Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Los Angeles Valley College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 1 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety people and the Sheriff department are everywhere. They respond to anything and everything. Make sure that you get your parking pass within the grace period, they will ticket you. They are also very nice and will give you a ride across campus or to a place you do not know how to get to. Very nice team!

    Greek Life

    N/A.

    Clubs and Activities

    Mentioned before, if you have time, join a club. Maybe even create a club. Art club is always a fun one!

    Great for these types of students

    Art supply store in Valley Village, Carter Sexton. Great! 'Nuff said ;)

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The only thing that I found that was different than anywhere else at LAVC was the small Free Speech Zone. Clever idea.

    Bang for the buck

    Most supplies, buy them off campus. Try to find good deals, coupons, codes, etc. Renting books may be a good option for you. Campus does have that option. There are Third Party options for renting books. However, price per unit for a California resident is worth it. (Professors are great, too)

    What to do for fun

    Join a club, for example, art or dance club. This will expose you to much more resources. Try to keep up with the things that you always like to do, go to concerts, hit the mountains for a ski, snowboard or hike. Call family, they miss you.

    Food and Dining

    LAVC has a Dining Hall. There are lots of choices for people. Eating together with people is a very intimate event. We may not realize it in our day because of the multitude of restaurants, picnic areas, etc. Keep yourself healthy. Your mind, body and spirit thrive best when eating and drinking what you NEED. Again, this is an area where others have their sensitivities and we need to try to respect that. A quick story. A housemate, who eats only vegetarian, once found her frying pan in the sink, dirty from another housemate. He had made a steak in the frying pan. Her sensitivity was such that she didn't even want someone to cook meat products in her cooking vessels.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at LAVC. However, as with any shared living situation, at all costs, find out who you are living with their needs and how to make a living condition that can, ideally, work for everyone.

    Academic Rigor

    When you get to class it should be at least ten minutes early. Take out all of your materials that you will need for the class, ask any questions regarding materials needed before class. Also, if the up and coming assignment is on the board, get out paper and write it down. All of these things will help you to get the most out of the class as well as the rest of the class. Today, classes are huge and time is, more than ever, of essence.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take full care to take the classes you NEED first. Use your Professor's office time diligently. Help other students. Make class friends. Do above and beyond the assignment requirements are. Get yourself known by your Professor's by name but make sure that you always call them Professor

    In three sentences

    LAVC is a diverse College, people and courses. The campus is quite easy to navigate around - including the students and staff that are always willing to lend a hand. Finally, as a student in the art department, I would like to praise LAVC doing a wonderful job (even in today's economy) by keeping the art building, art staff, as well as staff and student resources up to date.

  • 01/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 38

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    there is a person in administration who has not responded to my e-mails and phone messages for 4 months. this is absolutely unacceptable, how are you supposed to get the information needed if the person in charge of it is ignoring you? take your hard earned money and get an education somewhere where people have some respect for you.

  • 05/18/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Great way to make one ready for university level classes, check up on reviews for teaches, and don't forget to talk to your counselors often as well as look around for opportunities and clubs, there are so many of them that people miss out on.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a community college with 30$ per class, and yet theres a lot of good information there.

    Will enjoy being here

    Beautiful campus, lots of different programs.

    Will learn a lot

    Good professors for the most part, you could check up on them on the review website, it comes in handy.

  • 11/02/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Make a plan if you want to get out of here in two years or less.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you sign up for classes the minute you are able to, otherwise you will not get the classes you want.

  • 12/21/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who like the hot weather, who are sporty and like to ride bikes. But its also great for any other students. I don't do any of those things and I love the college! :D

    Tips for prospective students

    Just make sure that you register on time for your classes. try even before your registration date, because classes fill up super fast!

    Bang for the buck

    $36. Yea it is a lot. When I first applied the units were $24. I still think that 36 dollars is worth it. I've been to two other community colleges and the learning that I have been doing at Valley has been far the best.

