Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Los Angeles City College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/14/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want to transfer. Great for students who want to explore a variety of classes to which they can gain the interest to pursue a subject. For example im taking extra classes, combining Real Estate, Swimming, Dental Technolodgy. I was Undecided at first, but now i feel like if i can pursue anything I want.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your fafsa done on time. Lines get big once fall begins. Can save you 2 to 3 hours of waiting. Sign up for eop. They pay for your books and help you in variety of ways, for example, better counselors, priority registration. SIgn up for classes as soon as possible. Get more than 12 units, you got time to drop it later.

    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable. All Fafsa money is mostly for you.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have met great people. Great variety of classes to take.

    Am learning a lot

    Great motivational teachers. You get more one on one teacher time to ask more questions. Excellent tutoring programs, which you should definitely take advantage of.

  • 01/24/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    wanting to transfer to California's public universities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard, keep up the pace, and take it serious. 60 transferable units doesn't necessarily mean 2 years. It could end up being 3+

    Bang for the buck

    At $26 a unit, its not bad.

    Am enjoying being here

    LACC is an alright community college. The area is relatively clean and friendly. I myself am anxious to transfer to the UC system but so far I've not had any disappointments here. The school has great facilities and resources available. You can't go wrong.

    Am learning a lot

    So far most of it has been review as I've been taking care of the initial 60 units required to transfer to a university but I have learned to approach school in a more dedicated and systematic fashion here.

  • 02/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    there's many clubs at this school and if what you want to do isn't here it's really easy to start your own club. there's events held every week and most of them are free for the students.

    Great for these types of students

    it's a good place for every type of student. the best thing is that students who are undecided with there majors can figure out what they want to do at this school and it isn't pricey.

    What to do for fun

    it's right in the middle of los angeles and the bus could get you anywhere that you need to go. the red line could take you to north hollywood or to downtown. there's also many things to do that are walking distance.

    Food and Dining

    there's a lot of food around the school and there's also food on campus.

    Dorm Life

    there isn't any dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    it's not that difficult but when you get to the higher levels you do learn a lot. the teachers are there to help you learn and to prepare you for when you transfer to a university or go on to get a job.

    Tips for prospective students

    just get involved with everything that you can. try peer 2 peer mentoring your first year, it's a big help.

    In three sentences

    this place seems like any other community college and i thought i'd be there just for class but i was wrong. there's so many things to do at this school and everyone is so welcoming. i'm about to transfer in fall 2013 and i'm dreading that day since i grew attached to this place.

  • 09/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for all types of demographics and the school is accessible to many cities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't stress over parking. There is plenty of it if you are patient and give yourself enough time for a spot to open up. Come earlier for class because you never know if there is an errand you might tend to (admissions, business office, counselor, etc).

    Bang for the buck

    Many of the books that are requested by professors are in the library for 2 hours of use. This is more than enough time to read, take notes, and do your homework. Some professors don't require a book for use in the class, so this is a great option for saving on costs.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am so glad that I am part of this school. They helped me get financial aid and they make it very simple to attain scholarships and awards to help with the costs of school.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors here are knowledgeable and most of them are very helpful.

  • 05/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang out in the Dance department.

    Food and Dining

    Delicious food truck. Decent on campus coffee shop.

    Dorm Life

    None.

    Academic Rigor

    The grading is not very stringent in any of the classes. Show up and do your work and you will make an A.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look for your textbooks on amazon instead of at the bookstore. If possible, take the subway to school (cheap, convenient and eliminates the hassle of parking).

    In three sentences

    It is an affordable, nurturing environment for students. While there are a few bad apples in terms of professors, the majority of the faculty are amazing and truly care about teaching. They would have an awesome dance department if the school would put a bit more money into it.

  • 11/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Campus is smaller than most universities/colleges so you're less likely to be completely alone. People tend to look out for one another (speaking from experience).

    Greek Life

    none.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not too many options to choose from.

    Great for these types of students

    Returning students and high school graduates who didn't go to the best high school.

    Bang for the buck

    The Financial Aid office gives out a lot of fee waivers so this school is probably one of the cheapest ways to get started on an AA degree and/or transfer (but don't bother calling since they never pick up, just visit them). The EOP&S office also gives out many award letters and they help you pay for books.

    What to do for fun

    Job/career fairs, shows, theatrics, classes (a lot of them are fun), WorkStudy, Tilly's, many options right next to the campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food truck available is fast and their food is delicious (try the fries!). Tilly's is also a great place to get a snack or drink. They might be opening a new food court in the Student Life building soon as well but I'm not too sure.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms! :(

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your departments well. Don't be afraid to talk during lectures because you will earn points with your professor and this way they can know you by name. **Make friends in class!!** If you ever miss a day, you'll have someone to fill you in. Make sure you visit your counselor from day one to get the right classes.

    In three sentences

    They're great for students who have just graduated high school and for those who took a break from school altogether. The people are usually nice and most of the professors cooperate with you. The departments are great too, especially the career center.

  • 11/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's a bowling alley/arcade across the campus, and there's a book store. There are college clubs with activities, and there's always some kind of an event in the middle of the campus.

