Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Lindsey Wilson College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/01/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 1 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Lindsey has a very good nursing program that just started! Also a great education program!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make friends and apply yourself! Lindsey will challenge you and you will have to apply yourself! Good Luck :)

    Am enjoying being here

    I absolutely love it here! The campus is nice and easy to get around. You rarely see people getting lost. It's a family campus and there are lots of activities you can do on campus. Our new wellness center is a great place to have some fun at. We have different work out sessions that are free for students!

    Am learning a lot

    I am a psycho-physiology major (which is almost like a Biology Major) and I am learning a lot dealing with this major! Also, my general education classes are very helpful.

  • 12/29/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Yes beacuse once you get to know everyone you will begin to love the campus and fill great about Lindsey!

    Tips for prospective students

    You will quickly meet new friends and fill at home on campus!

    Am enjoying being here

    Yes it is a really small campus and you get to know pretty much everyone!

    Am learning a lot

    Yes you will learn alot classes will challenge you but long as you listin you will do great !

  • 01/24/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    -Students who don't mind a smaller atmosphere. -Students who know how to make a fun time without a lot to do in town. -Students interested in religion, biology, human services, psychology, nursing, or education, particularly. We offer other majors but those are the most popular, and they are excellent programs. -Students who are friendly and open to new experiences!

    Tips for prospective students

    Come for a tour, and even try staying a night in the dorms! I regularly house girls who want to see what staying on campus and going to classes is like, and every girl that I've done that for has absolutely loved it and ended up enrolling here. The athletics are great as well, so if you're on a sports team, definitely check out our teams; they're all either ranked high or on the rise.

    Bang for the buck

    Lindsey is very expensive because it's a private college, but if you can get enough scholarships, it's DEFINITELY worth it! The close environment and standards of academic excellency here are worth every penny.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love being at Lindsey. You get to know a lot of the people on campus because it's a small environment, and we're very close-knit. I have friends from every ethnicity and clique group here - all different athletes, people who love to study, people who hate to study, and hundreds more! There are multiple opportunities for fun and for growing as a person here.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes are small sized, so professors really get to know you and make an effort to help you in every aspect of your learning. There are multiple on-campus resources to help you, including an Academic Success Center, Writing Center, and multiple computer labs. The classes are challenging but in the very best way; the professors expect nothing but your best, which helps you strive to put forth the best effort you can!

  • 12/31/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    hard working and eager to learn

    Tips for prospective students

    great college that cares about their students

  • 02/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students looking for a school with community involvement. Students looking for a smaller school.

    Am enjoying being here

    The town is really small and country. If you are looking for a school with a lot of community involvement, LWC is your school. The class sizes are small and give you more opportunity for one on one time with professors.

    Am learning a lot

    The class sizes are small and great for getting one-on-one time with professors. The school has a lot of new buildings that are up-to-date, which is helpful with the science classes.

  • 10/26/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    6 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    I don't really want to get lost on my first day of college so I would stick to a small campus.

    Will learn a lot

    From reviews and going to the college website....I hope so

  • 12/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    If you decide to come to Lindsey Wilson College then hooray! Congrats and welcome to the L dub family! The only issue you would have is walking up hills and finding a ride to the movies. Also be prepared to be in a small southern town because that is where you are going to if you come here. The people here are nice (yes even the towns people) and if they see that you are struggling they will do everything to help you. Come here willing to learn, but also willing to have some fun!

    Bang for the buck

    It is an expensive school because it is a private school but I feel that they use their money wisely and if you want the small classes, your own tutor, and great housing and food then this is a great place!

    Am enjoying being here

    I love being at this college! Not only are the teachers nice but the students as well! I feel like a person here and not just a number. For example, I was sick for a week and all of my Professors emailed me and asked me if I was doing OK and feeling any better; at a bigger college like University of Kentucky that would have never happened. I feel as if this college is like one big family. I love the fact that i see different cultures everyday being celebrated here. In our cafeteria there are different flags hanging on the ceiling for every country represented at our college. We only have about 2,000 students but there are many different countries and cultures that come to our small college. We may not have fraternities or sororities but we do have clubs that we can join and either become a part of a group or help the community.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning more than enough at this college, they have great professors here at Lindsey Wilson College. The professors really seem to know their subject well which is great when you have a question that goes off from what you are learning that day.

