Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Linfield College-McMinnville Campus Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/25/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 out of 10 people found this review useful. 1 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Linfield has students that are well rounded, passionate, open minded, friendly, interested in a lot of things, and who like road trips. Students who are looking for a small town college where they can get away from the city life would fit in wonderfully at Linfield, surrounded by nature and red brick buildings.

    Tips for prospective students

    Aim high the first time you apply for a scholarship from Linfield because they don't raise the amount over the 4 years. What you get coming in will be the extent of what you get from them, despite any tuition raises. You will also need a car when you come in order to get around. The parking fee for 2009-2010 is 85$ a year, but you're allowed to park over holidays too which is convenient if you want to take a plane somewhere. Linfield provides shuttles to and from the airport on major holidays. I would suggest going to visit the campus, and checking out all the dorms. When choosing one, make sure you know which buildings most of your classes will be in, and choose a dorm that is both close to those as well as the cafeteria.

    Bang for the buck

    Linfield is one of the more expensive schools, but personally I find it very enjoyable going here and am planning to for 4 years. I would say that it charges a little more than it's worth, however, with all the financial aid Linfield gives out, it's very affordable and can offer one of the best college deals out there.

    Am enjoying being here

    The people at Linfield are friendly and open. The teachers are excellent and easy to reach. The campus is lovely, and small enough so you can enjoy a nice walk to your classes. Also, most of the students who attend Linfield live on campus, making it a very close knit community. The dorms are surprisingly comfortable, and dorm life is always fun. You will have the chance to meet plenty of interesting individuals and make life long friends. There are also many activities around campus to enjoy such as free movies in Ice Auditorium or 'CatCabs' every Thursday night that functions like talent shows. Be it music or a performance, anyone is welcome to come and enjoy. However, unless you have a car, you may find the surrounding town limiting. It's a small town with 6000-7000 people, and there is only one street within walking distance where students can shop at a variety of stores. The bus system isn't very reliable and there are few other means of public transportation. However, if you do have a car, one can go to various restaurants, department stores, and if you're willing to drive for an hour there are large cities worth visiting. Linfield is a very rural, peaceful college to go to but I would suggest having a car when you need a break from all the nature and want to shop or see a movie.

    Am learning a lot

    The quality of education at Linfield is rich and diverse. The student body has very unique and open ways of thinking, making learning limitless and creative. The programs are somewhat limited, but not by much, and if Linfield does have a liberal arts program you want, you can be sure you'll learn a lot. The teachers are all incredibly helpful and many are friends of their students as well. The materials they use are up to date and filled with information. Linfield also has a Writing Center, to help with research papers and essay grammar. As a current student, I can say that I'm learning much more than I expected because Linfield makes things interesting, and the teachers are always there to help.

  • 01/29/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All types of students!! There is something for just about everyone!!

    Tips for prospective students

    Come in with an open mind, and try to make friends fast! They are great for warding off homesickness, and for destressing your life during finals :)

    Bang for the buck

    Even though Linfield is spendy, they offer lots of great scholarships, and payment plans that make it possible! I am paying for college all by myself (no parental help), but it hasn't been a problem so far. Also, there is lots of campus jobs and jobs close to campus that help too.

    Am enjoying being here

    Linfield is a great place to learn, laugh, and love. You learn a lot in the classes, which are extremely diverse and interesting. You laugh with and love the many new friends you meet, and enjoy the relationships that will last a lifetime. I was timid going into my first term, unsure of how I would be able to make friends, and how I would succeed in my classes. Fall term is now over, and Linfield and it's environment has far surpassed my expectations. All of the Linfield students are like a small community or a family, and the profs all care about you as an individual, not just a statistic. Linfield is wonderful!

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned so much in the short time I have been at Linfield, and not just in class. I have been able to learn from the people around me, not just information important for my classes, but lessons about how to be a member of a community and to form relationships with those that I never would have guessed could be great friends. The professors are challenging, but always willing to help when you need it, and won't give up on you even when you struggle. Amazing!!!

  • 12/30/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    For students who study with plan, look around, be aware, take chances, use opportunities and read a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    First day of college, go out there and do! I do not care what you do but do not sit down in your room and procrastinate doing activities and interacting with people. Learn about you college so well. Make as many friends as possible. Be yourself all the times. Think a thing, say the thing and do the thing. Study. Talk to professors. Ask. Do sports. Get involved in clubs. Do community services. Be a leader.

    Bang for the buck

    Linfield offers many scholarships for students. In terms of room and board, Linfield offers comfortable rooms and good meals. You will not regret that you paid what you paid. Also, Linfield has perfectly designed labs where students have great chances to experience lab environment. However, lab fees are very fair and not very expensive.

    Am enjoying being here

    Linfield college has beautiful surroundings and environment where one can enjoy being outdoors and doing different things nature has to offer. For example, in McMinnville, where the college is located, you can go to historical downtown museums. Also, the city is perfect for bike riding and fishing. You can go to river to fish. In addition, being part of the Linfield, I enjoyed interacting with different students and stuff. I hear lot different stories while chatting with my friend or with my professor. I share tradition and culture.

    Am learning a lot

    Especially, being an international student, I experienced and learned a lot while being in Linfield community. Small class sizes give you much opportunity to get to know professors and other friends very closely and discuss and learn subjects deeply. Moreover, by involving in volunteer activities in Linfield, one can gain interesting and useful experience by meeting different people and by doing different things because the college offers many opportunities for community services.

  • 06/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All different types of students. Linfield offers many things for many different students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go out there with an open mind and be yourself. Try new things and make friends. It will all be worth it.

    Bang for the buck

    Linfield is an expensive school but it is worth it. With what you get, you won't regret paying what you paid. There are many scholarships and/or payment plans that help with the costs. Along with that, there are many on-campus jobs and jobs nearby that can help as well.

    Am enjoying being here

    This past year spent at Linfield has been the best year of my life. Linfield campus is quite small but not too small; it is just the right size for a campus. It is small enough to recognize people when you are walking around and small enough for you to make it to class on time. The people around campus are very friendly. While walking around, you will always find that many individuals that walk past you either smile or say hello. The professors and staff are friendly as well. They always are their to lend a helping hand or to chat. Along with the friendly individuals around campus, they are many things to do. You can go play sports, hang out with friends, walk to Third Street for many fantastic restuarants, or simply see what's going around on campus. Every Thursday and Saturday night, there sure will be something going on. Linfield is such an amazing college with always something to do.

