Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Lipscomb University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/02/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 out of 14 people found this review useful. 1 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are motivated, then you will love this school. Also, if you are looking to be challenged, then you will definitely love it here too. Christian students who are devoutly Christian would also benefit from coming here. It's great for students who want to grow in Spirit.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would highly recommend that you make the most out of your college experience. Get involved in a club, go to the games, support the sports teams. Also, it's better to study for your mid-terms/finals in advance. It's not like high school were you can get by only by showing up to class. Most of the learning takes place outside of class, so you might as well make the most of your time.

    Bang for the buck

    Really, you do get your money's worth coming here. Though it is roughly $20,000 for tuition a year, it is worth every cent. Usually home games are free for students, food is always free if there's an activity going on, and the food in the Bison cafe is amazing. Also, the guidance counselors are always there to help you when you ask. They're great!

    Am enjoying being here

    I truly love this school! In almost every class I go, I am reminded that I owe everything to Jesus, and they do a good job of integrating Christian faith with education. Also, there are the basketball games, late night devos(devotionals), the annually spectacular dodgeball game, and so many fun things to do! There is always something you can do on campus.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning about so many things I didn't know existed. I am learning about the Babylonian number system, Mayan number system, and the eight-fold path from the Buddhist religion.

  • 12/28/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 2 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Don't get me wrong. Lipscomb is a prestigious school. It's all in the price tag. The money I am paying is worth it though. The SGA and the College Ministry Team are always providing free food or some kind of fun activity for the students.

    Am enjoying being here

    I couldn't stand the size of certain other campuses I visted (like Kennesaw State). The size of Lipscomb's campus is perfect for those who want an easy transition into college life. Not only is the campus the perfect size it also has the best activities for any mood you might be in. The food is superb and the recently added Chick-Fil-A is my favorite of all the fast food places on campus. The surrounding area is perfect for riding bikes or running and Nashville is a college town so you will never be bored. There is always something to do. I have 3 more years to go at Lipscomb and I'm gonna love every step of the journey.

    Am learning a lot

    The courses at Lipscomb are no joke. Strenuous and fast paced, the work and the professors will keep you on your toes.

  • 12/28/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 3 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Lipscomb University is a great place for students who like to challenge themselves academically, but still want to find time to relax and chill with friends. The faith background of Lipscomb gives Christian students the chance to be open about their beliefs without feeling ridiculed. Lipscomb is considered to be a more liberal Church of Christ university than others, which can play a small part in the decision process.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are considering Lipscomb, you're on the right track! Make sure you visit www.golipscomb.com to find out more information about admission, scholarships and financial aid. One of the things I love best about Lipscomb's admission process is that you don't have to write any essays! (Yea! We all know how much high school students are not interested in writing more essays!) Instead of an essay, Lipscomb asks prospective students to go through an interview. It was super easy and a lot of fun. The admission recruiters at Lipscomb are the best, hands down! They are lively, fun and energetic, and ready to answer any question you may have. And don't forget to visit campus! The best way to find out if Lipscomb is right for you is to walk around campus and imagine yourself living there. Lipscomb has many dates set aside for interested students to come visit the school. That information can also be found at www.golipscomb.com. And when you come to visit, don't forget your purple and gold!

    Bang for the buck

    At almost $31,000 a year per student, the cost is feasible when compared to the education Lipscomb offers. The amount mentioned above includes tuition, room and board, student fees and other random charges. In room and board, you pay a certain amount based upon what dorm you live in and whether you have a single or double room. I live in Elam Hall and it's great! The dorms are kept clean and maintenance is really good about fixing problems (leaky facets, burned out light bulbs, squeaky doors, etc) quickly. Besides picking what dorm you'll live in, you will also choose what meal plan you want. The Bison Herd (210 meals + 15 floating meals) is the standard meal plan for most college students. It averages out to be 2 meals per day with a little extra to spend throughout the semester. Also, flex dollars can be added to the meal plan to use in the store or student center food court. Student fees and other charges include stuff like a pass to the Student Activity Center (gym and work-out center), free admission to all athletic games held on campus, parking fees and free admission to various activities that may come up throughout the semester. Books are not included in the $31,000, however, you can usually find your books for each semester for $500 or less. Amazon or AbeBooks sells many of the books you will need for history, English, Bible, etc. at a reduced cost. If you cannot find them online, you can always rent or buy them from Lipscomb's bookstore.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love Lipscomb! The people, the atmosphere, the social activities, the academics - Lipscomb is just a great place to be. I have made many friends here that I know will be friends for life. Lipscomb's Student Government Association plans 4-5 activities per semester to help students stay involved on campus. The biggest event SGA planned in the 2010 fall semester was Lipscomb's first Paint Rave. With over 600 students in attendance, the rave was a huge success! Also, Garner Goode with Lipscomb in Motion (the student life events planner), has events on the school calendar almost every night. From free food in Arlo's to a movie night in Alumni Auditorium, students are never without access to a good time. Social clubs (Lipscomb's alternative to sororities/fraternities) and athletic events also give students a chance to interact outside of the classroom and spend time together. Lipscomb's service clubs give students the chance to enjoy some of the same aspects of a social club, while finding ways to give back to the community. Lipscomb is located in Nashville, giving students total access to the famous, music city. Within minutes of the Grand Ole Opry, Opryland, Green Hills mall, Sweet CeCe's and so much more, students are able to have fun off campus without having to use up a lot of gas.

    Am learning a lot

    The academic program here at Lipscomb is phenomenal. The faculty and staff are all really great about getting to know the students and are quick to offer help and assistance. Most of the full-time professors have the highest degree possible in their field of expertise. The work is hard and challenging, and the teachers really expect you to prove yourself in class and on assignments. It is a great experience for those who thrive on challenge! Lipscomb is a Church of Christ affiliated school and they stand firm upon Christian values and beliefs. Lipscomb takes pride in knowing its students are followers of Christ. Lipscomb is quick to open its doors to members of all faiths, without being judgmental. Students will have the opportunity to learn in a clean, high-moral environment, while receiving a top-notch education. When it comes to class schedules, I highly recommend taking a class with Dr. Richard Goode. He teaches history and is a favorite among all students. Lipscomb also recently added a 4-year pharmacy school to their academic programs.

  • 02/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 4 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Lipscomb is great for education-oriented students, for students who want to enhance their faith, and for students who want to be a part of a lively campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be discouraged by the small campus. It's such a great experience once you throw yourself in the mix.

    Bang for the buck

    Although Lipscomb costs more money than most state schools, it is worth it. There is practically everything you need on campus. Some facilities could be enhanced, but the board has already addressed these issues and have plans of action coming soon.

    Am enjoying being here

    The people surrounding you on campus are full of good character. Once you find your core group of people, it's easy to just hang out in the student center, but at the same time, it is not limiting in that you can't extend past those people. Clubs are all around you, as well.

    Am learning a lot

    Lipscomb is definitely the place to be if you want a thorough education with professors who are in love with their work. Being a biology major is especially beneficial because our biology department sends over 90 percent of its students to med school! Outside of the science department is just as amazing, and I have already learned a lot in just two semesters.

  • 03/17/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Lipscomb is a great place for students who want to be engulfed in a Christian environment and want to grow closer to spend a lot of time focusing on their faith.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus. No matter what school you're looking at, never make your final decision without visiting the campus during the school year. Lipscomb is the perfect fit for me, but you'll never know if its the perfect fit for you until you see it for yourself.

