Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Lord Fairfax Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/14/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Am enjoying being here

    This is such a great school. Everyone is so nice and willing to help.

    Am learning a lot

    This is my second semester here and I love it. The professors are there when ever you need them and are willing to help you succeed!

  • 03/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that your paper work is completely filled out correctly on everything you send in. If something is wrong you may not find out until months later, and it can hurt your chances for financial aid.

    Bang for the buck

    I believe that if you want to be a person and not a number this is a great place to be. The teachers really care about your education and are willing to work with you. I think that you do get what you pay for here.

    Am enjoying being here

    It is my third semester taking classes here but this is my first semester actually going to the school. It's kind of hard for me to make friends because when I try to talk to some people here they kind of look at me like Why are you talking to me?. They aren't all like that but some people that I have encountered are. The teachers are very helpful and are easy to get along with though, so that is a plus. Overall I like my experience.

    Am learning a lot

    I feel as though right now it's a review of high school material but I am learning a lot more than I did in high school because it's a little more in depth.

  • 05/11/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Much more cost efficient than a University for the first two years.

    Am learning a lot

    If you are a serious student you learn a lot.

  • 12/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anybody!

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class 15 minutes early. Some professors start early.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a great deal.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love LFCC. I love participating in the clubs.

    Am learning a lot

    I learn something new every day at LFCC.

  • 12/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    LFCC is great for older students that wish to transfer to a four year university or for students with limited incomes.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you feel lost, seek help right away and of course study and attend classes regulary.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Great prices for a great education!

    Food and Dining

    There is food and dining but I have not bought any of it.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not worry about a thing! The professors, staff, and students are helpful and the classes are great. I would not say the classes are easy but you get out what you put in. The professors are easily accessible if you have any problems with school work.

    In three sentences

    Great school to attend when you are right out of high school or going back to school. Professors and staff are very helpful to anything you need. The students are friendly and welcoming.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security officers are on campus all the time. There is also a state police officer their every day.

    Clubs and Activities

    LFCC offers many different clubs and each club has their own activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Recent H.S. grads, People returning to school after a long time, Anyone wanting to save some money.

    Bang for the buck

    LFCC is a good college for those students who are just graduating high school and need to get their general studies out of the way. Community college allows them to get their feet wet and get used to college classes. People returning to college find community college more affordable and the small classes make it easier for those who have been out of school for a long time.

    What to do for fun

    College has different programs and sports offered during summer. Zumba is offered as well. Seasonal cookouts with bands

    Food and Dining

    College has a small cafe. Not very good. There are vending machines as well

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are pretty easy. I have not found anything very difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Since YOU are doing this for yourself, be prepared to study hard. Decide on what YOU want to do for the rest of your life Take pride in your work and do your best.

    In three sentences

    Small Classes Helpful professors Close to home

  • 06/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's a good handful of clubs and sports to join and meet others.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe workers are very efficient and quick with food preparation and serving.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on campus, but it is very close to where I live.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors will challenge students, but the work is not generally hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to dedicate a lot of time to each class you take because it really makes a difference in the long run.

    In three sentences

    This school is an inexpensive way to get an associate's degree. The classes are small and the professors know students by name, which is fantastic. Professors are open to one-on-one assistance with the curriculum.

  • 10/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It hard to find anything cheaper than community colleges.

    What to do for fun

    Student activities and spending time with friends in the student lounge are the best ways to have fun here. A ping-pong table and a pool table are both in the lounge, as are two television sets

    Food and Dining

    The only places to get food are the cafeteria and the snack machines. To be honest, I haven't eaten anything from the cafeteria so I do not know if it is good or not.

    Dorm Life

    I think we might have dorms but those who use them (if we do have them) are the exception.

    Academic Rigor

    I am only a freshman, so I cannot speak for everything, but so far classes are relatively easy for the most part.

    Tips for prospective students

    To new students, I recommend becoming involved in various student activities. Students do not connect here as much as they might at another college because everyone goes back to their own homes at the end of the day. Student activities make up for that fact.

    In three sentences

    This college is an excellent starting place. The students are friendly, and many of the professors are excellent.

  • 12/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We are in a small town. I have never heard of any danger. In any case, we have 24/7 security.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are all kinds of clubs, you just have to join in. We have PTK, international club, FEUL ministry, SGA, Fine and Performing Arts, and many more. Right now, a yoga club is being established and my favorite is the Swing Dance Club!

    Great for these types of students

    Any type of student can fit in! We have fresh out of high school students, people coming back to college, and employees needing certificates. I even befriended a student who was 60 years old and she was taking a French class so that she could learn how to write the French she grew up speaking in her family home!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Middletown campus is unique in the fact that it is on historic land. The Civil War battle of Cedar Creek was just a walk down the road. When the school was being constructed, many artifacts were collected and are on display at the school.

    Bang for the buck

    The best part about going to community college is that the tuition is a lot cheaper. There are scholarships and school loan opportunities if needed. It's always great too that you have the option of living at home.

    What to do for fun

    The Student Activity Center always has something up their sleeves. Recently there was a 'Mystery Bus' that took students to a haunted house. Near the beginning of the semester, we went on a day trip to Busch Gardens!

    Food and Dining

    There are many vending machines around the lounge areas. Apart from that, there is a cafe in the main building lounge called Gourmet on the Go. The ladies in there always have a smile and serve up some warm specials every day! If you don't want to eat on campus, there are some fast food options not far and an Italian joint a walk down the road that is to die for.

    Dorm Life

    There is no housing at LFCC,.