    Food and Dining

    There's a food truck, coffee shop, and a snack store in the campus. There's also restaurants and fast food places around the campus. Since many people (assuming) go to those places, they are all most likely clean and friendly.

    Dorm Life

    I have no say on this, I live with my parent. I'll say 3 stars for neutral.

    Academic Rigor

    It's not very difficult as long as you know how you work and actually take the time to positively correlate your study/work ethics with your grades and completion.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always check up on things like your educational choices during and after this college, your career options, and the professors that teach the classes you want or need. And always do the work you're given when you have the opportunity.

    In three sentences

    This college is small, but pretty nice. If you take the time to search up the professors and their teaching styles, you could find that you'd like your time here and that you've learned a lot. This college is good for those who want to actually learn at a proper rate without feeling completely overwhelmed.

  • 12/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a Sherriff Cadet station on campus and cadets constantly roam campus to assure students are safe. I have seen warning posters advising suspicious activity and any incidents to beware of on campus. LAPD also circle campus daily and handle any criminal activity promptly.

    Great for these types of students

    Los Angeles City College is great for students who are self-sufficient but who need some guidance at times in order to achieve their goals. LACC is perfect for a focused student who is ready to obtain a degree, but may be financially pressed, and who would like to save money while obtaining a quality education.

    Bang for the buck

    LACC is an excellent value for what you pay (or may not pay due to the prevalence of financial aid opportunities) and is an unbelievable savings versus the public and private universities who offer a comparable education.

    Food and Dining

    In late 2012, a Student Center building opened that housed a cafeteria with a growing selection of food options.

    Dorm Life

    Since LACC is a community college, there are no dorms on or around the campus. Students will live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Numerous professors have PhD degrees or Masters degrees in the subject they are teaching. Many also have taught at other respected institutions, including UCLA. The classes I have taken are academically rigorous, but not too challenging for the student who applies him/herself.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take your General Education classes in the first couple of semesters so that in the subsequent semesters you can take the classes you desire that are of interest to you. There are many counselors and resources available for students who do not know where to start or who need financial help.

    In three sentences

    Los Angeles City College is the smart choice for the abundance of students in the greater Los Angeles area who want a career in their future. LACC has excellent, qualified professors who motivate students to achieve their best, while guiding students with the curriculum they need to prepare them to achieve their goals. For any student who wants to learn fundamental career skills while saving money, LACC is the institution to do so.

  • 12/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    You will save yourself an enormous amount of money compared to a 4-years institute.

    Food and Dining

    At LACC you'll find yourself surrounded by various food chains and LACC has their own Tully's Coffe Shop on campus.

    Dorm Life

    LACC is commuting school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always have the mentality of a champion when it comes to your education! Do not procrastinate!

    In three sentences

    This community college is a great way to start your academic career. LACC offers most of the courses required to transfer to most UC's and CSU's. LACC prepares most students to prepare themselves for any four year institute while saving them thousands in money.

  • 10/04/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Who wants to save up some money so they will have when they transfer to an University. Any student who wants to pursue farther higher education with less money.

    Tips for prospective students

    As all colleges should be, enroll to class asap. Classes fill up fast. Check online web site for lacc and find information.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition fee of $26 per unit for resident student.

    Am enjoying being here

    The transportation is good (metro station and bus stop is near) and admin. people are nice.

    Am learning a lot

    Have decent classes to take. Actually I was amazed how many classes this cc offers.

  • 02/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    even though lacc has had it's share of violent interactions, it is still safe to say that students can go to school with the ease of mind that nothing violent would happen.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are many clubs and sports on campus for every type of student interest.

    Great for these types of students

    great for students who want to transfer, who need to get their associate's degree, and those that want to graduate with a degree or certificate in any field of vocational study.

    Bang for the buck

    it is a great place to get an education for much cheaper. it is very affordable and efficient to complete the credits for one's general education before transferring to a four year university.

    What to do for fun

    the campus is big enough with grassy areas for friends to relax on. furthermore, there is an arcade across the street. if one wishes to socialize and meet new people, lacc offers a variety of different clubs.

    Food and Dining

    lacc offers food from a very delicious and affordable food truck and tully's cafe. they are working on a new student lounge for fall 2012, which will include different food options ranging from mexican to chinese food. there are also great fast food and sit down places walking distance from lacc.

    Dorm Life

    since it is a community college, there aren't many people that dorm. instead, many commute to school. however, the few i know that stay near college dorms are content with their living conditions.

    Academic Rigor

    mostly all professors care about their students, even though there are the occasional sloppy professors. there is great emphasis on education and they always challenge students to succeed in education.

    Tips for prospective students

    always make sure to speak to the counselors before every semester, since they actually help you choose the right classes. also, make sure to pay any fees before the start of the semester at the business office, so there is no need to stand in long lines.

    In three sentences

    it's a great two year college with teachers that actually care about each students education. unlike other two year colleges i've heard about, lacc makes it easy to register for classes. there is never any confusion and all the counselors actually work to help benefit students.

  • 03/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    school is mellow, like i had previously stated. i have seen security but for the most part just aiding disabled individuals who needed the aid besides that, i have never seen any conflict.

    Greek Life

    cool as can be.

