Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Louisiana State University-Alexandria Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/18/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for Financial Aid and Accounting; these processes are long, drawn out, and quite meticulous. Don't expect an easier time academically just because this is a smaller university, that opinion of LSU Alexandria could not be farther from the truth.

    Bang for the buck

    Due to recent state budget cuts, LSU Alexandria has raised their tuition costs. Since the current financial departments have trouble already, without being understaffed, I assume this will be a much larger problem in the near future. We're paying more for school, but getting less out of it.

    Am enjoying being here

    This college is a bit rough around the edges, I would definitely appreciate a more seamless educational experience. There is always a conflict in correct and incorrect information, and when you're dealing with students' financial livelihood, that is not a good thing.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors at LSU Alexandria are phenomenal.

  • 05/31/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for students who are hard workers and are coming to college to be educated and successful in their field of study

    Tips for prospective students

    all the teachers her want students to be successful, but when you come here be prepared to do some work. your teachers hold you responsible for your academic success as well. when you come to orientation do not be afraid to ask questions no matter what it is.

    Bang for the buck

    in my opinion LSUA is much cheaper than other universities. You have to come see the school for yourself , so you can realize how great it is. I wasn't coming her at first. This school could not have been further from my mind just because of some things I heard, but I had to see if for myself. none of it was true though. this is a great school

    Will enjoy being here

    I taking english and math this summer and it's all good.

    Academic Rigor

    I have already been taught by some of the professors at this university and they were great educators. the professors here are the teachers i wish i had in high school. Some of the professors go out of their to make sure you are successful. My favorite teacher was Dr. Haywood Joiner. He does everything he can to help his students. If I could take him for every course I would.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is excellent. There is extremely low danger on campus and students are generally great about staying together to provide safety in numbers. Campus security is available at all times of the day and night.

    Clubs and Activities

    It can be somewhat difficult to find the clubs and activities for you if you are a new student. However any professor on campus will be able to inform you of who to talk to in order to find an organization to participate in.

    Great for these types of students

    Nursing students would benefit greatly from going to LSU-Alexandria. The nursing program there is above standard in every way possible and extremely difficult to get into with good reason as they only accept the top students for this program.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every semester the CSO on campus provides a midnight breakfast the week of finals during which the building stays open from 8AM Monday until 9AM of the next day so that students can stay in all night with food cooked for them every hour, providing a place for students to study and get together with other students in the same class.

    Bang for the buck

    For what you pay in tuition and cost of books, the school fulfills its end of the bargain. The teachers themselves are usually top quality and the low cost of admission could be attributed to the fact that LSUA does not have a broad selection of degree programs. The only way LSUA lacks slightly is in the preparation for life after college as they only tend to focus on life in college however they do have a bi-annual job fair for graduating students.

    What to do for fun

    The gym on campus provides flag football as well as other entertainment sports, like a DDR machine, two pool tables, and a ping pong table all inside its building. The religious centers on campus, the BCM and CSO, provide weekly meals and many activities that everyone, religious or not, to participate in. Additionally there are many clubs and fraternities active throughout the school including but not limited to the Psychology club, Sigma Tau Delta, and the Empty Space Players theatre club. Lastly there is a weekly event held at the Oaks Apartments, the 'dorms' on campus, that is open to any LSUA student and these events vary from pool parties, bingo nights, poker evenings, movie nights, and general game nights.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria at LSUA closes extremely early each day, generally around 1PM despite the fact that it is usually scheduled to close at 3PM which is still early when you consider that several classes don't get out until 3:45 and the poor night classes who reap no benefits from it. The Subway that is on campus has poor management and a location to small to house as many customers as it gets.

    Dorm Life

    LSU-Alexandria does not have dorms so much as they have apartments. The apartments are relatively new and the appliances are fairly updated however the cost of living there is extremely high. They can give these high demand prices of apartments because they know several students live in towns up to an hour away from the university which is not conducive for a good education environment.

    Academic Rigor

    Louisiana State University does not offer a wide variety of degree problems however each department has its professors that make paying for college, textbooks, and all the fees associated with it worth it. The nursing program is above average and even the lesser recognized departments, the Arts, English, and Humanities department for example, provide intense mental stimulation on a daily basis.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should take the advice of previous students or the reviews found from websites such as ratemyprofessor.com. Prospective students should be advised to take part in student activities like the sports or academics programs as they make their time at LSUA much more enjoyable. Lastly students should pack their own lunches because in true college style, no one likes the cafeteria food.

    In three sentences

    Louisiana State University at Alexandria is the perfect school for the average student with a low income and/or little availability to scholarships or high amounts of student loans. The usual allure for LSUA is its low cost of attendance and in that respect it excels whereas in others, availability and variance of degree programs it is only average. Despite all odds against it, LSUA still manages to provide a memorable college experience for its attendees.

