Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Lock Haven University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 04/03/2010

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 out of 11 people found this review useful. 1 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are a student who is looking for a great future and is willing to do the necessary work for four years to achieve your goals, this college will be great for you. If you're interested in a lot of peer-to-peer and teacher/student interaction, Lock Haven offers nothing short of that. They have promised all of their students as much support as can possibly be administered not only before and during school, but afterwards as well when you are ready to pursue a job in your field.

    Tips for prospective students

    If Lock Haven ranks among your top choices for college, I strongly encourage you continue to research each college and visit them as well. Choosing a college will be much easier for schools that you have both visited and researched.

    Bang for the buck

    College isn't cheap, I think everyone could agree on that for the most part. However, I will say that Lock Haven ranks among the most affordable considering what they have to offer.

    Will enjoy being here

    Campus life seems to be very welcoming. With many different clubs, organizations, on-campus jobs, and other opportunities for students, I can't see myself losing interest in my education or stay on campus at Lock Haven.

    Will learn a lot

    After visiting campus, I am nearly 100% satisified with the available programs. In addition to the available programs, Lock Haven offers a small, yet welcoming campus with fewer than average class sizes compared to other colleges and universities. Small class size gives more student/teacher interaction that will assist in the learning process.

  • 01/06/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 out of 10 people found this review useful. 2 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Well I don't exactly know what these types of students would prefer, but I do recommend that English majors consider this school, there are some really cool professors here!

    Tips for prospective students

    Join clubs and don't be afraid to go out and try different activities. There is so much to do academically, but Lock Haven also provides so much to do extracurricularly. Don't be afraid to talk to people and make friends, it will help make your experiences the best years of your lives!

    Am enjoying being here

    For me, the saving grace was joining a club that required it's members to come in a week or two before school actually started. It helped me to make friends and learn how to make my way around campus. But even after school started, the school made it an enjoyable experience by making sure that there is plenty to do.

    Am learning a lot

    After coming straight off of high school I didn't exactly know what to expect from college, but Lock Haven certainly set the bar high. Yes, there are a few professors who are just there to earn a paycheck, but there are also those who love what they do and are excited to teach it to you.

  • 07/16/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 3 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Lock Haven University is great for anybody who is used to a small town lifestyle and smaller class sizes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Dont' let the bland website fool you! Lock Haven is really an exciting place full of great, small-town people and a high quality education.

    Bang for the buck

    I can honestly say that Lock Haven University, being one of the Pennsylvania State Schools, is one of the cheapest institutions in Pennsylvania that offers a high quality education that will help its students compete in the job market.

    Am enjoying being here

    It being summer, I cannot wait until I return for the fall. The friends I have met there will definitely be so for my entire life, and the community is outstanding. A small town filled with natural beauty and kind people, Lock Haven provides a hometown feeling with its local restaurants, stores, and activities. Campus is clean, very safe, and very welcoming!

    Am learning a lot

    Classes at Lock Haven University seem to be top notch; the professors are caring and experienced in their fields, program administrators are courteous and more than willing to help with anything, and the subject matter is in depth with no cut corners. The professors are not only approachable, but they will approach their students with great opportunities, academic or not.

  • 06/08/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 9 people found this review useful. 4 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Small campus, small classes, mostly computer assignments, dorms ok

  • 12/06/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 5 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Small town area everybody gets to know everyone in there major it is really nice.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early.

    Bang for the buck

    Really low cost school but for what i pay it is a good University.

    Am learning a lot

    I like what I have learned here it is a good University for it's size.

  • 12/28/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 5 people found this review useful. 6 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is good for those who likes to the environment

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure your ready for college. College is not just about partying and making friends, its about your education. Make sure you dont make stupid mistakes like underage drinking

  • 03/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    LHU security fits the needs of the students well. We have blue light buttons that contact campus security in every dorm and building on campus, we have ID scanners that will only work on IDs of that particular dorm, our campus security is always mobile, and we are in a small town with a very low crime rate. Students are extremely safe here at LHU!

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is always an exciting part of our college, we have a variety of sororities and fraternities that always work hand in hand to make the school a better place!

    Clubs and Activities

    We have over 100 clubs and activities as well as Greek life! If you want to make a club of your own the University gives you an opportunity to do just that! Just get involved, it makes college THAT much better!

    Great for these types of students

    Lock Haven is perfect for the inquisitive learner. With small class sizes and an at home feel, students feel less pressure to compete with peers and feel more at ease to ask questions.

    Bang for the buck

    Lock Haven University is just what every college should be. High quality AFFORDABLE education. It's absolutely the perfect place to be for a great learning experience without burning a hole in your pocket!

    What to do for fun

    With a large range of clubs and activities, there's always something fun to do at LHU! Not a club person? We have a movie theater and stores to shop around in downtown Lock Haven. If you're more the outdoorsy type we have the Susquehanna right beside campus, an excellent place for hiking, fishing, or just a stroll along the Levee. We also have the Rec center which is open every day, student can play a variety of sports, work out or climb our 30 ft rock wall for fun!

    Food and Dining

    Bentley has great food! With a wide variety of different items a student can find just about whatever's appealing to their appetite! Also, the Starbucks in Lower Bentley is a great place if you need a pick-me-up or nice place to study.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at LHU is my favorite part about school! This is where you meet your friends that will become you're life long companions! Everyday is made brighter by your floor mates and you'll start to see them less as peers and more as family throughout the year!

    Academic Rigor

    Lock Haven University takes great pride in its ability to educate young men and women and prepare them for their future in the real world. The smaller class sizes give students more of an opportunity to learn and the brilliance of the faculty enhances the experience further. As a student, one will feel strong in their education here at LHU.

    Tips for prospective students

    A few tips for prospective students would be to apply early so you have a higher chance of acceptance and try and have an interesting application because the Admissions office looks at thousands of applications a year, be sure you have something special in there that sparks their interest!

    In three sentences

    Lock Haven Unversity is a diverse learning environment filled with knowledgable and respectable faculty and staff. It is less like an educational facility and more like a home filled with friendly students who will become your best friends! LHU, or as we say, The Haven is also great because of its smaller class sizes which help students maintain focus as well as various clubs and organizations to become involved in!

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Anything really, they have a theatre and theres always gyms open and it looks like there is always something to do.

    Food and Dining

    Whenever I ate there at open house I was beyond pleased, it was great food and cooked so good

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are GREAT! Lock Haven is building brand new dorms/suites for students and they are absolutely beautiful.

    Academic Rigor

    Like any other school there are some qualifications, but they also have a great honors program i am planning on attending if i get accepted

    Tips for prospective students

    If youre looking for a small campus lifestyle with a large campus program of studies then this is the school for you.