    Am enjoying being here

    It's a beautiful campus, not to mention that it's one of the smallest in all the LACCD colleges out there. I primarily chose to come here because of the way the campus made me feel. They have really nice buildings, and they are in the process of finishing up building the new library. :)

    Am learning a lot

    The teacher's are super nice. They are also very smart. This past fall I took a Sociology 21 class, and it has been the best experience ever. I am really glad I chose Valley as my first college to attend. The financial aid office is very helpful and if you need anything regarding your money they will help however they can.

  • 01/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I walk, listen to jazz like John Coltrane, and sometimes Dionne singing from the soundtrack of Valley of the Dolls .

    Food and Dining

    Well I don't dine out, the cost of things today are not in my budget.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    It has allowed me to expand in communication, self esteem, confidence , and the independence of doing a good job.

    Tips for prospective students

    I thought that I would never go to college and one day I told myself, you haven't even tried and how do you know what you can do until you do it.

    In three sentences

    I love LAVC because of the professors, staff, and faculty. They have shown me that no what don't give up and keep on trying.

  • 01/25/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    sharkeys.

    Dorm Life

    none.

    Tips for prospective students

    study the book on the subject before taking a class.

    In three sentences

    there are brilliant teachers there. some are funny teachers. requires studying since it's not an easy school.

  • 02/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    aren't sure what direction they want to go yet career-wise; don't want to spend thousands as in a uc or csu; want the leg-room to explore what field interests them before moving on to a university.

    Bang for the buck

    even though classes have gone up from last year, it's still way cheaper than a uc or csu, by far. on average, a semester will cost you between $400-$600 depending on how many units you take. avoid the bookstore unless getting books there is mandatory or immediate; look online (amazon, ebay, half.com, chegg.com) for cheaper stuff.

    What to do for fun

    join a sports team or a club; make at least one friend in each of your classes to make the class more interesting for yourself and for helping each other out.

    Food and Dining

    vending machines are located all throughout campus, stocking a variety of drinks and food that isn't the healthiest but it's the most unhealthy out there. you'll get more hearty food at the vending machines located outside monarch hall (e.g. sandwiches, cereal, burritos, pizza, etc).

    Dorm Life

    no dorming, but if you drive to school, be extremely wary of where you park; you'll get a ticket immediately if you park in staff parking.

    Academic Rigor

    as long as you keep it to around three or four classes a semester, you'll be fine. winter and summer session classes are a bit more demanding because of the short time but manageable. classes that are for majors are a bit more demanding than your basic classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    register for the school immediately so that your registration date is sooner, as classes fill up quickly and crashing classes isn't always successful. really look at your options for what classes you can take to earn your aa or fulfill your general ed requirements. make sure you take classes you're at least somewhat interested in or you might not be as motivated to work in the class. also, look over reviews for teachers at ratemyprofessors.com, they're often very helpful.

    In three sentences

    classes are large but thin out after a while. parking is a nightmare without a pass. talk to a counselor immediately to figure out your classes for each semester, and get a student education plan (sep) as soon as you can -- classes fill up quickly for registering.

  • 02/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    even though the price of community college has been steadily climbing since i started (52% increase in price per unit in 18 months!), the quality of the professors still makes it a good value.

    What to do for fun

    la valley has lots of active clubs and the campus is always full of people.

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria serves yummy food for a decent price.

    Dorm Life

    i live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    the academic challenges are there- you decide how much you put in and how much you get out of the lessons.

    Tips for prospective students

    apply early! classes are limited, so enroll as soon as you can. there are so many students trying to attend classes that you probably will not be able to show up and add a class.

    In three sentences

    la valley college has a beautiful campus, only slightly marred by never-ending construction projects. the professors are beyond qualified and clearly dedicated to helping their students. the student body is a diverse mix of cultures, ages and abilities- i feel totally welcome there.

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    clubs and hanging out at recreational park-like campus.

    Food and Dining

    there is nearby restaurants. the cafeteria food and prices are unreasonable.