    Clubs and Activities

    lacc has a variety of clubs, however, i have not had the time to attend or join any.

    Great for these types of students

    plenty of aids to help struggling students in any subject. some classes even require for the student to attend some hours at the study lab or else they will not pass the class.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    i have not been attending this school long enough to really share traditions other than students willing to help other classmates.

    Bang for the buck

    the material is self-explanatory, but the instructors inerrelate the course work to everyday life for a better understanding of the material.

    What to do for fun

    it's a mellow place where anyone can basically hang out anywhere. there are events that students can attend for free if they like to.

    Food and Dining

    there is no real food or dining in the college besides a cafe, but there are plenty of restaurants around the college.

    Dorm Life

    there is no dorms, so, i didn't see any reason to rate dorm life. however, i had to rate it anyways.

    Academic Rigor

    expectations are high, its no joke. didn't rate it 5 stars due to some lack of resources due to funding.

    Tips for prospective students

    i would suggest, if financially unstable or undecided on future career come to lacc and the counselors are willing and available to aid.

    In three sentences

    i rate lacc at an 8. the instructors that i have come across are well educated and deserving of their titles. the professors expectations are at a high level of their students.

  • 03/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    extremely safe campus. the los angeles sheriff's department has a office right on campus! they are expedient and detailed in follow up relative to any student dangers. the crime report is very low for this school.

    Clubs and Activities

    music and dance students get to practice constantly!!! karaoke and talent shows always available.

    Great for these types of students

    this school is great for music students, nursing students and computer geeks! wonderful professors and fellow students who don't mind sharing information.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    this campus celebrates all cultures and traditions with vigor! there is some type of celebration almost weekly.

    Bang for the buck

    you can't beat the price per unit!

    What to do for fun

    there are movie theaters and hollywood boulevard just a ride away!

    Food and Dining

    there is lots of fine dining locally as well as fast food conveniently located.

    Dorm Life

    dorms are an option since this is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    excellence is the only requirement. be determined and motivated. student success is predicated on personal commitment to excellence.

    Tips for prospective students

    be open to change and independence. be ready to have lots of friends of all cultures, ages and backgrounds! be ready to learn and receive a life education in the process!

    In three sentences

    lacc class curriculum is exciting and relative to current career trends lacc is informative and compassionate to student learning lacc is dynamically diverse and complimentary to diverse student culture.

  • 03/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The school isn't in the best area. That might explain why the sheriffs are so strict.

    Clubs and Activities

    Chess club is great, free food. That's really the only one I know about. They do offer a buch of others.

    What to do for fun

    Leave the campus.

    Food and Dining

    Expensive. There's one food truck by the Communications Center, though, and it's prices are cheap, and the food's tasty.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Classes are fairly easy. The sheriffs who patrol the campus are real strict, though, so watch out. They'll ticket you for smoking in an undesignated section.

    In three sentences

    I've never encountered a bad professor at this school; they all seem fairly dedicated. The range of classes they offer isn't that great, compared to, say, SMC, but it's great as a stepping stone if you want to transfer. They have good Cinema programs, it's what the school is known for.

  • 04/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are many sheriffs and campus police cruising around campus

    Greek Life

    none.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are many clubs there such as black student union, international student unions, Korean club, math club, foster kid alliance just to name a few. There is also opportunities to run for student government.

    Great for these types of students

    this school is great for international students, people that are returning to school after taking years, students with special needs, people looking for diversity, single mother, low income, everybody.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The quad area is where most of the activities take place.

    Bang for the buck

    This school helps you in so many ways, there is a scholarship foundation right next door to our school.

    What to do for fun

    Get involved with the many organization that are available. There is also an arcade directly across the street.

    Food and Dining

    There are a lot of places to eat around campus

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms here.

    Academic Rigor

    Most teachers here are willing to work with you on completing your assignments. but there are also some strict one's if that's what you want.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you get involved in the many organizations they have for students. Talk to a counselor early so that you will not take unnecessary classes.

    In three sentences

    LACC is a great school there are a lot of diverse people there. Most of the teachers there are awesome. Everyone is very friendly and nice environment. I like to hang there all day.

  • 04/23/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    16 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are various clubs and activities around campus. Plenty of events happen in the student quad, the middle of campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who just want an AA degree. Great for students who are looking to transfer to a four year university.

    Bang for the buck

    $26 per class, not bad!

    What to do for fun

    You can hang out at Tully's, to snack with some friends. There are a couple of fast food restaurants around the school. Or you may hang out in the student quad in the middle of school. Oh! and there is also an arcade right across the street.

    Food and Dining

    They provide various vending machines around campus. Two lunch trucks. A cafeteria named tully's. Various fast food restaurants around campus. And they are opening a new student union.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms. Is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    My science classes were definitely challenging. Many times it depends on the professor you have. But many of the ones I have had have been excellent. They put their part in, but us as students we have to give it our all too. That's the only way I have actually learned the material in my classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan out you're classes ahead of time, to be ready for registration. Many counselors not only here, but in other schools, are not completely equipped to guide you down the career path you want. So research ahead of time. Many times the 60 transfer units are not done within 2 years. Study study study.