    Am learning a lot

    There are many different programs offered at Linfield. These different programs give you the ability to expand your knowledge and simply try new things. I have learned a lot at Linfield, in such a short time period. The professors are great at what they do and know exactly what they are teaching. Many professors are friends with their students which makes the student-teacher relationship so much better. It gives students an easier time when communicating about different topics. Besides learning in class, I have learned outside of class. I learn different things from my peers and new people that I meet, day to day. Linfield College is such a great school. I have learned much more than I have expected to learn due to Linfield being quite interesting and giving their students exactly what they want and need regarding their education.

  • 01/22/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Active, passionate students who want to learn and get involved. Also helps if you like small towns and very sculpted landscapes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved and make friends from day 1. Linfield students are very active and cliques tend to form fast. If you introverted it becomes hard to break into these. Plus, you will be EXTREMELY bored.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a little difficult to afford if you don't have much money. Unless you are firmly upper-middle class and/or are getting parental help, plan to take out many loans. It does give you at least as much as you would expect for the amount you are paying, though I would recommend taking advantage of the free things they offer, and if you can live off of the mini meal plan then that helps too.

    Am enjoying being here

    Being from Portland, it was a little bit of shell shock when I moved to McMinnville. It is a very small town and many activities are a long walk away, so I would recommend you have a car or Linfield has a very active biking community and a bike co-op. The surroundings are very beautiful though, and Linifield usually has something to do. Many activities such as a chocolate tour and moonlight snowshoeing are offered through the CIC and you can buy tickets for a nominal fee. There are also events like free movies and comedians that come to campus.

    Am learning a lot

    The programs are very rigorous and thorough, but also fun. Professors here are amazing and are usually willing to work with you to get what you need done. There is tons of support here, so you have options if you start to struggle. Teachers also new and innovative thinking.

  • 03/07/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    6 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely visit the campus. That is the best way to see if it is going to work for you. If you don't like the campus, you won't be happy living there and that will effect all your whole college career. Get in touch with your admissions counselor early. They are your best friend in both the admission process and the financial aid process.

    Bang for the buck

    While it is expensive to attend a private college, I found the financial aid office to be very helpful and I also received a very good financial aid package for them. For my specific situation, a small college makes more sense as the professors actually get to know their students personally. From my research, I have gathered that this can make a huge amount of difference when competing for entrance into medical school.

    Will enjoy being here

    Overall, I got a very positive vibe from the campus. There seemed to be a lot of activities to participate in and the school spirit seemed to be very cohesive.

    Will learn a lot

    The campus and students seemed very interested in learning and also changing their environment for the better. It was encouraging to see that a student-run community garden existed and as well as many bike friendly features. This is obviously a group of forward thinking students. The library facilities were excellent and I look forward to many evenings spent there studying.

  • 11/14/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure, as a prospective student, that you come here at least once for a discovery day and to spend the night in one of the dorm rooms. this was a wonderful experience for me because it gave a look into what the students do here and it gave me literally as much or more information than I got in the informational sessions. So you should definitely check into it.

    Bang for the buck

    I applied to a few different colleges here in Oregon. After receiving financial award letters from them it turned out to be that, even though Linfield is a private institution, this school had the best financial package for me. Not only do I get the chance to work closely with ALL of my professors, I also get to partake in the other advantages at Linfield: study abroad program, discounted prices for outside Linfield activities, and so much more.

    Am enjoying being here

    Linfield college has a beautiful campus. Linfield in and of itself is like its own small town. Everybody here creates this sort of community and it is very comfortable to attend this college. I felt very at home here within the first week.

    Am learning a lot

    I am currently enrolled here at Linfield and I do have to say that I am learning a LOT. Because of the small teacher to student ratio, I am able to have one on one conversations with my teachers if I need extra help and the programs here have the tools necessary to accommodate my method of learning productively.

  • 12/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Linfield is a great college for a variety of students. I do not think I can label who would love the school and who wouldn't because it is such a hard school not to love. Linfield seems to have a little bit of everything ranging from athletes to very talented artists, musicians and academically talented individuals.

    Tips for prospective students

    My advise is to beak every school up into subcategories and look at their positives and negatives before making a decision. For example, do you want a large college or small college? What is your major and which schools have good programs for that desired major? What is your budget, remember that every school is expensive and scholarships can be acquired.

    Bang for the buck

    For me this school is pricey because it is a private college, however the class sizes are smaller which definitely helps me learn. I also think there is a great student teacher bond in any class, I have yet to meet a professor here who doesn't care about their students. A large benefit I have is the nursing program here at Linfield. Tuition may be a lot but it will save me all the hassle in looking and applying to Nursing schools my junior year.

    Am enjoying being here

    The town is quite small and so is the college but it is very community oriented which I love. I know so many students on campus already and it's always nice to walk into a class the first day and see familiar faces.

    Am learning a lot

    Even though my career choice is very rigorous and does not have much room for experimenting other classes, Linfield has incorporated a system so that every one who graduates will have taken a variety of classes outside of their major so we can be well rounded individuals. This has been beneficial because I have been able to take and enjoy classes I thought I would never take.

  • 12/31/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students searching for their passion and wanting to become active in a college community.

  • 01/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Public Safety is very reliable and on the job. The edges of campus are the scariest at night just because there are less students and more people of the town (townies the Linfield word). All around campus there are safety towers and you can see CPS monitoring campus every day. At night, just pay attention wherever you are and always have a buddy. You can have the safest campus in the world, but still get hurt because of being alone.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is wonderful. It is only a small percentage of students, but the ones who are in the system love it. There are four sororities and four fraternities. They are all great people and leaders on campus. Don't be afraid to rush for one, it is fun and exciting.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are MANY clubs. At the beginning of the Fall semester, they have all the clubs out on the IM field to recruit. There are a ton of free shirts and bracelets to have. We have conservation clubs, community service clubs, ethnicity clubs, law, nursing, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    Linfield is for those who like to be known by their professors, who like to have face time with the Dean. It is easy to make friends because the campus is so small. It is a close knit community in a small town.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Everyone stresses over finals week, but Linfield's finals week is incredibly laid back because of all the wonderful events. All-night pancake feed, free coffee and hot chocolate at every corner of campus, dorm study parties, free massages.