    Academic Rigor

    as any other two-year colleges, classes are not highly challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    registration for classes for the upcoming semester is crucial. classes close fast and adding classes the first day is hectic. enroll on time!

    In three sentences

    lavc offers a live and diverse environment to all students. although tuition in california is rising, the tuition is low. it has access to various programs and buildings to help out the students.

  • 03/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    being that i've taken many night classes i get to experience the school after dark. i can't say i've had any bad experiences. a stranger hasn't approached me or tried to hurt me. but i should point out that there aren't many security guards around the parking lot. it's not as well lit as it should be so be sure to carry any mace just in case.

    Greek Life

    does not apply.

    Clubs and Activities

    i decided to join the woman's soccer team. but regardless of what club or sports you join it makes college experience a lot more fun. you're not just going to school you're involved with something. i heard the sociology club has really awesome field trips.

    Great for these types of students

    everyone is welcome to come. due to the amounts of clubs and unions we have. everyone is bound to find their niche.

    Bang for the buck

    though the tuition is rising. it's nothing compared to what you'll be paying at a top university. it's nice to get those ge's out of the way and at a lower cost.

    What to do for fun

    besides the campus activities held by several clubs. that's pretty much it. you won't hear about any mixers and such.

    Food and Dining

    there are plenty of small restaurants around the school including a sharky's within walking distance.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms at this community college.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes are definitely taught at a higher level then you think. i've had professors mention they give the same time of work they would give to a university student. which can give way to a better transition between college and the university level work. the astronomy department has a great hands on program. you'll work with telescopes and learn from a state of the art projector with dome shaped ceilings.

    Tips for prospective students

    look into taking weekend and online classes. this will insure you graduate on time. try to be there a little early for every class meeting. trust me when i say the seats will fill up fast.

    In three sentences

    the school is very flexible with your work schedule offering classes online, night, and weekends. professors are not too strict and many offer extra credit. there's always an event going on an campus ranging from university visits to student union activities.

  • 03/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Love the Science dept. and Science Lab.

    Bang for the buck

    The teachers are great. The night time fast track are great to take for your pre reqs.

    What to do for fun

    It's L.A. what is there not to do.

    Dorm Life

    none

    Tips for prospective students

    Research your online sites on the Valley web page. It makes it a lot easier to attend.

    In three sentences

    Besides the cut backs, I love going to Valley College.

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    a couple of people i know have had their cars broken into. laptops money and backpacks stolen

    What to do for fun

    sports

    Food and Dining

    cafeteria is expensive with some tasty selections.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on the professor.

    Tips for prospective students

    check out professors before registering for their course, don't wait until the last to try and register for classes.

    In three sentences

    Up and coming community college. Some great professors and some not so great. good environment.

  • 06/08/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    14 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Whatever you want to define as fun

    Food and Dining

    The school itself does not have good food, but outside there are many nice places

    In three sentences

    Los Angeles Valley College is a great school to get a feel of what college life is about. It offers a tremendous amount of valuable classes that will equip you with knowledge and understanding of your educational plans.

  • 06/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This college has a Sheriff Department thing that makes this college safe enough for take classes either in the morning or in the night.

    What to do for fun

    Well, there are different activities that you can enjoy in this campus

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria in this college provide a diversity of food, so you can choose whatever you want.

    Academic Rigor

    Any thing in this life is hard y you don't try, so try your best and you'll be fine. Its academic level its very competitive, so you must be ready to deal with college pressure, even more if you are full time student.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students just need to have a purpose in life. Classes are easy, you just need to put effort in order to succeed, follow directions, be responsible and do your homework

    In three sentences

    I really like this college and its instructors, they work hard to teach quality education in this campus. Its location is very convenient, there's the orange metro line next to it. Also, there's a variety of food stores around.

