Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Linn-Benton Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/18/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for any type of students. They offer pretty much any type of degree you are wanting or just want to try out and they also have their transfer program with OSU, letting you transfer your credits to the other school you will love!

    Tips for prospective students

    Future students i will be that first to tell you that their is no need to stress or be nervous about college. Especially if you are attending LBCC. The class sizes are small and not completely over filled. All students are polite to one another and are willing to help one another.

    Bang for the buck

    What else can i say besides LBCC will save you loads of cash. Not only cause their tuition is cheap but they have tons and tons of scholarships to offer. LBCC keeps getting better and better for me!

    Am enjoying being here

    When I was in High School I dreaded waking up in the morning I felt as if others things were more important! I was always nervous about attending college. But since i have been at LBCC It makes me look back and appreciate what i dealt with in High School. I love college and enjoy it so much at LBCC i will more then likely miss attending this school once I graduate from it or transfer to another.

    Am learning a lot

    When I enrolled to LBCC I really thought nothing of it. In my head I just thought oh look more school. But after the first year at LBCC I have learned so much and respect and thank every professor I have had and will have in the near future. Thank you LBCC for all the help you have given me!

  • 08/08/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Many of LBCC's students are people who are going back to school after being in the workforce for several years (AKA non-traditional students). This school is well suited for these students and offers many scholarships for them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to fill out the fall and spring scholarship applications! I also suggest buying your books online; you can often find them much cheaper on ebay than in the book store!

    Bang for the buck

    LBCC is very cost effective especially if you plan on attending OSU to finish your Bachelor's Degree. If you do plan on going to OSU after LBCC I suggest that you apply for the duall enrollment program. LBCC offers several scholarships, there is a fall and spring application cycle. During each cycle you can fill out one application and mark all the scholarships you would like to apply for. However most of these scholarships give preference to residents of Linn or Benton County, or non-traditional students.

  • 09/08/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Linn-Benton is great for students who want to get the basic classes out of the way before transferring to another school. The class sizes are small, so it feels like you have one-on-one interaction with the teachers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do you best in high school at math and English. While the instructors are great, you will save a lot of time and money if you are not required to take lower level math and writing courses.

    Bang for the buck

    The amount of money you spend per credit is so much lower than at other schools. For one full year of classes at another college, you can have 3-4 years here instead!

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is amazing! Their is so much light, color, and plants on campus it really starts to feel like home after only a few months of going to school.

    Am learning a lot

    You learn so much at this school! It seems like every person on staff wants to help you learn and to be the best student possible. Everyone is extremely helpful and the teachers take time out of their day to help you when needed.

  • 01/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    lbcc has clubs and events outside of class.

    Food and Dining

    lbcc has a cafe and student with decent food. their prices are relatively cheap and it's fast.

    Dorm Life

    lbcc is a commuter college. they don't offer housing.

    Academic Rigor

    a lot of the coursework was online. teachers were helpful and knowledge able.

    Tips for prospective students

    prior to registering for classes check out ratemyprofessor.com. choosing a good teacher was kind of hit or miss for me and ratemyprofessor helped me choose professors i could get along with.

    In three sentences

    lbcc is a good community college for students who wish to transfer to a four year university. they provide good academic advising and classes that transfer over to osu and uo hassle free.

  • 02/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    this community college is great for the beginning stages for nursing, engineering, and also mechanics and welding. and also this college has a direct transfer program with osu if your planning on attending it in the future, and it has a dual enrollment program wear you cam have some classes at this college and at osu.

    Bang for the buck

    this community college is a great one if you want to attend a community college before attending a four year university, because its credits are fairly reasonable, for one credit its about 93 bucks, a whole year of schooling would cost only about 4000 dollars, 3 terms, at 12 credits, could be more if you take more than thoses credits.

    What to do for fun

    what there is to do for fun, is there is volleyball sand pits, a track, you can run on, a football field that you can play frisbee or football on. also there is a basketball court. fun activities also near by the campus are a bowling allie, movie theater.

    Food and Dining

    the food and dining is perfect on campus, they have a cafateria with a wide selection of food and the prices are fairly reasonable. also they have a cafe in the court yard also. but if you don't want any of this food then there is plenty of places near by the campus that you can drive to,to get a bit to eat.