    Bang for the buck

    I'm not the biggest fan of paying about $30,000 a year for anything.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love all of the people I've met at Lipscomb so far. The campus has a good sense of community, except on the weekends. Our campus is kind of dead on the weekends most of the time because there is a lot for students to do in Nashville, so nobody really wants to stay on campus. During the week though, there is always something going on in Bison Square or the Student Center.

    Am learning a lot

    All I have really taken so far is a bunch of gen. eds. so none of my classes have really been all that difficult. Although, I have a feeling that will be changing next year when I get more into my major.

  • 12/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I could not name another college where I would feel as safe as I do here. There are a few emergency buttons scattered around campus just in case. Campus security is no joke. They take arrival upon a call of distress to a whole 'nother level.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who have goals and plans for their future. Would not attend as an indecisive major student unless money is not an issue. Students should have a good work ethic for sure.

    Bang for the buck

    There is no doubt that Lipscomb is expensive. I recommend getting plenty of scholarships and grants to take some stress off your shoulder. In the end it is totally worth it, being that they provide plenty of benefits and activities.

    What to do for fun

    There is so much room for activities. You could do aerobics or even meditate on a warm summer night as the sun is setting. Sports, clubs, and dorm fiestas are just a few of the many things to do for fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is pretty darn good. Papa Johns and Auntie Anne's are my favorite. There is a Starbucks which will come in handy for the caffeine junkies.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter. Living off campus is not as bad as I thought it would be. If you're committed you will find ways to interact on campus. I have been in High Rise a couple of times and it is like any other college dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    You must apply yourself to assignments and try to not fall behind. Missing a day of class will serve as an obstacle. Smaller classes allow interaction between the professor and yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    College is totally different than high school. Become close friends with your professor! I recommend having an idea of a major considering college is not free.

    In three sentences

    Lipscomb University is an amazing college. Professors and peers are extremely friendly. Campus is always vivid.

  • 12/11/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 11 people found this review useful. 4 people found this inaccurate. 7 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    18-20 year old students with parents that have enough money to buy their child's degree assuming the student is not intelligent enough to earn the degree at a real higher education institution.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not go to Lipscomb University.

    Bang for the buck

    You would be better off going to a state school and spending the money you saved on grad school. I am on a full ride scholarship. But, if I had it to do over again I would gladly pay out of pocket to go somewhere else.

    Am enjoying being here

    Unless you buy your friends through social clubs you are nobody here. I am highly disappointed in the school and the character of most of the people here.

    Am learning a lot

    I have been here 2 years and have not learned anything. Thankfully some professors at other schools in the area are letting me audit their classes so I do not completely waste these last years of my college career.

  • 01/06/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Am enjoying being here

    Lipscomb is a great university. The location of the university is superb! Nashville is a big town with a small town feel. There is always something to do! Lipscomb itself is great. Everyone is so friendly. It is hard NOT to make friends. It is big enough for it to feel like a university, but small enough where your professors know you by your name and not a number.

  • 12/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    It can be pretty quiet on weekends, but it allows students to have a much needed relaxing weekend. The local mall is in walking distance, along with many restaurants.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafeteria is pretty good. It gets a bit repetitive at times, but is still good. In the same building there is Chick-fil-a, Papa Joes, Blue Coast Burrito, Far East Fusion, Auntie Annes, and Starbucks. Flex dollars can be used at these restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    I live in Elam, which is a freshman girls dorm. It feels very new and clean, and the rooms are a decent size.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are difficult, but challenging in a good way. I have only been here a semester and have already learned so much.

    Tips for prospective students

    As a prospective student, try to get your test scores (ACT/SAT) as high as possible. Lipscomb has some great scholarships for test scores.

    In three sentences

    Lipscomb University is an incredible school with a positive atmosphere and community. The academics are challenging, and the professors are encouraging towards students. Lipscomb is a great place to learn and grow as a person.

  • 12/15/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Hard-working, Smart, Willing to learn, Willing to put effort into learning

    Tips for prospective students

    Tour Lipscomb first, go see the financial aid people

    Bang for the buck

    Lipscomb is so worth the money.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love it here. The campus offers so much stuff to do. SGA and the school offer events almost every weekend, and most times they are FREE!!!

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned so much here.

  • 08/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone wanting to study in the sciences or in ministry. Lipscomb has a great science program and a pharmacy school, and our Bible department is top notch. But anyone is welcome here no matter what your major!

    Tips for prospective students

    Study, most definitely! Classes aren't easy here in the slightest, and you will be challenged in most everything you take. Also, become friends with the professors - they're people too, and they're always happy to talk to students about anything. And don't take too many hours your first semester; get a feel for college life first.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition here at Lipscomb is higher than most schools in Tennessee, but it's definitely worth it. I've gotten a great education and met some amazing people while I've been here. The professors know what they're teaching and actually care about it, so that pretty much guarantees that your education will be a good one.

    Am enjoying being here

    Being at Lipscomb University is a great experience. There is always something going on for the students to get involved in, and I have made some of the best friends while I've been here. It's a small school, small enough that you can know just about everyone in the same major but large enough that you're not stuck sitting in your room at night. It is a wonderful school with plenty of opportunities for everyone.

    Am learning a lot

    When I enrolled in Lipscomb University, I honestly did not think that I was prepared for college at all. But I have learned so much here, and the teachers are more than happy to work with students whenever they need help with anything. I've learned more than I ever thought possible about my chosen major.

  • 10/18/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Lipscomb is great for a student who wants a positive, Christian environment while seeking a quality education.

    Bang for the buck

    For a private school, Lipscomb's tution is competative.

    Did enjoy being here

    Lipscomb has so many opportunites for involvement and service!

    Did learn a lot

    I loved the Biblically-based teaching at Lipscomb. The professors genuinely care about their students.

  • 01/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Ambitious Studious Religious Just want a college that has a good program

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay out of drugs Avoid peer pressure Be the best that you can be, and not the best that somebody else can be.

  • 02/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there are tons of things to do in and around nashville. lots of groups on campus will help you get involved.

    Dorm Life

    great dorms and great people.

    Academic Rigor

    the courses are challenging, yet not impossible. the faculty here truly cares about and promotes your success.

    Tips for prospective students

    apply early! trust the admissions counselors. they'll fight for you!

    In three sentences

    lipscomb is an excellent school with a very caring faculty and staff. the christian community here is uplifting and encouraging.

  • 07/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The Student Activities Center or well know as the SAC is the perfect place to engage in activities such as basketball, racquetball, volleyball, dancing, cycling, weight training, etc. The Student Center is a convenient a warm place to grab a bite to eat, hang out with friends, or watch a little bit of t.v. Collins Auditorium is also the host of shows, concerts, etc. all throughout the semester.

    Food and Dining

    The Student Center is the place to be when not in class. One can never go wrong with Starbucks, Blue Coast Burrito, Asian Cuisine, Papa Johns, and Chick Fil A as dining options. When not in the mood for all the above, one can head upstairs to the cafeteria where delicious and mouth watering meals are served fresh everyday.

    Dorm Life

    Honestly, I have not lived in the dorms since I have been attending Lipscomb University but from what I hear from friends and have personally seen their is no doubt that I would absolutely love living on campus if financial opportunities permitted me to. Their is always something going on in each of the dorms to make everyone feel at home and give everybody a chance to interact with others.

    Academic Rigor

    Lipscomb's professors main goal is to make sure every student they pass is well prepared for what lies ahead whether it may be a more advanced class or real world experience. With that said, the academic curriculum is quite rigorous and is meant to well prepare each student for what they may face in the futuer. If you study well, listen, and take good notes there is no reason why anyone should not excel in their courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prepare to smile and meet a lot of great people who will not judge you but instead greet and treat you like they have already known you for years. Along with a beautiful looking campus, one should expect to meet great professors who really care about each and every one of their students and whose main goal is to help everyone pass their class. Campus wide activities, shows, concerts, games, etc., shall make sure your stay at Lipscomb is full of excitement, joy, and fun.