  • 07/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    School food has always been said that its terrible. At LAVC its actually not bad. Being there almost all day with my classes I can't afford going home then going back and being late to class. The cafeteria food a Valley is fresh made and there's always different choices. There are also a few restaurants across the street so you don't have to drive far.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at LAVC.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are going to take a foreign language class I recommend German with Dr. Vic he is great! German is said to be a difficult language but Dr. Vic makes it easy and fun. He is always there to help you could always find him in his office during his office hours.

    In three sentences

    LAVC is a safe environment school if you are concerned. Believe it or not its a really nice campus, soon we will have a new library! Teachers are great and your fellow pupils are there to help.

  • 07/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I take classes all times of the day and I have always felt safe. Security is pretty easy to find.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa/ Tau Alpha Epsilon, the Honors Society, is about as close to Greek life as it gets.

    Clubs and Activities

    If you could not tell, I am a big believer in joining clubs. There is something for every interest. If your interest is untouched, it is not very hard to start a club. Club Rush Week, Club Days, Welcome Days, Banquets, Concerts, Sporting Events, group hikes, festivals, volunteer opportunities. How can you ever be bored?

    Great for these types of students

    Those who prefer more one-on-one attention. Those who may get lost in a large school. Not GPS lost... although... that too. Go-getters: Let's face it, in life, nothing is handed to you on a silver platter. The opportunities are available at LAVC, but you need to take them.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Club days are evry 2-3 weeks. Each club responds to a common theme and gets the students pumped up!

    Bang for the buck

    You will be paying far less money here than at any university. Get your general ed and lower division requirements finished here and save. Make the most of your experience at the community college by getting involved. You won't feel deprived of your real college experience. Classes can sometimes be pretty difficult to get, but budget cuts have hit the state universities as well.

    What to do for fun

    Join a club! You will never be bored. There is always something to do in the club community as all the clubs work together. Bring a group of friends to sporting events and go crazy. The Homecoming Football game is probably the most popular.

    Food and Dining

    There are few dining options although those available are pretty good. Hand-crafted sandwiches, salads, burgers, etc are available in the cafeteria. Quick bites are available in vending machines all over campus. If you ever have a bit of extra time, there are increasing numbers of restaurants across the street and in the neighborhood which cater to students.

    Dorm Life

    I would have to say it sucks since... well.. we have no dorms. This is a community college. haha...

    Academic Rigor

    I would say it is about average. There are some classes that are very easy, and others that are very hard, but you learn a lot!!!!

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not get too caught up in trying to get out. That is common for community college students looking forward to transfer. Join a club! Get involved on campus! LAVC has an inviting community that provides an enriching experience. It is just as important as hitting the books.

    In three sentences

    Teachers are almost always able to meet with you after class or during office hours to help you and the small class sizes allow for more individual attention. There is a wonderful community within the clubs and student government and they reach out to all students looking for a little something more to their educational experience. Plenty of opportunities are available to help student with transferring to a university or getting a job.

  • 07/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Poor :)

    Bang for the buck

    Government paid the tiny tuition because my paychecks weren't very pretty, but it's dirt cheap because it's a community college, anyways.

    Food and Dining

    I never bothered eating here, never really even noticed the cafeteria if there is one. Vending machines are plentiful and have many candy choices for mid-class burst of energy for those who take the long night classes.

    Academic Rigor

    3/5 of my classes allowed open notes of some type or another, and I passed all with flying colors, but somehow a lot of students still managed to fail. Study and do your work, and show up to class. It's not that hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to crash the classes. The teachers know that half the class won't be there at the end, and a lot of the students don't show up at first, so you always have a chance.

    In three sentences

    Although many classrooms are run-down, the teachers strive to make your experience here the best possible. My classes were better run and more memorable than my previous experiences at other colleges, including some in the Cal State system. Overall, the care and attention of the teachers made my college experience very special for me.

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always see campus security driving around as well as sheriffs. Luckily, we have a large police department on campus and since LAVC is a small school they are constantly patrolling.

