Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Los Angeles Harbor College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/10/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to transfer to a university with a high grade-point-average.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join a club or Honor Society. Use the library and campus resources.

    Bang for the buck

    The admission fees are very cheap, the professors are great, and the courses satisfy university general education.

    Am enjoying being here

    I wouldn't trade it for any other community college any day. I am the vice-president of the school.

  • 07/07/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Determined students. Students who are first in their family to graduate from any school. Single parents or parents trying to go back to school. Students straight out of highschool who still haven't figured out what they want to do.

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend joining a club or organization to get involved in the campus. It's a small school so not many people get involved, but when they do it's always fun. I also recommend applying for financial aid as soon as possible and sign up for classes as soon as you're able to. Even though it's a community college, graduating from there is quite heart felt. It's close to home and everyone is kind of in the same boat as you are.

    Bang for the buck

    Bookstore books are always overpriced! Online prices like Amazon.com or eBay or Chegg are way more inexpensive! However, the prices per unit aren't that bad, and the library only charges .10 cents to print per page. It's not that bad. ASO is $10 and you get alot of discounts in different places ad around campus.

    Did enjoy being here

    Alot of people from different highschools around the area go here. There are also alot of non-traditional students and people who just go to the campus to hang out. If you live around the area, it's just like highschool, you'll see everyone you know. In classrooms, at least one person in that classroom is your friend, aquintance or a mutual friend of a friend.

    Did learn a lot

    I learned as much as I could depending on how well the teachers and books presented the material. The classroom environment is relaxed so there's no pressure for deadlines and stuff like that.

  • 01/26/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It is great for people who want to get used to the idea of college before going to a four year school. It is great for people who don't have a lot of money and who need their school schedule to be flexible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for financial aid and enroll in classes early. These things are on a first come first serve bases.

    Bang for the buck

    The Financial Aid department is really helpful.

  • 07/13/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Low income students who need cheap tuition, and plan on transferring to a 4-year institution.

    Tips for prospective students

    Please come here ready to learn. Don't treat this place like it's just an extension of High School, because that's the mentality of a lot of the students here. Maybe if more students paid attention to their teachers and had great goals, the school would have better rates and maybe better funds. Also plan on transferring off after 2 years to a 4 year.

    Bang for the buck

    Despite me being an Out of State student and paying non-resident fees (which are crazy rates compared to residents), California residents are getting a great deal here. Classes are cheap and you learn a lot if willing. Students should not abuse such privileges.

    Am enjoying being here

    I don't really enjoy being here due to the location and all the construction going on in the school right now, which causes loops around the sites, making travel time longer to get to classes. There is also much work that could be done on other parts of campus.

    Am learning a lot

    With the right teachers, you will learn quite a lot as long as you pay attention. Each class I have taken so far has so far taught me something new.

  • 08/11/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone!

    Tips for prospective students

    Dont let other students influence you. I feel like many students who enter to community colleges either dont want to be there because its the easy way out, or just dont want to work right after high school. Dont let those people bug you. Manage your time and money! It all depends on the students, here they provide the materials that you need to learn, transfer to a university and be successful, but you have to take advantage of those things.

    Bang for the buck

    Love the finicial aid offered here. Its the best descions I ever made comign here first. I am saving some of the money that I earn from finicial aid and from the money you save, and saving that to an account for when I transfer. I dont think I could have done that if I didnt come here. But I have to warn that it all depends on the student, if you dont manage your money well then whats the points, you are not really saving the money or receiving help in the long run. There are also other programs that help out such as EOP&S.

    Am enjoying being here

    Actually I am not enjoying that much, but its because I really want to transfer and go to my dream school. BUT I dont regret coming here. It is a good start for those who are still trying to figure out what they want to do, or even if you know , and plus its very cheap, so you can get your general classes done quickly without paying thousands of dollars.. The campus is great, they are remodeling it and its looks so nice compared to other schools. I have to say I am glad that I came here first.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning a lot. The professors are great, though there will always be some that you may not enjoy. The classrooms are great, very neat, a good environment to learn in.

  • 01/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 35

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there are a few nice spots to sit and hang out with friends. also a computer 'lab' to go study or play games.

    Food and Dining

    the on campus student store is very convenient and affordable. they have lots of choices both food and drinks. and i've never ate at the cafe.