    In three sentences

    Lipscomb is a wonderful private and faith-based University that will allow you to grow both mentally and spiritually. The one on one interaction you receive with the professors is rewarding because each student becomes a person that is known by name here at a smaller institute as opposed to a much larger state school where the student to teacher ratio is greater. Well known for its community service and high academic excellence, Lipscomb is an excellent place for one to learn the value of giving back to the community, helping those in need, and striving to make the world a better place by making a difference.

  • 03/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 51

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    The best School I visited to determine where I was going to go. After enrolling, My decision was rewarded with the academics available. If I had to do it again I would choose Lipscomb again to graduate from.

  • 06/13/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    17 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Students can job groups, clubs, and different committees for fun. Have a good time with friends and just live it up in college.

    Food and Dining

    The food is amazing there. The best ice cream. The best burgers and other foods you love to eat. In addition, they have a STARBUCKS ON CAMPUS and a CHICK-FIL-A.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms look amazing and I already got a roommate. I get to move into my dorm in august.

    Academic Rigor

    I've yet to have an actually class here but from what the classrooms look like and the types of courses given, it seems to be super solid.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you looking at Lipscomb University as your main Choice for a College to attend in the fall, you could never be wrong by attending it. I recommend looking towards other colleges before making a committee towards here because this college is just the best.

    In three sentences

    Lipscomb University excels at the given academics and programs provided to make even the worst students - in your own state of mind - become the best of the best. In additions, Lipscomb University is guaranteed to make you feel at home.

  • 07/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Lipscomb is really close to downtown/midtown. There is so much that can easily be accessed from campus by car. There are many different pockets of Nashville that provide various activities from CLIMB Nashville to city life on Broadway.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get plugged in! Whatever your niche is, find it and get involved with something on campus.

    In three sentences

    Lipscomb University is a great liberal arts school with many opportunities available. The campus environment is positive and uplifting. My experience at Lipscomb has been life changing.

  • 07/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus security does a great job of keeping everything in order. Safety is not an issue at Lipscomb due to its prime location, however the security is fantastic nevertheless.

    Greek Life

    The social clubs at Lipscomb are a great way to interact with other students. I am not in a social club because I am an athlete, but I highly recommend getting involved.

    Clubs and Activities

    I highly recommend getting involved on campus. All of my friends love Lipscomb, but they are all involved in activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Christians, driven, focused, small school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a bison (our mascot) that people paint in correspondence with what is going on at the time. Our campus is beautiful, especially our clock tower.

    Bang for the buck

    LU hosts musicians for free concerts all the time (Rascal Flatts, Hillsong, Vince Gil, etc).

    What to do for fun

    Athletic events, raves, performances by social clubs, theatre, etc..

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteia is fantastic and the variety of the food court is satisfactory.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm quality ranges. The older you get, the better dorms you will have access to. Fanning and New Johnson are the best dorms. Newly rennovated and very nice.

    Academic Rigor

    LU is known for its academic rigor. Receiving a degree from Lipscomb is very impressive.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you do well the first semester, do not get comfortable. Do your best each and every semester, because classes at Lipscomb are not a breeze.

    In three sentences

    The educational aspect of Lipscomb is it's best quality. The teachers are great about spending extra time outside of class with each student upon request. The campus is beautiful, and maintained religiously.

  • 07/29/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    20 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    This will be my first time attending, but touring i know one of the fun things to do is LU friday. Being a visitor at the school, i see that the tour guides had alot of fun associating with new people.

    Food and Dining

    During the tour I was able to eat in the Cafe for the first time during LU Friday. I like that they have different kinds of selections.

    Dorm Life

    Seeing the dorms during the tour, I like the way they are set-up. This will be my first time attending and staying on-campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I have not experienced the classes yet. This will be my first session coming in as a freshmen.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to work, as well as to have fun meeting new people.

    In three sentences

    When I first came on to Lipscomb University Campus, I instantly felt excited with it being Christ centered. Everyone is so welcoming, and there is always a smile on someones face. Before the campus tour was over, I knew that I belong.

  • 08/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Lipscomb is in Nashville, Tenn. If your ever bored and you have the transportation (students can ride the bus for free) you can go anywhere from the museums to the strip. I've never been bored.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good. They have good selections to chose from. The Bison Cafe can overcook their meat sometimes.

    Dorm Life

    I'm male, so I live in High Rise. The dorm life is amazing. Everyone is friendly, and we all get along well. Nights are full of laughter.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the classes can be tough, but the professors will always help out the students if help is requested.

    Tips for prospective students

    The school is a bit pricey because it is a private university, but I would say if you can get a full ride or close to it then you should apply.

    In three sentences

    Lipscomb University is a great school. The professors and staff are helpful to all the students. The campus is always kept up.

  • 09/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt unsafe on campus before.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of service clubs and social clubs. We also have various interest clubs and intramural sports.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    People are always painting the bison statue we have on campus.

    What to do for fun

    There are always things going on around campus like Wednesday night hang outs at the boys' dorm. My friends watch a lot of movies and just hang out a lot. There's always free food somewhere. Also, it's good to get involved in campus rec in order to avoid gaining weight (because the food's terrific). Intramural sports are a good way to do this.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for as many outside scholarships as possible because the scholarship money is not exactly the best. School costs around $33000 right now per year.

    In three sentences

    Lipscomb University is full of warm and friendly students and staff. The academics are very strong, and people there actually want to see you succeed.

  • 10/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus always has lipscomb security patrolling the campus area. I have never felt in any way scared or indangered.

    Greek Life

    The greek life is great, they don't have sororities or fraternities but they do have social clubs. It is mainly like a sorority or fraternity but the school does not approve of those so that's why they gave us the option of having clubs that benefit each other and other organizations that need help. It is a great way to get involved and to grow relationships with people.

    Great for these types of students

    That want to get involved in missionary work or enjoy being involved in school activites

    What to do for fun

    They always have so many activites going on campus, such as intermural sports, paint rave, concerts, social clubs, paint the herd, the Belmont vs Bisons game, free access to the games sometimes, etc. Also the dorms put on events throughout the week sometimes such as movie nights, just dance, food, bring your own bowl where they give you food.They have so much going on that you will never be bored!

    Food and Dining

    The upstairs cafeteria has great food, people come and eat with me sometimes from other schools and say that they prefer our cafeteria food over theirs. But, the other downstairs food is alright. The have Chickfila, Zebis(a sandwich shop), Anntie Annes, Blue Coast Burrito, Papa Johns,Starbucks, and Far East Fusion(chinese).

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is alright, they make you live on campus unitl you are 21 or if you currently live close to campus you can live off with a family member. I highly recommend living on campus your first year anyways because of the social aspect and the friends you make in the process.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask what the class ratio is, the clubs you can join to get involved, and the academics compared to other private schools.

    In three sentences

    A place where interactions with God and your other fellow students can impact you and make your college experience wonderful. A University where they put their academics first and make sure everyone is on track with learning. A place where everyone feels welcomed and loved by many!

  • 11/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The meal plans are very unique. They give you so much money to spend on food at places like Starbucks, Auntie Anne's, Chic-fil-a and others, in addition to meals in the Bison Cafe which is buffet style.

    Dorm Life

    THe dorms are really nice. Although it's a totally new experience from living at home, there are options: suite style living or community style!

    Academic Rigor

    I am taking 18 credit hours this semester and it is difficult, but I can do it and I am learning so much.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get the highest ACT score possible, because there is an awesome scholarship based on this!