    Bang for the buck

    24-hour computer lab, Caddy Shack is open until midnight, Linfield Activity Board events, the classes, the professors. Everyone is invested at Linfield. The Greek System is friendly, open, and fun. Linfield is a great place.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs, they are always meeting and ALWAYS have free food. 3rd street also is McMinnville's shopping district. When you think Oregon... you have this street full of organic shops with Oregonian clothing. Linfield Activity Board also plans events every weekend-- concerts, trips to awesome restaurants in Portland, hot air balloon rides. If you know where to look, you'll never be bored.

    Food and Dining

    Dillon Hall is the dining hall. It has its days where the food is good, and then the days where you feel like you are going to starve (dinners...). The lunches are always good with different choices at the grill, and then mexican food, salad bar, sandwiches... etc. Caddy Shack is the sandwich place on campus, it makes great sandwiches and always has midnight snacks for sale. Stop by Jazzman's for coffee and a pastry-- there is always a good atmosphere.

    Dorm Life

    Be prepared for the ones who love to party. At any college, you'll find that group. The dorms are older, except for Terrell and Elkington which are for upperclassmen. The doubles are spacious, but don't bring a lot of furniture. Linfield provides a desk, a chair, and a bed. There are community kitchens, and a common room with a tv and couches. My advice: make your room your own, any way you can. Bring posters, pictures, flowers. It is your home at school, it should feel that way. Get to know the people in your building, you'll be with them for a long time-- they are your first opportunity to make friends. Remember, come with an open mind.

    Academic Rigor

    If you respect your professors, the professors will respect you. The best way to show respect is to show up to class and give it your best shot. The professors expect a lot from their students, they want seriousness and inquisitiveness.

    Tips for prospective students

    Set yourself up for success. Get to know your teachers, get involved with their research. Do not come with expectations, soak in the experience for what it is, not for what you think it should be. Linfield will exceed your expectations if you give her a chance.

    In three sentences

    Linfield College has small beautiful campus in rural Oregon. It is a close knit community full of ambitious and interesting people. The classes are top notch with helpful professors.

  • 01/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety officers patrol constantly to keep linfield safe. while they can't solve everything, campus safety works hard to ensure the campus is secure.

    Clubs and Activities

    linfield has dozens of clubs, and more are created every year. because anyone willing to do the paperwork can make a club, linfield has a club for just about everything. sports clubs provide an opportunity to play your favorite sport without worrying about the competition of varsity sports. there are also several service clubs for anyone interested in community service. each club focuses on a specific type of service, so focusing on environmental projects and sustainability, while others work to help people in the community.

    Great for these types of students

    linfield is great for anyone looking for a fairly small community. also, anyone wanting a real challenge academically.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    an fairly unusual tradition on campus is the yearly wildstock, sponsored by lab. it's a day of music, and free food, catered by local restaurants. the music line-up usually includes two local or students artists and a professional band.

    Bang for the buck

    linfield is a very expensive college, paying for it can be difficult; however it is worth every penny. the education available at linfield is the best in the northwest. while not without its shortcomings linfield is a great school. small, but not too small, and with a warm, and inviting environment linfield feels like a home away from home.

    What to do for fun

    every thursday night, a small concert is held in the riley center fred meyer lounge. usually, a linfield student performs, but about once a month or so a professional or semi-pro artist comes. there's an event almost every saturday night. once a month a comedian performs, we've had magicians, and even a hypnotist come. also, about once a month a new movie is played in the auditorium. all of these events are free. off campus, there's plenty of cool place to hang out around town. the beach is only about half an hour away, as is portland. when you run out of things to do in mcminnville, the city is right around the corner. the linfield activities board that sponsors all of the events on campus also organizes trips off campus to portland and surrounding areas. hiking trips, camping, laser tag, trips to sky high, and even bungee jumping and skydiving are all cheap, or even free events sponsored by lab.

    Food and Dining

    dillin hall is the main dining hall on campus. the dinner food is better than typical cafeteria food; it's not the best around by any means, but it isn't bad. sunday night is a particularly boring night in terms of menu, but the rest of the week the menu is quite varied. vegetarian, and glucose-free options are readily available, as well as kosher foods. breakfast, lunch and dinner are provided on weekdays while brunch and dinner are the only meals served on weekends. lunch items can be pricey at times, but the food is good and freshly cooked to order. along with dillin hall, linfield also has a small mini-mart called the catty shack, as well as a coffee shop call jazzman's. catty shack is open late, so snacks are available for late-night study sessions. also the sub sandwiches and paninis are great. jazzman's is only open on weekdays and only till four, which is disappointing sometimes, but it opens early enough that you can get a cup of coffee before class.

    Dorm Life

    linfield res life is a varied experience. every residence hall is very different, so living in a different hall each year provides a whole new experience every time. ra's make a point to help new students integrate into the community, and to keep current students interested in res life. monthly hall events are fun, ranging from bowling nights, to movies, to call of duty tournaments, and more. in bigger halls, it can be easy to feel like just a face in the crowd, but ra's make an effort to avoid this.

    Academic Rigor

    the linfield curriculum is tough, students are expected to strive for academic excellence. long semesters with only one break can be draining, but the hard work pays off. professors are sincerely interested in making sure students succeed, and that they learn as much as they can. professors teach on a personal level, which helps them keep student accountable for their grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    study hard in high school, college is a lot tougher. the linfield curriculum is especially rigorous. also, be sure to apply for lots of scholarships and grants. paying for school can be hard, so be sure to plan ahead.

    In three sentences

    the linfield community is warm and welcoming; it's hard not to make friends here. professors make a point to know their students on a first name basis, making learning a very personal experience. it's a great fit for anyone seeking a close-knit community devoted to academics.

  • 01/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    great greek life system. around four fraternities and four sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    pre nursing club, hawaiian club, and so much more, all kinds of diverse clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    students that are scholarly and driven to learn

    What to do for fun

    intramural sports, cat cabs, spectating in athletics, greek life, the list goes on....

    Tips for prospective students

    enjoy your time there, look around at all departments and talk to professors.

    In three sentences

    i would most definitely rate linfield a 9 out of 10 because of small classroom sizes, one on one attention from professors and the close knit community linfield has to offer.

  • 01/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus is a very safe place, and feels that way too. they do a class at the beginning of freshman year to prepare and educate kids about the campus safety. also campo is very efficient and is always on patrol and willing to give you rides if you ever feel unsafe,

    Greek Life

    the greek life at linfield is small but powerful. they always have a meaningful fundraiser going and are very involved. there is a fraternity or sorority for any person that wants to join, and it is such a neat experience that provides lifetime connections.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are countless clubs and activities for the students to get involved in. they have a fair at the beginning of the year where you can explore all of your options, as well as a bulletin board in riley featuring all of the clubs. everyone makes you feel welcome and joining clubs or activities is a great way to meet new people and get involved!

