Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Louisiana College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 03/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 1 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always on patrol.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the student union, or join one of the athletic teams.

    Dorm Life

    Old and New Church are the best Male Dorms, and English Village are apartment style dorms. they are nice too. There is married housing available. And from what I've been told Cottingham (Female Dorm) is nice as well.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic aspect is one that constantly raises the bar. The professors challenge you all to bring the best out of every student.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would tell any student that when they're about to start their academic career at LC, that they should be better to be challenged like never before. but its all worth it. Organization, accountability, and an open mind are all you need.

    In three sentences

    Louisiana College is more than just a place of higher learning. From the moment i stepped on campus i felt a sense of nobility, from the classroom to athletic fields, on down to the worship services. Louisiana College has made me a better person and has prepared me to make this world a better place.

  • 11/23/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 2 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Serious students desiring a good education, particularly in premedical, nursing, teaching, or Christian ministry fields. Students who desire a strong Christian platform for their education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to wrangle with the financial aid department. They tend to lose your information and generally be obnoxious. This is a Baptist college. Understand that you will be required to attend chapel, that dorms are single-sex, that there is a no alcohol on campus policy, etc.

    Bang for the buck

    For a quality, private education LC is unparallelled in Louisiana.

    Am enjoying being here

    Pineville isn't exactly the center of excitement. Local life is somewhat boring. College life isn't much better - there are no fraternities, etc, active on campus. The atmosphere is pleasant and upbeat, however. And the student body is friendly.

    Am learning a lot

    I am convinced that LC offers the best science education in the state. I am taking a double major in Biology and Chemistry, and am learning beyond my wildest dreams. LC has extremely knowledgeable and helpful faculty, small class sizes, and an atmosphere focused on growth and learning. In other words, it's the serious college student's dream!

  • 06/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 3 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus security is very helpful and will walk you anywhere around campus at night if a lady feels uncomfortable alone. Security also patrols the campus every so often at night as well.

    Clubs and Activities

    Wackos and Wacketts are the male and female groups that dress up in school colors and support the football team. BCM is one of the biggest groups at LC.

    Great for these types of students

    LC is great for Christians and those going for Christian studies or Biblical studies. Also great for nursing students. The students who like a small campus and small classes will also like LC.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A popular hangout is the lobby in English Village, which are the guys apartments because it is the only lobby on campus that allows both genders together after midnight.

    Bang for the buck

    LC is a little expensive, but not bad compared to other private schools.

    What to do for fun

    Attending sporting events especially the football games. There are usually events going on in the game room such as movie nights that are usually fun. Off campus students like to go to the movies, the mall, and hangout at Chick-Fil-a.

    Food and Dining

    It's decent for cafeteria food, but the food gets old after awhile.

    Dorm Life

    There need more dorm space and more updated dorms as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would advise all students to attend as many activities as they can except when it conflicts with school work. Talk to your professors if you are having trouble they are there to help you. Attend chapel it is not as bad as you think and it is better than taking the remedial class if you do not go enough

    In three sentences

    Louisiana College is absolutely amazing. The professors are great and they actually care about the students. I love the small campus and the Christian atmosphere.

  • 04/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Remarkably, the campus is very safe. Only one incident of assault in my two years here.

    Greek Life

    There is one fraternity.

    Clubs and Activities

    Nothing to do.

    Great for these types of students

    Religious students who are Baptist and enjoy throwing money around.

    Bang for the buck

    Costs too much for what little experience one gains from this college. They are on their second year of probation (accreditation).

    What to do for fun

    Intramural sports are a highlight. Nothing much else in the surrounding area.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has failed its health inspection two years running. I once received a rotted potato.

    Dorm Life

    Horrible. The dorms are low quality, dirty, and dangerous. Roaches run abundant, and the college is *finally* trying to clean them up, and remodel.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers here think that by making you attend class every day, and droning on through endless powerpoint presentations, that you will somehow learn the material while enjoying the constant changing of the curriculum to favor the religious views of the administration.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't apply here. If you do, be prepared for poor quality food, poor quality facilities, including dormitories, strict attendance policies, and mandatory chapel attendance. This college is expensive as weel, so be prepared to shell out serious cash.

    In three sentences

    Louisiana College is very religious. Many students do not enjoy the intensely conservative atmosphere. There is no freedom on this campus.

  • 05/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is not as safe as it should be, because the neighborhoods that surround the school. People are allowed to walk on campus from wherever they come from.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Everyone takes pictures at the water fountain in the center of campus. They keep it lighted and it is really beautiful.

    What to do for fun

    Pineville is not the most exciting place. There is no alcohol, because the town is dry which could make it a safer place. There is mall, movies, bowling, and places to eat in Alexandria which is only 5-10 minutes from LC.

    Food and Dining

    I don't eat there, because everyone complains about the food in the cafeteria. There is a den that sells good food. There is also a subway in the health center.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus, but I've heard the dorms are horrible. Some of the dorms are out dated, but they are trying to improve them.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are great. Academically, LC is challenging and is worth the price.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to party and meet people this is not the school for you. LC is a school to support a Christian lifestyle. LC does have amazing professors that do everything possible to help their students.

    In three sentences

    Louisiana College is an amazing school. The people who go there are great people. Sports bring the school together.

  • 03/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 11

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Nice small college with a great student teacher ratio where you can get more help easier from your teacher.

  • 07/03/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    7 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    With LC being a private college it is very expensive. However, the sense of God is well worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    I am apart of LC's cheerleading team and I also plan to join an intermedial flag football team in the fall.

    Food and Dining

    They serve burgers, fries, sandwiches, and cereal daily so there is always something good.