    In three sentences

    Lipscomb University is a Christ-centered community. They really care about giving you a well-rounded education. Being in Nashville, everyone is friendly and there is always something to do.

  • 11/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is amazing here! hey even have classes that teach you how to defend yourselves. You feel safe wherever you go! If you need someone to walk you to your dorm at night all you have to do is call the campus security and they will be over to you in seconds. There are cameras everywhere, which is good. If you lose something you can guarantee you will get it back. Take it from someone who lost her phone 3 times and got it back every time. You have nothing to worry about at Lipscomb, because campus security has got your back.

    Greek Life

    Greek life at Lipscomb is for Sophomores and up. I think that is an amazing idea since freshman are just getting use to the whole college routine. They seem really fun for people who are in it, besides the hazing, which isn't all the bad. Not all clubs even do it. If you want to be apart of something on the campus, Greek life is another great choice to think about.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs and activities are how you meet people! Join something at Lipscomb, whether it pertains to your major or for something that interests you! Just do it! You won't regret it.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to be well rounded physically, mentally, and spiritually should come to Lipscomb! It is a wonderful place!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    An unusual tradition some of the students told me about is the saying, Three swings and a ring! Lipscomb has those bench swings all around campus, and it is said that if a girl and a guy swing two times together on a swing bench, then by the third swing the guy has to give the girl a ring. It is pretty crazy huh?

    What to do for fun

    Lipscomb has all types of events! We have Paint the Herd, social clubs, step shows, intramural sports, group fitness, running of the Bison, skate nights, pep rallies, and so much more!

    Food and Dining

    The food is amazing! They have different varieties of food in the cafeteria everyday! It is so much to choose from! Salads, burgers, pizza, chicken sandwiches, wraps, deserts, and so much more. I give there food an A+! Also, they have fast food downstairs like sushi, Chick-fi-lae, Papa Johns, Auntie Anne's, Zebi's and even Blue Coast Burrito. Lipscomb has great choices of food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is fantastic! They have pretty cool dorms. Lipscomb just got through renovating most of the dorms, so they are really good looking. The bathrooms are always clean! Thanks to the custodians, and girls picking up after themselves. The rooms can be designed however you want it to be, so the style is up to you. Freshman girls and guys do have a curfew, which is midnight. I am really thankful for that, because it disciplines us to really watch our time.

    Academic Rigor

    Lipscomb University is challenging academically. If you are willing to work hard and put in hours at the library, then I am sure you will be successful. Above all, prioritize and plan to the max!

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students! Get to know your faculty and staff really well. Be involved in activities to make your college experience enhanced. Also, use the Student Success center! They really help, and know what they are talking about to help you be successful while in college.

    In three sentences

    Lipscomb University is an amazing school! The faculty and staff are very welcoming, and the students display a comfortable atmosphere. The campus is beautiful, the food is great, and the classrooms are a great size! What more could you want?

  • 11/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe on campus. There are always security guards patrolling so I never feel like I'm in danger. There are also a lot of cameras.

    Great for these types of students

    Christians and people who like to learn and grow will love this school. If you like to actively participate in your education you will fit right in.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's a huge bell tower in the middle of campus that I love to go sit by. There's a great view from the top step.

    Bang for the buck

    Lipscomb is expensive but it's absolutely worth the price. What I've learned so far is invaluable and I wouldn't trade my time here for anything in the world.

    What to do for fun

    There's always some kind of activity going on in the square. Bonfires, music, and food are major parts of our campus experience. It's never boring!

    Food and Dining

    The food is really good and the cafeteria employees are so nice. They actually listen to our suggestions. I also like how every month they have a giant cake to celebrate the birthdays of everyone in a certain month.

    Dorm Life

    I share a suite with seven other girls and it's working much better than I anticipated. Everyone is so sweet and caring. There are always fun activities going on in the dorm, like bonfires and random get-togethers.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are intellectually challenging and help you learn about yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study, work hard, and don't sleep through your classes.

    In three sentences

    I love this school. It has an incredible, welcoming atmosphere and I've learned more in two months than I ever did in four years of high school. The teachers and staff really care about your well-being and genuinely want to help you succeed.

  • 11/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is excellent. They are constantly ready for anything and will even escort you to your dorm if you feel unsafe. I have been given a ride out of the blue by a Safety officer from my car if I have my arms full of groceries or something too. They are really nice and easy to talk to and they do their best.

    Greek Life

    There are social clubs and those are pretty popular here. However, I am still a freshman and I am unable to pledge until next semester so I personally do not have too much to say about them.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of things to get involved with on campus. Intramural sports are a big deal, there are other athletic games going on frequently too. The student government always has something going on too for students.

    Great for these types of students

    It's great for students looking to build good relationships in college and want an education in a more personal setting.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One of the best places on campus has to be the new room full of tables and TV's in the student center and the square. The square is a great place to be in the summer/spring when it is still warm outside. Everyone does there work there and hangs out there. However, when it get's cold. Everyone moves inside and there is this room with booths and usually some sport is on the TV's or a popular TV show and it's a relaxed place to study or hang out.

    Bang for the buck

    The classes here are small and the professors do make a point to get to know you. They are really easy to work with, and they make sure they help you succeed and not get lost. The social life is always booming so it's easy to get plugged in.

    What to do for fun

    I recommend walking around Nashville for fun. Make a point to find all the local parks too. On campus it's fun to go into one of the buildings, hook up your laptop and watch a movie.

    Food and Dining

    I love the fact that there is a Starbucks on campus open until 11-12 each night. It one of the places I spend the most time. There is also a ton of great options to eat other than the cafeteria as well.

    Dorm Life

    I live in Elam hall, and I love it there. I do have a small problem with the freshman curfew rules, but other than that it is fantastic. Curfew is only one year, so it is bearable. The RA's on your floor are the best people ever, you build relationships with them as the year goes on. The rooms are great too.

    Academic Rigor

    Seeing that I am a Molecular Biology major, I do have hard classes. They are challenging and competitive. However, the professors make a point to assist you with anything that you need if you make a point to ask them. There are also tutors available paid for by the departments that are a really great resource.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to your admissions recruiter. They will do everything they can to help you afford Lipscomb. They work their hardest and they really do a great job of letting you know that you will be loved at Lipscomb. Get as involved as you can when you get on campus and make tons of friends. Quest week is one of the best weeks you will ever have.

    In three sentences

    It's a really great environment to grow in your faith or to focus on your studies. The biology department is wonderful so far as well as all of my professors; they are really helpful and they make a point to have a personal relationship with you. It is really easy to get involved in serving/volunteering in Nashville with Lipscomb.

  • 12/10/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    28 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Student life at Lipscomb is crazy-involved.

    Great for these types of students

    Outgoing.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Three swings and a ring: throughout the campus, there are white bench swings. It's a tradition, on the third swing between a couple, that the girl received an engagement ring.

    What to do for fun

    Besides the numerous things to do on campus (such as activities in the Bison square and athletics), Nashville has so much to keep someone busy. Blue bird cafe, Hard Rock, historical places everywhere. It's the country capital!

    Food and Dining

    Lipscomb has a wide range of food for those who don't want there cafeteria (although that is great too!).

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit campus! I know it seems like a stereotypical answer, but it's true. The school's information online and such doesn't do it any justice compared to your own experience when you visit.

    In three sentences

    Lipscomb seems to be very lively. There's always something to do and people are proud to be Bisons. The school is its own community, in a way.

  • 01/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Lipscomb University provides on campus security. I feel extremely protected and safe on campus. They are here to serve and help you and do an amazing job at it.

