has been great.

  • 02/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    they are always around

    Greek Life

    not so much

    Clubs and Activities

    plenty to choose from

    Great for these types of students

    intelligent professors

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    dorms right next to classroom halls.

    Bang for the buck

    well worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    main street st. charles.

    Food and Dining

    good food and clean.

    Dorm Life

    i live at home with my parents.

    Academic Rigor

    you are expected to really work hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    study

    In three sentences

    lindenwood is challenging. lindenwood is enjoyable. lindenwood is rewarding.

  • 06/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I never had an expeerience with campus safety but they will put a ticket on your car if you don't havr a valid parking sticker.

    What to do for fun

    I do things with my sisters and their children for fun. I like being with my family members because they know me best.

    Food and Dining

    I like to grocery sho most of the time, but sometimes I eat out. I cook 4 times a week and eat left over and I eat out maybe 2 times a week. Food can become very exspensive so I have to make sure I stay within budget.

    Dorm Life

    I never lived on campus, I've always just had my own apartment. sometimes it's best to live a long that way you can blame your neighbor for not studying.

    Academic Rigor

    I have always tried to keep my grades above a 3.0 even though I would like for them to be at a 4.0 but sometimes you might have other things going on in your life that are unexpected and you may have to slow down. Just because you have to slow down doesn't mean you have to stop.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to stop on top of courses are for your degree because you can get side tracked fast. Don't stop when it seems hard just get it done with a small portion at a time.

    In three sentences

    Lindenwood is a very great school and I would recommend it to someone. Lindenwood is really convient from working adunlts with th LCIE program they have. Lindenwood has small class sizes and the teachers actually get to know you at the same time they are teaching.

  • 05/28/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is in a suburb of a large city so I'm sure crime exists, but by and large this is a safer part of town.

    Greek Life

    Very very small representation...probably less than 3 percent of students are involved and that is probably a stretch. It is here if you want it, but it is decidedly not a place with a 'Greek Row'.

    Clubs and Activities

    Too many to mention. Athletics everywhere...a beautiful fine arts faclity that is about 5 years old and as modern as they come.

    Great for these types of students

    Athletes of all kinds (There are countless sports on this campus). Students who are not yet sure of where they want to take their education. Students in the St. Louis area who want to go away but be close enough to come home for the weekend with no difficulty. Students who would do better in smaller classes but want a slightly larger college feel. There appears to be a large number of Education and Business majors on campus. Students who did well on standardized tests but maybe weren't perfect 4.0 high school students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It is said that one of the older dorms is haunted by the ghost of the school's founder, whose grave is not far behind the building.

    Bang for the buck

    I've read reviews talking about 'how expensive' Lindenwood is, and it is true that it is a private school so the tuition is higher than public ones, but it is some of the lowest tuition of any private school in the country and they are quite generous with financial aid for athletics, academics and arts. I'd visit first and talk to them prior to making a decision about LU based on cost alone. I also really liked the fact that the class sizes are so small even for traditionally lecture courses. When I visited Mizzou, I saw a class that was held in what looked like a theater and you would never find that at LU.

    What to do for fun

    Downtown St. Charles is great for the drinkers/partiers, but there are also a huge amount of things to do in greater St. Louis and there are a number of them that are free (Zoo, History Museum, Science Center, parks). It appears there are always sporting events going on. The football games are a great time (They may have more cheerleaders than any school I've ever seen!). There is a mall only a few miles away and Wal-Mart is about 3 miles away. Closer to home there is a new grocery store being built across the street.

    Food and Dining

    College food is a lot like the food you have at home...Some days are great and some days are not. Based on the two times I've eaten there, they have something you can eat for every meal and likely they have some things you will really like one day and something that you don't like the next. The food court in Evans Commons seems to offer a typical Mall Food court feel with Mexican, Italian, burgers, etc. They are all no-name however and I wish they would bring in some name brand places like other schools. I'm told they haven't done this to keep the costs down. There are a ton of places locally to eat out once in awhile if you have that kind of money. It is like any suburban area with almost every fast food chain you can think of. I think I'll probably get tired of the food here, but I'd say that about just about any school I've looked at.