    Dorm Life

    Being that it is an old college, the dorm facilities are not very appealing. However, they are good enough to live in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you have opptions for yourself.

    In three sentences

    Students at Lousiana College are very friendly. All of the teachers and staff are very helpful. Knowing that LC is a God based school, brings me comfort with knowing that I will attend there in the fall.

  • 08/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Food is okay.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are a little old. They desperately need attention and a facelift.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors are very helpful making you think about what is going on, Teaching you the depths of a topic

    Tips for prospective students

    The professors are so helpful here Do not be afraid to ask for help.

    In three sentences

    On a Scale of One to ten. I give LC a 7/10. I Love the school because there is always something going on to give students a chance to enjoy college life. LC is currently going through some accreditation issues which are currently being fixed.

  • 11/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The college is located in an area surrounded by neighborhoods, and there are areas near campus that are questionable. However, security makes rounds continually to keep an eye on campus to watch out for students that may be out at night.

    Great for these types of students

    Louisiana College is great for students who are looking for a smaller campus with a challenging academic program. It is for students who are willing to work for their grades while still having opportunities to be involved with activities on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    The meal plan is convenient but not worth what you spend, and the housing is questionable, but the education aspect is definitely worth the cost.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't a lot to in the Pineville/Alexandria area, but it is an excellent playground for those who love to make their own adventures. There are tons of places to eat, a park with disk golf, a movie theater, a small mall, and several shopping centers. There are also a couple of froyo places and coffee shops, including Tamp & Grind, which is a second home for a majority of LC students.

    Food and Dining

    Many days the food is pretty gross. However, there is always a salad bar and a sandwich/wrap bar available when the hot meal is not appetizing. Despite the occasional inadequacies of the food, the cafeteria staff is fun, friendly, and incredibly sociable.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are not fantastic, but they suffice! I live in a dorm that houses nearly 300 women, so naturally it has its issues. Some wings are more well-kept than others, but none of them are awful. Sometimes the AC is on full-blast when it's freezing outside, and sometimes the heater is on when its hot. There is the expected issue of girls yelling or running down the hallways at 3:00 in the morning and leaving their belongings in the community showers, but I like to tell myself that it is all just a part of the college experience. The RA's are very helpful and friendly, and are more than willing to help out residents in any way that they can.

    Academic Rigor

    Louisiana College offers an excellent education. While the professors are caring and willing to help struggling students, they also encourage students to push themselves in order to discover what they are truly capable of. For me personally, I have discovered that I am more than capable of doing well, but I cannot achieve that goal unless I am willing to study, do homework, and pay attention during class.

    Tips for prospective students

    To any students considering Louisiana College, I would suggest that you prepare yourself to be academically challenged, as well as open to new ideas! The professors encourage success and hard work, but as a student you must take initiative and push yourself to conduct your studies to the best of your ability. Because it is a liberal arts college, there are many available classes in several areas of study. Be willing to try new things and have unique experiences that could inspire you and impact your future.

    In three sentences

    Louisiana College is a challenging liberal arts school that allows college students to explore different areas academically, spiritually, and athletically. While the campus is small, it is beautiful and close-knit, allowing students to embrace their independence in a safe environment. The student body is friendly, the faculty is well-qualified, and the professors genuinely care about their students' success and well-being.

  • 01/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    God loving and soul fulfilling

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The swing of marriage. The old white swing is said to be the key to marriage. It is located right behind the girls dorm.

    What to do for fun

    Plays and recitals The game room in the student Center The healthplex Flag football and play intimate frisbee

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips would e to actually get to know your professors and to engage into the activities around campus. They make Louisiana College so much better.

    In three sentences

    Louisiana College is a very phenomenal institution. It's small campus and class allows students and teachers to actually work close together aiding in excellence. Louisiana College way of learning through God, helps every student strive for the best

  • 02/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have always felt save at LC. I know our security guards by name and they know me.

    Greek Life

    There are no fraternities at LC

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs you can be a part of.

    Great for these types of students

    Great place for young people who want a small campus and want to be active. Students who want to have fun without drinking.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is one big circle. In the middle of the campus is a beautiful garden and fountain. We have a great alumni organization that continues to support our school.

    Bang for the buck

    LC is an overall great school for Christian young people.It is strict, therefore I feel safe and enjoy being with friends who on a whole believe like me. It is worth it to me becauseI love the spirit of Christianity I feel on the campus.

    What to do for fun

    LC plans activities that are just good clean fun. We have all sports and I am a cheerleader. They plan a lot of mission trips you an go on. Of course we had a homecoming week full of activites.

    Food and Dining

    We are a small campus with only one cafeteria and one coffee shop. The food is good. The coffee shop is small, but open all day with great coffee drinks and bakery items.

    Dorm Life

    I love dorm life. My dorm is old, but clean. The RAs are always there if you need them. We have room checks every so often. There are many activities you can participate in .My favorite is the bon fire in the fall. I went without a roommate and I have so many friends there. The dorm is like one big family. I feel like I have many sisters. We share clothes, food and everything. We pile up in someone's room and watch movies. Dorm life is great!

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are hard ,but the faculty is caring and they truly want you to do your best. You do have to study and put your best foot forward, but because the class sizes are small the teachers can help you and give you more one on one .

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for every scholarship possible. LC is a small campus with a lot of opportunity for involvement .I love that because I am not just a number. I am very active. Get involved. Know what your you want to major in before you come.It is to expensive to keep changing your major.

    In three sentences

    Louisiana College is wonderful. Everyone is like a big family. The campus is beautiful and has a lot of history.