    Greek Life

    Non-existent

    Clubs and Activities

    Almost every month during school times the clubs have booths, activities, and food to encourage students to be involved and sign up. The clubs are there for around 2-3 hours just to talk to students and unify the student body.

    Great for these types of students

    --Goal Oriented --Reserved --Down to Earth --People not focused on partying

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus has a atrium that is tucked behind the Allied Health and Sciences Building. Most students don't know its there unless they catch a tiny glimpse of it from the street, but its a great place to go when feeling stressed or if quiet time is needed.

    Bang for the buck

    LAVC is a great school for those who know what they want to study, and are looking to get their education finished within a set time period.

    What to do for fun

    Join a club! They're a great way to meet and interact with students with similar interests, age, and in a non-threatening environment.

    Food and Dining

    The food selection in the cafeteria is limited and costly, so I suggest bringing your own food or dining at home to save money.

    Dorm Life

    There are many housing options near the campus, none affiliated with the school, although there are many flyers posted on campus for students looking for roommates.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused, constantly visit the councling office to make sure your credits are on track, as well as the finanical aid office to check on the many schollorship and grant oppertunities. Also refrain from taking a Prof. Maddox if you have a hard time focusing or a hearing problem.

    In three sentences

    LAVC is an open, easy accessible school when it comes to finding support and help. The campus offers select clubs and activities to be involved in but not an overwhelming amount to lead a student from their original chosen path. In comparison to the surrounding community colleges, LAVC offers the best chance to attend all the classes a student wants due to the small population.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's not located oin a great neighborhood, and i see the police every once in a while, but it's not really dangerous.

    Greek Life

    There is only one sorority here.

    Clubs and Activities

    There were a lot of events happening last semester-from blood drives to career fairs.

    Great for these types of students

    Students nit ready to make the jump to university straight out of high school and those looking for a way to save money before they transfer to a university. Also good for those trying to get an associates degree quickly.

    Bang for the buck

    $46/ unit. That's as cheap as it gets in California. It's still way cheaper than what I was paying at CSUN and there's an off camous bookstore that doesn't have bad prices.

    What to do for fun

    There's a lot of greenery. If you like the outdoors, this is a good community college. There's patio seating that's quite nice, if you just want to relax in between classes. Otherwise there's not much to do nearby, but it's Los Angeles; you have to commute everywhere. The Orange Line is right across the street, which is convenient.

    Food and Dining

    The sandwiches they sell can be made at home by anyone.

    Academic Rigor

    I've taken easy classes so far, but I'm assuming a class like business calculus may be challenging for the average person. There are honors sections avaliable if you desire more challenge.

    Tips for prospective students

    College is what you make of it. If you don't apply yourself, your not going to get a degree. You could go to MIT or Harvard, but if yiu don't apply yourself to your school work, you're wasting your time. College isn't like high school. You can't get away with not studying for a test and passing it. Studying is crucial to your success. You are the only one who can decide whether you really want that grade or not. No one will come chasing you asking if yoiu studied for the test or if you've finished an assignment. Take Pesonal Development 20!

    In three sentences

    So far, the professors I've had here are more concerned with their students' progress than those of California State University Northridge. It's a good transition between high school and university because it's not too daunting, but you get a taste of what college life is like. Also, Valley's not one of the prettiest schools, but it's improving.

  • 08/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 38

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    The school pushes you to continue in school by providing help to students. The college might be overloaded of students becomes we don't have much classes available. The college works hard to improve the facility and to maintain it clean and green.

  • 08/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are always little events happening around the college for students to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food is served well and the people working in the cafeteria do there job well.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    The college is made of classes that challenge you in order for you to reach your full potential.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep checking for your registration date so you don't have to crash classes.

    In three sentences

    The college is very clean and the students are friendly. Also, the teachers and counselors are always looking to help out students. The college sets a good example for all students by going green.

  • 08/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Campus is patrolled by the Los Angeles County Sheriff's Department. You'll see them in Squad cars, on foot or in one of those Golf Carts.