    Great for these types of students

    linfield is great for students that want a liberal arts education. it is a smaller campus which makes the linfield community so much closer. this school is great for students that want to have smaller and more hands on classes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    at 6pm every night the bell tower has a song playing, which is comforting and nice to hear.

    Bang for the buck

    linfield is worth every penny. they give great financial aid, are so supportive and helpful, and i one hundred percent feel that i'm paying for the best education possible. there are tons of opportunities that linfield offers, including paying for plane tickets for any students first trip abroad!

    What to do for fun

    mcminnville is the perfect college town, there's cat cab, featuring shows from local artists or students, third street, which has tons of cute little shops and is only a short walk away, or going on trips with lab including the water park and fortune telling, you will always have something to do at linfield!

    Food and Dining

    the food at linfield is wonderful. the staff in the dining hall is always friendly. there are always multiple options for food and a vegetarian section as well. also, catty shack and o'rileys have scrumptious desserts, amazing sandwiches, frozen yogurt,, ice cream, and coffee to keep you awake. along with that they have a variety of chips, frozen foods, and drinks to chose from in the shores on campus.

    Dorm Life

    this year i live in a dorm, which i swore i never would. however, the dorms are much larger than most and all halls have kitchens, free laundry and nice clean bathrooms.

    Academic Rigor

    my first semester i felt that the classes were challenging me to learn things that will benefit me all through out my college years and prepare me for my future career. after talking with some friends from other colleges i felt more prepared and confident in my work than they have. linfield has academically challenging classes, but also have helpful, caring, and qualified professors to help at anytime.

    Tips for prospective students

    my advice for prospective students is to get involved, you meet so many wonderful people and it's a great way to obtain life changing opportunities by getting yourself known. also, apply for work study early, and take a variety of classes to make sure on your major before you have to declare it.

    In three sentences

    linfield has honestly been the experience of a lifetime for me. i have no doubt in my mind that i'm getting the highest quality education, as well as the opportunity to find myself and explore future careers. the small school atmosphere, class size, and knowledge i'm gaining from attending linfield is something that will continue to benefit me my whole life.

  • 01/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety does their job very well. They are always on-hand if you need anything, even if you just want a ride back to your dorm from the library late at night. If anything happens they let everyone know extremely quickly. I feel very safe on campus.

    Greek Life

    We have both fraternities and sororities. There are frat houses, but not sorority houses. I myself am not a part of greek life, but it is a very popular option on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many different clubs to join and activities to participate in; plus it is pretty easy to start a club if it is something that is not already offered.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that like smaller class sizes (as a freshman my largest class had 25 students in it) with individual attention from professors. Students who like to challenge themselves and learn to critically think.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a large firepit on campus, which is very fun to have a bonfire on cooler nights or after football games. One of the fraternities also has a blood-drive around the holidays, and they sleep in a trailer in one of the parking lots for a couple of weeks playing music. Every year we have a Lu'au which has incredible food and dancing. And then we also have Wildstock, where some professional bands perform at the school (also with fantastic food).

    Bang for the buck

    Unfortunately being a private school, Linfield is on the expensive side of the college expense range. However, it provides a very close-knit community and the small class sizes make it well worth it. While the classes are more difficult, I know it makes me more prepared for my future career. I don't agree with what they seem to spend our tuition on (a lot of lawn and garden work) and I wish I had more say in how the money was spent.

    What to do for fun

    In all honesty, there are fraternities on campus. so yes, there are parties. For people who do not enjoy the party scene, the Linfield activities board provides events on Saturday evenings such as movies (on the big screen in one of the auditoriums) and there are many restaurants and things to do in the historic downtown district of McMinnville.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not the greatest; however every dinner (7 days a week) and brunch (Saturday's and Sunday's) are all-you-can-eat. The rest of breakfast and lunches are a la carte. They are changing the entire meal program next year and adding in a Starbucks.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is super fun. While the dorms are small (the largest has about 90 students in it as opposed to a state school where there are 500), it creates a closer community within dorms while still allowing you to branch out and meet a ton of new people.

    Academic Rigor

    The small class sizes really encourage you to engage in the the material and in-class participation. You are not just a number, you are a person and you are held liable for knowing the material before attending class. Many of the classes are specifically designed to be more rigorous than at public schools.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep grades up and apply for FAFSA and scholarships. I hate to say it but Linfield is not inexpensive, so while i believe it is a good school it may not seem worth it if you have to pay over $40,000 a year to attend.

    In three sentences

    Linfield is a fantastic school with small class sizes and a welcoming community. The study abroad program was very appealing to me as it is very strong and they encourage absolutely everyone (no matter the major) to study abroad during their 4 years. The staff cares very much for each individual student, so you are more than just a number.

  • 02/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i personally feel safe, but in recent events there has been some incidents that have lead me to believe that the campus is very safe during the day and at night you should just be careful and walk in groups.

    Greek Life

    there are two fraternities and two or three sororities, but only the guys have houses and the girls meet in basements every once an a while.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are clubs and they are welcoming, but there is a very small selection of clubs. there are activities though such as catcab, movies in ice auditorium, pizza and politics, wig parties, and you can sign up at cic to go to certain local events and they will drive you.

    Great for these types of students

    the school is great for the outgoing, nike-clad, athletic student. sports are big at linfield and sometimes it feels as if academics sometimes take a back seat because of this. i personally am none of the three characteristics above and neither are my friends, so there are other people at linfield, but we are few in numbers.

    Bang for the buck

    i guess, the school is very expensive to me, but the education i am getting is superb. also in comparison to other private liberal arts schools it is cheap.

    What to do for fun

    nothing if you do not have a car. third street is a simple walk from the campus, but going anywhere else is impossible without a car unless you count going to 7 eleven fun. but if you are the partying type of person who enjoys greek life then you will enjoy the school. since there are parties every thursday, friday, and saturday.

    Food and Dining

    the food at dillin, the only dining hall on campus, is good the only problem is it is repetitive. also the food get continually worse throughout the week because most students leave for the weekend. but the school is very good about listening to what the students want and are improving.

