Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Los Medanos College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/25/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 1 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Los Medanos is great for everyone, especially when colleges are cutting back. Students with financial need especially. You will benefit the most. Also students who have struggled in certain subjects. You have the ability to get free help, go to Los Medanos and get help from tutors. You have a chance to become friends and talk one on one with your teachers. I know you can not do that in universities. Honestly LMC is a great place and you see anyone from high school students to adults. This just goes to show you that its enjoyable for all.

    Tips for prospective students

    Incoming students should be on top of their stuff. You should be prepared in high school to enroll in LMC. Know the dates for orientation and class sign ups. Also do not be afraid of summer school because there are easy classes you can get out of the way early. Especially when you get to the classes such as Biology, remember you are competing with alot of students. So you want to make sure you know your class sign up date and the class times. Make many different schedules so you have options if classes fill up. Also talk to people and make friends. Study groups help out alot and makes your time at LMC more enjoyable.

    Bang for the buck

    At 26 dollars a unit and alot of Financial Aid for junior college students LMC is a bang for your buck. If you do not recieve financial aid you can apply for the Board of Governers Fee Waiver. This lowers costs to a dollar a unit. You have unlimited access to internet and tuturs. I know I have used my fair share of the computers and tutors. I have saved hundreds of dollars in that and gas. This is because I can stay at school to do homework instead of going home. I would recomend LMC to anyone who need fincanial help or is looking for a good school to finish lower division courses in.

    Am enjoying being here

    My time at LMC has been a good one. I would encourage people to play sports or join clubs. I personally have met the people I hang around through baseball. While looking around the campus you can see the different groups. These groups are usually made up of athletes and people who are in clubs. My favorite part about Los Medanos is the Labs. Here you get free tutoring and access to computers. It makes everything available to students. I have spent alot of time using these resources and my time here has been enjoyable.

    Am learning a lot

    At Los Medanos whether you are learning alot or just taking classes to get out of LMC varies. What I consider learning alot is being able to retain the information once the semester ends. As a lower division student you will take classes that range from Philosophy to Statics. Depending on what classes you take really depends on how much you learn. Some of these lower division classes can be really simple and some can be extremely hard, it all depends on your professor and the class. When you get into the classes were not everyone is required to take it, such as Calculus, things get tough. I learned more things in this class than I did in my other four that semester. So at LMC you have you choice to either learn alot or just pick classes for an easy A. But in my case I have learned alot at LMC.

  • 10/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I think it's a pretty safe neighborhood, there are campus patrollers, but of course, one cannot be too careful.

    Clubs and Activities

    circle k etc.

    Great for these types of students

    -plan to transfer -that don't mind going to a small school before university

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    on a warm day, I like to sit outside the cafeteria under all the trees, on a relatively windy day, it's really comfortable and a lot more quiet tan inside the cafeteria.

    Bang for the buck

    it's pretty good. I like the campus, and some of my teachers are really good.

    What to do for fun

    if you're in a music class, you will have access to the practice rooms that are sound proof and have pianos... everything else depends on your creativity or resourcefulness for finding fun things to do.

    Food and Dining

    prefetch decent food, a litte pricey in my opinion, but the portions are good.

    Dorm Life

    I wouldn't know anything about this...

    Tips for prospective students

    -do not by any means, think that you can slack off a little -just because it's a community college, you need to really work to transfer -use the resources provided for students (math lab, peer tutoring, etc.)

    In three sentences

    -it's a good atmosphere -fairly safe -there are some good teachers, but some you need to watch out for.

  • 01/05/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Study and do your best on the math/english tests that choose what class you'll be in. The better you do the higher the class is, which means you don't have to take more classes then you have to.

    Bang for the buck

    The first semester cost me around $500 + $1000 for books/supplies. 1 unit costs $26.

    Am enjoying being here

    It was hard in the first week, but became a lot easier to understand the way LMC works. The class room were confusing at first, but you get the hang of finding your class.

    Am learning a lot

    Los Medanos College is almost like High School, The teachers are great. I fell I am learning more at LMC then High School because of fewer students in the class and the longer class time.

  • 11/14/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Am enjoying being here

    LMC is a lot like high school. The majority of students here are most likely from the high school you graduated from and you feel comfortable right away. Of course, the classes are a little harder, but you will get used to it. Chances are, you will be in the same class with someone you recognize.

  • 01/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Every college is great for any type of student. What you make out of your time there affects how much you enjoy the school.

    Tips for prospective students

    There are three easy tips to be a successful student at LMC. 1. Find out which professors will help you succeed and will actually teach you something. Not only will your ability to grasp an abundance of knowledge grow, but also will your confidence. 2. Meet new people. Knowing a variety of students in a classroom makes in 100% easier and more fun to go to class. Now you have someone to call if you miss a class, didn't get the homework assignment, or need help. Trust me, this is very important. 3. Participate in extracaricular activities. It is exeptional to be an all-around student. Nothing can go wrong, you make new friends, have something to look foward to, and it's just plain fun. Colleges also love when someone is involved in several activities and succeeds in school. Studying and class are a priority, but so are these after- school activities. Have fun, get a spark to your life and accomplish things.

    Bang for the buck

    As stated above, sometimes you get what you pay for, and other times you may be handed the best professor you could ever ask for. If you have the commitment to go after good teachers and find out how to get them, Los Medanos may not be so bad after all.

    Am enjoying being here

    The Pittsburg campus is extremely nice. Trees surrounding the campus give off a certain sense of adventure, and the free open area allows fresh air to circulate throughout every room and hallway. The students are down-to-earth and you get to know a lot of people by just shaking someones hand and introducing yourself in a happy manner. Knowing that I have a goal to transfer gives me satisfaction and the drive I need to sit in a chair for hours at a time. Getting my work done and focusing on the bright future that lies ahead of me is easy since I know it will pay off.