    Dorm Life

    for future college students plannning on attending a community college before transferring to a four year and live in albany oregon. then linn benton community college is a great choice because you can still stay at home and save some money because the commute wont be long.

    Academic Rigor

    the academics this school has is amazing, the classes aren't too big so you can be able to get more time and help with the instructors when needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    some tips for prospective students are, to make sure you have an academic advisor because they can help you plan what classes you need to take so you will be on track for finishing and completing your degree on time. another tip is

  • 03/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    tuition is likely to increase, as it is right now it is decent price per class credit.

    What to do for fun

    bowling, movies, king kone, some downtown stores and rhythm & blues music festivals.

    Food and Dining

    there is a student-run cafe.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms, but there are quad apartments within walking distance.

    Academic Rigor

    some classes are more work-heavy than others, the core-classes are pretty moderate and not too homework heavy.

    Tips for prospective students

    look for work opportunities in the school, and a lot of information about events going on in the college can be found in takena hall, and posters all over the place.

    In three sentences

    there is a positive student atmosphere. it is student-oriented with small class sizes. plenty of resources and help for class work.

  • 03/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is understated and subtle, but they are here and ready to help if needed.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students like me who enjoy a give and take approach to learning.

    Bang for the buck

    LBCC is a steal! Tuition is about half of OSU or WOU. That is a big part of why I am here.

    Food and Dining

    Pretty nice cafe. Decent food at decent prices.

    Academic Rigor

    It could be a little tougher. I am studying 2 hours per class for every hour of lecture, and I have a cumulative 4.00 GPA but I have not been worried going to exams. You have to put an effort into learning the material.

    Tips for prospective students

    You get out of it what you put in.

    In three sentences

    Having a great time while learning a great deal.

  • 04/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are lots of clubs to join such as diversity, or poetry clubs. There are sporting events to watch like volleyball, basketball, and baseball. The choir here is nationally ranked so watching one of their concerts is always entertaining.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria as well as a cafe and coffee spot. They serve good food that is made fresh. It may be a little on the expensive end so don't make it a habit to eat there everyday. But, if you forget lunch or go with friends a couple times a week its a good choice.

    Dorm Life

    There are not dorms at Linn Benton.

    Academic Rigor

    On average if you devote the time necessary and come to class the classes are not difficult to get good grades in. If you slack and try to take short cuts then that will show.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get help from ad adviser when setting up your schedule.

    In three sentences

    A good place to get an affordable education either to transfer or receive a degree. Class room sizes are not too big and a teachers are always available to get in contact with. Overall, a good place to start.

  • 05/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always a security guard working to ensure student's safety.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of great clubs to join!

    Food and Dining

    The food is fantastic! The school has culinary students that work very hard to make delicious food!

    Dorm Life

    There is not dorms that you live in while attending school at LBCC. Which I am glad of, because I prefer to live in my own home.

    Academic Rigor

    There are many very good and challenging classes to take at school. Every teacher I have always had gives you the learning you deserve that effectively helps you actually learn the subject not just skate by and pass.

    In three sentences

    LBCC is a great school. There is so many different things that you can choose to do. And there is always great food to buy thanks to the culinary students.

  • 05/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    4 stars

    Clubs and Activities

    3 stars

    Great for these types of students

    getting ready for a university

    Bang for the buck

    4 stars

    What to do for fun

    you name it

    Food and Dining

    4 stars

    Dorm Life

    1 star

    Academic Rigor

    2 stars

    Tips for prospective students

    if va go to the va rep

    In three sentences

    getting me ready for next step. they are very helpful . a good place to go to school

  • 05/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It feels like a very safe environment and there is security walking around in case of any mishaps.

    Clubs and Activities

    One can get involved in the student dance program which performs annually. They also have a green club, soccer club, poetry club, visual arts club, leadership club, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    Students looking to transfer to Oregon State University, going into the medical field, or any science based career.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The French Banquet 36-year tradition which is held annually. The culinary arts program sells tickets for their french banquet where they serve a variety of courses. Tickets sell quick so get them early!

    Bang for the buck

    The college really provides a lot of additional help outside the classroom which is beneficial. The Learning center is open late which is useful when you don't have a quiet place to study. There are help desks as well where one can ask questions on homework assignments. It also provides a gym and a running/walking trail. Finally, there is a day care which comes in handy for those juggling school and children.

