Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Louisiana State University-Shreveport Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/06/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who just want to be themselves. You could go into a classroom and befriend someone who normally you wouldn't associate with in high school. Everyone gets along with one another and there's rarely any judgement. So, people who are very sociable and enjoy fun would like it also.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great school. If you want to dorm life, it might be a tad bit different. They have a apartments you can live on. There are other apartments nearby. If you do injure yourself, the hospital is right next door. Its an awesome school.

    Bang for the buck

    I'm getting money back. For me to have 30 hours, its costing roughly around $5,000 a year, whereas, if I was attending the same university as one of my friends, it would probably be costing me close to $20,000.

    Am enjoying being here

    The whole place it great. The landscaping is nice and you're given enough time to do things you couldn't normally do in high school. They also have a lot of days where they give away free items.

    Am learning a lot

    Although some of my classes are difficult, they are very insightful and I enjoy attending the classes. It's one thing when you dread going to a class, but its another when you actually want to attend the class.

  • 10/20/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Who wants to save money... Who likes leisure... Who are interested in programs bigger than BPCC and LATech combined... Who wants a very excellent teaching program...... Who wants to be challenged in learning... Who wanted a lot of professors who have Doctoral Degree...

    Tips for prospective students

    Enroll here and enjoy!

  • 01/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    cops!!

    Greek Life

    kappa sigma, phi mu best!

    Clubs and Activities

    lots of clubs. kappa sigma fraternity is the funnest!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    chill with my fraternity brothers! kappa sigma!

    Bang for the buck

    a little overpriced but all colleges in louisiana are.

    What to do for fun

    just depends what you like to do.

    Food and Dining

    decent.

    Dorm Life

    i live away from the dorms but party with the people who live there a lot but if your underage drink inside the apartments i learned my lesson! a lot of cops on the campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    join a club and study!!

    In three sentences

    the campus is pretty and well kept. the people are pretty nice but be sure to join a club because you will meet people that way. there are a lot of non traditional students, and the class's are very hard but the proffesors are awesome!

  • 07/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are very efficient, but you don't see them very often.

    Greek Life

    We have many Sororities and Fraternities. We have a new Sorority (which I am bringing on campus), and a new Frat.

    Clubs and Activities

    The people here are alot nicer than LATECH. Honestly they are. SGA and Rotaract are two awesome organizations to be a part of. Rotaract holds a huge Benefit Ball every year for the Shreveport Bossier Rescue Mission- a lot of students don't know about it. But I've gone for the past 2 years. It's a blast and we get to raise money for a good cause. Just be involved and you will meet some awesome people :)

    Great for these types of students

    Students who aren't wanting just to party and want to focus on academics, and for students who live off campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing of the unusual lol.

    Bang for the buck

    Very cheap school compared to other 4 year-universities.

    What to do for fun

    BE INVOLVED! This campus is known as a Commuter-College. Alot of students come and go or are non-traditional. A lot of people don't consider LSUS when they pick colleges in Louisiana,but it is actually a great school.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't bad, but we need more variety. We have no Restaurants. Just food that the work study students make.

    Dorm Life

    We don't have dorms. We have on campus apartments. I've been told they are decent but very small.

    Academic Rigor

    I don't have the best grades, but I wouldn't want to be anywhere else. It is way easier to focus here than at Louisiana Tech. I went there for a short while and personally, I enjoy LSUS more.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you keep up with everything and study, this school is not one of the easier ones in Louisiana.

    In three sentences

    This is a great school for you students who want to spend less money. The tuition for each semester ranges from $2,000-3200. Which is fairly cheap. It is a school BIG on academics so that can be a plus for some students.

  • 06/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police constantly patrol the campus ensuring your safety and there are many police call buttons located throughout the campus so if you ever feel unsafe just hit the button and cops come running.

    Bang for the buck

    LSUS is clean, fun and friendly. Parking is the only area that lacks. I wish there were more parking with bigger parking spaces. They are skinny in some areas of campus and people do not know how to park sometimes.

    What to do for fun

    Hanging out in the University Center is fun. In between classes you can go play pool, video games, do homework in the big computer lab, eat, drink, lounge and much more.

    Food and Dining

    Food at LSUS is pretty good, They have a kitchen that serves many types of food and drinks including pizza, burgers and even sushi!