    Am learning a lot

    To be completely honest, the type of teachers you get vary greatly. My first semester at Los Medanos College was a tough one, I had some professors that could care less about what you learned and babbled on about topics unrelated to the class. On the other hand, this current semester feels like I'm at a different school. My history teacher is one of the best I have ever had, telling a story as he teaches, grabbing my attention for three straight hours and I leave satisfied, feeling extremely smart and confident. My political science teacher agrues that he is better than professors at Cal Berkely or even Stanford, and I absolutely believe him. I left class after the first week knowing more than I have ever had about politics and important facts about America. I am learning a lot, but can I expect that everytime, I don't know. Read the professors ratings before hand, and that will tell you everything you need to know. I didn't know that my first semester, and I wish I did. Now, it is a blessing.

  • 12/31/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I would recommend this campus for people whom live near by or for people whom have family members/friends which live near by and go to the campus to get informed on the structure of the campus

    Bang for the buck

    This campus could be pretty cheap if people know how to compare prices. In the sense of food, the cafeteria could be pretty cheap if you know how to order from past experiences. Even though there are some fast food restaurants near campus but its rather a trade-off with having it done now or driving/walking to your choice of restaurants. And with purchasing text books, the book store is quite expensive, I would rather rent a used book or purchase it elsewhere. But when buy back time comes by the prices they give are satisfying.

    Am enjoying being here

    I'm enjoying being at the college because of the great staff they have yet some of the parts of the campus could use a bit of beautification internally of the buildings. I enjoy their accent on nature throughout the campus and at the outside eating areas.

    Am learning a lot

    I've enjoyed learning in abundance at this campus. I get to learn about everything that I ask my professors help in or more in detail. And if you'll need help researching for a paper or simply just want to study more and need direction. The librarians and tech supporters are there to help.

  • 03/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    i like to take a walk around the lake for fun. it is roughly .5 miles (just a guess) but i love to see the turtles on the logs, or the ducks with their families swimming around. its a great view!

    Food and Dining

    i think the cafeteria food is good! you have a few choices in the cafeteria (mexican, american and asian come to mind), but if you don't like that, there are many fast food places around as well

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms on campus, but there are apartments all around pittsburg, and antioch which are affordable.

    Academic Rigor

    you are in college, no high school, so the classes are tough, but you are there to get an education. study hard, don't miss class, and go to any labs assigned, and you will do great!

    Tips for prospective students

    my tip for prospective students would be to study hard and not slack off. i was sick a lot so far this semester with respiratory illnesses, and if you can keep from staying home, just go to class.

    In three sentences

    los medanos is a great school. while there is a lot of construction going on with the rebuilding of some parts, in the end, it will turn the school from a great school, to a fantastic school! the lake is also beautiful to walk around on a stressful day and look at all of the wild life.

  • 03/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    work hard and all thing will good well.

    In three sentences

    i think los medanos is a very nice school. the environment is set up very nicely like a university. so,far the staff is very nice and welling to help.

  • 03/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Decent campus security, there are security guards that patrol around in case that something happens.

    Clubs and Activities

    Good amount of clubs and events that are available; however, there could be a larger variety.

    Bang for the buck

    Good professors and a decent campus

    What to do for fun

    Nothing really to do on campus for fun.

    Food and Dining

    Much of the food and dining still need's some work.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life since it's a community college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard and take advantage of the professors here at this college. They are all friendly and are willing to help as long as the effort is put into it.

    In three sentences

    A good way to get ready for a four year institution. However, it is limited in classes due to the budget cuts.

  • 04/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many extra-curricular activities on campus to get involved in.

    Food and Dining

    Food and Dining is okay, simple cafeteria.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the courses you're enrolled in the difficulty level of classes vary, this also depends on the the instructor.

    Tips for prospective students

    If planning on attending Los Medanos College, see a counselor right away to set up a study/education plan for ultimate success. While in the semester, continue to do labs and get all the help that is offered to you as a student! Check in with the instructor and build a good relationship with him/her.

    In three sentences

    There are many facilities on campus that urge students at all levels to succeed. Most faculty and staff urge students to do the best possible, and are typically easy to get in touch with. School is currently being renovated but still accessible.

  • 04/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We feel very safe here at Los Medanos. We never really have anything bad happen. There are always police and police aides doing their job.

    Clubs and Activities

    Circle K is an amazing club to join. They are there to help their community from Pittsburg to Brentwood alone. They are a very welcoming group that is willing to help in any way they can. They got club of the year for 2012.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who love to study, try to find the building that has to do with the subjest you are needing help with. Normally there are tutors already there to help you the best way they can.

    Bang for the buck

    To get the biggest bang for your buck, try to find other students who have already taken the class and try to get their used book for cheaper.

    What to do for fun

    I recommend doing all the activities that the Student Life plans because they are really fun and the people are super nice. The plays that the theater produces are also very amazing.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great but also a bit on the expensive side. I would suggest bringing food or bring 10$ for a good lunch.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms here since it is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    Science classes are hard to get into because of how fast they can fill up. The classes are not that hard. It also depends on your strengths and weaknesses.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest talking to the counselors and getting an education plan. They really help you stay on track on what classes to take to accomplish your goal.

    In three sentences

    Los Medanos College is an amazing school. The Student Life people are amazing and very helpful. I feel very welcomed here because everyone is so nice.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always campus police on site. There are two different places to contact the police and also have them escort you at night , if needed.

    Greek Life

    No Greek life at this school. There are Greek associated clubs though.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a variety of clubs on this campus. There is anything from film clubs to student council to ethnic/culture clubs. Sports are also a main focus on this campus as well, a large community of support.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for every type of student. You can still attend here in high school as well as come back as a returning student. This school is accepting of all who wish to pursue an education, as well as those who which to take life enriching classes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a nature preserve on this campus. When you got here, it gives one a chance to be around nature and in a stress free environment. I highly suggest spending time there.

    Bang for the buck

    The student fees are very affordable when compared to 4 year universities. Teachers here are fair and try to add as many students as they can. There are many services and options for whomever attends the school.