    What to do for fun

    LBCC provides activity classes which can be taken as credit classes or non credit classes. These include dance, karate, yoga, backpacking, etc. Outside the school there are plenty of parks and trails which one could enjoy a picnic, walk, or run. During the summer there are free concerts in the park as well.

    Food and Dining

    There is a nice cafeteria where one can sit and enjoy breakfast or lunch. It's a little bit cramped but one could purchase food and sit outside where there are plenty of tables and seating. Also, there is a coffee shop on campus which is excellent when you need a jolt to finish out the day.

    Dorm Life

    I couldn't honestly give a rating for dorm life because there are no dorms at LBCC. However, there are apartments less than a mile away targeted towards students attending LBCC.

    Academic Rigor

    You have to work for your A in any class but it's well worth it. The school seems to strive for excellence in all their students including them in group activities, discussions, independence, and so on.

    Tips for prospective students

    I highly suggest taking a tour and setting yourself up with an advisor. If you have a question don't be afraid to ask. There are no stupid questions. There are plenty of people to assist you through your college experience. Getting help along the way is key. Going to class is also important to succeed. You are paying for the class so why not attend. When feeling overwhelmed, reach out for help whether its a family member, friend, or your advisor.

    In three sentences

    The staff is very friendly and helpful. Most of the teachers seem to love their work and are there for the students, helping in any way they can. Finally, the learning center and library are extremely useful tools for success, providing students with information and quite place to study.

  • 06/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    nothing lol

    Food and Dining

    it's good but expensive

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    it really depends on your course load

    Tips for prospective students

    Get all financial aid stuff in on time

    In three sentences

    The teachers really want you to succeed. The food is great. The financial Aid office is annoying

  • 08/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 28

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Small class sizes with instructors who have real life experience in the field they are teaching. Friendly atmosphere with lots of activities for students to get involved in.

  • 08/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is awesome! They always have a guard around and they want to know if someone feels uncomfortable so they can do what they can to make everyone feel safe.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    There is always something to do as long as you have the time to do it.

    Great for these types of students

    The campus and college is great for everyone. It isn't like high school, everyone gets along and doesn't look down on the other person for being there.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are a lot of great and quite places to study on campus. You just have to find the one that fits you.

    Bang for the buck

    The college itself isn't the cheapest of the community colleges that we have around here, but their engineering program is the best.

    What to do for fun

    When I am not doing homework I am hanging out with my boyfriend and our two kids. If I am not doing that than I am working out or going to do something outdoors.

    Food and Dining

    Their food is great but mostly unhealthy at the cafe on campus. They have a fine dining restaurant that I haven't tried yet, but plan to go at least once next term.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life here.

    Academic Rigor

    Easiest way to explain it for me, is you get what you put in. Do the work even if it is only assigned and not going to be graded. It will make for a better grade in the end.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always get your financial aid papers in on time and way before your deadline, otherwise you will be waiting way into the term for your financial aid to come though.

    In three sentences

    Other than their Financial Aid office taking their time to process their paperwork, the college itself is awesome. The teachers and staff are always there to help you out with what ever you need. Their class times work great for people with families and jobs.

  • 09/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are all sorts of clubs, sports, and organizations around campus.

    Food and Dining

    The Courtyard Cafe has quite a bit of variety, but if you want to switch it up there's also a cafeteria with even more variety. I've been told that the cafeteria's pizza is quite amazing.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are very important and some classes are harder than others. As long as you do the reading everything is usually fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to talk to new people everywhere you go. Many students will help you find your way around, and they could possibly be your next friend.

    In three sentences

    Linn-Benton Community College is a fun, inspiring, inventive, and diverse place. In my first year here I met many exciting and new people even though Albany is a fairly small city. I love going to my school, it's like an adventure everyday.

  • 10/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of events, but you have to know when they are, there is also the bowling ally and miniature golf course among other things.

    Food and Dining

    Food is at a reasonable price, though I bring my own food from home.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms and you have to find a place to stay.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are strong, but they wont try to break you and make you feel like dirt. If you ask for help, they will show you where it is.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up for classes fast and pay attention to the fine print when doing so.

    In three sentences

    The campus is beautiful. There is not much advertisement for the events that are going to be taking place. The student age is older than the usual expected just out of school age.