    Dorm Life

    I didnt stay in a dorm but from what others have told me they liked them. A short walk from campus and you're there which is nice. Saves money on gas and driving time each morning.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics is tough but LSUS doesnt swamp you with homework. 3-4 tests will make up the semester instead of hours and hours of homework.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on track! Dont get caught up in the college party life and forget about your studies. It is very easy to do, especially if you just moved from out of town. Keep everything organized, such as homework and deadlines and you'll do fine. Everyone there is so helpful its hard to get in the weeds.

    In three sentences

    LSUS is a fun, clean, rewarding college that anyone pursuing a degree will love. Friendly people, nice staff and clean campus all contribute to a great campus life. Student activities, clubs and organizations will also make your stay at LSUS a good one.

  • 03/19/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    6 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food was good.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics seem very good.

    In three sentences

    I have visited the campus and it seems like a very nice school.

  • 03/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Get involved with intramural sports... They have a Great intramural program.

    Food and Dining

    None.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms, but they do have close to campus apartments.

    Academic Rigor

    It's a challenge... Definatly have to study!

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out whos class you are signing up for. Good teachers help!

    In three sentences

    This university is very affordable. It has a poor campus and poor teachers. I feel that communication is very poor between teacher and student.

  • 06/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    soccer baseball basketball

    What to do for fun

    join clubs

    Food and Dining

    decent snack shop

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    no comment

    Tips for prospective students

    be prepared to walk alot

    In three sentences

    good school big ethnic diversity many organizations

  • 07/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Great value.

    What to do for fun

    Ultimate Frisbee, exercise regularly, and hang out with friends.

    Food and Dining

    The UC offers a great, low priced variety for students.

    Dorm Life

    I am not familiar with dorm life on campus here.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are more inclined for students who are naturally gifted in a certain study (i.e. math, or literature). However, other courses are less intensive.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard in high school.

    In three sentences

    Louisiana State University is a great school for students who are interested in pursuing a career in the Medical Field. LSUS is comparatively low priced. It is also in an area saturated with medical professionals as well as many who are interested in the field, and therefore, makes for a great learning climate.

  • 09/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Weightlifting team is a great group of people. Very friendly, my favorite part of the school!

    What to do for fun

    There is a pool, sand volleyball area, and a basketball hoop. There are sometimes that the school or apartments hold events but for the most part not very interesting.

    Food and Dining

    I have never ate in the school area but has been popular for others.

    Dorm Life

    The campus apartments are not as great as what they are advertised to be. Maintenance takes forever and the workers are not always helpful. With the exception of a few.

    Academic Rigor

    Friendly teachers and students. Helpful and work with you when you show an effort.

    In three sentences

    I have attended LSUS for almost two years now. From my experience the professors are very welcoming and helpful. Also the students themselves are really nice.

  • 11/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the most we worry about is people leaving their money out in random rooms and getting surprised when it disappears. Don't be stupid and lock your cars but all in all no real problems

    Greek Life

    it exists....

    Clubs and Activities

    they are there.

    Great for these types of students

    NONTRADITIONAL

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    no one really comes to our events lol.

    Bang for the buck

    look we aren't expensive.

    What to do for fun

    not much if you aren't 21 but then clubs and casinos.

    Food and Dining

    Oh the school's food sucks but you are surrounded by other options.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms we don't have no stinking dorms. You can live in the apartment complex for college students though if you want to get ripped off.

    Academic Rigor

    It is school and some of these professors have little to no humor when it comes to classes. Some classes are hard some aren't but always come prepared.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go ahead and look for a place to live off campus because there are no dorms.

    In three sentences

    You get a great education. It is at an affordable price. It is not the typical party scene type of college though.

  • 01/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Dont forget about the little things ;)

    Food and Dining

    The port has pretty good food

    Dorm Life

    If you dont have a car and/or you are a freshman I recommend you stay on campus. Other than that.....

    Tips for prospective students

    Handle your business and you should be fine

    In three sentences

    LSUS is a good school to go to if your looking for a quality education at a somewhat low price. Many of the departments at this school are very reputable in employment.

  • 03/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    On this campus you will always be safe, even at 3 in the morning. There are always campus police roaming around. If no one is around, there are police call boxes everywhere!