    Dorm Life

    didn't live in a dorm

    Academic Rigor

    some students can be loud and obnoxious in and out of class but thats normal. some teachers are not very good and don't really teach you anything. also books can be quite expensive.

    Tips for prospective students

    sign up for your math and english classes asap those are the ones that fill up the fastest. and going on campus to look at where your classes are helps a lot. oh and the people in the financial aid office will give you a hard time don't give up.

    In three sentences

    la harbor college has a very good campus set up. the only issue right now is all the construction makes it very difficult to get from class to class. although signing up for classes is very simple and much easier to actually get the classes you need.

  • 02/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there is constant police paroling at night, and there are buttons on the poles to call the campus police if you need anything. i feel really safe and comfortable on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    it is really cheap and you still get a goo education from the great teachers on campus.

    What to do for fun

    there is the seahawk lounge where a student can come and watch tv, play pool, relax on the couches, or play various boardgames.

    Tips for prospective students

    stay focused and work hard in all your classes. don't become distracted with those around you.

    In three sentences

    it is a great school with lots of opportunity here. it is filled with great teachers that can really help a student in many aspects of their life. harbor college is a great school for all those that are pursuing further education.

  • 02/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety is of utmost importance! lahc campus police are nearby at all times!

    Clubs and Activities

    there are lots of clubs to choose from just visit the main building for details!

    Great for these types of students

    lahc is great for students that like to be social and that like to pussh themselves to be a better and well rounded person!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    i love the nursing building because the energy there is so focused on success!! there are also beautiful magnolia trees all over campus!

    Bang for the buck

    you will definitely be successful at lahc! just stick to the plan and don't give up! you will get to that stage!

    What to do for fun

    take a walk around the campus and see all the cool new buildings that are being built for students!

    Food and Dining

    the food and dining can be a little better. i think it may be due to the construction going on all around campus.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms at this city college.

    Academic Rigor

    the teachers here are definitely looking to prepare each and every student for success! they are no joke!

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you go visit a couselor who will help you and go over your academic goals with you. these couselors are specially prepared to help you choose the right path that will get you to where you want to go in a snap!

    In three sentences

    harbor college is full of opportunity for all students. there are so many resources available to help you. the staff at lahc is definitely there to see you succeed!

  • 04/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel pretty safe on campus especially compared to El Camino which is my only other choice of community college.

    Greek Life

    I am not apart of Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    I have not participated in any club but I have gone through the honor ceremony.

    Great for these types of students

    Physically disabled. Over achievers. Hard working students that can do homework on their own.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There seems to be a lot of construction on campus which can make it hard to navigate.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is a great way to earn units for general education before transferring.

    Food and Dining

    I gave middle of the road because I have never actually used the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    There is no on-campus housing to rate.

    Academic Rigor

    Online classes can be very demanding.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get there early for financial aid as they do not give appointments and be weary of some profs. that do not like to let students go to the bathroom.

    In three sentences

    Very nice and small campus. Friendly staff that are easy to get a hold of. There is a lack of online classes available.

  • 02/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 35

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    got to the gym. its was currently upgraded.

    Food and Dining

    great cafeteria. the food stays fresh from the culinary students.

    Tips for prospective students

    spread yourself out. get to know people, the campus is full of mixed cultures.

    In three sentences

    it is a very diverse capus, i really like it. i haven't had one boring teacher, great teachers here. very easy to find parking.

  • 02/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i feel very safe walking alone on this campus. the police station is right next to the campus and i have seen security walking around. the students there are also very friendly.

    What to do for fun

    the student center is the best place to go for fun on campus. you will find many different things to do and will meet other students just like yourself. its a place where you can go and relax after a hard day of class.

    Food and Dining

    i think the food served to the students is like any other college campus. its fast and some of it actually good.

    Academic Rigor

    i feel that with all my classes even online, that i am actually learning new things. the teachers are always there for you when you need help if you don't understand the topic. also i find that the math lab is a great place to go for tutoring. i have gotten a lot of help from there and am able to understand everything.

    Tips for prospective students

    i think all the students should put there schoolwork before having fun because at the end of the day school is what is going to get you far in life. you may miss a few parties but one day you will have a degree that you can be very proud of. so its very important to go to class and get all of your work done.

    In three sentences

    this school has very friendly and helpful students that will actually take time to answer your questions. i find the financial aid office to be quite fast and they answer all the questions you may have about financial aid. the teachers are very friendly and make the students feel that they are welcomes to the class and they make sure you understand what is being taught to you.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. We have a sherriff who patrols the campus and the parking lot. security is highly visible.