  • 11/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I take a Zumba class for fun, but if you like sports they have it. There are endless opportunities for fun.

    Food and Dining

    There is a nice dining hall up stairs right across from MK Hall.

    Dorm Life

    They do not have dorms but do have very nice appartments right next door.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the Learning center, for it gives you the opportunity to get help if you are struggling. They have a free tutoring as well.

    In three sentences

    Linn-Benton Community College has bee a great opportunity for me. After being out of school for 5 years this college has created a great environment for me to succeed. I appreciate how much they care about the students success.

  • 11/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security officers are seen occasionally roaming around campus

    Great for these types of students

    New never been to college or havn't been for a very long time

    Bang for the buck

    The student store doesn't really have the best prices, about average. They tend to like to make up their own LBCC versions of textbooks so you can only buy them their which sucks because then you can't shop around.

    What to do for fun

    Nothing, its in the middle of no where in Albany, Oregon where their is already nothing to do. Best option is to drive to Corvallis or Portland.

    Food and Dining

    Horrible food options. Nothing healthy except poorly made pre packaged salads. The coffee shop is only open till 1pm every day. The only decent food is off campus which involves having to drive.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes will be challenging but do able. I have yet to have an instructor who hasn't been helpful and genuinely concerned about their students. Not as hard as a full University but classes only go up to a 200 level.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great for students fresh out of High School or those who are going back to school. Might not be a good place for transfer students.

    In three sentences

    Excellent instructors who care about their students. Morbid buildings with a High School atmosphere. Small library with little hours but adjoining learning center is open later with a very helpful staff for all subjects.

  • 12/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's very safe. Whenever there are predator alerts on campus, a security guard is available to escort individuals to their vehicles at night.

    Great for these types of students

    It's perfect for high school graduates that are not quite ready for the university atmosphere. Especially because of the cost effectiveness, students can get their general studies done for less than money than at a four year institution.

    Bang for the buck

    The education is worth the tuition you pay here. But it has been increasing in the last few years.

    Food and Dining

    They have several cafe's and a cafeteria where the culinary students make delicious food.

    Dorm Life

    There's not really a dorm life at LBCC.

    Academic Rigor

    The amount of work depends highly on the class you are taking and the instructor. Most general classes are not loaded with homework but once you get into higher up courses such as chemistry and math, for example, then you are looking at harder homework and exams.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register for classes as soon as you can, otherwise they fill up quick and sometimes you may have to wait a few terms to get into it.

    In three sentences

    Linn Benton Community College is a great school! Almost every instructor I have had brought something to the table that I feel I would not have received elsewhere. It is a great place to get started.

  • 12/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is always available and always helpful.

    Clubs and Activities

    Near space club, Society of Physics students, poetry, Remotely Operated Vehicle, Green... and more.....

    Bang for the buck

    LBCC is the premier preparatory college for anyone wishing to achieve great things in any field from Physics, engineering and mathematics to dental assistants, nurses and veterinarians or even culinary arts, horticulture, english or art.

    What to do for fun

    There are a variety of clubs to participate in and many places to hang out with friends.

    Food and Dining

    LBCC has an excellent culinary arts program and the students benefit greatly from their expertise and fresh produce from the horticulture program.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm at a community college... Oregon State University has a dorm, but I don't live in it.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are intense... physics, calculus, technical writing and engineering... the only way to pass these classes with a high GPA is to attend study groups and use the resources that they provide.

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet the tutors in the learning center. You will be required to take a mandatory class that introduces you to the resources... there are so many that not all of them are covered. Do not try to do this on your own, community is important and building friendships and support systems while things are easy paves the way for when you hit a class that is actually hard.

    In three sentences

    Supportive, caring staff, extensive resources, excellent tutoring center, writing help center, math help desk, math support center, Physics and chemistry help desk and study sessions. LBCC's Remotely operated vehicle club is world renown, creating a community of scientists, physicists, engineers and writers. Dual enrollment with OSU makes the four year college experience more affordable and enjoyable.

  • 01/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    join work out classes and there are many sports classes to attend as well.

    In three sentences

    I love attending this college. This is the first college I can say that I have had more personal time with teachers, and for me, it's easier to learn that way.

  • 02/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is good in Albany. I have not had a chance to eat at the Albany campus yet.

    Dorm Life

    I live in a house in Sweet Home.

