Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Livingstone College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/04/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Research the programs, majors, and activities before coming here. Make sure that you want to be in such a small environment.

    Am enjoying being here

    This is campus is pretty small so everyone knows everyone. I come from an area where there are so many more people so I do not enjoy being here when it comes to socially pleasing myself.

    Am learning a lot

    As far as the courses here, depending on your professor, you will have a very intellectually challenging task at hand.

  • 12/21/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Although it is a HBCU Livingstone is a great school for all types of students.

    Tips for prospective students

    College is what you make it and Livingstone is no different. You have to come in with a positive attitude and know that everything you do will help you in the long run.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is about $22050.00 but books are included and the food isn't that bad either.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love being on campus; but there is not that much to do out in the town. the campus is small so the class room sizes are pretty good at < 20 to 1.

    Am learning a lot

    Not only educationally but attending Livingstone College has taught me a lot about college and life in general.

  • 03/02/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Will learn a lot

    i will be going here in the fall, as a freshmen. (:

  • 01/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    What this school consider safe is driving around the campus at 10 mph and doing absolutely nothing. They only arrive if things get too out of hand which is not safe.

    Greek Life

    The best of the greeks is the Kappa and the Alpha... they have the most parties and are very involved. The coolest of the greeks are the sigmas. They are sweethearts and very funny. The girl sorority arent as active as the boys nor so you see them very often.

    Clubs and Activities

    There modeling teams on the yard, chess team, and many more to stay active.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The garden of hope and poets is very relaxing. Its a nice place to catch up on some studying and homework.

    Bang for the buck

    Well we only pay 22500 for the academic year which is high in price but not so bad for a private institution.

    What to do for fun

    Join alot of different groups because most organizations travel and have different shows. You need a car to get to many of the places but if you have one, you'll nbe fine

    Food and Dining

    As of this semester, the food has been great now that the cafeteria is under new management.

    Dorm Life

    Girls dorms are beautiful but the bathrooms are a little nasty. Boys dorms are a bit rough and tend to have numerous robberies.

    Academic Rigor

    Ive had harder classes in high school. What you learn all depends on who your professor is.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you bring toilet tissue because it isnt provided. There has been many robbery in the boys dorm so make sure you come with a lock. Watch what you say on campuse because word spread fast around the campus even if it isnt true.

    In three sentences

    livingstone is a nice small campus. The president of the school is very involved in everything the students do. Life at the stone is what you make it. IT can be your best or worse experience ever.

  • 12/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety at Livingstone College is okay. We have campus police and campus security that are on campus 24/7. You can not get on campus without and ID.

    Bang for the buck

    Livingstone College is very expenisve. To attend this school is almost $23,000 per year. Livingstone college is a private school and also a HBCU.

    What to do for fun

    What to for fun are to get involved with extracurricular activities such as football, cheerleading, etc. Also getting involved with the student counsel team.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining at Livingstone College is not all that good. Breakfast sometimes is really good but other then that there aren't many options to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life at Livingstone College is moderate. There are not many resdiences halls on the campus. It all depends on your GPA on where you wanna live for the rest of your four years there while attending.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor at Livingstone College is very good the classes are easy and there is no reason for anyone to not do well. There motto is to succeed in everything you do.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips for prospective students that are going to attend or planning to attend Livingstone College is to get involved with the school. Getting involving with sports and other activities on the campus will take you so far at Livingstone.

  • 12/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Religion majors Education majors Psychology majors Music majors

    Tips for prospective students

    Really look into the school before accepting and applying...

  • 02/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    the type of student that really didn't do all that they could do in high school. the ones that still want to further their education, but does not have the requirements needed to get into a big named college.

    What to do for fun

    there's plenty of things to do around the campus. there's a weight room opened for everyone, and accessible throughout the entire say. there are also all sorts of clubs that one can join. not to mention the different activities that the organizations on campus put together.