    Greek Life

    Greek life here at Lipscomb University helps involve students. they are encouraged to help and get involved in reaching out into the community. as well as helping building life long relationships with each other.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a large variety of sports that compete at the division one level. But there is also many intramurals offered if large competitions don't suit you. Their are also social clubs to join and interact with each other and serving the community.

    Great for these types of students

    Lipscomb, i think is great for anyone! specializes in great Engineering and Nursing programs but excels in pretty much every area. Provides a smaller campus helping about anyone feel welcome. Everyone would be great on this campus!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Lipscomb is located right in Nashville. This provides prime location for shopping and concerts close by! Makes college an even greater experience.

    Bang for the buck

    Lipscomb University is a private Christian school which means it is more expensive than state school. But i would say it is well worth it. Money well spent for a greater, and more fun college experience.

    What to do for fun

    There are always different and fun activities offered here at Lipscomb University periodically throughout the week. Anywhere from corn hole to markets on campus to sporting events. I am never bored here.

    Food and Dining

    Dining and food here at Lipscomb University are great! A wide and healthy selection is provided. The staff is always trying to improve foods and ensure clean and comfortable dining.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at Lipscomb is very nice and accommodating. They are always remodeling and improving living situation to be more comfortable. Also dorm activities are offered often making it more fun living here!

    Academic Rigor

    Lipscomb University as a whole is among one of the top academic programs. They strive for the best and results in an outstanding student body. The staff and professors are all also extremely motivating to all students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open to all possibilities. Lipscomb provides many diverse options to get you involved. Be ready to be very welcomed.

    In three sentences

    Lipscomb University is an amazing University. Very strong christian atmosphere that strives and excels in athletic and academics. Lipscomb is an ideal University and i wouldn't choose anywhere else.

  • 02/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    No greek life.

    Great for these types of students

    People who do not want a wild college experience, and who want to really focus on their education.

    Bang for the buck

    Much better options for the price vs academics. Students are paying for the religious aspects along with the Lipscomb name

    What to do for fun

    Go to downtown Nashville! Be back before 12am (Curfew)

    Food and Dining

    Great cafeteria, and other options.

    Dorm Life

    The freshman dorm sucks, but the experience is great.

    Academic Rigor

    Tough school

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to pay at least $2000 in hidden fees. Get used to studying a a lot. Have fun!

    In three sentences

    Overall nice college, beautiful campus and location. However, because of the religious aspect most people are not very accepting of most outside or liberal views.

  • 03/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Not to jinx anything, but it is perfect. There is always someone available to help you when you need it. On this campus you cant help but feel safe. There are security who travel through the campus grounds in their cars, some just walk on campus, and they even have a number you can program into your phone if you ever need speedy assistance. Though, they are always around and have even helped me out when my tires were flat. You can miss them.

    Greek Life

    There is no actual Greek life. There are only what we call social clubs. They do not like to use that term because they are very different from any Greek club as in they have no chapters. It is only within the school of Lipscomb.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are every kind of intramural sport to choose from here. If you dont see one you like, you can always create one. Also there are plenty of clubs to join. That list is pretty endless.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for any religious students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Some traditions are making your way on top of a building. There people have picnics, or just do it because if you are at Lipscomb you just have too! Also, watch out for the swinging benches located everywhere. Apparently, three swings equals a ring if you know what I mean.

    Bang for the buck

    This school allows you to take a break from classes and have time to go to chapel. Here you can worship and just have time to relax and pray over your day and your grades. No matter your religion, it is great for everyone to have time to stop and just relax, because when you are in college it feels like classes never stop. So this school gives everyone an advantage, plus this relaxation time is required.

    What to do for fun

    Go to group fitness, or the various trips Lipscomb always offers. They are always affordable and are never more than forty dollars.

    Food and Dining

    The best food ever. This food is better than some restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    Is very lavish! It makes you feel at home. Even though I am a commuter I enjoy it.

    Academic Rigor

    You may have a lecture class, but you also have to teach yourself material a teacher has not gone over.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always make at least two hours for study time a day.

    In three sentences

    Lipscomb is a school where you are not just a number. The classes are small, and all of your teachers will know your name. Everyone becomes comfortable with the faculty to the point where they always notify you if they are concerned for your grades, not the other way around.

  • 03/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Lipscomb's Campus Security is amazing! I recall one time I lost my keys and building fob, and the next day I had an email from them saying they had been found and I could come pick them up.

    Greek Life

    The social clubs are a really good way to get to know people on campus. They all are a really tight knit group.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of activities during the week to do.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We do have chapel every Tuesday and Thursday, and we are required to take a bible course every semester.

    Bang for the buck

    For the price the students do receive a higher caliber education

    What to do for fun

    Stomp Fest Singaroma Hayride Running of the Bison Paint the Herd (Paint Rave)

    Food and Dining

    Sodexo has really good food.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is awesome we are all almost one big family.

    Academic Rigor

    I am challenged in all of my classes

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know all administrative figures Have finances in order

    In three sentences

    Lipscomb is an awesome school. The teachers and caliber of education is top notch. I would most definitely suggest my school to any. I love the school because of the christian values that they hold. The teachers are easy to approach and I do not feel like just a number.

  • 03/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Painting the bison for different events. Also Paint the Herd is our paint rave in the fall, and it is a ton of fun!

    What to do for fun

    Movies, coffee house nights, join clubs

    Food and Dining

    It's good at first, but after a while it gets boring.

    Dorm Life

    ELAM!!! If you're a girl, ignore the big excitement about Fanning. Elam may be older and have community bathrooms, but it is a community. You make so many friends in this dorm!!!

    Academic Rigor

    The sciences are quite grueling, but the basic gen-eds are not that bad.

    Tips for prospective students

    You should definitely consider coming here. We don't have amazing scholarships, so do your best to find outside scholarships.

    In three sentences

    Lipscomb is a great place if you want to have clean fun. We also have terrific pre-med and nursing programs. I feel like everyone here wants me to succeed and will help me achieve my goals.

  • 04/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is great. They regularly patrol the grounds.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for anyone who likes to learn about religion.

    Bang for the buck

    If you come to Lipscomb you will get the education you're paying for.

    What to do for fun

    My friends and I like to walk to Green Hills.

    Food and Dining

    Nice variety of food in the cafeteria and in the downstairs dining portion of the campus center.

    Dorm Life

    I live in Fanning and it is kept very clean. There are also quiet hours that make studying easier.

    Academic Rigor

    This school has challenged me a lot mentally and spiritually. I've really grown as a person.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your roommate before you come to school.

    In three sentences

    A beautiful place to learn. Great for spiritual growth. Intellectually challenging.

  • 05/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Painting the bison.

    What to do for fun

    Make friends! Get on all the roofs. Go see Nashville.

    Tips for prospective students

    Live on campus.

    In three sentences

    I absolutely love Lipscomb. Some of the rules seem pointless at times, but you get used to them. It's really the great people there that make the school.

  • 07/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Lipscomb offers a lot of fun activities. If you enjoy sports, there are plenty of games and pregames to attend. If you like getting messy, Lipscomb has a paint rave annually that is a TON of fun.

    Food and Dining

    The restaurants on campus are delicious, but not always very healthy. Take advantage of the cafeteria dining. The food is great, plus it's usually good for you.