    Clubs and Activities

    Honor Roll

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are going to college for the first time or older students who are retuning after a break.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There isn't anything out of the ordinary at Harbor College, nothing that I have noticed.

    Bang for the buck

    I have really enjoyed the time that I have spent at Harbor College. I think the teachers are great at motivating the students and I think it is an all-around great place to get an education. We have an excellent nursing program and up -to -date technology building. I work personally with the counseling staff as a student worker and I think they are a top- knotch group of people who have a passion for helping the students succeed.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of campus clubs like EOP&S and ASO who always have fund raisers on campus. Also. Harbor College has a great football and soccer team. The campus has such a laid back feel to it, which generates an all-around good feeling, which makes going to class pretty fun in itself!

    Food and Dining

    Student receiving their degrees in culinary arts are the folks who are doing all the cooking and baking of meals on campus. The menu in the cafeteria changes daily, is diverse in culture, and is always delicious

    Dorm Life

    This is a community college. No dorms available

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are tough but there are numerous study areas where students can go and get help. The math lab is always staffed with available tutors. The same is true for the writing lab, so whether you have to write a paper, or are freaking out about a math assignment, there seems to be help available everywhere.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take note of your registration schedule and don't wait too long to choose your classes. Be vigilant and persistent and be willing to take on-line classes as well. There are plenty of great on line classes offered at Harbor, so as to ensure you can get the classes you need to graduate

    In three sentences

    Harbor College is a very liberal and diverse school. I find the professors to be very laid-back and very happy. Even with the budget cuts, the professors maintain optimism and keep the students motivated.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    don't be afraid to ask for help every time you need it.

    In three sentences

    good student behavior. many clubs to join. library available for homework.

  • 12/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security and police are present during all class hours. The campus is always well lit at night and parking lots are conveniently located.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life that I am aware of.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are several clubs and activities available for students of different cultures and interests.

    Great for these types of students

    LAHC can work for just about anyone. They have night classes for people who work during the day and PACE programs for students who want to zip through classes faster.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Harbors campus is almost all brand new with some construction still in progress. The campus is tastefully modern and has all new state of the art equiptment.

    Bang for the buck

    Harbor is a very affordable campus and offers financial assistance to those in need.

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of fun physical fitness classes available to all fitness levels.

    Food and Dining

    Harbor College is focused more on academics and less on the social scene. There is a small cafeteria but students are better off eating off campus.

    Dorm Life

    There is no on campus living at LAHC.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers go above and beyond in the classroom to make subject information more understandable for the student.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to add classes as early as possible and meet with a guidance counselor prior to enrolling. Use ratemyprofessor.org to research teachers before taking classes.

    In three sentences

    Los Angeles Harbor College is a great place to get your AA or RN for a fraction of the price! Teachers and staff members genuinely care about the success of their students. LAHC has a very competitive nursing program with incredibly high NCLEX scores!

  • 06/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    In three sentences

    The college is a great place to start back to school. They make you feel welcome. And everything is very acessable.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The culinary art students cook the food that is served in the cafeteria. It very tasty.

    Dorm Life

    Not appliable.

    Tips for prospective students

    The academic counselors are very helpful. I highly recommend meeting with a counselor to set up your education plan before taking any classes.

    In three sentences

    The staff at LAHC are very efficient in helping students achieve their education goals. There are many on-campus resources available to support students along their educational journey including educational And personal counseling, learning resource center, various workshops for time management and stress reduction. A wide variety of courses are offered and also offered at many different times making it easy for the working person to be able to attend classes.

  • 06/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    we have our own security guards station

    Greek Life

    i learn about greek life through the class humanities it was a fun class and very interesting facts of history.

    Clubs and Activities

    there is a few clubs that do fun activities that would make you really interested.

    Great for these types of students

    who like to join clubs or know what their major is.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The holidays is still celebrated in school with nice events as a usual tradition.Next to the cafeteria or in seahawk center where students hang out is where fun booths are set up to raise money for the school like the clubs,or school supplies.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out at the student clubs and meet new people.Learn information about your major when the school has a health care.Meet new people and help each other out as a good community.Having fun organizing or participating in school events.

    Food and Dining

    They do make the food fresh.They have great sub sandwiches.There is also vending machines and student store.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It has a great transfer center to help students to stay on track to go on to their university.There is a few good clubs to meet new people.There is a lot of student services to help a student succeeded.