    In three sentences

    I have been to the campus and checked everything out! I cant wait to attend here in the fall, my family and I visited and we are all very pleased with the school. I was torn between here and Penn State Altoona but after visiting and all I knew where I belonged, Lock haven

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Do stuff outside. Take advantage of the small campus, meet new people, and float down the dike.

    Food and Dining

    Food is great when people are touring. On other days it's alright.

    Dorm Life

    I met awesome people in my dorm and others. The activities are fun and it's a great way to make friends.

    Academic Rigor

    I started as a teaching major, so I've taken courses mainly focusing on that. In that aspect the classes and teachers are wonderful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved. If you stay in your dorm the whole time you won't enjoy your time there.

    In three sentences

    Lock Haven has a beautiful campus that is both small and rewarding. The class sizes are suitable for my needs and the teachers are great for the most part. I wasn't sure how I would like Lock Haven, but it's become my home; I'm on vacation right now and I cannot wait to go back.

  • 06/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I haven't run into any danger since attending Lock Haven.

    Greek Life

    Zeta Phi Beta, Phi Beta Sigma,

    Clubs and Activities

    Black Student Union, Sophisticated Ladies, Lyrically Speaking, Multicultural Diversity Club, Health Science Club, Drama Club, Rock Climbing club, Diamonds in da Ruff dance group, No Label Royalty modeling club, and sports club.

    What to do for fun

    Get involved is my answer. There are lots of organizations and team clubs that anyone can join.

    Food and Dining

    The food at LHU isn't that bad. It is very tolerable and sometimes very delicious.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are manageable. Some of the RA's can be a little difficult to agree with and others are awesome to deal with.

    Academic Rigor

    My major is Health Science and the classes are very challenging. Especially Principles of Biology and Anatomy is not that hard. If you plan on attending LHU you will be paying for a great education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students that will soon be attending LHU come prepared. You will be faced with obstacles that will be challenging to get through but never give up.

    In three sentences

    Lock Haven University (LHU) is a small university; the atmosphere is lovely and the people are kind as well. There are a lot of activities to do at LHU and organizations for you to join.

  • 10/10/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It's SOOOO Affordable! There were many schools that I was interested in attending but realistically they were too expensive. Lock Haven is incredibly expensive for Out-of state-ers and I'm thankful for that!

    Will enjoy being here

    I come from New York City, the big apple, the tourist attraction of the world, but when I visited Lock Haven U. I felt like none of that even mattered. I loved the environment; the small town feel made me want to stay their forever. I can't wait to pack up my things and start the next chapter of my life in Lock Haven, PA.

  • 11/03/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    12 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The campus is located in a cute small town. The professors, from what I have seen at my visit, are friendly and know what they are talking about. The atmosphere has a family feel to it. You will have no problems fitting in here.

  • 01/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    it's central pa, that about sums it up.

    Clubs and Activities

    tons of clubs and it's easy to make your own!

    Great for these types of students

    hunters, runners, hikers

    Bang for the buck

    cheapest 4 year school in the state!

    What to do for fun

    go out and join clubs, it's the easiest way to meet people with similar interests and find out where the people you like hang out.

    Food and Dining

    bentley has very good days and usually provides decent options for meat-eaters. as a vegetarian i often leave hungry and dissatisfied.

    Dorm Life

    some dorms are very nice but most freshman wind up at the top of the hill which is a hike and is especially unpleasant when the stairs become icy.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes aren't difficult if you show up and do the work, it's that simple.

    Tips for prospective students

    be prepared that you won't have as much fun as your friends from other schools unless you like outdoor activities.

    In three sentences

    it is a small, rural, inexpensive school. the professors care about you. there is very little to do socially at lhu.

  • 02/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    for the most part, the campus safety is generally helpful. they are mostly looking to write tickets and bust parties. if you have a problem, you have to go to them, they will not go to you.

    Clubs and Activities

    clubs are the best place for students to meet, socialize and find new things to do around the college with little to no cost out of the students pocket.

    Bang for the buck

    with most colleges prices sky-rocketing, and degree from lock haven is as good as any with a low, affordable price. also, programs such as study abroad can help students travel for the same price as tuition.

    What to do for fun

    there's always movies and performances being played for free at the school auditorium. along with social gathering and student projects for people to participate. also, school funded clubs are always holding activities or outings for all students.

    Food and Dining

    the food is good and always getting better. there is a large selection of food for the carnivores and the vegetarians. also, most of the food is health conscience with low fats and oils if you know where to go for your food.

    Dorm Life

    quiet, most people who live in the dorms respect the rules set my the hall directors and ras. the rooms are spacious and comfortable. depending on what hall your reside in, you may have a distance to walk to class.

    Academic Rigor

    go to class, take notes, and the tests will come easy. also, the more prior experience you have the better, lock haven courses can vary but for the most part they are more in depth lectures of previous lessons taught in previous academic settings.

    Tips for prospective students

    find something productive to do in your spare time and try to make friends. the more productive activities you are in, the less time you have to get in trouble.

    In three sentences

    lock haven is a great, small community school. no matter what you major is, other professors will help you if you need academic help. professors at lock haven university are highly experienced in their fields of study.

  • 02/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there really isnt a whole lot to do on campus and in town, but they do show movies and if you like nature it is a beautiful place to go.

    Food and Dining

    the food and dining on campus are pretty good, there are four places you can eat on campus as well as a starbucks! if you dont like any of these options there are all the fast food places you could want in town.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are always clean and neat, the room sizes are reasonable and for the most part you get a great experience.

    Academic Rigor

    the teachers are really helpful and always available but with the budget cuts the class sizes are becoming much bigger

    Tips for prospective students

    make friends, it is essential to your growth and enjoyment of your college career.

    In three sentences

    one of the cleanest, most welcoming environments a new college student could want.

  • 03/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Being in the shadier parts of campus can be scary, especially for a female. Speaking as a male myself, I recognize how scary it might be walking alone at night. There are frequent patrols of police cars, and emergency buttons around campus, however.

    Greek Life

    The Greek Life is pretty active on campus, staging barbecues and clean-up event often.

    Clubs and Activities

    Such a wide variety is offered, and one can easily start their own.

    Great for these types of students

    Self-reliant, Able to learn by looking at a textbook, education majors.

    Bang for the buck

    The school's in-state tuition is so low that it is worth it to go to, especially if you wish to study education. For a hard science or art, however, you may wish to consider other options.

    What to do for fun

    At LHU, there are plenty of clubs and organizations to join (The website has a full list!) and it is easy to start your own. There is a state-of-the-art fitness center including a climbing wall. Other than those things, there is absolutely nothing to do. The town is an old mining town, and now the only thing keeping it alive is the university.