    Academic Rigor

    I spend most of my time at home

    Tips for prospective students

    This would be a great school for those who want a 2 year degree or to transfer to a four year college.

    In three sentences

    To be honest, this is my first year here. I have not spent much time on the actual Albany campus. I spend most of my time at the Sweet Home Center or Lebanon Center. I will say that the instructors are very nice and very helpful. My counselor is also very helpful getting me going on the right track towards a degree.

  • 03/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security monitors the school parking lots during classes and patrol campus daily. This school feels safe and there is a great since of community safety as well.

    Greek Life

    There is currently no Greek life at this school.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many great activities at this school. We have a dance club, a drama club, a L.G.B.T. club, and so many more. If there isn't a club started on campus that interests students, the faculty are more than open to helping get them started.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel that the level of instruction is equivalent to the cost of attendance. However, I do believe that the cost per credit is high for a community college.

    What to do for fun

    There are many activity groups and clubs on campus. Sports team and recreational activities are hosted at the campus as well.

    Food and Dining

    There is an excellent culinary program at this school. All of the food on campus is made by professionals, or professionals in training (a.k.a. students).

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms available for this campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The course load varies from teacher to teacher. For the most part, all of the professors are well educated and equipped to do there jobs. Some classes may require a student to go above and beyond, while others require minimum effort.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus ahead of time and make sure that you know where to find your classrooms. Also, be sure to read everything and all details listed on school related documents; you do not want to miss anything. Don't be afraid to ask for help if you are confused about how things work on campus.

    In three sentences

    The campus is laid out in such a way that is easy to navigate. This campus has a laid back fell and the teachers are hardworking. However, the work load is less than that of a university and the financial aid office is time consuming.

  • 03/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Be involved.

    In three sentences

    It is a nice environment. Instructors are very helpful. I love the fact that you can meet with them one on one and also get extra help with great tutoring staff.

  • 07/18/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    25 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always campus security running around on campus. There are also phones located throughout that will connect you to security and they will walk you to your vehicle if you need it.

    Clubs and Activities

    The people in the clubs are great and always wanting new members. Tracking the times down for meetings can be difficult but worth the effort if you have extra time on your hands to participate.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are a student looking for a start to your college life than this is a great place. It offers all of the basics with a lower tuition cost. It even has some of its own programs so you can start and finish your major with them.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Above the bookstore is a quiet area that gives you a view of the front of the school looking out and of the line that might be going for textbooks downstairs. The best thing about this spot is that it is usually quiet and is one of the two places on campus that plays music.

    Bang for the buck

    The money I spend here allows me to get the same classes that I need at a four year college with the advantage that I am spending less than I would at that four year college.

    What to do for fun

    The campus has activities that it does once a week for students to participate in a learn new things. There are also many clubs that you can become a member of.

    Food and Dining

    The student café' is a great place for a burger and their food always taste great. There is also a place to purchase an assortment of different coffees and drinks with a friendly atmosphere to enjoy your drink,yet still enjoy the company of other students.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is not something I participated in and did not see a lot of information on it. Hearing from other students it did not seem that it was all that bad.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are easy to follow and instructors are always willing to help. If you want to pass a class simply show up, do your work and you will be told everything you need to do to gain an understanding of what you are learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to an advisor. It may seem like you can figure things out on your own, and maybe you can, but advisors will know when to take classes and how different ones will get you to the place you want to be faster.

    In three sentences

    Linn-Benton is a great place to begin. It has instructors that take the time to know your name and there are always places you can go for help. The student council is very active with students and putting on new events all the time.

  • 12/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This is a very safe campus. The parking lot is extremely well lit. Each time I've ever had a night class the instructor walked with us out to our cars to assure our safety.

    What to do for fun

    They drama/dance department put on plays and performances almost weekly, which are cheap to attend and very entertaining. The sports here are great, the men's basketball and baseball team are pretty good and fun to watch.

    Food and Dining

    The ground floor coffee shop is great, there's couches and comfortable places to sit. The food and drinks in the main cafeteria are good, kind of over priced but sometimes you have to take what you can get at a smaller rural school.