    Dorm Life

    I have no complaints regarding dorm life. They've recently redecorated almost all of the girl dorms, and they look great. The RAs are wonderful, and the hall meetings aren't to be missed. RAs will often bring snacks or other fun things for the girls to enjoy. Hall often are held frequently, and it can be anything from a baking party to playing Corn Hole in the yard. As for the boys' dorms, I can't give much advice. I know they have concessions in the lobby, a movie room, and Foosball tables for the guys to enjoy.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are excellent. The trick is that the material isn't very difficult, but time management is key. Classes seem to pile on top of one another during test time and when essays are due, so figuring out how to plan and manage all the assignments is vital for success. The professors will help you in any way they can.

    Tips for prospective students

    Respect the professors. If you let them, they can be great assets for you both currently and in the future. And keep your mind open. There are many varying opinions within the student body, so if you're willing to listen to others, even if they might be presenting an opposing opinion of your own, you may learn something eye-opening. Most importantly, don't worry. The faculty and students alike are very understanding and wonderful people. You'll find a multitude of great friends and role models here.

    In three sentences

    It has a warm atmosphere and a beautiful campus. The professors are helpful and attentive; they know you by name and are willing to help a student in any way possible. The student body as a whole is diverse and energetic; everyone will fit in here.

  • 08/01/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    37 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Several places were available to eat at, including pizza hut, starbucks, and a small cafe. However, prices are pretty high, as expected.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm buildings looked very well kept.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics looked very important to the school.

    In three sentences

    I went to this campus for a Destination Imagination competition and was very impressed! It seemed like a great place for education. I will definitely be visiting again when it's time for me to choose a college.

  • 08/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a statue of a bison that you can spray paint whenever you want for whatever occasion.

    Bang for the buck

    You can always find free stuff in Nashville, including free concerts, and if there isn't anything in Nashville, Lipscomb usually has free events throughout the week and/or on weekends.

    What to do for fun

    Explore Nashville! It is a great place to be a college student. There is free stuff almost every weekend, and so much to do that my friends and I will probably never do it all!

    Food and Dining

    We have lots of downstairs options including Starbucks, Zebi's, Papa John's, Blue Coast Burrito, Chick-fil-A, a convenience store, Auntie Anne's Pretzels, and Far East Fusion. The cafeteria upstairs is buffet style, with salad, grill, sandwich, and pizza bars a constant, and an different 'innovations' and 'classic' choice every day. It's pretty good, run by Sodexo.

    Dorm Life

    They are older buildings, except for Fanning, but they are kept up really well. The RA's are great, boys and girls are separate dorms, people are friendly, quiet at night, and laundry is free. I've enjoyed staying on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    There are some pretty challenging courses. I'm a Biology major though, so I have more hard classes, but the gen eds are not that hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come for a visit. Lipscomb has events throughout the year for high schoolers that want a look at the school, and it's a great opportunity. I didn't realize how much visiting would help my college decision until I actually visited Lipscomb.

    In three sentences

    Lipscomb is an amazing university. I didn't realize until I got here how perfect it was for me, in academics as well as sports and social life. It's a small, Christian college in Nashville, TN, with lots of access to the big city.

  • 10/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's a very safe campus. I've heard girls say they have no problem walking across campus at 2 in the morning. (Not necessarily recommending that, but it just goes to show that it has a general feeling of safety and security.)

    Greek Life

    Again, don't know because I am not involved.

    Great for these types of students

    Career-focused students, academically-inclined students (or at least those who are ready to put in the effort, because they'll kindly hold you to a high standard)

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Painting the Bison! And by that I mean spray-painting the stone bison near the main campus square. It's kind of a LU student's rite of passage I hear...

    Bang for the buck

    I feel very satisfied with getting what I'm paying for. It's a clean, beautiful campus with great academics and plenty of resources. And it just has such a great feel! Worth every penny.

    What to do for fun

    They have lots going on all the time.

    Food and Dining

    Wish they had a few more organic/healthful options... there's a lot of fast food and junk food... other than that it's pretty great!

    Dorm Life

    I don't know, as I'm a commuter, but what I've seen is great-- such beautiful dorms to choose from!

    Academic Rigor

    great

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan to commute, plan on 8:00 classes or plan to park off-campus and hike to class. Also, consider that this is a Christian school. If you're uncomfortable with Christianity/Christians/religion in general, you may not feel comfortable, as it is very open about its stand on faith (though never shove-it-down-your-throat) and you are required to get chapel credits by attending chapel/chapel-like events.

    In three sentences

    Amazing campus. Awesome professors. Generous scholarships.

  • 11/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is good it not what some people would call a home cook meal but it taste the same like a home cook meal. You might need to add a little salt here and there but you would love the food here.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is quite boring. Yes, it is convenient living on campus. Campus living will make you feel lonely even though you have friends to talk to and hang out with. It can also be a way to get out of you comfort zone especially if you are shy person. Dorm life gives you that experience of living with other people.

    Academic Rigor

    Bible class is a real interesting class to be taking because you learn more about the Son of Man and how the teachings of Jesus can be apply to everyday life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard because it paids off in the long run. If you are not understanding the concepts in class do not wait until the last minute to talk to your professor. Also, when a professor sends you an email please respond back.

    In three sentences

    Lipscomb is a really great school. The friendliness and the warmthness of the people around the campus. It feels like the the people are welcoming you to embrace this spiritual community with them.

  • 11/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Nothing ever happens on campus besides something coming up missing in dorm rooms occasionally.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    their are social clubs and intramural sports that a lot of people are interested in.

    Great for these types of students

    Lipscomb is great for academically successful people who are looking to slightly step out of their comfort zone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Our mascot is a bison and we have a statue of a bison on campus where students are allowed to freely paint on so people will paint the bison for birthdays, holidays, etc.

    Bang for the buck

    it cost right around $37,000 a year to go to Lipscomb whether you're from TN or not. I'm just a freshman so I really don't know but I've heard it's worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Their are concerts happening all the time because it's Nashville and the school does a pretty good job of keeping it alive on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food id pretty predictable and the cafe closes at 7:30 so that's a struggle.

    Dorm Life

    I'm a guy and dorm life is awesome. Everyone is really cool and even the RAs are down with a lot of things you wouldn;t expect.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your major it differs. For engineering majors it's extremely tough.

    Tips for prospective students

    There's definitely a large work load at times so studying is key.

    In three sentences

    Lipscomb is a faithful christian school. Lipscomb has Very nice people. The professors are usually really cool and understanding.

  • 12/13/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    42 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Students were walking up and down the street safely. You definitely wouldn't find that somewhere like Memphis...well, you might, but there would be a shooting 20 minutes from then. Point being, I've never felt safer and more comfortable before. I recommend this school 100%

    Greek Life

    They have 7 different sororities and 6 different fraternities. From what I've heard, they aren't all rude and stuck up like the movies portray them here. I imagine it is great to be a part of. I personally may join one depending on my work load!

    Clubs and Activities

    They have LOTS of clubs to be a part of! Just look on their website, or wait and jump right in on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    I think Lipscomb is just a really close, tight-knit community. If you want genuine, kind people that care about each other, this school is for you. It's very Christ-like. The whole time I was on campus, everyone went out of their way to help me find things and get to know me personally. Not to mention, there are a LOT of beautiful people! It's crazy. I thought it was some sort of beautiful cult when I pulled up on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a paintable Bison, that was once painted as Spider-bison, and right now it is Santa-bison. There is a fountain in front of the cafeteria that you can get baptized in as well! It is heated during the winter, so you won't freeze to death.