    In three sentences

    This school provides a very comfortable environment with many resources for students available. Has some wonderful teachers in the science department.

  • 05/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    read,play spades with friends, attend art museums etc.

    Academic Rigor

    LACC has some of the best teachers. i have found that i can not learn from all teachers however, i have found i learn well from the professors here. the math teachers are excellent.

    Tips for prospective students

    Los Angeles City College has recently remodeled and the college has so many improvements. The library is great and offers so many new computers foe the students. Another great improvements would be the new parking structure.

    In three sentences

    Los Angeles City College is a very great place to study. They offer one on one tutoring, and they help in so many other areas such as career development and transfer programs. I would recommend this college to anyone looking to finish their career goals.

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    i love their student lounge where they serve pastries and drinks.

    Dorm Life

    they don't offer dorms but there are cheap apartments nearby.

    Academic Rigor

    there are professors that are really good and some are not.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always talk to your professor and ask them questions. Make sure to at least visit your councilor every semester to make sure you are in a right track.

    In three sentences

    LACC, is the perfect community college to work on prerequisite classes to move on to major course. This college is near transportation, so getting here is easy. As for ow this school is currently experiencing some improvement, building per building.

  • 06/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus feels really safe, but some of the surrounding streets can be a little sketchy. Just be aware of your surroundings when walking outside of campus.

    Great for these types of students

    If you're looking for a flexible schedule and like working alone LACC offers many online classes with great professors.

    What to do for fun

    Cafecito Organico is a great coffee shop just outside of campus, and extra bonus, it's next to Scoops, one of LA's best ice cream shop. You can also take the 4 bus into silverlake for more coffee shops, restaurants and shopping or the 2 bus into echo park for more night life.

    Food and Dining

    There are a few food trucks on campus and plenty of vending machines. Inexpensive burger joint and Mexican food nearby along with a few other restaurants, coffee shops and fast food places.

    Academic Rigor

    This community college has the resources one needs if they are looking to transfer to a college or university. Many of the professors here hold academic positions at other Cal States as well as academic societies.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register as soon as you can in order to get classes and if you are unable to add, check the online SIS (student information system) daily, classes will open up. Meet with a counselor to make an plan for transfer, certificate, associates degree, etc. Overall, you will get out of this school what you're willing to put in, I've had some really good teachers, but I had to be willing to do the work to learn and get good grades.

    In three sentences

    The campus is in the process of being revamped and has many nice new updated facilities as a result, such as the library and science center. However classes are limited due to budget cuts so it can be difficult to get classes. Offers a variety of coursed to get you prepared to transfer to a 4 year university or college.

  • 06/05/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    20 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Los Angeles City College initially was the first campus for UCLA. Many of the building still standing on campus were built before the 1950s and have an art deco style. The campus is often used for filming; segments of the show Community with Chevy Chase are filmed at LACC and independent movie productions rent location space frequently.

    Bang for the buck

    Los Angeles City College is a small campus and many students receive plenty of individual time with instructors. For $36 a unit you can receive a worthy education, a fraction of the cost of a University.

    What to do for fun

    Near campus is an arcade and a bowling alley. LACC is located in Hollywood which offers many attracts. The METRO train station is just off campus on Santa Monica Blvd./Vermont Blvd.

    Food and Dining

    One of the favorites amoung LACC students is Big Mama's Pizzaria located across the street from the college on the east side of Vermont Blvd. There is also a Cafe 50's Dinner open late night.

    Dorm Life

    Los Angeles City College is located in a residential neighborhood in Hollywood, CA. There are affordable rents for students within walking distance from the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic and major related classes at Los Angeles City College are comparable to University courses and promote a smooth transition for undergraduate transfer students. Most classes are transferable to CSU/UC schools as well as private institutions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register for classes at Los Angeles City College and apply for FAFSA early, classes are quick to fill in general academic courses. Get involved with the ASO student union and utilize the school's Foundation Office for scholarships and grants. Take advantage of what the school and the community can offer you as a student.

    In three sentences

    Los Angeles City College is a stepping stool towards gaining a substantial career. This community college offers staff that can provide experience within a competitive city; many teachers from LACC also educate at top rated colleges such as Art Center College of Design. Los Angeles City College prepares students at a disadvantage with the same skills as one would from a well accredited school.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's pretty save with many cops and helpful janitorial staff that can be accommodating, as well as friendly towards you. The area isn't bad compared to the outer areas of the school (like 1/2 mile away though). Not bad in general.

    Bang for the buck

    Well it has a very diverse group of teachers, as well as students that can range from the young age of 17-25 all the way to people who are 60+. They can be pretty friendly at times, and make you feel welcomed to the school especially if you live in a distraught neighborhood, or have had problems in life that caused troubles for you, but can be similar to someone on campus who can resonate with you. It all depends on the individual who takes on the perspective of the matter.

    Food and Dining

    I never really tried the food, but it smells refreshing, however, you will have to get the food from a truck, but it has tables and chairs there to sit so it's not bad. If you want to sit inside well there are a huge number of food locations surrounding the school so don't worry about food so much.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm so don't confuse the bad grade.