    Greek Life

    I don't believe I've seen any...

    Clubs and Activities

    There are MANY Clubs and Activities on Campus. These Clubs are meant to help students who have a particular interest in that field and will better prepare them for the Real World environment.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who like to explore their options before making a decision on which field would be interesting to them.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Students must check in their backpacks before entering the Bookstore to decrease the chances of Theft. This is unusual because they don't do this in other College Campuses.

    Bang for the buck

    The Instructors have previous or current experience in their fields so they know what they're talking about. It's better to learn from someone who went through that experience first hand than to learn from someone who has only been learning from textbooks.

    What to do for fun

    Socialize. Chances are that people will be very friendly and accommodating to you. Remember, whether they've been there a long time or it's their first time on Campus, people are always eager to meet new people.

    Food and Dining

    There is a Cafeteria located in the middle of Campus plus there are MANY vending machines that are located throughout the Campus. If you prefer to eat somewhere else, there are restaurants located in the surrounding area.

    Dorm Life

    This is a Community College. There are no dorms, although you can search for apartments surrounding the Campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Like with all Academics, it really depends on your personality. If you plan to study hard and work hard, it will pay off. However, if you become easily distracted, then chances are that College isn't for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    *If you're looking to save money on higher education, Valley College is the right choice for you. *The Campus is very clean so it's pleasant to walk around.

    In three sentences

    One of the most Clean Community College Campus that I have attended. Largest Community College Campus in the Valley. Wide array of subjects to choose from.

  • 11/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always, always, always police around. There aren't any problems with security. There may be problems, however, if you don't like the police...

    Greek Life

    Doesn't exist. Community college.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a very small but very dedicated clubs on campus. They are just very small, and the Associated Student Union that runs them is somewhat of a mess. They need all the support they can get...

    Great for these types of students

    People that want to transfer.

    Bang for the buck

    It's cheap, and assuming you don't just slack off, you're probably going to wind up transferring to a good school.

    What to do for fun

    There are clubs to participate in on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria's alright. A few restaurants close by. Vending machines are out to separate you from your money.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms. You're not living on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on your major. Low-level courses are fairly easy, but some of the higher level courses can be really difficult, particularly sciences and languages.

    Tips for prospective students

    1) Take your placement exams AS SOON AS YOU CAN. 2) Register for classes AS SOON AS YOU CAN. 3) Get your financial aid taken care of as soon as you can. 4) Talk to a counselor about transferring as soon as you can.

    In three sentences

    You're there to build up your GPA and transfer out to a better school. If you do your due diligence and you talk to a counselor, you're likely going to wind up at a UC or CSU. It's also very cheap, with quite a bit of variety in courses.

  • 12/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Has an active presence with security riding about the grounds both day and night.

    Food and Dining

    Lots of options on campus as well as around the area.

    Academic Rigor

    This college is a valid junior college. It's not high school or an extention of high school. So be ready to really work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Spend your time wisely. The semesters winter and summer are the shortest and should be used to either catch up or pull ahead. Fall and Spring fill up fast make your list of classes with a backup list of classes you want and need.

    In three sentences

    Wonderful campus with and excellent Media Arts department. And Professors that are able to teach students coming from a variety of backgrounds. Offers classes day, night, weekends and online.

  • 01/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is roaming Valley hourly and are willing to walk you to where you have to go.

    Clubs and Activities

    Great highly reccomend joing one!

    Great for these types of students

    Eager to learn students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Lots of fun squirrels to share your food with :)

    What to do for fun

    Join a club or the Associated Student Union.

    Food and Dining

    Food is actually extremely good for a cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms available

    Academic Rigor

    Some teachers are good and some are extremely un helpful, but just try your best.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend the Welcome Fair, it is very helpful! Join a club it is a great way to mingle.

    In three sentences

    It is a good college! The Counselors are amazing and soo nice. Join a club too!