    Dorm Life

    the dorm rooms are large and very nice (i lived in mahaffey for a year and it was a very good environment for a freshman), but they are disgustingly dirty. since living on campus is the only option there is no avoiding dorm life, but i just want to give a fair warning to everyone do not be surprised when you walk into the bathroom and see a mess.

    Academic Rigor

    the school is difficult and select teachers expect good writing skills, but since the teachers are very personable and friendly they are willing to help you with just about everything.

    Tips for prospective students

    i would suggest taking an in depth tour of the school before attending so you can get a taste of what the school really is.

    In three sentences

    linfield college is a fantastic place, but only if you happen to enjoy playing sports, partying every weekend, and wearing all wildcat paraphernalia all the time.

  • 04/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 36

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Small community feel that is very welcoming and supportive. Professors care about each student and strive to help them succeed.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus safety (CPS) does a great job of keeping us safe! They put the safety of students first.

    Great for these types of students

    In general a very welcoming community! However, I would say that many students are from more rural areas as opposed to big cities.

    What to do for fun

    College is a lot of work (it wouldn't be worth it if it wasn't) but we still manage to have a lot of fun! Normal we hang out in our lounge and watch movies, TV, play video games or board games or just hang out. On the weekends we go to LAB sponsored events such as watching movies or comedians. But may favorite thing we've done is played campus wide hide and seek at night!

    Food and Dining

    Food at Dillin Hall is pretty good for college food. There are many different options and they don't repeat meals too often. The best meal is definitely weekend brunches and the worst is Friday night dinners. You can always go to catty shack if you don't like the food in Dillin. The food at Linfield has gotten so much better just over this one year I have been here. I imagine that it will only continue to get better!

    Dorm Life

    There really isn’t a bad dorm on campus. All of them are fairly nice. There are a lot of varying sizes and each residence all has its own special feature. I love the fact that there is an option to live in a small hall. You really get to know everyone on your dorm and it turns into a tightknit family.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor definitely depends on your major and what classes you’re taking (as it does for all schools). What you put into your education is what you get out of it. However, Linfield does offers many rigorous programs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early. If you know you want to come here send in your deposit ASAP. Make sure you get all of your transfer credits transferred because they are very advantageous for housing and registering for classes for your sophomore year.

    In three sentences

    Linfield is a great school if you're looking for a close relationship between professors and students. Your absence from class will not go unnoticed. Linfield has a beautiful campus year round.

  • 06/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    4 star

    Greek Life

    I am unaware of Greek life on Linfield campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    4 star

    Great for these types of students

    If you are an athlete and want to play in the best Division III football program on the west coast, then Linfield is the place for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have fraternities that you can join on campus and they do unusual initiation things like running around campus naked.

    Bang for the buck

    3 star

    What to do for fun

    There's a lot of opportunities at the school to have fun. They have many clubs that you can become a part of and lots of sports activities that you can participate it. They also have different activities that are held during the weekends like muscials and theatre performances.

    Food and Dining

    3 star

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking at being a true student athlete, then Linfield is the school for you. It will be academically challenging but will give you an opportunity to strive to be better.

    In three sentences

    Linfield is a highly academic school that helps college students put student before athlete. I am going to to this to play football and I am grateful for the opportunity that Linfield has given to me. I would rate Linfield as a 8 in academics and definitely a 10 in the football program.

  • 06/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have had our share of problems but it is getting better.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The people fountain is the most unusual spot on campus. Don't let the statues scare you at night. They sometimes look as though they are moving.

    Bang for the buck

    Every year the cost goes up by a lot. It is a good education but the amount tuition rises every year is outrageous.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of small events on campus. Every Saturday there is a movie night or comedian, every Thursday there is Cat Cab (student concerts basically) and throughout the week there are different clubs holding events.

    Food and Dining

    Dillin is bad...

    Dorm Life

    Try to get a small dorm. You will become like family by the end of the year.

    Academic Rigor

    Most the classes I have taken were difficult but not too overwhelming. The tests and subject material may be hard but the homework load is not bad.

    Tips for prospective students

    My biggest tip would be to go with the flow. The administrative staff at Linfield are very set in their ways and they do not like people challenging their authority. As long as you do not butt heads with them, you should be fine. The other tip I would give is to take classes in subjects you like or are interested it. The classes are hard, especially when you start getting into upper division classes. Enjoy what you are taking.

    In three sentences

    Linfield College is a friendly school but other than a few big events, it is relatively quiet. Classes will challenge you but if you are up for it, you will learn a lot. The faculty is helpful and supportive in class and outside of it.

  • 06/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is awesome! They are on top of it and always strive to protect the students at all hours. The officers are incredibly friendly and caring; I always feel safe on campus.

    Greek Life

    I am not in Greek Life, but I know people that are. Our Greek Life students stand for good causes and create their own type of family.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of clubs and activities. At the very beginning of the school year every club and activity sets up outside for new students to learn about all of the cool ways to be involved. There is something for every type of person!

    Great for these types of students

    -Friendly -Motivated -High Achieving

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The best place is the Echo Spot! There is one spot on campus that if you stand directly in the center and speak it will echo. You will be the only person to hear it echo, the bystander won't! It's very cool.

    Bang for the buck

    Linfield provides so much for the students. While it is expensive, you will be able to see where your money goes as you are taught by your professors and the type of facilities you are accommodated with.

    What to do for fun

    Be sure to go to all of the CatCabs and student performances. Also, go to as many events on campus as possible. Be involved! Once you are involved you will have fun!

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus is good. After awhile you become sick of it, but that's only because you have eaten there so much. It was described to me as eating at your favorite restaurant every single day. However, there are great restaurants within walking distance if you need a little break!

    Dorm Life

    I loved living around a lot of people. Linfield requires every incoming freshman student to live in a residence hall. While many would find this harsh it is truly beneficial. One of the greatest things about Linfield is the people. Living in a dorm helps you to meet new people and become accustomed to campus living. All of the residence halls are well kept and there are both co-ed (by floor) and female or male only dorms. Most students stay on campus, I believe that is the best way to go!

    Academic Rigor

    Every major has its easy parts and hard parts. Linfield professors expect top work from each student and always have authentic learning techniques. As an education major, I was out in the classroom from the very beginning. Linfield ensures that I am aware of what my job will look like.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to see the campus and meet the people! Linfield offers so many wonderful opportunities, take advantage of them.