    Food and Dining

    The primary eatery on campus is Bentley Hall. The quality of food there is about equal to a typical high school menu. They do taste good, but they can bring even the most hardened bellies to their end. Not all is bad, however. The deli offers fresh lunch meats that never disappoint in a wrap or sandwich. At breakfast, there is a grill where one can order a freshly made omelet. Sometimes at dinner there are home-made meals made in the Home zone section. These meals are a guessing game for your taste buds.If all else fails, there is always a cereal buffet.

    Dorm Life

    I live in Smith Hall and I like it well enough. The good things about it include the following: Closeness to classes, aesthetics, friendly staff. If these were the only important factors of living, I would be in paradise, but there is more to living standards than nice people. The internet connection is a hassle to set up and is atrociously slow. The floors and ceilings are not sound insulated, and there is no way to keep cool in the summer. The worst thing about living on campus is the cargo train that rolls by at all hours of the day and night with it's screaming horn.

    Academic Rigor

    I am very disappointed with Lock Haven's chemistry program. Though it is certified by the American Chemical Society, it does not teach as thoroughly as I wish it would. I have, however, only completed one year of their courses though. For me, the classes are not rigorous enough. The math department has also failed to give me the education I desire. I am in calculus two and my section is the only section being taught. One class of 45 students makes it difficult to compare relative position in the curriculum, but as stated by the syllabus, we are three sections behind where we should be.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attending Lock Haven for teaching or physical education is a great idea. The teachers are likable, the campus is nice, and the residence halls are pretty comfortable (except for when it's really hot). Try to get into Smith or Woolridge halls, as they are newer and are close to all of the buildings where classes are taught. One of the most important things about college is being able to occupy your time with something constructive; doing so at Lock Haven is difficult at times. Outside of the fitness center and school-affiliated programs and clubs (which are plentiful) there is absolutely nothing to do. The town is culturally barren and the nearest attractions are in state college thirty minutes away.

    In three sentences

    Lock Haven University has an aesthetically pleasing campus and infrastructure. In terms of academics, there is more to be desired; the math department in it's entirety is awful, but the sciences are mostly well taught. The only qualm I have with the sciences is that some sections of the textbook for a given class are not covered.

  • 04/02/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    17 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The Roxy Walks on the dike! State College

    Food and Dining

    Did not dine on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I lived off campus, so I cannot comment on dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor is subjective. My classes were difficult as a Health Science major (but I was interested so I enjoyed learning.)

    Tips for prospective students

    Eat at Fox's!

    In three sentences

    Small town Kind faculty Great learning environment

  • 05/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Not that expensive and many opportunities to have a work study and scholarships

    What to do for fun

    Work out, party, movies.

    Food and Dining

    Food is always good.

    Dorm Life

    New suites are being built

    Academic Rigor

    You get that 1 on 1 attention from every professor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask for help.

    In three sentences

    Lock haven is fun. Lock haven is diverse. You will make life long friends!

  • 06/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of fun things to do. There is the recreation center which consists of an indoor track, a weight room, basketball, volleyball, and racquetball courts, and a rock wall. Also there is a river which is a beautiful scenery area which is also a great swimming, kayaking, or fishing area.

    Food and Dining

    There is no complaints on my behalf about the food services. There are plenty of options to choose from when it comes to dining.

    Dorm Life

    I've lived in the dorms every year so far. It is a great way to meet new people and the student practically makes a new family.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are always eager to help the students. The work can get tough at times; however, it will show a new side of school most people don't know by challenging the student to open his/her mind.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep an open mind. LHU looks small and calm but when classes start everything is up and buzzing and there is never a boring moment.

    In three sentences

    LHU is extremely friendly and welcoming. LHU will be forever part of my life because of my amazing experiences. LHU is beautiful and small, but there's always something to do.

  • 07/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students that want an education that big universities like Penn State offer, but enjoy a smaller campus should consider their school choice as one of their primary options.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    In the basement of Russell Hall, there is a ghost of a former student named Mary that sometimes appears.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, there are a number of clubs and organizations to join. Two that I joined were Art as a Fashion and Fine Arts Society. Both of these clubs not only provided me with entertainment, but also helped me make new friends. Also, Price Auditorium provides a wide range of movies, comedy skits, concerts, etc. that are fun to watch and get together with friends.

    Food and Dining

    There is a wide variety for food choices. Bentley (the food services building) provides a buffet on the top floor and a few convenient food areas on the bottom floor (including a Starbucks). The breakfasts served in Upper Bentley are especially mouthwatering in my perspective.

    Dorm Life

    The Dorms at Lock Haven University are a relatively friendly environment. However, it can be a little hard to sleep if you are on a noisy floor (even at 2 in the morning. All the dorms on campus also provide students with fun activities like Pie the RA or holiday parties and provide gaming rooms for activities.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the amount of studying and working outside the classroom, the courses can be relatively easy, based on my experience. However, if you are taking studio arts classes (which involve putting together art pieces), it can involve a lot of effort outside the classroom to get a descent grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    Incoming students should try to get plenty of sleep at a reasonable bedtime. This will not only provide a steady sleep cycle so that colds and other sicknesses do not start, but also help students resist the temptation of missing classes. Missing too many classes can eventually grow to undesirable consequences. So, students should be extra sure to attend as many classes as possible. Also, eating healthy choices of food will help provide stamina for class activities and exams. Drinking coffee or other beverages with caffeine beverages at the beginning of the day will help you have energy to begin your school day, but do not try energy drinks. Lastly, try hanging around people that have the same major as you or are in a majority of your classes. This will provide an opportunity to solve potential homework problems and possibly help make the journey a little less difficult.

    In three sentences

    Lock Haven University is a beautiful school in Central Pennsylvania which is great for students, like myself, who enjoy a relatively small college. The small class sizes allow easy one on one contact with teachers. I would rate this school a 4.5 out of 5.

  • 07/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus at Lock Haven is very safe. In such a small community, we do not see crime rates that we do in big cities. By the residence halls, there is a Campus Safety building where officers are always on duty. If you have any problems, want to report a crime, or just need a ride from town, they are just a phone call away. Also, there are squad cars patrolling the campus to ensure that everything is safe for the students of LHU.

    Greek Life

    At Lock Haven, there are several Greek organizations. After successfully completing a full semester, students have the opportunity to join a sorority or fraternity. Contrary to the media's portrayal, our Greeks are not what most are rumored to be. Every group has an affiliation with some charity or worthy cause. Throughout the year, the group raises money and awareness for their cause. Greek organizations are meant to help the community, and create friendships that will last forever.

    Clubs and Activities

    Going into my second year at LHU, I am still discovering more clubs to join and activities to be a part of. There are clubs here for everyone! Some of the many include: Math, Fly-fishing, French and other languages, the Gay-Straight Alliance, religious groups, clubs for every major and concentration, the Sophisticated Ladies, and countless others. You don't have to look hard to find a club you will love at LHU.