  • 12/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Young, athletic, no family, scholorship paid.

    Tips for prospective students

    Understand before going here that it will cost you an arm and a leg. Having a job is difficult. For a mother of three and a wife, to find out during my last semester that I was not going to be able to work made it really difficult for me.

  • 01/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety has random checks in campus, is a safe campus, most students look out for each other.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    to many to name but sga, student newspaper, rave, religious based groups, and if you want to start your own you have the chance.

    Great for these types of students

    athletes, career oriented, journalist and art majors, as well as nursing and computer media studies like web design. if your creative it is a great envirement.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    we have a malvina farkle day, where you get out of class and do fun activities like agiant mud pit to play in.

    Bang for the buck

    best education for a career you can receive.

    What to do for fun

    many school activities, as well as a cafe with poetry night, open mic, and live music. many comedians,musicians, and wide range of acts are booked each semester at the college.

    Food and Dining

    best i have had, in a college atmosphere.

    Dorm Life

    i am a commuter but those who i know in dorms, love it.

    Academic Rigor

    academics is not focused on getting the best grades it is focused on building a portfolio and have professors with knowledge and experience in the chosen career. work load is all about on demand work experience in the chosen field.

    Tips for prospective students

    try to immerse your self in the work, as well as participate in outside activities. you will build a portfolio to get a career.

    In three sentences

    a well diverse college. it has many students from all over, with a great foreign exchange student program. it is a career oriented college.

  • 02/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    public safety is always on the lookout to break up anything fun so it is very safe.

    Greek Life

    i have no idea.

    Clubs and Activities

    no clubs and there are very few activities that i enjoy.

    Great for these types of students

    football players, seeking great education, rural-based students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    i cant really think of anything out of the ordinary.

    Bang for the buck

    i wasn't really sure what i was getting into but the reason i am still here is because our football team is very good and we will be even better next year. i am a football player so what i like may not be the same for everyone.

    What to do for fun

    play football and go to the wellness center for recreational activities. also just hangout with friends. there isnt anything to do off-campus.

    Food and Dining

    i strongly dislike the food and dining situation in columbia, kentucky.

    Dorm Life

    my dorm is rather ran down and old but there are a few other male dorms also. it is is usually pretty contempt.

    Academic Rigor

    i love everything about my classes and education. all my professors have been exceptional.

    Tips for prospective students

    it is very small and not much is offered. it is also extremely expensive and i have no idea why. there are not many places to eat either.

    In three sentences

    lindsey wilson is exceptional for the slow-paced rural student. it may not be the best place to go if your from a big city or expensive suburb. it is a grat school for education.

  • 02/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    figure out what you want to major in before coming to college and trying them all.

    In three sentences

    this is an amazing college!! great for students looking for that small town family feel.

  • 06/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security at LWC is always on check. I've never heard of any mischievous crime at LWC.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are always clubs and activities offered at LWC. Not only are these activities fun, but sometimes the clubs and activities are offered through internships which ultimately help you in your college degree!

    Great for these types of students

    There are no certain types of students i would only recommend for this college, because I feel like the college serves to all types of students.

    Bang for the buck

    Of course college is expensive in any way that you look at it. However, the financial aid office workers are awesome at trying to get your money, scholarships, etc.

    What to do for fun

    Recreational opportunities are endless. Green River lake is a short drive away, and the sports at LWC are very much supported by the student body. The college is always offering some type of leisurely activity of some sort.

    Food and Dining

    I went to another college in my hometown, and the food was disgusting. I transferred to LWC and heard how amazing the food was. The same thing is never served twice in a week, and you have six different buffet bars to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    They have built brand new dorms! Duh!

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are amazing, and it's hard to be able to say that about most colleges. The school offers free tutoring sessions in every subject. If you need help, it's available. However, the professors are really good about making the material understandable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to your professors because they will help you in everything you are having trouble in. Talk to financial aid, because they WILL find you scholarships to apply for and ways to pay for your school. Everyone is available to you, even the free tutoring sessions!