    Dorm Life

    This appears to vary. The newer dorms are quite nice and don't have the typical shoebox look of many of the ones I saw. The downside to dorm life is the older dorms which appear to be pretty and have personality, but in some cases they do not have air conditioning which would be a huge downside for a couple months each school year. With all the building they are doing, I can't believe they aren't addressing this, especially with the weather getting more and more uneven in the St. Louis area. The older dorms, though hot, are closer to most of the academic buildings and as a result do have the upside of being in the middle of it all. Some of the kids living there stated that the older ones tend to be more friendly, but he may have just been trying to 'sell them'.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm only a prospective student, but my understanding is that the school is what I would call 'middle of the road', in that the classes are not easy, but the teachers and other students work hard to help you along. With virtually no classes at all that have more than 30 students, I expect the teachers to be very personal with their relationships with students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Many of their scholarships are based primarily on your test scores. You would do well to work hard on getting your ACT score as high as possible as once you get a 30, the scholarship money is very very good. Also, if you participate in any sport, see if they offer it as they offer scholarships for all kinds of sports. Apply early so you can get into one of the newer dorms if that is your preference. THe older ones definitely have character and personality, but I like A/C.

    In three sentences

    This is a growing institution that is very student focused. In my visits to campus I've been struck by how much the student body works to help one another and how the students are there for the right reasons. There are so many new facilities here it is hard to imagine the campus as it stood 20 years ago.

  • 12/28/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    business major students and the sciences

    Tips for prospective students

    resident students have the opportunity for work and learn and the work is assured and pays well no struggles.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    They are very involved in campus life, inside and out.

    What to do for fun

    Main street st. charles has good night life and also the random events put on by sororities around campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    There are a lot of foreign students at the university so I would advise getting to know them, they provide insight about different cultures.

    In three sentences

    Lindenwood is a small university, but the connections you make with people are huge. The classroom sizes are small and the teachers are very caring. Also the foreign language department is very challenging, but well taught.

  • 07/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many on campus activities and social groups.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work closely with your advisers.

    In three sentences

    My overall experience has been good. It's a smaller school, so the class sizes are reasonable and it's easy to communicate with the teachers. They have a good program for traditional and non-traditional students.

  • 07/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus has security everywhere. I feel completely safe walking around campus at any time of day.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is growing and getting better each year. if you join now you can become a founding father or mother.

    Clubs and Activities

    with over 70 different clubs you'll easily find one just for you.

    Great for these types of students

    All types. Lindenwood has a great sports program as well as arts. You can find anything you want here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    homecoming parade and the Christmas walk are the two biggest. both are very fun.

    Bang for the buck

    For the price your paying your getting a education worth twice as much.

    What to do for fun

    there is always something going on campus, just look around. Main Street is also just a few blocks away from campus with many different activities.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not like moms cooking but its good.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at Lindenwood are nice and have great hangout areas.

    Tips for prospective students

    get involved with one of the many campus organizations. Go to sporting events, and use the many tools Lindenwood has to succeed.

    In three sentences

    Has a great business program. Teachers want to see you be successful. Beautiful campus.

  • 08/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    play sports

    Food and Dining

    bad because we mongolians do not like cheese and eat mostly meat(not chicken, beef).

    In three sentences

    convenient for poor students who are from poor countries. and has very good condition for studying.

  • 09/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Bars many bars

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to study hard and to have fun.

    In three sentences

    Good but expensive and requires a lot of writing.

  • 11/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    From what I've seen so far between security people on campus, phones available on corners and lessons they taught us during freshman orientation it seems pretty good. Enforse rules in dorms regarding visitors or membors of opposite sex.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I'm still learning as this is the beginning of my 3rd month.

    Bang for the buck

    Lindenwood does provide a good education and opportunites to further my goals in my desired fiedl. Their counceling staff is top notch and our advisor Lara Beckemeirer kept us on top of everything from our entry form to keeping on top of FASFA to making sure we filled out anyother necessary form so we did not have any trouble when we checked in.