    In three sentences

    Linfield is wonderful, it is the best decision that I have ever made. The community is kind and the professors care. My education is valued! While college is about furthering the education, Linfield stands for so much more than that: Linfield creates community. Students at Linfield become leaders and community servants. When you become a Wildcat you are expected to be your best. As a whole, Linfield shows you how to make life-long relationships, gives you a well rounded education, provides a supportive community, but most of all Linfield becomes home. I always love coming back to campus and hearing, Welcome home!

  • 06/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Lots of clubs and other student run activities to get involved in. You can even start your own activity if they do not already have what you are looking for.

    Food and Dining

    It is amazing, and keeps improving.

    Dorm Life

    This is not the place if you are looking for Greek Life or huge groups of people, but is perfect for me.

    Academic Rigor

    The class selection is amazing and challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    The tip that I have would be that you should never be afraid to contact your professor for help because they are at Linfield for a reason, to help you.

    In three sentences

    This school is the perfect place to go if you want to be on a small campus and connect with other students and the professors. Linfield is the best place to go if you want to be able to flourish and also have the help of an amazing teaching staff. For small private schools, Linfield is number one.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    22 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are searching for a passion, and those who have already found it will both do well here. The programs at Linfield are well developed and help to foster a sense of academic exploration. It has a great student community and wonderful student outreach programs.

    Bang for the buck

    It is an expensive school, but taking advantage of academic and departmental scholarships really help with the cost. The Linfield Competitive Scholarship day is a great way to not only impress the faculty in your department, but a great way to help bring down that cost. With the small class sizes and the hands-on learning, I would say it's a great place to go and truly one the best educations around.

    What to do for fun

    Linfield offers many activities: the Linfield Activities Board oversees numerous clubs that meet weekly and funds many events for the student body. Frequent trips to cultural hotspots and all sorts of cuisine in the McMinnville or Portland area are a treat as well. The activities fair at the beginning of the year is a great way to get involved.

    Food and Dining

    I have actually always really enjoyed the food at the dining hall, although some people complain. In the past two years though, they've been implementing some really nice changes in menu. Be aware that you really should go to the all-you-can-eat dinners and brunches, because you've already paid for them, and if you don't go then the money is just wasted.

    Dorm Life

    I lived in dorms my first two years at Linfield, and then in the HP apartments, and then in one of the other Linfield apartments. Dorm life was very fun, and my freshman year, I became very close with my hallmates. The RA's are great at organizing get togethers, and room sizes are alot better than some of the public schools in Oregon.

    Academic Rigor

    You really do set your own pace at Linfield. With some of my classes having as few as 4 students to the largest class I was in having around 35 students, you get plenty of one-on-one time with teachers. That being said, class difficulties can vary and it you really do get out of it what you put in.

    Tips for prospective students

    The freshman orientation time is a really fun way to get to know people from all different academic interests, before everyone settles into their departments. Freshman colloquium is a fun way to meet new friends and a great learning tool.

  • 08/02/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    23 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are endless options and I would definitely recommend joining a club and getting involved.

    Food and Dining

    Linfield is different from other college. It's food never gets tiring. The cooks are always changing it up and I love how many options we have and how clean and sanitary it is.

    Academic Rigor

    There is a variety of majors and minors. Always try something new because you will only attend college once, so make the best of it and always explore new beginngs. Don't be afraid and just let yourself go.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always keep on open mind and never give up on the college or university of your dreams. As long as you stay positive you will accomplish your goals and dreams. Don't ever think you can't do something because you deep inside know you can. It just takes time and dedication.

    In three sentences

    Linfield is such a great school that it can not be rated. There is not a high enough number to rate its greatness. It's a place, where you know and can feel you belong.

  • 09/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    The fraternities are disgusting and the sororities are not allowed to have house.

    Great for these types of students

    Football players and athletes.

    What to do for fun

    Football games and Saturday night movies.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join all the clubs you can and don't worry about making friends.

    In three sentences

    Linfield is warm, welcoming and tight community. The team spirit here is tangible and the resources are unlimited. However, it is in the middle of nowhere, leaving little to do on weekends.

  • 09/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is a pretty good facility.

    Greek Life

    It is there if you chose to participate.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am pretty busy with sports.

    Great for these types of students

    Christian athletes.

    Bang for the buck

    It is expensive but worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of activities happening every week.

    Food and Dining

    Weekend brunches are the best.

    Dorm Life

    Clean well maintained dorms with adequate rooms. The noise is sometimes annoying but you learn to study elsewhere.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are hard but rewarding.

    Tips for prospective students

    Small campus that is a great physical and social environment.

    In three sentences

    Excellent college that meets my education needs. I am playing football with a team that is lead by excellent coaches and has a high standard for their players. I am challenged by the professors in the class room.

  • 10/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is great at Linfield. If you ever need anything you can call and they will get to you as soon as they can.

    Greek Life

    There are four sororities and four fraternities on campus. They make up a huge portion of the Linfield community and they are extremely active.

    Clubs and Activities

    Linfield has an extraordinary amount of clubs on campus! My favorite would have to be Hawaiian Club, every year they put of a luau where they serve an amazing Hawaiian meal and they have a show where they do different dances and customs.

    What to do for fun

    At Linfield we have tons of events all the time. It could be a movie in ICE or a CatCab. (If you come here you will find out what both of those things are!!) There is always something to do and if you can't find anything you can always go down to third street and walk around and really get the feel for the town!

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall at Linfield is not the best, but we do have a place called Caddy Shack! Caddy as we call is AMAZING!! They have sandwiches, smoothies, milkshakes and basically any snack food you could think of!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at Linfield is extremely fun since you are required to live on campus until you are a senior. Your freshman year you will meet almost all of your friends by living in the same dorm as them. They have great dorm events that could be for your own dorm or for multiple to help you meet more people.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors at Linfield strive for you to reach your full potential which means that they challenge the way you think, do research, and prepare for test. They push you to places you did not know you could reach and you will thank them for it when the class is over.

    Tips for prospective students

    The tips I would give would be to talk to an adviser who can help you narrow down what you want to study while at Linfield before you get here! The second would be to come for an overnight visit, that could be with a sports team or just with students it will help you get the feel for the school.

    In three sentences

    Linfield College has a gorgeous campus filled with individuals who want to succeed. The professors and coaches are always around and will help you to reach your greatest potential.

  • 12/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Academically motivated students, athletes, community service workers, friendly people in general.