    Academic Rigor

    Trust me I have experience with AP classes and this can certainly match the level of difficulty you would experience in an Advanced class in High school, though it depends on the professor you choose. Some classes may be easier than others, but you would still need to do a few flips before you can pass the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    It might have a low graduation rate, as well as transfer rate, but it's mostly due to the fact that many people who come here are only here to learn a certain subject then leave after so it causes confusion as to whether it is a good school. The range of professors that come can be from either a basic high school profession to a USC professor who comes to show people the beauty of a subject so there is big amount of talent in the academy, but don't expect to pass without some effort.

    In three sentences

    It has it problems like any other community college, but I have experienced some hidden gems in this school with the friendly faculty, as well as, the very abrasive but well educated teachers who try and teach you as much as possible. It does have its lackluster teachers like any other school, but there a 1 in 10 chance that you will acquire an uncaring teacher. It has it's pros and it's cons, but it can still have a thing or two to show to any experienced person that can vary from 15yrs to 80 yrs.

  • 07/16/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    22 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is located in Hollywood. There have been crimes on campus. There are drugs on campus. There are people with serious diseases on campus. Just be careful.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Both clubs I've been in have been great. Anthropology Club and Chemistry Club have enriched my life.

    Great for these types of students

    If you're low on cash, but have a thirst for education Los Angeles City College is the place for you!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I know of.

    Bang for the buck

    $45 a unit, is great compared to going to a UC or a CSU.

    What to do for fun

    Down the street there is an old fashioned video arcade which has been featured in many music videos where students often go to after school hours. Also there is a bar behind the parking lot called the faculty, where many students and faculty members rub elbows and share conversation. We are in the center of Hollywood so there is a lot to do at Los Angeles City College.

    Food and Dining

    There are several great eateries surrounding Los Angeles City College. My favorite place to eat by LACC is in fact a three way tie, the 50's diner across the street, the ice cream parlor Sccops, and even the lunch truck are great spots for a bite to eat.

    Dorm Life

    Non existent, but there are town homes and apartments nearby.

    Academic Rigor

    The area is a bit of a distraction. The people that attend this school come from all walks of life, it is a bit of a culture shock to a little suburban girl like me. Many students need fundamental education, and there aren't enough basic classes here. Many professors over simplify classes and the curriculum.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study like you don't know anything, take your exams like you wrote the text book. This is real college, you do have to work somewhat hard to do well.

    In three sentences

    Los Angeles City College has been a stepping stone for many students into bigger better things, by providing it's students with relatively cheap, solid education LACC is doing a great deal for the community. From LACC, I have gained a new drive within me, I now understand that good things come to those who work hard with their head down into their books. Los Angeles Community College is truly a gift to the community of Los Angeles, in that this school has helped so many people gain intrinsic as well as monetary wealth, and improve and enrich their lives.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always security on watch around the clock. They also have a Campus police department that students can go to when in trouble. I have not experienced or heard of anything troubling. Security is good and Safe for students.

    Great for these types of students

    Any who aspire a career in art. The art program really helps students make their work shine. They have a Student Art Gallery that everyone can see through the glass walls. i have seen some great work here on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Community Colleges like Los Angeles City College give really fair prices for those who do not a lot of money to spend for education. They offer $26/unit and $20 for parking. Who can beat that in California?!!!

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of places for fun! Across the street is an arcade, music bar where local bands play, small local art galleries, tattoo shops, great gelato and coffee shop near the school. The Griffith Observatory is a great place for an insight of our universe/ astronomy.

    Food and Dining

    The school provides all kinds of ways for you to have something in your all food craving stomach. The school has a coffee/cafe, vending machines, food trucks, student store, and many little restaurants near the schools at walking distance.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging enough to spark a fire. The teachers and programs offer a good education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Anyone who lives in the area should come here. A lot people think that it is not a nice enough looking school to get a good education. It is in the middle of Los Angeles, but that does make it unworthy to attend. I have coming here part-time for a 1 1/2 years and I enjoy it here. The teachers really try to get into your head and give you all there insight on education and the curriculum. I have done well so far and I come to school to learn, not waste my time. Time is money. Community colleges like Los Angeles City College really help you get back on your feet and help you make the right decisions for your education and it is a great start to save money. I encourage all those who live in the area to give Los Angeles City College a chance because the teachers, Staff, curriculum/programs will challenge you enough to make a great life change.

    In three sentences

    Los Angeles City College is a place of learning because the teachers, staff, and curriculum make it worth your stay. It is a great place to start to get your self back into educating yourself and saving money. the education at Los Angeles City College challenge your senses, awakening your thoughts to run.

  • 08/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Nothing.

    Food and Dining

    There are a few places to eat, but not much.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I give it two and a half stars.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your own research. The counselors suck, and are extremely unhelpful.

    In three sentences

    The counselors are horrible and not helpful. The campus is ugly and has no social life. The teachers are good though

  • 09/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Los Angeles City College is very diverse, a great place to socialise and meet new people from other cultures.

    What to do for fun

    There is a pool and arcade place in front of the school.