    Greek Life

    There are many different sororities and fraternities on campus. They do a lot of things together as a group.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many activities, it is crazy. Almost every day there is something going on, we recieve emails of this and you can join anything that interests you. If you have an interest in something, there's a 98% possibility that there's a group for it. If not, there are fairly easy ways to start a new group.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for the types of students who like one-on-one teaching, teachers who know them, and teachers who can help them quickly. We have many labs to help students understand things they can't in class. Also it is pretty cheap to come here for a good education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This school is filled with different things such as a gym, blackbox theater, place to worship, library, bookstore, computer lab, and even a place to hang out and meet with friends. During common hour, when no one on campus has class, that often give away free food.

    Bang for the buck

    Coming to LSUS was one of my greatest decisions, the atmosphere, people, school, and food are all wonderful. It is very easy to adapt to the environment here.

    What to do for fun

    For fun you can hang out with your friends, go out to eat, or go the movie theater down the street. Also, about 20 minutes away from the school there are casinos and a bordwalk.

    Food and Dining

    At the school there is a place to get snacks and such, but since each apartment has a full kitchen it isn't necessary to go there each day. Along the same road as LSUS there are many different places to eat such as Whataburger, Chilis, Applebees, Logan's, Posados, Sonic, and many others.

    Dorm Life

    Around school, there are a variety of apartments; the closest and most convenient are University Court Apartments. The UCA is across the street and has a full kitchen and each person gets their own room. They have many socal gatherings that help you to meet people and sometimes they give free food.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes here, if you pay attention in class, are not too hard. The teachers here typically know you by name and will do their best to make sure every student understands the material. If you do not understand it you could meet with or email them; they usually reply withing a couple days.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get a good nights sleep, choose the right school for you, go to class, and do not let you social life interfere with your education. Though friends are important, don't get carried away. Also try to participate in class and have fun!

    In three sentences

    LSUS is a great school. The atmosphere is awesome and the people you meet here are very friendly and personable. Also, the classes are a decent size so your teachers actually know you.

  • 01/03/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    14 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Especially with TOPS, seemed like a great deal, particularly given the size and the interaction with the professors.

    What to do for fun

    Tour gulde really talked up the student activities. Made it sound fun.

    Food and Dining

    Limited options, seemed like more of a commuter college -- not sure how trying to eat three meals a day would work?

    Dorm Life

    Adjacent student apartments to the campus. Seemed very nice and well kept, but seemed a little pricey.

    Academic Rigor

    Hard to tell, didn't have the opportunity to attend a class. Student that gave our tour spoke very highly of their professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Better to visit when school is in session. Definitely worth a look. Admissions team seems to really care. Great visit.

    In three sentences

    Plain, simple, institutional. Friendly folks.

  • 01/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have yet to run into any problems on this campus. Everyone is friendly and I haven't experienced bullying or any of the sort.

    Greek Life

    I transferred from NSU down in Natchitoches and the sorority that I joined down there isn't on the LSUS campus. Due to that, I can't really say much about the Greek Life on campus. You see them getting involved and having events on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a couple things you can do on campus but considering its small size it can be rather difficult. You have your typical sorority and fraternities you may join and then your sports/sport clubs. Then we have small clubs for biology, chemistry, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    Ones that don't like overcrowded schools. It's a small campus so if you're nervous about attending a big school this one will fit you well.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Hmmmm, The only thing unusual about this school is the fact that they don't have a football team.

    Bang for the buck

    Depending on if you're staying on campus or not. I stay off campus so I only pay about 2,500$-$3,000 to go to school. The curriculum is challenging so you're definitely getting your money's worth.

    What to do for fun

    We have a game room in the University Center. We have pool tables set up so you can have tournaments or just games with the friends. The eating area is in the same building off to the side and in the middle you have a large area filled with tables and couches.

    Food and Dining

    There are plenty of cozy places where you may laze around and enjoy yourself. The dining is amazing and I quite enjoy it.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    As stated above, the curriculum is extremely hard but in the end you will actually retain the information and understand it.

    Tips for prospective students

    DO NOT procrastinate. Considering this is a commuter school, try to limit how much you leave school. Stay and study at school if you live at home. Get to know your adviser and teachers, they know the most and will help you through your years of college.

    In three sentences

    It's a hard school, but it comes with an amazing curriculum. It's a friendly place, not overcrowded with people. Teacher/student ratio is acceptable.