    Great for these types of students

    Lock Haven is a wonderful place for all types of students. Whether you are a star athlete, a video gamer, or focused solely on your studies, there are other students, interested in the same things. With hundreds of clubs to join, you can meet people with similar interests and goals for their college experience. Unlike high school, LHU students do not judge or discriminate others. People here are friendly and accepting of everyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    If you are looking for something to do, nearly every Friday and Saturday night, a movie is played in the Price Auditorium. If you want somewhere to go for a quiet walk, you can head over to the levy. Right alongside the Susquehanna River, the levy is a direct route from campus to downtown Lock Haven with a great view of the surroundings.

    Bang for the buck

    Lock Haven is one of the least expensive colleges in all of Pennsylvania. With all of the great amenities you can enjoy as a student, it is definitely worth your money. The academic programs are phenomenal and there is always something to do for everyone. Out of all the universities I visited, you get the most Bang for your Buck at LHU!

    What to do for fun

    If you are finished with homework, and want to have some fun, Lock Haven always has something to do. The Student Recreation Center has an indoor track, three basketball courts, three racquetball courts, stationary bikes and elliptical machines, and a fully furnished weight room. There is also a full-sized, indoor pool right on campus! If you aren't feeling like a workout, you can go to the Parson's Union Building. They have billiard tables, ping-pong, and even the latest video games. LHU also has clubs to join for every hobby you can think of!

    Food and Dining

    If you are hungry in Lock Haven, you have a ton of options! From the cafe to the grill, and the deli to Starbucks, you will never get bored with your food. The most popular place to eat is Upper Bentley. For only $4.60, or one meal swipe, you can enjoy an unlimited buffet of home-cooked meals! They have a salad bar, breakfast bar, and dessert bar all day long. They also have plenty of vegetarian choices. The food on campus is way better, cheaper, and healthier than fast food!

    Dorm Life

    Lock Haven University has many options for student housing. There are suites, on-campus apartment complexes, and traditional dorms. In dorms, students are usually paired with one other, by gender, and they share a single room. The dorms are spacious and well furnished, but there is room for personal furniture and decor. Every floor has a large, shared bathroom, and every residence hall has a kitchen and study areas. Best of all, if you have any trouble with school, or even personal situations, your resident assistants are great people to talk to.

    Academic Rigor

    There is nothing expected of LHU students except their very best effort. The coursework is challenging, but it ensures that you learn the material. With good study habits, and a little hard work, anyone can succeed in their classes. Also, the professors, faculty, and friendly students are always there to help you with anything you need.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are searching for the right university for you, I recommend Lock Haven. The courses here provide many opportunities to succeed in life. Aside from school work, there are always activities being put on by students and local businesses. You will never be bored at Lock Haven!

    In three sentences

    Lock Haven University is a beautiful campus with plenty of academic and athletic opportunities for everyone. From health sciences to theatre and even criminal justice, LHU has nearly every major a student could want. On top of a mountain, the views are spectacular, but campus is only a short walk away from town, where there is always something to do!

  • 09/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    I am currently not in one but I constantly hear cool things about every club. I am thinking about joining the poetry club.

    Bang for the buck

    You get what you pay for and more. You get college and passion. Every aspect of the college life is ran with passion and determination for success. Teachers are very understanding, flexible to students, and passionate about what they teach.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs, go to the recreation center. Hang out and meet new people.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you research your school and go there because you want to go there. Have no fear and believe in your future.

    In three sentences

    Lock Haven is a great school to get your college education. It is gives you the perfect blend of small college and unlimited opportunities. Lock Haven has an awesome atmosphere that promotes success.

  • 09/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Laws are enforced

    Great for these types of students

    athletic

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Haunted trail

    What to do for fun

    Lots of stuff to do and sports to attend.

    Food and Dining

    Dining isn't all that great and it gets boring eating the same thing

    Dorm Life

    Dorms need a little updating

    Academic Rigor

    Lots of opportunities

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard which means no cramming before class starts. Go to the tutoring sessions provided. PAY ATTENTION to the professor when they talk.

    In three sentences

    A good academic school. Some teachers are hard to understand. Living is pretty good.

  • 09/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are an abundance of clubs to join as well as many school sanctioned activities like magic shows, free movies, comedians, and even hypnosis presentations. Not to mention the Friday and Saturday night parties.

    Food and Dining

    I ABSOLUTELY love the food here at LHUP. And there is a wide variety of choices. You can get burgers, cheese steaks, wraps, southern food, Indian food, smoothies, Starbucks, and anything else you can think of.

    Dorm Life

    I live in McEntire Hall and I love it. People are very friendly and there are little to no confrontations. The showers are cleaned everyday and normally there is always something to do in your dorm. Many RA's plan activities for the night and more often than your use to it involves pizza.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics at LHUP are very important. They offer plenty of tutoring if you need it and a 24 hour library for intensive studying. The even offer food for finals when finals week rolls around.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready for the rain and cold. Lock Haven has very unpredictable weather that can go from cold in the morning to very hot in the afternoon to raining in the sunniest of days.

    In three sentences

    Lock Haven University is great for every type of student. Those who want to attend a small school, receive personalized learning, and experience the college life. On top of that, its VERY inexpensive!

  • 10/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very secure and safe. People are always on patrol.

    Greek Life

    There are may different fraternities and sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs to get involved in. Same a sororities, fraternities, and intramurals.

    Great for these types of students

    none.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none.

    Bang for the buck

    It is expensive but it fits well being a state school. You get your moneys worth.

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of events happening in dorms and in the Rec center. Lots of stuff to do. Go for walks along the river, check out the bookstore, or go out to eat at local restaurants.

    Food and Dining

    The food is really good. They have a great variety.

    Dorm Life

    It is very clean and the people are very nice.

    Academic Rigor

    There are a lot of professors that will help you and make you better in your major.

    Tips for prospective students

    You should definitely come here.

    In three sentences

    Lock Haven University has the education that I need to get my degree. The environment is great and beautiful. It is a real change but a good one.

  • 10/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Way better price than private schools, still great education.

    What to do for fun

    Always something going on in the activity department at school. Best part, its cheap!

    Food and Dining

    Good selection.

    Dorm Life

    Not much for living with other people.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are understanding but challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get organize, anatomy and psychology is hard! Learn how to study.

    In three sentences

    Fun place with activity. Great teacher student relationships. A home away from home.

  • 10/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are always activities to do on campus. The sports teams are always playing and there are guest speakers all the time also. There is also the REC center where you can go play games with all friends and even get involved with intermurals.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is actually very good. There is a buffet style dining upstairs that offers many great food options. Also, there is a lower dining hall that is more like a restaurant type thing that is grab and go but very good.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice here, some are a little small and cramped. The new suites are very nice but a little more expensive. The regular dorms are livable and are not that bad at all.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at this school are great. If you are happening to struggle with any classes the teachers are more than welcome to help you. There are also many tutoring services and help centers that can help you do many things also.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are an incoming student, be sure to make friends as soon as possible. Be very sociable and dont be afraid to talk to anyone because they are very welcoming and inviting.