    Bang for the buck

    Despite the high cost of attendance at Linfield, the experiences that students recieve and the superior education that can be obtained are well worth the price. Linfield College should be considered among the top schools in the nation in terms of valuability.

    What to do for fun

    Outside of NCAA athletics or IM sports and clubs, McMinnville is located a comfortable distance from both Portland and the Oregon coast. Students also often embrace the historical district in our city where there are wonderful restaurants, shops, and theaters. We are also located in the middle of wine country for any adults over the age of 21.

    Food and Dining

    The food leaves much to be desired at the campus dining facilities; we are catered to and have chefs, but the quality of our meals are generally lack luster and often overpriced. However, over the course of the year we will be adding a Starbucks and rennovating the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    Due to the small student body of around two thousand students, a close-knit community has been well established and therefore dorms are similar to large family units where every inhabitant is welcoming and friendly.

    Academic Rigor

    The intenisty of Linfield academics is often discussed by transfer students that had 4.0 GPA's at other institutions that struggle in the difficult courses here. Professor's expect a strong work ethic as well as a firm understanding of material from all students here, but are willing to provide assistance in times of student struggles.

    Tips for prospective students

    Engage yourself wholeheartedly in your schoolwork, community, and extracurricular activities. This will prepare you for the academic excellence that is required in order to attend Linfield, as well as our strong emphasis on building.

    In three sentences

    Linfield College is a small private school that boasts an extremely friendly atmosphere amongst students as well as professors. The quality of education that is offered here is truly second to none because of the skilled faculty that is always willing to guide students. Financial Aid office works dillegently and therefore allows a majority of the student body to obtain substantial scholarship and grant money.

  • 12/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security works really hard at making sure everyone feels safe on campus. Each student is given a swipe card that gives them access to their residence hall at all hours. In order for students to get into other buildings they must swipe their card between 10 AM and 10 PM. There are emergency blue lights spread out periodically on campus, so if a student doesn't feel safe at any time they can press the blue button and be connected with campus security immediately. Campo is also really good at giving people rides to places on campus if they feel unsafe or if they are injured.

    Greek Life

    There are four fraternities and four sororities on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of different clubs for everyone on campus. If there isn't a club there that interests you, you can start one yourself. The process for doing so is easy.

    Great for these types of students

    I would recommend this school for anyone really. It has a great intimate community

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are nicknames for certain locations or staff at Linfield.

    Bang for the buck

    I think that the money I am using to pay for an education from Linfield is going to good use. I am being challenged academically and I actually enjoy my classes, the teachers, and the rest of the community.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of clubs and community service organizations that you can join at Linfield. There is something to do every weekend so long as you keep your mind open.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good. Brunch on the weekends is my favorite meal. Sometimes the meals can be repetitive, but there are always many choices.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are reasonably sized. Depending on where you are placed you may get closet space or drawers or both. Either way, there are plenty of ways to store and organize. Also, all of the dorms are within a reasonable distance to either the academic quad or dining hall.

    Academic Rigor

    So long as you monitor and manage your time you will be able to have a successful education and you wont be to overwhelmed once finals come.

    Tips for prospective students

    Turn in your applications early and visit the campus if possible. Really consider whether or not you see yourself being a student at Linfield.

    In three sentences

    Linfield College has great professors who encourage you to come see them whether you need help or just want to chat. The campus is small and intimate so where ever you go, you see people you know. The education is great and every one wants you to succeed.

  • 01/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Keep in mind the 3 year residential campus rule. There is room for personal growth here, but only within the confines of the bureaucracy.

    In three sentences

    Linfield is dedicated to individual success. Administration is highly bureaucratic. Students are interesting and find many ways to pursue passions.

  • 01/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are multiple campus safety officers and they also have many vehicles to get around campus. They are quick to come when they are called and they are very interested in the students safety.

    Greek Life

    There are four fraternities, each with their own house. There are four sororities, but none of them have a house. Greek life is very popular, especially among the female students.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a variety of clubs to join and you can learn about all the clubs at the activities fair held at the beginning of every year.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for all students looking to make great life long friends, who want a smaller school, who really are serious about earning a degree, and are looking for an awesome college experience.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year a wooden tower is built and close to the end of the year the school puts on an event where they set the tower on fire and burn it down, once the fire is contained and safer to approach, it turns into a huge bonfire where some students will even roast marshmallows!

    Bang for the buck

    Yes, Linfield is expensive, but they are very generous with scholarships! But you definitely will learn so much from any of the classes you take, and having smaller class sizes is definitely worth the cost.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs to join, IM sports, sports games to watch, Catcab (where local artists/students perform), many functions are put on in ICE auditorium, there is a sand volleyball court, and you can venture off campus into town or even visit Portland or the coast, which isn't too far away!

    Food and Dining

    The food is not that bad, but you can get tired of it after awhile. But if you get bored from eating in the dining hall, you can switch it up and go to the Catty Shack (a sandwich shop) or Jazzman's (the coffee shop) which are both on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Their are a variety of dorm sizes, but I think all are fairly good sizes. I've never had a problem with too small of a dorm room! vacuums are provided in each hall and the bathrooms are cleaned out multiple times a week by faculty!

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are definitely challenging and the professors expect your best, but how do you learn if they didn't? But with small class sizes, it is so easy to talk to your professor or get to know study buddies in your classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring a bike, longboard, or skateboard! While the campus is a little small to drive to classes, one of these ways of transportation comes in handy! And don't worry about making friends, Linfield puts on so many activities for incoming freshmen that it is almost impossible not to make friends.

    In three sentences

    Linfield is a beautiful campus filled with very friendly and welcoming students. With being a small college, it is easy to get to know and have a relationship with your professor which is very helpful for classes. There are always student activities going on, the school definitely provides you with a great college experience.

  • 01/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are movies shown on the weekends, and also student concerts on Thursdays. Many people go to the fraternities for parties on weekends, and you can always rent a car for super cheap and go into Portland for the night. Life at Linfield can get pretty dull, so make sure to join some clubs like Outdoor Club which has trips to the beach and mountains on weekends.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is awful. Freshmen are stuck with the standard meal plan and end up wasting quite a bit of money by the end of the semester with the huge number of points left over at the end of Spring semester.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms here are great! They are all fairy modern and juniors and seniors can live in on-campus apartments, which are lovely.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics at Linfield aren't super hard as long as you keep up with the work and don't get behind. If you have any questions, make sure to either ask them in class or go to your professor's office hours. By going to office hours, not only will you get your questions answered better than in a class setting, but you'll also have a personal relationship with your professor, which will come in handy at the semester when you're on the cusp of an A and ask to be bumped up.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're thinking of applying here, make sure to take a tour. It's not as close to Portland as it sounds, so take that into account also. Everyone here is super athletic and into sports, so if that's not your thing, definitely look somewhere else. The professors are all amazing and helpful with any questions.