    Tips for prospective students

    There is a low budge cuts so don't fail classes.A few great teachers but not enough classes.If you use all your three chances in repeating classes then that it no more chances.

    In three sentences

    It is a small campus with few teachers and a lot of students.Many layoffs and cancellation of classes.Not enough classes.

  • 07/03/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    18 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    never seen anyone get hurt so im sure nothing of considerable danger should be present

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    one taco truck with best tacos around... hidden very lokey

    What to do for fun

    library is filled with interesting books clubs practically for anyone and everyone

    Food and Dining

    great culinary arts school, with exciting differences other than an everyday-hamburger

    Academic Rigor

    teachers help understand easy to talk to and vibe with

    Tips for prospective students

    good start if not sure about going to a university

    In three sentences

    great small college exceptional teachers/professors great place for finding information

  • 09/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a security station at LAHC where th gym building is located.

    What to do for fun

    LAHC has a gym building where their students can exercise so they can maintain a healthy body but they also have a yoga class.

    Food and Dining

    Janitors clean every day in order to have a clean environment for the students. The Dining is where many students can hag out and do classwork while they eat or just sit.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life experience but if there were then it would be really fun.

    Academic Rigor

    Every course is different. From what I have experienced I think its rigorous however, it might not be to others.

    Tips for prospective students

    This college has a variety of majors and activities for every student on campus. I

    In three sentences

    LAHC is a place where it is calm and outgoing. The teachers are very welcoming and have time to settle down and talk one on one with their students. What I enjoy about this college is that there are many alumni activities.

  • 10/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have not heard of any problems,

    Greek Life

    Not much in this area.

    Great for these types of students

    Everyone!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Vet Center is a great place to get information about Vet benifits or just be around folks that have been there, done that.

    Bang for the buck

    It doesn't matter if you are just finishing high school or been out of school forever, this is a great place to start your higher education journey. There are people that are willing to help if need be.

    What to do for fun

    There is a club life on campus. Visit the Seahawk Center for information.

    Food and Dining

    Not the best but they are trying

    Tips for prospective students

    The future is yours. Take control of your own educational path. Don't expect someone to have your answers, take the effort and find them yourself.

    In three sentences

    I personally feel that Harbor has a lot to offer. The professors I have had care about the students. I also have encountered great service from the support staff.

  • 01/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 35

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a little place to hang out on top of the store. they tv, pool tables and other things.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria here has pretty good food. the people who cook are students from the culinary arts class.The really inst any restaurants at walking distance but there is a great pizza place a couple blocks away called Red West.

    Dorm Life

    there are currently no dorms at this college.

    Academic Rigor

    LAHC offers a variety of personal development courses to increase your skills ,for example, at studying and other personal activities.

    Tips for prospective students

    The classes do fill up quickly so make sure to register for your classes fast.

    In three sentences

    Its a great college, the instructors awesome . All of the staff at the offices here are very kind. The campus is not very big which is good so you don't get lost.

  • 01/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 35

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I do a variety of things. All depends of my mood of the day. The beach is really near by so I run there often or go skate.

    Food and Dining

    They have a lot of vending machines available and nearby restaurants

    Dorm Life

    Theres no dorms ar a community college

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers here do not waste their time or yours. They know everything they want from us, the student, before we even start the session. Dont waste their time, and they wont waste yours or anyone else's in the class

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on track, and never give up. This school offers a lot of help, you just need to look for it and find someone to talk to.

    In three sentences

    Teachers at this college care so much for their students. THe PACE program they have is amazing for those who work . It helps you stay on track with your school work while having to keep up with your job.

  • 01/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very secured, with Los Angeles Sheriff Department on staff around the clock.

    What to do for fun

    There are a variety of special-interest clubs at the school such as Math Club, Psychology Club, Spanish Club, among many others. There are also opportunities for students to get involved in various sports, student leadership events, or student government.

    Food and Dining

    Los Angeles Harbor College features a fully-staffed cafeteria and dining facility which is run by their very own Culinary Arts students and head chefs. They prepare fresh meals throughout the course of the school day which are available for students after or in between their schedules.