    In three sentences

    Lock Haven University has one of the most beautiful campuses I have ever seen. There are so many things that can be done on campus and off also. The people are very friendly and make you feel at home also.

  • 11/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Highly efficient.

    Greek Life

    So many different sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs on campus, you are sure to find something you enjoy!

    Great for these types of students

    Art clubs for art majors, and so on.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Lock Haven University openly excepts people from many diverse backgrounds. It does not matter where you are from. Everyone is seen as special.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition rate here is great!

    What to do for fun

    Go downtown and go shopping. Go to the movies. Go downtown to eat. Hang out on campus with friends at the rec center.

    Food and Dining

    Four Stars.

    Dorm Life

    Five Stars.

    Academic Rigor

    Five Stars.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come prepared. Develop good study habits.

    In three sentences

    I enjoy going to this college. The teachers are friendly. The class sizes are just right.

  • 12/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is very good but very picky. If you have a car on campus make sure you have the parking pass up at all times or they will give you a ticket. But overall they are very good.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a variety of clubs and activities here. There is a club for almost everything. Make sure to join a few so you don't end up bored.

    Great for these types of students

    Lock Haven is great for all types of students.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't to much to do around here for fun. You basically have to be able to make your own fun. Walking around town is nice even though it is very small but the movie theater is cheap.

    Food and Dining

    The food here doesn't taste very well. They do have a good variety of foods but if you have special needs for example you are a vegan you have to talk to the dietitian because there are barely any choices of food that you would be able to eat. Lower Bently has fast food type areas and I would say that the food in lower is a lot better then the food in Upper Bently which is the cafeteria style eating.

    Dorm Life

    Three of the dorms MacEntire Hall, North Hall, and High hall are all up 180 steps and it takes a lot of energy to reach them. But over all the dorms here are nice, they have a good sized room and a lounge in all of the dorms. Heating in the winter is good but there is no air conditioning in the summer unless you live in the suites so make sure you have a fan.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics here are very good. The professors will help you if you ask. Unlike a lot of other colleges the class size is very decent and acceptable unless you like large classes. But overall you will learn a lot here.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips for prospective students would be to make sure you do well on your SATs. While you're in college make sure you make time to study and always do your work because most professors do not take late work. Become organized and manage your time wisely.

    In three sentences

    Lock Haven has a nice small campus. Lock Haven has decent class sizes. You get a good education at Lock Haven.

  • 01/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel very safe on campus, even at night. There are lights everywhere and since it's a a small town, I'm not worried about walking around by myself.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall doesn't have the greatest food but there are lots of choices to pick from. There is a Starbucks on campus and it is always packed, but well worth it!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are pretty old and fairly small. The RA's do their best to be interactive with their residents and make living there enjoyable.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors can be very strict but I've also had professors that are very easy going and make the learning environment a good one. You can't slack off and skip class or you will fall behind but most teachers are willing to help you if you go to them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure every possible career choice has a major at Lock Haven. Don't be afraid to join clubs and intramural sports, it's one of the best ways to meet new people!

    In three sentences

    I chose Lock Haven because of the gorgeous scenery and friendliness of the staff and students. It is a smaller school but there are always opportunities to meet new people. The professors care a lot about you so don't waste their time or your time.

  • 01/08/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    31 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is pretty safe, not much happened except a few minor things stolen and some unruly drunkards.

    Greek Life

    Its enough to chose from.

    Clubs and Activities

    A large variety to choose from.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students that have the balance between partying and studying, I didn't and it gets lonely if you aren't very social.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Rush Week for sororities and fraternities.

    Bang for the buck

    Its an okay price, but I would suggest going to a cheaper school, but I went on a full scholarship. Its some classes that are not common in other schools like cadaver lab.

    What to do for fun

    The Safe haven plans a lot of events, there are a lot of groups, organizations, sororities and fraternities. Penn State is a near by party school. You can go into town and shop in the little stores and buy food.

    Food and Dining

    The food is buffet, whatever you want. Sometimes choices were slim, there is a cafe under the main dining hall where I ate the most, there is a Starbucks and Freshens and it was pretty cool. But the food get redundant.

    Dorm Life

    I was in Gross Hall and it was exactly that. The bathrooms were horrible. My first roommate was obnoxious and loud. I was with international students which was awesome. Someone stole my shampoo of all things. The kitchenette downstairs was always dirty, the laundry facilities were bright and clean.

    Academic Rigor

    The rigor really depends on the teacher and class. For me, economics was hard because the teacher was a butthead, biology and anatomy was difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you visit the campus and understand a school's strengths in certain majors.

    In three sentences

    I think this school is very rural, beautiful setting but there are parties and clubbing going on. I was not a party person but many students are. The cultural diversity office is very helpful and they were like my go to people for everything.

  • 01/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They're super friendly, and helpful. I locked my keys in my car once and they helped me get them out! They also patrol regularly and are very good at keeping the place safe! \

    Greek Life

    I don't part take, but there's a ton of greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's honestly a club for everything (join your major club)!

    Great for these types of students

    Everyone pretty much enjoys there major here!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I tend to yanno, march to the beat of my own drum, so I really don't take part in much of the traditions. But there's greekweek and home coming and stuff like that going on.

    Bang for the buck

    My family isn't very financially set, so the fact that I could actually afford a college at all, was pretty uplifting.

    What to do for fun

    There's the rec center, and it's free. Go rock climb! If you're not so sporty there's the pub, which is full of video games and other activities and then there's coffee shops and stores in town to check out!

    Food and Dining

    Bently is the only dining choice really, there's a micky d's down the road, but nothing's open late. Get there early and you'll avoid the lines, but also you get sick of it pretty quickly too.

    Dorm Life

    I love my dorm, as well as my roommate. But, if you're going to be dorming with people you know, keep in mind you'll be with each other all the freaking time, better be someone who never gets dull. Also, others in the hall can be loud and annoying, get used to it, sometimes people aren't considerate.

    Academic Rigor

    While there are your core classes, which typically make you go insane, there are some gen ed's that make up for it. But, know that just because the class is easy, you shouldn't take it for granted, everything makes up your gpa!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get an umbrella Get rain boots Studying on the weekends may sound lame, but it's worth it Go to class, the I can make it up attitude will get you terrible grades

    In three sentences

    It's a good school, with many great professors as well as current students. It's been a good time there for me, and it's taught me a lot. I recommend this place to anyone (but, if you don't like rain, I wouldn't suggest).

  • 01/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Leave my apartment doors and car doors unlocked all the time and have never had any problems with it (knock on wood).