    Bang for the buck

    REALLY work on your ACT score. The average ACT score is 24, and GPA is 3.5 which is typically good, it's only AVERAGE here. If you can get it up to a 30, you can get a full tuition scholarship...which is awesome! But don't let it fool you, there are so many great things about Lipscomb. You need to visit before you make a decision. Even though the price tag is high, compared to other Christian Universities such as Belmont and Pepperdine, it's SO much cheaper. Sure, its still pretty high. (I mean 20k is around the student average per year of debt/payments, and that's OBVIOUSLY a pretty penny) but the price tag is worth the amazing experience you'll be getting. Don't let fear of debt keep you away from Lipscomb. Know that God will take care of your needs, and help you excel. :)

    What to do for fun

    Nashville is great! They have the Bluebird cafe where Taylor Swift originally got noticed by a record company not 2 miles from the campus. Plus, there are tons of other colleges and college students to get involved in. You want internships, its possible. You might even run into Carrie Underwood at the grocery store (My cousin did!!! XD)

    Food and Dining

    FANTASTIC! The LU Friday food was amazing here. They had great options, and was by far one of the best food experiences I've had at a college. Harding has bland food...so if you want to be skinny, go there. But if you enjoy your meals like I do, come to Lipscomb! Be careful, though...those freshman 15 are easy to gain in such a good cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    To be honest, for a top-notch school like Lipscomb, I was a little un-impressed by the Freshman dorms. Elam has community bathrooms, and while that's okay, it's very old-timey for such a well-funded and modernized school. Fanning is a good alternative if you want a suite-style Freshman dorm with suite-bathrooms...but remember, you're still sharing 1 bathroom with 8 girls. I've heard Elam girls are more like a big family and really get to know each other, while Fanning girls keep to their suitemates more and are a little more to themselves. It all depends on personal preference seeing as they're about the same price.

    Academic Rigor

    If you are trying to choose between Belmont and Lipscomb; pick Lipscomb...UNLESS you are willing to spend twice as much and want to major in music (because they have a great music department) Belmont seems to be more stuck up, and just a less friendly environment in general. Lipscomb is also better than the other Church of Christ colleges I've visited. Freed, Harding, and most others in the south cannot compete with Lipscomb's rigorous course of academics. Of course, they don't compare to Vanderbilt in that sense, or Pepperdine...BUT for a Christian University, they are very highly prestigious. You can spend some time on their website and see that their graduate acceptance rates are high above the national average. I'm going into psychology, and I was very impressed with their whole program. They have research and internships opportunities which are vital to graduate acceptance. If you aren't sure how academically challenging they are, sit through one of their classes and you'll see. It's a fantastic school, with fantastic academics to match.

    Tips for prospective students

    When I visited, I knew it was the place for me. And I'm not the only one that has experienced that Lipscomb euphoria I'm talking about. Go to an LU friday, and keep your mind open. Lipscomb has a lot to offer, and if you're a little slack on the ACT/GPA there are always optional interviews to make you stand out. Lipscomb is my dream school, and if its yours too, don't let scores and GPA get in the way of your dream!

    In three sentences

    Lipscomb is the PERFECT school...in my opinion. When I sat down to do a pros and con list about which college I should attend, Lipscomb had maybe two cons and SO many pros. If you're not convinced, just go to ONE LU friday and you'll change your mind.

  • 12/28/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    43 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt unsafe on campus. Lipscomb is in a very nice part of Nashville so that adds to the safety. Also, no roads run through campus making it feel safer.

    Greek Life

    I can't answer this well because I am not in a sorority. Also, our Greek life is not associated with the national clubs so they are called social clubs rather than sororities/ fraternities. Those in the social clubs seem to have a true bond and really enjoy it.

    Clubs and Activities

    Since Lipscomb is small it certainly has less clubs than a state university. Nonetheless, the clubs offered are top notch with many active members. And anything that Lipscomb lacks, Nashville makes up for.

    Great for these types of students

    Lipscomb is great for students who caring about knowing their peers and teachers. Most of the classes at Lipscomb are pretty small so it is geared toward those who enjoying forming friendships in their classes and having approachable teachers.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One unusual and fun tradition is Paint the Herd. Fall semester every year the student government association puts on a paint rave and it is a blast! Also there are a few unknown food spots that are pretty good. There is both a coffee shop and a snack bar that no one seems to know about. The coffee shop is on the 3rd floor of Ezell and the snack bar is on the bottom floor of the nursing building.

    Bang for the buck

    Lipscomb has a pretty high price tag because it is a private school, but it is so worth it. I would not trade my school for any other, no matter what the price difference was. The people at Lipscomb are fantastic as well as the teachers. Everyone genuinely cares for one another and that is priceless. Also the value of a degree from Lipscomb is very high, making the cost worth it as well.

    What to do for fun

    The student activities board provides something fun to do literally everyday of the week. Yet if you get tired of campus there are many things to do in the city! Nashville is such a fun place and there is always something fun to do or a new place to explore.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria provides many healthy and tasty meal options. The food is great, but it can become redundant. The student center also has many fast food options if you are tired of the cafeteria. There is also a hidden coffee shop to found on campus that is pretty great!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is fantastic! I live in a suite style dorm and I love it. Every single gal in my suite is kind and caring. Even if that is not the case with another girl, or if you do not like where you are the living the housing staff is very helpful. Also, I have never had to wait for a shower and the water is always hot. The facilities, furniture, etc. are very up to date.

    Academic Rigor

    Many classes at Lipscomb are certainly rigorous. But do not be intimidated by that. The teachers are equally helpful and knowledgeable in their fields.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would advise a prospective student to really feel free to get to know the recruiter for their area. Ask the hard questions about Lipscomb and even the silly ones! They are there to help you. I would also tell a prospective student to visit! That is very important. I didn't think I wanted to come to Lipscomb until I took a tour. The minute I stepped foot on campus I knew it was the right place for me.

    In three sentences

    Lipscomb University is a wonderful place to be! I just finished my first semester and I have loved every minute of it. Teachers and students alike are caring and compassionate people.

  • 01/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Lots of athletic events, plays and musicals, and things hosted from outside performers. They like to keep us entertained with coffeeshop performances and kickball tournaments.

    Food and Dining

    Some of the food choices get old rather quickly, but it's nice to have some selection while on campus. I have heard of some people getting sick from the cafeteria, unfortunately. I suggest keeping some food in your dorm room fridge just in case.

    Dorm Life

    Room checks and curfew during your freshman year isn't exciting for anyone who feels like they're moving towards adulthood. The dry campus policy might not be fair to some either, but again, Lipscomb is trying to keep their students in a certain box with good intentions.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are rigorous, but not unbearably so. You learn a lot of valuable information from professors who are well qualified and try to maintain a Christian perspective on the material.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep an open mind, because some of the other students around you might not have one. Know that everyone has their own story and Lipscomb's purpose is to guide their students into God's plan for their lives.

    In three sentences

    It's a great school for someone focused on building their faith and being guided with God's will. For some, it's rules and policies might seem unfair, but the administration has the best intentions when carrying them out.

  • 01/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is very good at lipscomb. Just make sure you know where you're allowed to park at the beginning of each week to prevent tickets.

    Food and Dining

    Awesome Cafe and plenty of options if you aren't feeling like eating upstairs.

    Dorm Life

    Awesome dorms and RA'S . They all care and willing to help whenever.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're not from the Nashville area, make sure you ring clothes for all seasons when you first come to school. Weather is so unpredictable.

    In three sentences

    Lipscomb is a wonderful University that has awesome teachers. Everyone is always so friendly and always willing to help. Also, being a faith based University they do not push it upon you.

  • 02/05/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    46 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    When I visited campus I ate in the dining hall and it was amazing. Hopefully they offer a lot of variety in their choices though. There are a few restaurants in the student center so you have other options.