    Dorm Life

    They do not have dorms, however I lived in the apartments right behind campus for a year and they were great. I met a lot of people my own age that attended LBCC.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are great here, I think the professors are overall very fair. I have yet to have an instructor that did not let my effort show on my marks each term.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are fresh out of high school and wanting to meet people your own age I suggest taking classes M,W, and Friday. It seems the Tues/Thurs schedule is for older people going back to school after being in the workforce for quite a while.

    In three sentences

    If you are looking for a great, small, hometown-feel, community college then Linn-Benton is your school. I have always felt welcome and encouraged by the students and staff. Its easy to find each classroom, but not so small you feel you are still in high school.

  • 03/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Sure it's a small campus, but even small campuses have issues with thievery. In the case of LBCC, they try extremely hard to make sure your belongings do not get stolen, or taken. It helps if you have a wonderful memory and always know exactly where all your things are at all times. In case you're like me, we can always be grateful for Campus Security.

    Greek Life

    Nope, Nada, zip, zilch, nothing; there really is no Greek Life style here. People don't dress up in togas and throw huge parties every night.

    Clubs and Activities

    Horticulture, Robotics, Horses, GSA, Newspaper, DAC, Radio Club, Dance Club, Sports Clubs (I'm including all the sports in this school), Global Connections, Life Choice Club, Poetry Club, Near Space Exploration Club, Rad Tech Club, Visual Arts Club, Voyager Club (because who doesn't want to go out hiking in the middle of a desert?), Writing Group, ROV, Peace Students, The Commuter, and many more that I know are there. This a club for anyone, and anyone who wants to make a club, just has to figure it all out with the Club Acknowledging People who design all clubs possible in the whole school. With the many clubs, you actually don't know about until you find them, this earns a whooping five stars for some imaginative clubs. How many schools will let you play with an old HAM radio?

    Great for these types of students

    Fresh out of high school, and freaked at the idea of sitting in a theater classroom where you can never see the teacher's real face? This school is for you, without the huge settings, you don't have to worry if technology malfunctions on you. And the teachers hating your absolute guts? Sad to say, there are always going to be teachers that hate students guts. Why? Who knows. A mom with three kids, and wants to try her hands on a degree? Go on and try it out. This school is great for parents who have little ones, they have a day care on campus, just for them. Grandmother who just wants to try to take classes? Go ahead, this college will be great for you! Besides, there won't be too many hardships here, you'll do great.

    Bang for the buck

    Great school, good teachers, but if textbooks were cheaper they'd get five stars. Just get the E-books, if you can find any. Trust me, the E-books help you, except with math classes. Then, and only then, do you dare to get the text books.

    What to do for fun

    Visit the Gallery in North and South Santiam Hall, see how well the choir groups preform, and don't forget to see a play, or two, or three... Leaf through the Newspaper, spot the comics, because every once in a while you'll need to laugh. Try the Sudoku of Doom, I hear math people love it. The DAC, Diversity Achievement Center, can be worth your while, especially when you want to play a friendly game of Clue.

    Food and Dining

    The food at the Commons Cafeteria is great. They allow the students from the culinary program to cook, and they have all these different theme days, like the past week was South America. They have great food, and is worth the four stars.

    Dorm Life

    I don't know much about the Dorm Life, I don't live there. However, from what I hear the Dorm Life is at least worthy of three stars.

    Academic Rigor

    They have a Student Union, which is a small student government. Last year, you would never had known it was there...it was quite eerie hearing there actually was one! However, they are starting to improve, getting their ideas out there. So, one of these days, they're going to get four stars. There is also a Pro Life Group, which is always doing something on Fridays, they're a great group and speak loudly. They're worthy of four stars.

    Tips for prospective students

    When you are stuck, completely stumped, over a problem, then defiantly go to the Learning Center. They have great tutors, a math question desk, a writing center, and a computer lab. The science help is in a different area. Know where all the computers are, learn where the help desks are, and remember you can always talk to your professors.

    In three sentences

    A small campus, which is great for first time students, and not many students per classroom so you don't feel overly crowded. Help is easy to get and find, and getting lost on the campus is extremely unlikely, unless it is your first day. The Learning Center is extremely helpful for all students.

  • 03/30/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I've bought some questionable student made things. .

    Tips for prospective students

    USE THE STUDENT CENTER!! Don't be afraid to utilize the free tutor sessions or just stop by to have a question answered.

    In three sentences

    I really like the availability of online and hybrid courses. My teachers have always been flexible with me. There is always a computer to use.