    Clubs and Activities

    I run for the cross country team so this isn't my area of expertise, but it seems to me that there is a pretty eclectic collection of clubs. If there's something you like doing, there's probably a club for you here.

    Great for these types of students

    People who love to be outside.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This is an area I wish I could elaborate more on, but Lock Haven doesn't have any special traditions I can think of.

    Bang for the buck

    For as cheap as in state tuition is, I feel I'm getting a pretty solid education that should prepare me for what I'm doing the rest of my life. I run cross country and am busy with running a lot, but when I have free time I fish in one of many local streams. I've hiked a lot and love the natural scenery, and like that in general the student body consists of people like me who don't feel entitled to anything and have to work for what they want.

    What to do for fun

    If you're looking for shopping malls or dance clubs, this is NOT the place for you. That being said, if you're an outdoorsy person that prefers hiking, fishing, hunting, mountain biking, etc. then Lock Haven has your name written all over it.

    Food and Dining

    The main cafeteria, Bentley, provides a pretty good variety of food that varies in quality, but most of the time you can find whatever your taste buds crave on any particular day. Other little places provide various food services, such as starbucks or mexican or pizza or burgers, etc. There are also a few smaller cafeterias located throughout campus.

    Dorm Life

    some dorms are nicer than others. The one I lived in was pretty standard, and was located on a silent study floor, so I did not meet too many people in my dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The gen eds are pretty easy for the most part. The upper level course work is challenging and requires critical thinking, but it is nothing that a student who is interested in that subject shouldn't be able to handle.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to branch out and meet people. Be active, participate in extra-curricular activities because its the experiences and people you meet doing this that really sets apart a college experience that is ok and one that is great.

    In three sentences

    Lock Haven is a great small college with a friendly town, faculty, and solid education. It's surrounded by mountains which are both beautiful and provide for great outdoor opportunities when combined with the activites provided by the Susquehannah River. It is a very quaint college where mostly everyone is friendly.

  • 03/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    LHU has their own police force on campus at all times

    Greek Life

    many sororities and fraternities on campus

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of sports clubs for fun, many groups in and outside of residence halls that plan activities for students.

    Great for these types of students

    Like to see familiar faces in multiple classes, small classrooms, always less than 100 students, mostly less than 30.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Have to cross the railroad track and go a few blocks down into town to one of the buildings, but the trolley will take you there.

    Bang for the buck

    If you live in PA, great value!

    What to do for fun

    Work out at the rec. center, bake cookies, go to the river, got to the Roxy theatre to see a movie, study, watch movies at the Price Auditorium once a month, magician/comedy shows occasionally, concerts for choir and band.

    Food and Dining

    Many places to eat on campus. Food variety is good, many meal plan options.

    Dorm Life

    I love the new suites, the other halls are older, but maintained well and not terrible. The ones on the hill take a while to get to, but there is a trolley service.

    Academic Rigor

    General Ed. requirements aren't as difficult as classes for my major, but you do have to study to get A's and B's.

    Tips for prospective students

    Studying is necessary to keep grades up, try to make friends in every class to study with, check out clubs to fill extra time. Lots of job opportunities if you look hard enough.

    In three sentences

    Great University for Health Sciences, PT, PA, AT, etc. Professors really care, classes are challenging, advisors invest time into students. New residence hall, Fairview Suites is amazing. Little pricey, but totally worth it!

  • 03/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Lock Haven's campus is very safe! There is a yellow emergency box, that allows students to quickly call for help, located on most buildings, and a constant circulation of campus police.

    Greek Life

    The Greek Life on campus is great! Its like your own family, and I highly suggest it to students!

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs and activities on campus are excellent! Lock haven offers 18 Division 1 & 2 Collegiate sports, and over 100 clubs. And if a couple of students want to start their own club the process is fairly easy!

    Great for these types of students

    Lock Haven is great for any student! Because there is such a wide variety of students on campus, the school adapts to all the differences amongst them. However the campus is quite rural, so i would not suggest this school to a city lover!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One of the coolest places at Lock Haven, is the levy that runs along campus. It is a beautiful, well lit 5 mile walk way, that allows students to take a break from the hectic college life.

    Bang for the buck

    The price of Lock Haven is one of its greatest qualities! It offers the state school price, with more of a private school education. Lock Haven is one of the only Pennsylvania state schools that offers the accelerated 5 yr Physician Assistant Program, which is generally only available at private schools.

    What to do for fun

    Because there is not many thing to do in the town of Lock Haven, you must find the right group of people to have fun! With the right people, you can definitely have a good social life on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the main dining hall is average, it is either very good, or really lacking. Fortunately Lock Haven offers many different food options across the campus, giving the food variety, and making it very accessible to students.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms on campus are average. They offer moderate living space, and limited accessories. However, after freshmen year, the options for living get much better!

    Academic Rigor

    The level of academic rigor is dependent on the major the student chooses. However, every teacher at Lock Haven expects a lot from each student, and pushes them to try their hardest! But no matter what, every student on campus can find help if they need it!

    Tips for prospective students

    My two best tips for Lock Haven prospective students is to make sure they are prepared for any weather, because it is always changing, and take advantage of every opportunity given to them on campus!

    In three sentences

    Lock Haven University is a small, welcoming college that provides many opportunities for its students. With its small classes, and excellent professors, Lock Haven is able to focus directly on each student and provide the best academic experience. Its loving atmosphere also allows students to have the best social experience while attending the university.

  • 03/28/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    36 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Lock Haven is an extremely safe campus and the campus police are in a good central location!

    Greek Life

    There really isn't too much Greek life that I noticed, but I do know that the fraternities and sororities that Lock Haven has may be co-ed.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lock Haven University offers just about every club you can imagine. They have a club fair where you can walk around from booth to booth gathering information about every club and signing up for it if you so desire. Also, if a club doesn't exist and you get a certain amount of people to sign a paper saying they would join it you can create that club, and Lock Haven gives you some money to get it started!

    Great for these types of students

    Lock Haven is great for students who prefer smaller class sizes and want to be more then just a number. Lock Haven is also great pick if you want to get involved in different clubs and activities because there are plenty of them!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are many stairs at Lock Haven University, I found this rather odd. After a while I appreciated the work out!

    Bang for the buck

    Lock Haven University gives you an affordable yet quality education, while allowing you to enjoy yourself and make new friends in a wonderful environment.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many different clubs you could join at Lock Haven it is unbelievable. You will always be able to find something to do in whatever free time you have whether it be a club activity or walking around campus enjoying the beauty of it all.

    Food and Dining

    I didn't have a meal plan, but I would occasionally stop by the dining hall to enjoy some of their wonderful food! Also, star bucks is in the lower part of the dining hall and I enjoyed studying for some exams while sipping on some star bucks coffee.