    Dorm Life

    Los Angeles Harbor is a two-year institution which does not offer on-campus or off-campus housing.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor is of average difficulty, but will depend on each individual's own experience with certain classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students either coming straight out of high school or continuing their education as an older adult should be prepared to broaden their educational horizons. Attend orientation to better familiarize yourself with this college. It is okay to not have decided on a particular area of study, as LA Harbor offers great counseling services as well as transfer student information. Most importantly, stay focused and positive on your path to educational achievement! Everyone is there to help you, and collaborating with and making friends with school mates will allow you to be more successful socially and academically.

    In three sentences

    Los Angeles Harbor College is a great two-year institution comprised of wonderful student diversity, energy and a variety of programs to fulfill each student's educational goals. The campus is a nice, clean, average size with easy to find buildings and classrooms that are designed to accommodate as many eager to learn college students as possible. The professors are very passionate about the subjects they teach, and are excellent at trying to get to know each student individually for a more positive classroom experience.

  • 02/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 35

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    hang out with friends and study.

    Food and Dining

    food is good but not the best, i bring my own.

    Dorm Life

    the college doesnt really have dorms but there are really great apartments very close.

    Academic Rigor

    the Architecture department has the best teachers.

    Tips for prospective students

    A great way to start off your year is to go slow and find something you love doing and that makes you happy. its really the only way your going to find your major.

    In three sentences

    Harbor College is a great school with some of the best teachers I have ever had. I have never been more interested in going to school before but my teachers make it fun and it makes me more interested in learning more every day.

  • 02/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Can't be that bad. We've got the LAPD Harbor Area Sheriffs on our campus....

    Food and Dining

    Haven't experienced the food, but it looks good. But the lady who works the register during lunch is terrific

    Academic Rigor

    Have no idea yet

    Tips for prospective students

    It would be really less complicated if you know what you are majoring in versus being undecided.

    In three sentences

    I really like Harbor College and the Faculty and Staff that has tremendously helped me so far in getting through my fourth week, being a first year student.

  • 05/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Sheriffs have a station on campus.

    What to do for fun

    The only thing bad about this school is the things to do for fun. There isn't much to do on campus but there are club fairs and bbqs from time to time.

    Food and Dining

    Only the school cafeteria which is okay.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms here.

    Academic Rigor

    I have been taking AP classes in highschool so this felt almost the same or a bit easier due to the point of not having so much home work and not having to go to class everyday.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would advise you to register early due to the point classes due fill up fast. Also try the PACE course at least once before you leave.

    In three sentences

    Los Angeles Harbor College is a great jump from high school to merely get your feet wet. Most classes are not impacted and new buildings are popping up everywhere. I feel as if I learned lots starting here instead of a university.

  • 05/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 35

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Take the ceramics class. It is the perfect way to unwind from the stresses of being a student.

    Academic Rigor

    Like any school work, it is challenging, but the professor are more than will to help you succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved and you will not regret it.

    In three sentences

    A truly impressive campus. Since the school is smaller than most community colleges in the area, the staff tends to cater to your needs. Excellent professors that are willing to meet one-on-one as much as needed.

  • 06/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always police around to help when needed. and many phones to pick up around the college if you are in danger and need help!

    Great for these types of students

    For those who are looking for a great top ranking Nursing program i suggest you come to Los Angeles Harbor college!

    Academic Rigor

    as long as you show up to class and make an effort you will definitely pass your classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are working full time this college offers evening classes and some weekend classes. depending on your schedule you will definitely find the classes you need here. the professors are very knowledgeable and helpful!

    In three sentences

    Harbor College is a wonderful college to attend. The professors are nice and very helpful. also the campus has had a lot of construction for many years but it is looking a lot better with all the new buildings.

  • 07/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 35

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there are always activities going on, such as sports and music festivals

    Tips for prospective students

    avoid lines and make sure you do everything on time

    In three sentences

    awesome study place

  • 07/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 35

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to the nearby park and walk on the trails.

    Food and Dining

    Culinary program on campus offers food at reasonable price.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    As long as you study and not procrastinate school work should not pile up on you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep an eye out for where you're going due to construction cutting across some walking routes.

    In three sentences

    New additions to the campus are making it an updated campus with great facilities. Has a great nursing program. STEM majors will interact with great teachers.

  • 10/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    A lot of great clubs to join on campus.

    In three sentences

    big new clean updated campus. a lot of different people

  • 10/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is very safe here. in my 3 semester at Harbor college, I've never encountered anything dangerous or threatening even when I come home late from night classes. There are also those help buttons you can push when you feel scared or anything.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs to join in campus, you just have to find what you like. it is a community college so it is small and we don't have restaurants or coffee shops and the like. At our seahawk center, students can hang out and play billiards or the piano or watch tv. That's pretty much it. The library is fun.