    Academic Rigor

    Like any school, I assume, there are hard teachers and easier going teachers. Even though LFCC is a community college, do not underestimate the difficulty level or work load. I have had some incredible professors that have worked me to the best of my abilities.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are a student who is starting college fresh out of high school and then planning to transfer, I would suggest getting dual-enrollment classes in at the high school or even starting to take credits through LFCC during high school. For students already enrolled, make sure that you figure out as quickly as possible what your long term goals are so that you can take proper classes!

    In three sentences

    I appreciate Lord Fairfax in all that they offer. The campuses are a small town feel with a mix of people fresh out of high school and those who are jumping into college later in life. Time has flown by, but I have enjoyed my education there so far.

  • 12/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is decent lighting and constant security officers on duty. You are always able to ask them for assistance or to escort you to your vehicle. generally speaking a very quiet college though, I can't imagine needing their assistance much other than emergency vehicle situations or something of that nature.

    Great for these types of students

    Diverse college all would manage well here.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely worth the low expense for a nice, well rounded educational experience.

    What to do for fun

    There are many organizations and clubs in the college that you can join and they also set up group trips that you can sign up for as well.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is good but small and not too many choices but good ones. they are currently building another student activities building which will expand this area as well as fitness classes.

    Academic Rigor

    This all depends on the classes you take, but LFCC offers free tutoring for all their students...utilize your resources.

    Tips for prospective students

    Contact the counseling and advising office as well as the financial aid department and set up an appointment to plan everything out, take everything with you to make it a speedy process.

    In three sentences

    Lord fairfax is friendly, flexible and affordable. The financial aid staff is very knowledgeable and helpful and the teachers are very qualified to teach. Overall this is an awesome experience, especially for students that need a transition between high school and university, more responsibility than high school but more support than at a four year university, oh and they also have the guaranteed admision program!

  • 12/25/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    12 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always felt safe. I took classes untill 11:00 pm and there was always campus security available.

    Clubs and Activities

    I did not join any activities. My hobbies are music, as I play the drums and was in the marching band in high school. LFCC doesn't have a college band.

    Bang for the buck

    Its a beautiful place to go to school. Right smack in the country.

    What to do for fun

    Make friends and join clubs.

    Food and Dining

    Nothing much to say about the food, maybe a little expensive. I never the cafeteria food. They have vending machines

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms here.

    In three sentences

    I great place to study. Professors are educated about the material and really care about the student. I enjoyed my 2 years at Lord Fairfax. It is set in the mountains and the campus is really beautiful place to go.

  • 05/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is number one at LFCC!!

    Great for these types of students

    Active, artists and quite people

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Free pancakes, for students on a random day.

    What to do for fun

    In the back, someone is always bring in a PS3/Xbox 360/Wii and or older gaming toys.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are tight on money by your books online and check around most the time LFCC has great textbook prices.

    In three sentences

    The teachers are very nice and caring, so much that they bend to a time that works for the student. I have yet to have a bad teacher. The staff are friendly and help if you can't find your class.

  • 06/13/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    14 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is very friendly and personable. Their desk is located in the front of the main building. Officers do a routine walk-around. It has the size to deal with a minor to moderately-sized disturbance, but it'll have trouble with something big-scale, which fortunately are the exception rather than the norm. Security is also willing to send someone to accompany you to your car if you would feel unsafe for any reason.

    Greek Life

    There are only 2 Greek fraternities: Phi Theta Kappa and Phi Beta Lamda. PTK is the international honors society for academic overachievers. PBL is the Future Business Leaders of America.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are several clubs available to the populace, though not a wide variety. Lord Fairfax offers a science club, mental illness club, Christian club, rugby, basketball, baseball/ softball, soccer, sign language, forensics, history, etc. They cover several areas, but there are not quite so diverse.

    Great for these types of students

    STEM majors, nursing students, average students, slightly below average students, laid-back students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are no unusual goings-on that I'm aware of.

    Bang for the buck

    Lord Fairfax offers a decent amount of services for its students. It has free tutoring, teachers available during office hours, and a place for students simply to ask questions who don't want either extreme. It has a decently sized library with plenty of reading material. Credit hours are much cheaper than at a 4-year college. There are plenty of freshman level courses available for the taking, but slots for sophomore level classes are fairly limited. Most of the teachers are friendly and very personable but not everyone. Compared to high school, there is a much more relaxed atmosphere. It also has a great bookstore available for students' needs.

    What to do for fun

    There are several clubs available to join: sports clubs, community service clubs, and special interest clubs. As long as the weather is good, there are usually intramural sports going on. There are several spots around campus that exist for students to hang out, most notably the student lounge. There's also a library with a wide diversity of books for college students. In the student lounge, there are a couple of pool tables and a Ping-Pong table.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't great, but it's passable. The pizza and PB&J are both lackluster. They make a good grilled cheese. There's only one place to get food, the student lounge. All of the food machines are located beside the fast food stand in the student lounge. However, there's a place in the science building that sells breakfast during the morning.

    Dorm Life

    Being a community college, Lord Fairfax doesn't have any dorms, so feel free to disregard this.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes aren't overly challenging. The challenges may be numerous, but it's nothing that a student cannot handle. Overall, most of the classes are easy to moderate difficulty, nothing some hard work and a few well-placed questions can't fix.

    Tips for prospective students

    Figure out how long you need to spend there and use that time to chip away at your degree. It is important to figure out how much time you need as you want to maximize the value you get out of your education. Staying there too long will delay your bacheleor's. Make sure you chat with a counselor beforehand to get a plan.

    In three sentences

    Lord Fairfax is a good place to get basic classes out of the way. It has a somewhat diverse grouping of classes that any major would be able to use towards their degree. However, you need a very definite plan as some classes are only offered during certain semesters.