    Food and Dining

    There's a coffee place in the school. Outside of school there is a Japanese restaurant where you can sushi, a Mexican food restaurant, Jack in the Box, Cesar's Pizza Pizza, Subway, an Italian restaurant that has really good pizza and much more.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be proactive, do you work, ask questions, and talk to you professors about your future.

    In three sentences

    Out of one to ten I would rate Los Angeles City College a ten from all the other community colleges in the district of Los Angeles. Besides the fact that some of staff members in the office are not resourceful, the professors are wonderful, and truly care about your future goals, at least in the music department.

  • 09/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Los Angeles County sheriffs on campus

    Clubs and Activities

    Several Clubs but activities are have been greatly affected by budget cuts

    Great for these types of students

    Best kept secret in Hollywood is the Los Angeles City College Cinema program several famous celebs as well as an Academy Award winning editor

    Bang for the buck

    As an in state resident and from what I hear about the education system in other states , California....top notch

    What to do for fun

    Universal City Walk, Hollywood and Sunset blvds, dowtown L.A. and probably close to a dozen museums all within minutes on the rail system. Several cultural communities which include just about all of the major and sometimes minor ethenic all within minutes away in some cases walking distance.

    Food and Dining

    about to openon campus fair although there are improvments even as i am writting this. We have a new state of the art Student Union

    Academic Rigor

    No more than any other college I;m sure.

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan ahead and register early, due to budget cuts there have been many cutbacks so we get many students coming here from all over the county. Ensure your financial-aid is set up well in advance. Lastly enjoy yourself this is a great school in a fantastic city, this is Hollywood after all!!

    In three sentences

    This is one of the best learning institutions I've had the privilege of participating in. The programs are phenomenal and the instructors are in some cases still very active in the field they teach. Very in depth courses and great for transferring to major universities on a scale of 1-10 i give it a high 8 mid 9 .......but I;m biased.

  • 09/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are campus police officers but you rarely see them. It's not that safe!

    Greek Life

    I know there is some Greek life but you don't hear about it too often, I don't think it's too active at LACC

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty!

    What to do for fun

    Just sit in the grass or go have coffee with your friends.

    Food and Dining

    Just a coffee shop and a lunch truck. No cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    No dormitories.

    Academic Rigor

    Either specific classes are very hard or very easy depending on who's teaching the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is crucial to read reviews before taking certain teachers! Everyone must come to class early the first week because parking will be hard to find! Sometimes you see people smoking pot on campus! Don't let it bother you too much.

    In three sentences

    The school is pretty big and is currently in construction for a nice, big building. Teachers are OK, either they're really good or they're really bad. There is free tutoring on campus and there is a fairly small bookstore and coffee shop. No cafeteria, just a lunch truck.

  • 10/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 43

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    LACC is an excellent community college. I've always been able to get the classes I want each semester. The Science department has some great professors too.

  • 10/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus seems pretty safe, even during evening hours. There is always security guards walking around the campus.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs.

    Food and Dining

    There is a food truck in the middle of the campus that sells quite delicious on-the-go food.

    Dorm Life

    No dorming at LACC.

    Academic Rigor

    Considering it is a community college, you would expect the classes to be much easier than a University, but in reality it's not. You need to keep up with your work and study!

    Tips for prospective students

    Good luck getting added into your classes! Don't give up....keep trying the first week until you are able to score all the add slips you need.

    In three sentences

    It is hard to get into all the classes you need at LACC since it's so packed. Despite this, LACC offers programs to help students in need with tutoring, free counseling, and even has programs like EOP&s that help pay for books. I am extremely satisfied with LACC and plan to continue here in order to transfer to my dream school, UCLA.

  • 01/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want vocational training or those students who want an inexpensive way to acquire their general ed requirements before transferring to a university.

    Bang for the buck

    At only $46 per unit community college is well worth it. So if you are looking for a vocational training program or an inexpensive way to acquire your general education requirements before transferring to a 4 year university, this is the way to go.

    What to do for fun

    Study. This is an intense but fast program. You are in school year round for two years. But well worth it.

    Food and Dining

    Just opened the new Student Union building. Should have some nice eateries here soon.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life here. This is a commuter college.

    Academic Rigor

    Lots of study and lots of lab work learning how to make prosthodontic appliances for patients.

    Tips for prospective students

    First step is to sign up for DT 100 course and take the carving test. If you like it and pass the course you will then enter an exciting 2 year program.

    In three sentences

    LACC has a great Dental Technology Program. Any one who has an interest in getting a great job in 2 years and has good hand eye coordination should look into this program. Dental Techs are in high demand.

  • 02/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the security guards are nice and helpful.

    Greek Life

    There are alot of smart and funny people to socialize with. Anime is cool and so is Korean Pop! and Korean Dramas, and Japanese Dramas.

    Clubs and Activities

    Have not experienced. There is a lot of club announcements outside on the grass area. They seem like fun.

    Great for these types of students

    ALL STUDENT TYPES!

    Bang for the buck

    Its only $46 for the unit.

    What to do for fun

    Walk around the campus, because it's clean and beautiful. Socialize, because almost all the students there are friendly and smart. Head out to Korea Town and eat Korean BBQ because it's only 10 minutes away on car and bus.

    Food and Dining

    The school has delicious food of all varieties.