  • 03/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Clubs are not too big at the campus, but they do seem like fun if you have time for them.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Some say because Grant high school is across the street from the college, it somehow diminishes the education level at Valley. Honestly, it doesn't matter, the professors at Valley are tough, strict, fair and very helpful if asked.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make friends, make acquaintances, establish relationships! You can never have too many friends out in the real world, and if you dont make new friends at Valley, it is most likely because you are not trying.

    In three sentences

    Los Angeles Valley College is a nice small campus. The students there are polite, helpful, friendly, smart. Not only are the students helpful but the faculty and staff as well, the sheriffs riding around campus will sometimes offer a ride if they see you are in a hurry.

  • 03/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a sheriff's office you can go to if you see any suspicious behavior. There is a police officer and school sheriffs around the school to attend you with anything that you need.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs in this school that are run by the students. There is also a student government that help the school stay in its course and organizes fun activities.

    Bang for the buck

    It is very affordable, but attaining classes is difficult.

    What to do for fun

    For fun you could join one of the many clubs the school has or just relax on the grass with a blanket. Also, the library has many computers available and books to read.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is a great place to get some good food. It has much variety and right across the street there are a few great restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms in this college.

    Academic Rigor

    This school is really focused on giving the student the best opportunity to transfer to a four year college. The counselors are very helpful and informative.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be early to get the best parking space. Take advantage of the great available resources in the school.

    In three sentences

    It is a small college with some great teachers. It is open and you can get to any class in time. The parking situation is not great but it is sustainable.

  • 03/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs on campus and although our club days are not the best it is good to get involved.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are no unusual places, but it is a great campus.

    What to do for fun

    You can join a club on campus, see games, or if you join a program can become involved and do activities.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria isn't a five star restaurant but it is good food and a variety of it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet with counselor and create your student educational plan. If you qualify for a program try and get in they will help you a lot. Try and enjoy the campus and network with professors.

    In three sentences

    This school is underestimated. There are great and caring professors. Accessible services and programs to help students. I enjoy the the campus and its getting better with the new buildings.

  • 04/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You're in LA!

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not go to the counsellors! They will trick you. go by the IGETC and you're golden.

    In three sentences

    LAVC is a great school to get your GEs finished. It is a smart way to save money. It is also a diverse school.

  • 05/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No serious incidents have happened during my time here. When i'm walking from a late class I never feel the need to run to my car, or initiate a fake phone call with my FBI agent father.

    Clubs and Activities

    Speech & Debate

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Down the street from campus there's a little donut shop. These guys treat you like a regular from the first time that you visit. Oh, and there're donuts.

    Bang for the buck

    CC is the cheapest choice after high school, unless you are fortunate enough to get some sort of scholarship. The education can only take you so far, you have to decide what you'll take away from it.

    What to do for fun

    Public speaking, coaching speech members, and poetry slam.

    Dorm Life

    There's no dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are easy, the professors don't want you to fail. You'll get a couple teachers that just don't have the right approach, but that happens anywhere.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join something, don't begin your journey to higher education alone. When I came to community college, I felt like it was just a stepping stone, a small phase of my life that I would just skip when telling my children where mommy went to college. In the process of doing my own thing, I stumbled upon the Speech team. Without knowing what this activity was even about, I decided to give it a try. Ended up in New York for a National Speech tournament and came in at 7th in the Nation. I now call that team my family. Not only did it make my experience at a CC worthwhile, but it provided me with a leg up to continue this activity at a University, which is where I am head to this year. All because of one club. JOIN SOMETHING, ANYTHING.

    In three sentences

    A mixture of some of the most unconventionally amazing professors and an intimate campus that has a ton of little gems. One of the top Speech & Debate teams in the nation and a very driven student body.

  • 06/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    VERY SAFE

    Clubs and Activities

    so varied ,there is something for everyone

    Great for these types of students

    all types

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the unusual tradition of taking care of feral cats is a plus.