    What to do for fun

    There are a variety of clubs and student run activities to attend at any time. There are plenty of areas to relax and converse with fellow students. There is also an art gallery, which showcases local artist as well as student art.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria at the campus has been recently renovated. There is a nice variety of food offered at affordable prices. There are plenty of vending machines as well on campus and options for food in the bookstore. The dining room is spacious and provides an atmosphere for camaraderie.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorm options at this school.

    Academic Rigor

    All classes have their difficulty, but there are a variety of services to help you through those difficulties. There is full time and part time options to suit everyone's needs. pace yourself and use the campus support to achieve your goals.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you communicate and stay in touch with your professors. Utilize all services on campus and join in campus activities and clubs. Stay focused and seek opportunities provided by the campus.

    In three sentences

    Los Medanos strives to make sure every student has the opportunity to attend college and receive a degree. They have a variety of services and support to help make your goal of getting a degree come true. The staff and faculty are supportive and encouraging.

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    13 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    From what I've heard the food is kind of like average, some of the food is a bit better than average.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't really any dorms at LMC but there are social activities and clubs so you won't miss out.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are, from what I've heard, about as easy as most AP classes. The honors classes are harder than the others, and some teachers are tougher than others. Some are as easy as a high school course, and others expect a lot more out of you. You will need to study alot more than you did in high school to perform well.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would reccomend going to the orientation and registering the first day you can because classes fill up really fast.

    In three sentences

    not what I expected from a community college. LMC was very helpful for students who were incoming freshman. They have an orientation and make it easy for people to sign up for classes and know what classes to sign up for.

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always police in training rolling around in their little carts, but as with any campus, people steal so make sure you lock your car and that your valuables are hidden safely out of sight.

    Greek Life

    Alpha Gamma Sigma is for students with a 3.0 GPA that wish to volunteer and have a sense of Greek community while attending a junior college.

    Clubs and Activities

    Honors, Anime Club, RPG (for gamers), MESA, Omoja for African Americans, and the list goes on and on. You name the club or activity and LMC's got it.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for people of all ages that wish to pursue a higher education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The lake is an all time favorite for jogging enthusiasts, artists painting on the scene, nature lovers, and any student that has a break between classes to go see the sites. There is also a Nature preserve located on campus that has benches to study, beautiful hummingbirds and plenty of flowers for your viewing pleasure!

    Bang for the buck

    Rather than jumping straight into a UC or CSU that can be costly, LMC has a broad range of financial aid available that can help you no matter your sitation. They have a child care center for parents that are going back to school

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of clubs and activities on campus for students of many different personalities and ethnicities.

    Food and Dining

    The food at LMC is amazing!!! The cafeteria always has daily lunch specials, is relatively cheaper and better than any fast food joint nearby, and doesn't charge for tax!!! I suggest their awesome chicken burritos, they are huge and only cost $4!!

    Dorm Life

    There is no on campus housing at the junior college level at Los Medanos College. If you really want to live on campus or have no other option, I suggest that you attend LMC's sister college DVC in Pleasant Hill since they do offer apartments for students that are close to the school but do expect to pay more.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on how rigorous the teacher is and their previous academic background, the student will have a variety of different courses of different difficulties. I would suggest going onto ratemyprofessor.com to a preview of what your teacher and class might be like beofre signing up.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are fresh out of High School, I suggest that you start by bringing in a copy of your transcripts to the registration office and take the placement test to know which classes you will be needing to take in order to graduate. Also seeing a counselor and taking the Myers and Briggs test to see which career you would be happy with wont hurt!

    In three sentences

    I have been attending LMC full time since Summer 2009 and feel as though the classes and faculty prepare you for transfer to a state college or university of your choice. If you did not have the money to jump straight into a UC or CSU right after High School, a junior college like LMC is great at assisting students with programs that will help you pay for books, supplies, rent and transportation if you meet the criteria.

  • 06/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nice lake, ducks, and turtles

    Food and Dining

    Food is good for campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you don't show you care, neither will they.

    In three sentences

    Los Medanos is good school. The counselors could stand to be a bit more educated. However, there are people there that care about your education.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security and Police ALWAYS on campus & multiple offices.

    Greek Life

    Non-exsistent.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of festivities planned throughout the year.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are working and need classes at different times of day.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is raising and books cost more than the classes. However, a lot of books are available for check out in the library so make time to go there and do your work and save money!

    What to do for fun

    Join Clubs! Participate in events in Quad throughout year. Drama department puts on good plays.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria has a range of food and snacks. Only downfall is minimum charge for use of debit/credit.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms. Community College. However, there is apartments right across the street.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes can be a real challenge depending on the teachers setup. Check Rate Your Professor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check your school administered Email. Pay attention to WebAdvisor.

    In three sentences

    LMC is constantly improving their campus with renovations. They have a great employment and scholarship office that is geared toward helping students. The students range in age and ethnicity and are all really friendly.

  • 07/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    People worry about the Pittsburg area, but on campus there are cops in the front of the school and driving around campus and in the parking lots too!

    Clubs and Activities

    You'll definitely find something no matter who you are.

    Great for these types of students

    Want to have fun and go to college, but can't go to a University? Well, sign up for Los Medanos!

    Bang for the buck

    Rateyourteacher.com helps you see which teachers might work better for you in your classes. Never take math at the end of the day. You will struggle to go. Don't take a 3hr science class. Not worth it.

    What to do for fun

    There are all kinds of sports and clubs! Too many to name. There are lots of clubs to join or attend. Anyone could find something. Just look at the many posters all around the school inviting you!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you sign up with a counselor every semester to help you with your class sign up. They are very helpful and you want to make sure you're getting done only what you need to get done. They help you stay on track and not waste your money!

    In three sentences

    I'd say that for an area with such hardships, this is a great CC. The staff is very helpful and it's not a bad school like most out of the area think (because of the area the school is located). I love it and there's even a Brentwood extension for kids who can't make it to Pittsburg all the time!