    Dorm Life

    Have not experienced it. Guessing its good, since I haven't heard any complains.

    Academic Rigor

    Learn the same thing that UCLA or CSUN students learn, without having to pay so much.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to the council office before attending to get your college plan in motion. Take all general classes first. Make study buddies that actually study!

    In three sentences

    Intelligent professors that inspire the daily lives of their students. Great councilors that attend to every need of the student. Beautiful campus where classes are not crowded.

  • 02/24/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    32 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for minorities, artists, those who are looking to find affordable education before transferring to save money or to get into gear for studies or find out what they want to focus on educationally. Great for artists. A perfect school for personal growth and education.

    What to do for fun

    Get involved! In East Hollywood so near a lot, also near train station so easy commute.

    Food and Dining

    There are places to eat around campus and a cafe on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on what you study and what you put into it.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you can't stay in class, drop them. If you fall behind, they work with you. If you excel, or rise from harsh circumstances, they reward you. Apply for scholarships as well.

    In three sentences

    They have a terrific music and theater as well as film program there. The classes are flexible and the teacher understanding. It is a great school to take the first steps towards a higher education.

  • 03/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are police on campus regularly overlooking student activity. I feel very safe.

    Bang for the buck

    LACC has great financial aid options. But the price is incredibly reasonable for the education.

    What to do for fun

    Talk to students and teachers! I am always having a fun and intelligent conversation with new people!

    Food and Dining

    They need more vegetarian/vegan/pescetarian options, but we have a great coffee shop!

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers care about teaching you correctly and preparing you for your occupation.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit and see how many different kinds of people are here. We have all ages, all backgrounds attending. If you are looking into going to a community college, I highly recommend LACC!

    In three sentences

    LACC is an amazing community college. It is full of professors who care to see students succeed. The campus is richly diverse and offers a great environment to learn.

  • 04/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the sheriff department has patrols around campus constantly and the campus is well lit at night, but there are a lot of hidden spots because of the construction, and every semester i have known people who have had things stolen (including wallets from backpacks and purses, computers from backpacks and classrooms) AND cars broken into while parked in the schools parking lot.

    Clubs and Activities

    several clubs on campus focused on specific majors or group classifications.

    Great for these types of students

    whoever is in LA and wants a easy start for their degree aspirations

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    watch out for all the campus construction

    Bang for the buck

    excellent instructors with a wealth of knowledge, if you just ask

    What to do for fun

    the Theatre Program has several productions a year that are usually worth seeing and there is always an art showcase set up in Da Vinci Hall.

    Food and Dining

    Food Truck is the best option on campus

    Academic Rigor

    depending on your classes, but so far everything i have taken has been geared towards people with limited time to do homework and limited writing skills.

    Tips for prospective students

    counseling appointments, which are required for financial aid, book up ahead of time so be prepared to check online regularly to get the appointment you need. check the campus map to find the parking lot that works for you, and street parking may be an option depending on your schedule.

    In three sentences

    great starter school with amazing faculty and staff through most departments, but the financial aid office and the counselors are not so helpful, so be prepared to do a lot of leg work.

  • 05/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is security in every courner just in case of any emergency.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The center of the campus has a smoking area and the library is very big!

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of programs and clubs you can join. For those of you who are interested in academics there are many study groups on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard and prepare to write lots of papers for all of your classes!

    In three sentences

    Los Angeles City College is an outstanding school. Dedication strives in this institution. The professors are caring and magnificent!

  • 11/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    In the student union building there is a group of anime fans, and no matter what day of the week, and almost all day long you'll see that group playing cards.

    Food and Dining

    They have food trucks come on campus I've personally never eat there.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms available

    Academic Rigor

    Every teacher is different, but most won't sugar coat it and they will fail you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Most people are really nice, so don't be scared to ask them questions, if you really want to make friends your most likely going to make friends by joining a club, not from your classes.

    In three sentences

    They call the school a modern oasis of learning and it is just that. I haven't been here to long but just from the time I've been here your getting such a diverse student body of all ages and races, it's a cool place to be.

  • 11/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    During the day, it is very safe because many students walk on campus, and sheriff officers are always standing right before the buildings. However, at night, it is not recommendable to walk around alone on campus, because there are many homeless people who roam around in and outside of the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are not many clubs which are active and fun in this college except for student union, so, if you want to be a future leader in this society, I recommend you to be a leader first in a college and make some clubs that are fun to join and helpful for career for many students.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for the students who want to achieve their goal very fast and clearly. They can focus on their study if they want, without being distracted, because the campus offers the services that are only used for study. There are not many to enjoy in here, but that reversely help some people to focus on their study and goal.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a building which were used for library before. Now, it is not used for anything, so it is just left without broken up or cleaned up. I think it would be better for the school to use it for students to have a lot of activities in there. There are many students who want to plan special events for the campus students but they often fail to find a good place. If students have a specific place that they can plan special and fun events or academic challeging events, they will like the college that they are attending more than now.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, first of all, focus on your study. That way, you will be satisfied with your grades and career as a student. Next, find someone whom you can talk to in your class. You can study with him or her together and do the homework together. That way, you can make friends naturally. Finally, you can join any clubs that intrigues you so that you can build up your interest to capacity in a helpful and fun way.