    What to do for fun

    Most activities involve sports or intramurels. CLose to St. Louis so can go check out activities in city. Not alot of fraternities to choose from. Helps if you are part of a team. Not as much activiity on or close to campus. Hard not to compare to bigger colleges that have more activities on campus and are super close to activiites in walking distance.

    Food and Dining

    Food average. Tend to eat out alot.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life great. Provide lots of social opportunities to get to know others in dorm. RA's pretty good about getting to know all kids and making sure everyone complies with dorm rules and ettiquete.

    Academic Rigor

    So far with the help of my counsler, I have a clear path of how I plan on going for my degree. My counsler has shown me the opportunites avaialbe to me if I complete the criteria which makes me excited to exceed expectations.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just make sure to clarify if you are signing on with hopes of actual participation in a sport that you are actually going to participate. A positive is that you do get to keep your full scholarship all 4 years. A negative is that you may misunderstand that you thought you were participating and forgoed other opportunites at other universities that made actual offers. Other than that disappointment, putting my concentration in my major, Lindenwood University is a great college and I believe will hlep me achieve my goal.

    In three sentences

    Friendly, clean, reasonalbe size campus (approx 17,500) . Good one-on-one instruction. Provides decent scholarship and work study opportunities.

  • 11/29/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    22 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Wide variety, something for everyone; even the most anti-social.

    Bang for the buck

    Expensive, but with lots of scholarship and loan opportunities I believe its worth the cost.

    Food and Dining

    Not even pauperism could lead me to eat in the dining areas. Fruits and salads if you must.

    Dorm Life

    Nothing to be impressed by. They are convenient because you have a place to go between classes. Roommates are a hassle, and in the long run it is cheaper to find a roommate you like and live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    All your classes are important. Even the intro courses. You will need and miss all of it if you don't learn the material. Professor's are expectant and do not want to hear any made up excuses. Tell the truth, even if its that you forgot. Don't ask for extensions, just do your work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't eat the food, its not really worth your time. Learn how the library transfer system works, which classes have books on hold, and what your professor's schedule's are.

    In three sentences

    Very good environment for studying and interacting with your classmates scholastically. Library is helpful but leaves somethings to be desired. Faculty are always available to help, even the ones who teach the majority of classes in the department.

  • 01/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have recently installed many street security devices, and have police officers roaming the campus at all hours.

    Great for these types of students

    Lindenwood University is great for anyone who works full time and is raising a family. They are conveniently located, well priced, and accommodating for the non-traditional student seeking a Master's Degree.

    What to do for fun

    I play with my children, love my husband, and try to live each day as if it is my last.....

    Food and Dining

    They have a very convenient cafeteria located on the lower level by the classrooms.

    Dorm Life

    I commute, and live with my husband and 6 children in the same city. They are converting many local neighboring houses into dorms I've heard.

    Academic Rigor

    I was always a top student throughout high school and my first 4 years of college. My experience may not be typical.

    In three sentences

    My graduate experience thus far has been convenient, flexible with my work and family schedules, and manageable. I was feeling overwhelmed at first with the prospect of entering graduate school at this time in my life, but Lindenwood does a great job with making you feel welcome and accommodating the non-traditional student. I would highly recommend this graduate school for anyone who wants to seek higher education, but also has a busy life besides school.

  • 01/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's bowling right next to campus, and Main Street is the next street over where all of the bars are at. The mall is only a ten minute drive too.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask questions. You won't get anywhere in life if you don't ask questions.

    In three sentences

    I would give this university a 8/10 review. For a college that is debt free, I wish they would hand out more money to local students instead of giving it all away to the international students. They can also stop charging these bogus fees for little things like and email address. Everyone redirects them to their yahoo or gmail account anyways.

  • 01/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    a lot of clubs, but very little student participation.

    Great for these types of students

    athletes

    What to do for fun

    NOTHING, unless you travel into saint louis

    Food and Dining

    Love the options of the various cafeterias, it's just that the food is a little bland

    Dorm Life

    Everyone is non social. The dorms have very strict visitation rules. No one is ever in the halls or with their door open so you don't know any of the other people on your floor.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want friends at this school, join a sport.

    In three sentences

    Very safe. Not a very warm environment. Many other colleges have a lot more student involvement and the students are warm and friendly to each other, but here a lot of the students stay inside of their cliques.