    Dorm Life

    I personally did not live on campus, but I visited some of my friends dorms and thought they were nice. I know that my friends enjoyed the freedom that comes with living away from home.

    Academic Rigor

    Some courses at Lock Haven came naturally to me and I passed them with ease; however, some courses were more challenging and I really had to try my best to excel.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to go to Lock Haven I would recommend learning all you can about their online tools such as 'My Haven' and web mail before you begin your semester. Also, don't be afraid to use the library their are wonderful resources and people to help answer your questions with whatever you may be working on.

    In three sentences

    At Lock Haven small class sizes allow you to rest assured that you will get the one-on-one attention needed to excel. The professors care about you and want to see that you do your best. The campus is located in a beautiful area.

  • 04/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've been to the emergency room twice and Campus Safety made sure I got there.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's one for everyone and there's a fair for them in the fall.

    Great for these types of students

    I've met people from, literally, all over the world here. It's an international campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Walking through Ivy Lane on the way to classes, passing the fountain in the spring and early fall. Walking the levy along the Susquehanna when the leaves change. Ridding the trolley into town.

    Bang for the buck

    An inexpensive school, a state school, with a range of degrees, and professors that actually care.

    What to do for fun

    Programs through the dorms, clubs, intramural sports, work out in the REC, or hang out with new people.

    Food and Dining

    Not the best, but there's plenty of options.

    Dorm Life

    I love it!

    Academic Rigor

    It's challenging but understandable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure this is the right school for you, do your research. The programs here are great but they're not for everyone.

    In three sentences

    Great school. Great professors. Great art program.

  • 05/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I feel as though I really benefit from the learning style of the teachers at Lock Haven. The small class sizes allow for them to spend extra time with you if needed to make sure you truly understand the information.

    In three sentences

    This school is perfect for me. I enjoy the friendly teachers and small class sizes. The campus is also very beautiful with abundant lawns and trees.

  • 05/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I love to hang out with friends. Play basketball, go for a run, go shooting and just be active.

    Food and Dining

    Bentley has some of the best food services around.

    Dorm Life

    I've never experienced the dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent professors and great fellow students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great university lifestyle.

    In three sentences

    A great campus for gaining that college lifestyle. Affordable for the everyday college student. A great place to start and finish your college career.

  • 06/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel safe walking around campus at all times throughout the day and night. There is a comfortable environment that makes it enjoyable. Everyone wants to feel safe at all times and that is why Lock Haven is the best option for you.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs are offered to make every student feel involved.

    Bang for the buck

    I personally feel as though I am getting what I deserve for the money I am paying for college. They have many resources to help every student succeed in many ways.

    What to do for fun

    There are many things such as, hiking, fishing, hunting, swimming, walking in town with friends, and camping.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good because they have options. They have a buffet style of dining as well as a cafe style. I think they really accommodate everyone with the foods they prepare for all the students.

    Dorm Life

    I really loved my dorm and it felt like home. I really felt comfortable and I was in an enviroment that was enjoyable.

    Academic Rigor

    Great, small classes!

    Tips for prospective students

    It is important for you to get involved and put yourself out there as much as you can. It makes you look great and you can make so many friends that will last a lifetime!

    In three sentences

    Lock Haven University is a great school if you want classes geared toward your needs as a student, great resources such as tutoring and financially they help you out in every way possible.

  • 06/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On campus, a lot of kids go up to Hyner state park to view the beautiful scenery and also the coffee house Avenue 209 is great for open mike night or for a place to study off campus.

    Bang for the buck

    I think Lock Haven provided me with the most possible bang for the buck. The university education is great and the opportunities available is outrageous.

    What to do for fun

    For fun there is the Susquehanna river to go rafting, swimming, kayaking, or to just hang out by. The down town in Lock Haven is small, but beautiful. There is a lot to do on campus all the time and there are also many hiking trails and camping spots.

    Food and Dining

    The food is delicious and there is definitely a variety. Bentley is really good compared other schools food I have tried.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm Life at Lock Haven was fantastic. I made life long friendships this year and the dorms are clean, well-kept, spacious, and a lot of fun. As students, you have to be open to making friends and the university definitely helps with creating a comfortable and accepting atmosphere.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at Lock Haven are challenging, but not overwhelming. You actually learn in your classes and the professors are available to help when needed. The classes are discussion based and full of students that want to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip for prospective students is to not blow over Lock Haven because it is small and a state school. It has an awesome education waiting for you and for the right price. It is a win-win situation.

    In three sentences

    Lock Haven supplies students with a personal path to their futures. The teachers are available and ready to help. The university allows their students to get a large education while also allowing multiple leadership and other opportunities on a regular basis. I would give Lock Haven a 9 out of 10 on a scale.

  • 07/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Playing sports. Community service

    Tips for prospective students

    Look at all your options before decideing on a school

    In three sentences

    A clean beautiful campus that always has something going on. The class sizes are ideal and you will always learn something new in the classes. This is an excellant school across the board for all programs.

  • 08/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Attending a campus in the mountains has its perks. There are many outdoor activities to choose from as well as many indoor physical activities.

    Food and Dining

    There is always a choice for the students at Lock Haven, vegetarian or meat lover the food possibilities are endless.

    Dorm Life

    The friendly RA's and the clean bathrooms are the best part of dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    No matter how challenging the class there are always staff and tutors ready to ease the stress of the college students life.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a school where fun and high academic achievement is possible. As long as you are willing to study between classes and the many clubs you could potentially be involved in you will have a successful college career.

    In three sentences

    Lock Haven University is a small town school that offers big time opportunities for students in any major. The faculty and staff is eager to see students succeed in every major. I am proud to attend Lock Haven University.

  • 09/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Keep alert.

    Great for these types of students

    small campus and classroom size students max of 200

    What to do for fun

    Clubs, fishing, spookhaven during halloween.

    Food and Dining

    Improving slowly

    Dorm Life

    I commute

    Tips for prospective students

    Study. Come to class. Don't procrastinate.

    In three sentences

    Small campus with lots of activities/clubs. Wide range of professors. Not commuter friendly.

  • 01/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are tons of activities going on that you can jump into and join. There are things like Zumba, basketball, etc. at the gym that are open to anyone. There are also a bunch of clubs that you can join based on your interests. All of the local restaurants are within a walking distance from campus and there is also a movie theater no too far away.

    Food and Dining

    Upper Bentley isn't too bad, it just wasn't my favorite. I really liked Lower Bentley though. There are tons of different options for whatever you want to eat that day.

    Dorm Life

    I stayed in Fairview Suites my first year there and I loved them. I stayed in a private-shared suite and it was nice because I had my own room and space but it was still nice to share and hangout with my roommate.

    Academic Rigor

    I love all of the professors within my major. They're all very willing to help me out with whatever I need and same goes for the other students.