    Food and Dining

    the food is pretty good. its the hours that the cafeteria are opened and closed for that is the problem.

  • 02/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    livingstone college is located in a gated community. there is 24/7 security on campus. the campus is very secure/safe.

    Greek Life

    the african american divine 8 are on campus conducting community service: alpha phi alpha, alpha kappa alpha, kappa alpha psi, omega, psi phi, zeta phi beta, phi beta sigma and sigma gamma rho.

    Clubs and Activities

    student counsel, empowering scholars( students with challenges), miss livingstone, concert band and concert choir, data black processing organization (cis majors), ciaa week, homecoming week

    Great for these types of students

    livingstone college is a great college for someone who wants to attend a small historically black college and university. the college is enriched with history and the classes are small.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    livingstone college has an all wide student meeting with the president of the college every wednesday from 11-12pm. most campus do not keep students aware of activities that are occurring around the campus.

    What to do for fun

    livingstone college has a lot of variety of activities such as greek life, athlete activities, marching band and a strong campus full of activities which are student focused.

    Food and Dining

    the food and dining is great. all students have an opportunity to choose from a variety of food.

    Dorm Life

    the resident advisers are friendly and will assist all students. the campus is small, the rooms are a great size for students.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes are challenging. you must remain on task to complete all assignments. all of the professors are student friendly and will go the extra mile to assist students.

    Tips for prospective students

    students must prepare for campus life and being a distance from their home environment.

    In three sentences

    livingstone college has a student-friendly campus environment with great staff and professors willing to assist all students to achieve their academic goals.

  • 05/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    It's really horrible.

    What to do for fun

    Stay in my room.

    Tips for prospective students

    I don't think you should apply unless if you cant get into no other college.

    In three sentences

    I want to transfer.

  • 06/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The school does have multiple security gates on campus. Plus, outsiders aren't allowed to come on campus after a certain time for the safety of students. Last, the campus security does security drive bias and checks after hours around campus.

    Greek Life

    I'm not exactly familiar with the Greek life yet.

    Clubs and Activities

    They're multiple clubs and activities on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    This is a great school for students who came out of high school with below acceptable grades. This school is also great for students who would like to play sports on the collegiate level but couldn't because they're grades were low in high school. Plus, this school is great for students who want the HBCU experience.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There aren't really any unusual traditions or campus locations.

    What to do for fun

    Fraternities and Sonorities throw parties through out the week. There's a club just 10 mins driving distance away that throws parties every week end. Plus, Charlotte is just 35 mins to 45 mins away.

    Food and Dining

    Livingstone just upgraded the cafeteria last spring semester to a new and improved cafe. The cafe offers pizza, deli sandwiches, Chinese food, various deserts, as well as various delicious main course. If that's not good enough, there's a sonic and Italy cafe less than five minutes in walking distance. Also, dominoes delivers to the campus.

    Dorm Life

    The college has 3 girls dormitories 2 boys dormitories and 1 coed dormitory. The one co-ed dormitory is for students who have an or above an 3.0 GPA. Although every dormitory isn't in excellent condition, they're in manageable living conditions.

    Academic Rigor

    Livingstone College has a program, the bridge program where the college offers a number of students who have under an 2.0 GPA coming out of high school an opportunity to make up for the low GPA. Even though the required GPA is 2.0; Livingstone is willing to work with students who have lower than an 2.0. To sum up, Livingstone is a college that doesn't judge a student based on they're low GPA in high school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't judge the college by the way certain buildings look; it's an small private college. Also, don't focus on the negative, focus more on the positive. Last, keep a uplifting attitude, study, and ask questions if you don't understand something.

    In three sentences

    Livingstone College is a great HBCU for students who were underachievers in high school. Livingstone also is a great college to play boys/girls basketball for. Last, Livingstone College will give you an great college experience.

  • 12/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety to be honest i dont think they be doing their job unless they write a report.

    Greek Life

    The fraternities and sororites are pretty good on campus. They try to have activites on campus so the students can enjoy themselves.