  • 07/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt threatened on campus, even after a night class.

    Greek Life

    none.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are several different clubs, each one has there own activities and fundraisers that are planned for the semester.

    Great for these types of students

    Students interested in learning will find very knowledgeable instructors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Many people express their views on campus by handing out pamphlets, there's also usually different events going on becacuse of the many clubs on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Comparing to a UC or state school, it's way cheaper. The school has many different resources that students can use as well.

    What to do for fun

    There's a mall down the street, two california regional parks, lots of great hiking areas, and several areas for shopping.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has pretty good food and there are several restaurants in the area.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms available.

    Academic Rigor

    If you are a full time dedicated student that studies for classes to know the material, it can be challenging to retain the information. If you never study, you can easily get by, but won't really learn anything.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to buy an earlier edition of the book your instructor asks for, they are usually almost the same. Also make sure to sign up for financial aid, many people get at least the unit fee wavier.

    In three sentences

    It's a good community college in the bay area, helps you to save some money. It also has many informative instructors and many different types of classes for different majors.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Never been into the cafeteria.

    Academic Rigor

    Again, not much variety in classes/courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Parking can be a hassle around 11AM. If you're paranoid about taking a hard subject with a certain teacher, there's a couple of websites with professor reviews by students.

    In three sentences

    In my opinion, the facility is very beautiful and clean. Resources are available everywhere, parking is huge, the campus is patrolled, nice and safe environment. Unfortunately, I think the only flaw with this school is that there are not many interesting subjects to expand your interests.

  • 08/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The best thing a person/student can do to have fun at the college is make friends and learn from their past experiences!

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria at this college has a lot to offer. There are many different types of foods that are offered and they expand cultures and races into the college.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life given.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics here at Los Medanos College is one of the big things that supporters focus on expanding.

    Tips for prospective students

    Everyone that wishes to attend to the college should definitely attend because they will never be held back if they give the best they got!

    In three sentences

    Los Medanos College is a college where students and teachers focus on expanding opportunities and learning skills. The college students that attend to this college have a lot of support from professors to even staff members. Los Medanos College is the school where I will transfer from!

  • 08/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police is always out! Not necessarily to keep the campus safe, but rather to give out tickets to those who do not have a parking permit and speeders.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a few clubs, but none of them interest me.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who cannot afford a 4-year college or those who are not ready to move away from home.

    Bang for the buck

    Excellent. At $46 per unit, this is very affordable. Especially when about 90% of the students here have tuition waivers.

    What to do for fun

    Not much. There are a few clubs, but not much else.

    Food and Dining

    I haven't personally ate here, but some of my friends who go here say that the food is over-priced and not very good.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I have been taking more than just 12 units per semester, so the amount of work I receive is a lot. If you take only 12 or do part-time, it might be easier.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you can take classes at DVC instead of LMC, do it. I have noticed that DVC and LMC offer some identical classes, but the classes from LMC will not transfer to CSUS while classes from DVC will. Even my counselor found that to be strange.

    In three sentences

    Parking lot fills quickly, as well as the classes. Financial Aid never returns calls or emails. Located in a high-crime city.

  • 08/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    For those who are Math / Engineering / Science students: MESA (Mathematics Engineering Science Achievement) will be a good place for you to ask for help or help others. For those who are good at scientific academic courses: you can try to asking for on-campus assistance or tutoring in corresponding section (ex, for students good at math, you can go to the math building to seek for tutoring job, Mike or Alison will help you with it) For those who are looking for financial aid or employment: Go to the PS 2-20 at the corner of campus, right behind the cafeteria. (It moved to that place this year)

    What to do for fun

    There will be club activities on campus. Also, many of the club activities are open to LMC staff, so enjoy yourselves to the activities. Never to be nervous about it!

    Food and Dining

    Food is yummy. However, there are only one cafeteria, so there are no many staff working for food and there are not too many food to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    I do not know where the college dorm is, or if it has any dorm. We rent a house somewhere near the college, and I ride to school everyday. It is convenient.

    Academic Rigor

    I am not saying that all teachers are equally knowledgeable in academic issues, but they show their respect to knowledge. If they do not know something, they will attempt to give a comment and tell you that they do not know. Although teachers are easygoing, they treat academic issues strictly. The teachers may emphasize your course work, attendance and participation. However, you may not be fear about your courses, there will be extra credits or low exam drop policies.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to play a role in a Club, which is a practice for you all. The teachers are easy-going, so DO NOT be shy about asking question, especially when you are confused. The teachers are equal to every student.

    In three sentences

    It is quite a dreamland for transfer students. The teachers are easy-going and open to students' questions. Also, there are a lot of opportunities to stand out on campus, not only in academic achievement.

  • 08/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very safe. It has a police station nearby, and a program that trains students into being police officers and fire technicians.

    Greek Life

    none whatsoever

    Clubs and Activities

    Los Medanos has many clubs that appeal to every type of person.

    Great for these types of students

    Any student wanting to save money and further their education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Our school is pretty normal!

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition in California continues to rise, however it is still cheaper at Los Medanos.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, you can join a student group, or attend some of the events that LMC hosts.

    Food and Dining

    The food that LMC offers is similar to any food court you might go to. Everything is clean and organized there in order to make its students feel welcome.

    Dorm Life

    Chances are you will be commuting to LMC, there are some apartment condos across the street that offer discounts for students though.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are easy while others are challenging,but not impossible to get an A in.

    Tips for prospective students

    A good thing about LMC is that they offer free student consoling . I implore new students to see a consular to help them figure out what classes they need.

    In three sentences

    A great college to go to whether you want to get a degree there or save money before transferring to a 4 year school.

  • 09/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I came to this school excited to finish my nursing courses. I was going to school part time while working full time. I am now a full time student but since I need financial aid this time it has almost become a burden to finish. I would never quit now but it is so frustrating to keep going when you feel as though you are the only one that wants you to graduate.