  • 01/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's safe but I wouldn't be walking around alone at night time. It gets very dark.

    Clubs and Activities

    The university has a lot of clubs and activities to students.

    Great for these types of students

    Who likes small schools, and diversity.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Evan's Commons building are the students favorites.

    What to do for fun

    If you're not 21, only go to the games. If you don't have a car, just be bored at your dorm.

    Food and Dining

    It was rated the worst food of Missouri's Universities.

    Dorm Life

    Very restricted, and the dorms are depressing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get in class on time, some teachers won't tolerate not even 2 minutes late. Be careful missing classes, some teacher won't tolerate more than 2 classes missed and will tell you to withdraw from the course.

    In three sentences

    Small University, but growing, a lot of diversity and different cultures. A good school after all.

  • 01/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Not much. If you are of age there is Main Street and if you have a car there are many attractions a short car ride away.

    Food and Dining

    Many options and all in all tastes good.

    Dorm Life

    At least in my dorm, the dorms are not a close-knit community, but the rooms are big.

    Academic Rigor

    So far, my classes have not been challenging, but this semester may change my mind! I recommend J-Term for everyone! Easy 3 credit hours!

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet people who stay on campus on the weekends, so that you are not bored. Participate in the Work and Learn Program!

    In three sentences

    I would give Lindenwood an overall grade of a C. Lindenwood is a pretty campus, but is a ghost town on the weekends. The student body is made up of mostly athletes and international students.

  • 02/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many options for activities. Students can go to Evan's Commons and workout, play sports, watch movies, or even play pool. Also downtown St.Charles is within walking distance providing restaurants, shopping, and entertainment.

    Food and Dining

    The food is a hit or a miss. It all depends on what you like, but the two dining halls provide a lot of options for different tastes. The food plan is also a good one and everyone has the same one.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are really nice, they are suite style. Although they are strict they provide a good place to live. The older dorms are unique, but do not have air conditioning.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are very difficult and others are not. It all depends on the classes you take and the teachers you get. You have to be willing to challenge yourself and you will be challenged.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you can play a sport or join a club. Make sure you sign up early and apply for a good Work and Learn not in the cafe. Make friends with everyone, including people from other countries.

    In three sentences

    Lindenwood is small, but beautiful campus perfect for students who do not want a large university. The classes are small and the teachers really focus on you. It is in a great location and if you love other cultures there is plenty to go around.

  • 02/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This is a safe campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    I hear that there are several good ones

    Great for these types of students

    Students who work and go to school.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is well worth the money. It is a little more expensive however you are getting more one on one time and help in anything that you desire to get help with.

    What to do for fun

    unsure. I live three hours away and attend a satellite branch.

    Food and Dining

    I do not live on campus, but have heard that it is very good.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus, but have heard that it is easy to get around campus.

    Academic Rigor

    This school will make your rigor as deep as you can handle. No matter what there will be growth in your knowledge base as well as extending into things that you never thought you could know about.

    Tips for prospective students

    On campus is great. However there are many off campus or branches that are excellent as well. They really work with your schedule to ensure that you are taken care of and your goals are met. Independent study is supported for those students in the satellite classes/branches when their specific needed class is not offered. This keeps you on track to graduation.

    In three sentences

    Lindenwood is exceptional at leading students onto the right path and furthering their education. Lindenwood is a school where the student is able to work one on one with professors in order to get goals accomplished. Lindenwood works with students schedules who have outside jobs and understands when there are conflicts with time.

  • 02/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always driving around and there are emergency stations all around campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Any type of student would fit in at this school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Sibley day is AWESOME!

    Bang for the buck

    Relatively cheap compared to other private schools. And the education you receive is superb.

    What to do for fun

    St. Louis in general has a lot of interesting places to go to so that you can have fun. But in St. Charles, there is Main Street which has lots of cute little shops that you can walk around and look in.

    Food and Dining

    There are plenty of options here at Lindenwood for food. However, it can sometimes get repetitive because you are eating the same food every single day.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is cool. Most people stay confined to their rooms so it can be hard to make friends with your neighbors, but there are ways to get around that.