    Clubs and Activities

    They are pretty good. The fraternities and sororities are the most involve with the activities on campus

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The store near the Honors Dorms and Sonic Resturant

    Bang for the buck

    Nothing really bt always spend your money wisely

    What to do for fun

    Well besides the parties on Thursdays that they plan for the college at the club there isnt much to do on campus unless you go off campus

    Food and Dining

    The cafe at Livingstone College is pretty good but at times they do slack off. I wish we had more food resturants near the campus just in case we get hungry.

    Dorm Life

    I say one of the best female dorms at Livingstone College called Goler Hall. The only thing i can say about the dorm there are always drama but other than that the rooms are nice.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics is the best part of the school. The professors at Livingstone mostly help you during and after class. They have business hours so i give it dha opportunity to use it

    Tips for prospective students

    If you trying to enroll to Livingstone College have your information ready and dont let them get your parents information messed up. Also dont let them mess up your FASFA form.

    In three sentences

    Livingstone is a great school so far as i been here. They have little classrooms with professors that help you with the work. They also have a one to one learnin experience at the school

  • 03/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    It's fun I just don't see myself entering the greek life anytime soon.

    Clubs and Activities

    Join a sport team it will help you relax.

    Great for these types of students

    Partying

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Honor dorms are the best thing that we have going over here.

    What to do for fun

    Go to Charlotte enjoy yourself by doing certain extra activities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focus and don't let the concepts of getting to college affect you.

    In three sentences

    Livingstone is a college that can do much better. Its graduation rate is terrible and people tend to lack the meaning of life. Something need to change here.

  • 03/29/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    13 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Will learn a lot

    Can someone please let me know how do you apply for those scholarships this website listed above ?

  • 06/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    On the campus, there are many things to do. We constantly plan activities that everyone on campus can participate in. Nobody will be left out and everyone enjoys themselves.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you choose to attend Livingstone College, you will need to be level-headed. The faculty and staff will welcome you with open arms but will mold you into an individual that will become successful once you graduate.

    Bang for the buck

    Livingstone College has one of the cheapest tuitions. This makes it affordable for students all over to come an get an education.

    Am enjoying being here

    The students are what make the campus. This small campus enables everyone to know someone. The students are close so therefore there is a family type setting.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors have rigorous lessons that are taught on a daily basis. Each course is designed to challenge students and perpares them for life post college.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there's alot to do on the yard but it really depends on student life.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay on some days.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is the best, make sure you have germ spray and tons of it. The bathrooms can get really bad. Keep your room as clean as possible.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are okay but as long as you do your work and talk to your teachers things should be okay.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Don't get caught up in the drinking and smoking. 2.stay focus and do all work with in the week its giving. 3. Party less and study more. 4.friends come and go so don't think that you need to have a group, be yourself.

    In three sentences

    Livingstone college is a okay school. Its a couple of things that would change to make it better. Remodeling Livingstone college would help the school grow and become better than it is now.

  • 07/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Athletes arent helped out alot.

    Great for these types of students

    African Americans

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The sororities are not as entertaing ans they should be but choir and band are pretty good.

    What to do for fun

    Sports activities are the only thing to do for fun.

    Food and Dining

    There is only one place to eat on campus and its not very appetizing.

    Dorm Life

    Not many rules. They are close to all of our classrooms. They are helpful with moving your stuff.

    Academic Rigor

    There isnt many options at livingstone but there basics.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring your own computer and printer. Keep up with your classes. Bring your own entertainment.

    In three sentences

    The falculty and staff can be more organized and helpful. The on campus dorms are nice and very useful. Classes are easy and teachers could be more helpful.