    In three sentences

    Lindsey Wilson is an amazing place for students to begin their journey in their choice of career. Not only will you completely surrounded by wonderful individuals who are there to help you succeed in college material itself, but they will always help you find ways to continue your education in abroad studies, internships, and ultimately the job of your choice after graduation. Lindsey Wilson College really is the best place to begin your life!

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    13 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is always something going on at campus! Get involved and you will never be bored or lonely!!!

    Food and Dining

    The food at LWC is as close to home cooked as you can get!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is always fun and there is always something going on. These people will be your friends for the rest of your life!

    Academic Rigor

    The classes at LWC are very rigorous, but they are also the best. When you are through with your degree, you are not only prepared, but you have also already completed field work. They prepare you for the real world not just with a degree.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to stay on top of your studies! If you can balance your time between fun and school you will succeed!!

    In three sentences

    Lindsey Wilson has a very beautiful campus. The people there are very friendly and you really get to know everyone.

  • 07/31/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    14 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Diffidently worth the money

    What to do for fun

    There is always something to do.

    Food and Dining

    The most amazing food ever.

    Academic Rigor

    Different from high school but not extremely different.

    Tips for prospective students

    Class size is going to be your most important aspect to look at, more important then the majors and minors that are offered. If you learn better with 30 people and less in a class room then Lindsey Wilson is the place for you.

    In three sentences

    There is great all you can eat in one setting food here. I really love the small class sizes. There is also that small town feel that I am really use to.

  • 08/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus safety has to be one of uniquness and admired by many. We can call any hour of the night and they will escort us to our destination, they come around continually to check on everyone and everything. They know some of us by name and will probably know most by the end of their four year run. They have even been known to take students into town when they have exhausted all avenues and have been left with no other recourse.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activies in which to choose from at Lindsey Wilson and in his address to the incoming Freshmen, the Dean of Students, highly reccommends, everyone's participation in one such club or activity. He even will go so far as to say that a students success depends upon this participation. That it is through these types of activities that a student will start to define themselves, persevere through their troubled times, and walk away from this campus in four years a stronger person because of their socialization from their participation in the clubs or activites offered.

    Great for these types of students

    This is an ideal campus for students who like the more close knit relationships, the ones that won't get caught in the shuffle or the count. This campus, I believe was created for those students who want to feel as if they fit and that they will be remembered always.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One of the best locations on Campus is the Wellness Center. Inside you find an indoor pool, fully equipped workout room, and just simply a place to hang with friends or do whatever. It is centrally located on campus and is state of the art. This, by far, was one of my stand out memories from the many campuses that I visited.

    Bang for the buck

    At Lindsey Wilson you can expect to receive a high quality education, all the while making friends and memories that will last a lifetime and beyond. This group and campus is a tight knit community that opens up and welcomes all with open arms, a smile, and a pat on the back that states, I'm glad your here - Welcome. Here you are not just a number, but you are definately a person.

    What to do for fun

    There are always extra-curricular activities that the Student Council and the various clubs are sponsoring. There is the Raider Frenzy, which we celebrate the upcoming Athletic Season, various mixers and dances, along with things in the surrounding community of Columbia to keep the student body busy and out of trouble. There is also nearby Green River that most of the student body frequent at times just to relax, unwind, and hang with friends while fishing, skiing, tubing, or swimming.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall and food that is prepared for the students and staff far surpasses any cafeteria food that I had the privelege of visiting prior to my decision to attend Lindsey Wilson. The workers are courteous to the student body, they listen to our wishes and they serve nothing but high quality foods that range from an Italian Bar, Salad Bar, Dessert Bar, to the traditional Southern Cooking of Mashed Potatoes, Gravy, Pot Roast, Fried, Chicken, etc. It's almost like being at home!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at Lindsey Wilson are very spacious, not overcrowded, and have excellent Resident Advisors and Resident Directors in every all and building. The dorms have rules that ensure tha the campus stays on a continual safety watch over the entire student body without those said rules stifling the much needed creation of independence.

    Academic Rigor

    Lindsey Wilson has assembled a very high quality level of teaching professionals along with those who hold administrative positions as well. There are many ways that the college trys to ensure a students successs. Some of which are the Edge Mentor/Leadership team, Edge Advisors, Peer mentoring, Student Council, and of course the Dean of Student Affairs just to name a few. The Professors have an open door policy and is very active in helping the students to achieve at their potential.