    What to do for fun

    I hear there are alot of activities here. I dont have the time for any with all the school work and job searching I have to do.

    Food and Dining

    i dont eat there

    Dorm Life

    No dorm

    Tips for prospective students

    Do all your research on your major and financial assistance before you get to school. List all your questions and make sure they get answered so you fully understand what is going on or what might happen in future.

    In three sentences

    Teachers and students are wonderful. Counseling office tries hard to help everyone but the financial aid office needs improvement. Rules are confusing and employees are overworked and a little short when asking for explanations.

  • 09/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    dance, puente, language...ect

    Bang for the buck

    community college is the way to go!

    What to do for fun

    join clubs

    Food and Dining

    there are no restaurants on campus or stands. There is the cafeteria, vending machines and coffee stands

    Dorm Life

    none

    Tips for prospective students

    explore all opportunities and clubs, some give early registration.

    In three sentences

    Los Medanos College is a really nice sized school that has students in mind whether it is educational opportunities or financial opportunities. This college has several different career paths that suit different interests. The only complaint I have is the availability of classes, the population is so big the availability can not suit everyone.

  • 09/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police are everywhere, but there have been a few assaults of students in the parking lot and car break-ins.

    Greek Life

    None!

    Clubs and Activities

    The school has quite a few clubs, but I have rarely heard of people talking about them or club member trying to recruit.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Student Life is a place were students can go and study in a peaceful environment, print off paperwork instead of paying for printing anywhere else, and it has all the supplies you can ever imagine. It's basically a little room where students can go to hang out or study with or without friends.

    Bang for the buck

    So much cheaper than attending a 4-year and spending a fortune.

    What to do for fun

    Throughout the year, the campus will have little activities going on all over campus. Take advantage and become a part of all of them. Also, play a sport for the school. It's a great way to get in shape and make new friends!

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has some pretty decent food. The only unfortunate thing is the cafeteria is on the smaller size.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life!

    Academic Rigor

    No challenges, unless you don't reach out to your professors and peers. It's always a good idea to form a relationship with the professors so they know you are willing to go out of your way to ask for help or just talk to them. Also make friends and form study groups. Without help from your classmates, you will struggle.

    Tips for prospective students

    For the future students of Los Medanos, make sure you make appointments with a counselor as soon as you begin school. They are extremely helpful and will guide you through your college career. Los Medanos offers a lot of helpful programs to help students out, whether it is by blocking off classes or helping them out money wise, so make sure you join a program. Form study groups, because having a group of students help you through the year will help build your confidence and earn you a good grade. Basically, make friends and enjoy your time here. Los Medanos is a pretty decent school despite what others may say.

    In three sentences

    Los Medanos offers a lot of great programs for their students. The school has professors who teach very thoroughly and clearly. The atmosphere of the school has improved over the past few years because they are currently under construction to make the school look better.

  • 11/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There are local food areas and they have their own cafeteria, but I haven't tried their food. I have no idea how good it is.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms for LMC, except for apartments right across the street.

    Academic Rigor

    A lot of the teachers are great. Just pick whoever.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you sign up as soon as possible before all the good classes are taken.

    In three sentences

    Los Medanos is a great school and a very short distance from my house. They have really great teachers who are there for you and make class exciting and a thrill. So far, I haven't had any horrible teachers and all of them make class fun.

  • 11/03/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    28 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    did not stay on campus for long, so did not really apply to me.

    Food and Dining

    never ate on campus.

    Dorm Life

    none available.

    Academic Rigor

    pretty easy classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early. Take classes while you are still in high school, if possible.

    In three sentences

    I took classes here while I was in high school. Very worth while. Good prices for concurrent enrollment.

  • 11/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    No greek life

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The first week of classes there is Mustang Madness which was tons of fun and you got to see all the people attending LMC.

    What to do for fun

    There is always an activity going on at LMC that you can get involved with.

    Food and Dining

    There is a dining hall at LMC, they have a variety of foods to pick from at decent prices.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms at LMC.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are hard to get into but the ones you take are great classes with not to much work outside of class other than studying and a few papers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should sign up for classes early as they fill up very fast! Make sure you stay on top of your studying and use all the resources that LMC has to offer!

    In three sentences

    Los Medanos College has a great campus with many amazing resources. The staff are very friendly and always willing to help with any questions you have. I would rate LMC as an excellent college.

  • 01/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a great many things to do for fun, from five dollar movies at the rave theater on Tuesdays. To midnight bowling on Friday nights, and then heading over to mel's for a late night snack. The Bart is also close by, so traveling into Berkley or San Francisco is always an option.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food in Pittsburg is very good, and they always have a grand array of food that is delicious and healthy. If you happen to be in the Brentwood campus, there is a wonderful cafe not that far off, and a dollar store right next door, wonderful for broke college students, like myself.

    Dorm Life

    I'm not sure that their is dorm life, I believe there is but I live with my folks.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are on standard California University level with their style of teaching, so it is best to go in there and work hard, and know that there is no room for slacking off.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are here to work hard to achieve your future goals, then this school will take you far, with a wonderful staff that is always there to help, so really utilize that. Also it is best to stay on top of the website for important dates, and to find out if class might have been canceled.

    In three sentences

    I was at first skeptical about the academic rigor of Los Medanos, and in typical fashion I thought community college was for drop-outs, but I was beyond wrong. The school is filled with amazing professors who will challenge you on a day-to-day basis, and help you in achieving your goals whether that be transferring to a four year or just extending your previous education. The campus is also amazing and it is impossible not to find outstanding people who are just like yourself.

  • 01/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very nice campus

    Clubs and Activities

    they can get annoying at any school, but they don't bother you like in high school. and its not mandatory. :)

    Great for these types of students

    hard workers, determined, and for all wealth brackets. there is alot of opportunity for lower class students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    feeding the ducks in the pond even when we are not supposed to.