  • 07/07/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    17 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    For prospective students I would tell you that livingstone college looks like it would be a great place to learn and recieve your bachelor degree at

    In three sentences

    From what I seen about livingstone college on the computer i would rate it a 5 out of 5

  • 10/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    We have Greek life here. They are not as noticeable as they are at other schools but because this is a small school you know who they are. Some of the fraternities and sororities are active on campus to have events for students to have fun.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are few clubs and activities to get involved in but you have to ask about them. You have to ask around to see if there is something that fits your style of interest.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out, attend sport events, play cards, go to concord mall in Concord, NC, or go to Charlotte, NC and find fun in the city.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good. The food can be repetitive and inconsistent at times. We do have a decent variety of food you can choose from.

    Dorm Life

    There are a couple of dorms that are pretty nice and comfortable. Most need to refurbished.

    Academic Rigor

    I would give the academic rigor here at Livingstone College as a whole between 3.5 to 4 stars. Depending on what field of study you get into, some professors hold very high standards to their students and expect high grades nothing less which makes the academic rigor close to 5 stars. Especially if you plan on being in the Criminal Justice and Sociology Department.

    Tips for prospective students

    At Livingstone College, it is structured mostly to be a total learning environment. If other college and universities did not accept you because of low GPA in H.S or you did not have the funds, Livingstone will accept you but once you get here, during the course of your enrollment, you will have to find loans, scholarships, and grants to help deduct the debt you owe the college. Enrollment a year is close to 1,100 students so everybody will eventually know everybody or at least be acquainted.

    In three sentences

    Livingstone College is a non party environment. Definitely a school where there is more than enough time to be studious and be on top of school work. If you can make it through all four or five years at Livingstone College, you can make it anywhere.

  • 02/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus is not all that safe, locals can walk on the camps and do just about anything they want. we've had many many fights and the campus security doesnt put fourth the effort to help.

    Greek Life

    our Greeks are pretty boring. i mean certain ones are out and doing things to keep the students entertained. the que dogs are the best and only good frat we have on the yard.

    Clubs and Activities

    we have many clubs and a lot of activities to do on campus. our teachers and counselors make sure that we have things to participate in so we wont be bored

    What to do for fun

    there isnt really anything to do for fun expect the games and then any activites that they are having

    Food and Dining

    the food is not all that good. they serve the same thing just about everyday. only on special occasions will they cook something good

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are pretty decent. i mean they could be better but there nice size rooms. the bathrooms could be better also and the showers are cold most of the time.

    Academic Rigor

    the teachers here do a good job on making sure we know everything we need to know when we come to class. they take the time out to help us with anything we need help with, so that we wont be behind.

    Tips for prospective students

    If your not trying to get an educatio then i wouldnt sign up here. livingstone is all about help its students go above and beyond there potential.

    In three sentences

    livingstone college is an okay college. it may not be what you expect but like i tell others i what you make it when you come here. but they will make you feel at home.

  • 08/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    camps security is great

    Greek Life

    AMAZINGGGGG!!!!!!! S/O to the men of Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity Inc.

    Clubs and Activities

    its always something to do

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Assembly every Wednesday at 11am

    Bang for the buck

    THis school is wayyyy too expensive!

    What to do for fun

    It's always something going on on campus! Events, parties, Talent shows, Fashion shows, Modeling shows, Socials, EVERYTHING.

    Food and Dining

    Every fast food & restaurant you can think of is in Salisbury LITERALLY

    Dorm Life

    For girls its 5 stars for boys its 3!

    Academic Rigor

    Great!

    Tips for prospective students

    GO TO CLASS! it gets challenging but the work can be a breeze if you pay attention.

    In three sentences

    I Overall, I love Livingstone College! A lot of people talk bad about this school but you have to see for yourself! It's actually a beautiful campus I wouldn't want to be anywhere else!

  • 11/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    honestly, there's not much to do. you would have a lot or organizations and get involved to never be bored.