    Academic Rigor

    It really depends on the classes you take. I have had easy classes and then I have had really tough classes. It also depends on the professor as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to live on campus if you can afford it. It makes it more fun and easier to get into the college life. Join as many clubs as you can or do intramural sports because you will meet a lot of people that way.

    In three sentences

    I love Lindenwood. The professors here are great, and they really want you to succeed. The school is well respected in the local area, and there are many businesses out there that will hire you because you went to Lindenwood.

  • 05/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No firearms allowed on campus . Very safe with close to no reports of violence due to stern campus policy on making it a learning conducive atmosphere.

    Greek Life

    Average Greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    Few social clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Studious , industrious ,very intelligent students .

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Candle light Christmas walk on campus , and Midnight breakfast

    Bang for the buck

    Scholarships are available and are award to students with both or either academic and athletic talents.

    What to do for fun

    Athletics , rugby , swimming , field ,ice n field hockey , soccer , football , water-polo , golf , chess , bowling , basketball, Olympic weight lifting

    Food and Dining

    Limited Food Variety.

    Dorm Life

    Very safe, comfortable and very close to the classrooms however only one Co-ed dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Both extensive and intensive with very high academic standards.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great Value for your money.

    In three sentences

    The most thorough institution I have attend . The professors fully understand the content of the material they teach in the classroom. Very competitive both academically and athletic wise.

  • 07/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Lindenwood recently beefed up their security. They put emergency lights/buttons in multiple places on campus.

    Greek Life

    Lame, the don't have their on houses and no parties....

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club and activity for every person.

    Great for these types of students

    Athletes

    Bang for the buck

    This school is outrageously overpriced because athletics are number one here. For instance, Lindenwood decided to build a brand new football stadium and in return our tuition went up nearly $1000 to pay it off.

    What to do for fun

    Athletic events and mainstreet in St. Charles.

    Food and Dining

    Food is okay, there are several dining options which is nice.

    Dorm Life

    The rules are in serious need of updating. Opposite sex is only allowed till 12am in your dorm, no alcohol, and if you live in women's or men's housing (you have to be 21) there is no opposite sex allowed at all. Just seems a bit much for being adults.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically Lindenwood is an awesome school and the name alone will offer you many opportunities in the future.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you plan on attending Lindenwood from the beginning and graduating from there. They are terrible at transferring credits and credits being transferred from them. Keep a record of everything, they tend to lose important documentations. Do not expect to be treated like an adult, the rules here are made for middle schoolers.

    In three sentences

    Overall, Lindenwood is great college with tons of chances for exploring and getting involved. I think Lindenwood needs to work on their relationship with transfer students. The campus living and expenses are little high and rules are ridiculous.

  • 07/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    WALMART! What college student doesn't love walmart?! There is a bowling alley down the street and a movie theater. There is also a mall down the highways.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good sometimes and other times you have to make your own creations. Good thing fast food is close by

    Tips for prospective students

    As mentioned previously, do not attend if you are only looking to party. The school has really good teachers who are all about helping you succeed.

    In three sentences

    Lindenwood is a private school that is all about education. This is not a party school but it is still not a bad choice. There are so many cultures and people from all over that attend school here/

  • 07/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Very expensive.

    What to do for fun

    Since Lindenwood is transitioning to division two NCAA, sports should be more fun. Go to basketball games, they are the most fun.

    Food and Dining

    On certain days food is amazing, the other days it is pretty bad. The tomato soup is amazing.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is pretty awful. Kids are loud and the RD's don't take care of the noise when people are trying to study or sleep.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are fairly easy compared to high school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students from St. Louis or the surrounding area need to attend somewhere else. College life here is really boring. If you live out of state, you'll have some fun.

    In three sentences

    Lindenwood University is a top of the line college. Living close to Lindenwood, I got home a lot, and wish they had more to do on campus. It's a great place to get a degree for what I'm majoring in.