    Food and Dining

    There's no cafeteria on campus, only the food trucks, so you would have a hard time to feed yourself with stable diets. I recommend bring your lunch to your school from your home. I do that many times. Sometimes, you can just buy a sandwhich at the food truck, or just walk a little bit outside the campus and buy some fast foods in jack in the box.

    Dorm Life

    I should admit that it is kind of boring. There is no dorm !! There are not many students clubs that are interesting, and students have different career per each person, so you would have a hard time finding the friends that you wanted to make who are exactly in the same age. Also, it would be somewhat hard to find someone who is interested in socializing with others. Everyone seems to be busy.

    Academic Rigor

    Many students are serious about their learning, but I think they are busy with another things, too. So, not many students read the chapters ahead, and so, if the professor curves, it is relatively easier to get grades in comparison to other colleges.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you try hard, you can get good grades, definately, because many professors are willing to help their students. You can study online or use some websites that they use for their course, too.

    In three sentences

    There are many passionate and kind professors in this college. There are many facilities that students can use for their study or many different activities, too. However, sometimes homeless people or locals roam around the campus.

  • 01/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is very visible

    Clubs and Activities

    They appear to be active on campus . I am not involved in any

    What to do for fun

    There is an arcade across from the school. The metro is easily accessible to take you to hollwood for hiking or looking at the stars. Eating was always entertainment.

    Food and Dining

    The food truck is good, there is no cafeteria on campus. There are several places to et across the street from the school. I often brought my own food for the healthiest option.

    Dorm Life

    I lived off campus

    Academic Rigor

    As a nursing student it is important to be prepared for a rigorous academic program. It is important to look at school as an opportunity to be the nurse you would want caring for your family member. The curriculum is as rigorous as the time you devote to it.

  • 01/29/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Working Adults, Artists, Singers, Musicians, Nurses, Dental Techs, Actors, etc..

    What to do for fun

    Shopping, bars, restaurants, diners, and hookah lounges. Stones throw from the Subway to Hollywood and downtown.

    Tips for prospective students

    enroll early because classes do fill out rather quickly.

    In three sentences

    Los Angeles City College is a convenient, safe, and affordable. The campus is located in east Hollywood and it is accessible by bus,train, or highway. The campus is filled with students, artists, and professional adults, all just looking to learn and spread knowledge.

  • 02/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The same as any college.

    Greek Life

    I don't understand what is meant for greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    ASO

    Great for these types of students

    Looking for community college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    tullys.

    Bang for the buck

    Its under construction.

    What to do for fun

    Take personal development classes.

    Food and Dining

    Tully's is good.

    Dorm Life

    I don't think their is dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    good professors. It is better than ELAC. Not too strict though.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take math first. I usually research teachers before adding their classes. Do good in your classes.

    In three sentences

    Los Angeles city college is a good school, specially if you are interested in Cinema. The teachers are great. Good place for Psychology majors as well. I really enjoy this school.

  • 02/03/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    41 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Organization and Clubs which you can do a lot of activities such as hiking, community service, camping and more.

    Food and Dining

    The school doesn't really have cafeteria but there are a lot of fast food around the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I was challenged in my math class because math is my least favorite. If given the chance, then i would have not taken the class. I kept struggling and failing math. Every math class I always see myself failing. There was even a time that I had to drag myself to attend the class. Until there was this friend who told me his little secrets of passing the class. He said, you don't need to be smart, you just have to put your heart into it. Then I realized that I just have to love math in order to learn for the better.

    Tips for prospective students

    To register for classes as early as you can because classes get full quickly. Know the deadline for dropping the class and don't be afraid to approach your professor.

    In three sentences

    Los Angeles City College is a very diverse campus. The professors are approachable when it comes to not understanding the material or conflict with the schedule. Los Angeles City College offers different organizations that suit for everyone.

  • 02/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There is always a food truck and there are many vending machines. But I don't use those, so I don't how how they are.

    Dorm Life

    I don't dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are nice if you do the work. Read the textbooks and you should be fine. Don't be afraid to ask questions; they are there to help you succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    See a counselor often, register early, and take AP classes if you're in high school.

    In three sentences

    LACC is a good stepping stone for transfer students. The counselors are nice and informative. The registration process is hectic right now, but it will change soon (for better or for worse).

  • 03/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have Sherriff's deputies all over the campus, constantly surveying the campus.

    Greek Life

    non-applicable

    Clubs and Activities

    There are all types of activities to get involved with, and a wide variety of clubs to check out.

    Great for these types of students

    Hard-working and dedicated students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    non-applicable

    What to do for fun

    Get involved in clubs and student government.

    Food and Dining

    There aren't any 'on-campus' dining facilities, but the food trucks are ok. The restaurants in the are good too.

    Dorm Life

    There isn't a dorm

    Academic Rigor

    All of the coursework is doable, the professors are professional and approachable. Work hard and stay focused.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip for a prospective student is to check into all of the academic resources available an don't be afraid to ask questions.

    In three sentences

    Its a fantastic school. I love the ethnic diversity and sense of community. It prepared me pursue my academic goals.