    Food and Dining

    the food is alright. we have breakfast, lunch, and dinner at certain times. Once the caf���© closes from dinner, I hope you have plenty of food in your room or have money to go to near by restaurants

    Dorm Life

    I stay in honors dorms and I happen to love it. I have a room to myself and I share a bathroom with one other person

    Academic Rigor

    the classes are not hard and teachers are willing to work with you. all you have to do is come to class and teachers are willing to give an extra few points just because you came to class.

    Tips for prospective students

    get involved on campus. make friends, get to know the faculty and staff. You'll never know who will throw you money for school by just getting to know people

    In three sentences

    Livingstone is ok. its a pretty small classes, so its not a lot of walking. everyone basically knows everyone.

  • 11/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Already in this short school year people have got shot and also stabbed. Seems like the police live on campus because they are here so much.

    Greek Life

    Seems like fun I can't really tell.

    Clubs and Activities

    Flag football seemed like fun and we rarely have any parties or events due to the behavior of the students.

    Great for these types of students

    If your looking to boost your GPA to transfer yes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Goose pimple time when we sing the Alma Mater and weekly assembly.

    Bang for the buck

    Not for this amount when you could go else where for a lower price like A&T or NCCU or WSSU and have a better experience.

    What to do for fun

    Homework and that is saying something.

    Food and Dining

    Not much I need to say having one star. I don't eat the food I have to buy food. The food here is terrible only good day is fried chicken Wednesday.

    Dorm Life

    Small rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    Not hard just do all your work on time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research other schools first visit their campus and check out Livingstone's campus.

    In three sentences

    The school overall I would give a C- or D+ do to the fact or no transportation, location, and the food we are served. Livingstone could do a lot better then what is being done. I often ask myself where does my 23,000 go its not in the dorms nor class but to the personal.

  • 12/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security does a decent job of securing buildings and campus property so that the students and faculty is safe. Not many out of the ordinary safety issues occur during the school years

    Greek Life

    Slow Greek life, only certain organizations participate in national programs, however, other fundraisers are held for fun.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs and organizations to join. This is suggested to the student that is interested in staying active. Sports teams are very fun.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Often we hang outside in the pavilion and play cards and other games and activities, or at the bear in front of campus where we can look out in to the city of Salisbury.

    Bang for the buck

    Financial Aid is available, and very much needed. You have to work to make the money work for you.

    What to do for fun

    Hang with friends, spend time reading up on future assignments, Fraternity affiliation.

    Food and Dining

    Hit or Miss. Café environment is comfortable, more options could be available.

    Dorm Life

    Students on campus encourage a very family-like atmosphere. Making friends is not hard. Dorms are comfortable, for the old structure. Honors dorms are co-ed, so allows, different social opportunities.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are easy to create a name for yourself and to feel proud of your hard work, but it is easy to fall off track.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not get distracted by foolish things that happen around, here, or at any university.

    In three sentences

    Livingstone College is a great environment to find yourself, all redeemed students can come to this institution to start anew and become the best student (and person) they desire. The campus life allows you to make mature decisions on choosing social or academic life, the choice is yours. Choose wisely.

  • 01/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Several officers are on duty and their is a security office upon entering the campus where you must show ID or Driver's License when picking up a student or being the student itself ID must be shown.

    Greek Life

    Several Sororities and Fraternities to join from if that's what your choose to do. They put on several shows and also have celebrities come in and do shows for the school as well.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's always something coming on; on campus and either there games home or away. If you should choose you can decide to leave campus for other activities off campus as well.

    What to do for fun

    The College has a recreation center and they have alot of activities going on like several sports throughout the year. Students are able to travel on several buses to away games and also a transportation bus that takes sutdents around Salisbury to going shopping eatting, etc.

    Food and Dining

    Great Cafe life. We have a wide variety of food daily and a wide spread of good home cooked meals. They prepare three meals a day and that is included with the cost of tuition so that no one is without food during the semester. We only have snacks in our dorms, should we get hungry between classes.

    Dorm Life

    Having a great roommate is the best part is making it easy transitioning from home to dorm life. I am thankful that not only I have a great roommate but we now a brother bond that we have each others back. Its hard adjusting to leaving home but a friendship makes the move even better.