    Tips for prospective students

    You'll love it here. It's not too big of a campus but it's not too small either. There's tons of dining options and lots of places to live your first year.

    In three sentences

    LHU is a great school. It is an extremely clean and organized campus. The professors are awesome and like to help the students out as much as they can (in my experience).

  • 02/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There were a few campus safety alerts at the beginning of the fall semester, but they were soon resolved. I never really feel threatened on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs on campus; you will probably definitely find one that appeals to you. They also have activities going on a lot of the time; they play movies a lot in the auditorium and they have a good amount of comedians/performers. They always e-mail you the activity schedule for the week, as well.

    Food and Dining

    I personally think the food is very good on campus. Compared to other schools around the area, we have a lot more options when it comes to places to eat. There are 5/6 different places that you can eat at on campus and two Starbucks.

    Dorm Life

    I don't personally live on campus, but judging from my friend's dorms/experiences I think that people are generally respectful of personal space and no one is really ever that loud.

    Academic Rigor

    I think the academics are fairly good for a school of this size. There are definately a lot of easy gen ed classes you can take, but I think that most of the programs are adequately challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely figure out the trolley schedule if you have many classes on east campus. It can be a life saver in the cold winter months.

  • 05/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is really safe. Of course, it's never perfect, but I think it's as safe as it can get. The campus police are really nice and they're only looking out for you and your well-being, and I appreciate that. They're very good at their job!

    Greek Life

    There are many fraternities and sororities, all of which are very good. A lot of people on campus are part of the Greek life, and they enjoy it a lot. They're not extreme partiers like they're made out to be, and they look out for your well-being. It's like having your own on campus family, and that's a great feeling!

    Clubs and Activities

    I think as far as this goes, there is a lot to be a part of. We have many clubs to choose from, and the clubs are always holding events throughout the semester. The school holds a lot of events and activities, so you're never really bored.

    Great for these types of students

    If you enjoy a quiet atmosphere, I think Lock Haven is great for you. I know that I enjoy the fact that Lock Haven is located in a pretty small town. Even though we're limited in activities, it's still easy to have fun. It's also great for people who aren't really into partying and are more into studying.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We're a pretty normal campus, I think. We hold rallies for different things each year. This year we held a rally called Take Back The Night for sexual assault victims and it was really great.

    Bang for the buck

    I think that for the cost of tuition, the education you receive is pretty good. It's a cheaper state school so some of the professors are really not the best, but you really do have some very good professors. I think overall, it's a very good school, especially for the Education and English departments.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't much to do on campus, but the university holds movies and other activities on campus for people to do so it's not boring at least! Off campus there is bowling, roller-skating, and a movie theater, among other things. It's a very small town though, so don't be expecting too much. It's usually very quiet on weekends. Dorms hold many activities throughout the year for you to make many friends as well.

    Food and Dining

    It could definitely use some work. The main cafeteria is pretty bland, but the other places to eat on campus have pretty good food, they just cost more to eat at. I wouldn't worry about the food so much though! We now have gluten free options and more vegetarian/vegan options, which is good.

    Dorm Life

    People can be loud, but as long as you get along with everyone and calmly ask them to quiet down when you're studying or trying to sleep, they tend to listen. Quiet hours are usually followed though. Rooms aren't too small, and the beds aren't very comfortable but I think that dorm life is definitely the way to go for at least the first two years!

    Academic Rigor

    It definitely depends on the professor, but I have learned a lot having been here the past two years. Some classes can be very easy to pass and others you have to work hard for but in the end, you learn a lot of valuable information.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you check out the professors on ratemyprofessor before you take the class, because not every professor is good. Of course there are good professors, and then there are terrible ones. Ask them for help when you need it, most of them are more than willing to help you in any way they can.

    In three sentences

    Campus is small, but beautiful, especially in the spring and summer. It's quiet, but definitely not too quiet, if you know what I mean. It's very easy to make new friends as well.

  • 05/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Officers constantly driving around day and night. Patrol campus and dorms at night. After 6 pm you must show ID to get into dorm and if you have a visitor they have to be signed in past 6pm until about 2am. After 6 most buildings are locked up expect for one door to each and you can't get into other residential halls with ID just where you live. Emergency telephone boxes are located on almost every building around campus.

    Greek Life

    About four different sorority groups and about the same for fraternities. Not a big hit here but they get involved a lot of campus and do a lot of events, fundraising and awareness.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is something for everyone to do. From airsoft club to college newspaper to poetry club to rugby there is something for everyone. Intramural sports are very popular on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Outdoor enthusiasts, hunters, fishers, naturalists, city people who want to get away from the city.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year there is a event called a Regatta where there is boat racing on the river. There are lots of food vendors and activities along with fireworks.

    Bang for the buck

    Great education. Summer classes offered along with online classes and housing ties along good, too.

    What to do for fun

    River close to campus with river walk.Canoeing, fishing, running, etc. Little coffee shop downtown along with thrift stores and small movie theater. Restaurants and diners scattered everywhere. Shopping mall is about a half hour away. Student rec center is open to go to the gym and indoor pool. Pool tables, tennis courts, etc.

    Food and Dining

    Different options from made-to-order food and then a buffet style cafeteria. Cafeteria offers breakfast, lunch and dinner. options from stir fry, salads, sandwiches, soup, vegetarian, dessert, home style, etc. Starbucks on campus is a BIG plus. Little convenience shops in different campus buildings. Hours don't go very late for buffet style which closes before 8. But made-to-order is open until 11pm.

    Dorm Life

    Traditional dorms aren't bad if you don't mind sharing a community shower and bathroom with your floor. Floors are not co-ed. Majority of housing is traditional but campus is updating to suites. The current suites are nice with your own room and a shared bathroom with your roommate. However quite pricey for the what you get compared to other housing. Other options is housing like an apartment with a bedroom, living area, kitchen and bathroom. Traditional dorms are a little outdated but you make friends easily since it's like a community feeling.

    Academic Rigor

    Core, capstone, portfolios, internships etc. are all important for various majors. Without certain classes you will not graduate without them. Must maintain good grades to stay in school.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to go somewhere that is cheaper, a good education, and hands on experience look no further than Lock Haven University. And if you're a country person it's even better for you to go here.

    In three sentences

    I small rural University where students can get one-on-one help from their professors. Every major is a good major and have good programs. Easy to get around campus and there's always something to do.

  • 06/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved, join a club, do a sport, become part of the university. You can learn by studying and class participation...but you can learn even more by becoming involved in what the university has to offer.

    In three sentences

    Small class sizes accompanied by very well prepared professors who are true teaching professionals. Lock Haven University isn't a small college, but it is the perfect size where everyone knows you by name, most importantly the professors. Lock Haven University provides a well balanced, challenging curriculum taught by caring, dedicated teaching professionals.