  • 03/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 10

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Sleep, and study

    Food and Dining

    Best food

    Dorm Life

    Dirty, small

    Academic Rigor

    Average

    Tips for prospective students

    Dont buy from the bookstore!

    In three sentences

    LSUA is a good school with good teachers. The social structure is lacking , but improving, The people are friendly and kind

  • 04/03/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Has previously been non-existent but is growing rapidly.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of clubs and activites going on. And if you don't see one you like, start it!

    Great for these types of students

    It's a great starter college or for students who want that close knit group.

    What to do for fun

    There are always events going on around campus but because the school isn't in Alexandria, there isn't a lot to do close by.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria isn't great. It's got good food but the choices are limited and it is always really packed for lunch. There is now a subway on campus which is fabulous!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms/apartments were just recently built on campus. I visited a few friends who stayed there and thought they were really nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Personally, some classes were more complicated than others but the majority of teachers are very willing to help you succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus and talk to other students. It's a great school but it is not for everyone.

    In three sentences

    LSUA is a small campus with a great teacher to student ratio. The education of the students is a top priority and it shows through the teachers. It's not directly in Alexandria which causes a lot of driving back and forth from town.

  • 01/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police make sure that the campus is safe. They patrol with their cars and ride bikes around to make sure everyone is safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have different activities and clubs. More clubs are starting to be formed and grow each year. More sports are being added also.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to stay close to home, but not to close and any kind of student who prefers a small place and small classes. Also, students who enjoy different types of sports.

    Bang for the buck

    Affordable and close to home, but not to close.

    What to do for fun

    Parties, clubs, baseball and softball games

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has improved. They have a grill and different hot meals each day. Subway is also on the campus in walking distance, but Subway is small and can get busier than the cafeteria.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are excellent and they are willing to help you if you ever have trouble with the school work.

    In three sentences

    It has a very small campus, so it is very easy to get around by walking. Teachers and departments are willing to help the students pass and are wanting every student succeed in their careers.

  • 03/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 10

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I hang out on the quad, they have softball and baseball games at the campus ball park, and plenty of outside areas for us to sit and talk.

    Food and Dining

    I give the food and dining an A+. The food is usually pretty good in taste and appearance. I love options that are available on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I have never stayed on campus because I am married and my husband is not a student. I have only heard about dorm life form other students on campus and they are pleased with it.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are not hard but they are challenging. I am able to keep up with my assignments, work part-time, and spend time with my family.

    Tips for prospective students

    Arrive to campus early enough to find parking. If you have a problem with any of your classes talk to your professors, advisers, or a counselor. Take the study skills class if it is available.

    In three sentences

    I give this school an A. I am pleased with my professors who are always willing to make themselves available to me and other students. I take the electives of my choosing and my major classes are usually the ones that I am most interested in.

  • 07/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are always on site, they are helpful, and they are nice. Campus safety and security is a number one priority on this campus. And, emergency stations are located in almost, if not every, parking lot that contain a land line phone for ensured ability to call in emergency care.

    Clubs and Activities

    This college has TONS of clubs that are always hosting get togethers, parties, cook outs, bake sales, and many more activities. There are lots of options if you are interested in participating in extracurricular activities.

    Great for these types of students

    If you come from a low income family this college is the one to look at attending. This college gives good education and at a price that is worth the experience.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition costs are very affordable and because of simply just that it offers the lower income portion of the local population the chance to get ahead in life. The student population is diverse and the campus houses students from other parts of the country as well as students from entirely different countries.

    What to do for fun

    The quad is gorgeous and there are always shady places to sit down and study. The student organizations are pretty active and usually have something going on about every other week.

    Food and Dining

    The campus could use some more food options since they are about 10-15 minutes away from any other food sources (other than the Subway and Cafe on campus).

    Academic Rigor

    The curriculum isn't easy, but it is worth it in the end. Study hard and you'll make it out of your classes with good grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start your financial aid process early in order to make sure everything is in line for the school term.

    In three sentences

    LSUA is an affordable school that will make you feel at home starting with its admissions advisers. The financial aid desk will work with you and try to answer all of your questions on getting aid for your school tuition. And, if something is not understood in class, the teachers work with you to help you understand the material if you ask for help.

  • 08/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 10

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Bowling, shopping, swimming, sports.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking to go to a big campus or party school this is not the place for you. If you want to go to a quiet, small campus this is the place for you. A lot of people live at home, and just drive to school everyday.

    In three sentences

    It's a small school. You will have small classes with one on one time with your professors. This is a beautiful campus.

  • 02/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    LSUA is a very safe campus.

    What to do for fun

    LSUA has a gym and a golf course if you're looking for something fun to do on campus. If you're looking for something off campus, Alexandria has a mall, movie theater and bowling alley.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe at LSUA is amazing! They have excellent options to choose from.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class early Use the library for all your studying needs. LSUA gives you free prints, they are helpful!