  • 08/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Nearby cities have quite a few options for outside entertainment. Movie theaters, malls, fine dining and dance clubs are a few of the options when someone needs an out from regular college stress. LU provides an overload of activities including movie nights, dance nights and even comedians on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not horrible, but I stick with cereal. You have to be careful how much you consume because college dining is one of the top reasons for weight gain. The variety of food is quite astonishing for college life.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life depends on where you are living, a dorm or a house. The dorms I would not know about. I have lived in one house for my first two semesters and another for my upcoming semesters. Dorm life depends truly on how open minded a person is to living with complete strangers.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors take each and every student's academic career seriously, but as the students, it is our responsibility because it is our future. No college is going to be easy, but if you work at it each difficult part of the college experience will be worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to work, but do not hesitate to ask questions. The professors are truly willing to help. You as the prospective student have to step up and take control of your education.

    In three sentences

    Lindenwood is a great place to start college and grow! If there are any problems, there are so many faculty right by your side to help you through the necessary steps to a quick and effective solution. LU is amazing with busy schedules, they have an option for every working person!

  • 10/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You can get a personal security to walk you wherever and whenever.

    What to do for fun

    Nothing

    In three sentences

    The people are nice, the water is good, and the classes aren't that hard. You'll have easy access to computers, and tutors for help. They have good AC.

  • 05/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The university is known for hosting all sorts of events on campus. Sports games are almost a daily event. Dances, parties, and bonfires are held periodically which is a great time for students to get to know each other. The clubs on campus also hold events including blood drives, roller bladeing nights, and puppy adoption days.

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus is split up into two areas Matt's cafe and the cafeteria. Matt's Cafe is where most students find their healthy foods including sandwiches, wraps, salads, and soups. The cafeteria food changes daily, but always has an open salad bar, sandwich station, pasta, fruit, and pizza available. The food is prepaid for at the beginning of the year as part of the room and board amount. Giving the students piece of mind when it comes to worrying about meal money.

    Dorm Life

    Most of the students on campus are very friendly. Getting together to watch a Lynx sports game is very common on campus. The dorms are very nice and have been built within the past year. The rooms are shared between three people who each have their own bed, dresser, and desk. The student activities board is also always working very hard to make sure that there are plenty of events going on to keep the students entertained; this includes college bowling nights, dances, and foam parties.

    Academic Rigor

    Lindenwoood University has some amazing teachers who will go out of their way to help a student in need. However, many professors in the math department hardly speak English which makes a tough subject even tougher to understand. The academic departments also have far fewer class options then most large scale universities.

    Tips for prospective students

    1) Prepare to be social The small campus makes it impossible to be shy. If you don't approach someone and get to know them, they will get to know you. 2) Get involved Lindenwood in Belleville is a relatively new campus and is still in the growing process. What the school needs is for the new students coming in to get involved and help the small collection of clubs and activities grow.

    In three sentences

    Lindenwood University is a perfect match for athletic college students who love the small town feel. Many of the academic areas are lacking in diverse classes and fields, but the small classes the sociable teachers make it easy to keep up with grades. The small campus makes it impossible to get lost and therefore gives students more time to learn something new.

  • 06/19/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is safe. Its boring so nobody is really going to bother you.

    Greek Life

    None, at all.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not many clubs or activities. We have student activities but they don't do anything that's actually fun. BSU (black student union) comes up with more fun things for the whole campus.

    Great for these types of students

    For athletes, its mainly a basketball and football school. These sports get every training gear in the book while other sports (track, for me) don't get much at all. The coaches will sell you a pipe dream of how great the school and sports are. Don't believe them. Ask a student that goes there if you want to know what's real and what's not.

    Bang for the buck

    No its not. I expected a lot more out of the tuition money I'm paying.

    What to do for fun

    Not much. If you have a car and money, you will entertained by doing things off campus.

    Food and Dining

    Its okay. The cooks don't give many options and the food tastes bland & plain often.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are good as long as you don't stay in the Lynx Lodge. That place is terrible with very small rooms and too many people in the rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    I've had harder classes in high school. Some classes will challenge you but its still pretty easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't expect alot from this school in all areas (campus activites, sports, people, some teachers, etc.).

    In three sentences

    I go to the Lindenwood in Belleville and it is okay. The campus is very small so there is not much to do. Most of the people here play sports.