    Tips for prospective students

    The best advice I could give for prospective students is listen, listen, listen to their academic advisors, returning students, and to all those who have graduated from this school. The one common factor that resounds clearly is that this is an institution which thrives on the success of their students both in the academic arena as well as the social/community aspect of their students. They believe that success has to be a built utilizing those very tools and they help us to achieve our goals by giving us the resources and the knowledge in which to empower our success. Once a prospective student visits this campus for the first time, they realize shortly thereafter that they have found a campus that exudes quality, comradery, ethics, and a has a high moral threshold.

    In three sentences

    This has been one of the easiest transitions that I could have ever imagined, going from High School to becoming an incoming Freshmen surrounded by unfamiliiar territory both on campus and off. The staff and fellow students have made, what should have been a time of uncertainty and fears, be more of a right of passage and clarity to my future. So far everything academically and socially has been nothing short of a very positive and beneficial learning experience.

  • 12/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public safety is available 24/7 and they are very helpful and will even walk with you from place to place at night if you feel unsafe.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are TONS of clubs.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have Malvina Farkle Day where class is cancelled on a random day and all of the students go out and help out around the community for a couple of hours.

    What to do for fun

    The campus has tons of things going on for students.

    Food and Dining

    The dining center has tons of food and different options

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very nice.

    Academic Rigor

    I am a biology major and the classes are difficult but the teachers are willing to help and there is also an AWESOME tutoring center.

    Tips for prospective students

    Communicate with your admissions counselor! They are very helpful and will help you figure out your best options!

    In three sentences

    Lindsey has an excellent family-like atmosphere. I love the teachers and also everything about it!

  • 01/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel extremely safe on campus.

    Greek Life

    None because it is a private Christian college.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are kinds of clubs and activities to partake in while on campus. They range from theatre to sports to religious clubs to political clubs and so on.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Malvina Farkle Day is a well kept secret. It is a day the LWC gives back to the community. That is all I can tell.

    What to do for fun

    I don't drink but my friends and I go down to the lake or park to hang out. We also go into Campbellsville.

    Food and Dining

    Food is pretty good. At times the caf is cramped. If all else fails you know there is going to be mashed potatoes and gravy everyday.

    Dorm Life

    Horton is kinda bad to live in but for the most part the rest are okay. Phillips is definitely kept clean. Also, the RAs and RDs care for the students.

    Academic Rigor

    It is okay. You have to learn certain ways to study especially if you cannot just memorize facts like some professors want you to do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should set rules for roommates and talk to them if something gets out of hand. Always let your professors know if you have to miss a class because there are some that keep attendance. The most important thing is to get involved.

    In three sentences

    I love it here thus far. My problems are with the parking and the registar. The best part is professors are willing to help and get to know you.

  • 02/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There are no sororities or fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not a wide variety available.

    Great for these types of students

    Religious

    Bang for the buck

    Very expensive college

    What to do for fun

    Sporting events, plays

    In three sentences

    Lindsey is a small school that is very close knit. Teachers are usually helpful and class work isn't too hard.

  • 11/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very safe. Darrel takes care of everyone.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Wrestling team is Top 5 in the Nation at the NAIA level

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Hang out spot when it gets warm is the Quad

    What to do for fun

    Attend sports events. Sand volleyball Visit to the Lake Fishing kayaking and canoeing Horse back riding Mall in Bowling green or lexington or Louisville Bon fires

    Food and Dining

    PLenty of mashed potatoes at every meal. Our dinning hall is rated one of the best in the state.

    Dorm Life

    Make sure you have your roommates picked and the people you live with share similar qualities.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes arent packed wall to wall which makes it easier for students to get the help they need.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring a smile on your face and an open attitude. It is easy to make friends and find your niche when you are yourself.

    In three sentences

    Lindsey Wilson is the home of several major sports teams. It has excellent professors who take the time to help you especially in a small classroom setting. Everyone here is very involved in some sort of athletics.

  • 12/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. Good people go to Lindsey Wilson.

    Greek Life

    There isn't any

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a bunch of clubs. There is always something going on. There is a basketball court and swimming pool.

    Great for these types of students

    Religious athletic smart

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's a midnight breakfast and couch night.

    Bang for the buck

    It is ok, it's very expensive.