    Bang for the buck

    What made me choose LAVC was the campus itself. lots of tree's and spaciousness of the campus.

    What to do for fun

    There is so many clubs to join there, it really has something for anybody.

    Food and Dining

    Food at this college is a little better then most. you have a varied amount of choices in the cafeteria and all around the campus.

    Dorm Life

    there is no dorm life there. all students live off campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    My biggest tip for students thinking of going there is to sign up as early as possible for financial aid and the classes you want. I also would go to Rate a teacher.com to decide who would be the best teacher for you.

    In three sentences

    I rate LAVC very highly for new students. I have taken all subjects there and found all the teachers to be incredibly dedicated to helping you pass.

  • 07/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Movies :D

    Food and Dining

    Never had it.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    It could be tougher but it prepares you for bigger things.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to the bathroom early before they get all dirty.

    In three sentences

    A simple college with lots of squires. Get there, get your education and move on. Ask for all the help available so you won't miss out.

  • 08/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    NOT MUCH

    What to do for fun

    NOT MUCH JUST A THOSE P.E AND ELECTIVE CLASSES AND THATS ALL.

    Tips for prospective students

    TRY TO MAINTAIN A 2.0 GPA AND UP. AS WELL AS SEEING A CONSULAR FOR ADVISE ON YOUR EDUCATION GOAL PLAN.

    In three sentences

    A VERY CLEAN SCHOOL WITH A GOOD VIBE JUST WALKING ON THE CAMPUS. INTRESTING PROFFESORS WHO REALLY INTERACT AND TEACH THEIR STUDENTS! A WELL ON GOOD SCHOOL FOR THOSE FRESH OUT OF HIGH SCHOOL.

  • 12/04/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    35 of 38

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Hi, I really need someone to let me know if there are good astronomy programs or what would I have to take to become an astronomer please. Sorry this is not a review but I cant get this answer anywhere! Thank you so very much.

  • 01/31/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I love how much money you're able to save in a community college!

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria and the building next to it were completely removed, as they're now building a whole new cafeteria and lounge for students to enjoy. I'm pretty excited to see how it'll turn out.

    Dorm Life

    Valley College is a community college, so there's no available dorms. However, there are plenty of apartment buildings around the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Maximize your time at Valley College: stay loyal to your classes, focus deeply, avoid withdrawing from classes, obtain a good grade. Join clubs and participate in extracurricular activities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be aware of your registration dates/deadlines and make sure to register for classes on that same day to ensure your seat in that class.

    In three sentences

    Valley College is in a good neighborhood and near great places to eat. Most professors are great in their subjects and very helpful! High diversity on campus.

  • 05/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    CC is not so much, but they have some PE classes, free concert every wednesday, hang out around in campus.

    Food and Dining

    Now they have 2 foods trucks, they make good food. you can still find food around, drive less than 10 mns.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm, housing by yourself

    Academic Rigor

    many good instructors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan ahead otherwise stuck in CC for more than 4 years. If you need classes, go to neighbor cc college, don't stuck at one.

    In three sentences

    Great program and lot of classes. Have very good math and english dep. The counselling sometime is suck.

  • 07/31/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none

    Great for these types of students

    focused, determined, students who work, have families etc..

    Bang for the buck

    Many students don't pay for tuition and get fee waivers.

    What to do for fun

    Nothing really..

    Food and Dining

    There are only two food trucks for the time being and the student store. The cafeteria is under construction.

    Dorm Life

    It is nonexistent. L.A. Valley college is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    Most professors have extremely low standards. It's not too hard to get ahead of the curve. It's not competitive at all.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's a great college if you're focused on transferring. Follow the IGETC. I highly recommend also joining TAP, the honors program at school.

    In three sentences

    Los Angeles Valley College is a great college because it's easy to get classes and to focus on transferring to a university. There are many new features which dramatically improve the learning environment. The school has remodeled many of the buildings and established a really nice library. There are also extensive amounts of night classes for non-traditional students who work full time and or have families.