    Bang for the buck

    worth it

    What to do for fun

    join a club? walk around the ponds (feed the ducks bread in secret)

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria food is great, but you cant use a card for purchases under three dollars, and they charge you for convenience

    Academic Rigor

    its easy when you love to learn, and alot of the teachers are very understanding that their students often have lives outside of school.

    Tips for prospective students

    fill out a BOG waiver, do your fafsa on time and keep the financial aid office in check. you never know when you are being cheated out of your grant money. this goes for all colleges

    In three sentences

    Los medanos is a great school with knowledgeable teachers. being able to focus your studies is a very valuable part of their programs. unfortunately they almost never give you your financial aid on time.

  • 03/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go out of town.

    Tips for prospective students

    stay focused

    In three sentences

    Excellent science professors. Excellent Tutor center. Good people

  • 04/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    LMC is great for the students who are focused and ready to transfer, for students who aren't sure about their plan I've seen it become a quicksand for them. They get stuck there way longer than they should be.

    Bang for the buck

    Unit prices have gotten pretty steep, I now have a fee waiver but for those without one they complain quite a bit about prices.

    What to do for fun

    The school offers sports as well as Arts so there are plenty of events you can be a part of. I for one used the all-weather track and field quite a bit.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria isn't that bad at all. zit provides a very diverse selection of entrees and a salad bar.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Some teachers truly want you tp learn the material but it can be tough even with their help. Be focused and poised, the curriculum is all doable but it takes time-management and hard-work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Dot your I's and cross your T's. It is very easy to get distracted or discouraged at LMC because there are so many students. Take care of your business before you engage in the groups or extra-curriculars. Also, meet with a counselor at least once a semester.

    In three sentences

    Los Medanos can be very good for you depending on what teachers you choose to base your schedule with. Some have so many students in one class that they have little time to help everyone. Others find a way to make sure you understand.

  • 04/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are 3 types of campus police but drugs run rampant on the campus.

    Greek Life

    Does not apply.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs but they are pathetic and wretched like the rest of the campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Not for any kind of student, maybe for those who pretend to be students but not the place for an active learner.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Math professors do not write their own finals, a board has to write it for them. Every general ed class requires students to conduct presentations. Furthermore, computer classes have no computers but math and end English classes do, although math and English students do not use them.

    What to do for fun

    There's a lake with white geese, ducks, and wild Canadian grey goose, its a pretty lake but it is also mismanaged and disgracefully filthy.

    Food and Dining

    Everything is bought from Costco, cafeteria is poorly managed and poorly maintained. Food is awful and makes students sick.

    Dorm Life

    Does not apply.

    Academic Rigor

    I have never felt a serious lack of challenge nor such restraints placed on one's learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    Expect little, earn your credits and move on.

  • 04/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Minor crimes, missing backpacks, or computers, but for the most part very safe campus.

    Greek Life

    AGS and Honors Club are well worth looking into. Personally I am an AGS member, haven't applied yet for Honors Transfer Club.

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty of clubs, just need to find what you like.

    Great for these types of students

    All type of students are welcome

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing unusual happens here

    Bang for the buck

    The college education has always been good, just a select few teachers need to be evaluated. Otherwise, for what it costs to go here is better than automatically transferring to a four year. Saves time and money.

    What to do for fun

    Not much happen outside clubs, at least they keep you busy and can be engaging. Surround yourself with friends, learn to manage the hours and give yourself a few days off a week to have fun.

    Food and Dining

    Food is expensive and not very good. Some stuff is alright, but it would be better if you brought your own lunch.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms here

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are what makes this place worth going back to, otherwise I would find another community college to attend.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to keep yourself paced and in line with what university you plan on transferring to. Remember not to apply for any certificates because it will interfere with your eligibility for student aid. At least the scholarships are easy to win.

    In three sentences

    The financial process is a joke, with so many changes it is becoming difficult for students to receive any form of aid. The changes to graduation has also been a slow adjustment as they are more focus in students leaving with a certificate instead of actual degrees.

  • 05/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt unsafe on this campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone wanting to further their education, get some lower division classes taken care of before transferring; those interested in registered nursing, fire or PTEC.

    Bang for the buck

    You can get a great education, a jump start to University, if transferring is your thing. Nursing programs, EMS program, Fire Academy, welding, PTEC and automotive classes are all available.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and organizations to join..

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria offers hot food, from Chinese food to grilled chicken. Free microwave for use if you bring your own lunch. Nice place to eat and hang out with friends.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on which classes/major you take. The sciences are difficult and require many hours of studying outside of class. Other classes are fairly simple, and if you pay attention during lecture, you get all the information you need to succeed

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to study, work hard and do homework. Do not leave your cell phone on during class.. And study!!

    In three sentences

    Excellent, engaging professors who truly care about teaching and learning. Superb library, tutoring center and help when you need it. Satellite location also available.

  • 05/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs, as well as sports teams and a student newspaper.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are going to school part-time, and/or trying to finish lower-level classes before transferring.

    Bang for the buck

    Classes don't cost much, and they are pretty thorough.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of clubs and organizations on campus, as well as the lake.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has delicious food.

    Dorm Life

    Since it's a community college, there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the students I've talked to find good grades important, but like any school, there are also people who don't care.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take classes in which you are interested. Classes don't cost too much, and there are a lot of choices for general ed.

    In three sentences

    Los Medanos is a pretty good school. Most of the instructors I've had are really nice, and they try to help you get good grades. The other students are usually nice too.

  • 06/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Cheap since its a community college, but some classes are a joke.

    Food and Dining

    Better to go off campus.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    If you do your work, its really easy. There are a few teachers here who really care, but most do not.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't go see the counselors, find all the information online and plan your classes! Take as many classes as you can get the first year, that way your second year is easier, and it will be easier to get classes.

  • 06/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    for fun go out to black diamond mines and take a hike its really nice and relaxing.