    In three sentences

    Linfield is a great experience if you're interested in a small school with the feel of a bigger university. The academics are fantastic, and athletics have a huge influence on the entire school and almost everyone there is either an athlete, or a huge fan of sports. McMinnville is pretty small, so if you want something fun to do on a weekend you'll either be stuck with the parties at the fraternities or be faced with an hour long drive into Portland.

  • 02/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I would say campus safety does their job pretty well. Some of the workers are unfriendly, but they're always patrolling and I've never felt unsafe walking at night.

    Greek Life

    There is a definite presence of Greek Life on campus. There are no sorority houses, but there are fraternity houses. Almost everywhere you go, there is some advertisement for Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Some of the clubs are run better than others, but there is a decent variety for people to choose from.

    Great for these types of students

    Athletic, social, outgoing, nerdy, and passionate.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel like this school is a great school, but I think it's unnecessarily expensive.

    What to do for fun

    Game room, hall events, socialize, chill in your room, and club events.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty terrible. There is a definite lack of variety and even those meals that are diverse don't often taste very good. There's almost always a hamburger or pizza option and there's a salad and bread bar, but the actual meals are usually pretty tasteless. However, the cafeteria people work hard at what they do and are mostly pretty friendly if you talk to them.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms can get pretty noisy at night. Most are pretty old so the rooms aren't necessarily the nicest. If you're willing to pay more, there are nicer dorms to choose from. Overall, the dorms are a pretty friendly and open atmosphere.

    Academic Rigor

    Most classes are a challenge in their own way. If a class is too easy, then you can often talk to your professors to get more things out of it. If a class is too hard, most professors are willing to help. If not, you can always talk to other people in your class and most are often looking for the same thing from you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Applying early is always a good thing. Work hard in high school, especially during your sophomore and junior years. Don't stress about the SAT, because your scores don't reflect you personally and this college recognizes that. Obviously don't take it lightly, but don't beat yourself up if you don't do so great the first time. It took me three tries to get it right and even then my scores could have been better. If you focus on writing a good application, you should be fine.

    In three sentences

    Linfield College has a beautiful campus. The small school environment means most professors really want to get to know you and want to see you succeed. Although the town is very small and the nearest cities are at least a forty minute drive any direction, there are many things to do on campus so you shouldn't be bored.

  • 05/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    The Greek life here is great! I am a Theta Chi, and it is the best decision I made!

    Clubs and Activities

    Football!!!!!!!!!!

    What to do for fun

    You can make it as fun as you want to!

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply as son as you can!

    In three sentences

    Linfield College is a great school where you're guaranteed a great education. It's a very prestigious school that I promise will get you a job in what you seek.

  • 06/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel safe and secure, even when the evenings grow dark. I have complete faith in the Linfield campus security.

    Greek Life

    Though I am not involved in Greek life, the students that I see that are in it seem to enjoy it and are always involved in a number of activities designated by their sorority.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a number of varied clubs, and it is possible to join many varied sports.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that enjoy a small and close knit environment, with people that are always there for one another.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have made our own Harlem Shake video, while we also hold many other runs and marathons.

    Bang for the buck

    Linfield is a wonderful school that I am absolutely happy to have become part of.

    What to do for fun

    There are a number of activities, as well as a number of lectures. Wildstock is a very fun event.

    Food and Dining

    The food is wonderful and there is much variety in your choices. They even have coffee.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are amazing and the social life is very active.

    Academic Rigor

    Though classes are challenging, there is always help found in professors and other students. It is possible to do well and become a better and more learned person.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come and visit the school and come in having an idea of what you want to do. If you have an idea, there is always someone who is willing to help you discover what you hope to accomplish and how you are able to accomplish those desires.

    In three sentences

    Linfield is a wonderful school. The campus is beautiful all year round, and there are always opportunities to get involved. The professors and the classes are wonderful, as well.

  • 12/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. The campus security is easy to reach and they are always ready to help you.

    Great for these types of students

    Athletes

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a place called Cozine Creek, which is a dark little forest at the edge of the campus. The place is beautiful but it is considered dangerous.

    What to do for fun

    There is a pool, a game room and some pianos available for entertainment. The dorms also play games sometimes.

    Food and Dining

    The food is very bland at the dining hall. There is a Starbucks on campus, which makes life easier. There's also a place called Catty Shack where we can buy snacks and microwave meals.

    Dorm Life

    You might think that dorm life is fun but in reality, most people stay in their rooms without interacting much.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are very hard, while most are average and challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Linfield offers a lot of financial aid for US students. However, if you are an international student like me, even though you are the best applicant, you won't get more than half of the tuition fees as your aid.

    In three sentences

    Linfield is a small liberal arts college with strong academics programs. The professors go out of their way to help students whenever needed. However, most students are not very friendly.

  • 03/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    We have great theatre, music and athletic programs, as well as a multitude of clubs so there's something for everyone. We have diversity clubs, language clubs, recreational sports clubs as well as a few sillier ones, like the hammock club.

    Food and Dining

    Dillon is pretty good. Cafeteria food is never going to be as tasty as home cooked meals or restaurants, but they have a wide selection of vegetarian, vegan and gluten free options, as well as a high percentage of organic and local grown foods. They're also really good at listening to what the students want, so put in a request if you want a favorite dish or style of food more.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are small enough here that it's not uncommon to see people leave their door open when they're home so people passing by can stick their head in and chat. RAs plan dorm events to help their residents bond, and each dorm building has a full kitchen.

    Academic Rigor

    Excluding pre-med, the classes aren't that difficult if you stay on top of your work. There's a lot more work than high school, but if you're taking classes you're interested it, it doesn't have to feel like work at all.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always ask questions and put in requests. The faculty here love it when students get involved, whether its asking the staff at the cafeteria if we can have a certain dish to putting in requests for events and clubs with student affairs.

    In three sentences

    Linfield has the most welcoming attitude of any college campus I've been on. The professors really care about whether you're learning, not just rote memorization. There are also a lot more clubs than I expected to find at such a small school.