    Academic Rigor

    Always stay ahead of the game. Do work on time without putting it off. Continue to do your work and always be in class. Attendance is a major part of you knowing your class work and what your grade outcome will be.

    Tips for prospective students

    Outline your career path and see if Livingstone College has what you are majoring in. Look online for tuition, distance and living area or location. Seek other Livingstone students and see what their experiences are and their majors. Take a campus tour and talk with trained staff of what you would like your overall college experience wants to be.

    In three sentences

    The faulty and staff at Livingstone are caring and encouraging to new incoming freshmen students. There is always someone not far should you not understand your class, financial aid, etc. The school always offer activities for the students that stay on campus and all games are free admission for students.

  • 03/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Get into sports or an extracurricular activity.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to all of your labs, and a few study sessions if you need help because they are available.

    In three sentences

    Livingstone College is a great school to attend if you perform better at a slow pace because the school is small, and there is a lot of help all over campus. Majority of the students at Livingstone are friendly and the upperclassman try to give insight on the school to better prepare you for your years to come. Students should finish college on time because the staff members are eager to help you get ahead.

  • 03/30/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Livingstone has security on campus so I do feel comfortable and safe. I know that I can call on them at anytime and I will get a quick response.

    Greek Life

    Livingstone has a number of sororities on campus. You do have to meet specific requirements in order to join but they at very prevalent on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a number of clubs on campus. I love to attend the sporting events on campus and have traveled with the teams to other colleges. I love our school spirit.

    What to do for fun

    Although Livingstone is located in a rural area, there are restaurants, malls and theaters that you can go to for fun. Livingstone does offer a shuttle service so if you plan ahead you can go off campus and enjoy some of the local stores. We do have movie night and various events on campus for entertainment,

    Food and Dining

    The meals at Livingstone are included in the tuition cost but the variety of the meals served needs to be vastly improved. As an adult, I would like to have healthy meals, salads, smoothies, etc. The lines are always long so most of the time I order carry out. I would like to see a food court like they have on other campuses.

    Dorm Life

    As a freshman, I currently stay on campus and it has been a frustrating experience. I have reported a number of issues to my Resident Assistant and they are not addressed in a timely manner. For instance, one out of of three toilets and showers sometime work at any given time. As a result, I had to change my schedule so I'm not late for class due to the traffic jam in the bathroom. We are constantly threatened that we will be fined if we don't keep the bathrooms clean. For all the money that we pay to this institution, we should not be responsible for cleaning the restrooms at any time.

    Academic Rigor

    Livingstone offers scholarships for freshman students which was a big financial help for me. I love that I'm taking all of my classes with a specific group of students. We hold study groups together since we all take the same classes and I love the student services center. The professors are great but it's frustrating when you can't get the books you need for a class because the book store has run out.

    Tips for prospective students

    The Admission Staff at Livingstone is awesome. They are very pleasant, professional and guided me step by step on the enrollment process to make my admission a smooth transition. If you are entering Livingstone in the Fall of 2014, I do recommend that you attend the first orientation session in June. This will give you the opportunity to get all of your paperwork in on time, see the campus, and get all of your financial and housing needs addressed before the masses arrive in August. Most people wait until the last session and it can be very chaotic because you are competing with hundreds of other students.

    In three sentences

    I am a freshman at Livingstone and I'm very pleased with the overall experience thus far. I love the small campus life, the faculty is very professional and supportive and I've made a lot of friends. I would give Livingstone a 3 out of 5 stars.

  • 10/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    it's pretty safe. security is on campus all the time and they don't allow just anyone on the campus without an ID from the school.

    Food and Dining

    Some days the food is good, some days it isn't.

    In three sentences

    if you like being in a small environment then this is the school for you. it's in a small town with not a lot of things to do. the best thing is that classes are fairly easy if you pay attention.