    Food and Dining

    The bookstore offers many different types of cold sandwiches and a variety of good snacks. There are many vending machines also by the nursing building and inside the cafeteria. I don't really eat cafeteria food but the culinary students often cook food to sell. I like their burgers in particular but they only have this once in a while.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms here.

    Academic Rigor

    I can't account for every single class when it comes to rigor. Your weaknesses and strengths as a student factor in as well as how you take in the teacher's method of teaching. Generally speaking though, all classes are doable and managable as long as you stay committed and proactive. There are plently of resources and teachers have office hours if you need help of any sort. The only hard thing about college really is juggling all the work load you have. Yes, community colleges are cheaper but I can guarantee prospective students that LA Harbor College offers quality education. There is rigor to every class because it is college level work, there are strict requirements and is not like high school. Again, it just depends on the student as an individual how he/she will manage the schoolwork.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is critical to meet with a counselor at least two to three times a semester at least to make sure you are taking all the right classes and going towards reaching your goal. Have an educational plan to organize your classes and unit points. It is better to have a declared major because that prioritizes you in getting into classes. Don't be discouraged if classes are full and you don't get in. Always sit in classes the first day of school because it is likely you will get in. Many students drop, change or make adjustments in the first 2-3 weeks of school. First day attendance is very important! it's a first come first serve basis, so if enrolled students don't come, you will have a spot. Take advantage of all the resources you have in campus, whether that's a counselor or the transfer center or the library database. All of these are extremely beneficial and will help you succeed in your academics. Have a planner at all times.

    In three sentences

    The people in LA Harbor College are generally very nice and welcoming and very helpful. This is particularly true for staff members whether that's in the administration or the financial aid office or the transfer center. I've had many teachers in my three semesters who are very passionate in what they do and make themselves available to help students succeed. This is very encouraging for students like me who are starting at a community college.

  • 01/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security call boxes, but they do not work when you press them, which is a big negative. However campus security drive around often in their carts patrolling the areas.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a few clubs on campus, but not many.

    Great for these types of students

    This campus is great for transfer student, and students looking for a trade certificate.

    What to do for fun

    The football games are fun, and cheap to attend for student especially if you invite friends.

    Food and Dining

    The food options on campus are slim to none. I would definitely recommend bringing lunch if you have a long day. There are snacks available to purchase in the bookstore, but they have a slim (non-healthy) selection.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on campus, since this is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the challenges of attending is getting into all of you necessary classes, and finding cheap books. I recommend renting your books online (Amazon, Chegg), and signing up for classes as soon as you get your registration date.

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend registering for classes as early as possible. Register and get a class registration date ASAP, as the classes tend to get filled fairly quickly. Also be sure to see a counselor, they will be your guide for succeeding in school.

    In three sentences

    I rate Harbor College 90%, there are lots of programs, clubs, and financial aid that is offered to make attending college a breeze. There are counselors available to help with any question or concerns regarding attending school.

  • 02/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Im getting the same education that someone at a 4 year is getting but for a much lower price. That's an automatic 5 stars!

    What to do for fun

    Seahawk center. There is a pool table, a ping pong table, tvs... Its a nice place to hang out and connect with other students. Also get involved on campus events.

    Food and Dining

    Snacks are available. Food is Food.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers do not really try to connect with the students. Expect delays when emailing teachers.

    Tips for prospective students

    When applying and registering for classes be prepared to do everything on your own. If there is anytime to be an adult, it is NOW. Be responsible! College is not a game. You waste time, you waste money.

    In three sentences

    School has a very hands off approach. The teachers are pretty good. School staff is not so helpful.

  • 02/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food there is cooked by the students, so it's not much to choose daily. Also, it's not really that good.

    Dorm Life

    It is a community college, so there are no dorms to stay in. Which means no dorm life, which kind of sucks.

    Academic Rigor

    The school has a good academic system, there is nothing slack about their teachings.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to the school focused on just doing your work and graduating. Don't try and make friends, it will through you off.

    In three sentences

    The atmosphere of the school is cool, it's very relaxed. The students there stay to themselves, everyone isn't as open and inviting. It's a good system and they do stay on top of their academics and resources.