    Dorm Life

    I love Fanning! When I attend in the Fall, Fanning is definitely where I want to stay. The grass courtyard in the center helps to create a very warma and friendly atmosphere. The suite style bathrooms are what convinced me though, I'm not a fan of community baths. The village for upperclassmen is so nice, but it is really hard to get into. It would be nice if there were more village apartments.

    Academic Rigor

    From what I've heard from other students at Lipscomb the work definitely isn't easy. You have to work really hard, but your professors are always there to help you and answer questions.

    In three sentences

    Lipscomb University has a beuatiful campus and I can't wait to spend the next four years here. From the few professors I've met, I can tell that they really care about their students and have good relationsips with them. The music department is really nice and Dr. Wilson makes me feel confident in my choice to be a music education major.

  • 02/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    You have choices

    Great for these types of students

    No certain type of student that should or can attend this campus. Lipscomb is for everyone and anyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The only thing I was not used to was that during Chapel the singing is done all Acapella.

    Bang for the buck

    You will get out of it what you put into it

    What to do for fun

    Clubs, sororities, sports, mission trips/studying abroad, and community service. Enjoy!!!

    Food and Dining

    The food court has a variety of options that you can choose from such as Chik-Fil-A, Starbucks, a pizza joint, Aunty Anne, etc. If you don't really want something on campus there are a few places around campus to eat at.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus but I have been told that they aren't that bad. As commonly known, living on campus does allow you to meet people and stay connected with what's happening on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Totally get involved in whatever clubs, sports, and extracurricular activities you are interested in. Yes, college is about furthering your education but you might as well have some fun along the way. Chapel may seem boring, a waste of time, and irrelevant to your life but I will say that it is worth opening up to and trying to enjoy despite the distractions around you.

    In three sentences

    Lipscomb has an excellent Christian atmosphere that is not demanding that attendees convert but allows the students to explore and grow as they experience Christ more. Lipscomb is student-oriented and makes sure that there are events, clubs, seminars, etc that students are interested in. The professors at this University really want their students to succeed and have an open door policy which allows you to establish a one-on-one relationship with them.

  • 02/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel so safe on this campus. The security is always doing their job and doing a great job at that. They're so nice and helpful and always available when they need to be.

    Greek Life

    Not national sororities and fraternities but Social Clubs that are the same basic thing.

    Clubs and Activities

    Social clubs (our version of Greek Like) are huge on campus. There's also service clubs, multicultural clubs, and other random clubs that are always looking for members.

    Great for these types of students

    Any type really.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The paper machete Bison that gets painted over with spray paint. It's been painted over so many times it doesn't even seem like paper machete anymore but it's really cool to see the different things that get painted on it.

    Bang for the buck

    Could be more bang considering how much buck we pay, but they try really hard to make it worth it and it really is worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Downtown Nashville is like 15 minutes away, has great coffee shops, line dancing, country music. Grand Ole Opry and Opry Mills mall are close. The Ryman is also really close, which also has live music. Belmont and Vanderbilt are close so hanging out with other students from those campuses is fun. Nashville never gets boring, there's always something new to do.

    Food and Dining

    Definitely could be better, it's not bad it's just repetitive and is really easy to get bored of. Overall not bad for college food though.

    Dorm Life

    Girls have better options than guys, especially freshman girls. I liked the dorm I've lived in for the past 2 years.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on the class, but it has definitely been more of a welcomed challenge than high school classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get scholarships, talk to the financial aid office and figure out how to pay for it. Lipscomb is seriously worth all that trouble. Choose classes wisely, pay attention and work hard.

    In three sentences

    Lipscomb provides excellent education for students. While Lipscomb is definitely pricey, they work hard to make it affordable for students because they know it will be worth it. I couldn't be happier at Lipscomb University.

  • 02/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They kind of just patrol around parking lots and put out tickets.

    Greek Life

    Beware of the Student Center during Pledge Week. Social clubs get really intense with their recruiting, but the experience is enjoyable overall.

    Clubs and Activities

    The Student Activity Center (SAC) overs access to a gym, track, and exercise equipment. Intramural sports have teams all over and tournaments at different times of the year.

    What to do for fun

    Green Hills Mall and One Hundred Oaks Mall are about a five minute drive from campus. There are plenty of things to do around Nashville, like laser tag, walking down Broadway, visit parks, etc. Wednesday Night We Eat at High Rise is always fun; good music, $1 food, and games.

    Food and Dining

    The food court has a good selection, with Bluecoast, Chick-fil-a, and Auntie Anne's being my favorites. The dining hall has an ok selection of foods daily, but can get a tad boring after a while.

    Dorm Life

    The rooms in Elam Hall are a bit small, and handicap accessibility is minimal (lots of stairs).

    Academic Rigor

    About the standard rigor for a university. Challenging, but not so overwhelming.

    In three sentences

    The atmosphere is warm and welcoming. The teachers care about their students and want to help them succeed. All around nice campus.

  • 04/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We rarely have any problems regarding safety here at Lipscomb. Our worst issue we may have had this year is a break-in into a vehicle. However, this is a very peaceful place where we barely have any problems arise regarding our safety.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is very noticeable here. Every Thursday, students wear shirts that represent their specific greek club they are involved in.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are all types of social clubs and activities here. However, do not be a part of all of them because it is easy to quickly get overwhelmed. There is a club for almost every professional field you plan or desire to be involved in.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are swings on campus. When couples swing in the swings, it is implied that they will get married. They call it 3 swings, and a ring.

    Bang for the buck

    You definitely get your bang for your buck here. Lipscomb University has received numerous amounts of awards for this specific topic.

    What to do for fun

    Get Involved. Everyday, there is something to do on-campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great here! On campus there are places like Papa John's, Blue Coast Burrito, Far East Fusion, and Chick-fil-A. Also, there is a huge buffet, cafeteria-style dining area in the student center readily available for anyone. Lipscomb also has made it to where students can use their student cards off-campus to pay for other various places to eat.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is average here. There is only one co-ed dorm, which is for upperclassmen. Males cannot go into female dorms and vice-versa. Lipscomb intentionally spreads out and separates males and females to prevent indecent behavior.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor here at Lipscomb University is above average. Rarely will you find a test being easy. Quality study is vital rather than quantitative study.

    Tips for prospective students

    - Study, study, study - Meet new people and form connections - Become friends with people who are just as determined as you are to succeed and graduate

    In three sentences

    Lipscomb University is a great, private christian school that primarily focuses on increasing achievement of academics while enhancing greater faith in God, and bettering the community at the same time. All of this takes place by available tutors for every subject, having required bible courses needed before graduation, and also having service days for all student attending Lipscomb University. Lipscomb University definitely ranks among the best in overall return on investment in any degree earned here at Lipscomb University.

  • 06/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great campus safety. I always feel safe at every hour of the day.

    Greek Life

    14 social clubs. Stuff gets intense.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many. Lots of fun.

    Great for these types of students

    Christians, Non-Christians. Jocks, Geeks. Wealthy and Poor. Everyone basically.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Many! You will just have to come here to find out what they are.

    Bang for the buck

    This depends fully on how much one is willing to engage and how hard they work.

    What to do for fun

    Besides on campus activities, Lipscomb is located in Nashville, which has tons of fun things to do ranging from concerts and shows to relaxing low-key parks to amazing food places!

    Food and Dining

    Its ok right now. It is improving.

    Dorm Life

    As an RA, I absolutely love dorm life. It is where you meet the people who you will get closest to.

    Academic Rigor

    Lipscomb is just as much a christian university and a fun place to be as it is an intense academic institution.

    Tips for prospective students

    Engage in as much as possible. Get involved and love hard.

    In three sentences

    Lipscomb is a place that I call home. They have great academics and a positive environment. You will love it here.