    What to do for fun

    You can work out. Play in the sub. There are intramurals.

    Food and Dining

    the food is great. they have ski. It is buffet style

    Dorm Life

    It is ok. Some dorms aren't nice. You make a lot of friends.

    Academic Rigor

    It is pretty hard. It can take some getting used to. Get a tutor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look at a lot of schools. Go on visits. Sit in on a class.

    In three sentences

    It is a nice school. Everyone is very nice. The food is great.

  • 01/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Everyone looks out for each other here. Public Safety for campus is always here for students 24/7, whether it's to unlock your car or walk you to your dorm late at night.

    Greek Life

    If your looking for a Greek family, this is not the college for that. Though some sororities are being brought up and started, they are in the beginning stage and are not very established as of now.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty clubs and activities to dabble into. If for some reason you're not interested in those, grab a few friends and the SAB (Student Activities Board) would be more than happy to allow more clubs. Activities are happening everyday here to keep people busy, but you need to be open to try them out if you want to keep from becoming bored.

    Great for these types of students

    If you like small campuses, towns and not a big party person, than this college is for you. The type of college that can become boring if you don't find things to keep you busy.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We are a big community campus. There are always activities going on that intertwine with the town such as the Christmas Carnival. Also, Malvina Farkle Day in which the students go out and volunteer throughout the town at various sites.

    Bang for the buck

    A nice small campus helps you to become more personal with your teacher. Though, the class choices are limited compared to really big campuses. The price is almost worth it depending on the person.

    What to do for fun

    It can become very boring if you do not get involved. There are many clubs and activities to get into, that is if you're actually looking. It's best to become very into clubs and activities unless you'll find yourself sitting in your room eating Ramen all day. Also, many students here are in a sport. A sport will keep you busy here.

    Food and Dining

    Food is very good at first. After awhile it can get boring and plain. I personally like it, although a majority of the students start complaining halfway through the semester.

    Dorm Life

    There are no co-ed dorms. Though, you can have visitors over, there are time limits, which are very reasonable. Room sizes vary depending on the building. It is a small campus and being too loud and rowdy is not acceptable and can get you in trouble after too many times.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are very challenging. The teachers expect the best out of you. Though they are very willing to help you on assignments. Plenty of writing and reading is expected from students no matter the major, though some more than most. Since there is a smaller body of students, classes can easily go at a faster pace. I would advice any student to start with the minimum amount of credits if you believe you would struggle with the course load.

    Tips for prospective students

    A very small campus and town. Best for students who don't mind trying new things and getting involved. Can become very boring, but do not let that stop you. A very athletic centered school which, at times, can be a bad or great thing.

    In three sentences

    A very small yet personal and welcoming campus. Expensive yet the price is almost worth it with the type of education you receive here. This school can be the one of your dreams, the worst, or anywhere in between depending on your experience and what you make of it.

  • 03/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is safe, even though we don't have emergency phones or security that roams around. I've never had a problem. I give it three stars.

    Greek Life

    No Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Barely any clubs or activities. The very few clubs there is are usually a joke to the school. I'd give it one star.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who dont care about their education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Sometimes they have cookouts when the dining center needs to be reserved for a staff meeting, these days most kids go to a fast food chain instead because the food they serve us is usually cold or stale.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is definitely not a bang for your buck. I am in debt here and I have had to teach myself everything, have to stay up late because of all the noise, and am spending even more money on groceries because everything in the dining hall is fried.

    What to do for fun

    I am on the cycling team. For fun, I usually cycle with the team or drive an hour to go hiking.

    Food and Dining

    I give food and dining one star. Being a student athlete, I like to eat healthy and healthy is nt an option here. I am forced to pay $2,000 for a meal plan that I don't even use because it is so difficult to get off.

    Dorm Life

    I would give this school two stars with dorm life. They are clean but the walls are so thin I can hear everyones conversations.

    Academic Rigor

    I would give this school one star based on academic rigor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students, make sure you are comfortable with teaching yourself everything in every subject. The professors barely know what they are talking about or are willing to help you.

    In three sentences

    This school has its ups and downs. It's nestled in a small, dry county so there are no parties, which means no distractions. The downside is the professors have no idea how to teach and usually read straight from the textbook.