    In three sentences

    awesome place teacher are great and super helppful. nice small campus,

  • 07/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 51

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Los medanos college has many course. Although many students complain that they see the same people from high school, I would have to say I don't. Los medanos is so large and great I don't feel I'm in high school.

  • 08/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Books are pricey, but what college books aren't?

    What to do for fun

    The main campus is a nice place to relax. My favorite place is the library because it's so open and modern-looking.

    Food and Dining

    I love having breakfast at the main campus!

    Dorm Life

    No dorms. It is a community college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Two separate campuses (main campus and Brentwood Campus). Lots of parking at the main campus. Beautiful library. Good food in the cafeteria. People in the financial aid office will try their best to assist you. Professors willingly help you if you are struggling so long as you make an effort to do better.

    In three sentences

    Nice community college!

  • 08/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Lot's.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria on campus with a wide variety of ethnic foods.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms, however there are apartment buildings near by where many students live.

    Academic Rigor

    The campus has math, english, and science tutors that are always available. The instructors also keep good office hours that you can stop by and see them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved with campus life, and join the student clubs.

    In three sentences

    The college has a great learning environment. The instructors are helpful. The campus is brand new.

  • 09/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It's a bit expensive for a community college. Parking is expensive especially since its $40 a semester. The requirements upset the students and I the most because though it' required, the cost is out of this world.

    What to do for fun

    Usually I go to the Math Lab, especially since they advise being there 2 hours a week. Everyone there is really cool and pretty much doing the same thing as you. The teachers are very helpful making being there very comfortable.

    Food and Dining

    The food is really good, not cafeteria food like in high school. Only problem is how packed it gets, but that'll be anywhere. I'd rather eat there then go down the street for fast food if I had a choice.

    Dorm Life

    We don't have any dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It's all or nothing making me give it 5 stars. You have to pay attention to get the full understanding of the material but there are many other ways for you to get the help as well. It's difficult at times but understanding once you get the steps.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school is not difficult but not easy. Make sure you get your work done and that you want to be here instead of feeling you have to be. Make sure your on time, you do all your work instead of half and you'll be all set.

    In three sentences

    I really enjoy Los Medanos since I've attended mainly because of my teachers'. They give endless amounts of help and make sure you understand the material. I enjoy the college atmosphere as well with everyone's determination and dedication to this school.

  • 10/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Close to home Small campus Feels like high school

    What to do for fun

    There is a track behind the school and may kids go for jogs. There really isn't much to do at the school besides going to the library.

    Food and Dining

    There is a huge caffeteria and the food is all right. It is not the best, but it will do. Sometimes college groups make and sell their own food for people to buy.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the teachers are extremely smart. I have had teachers that have tought class at UCB and UCSF.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you do everything before time, you dont want to be overwhelmed. Get your parking permit early and go to school about 30min before class if you want good parking.

  • 11/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a large quad area in the center of the school where many students hang out during breaks between classes. The library has many computers you can use to either study, write essays, or use for school-appropriate personal use. The school is in a mostly residential area, but there are food places down the street and the town mall down the opposite way.

    Food and Dining

    There are plenty of food options and restaurants around town. The cafeteria has mediocre food with the usual fruits, bags of chips, water bottles, sodas, etc. Sometime clubs will do fundraiser events where they sell pizza, baked goods, or quick grab-and-go foods near the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    As this is a community college, there are no dorms. There are definitely not student-based apartments either because this is just a one of the East Bay's community college.

    Academic Rigor

    Many students have trouble passing some of the classes at this school, but then many students breeze through a lot of the classes. It definitely depends on your teacher, but I would in no way describe Los Medanos College as a walk in the park. You have to exert real effort and stay focused to leave this school with a high GPA.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go into this school with drive and ambition to get in and out because some students go there and don't leave for years. Stay focused, strive for good grades and use the resources the school provides to get your Associates Degree or transfer to a four-year college.

    In three sentences

    Los Medanos is a great community college because it is easy to adjust to and feel at home. There are opportunities and resources for everyone such as a transfer academy, clubs for not only personal interests but tools to help you succeed, and there are even scholarships offered to students by the school. Many students attend this school, so one of the only downsides is the parking.

  • 11/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are athletics offered at Los Medanos.

    Food and Dining

    No food or dining.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms. Junior college.

    Academic Rigor

    The work load is not too rigorous at Los Medanos. It really depends on what classes you are taking.

    Tips for prospective students

    My advice for incoming students is to take your time in classes. It takes a little while to get adjusted to being in college. Definitely make regular appointments with the counselors to make sure you are on the right track and getting the classes that you need. Also I recommend taking advantage of the tutoring and extra help opportunities the college has to offer, they really help especially the math lab and math tutors.

    In three sentences

    I have really enjoyed my time at Los Medanos College, The teachers have been really helpful and great. I have been able to get into all the classes that I need for my major and to transfer, which is very helpful for timing purposes. The location is very convenient for me and the campus environment is very friendly and welcoming.

  • 12/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always patrols around and the campus is heavily monitored and safe. Everyone on campus (so far in 3 yrs of my experience) don't attempt to do harm

    Greek Life

    They don't have such things in community college silly. People go here to make a living and improve :p

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs and many people are very enthusiastic and care about making new members and making clubs lively. A club can also be created very easily

    Great for these types of students

    Students who.... -Work -Is a parent/Have kids -Needs Financial assistance, don't have money -Likes a small, friendly college -Very very very chill -Cares a lot about events/community

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The big eerie lake that is wonderful and scary at the same time. There are mammoth goldfishes, wild turtles and many weird lake creatures.

    Bang for the buck

    This college is worth the money you'll be spending on it because LMC gives you all the assistance and programs you need to be successful and all of it is free. The staff is very nice and all the teachers are willing to help any students who have any problems or issues.

    What to do for fun

    You can walk and exercise around the nice lake. And if you're bookish, this college has a comfy library for studying, reading and napping.

    Food and Dining

    The food is alright. The cafeteria menu is very lim111ited and also very expensive. Who charges 80 cents for a 4 inch bacon piece?

    Dorm Life

    You cant live in a community college, silly

    Academic Rigor

    Even though it is a community college, all the teachers give it their best effort to give you a high proper education. You will learn a lot and the teachers teach you the subjects like how teachers in universities do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be nervous; this is a great place to start if you're planning to transfer to another 4 year university. You will learn a lot, and you will be prepared for tougher schools. You will also get to hone and sharpen your skills for your major at a reasonable pace.

    In three sentences

    A very chill and comfortable school. Los Medanos College is also very homely and small. An easy place to make acquaintances and meet new people.

  • 01/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus itself is safe with police patrolling at all times till closing. The area is not the best area though, so watch your bags and other valuables because they will be stolen most likely. Other than theft, no other crimes.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Anime club, Zombie club. gaming guilds, Shenannanigans, MESA, AMSA, and many that I dont really know about.

    Great for these types of students

    Nursing, Biology, Process Technology, and appliance and automotive repair majors. Also good for those who can't afford a 4 year right of the bat and for those who don't know what they want to major in yet.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Not any that I know of

    Bang for the buck

    The financial aid office helped me immensely to help me pay for school. I am a low income student, and let me tell you there are is a lot of aid to be had. Much more cost effective than jumping straight into a four year

    What to do for fun

    Not much to do in the humble town of Pittsburg, Ca. There are a good amount of clubs you can join on campus. The Delta is not to far from the school, so if you have a boat, or a friend with a boat, you can ski and other fun things during the summer!

    Food and Dining

    They have a decent cafeteria. It isn't really full of many healthy choices though; consists mostly of fried foods i.e: Burgers, fries, chicken wings and beef burritos. They have a salad bar, but I have never had anything from it. Only fast food is available of campus really, aside from a couple of lower end restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms, but apartments are available across the street. Not affiliated with the school.

    Academic Rigor

    Some people may scoff at the idea of Community College and say that it is inferior to University work, but in honesty it isn't! Maybe some of the teachers and classes a little easier than others, but the teachers I have had are all very smart, but difficult teachers, which shows they truly care about you though. They are very helpful if you are stuck.

    Tips for prospective students

    First and foremost, know what you are getting into. This is a two year college, and is a great alternative to going straight into a 4 year school. In fact I advise students to go here first, especially since it's more cost effective and will allow enough time for you to grow and figure out a major you truly love. They have and excellent PTEC program, just in case you are interested in doing refinery work.

    In three sentences

    Los Medanos College and it's staff has helped me remarkably in my walk towards transferring to a four year college. Los Medanos College was great for me due to a lack of funds, I would'nt have traded this experience even if I could. Most of the teachers are extremely helpful and truly want to see you succeed, it is extremely encouraging.

  • 02/23/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    49 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    With over 30 clubs, student groups, and learning communities, there is something for everyone to participate in.

    Great for these types of students

    Focused and organized students because you create your own class schedule

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus has a man-made lake behind its campus that is used for exercise and leisurely walks, but it is also home to ducks, fish, and turtles of all sizes. Some of the turtles are as larger than a basketball!

    Bang for the buck

    Los Medanos College is a good option for student persuing a college degree because the offer a variety of courses for tuition rates that are a fraction of the price charged at most universities throughout California.

    What to do for fun

    The best way to have fun at LMC is by joining a learning community or club, or starting your own club through the Office of Student Life. This is the best way to connect with people of similar interests and hobbies. There are a large variety of clubs and student groups on campus, from Dance Team to Anime or Drama Club.

    Food and Dining

    There are two places on campus to purchase food- the LMC Cornerstore (Bookstore) which has packaged foods, such as chips, candy, and microwavable foods, and the LMC Cafeteria which offers various types of food from burritos to burgers, and a create-your-own salad bar. Both places offer healthy and vegetarian options. Located near the campus are a few fast-food restaurants- Taco Bell, McDonald's, Subway, and In'n'Out.

    Academic Rigor

    - Depending on the courses or teachers you are taking they can prove to be quite challenging. - LMC has a great nursing and drama department.

    Tips for prospective students

    - Visit a counselor and create an academic plan because classes fill up fast and its better to know what classes you need to take ahead of time. - Because the campus is already so small and is a commuter campus, it is important to become involved in at least one learning community or club on campus, so that you can find students with similar interests and network with them.

    In three sentences

    Los Medanos College is a homely commuter campus that serves the East Bay area. This college has two campuses in Pittsburg and Brentwood, CA. The classes are good sized, you will receive one-on-one attention from your teachers, and the campus is pretty, but currently parts are under construction. Overall, LMC is a good school to attend!

  • 03/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    On campus Police provide security and patrol regularly.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    Usually solely Academic of fanatical but they are tight nit.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for Math, Science, Engineering, Physics and other Science Majors

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We get Native American day off for some reason.

    Bang for the buck

    It will get you your transferable Units at a fraction of the price.

    What to do for fun

    This college is for work not for play.

    Food and Dining

    Over priced and not that good.

    Dorm Life

    Community College

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends on your major. I have noticed that our Math department does exceedingly well at making the subject captivating and that those in chemistry struggle.

    Tips for prospective students

    get to know your Financial Aid office and be sure to net work with the college. many programs are available to those who qualify.

    In three sentences

    Los Medanos is a culturally and ethnically diverse school with much to offer to its students. Many majors are offered here that are taught by excellent professors who genuinely care about their students and want them to succeed. This is a working class school so many of its students hold part time to full time jobs making the campus inhabited by a more mature populous.

  • 04/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Few times individual students were robbed by your not identified , males.

    What to do for fun

    Walk around lake!

    Food and Dining

    So-so

    Dorm Life

    No dorms, this is a community college

    Academic Rigor

    Strong

    Tips for prospective students

    Study 3hr a day for all classes!

    In three sentences

    Excellent, experienced and knowledgeable teachers. Great resources and programs. Friendly stuff and students!