Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Louisiana Tech University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/14/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 out of 16 people found this review useful. 1 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for any engineer. The engineering program here is phenomenal, and the general staff is very helpful. Good for students focused on getting an education, and ones that prefer less distractions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring something to do. The closest mall is about 45 minutes away.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition-wise, its pretty cheap compared to other engineering colleges. The odd quarter system makes it so you go through classes quicker as well.

    Am enjoying being here

    Its a very small, quiet town. There isn't much going on in the immediate area. The on-campus concerts and activities aren't bad, though.

    Am learning a lot

    I'm one of the few Nanosystems Engineering students here, a new major that was established in 2005. Louisiana Tech was the first college to offer a nanotechnology-based undergraduate degree.

  • 08/23/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 out of 14 people found this review useful. 2 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It's great for anyone, literally. Tech has so much diversity in its campus. Every type of person can get an education here. Tech has an amazing engineering program, and a pretty prestigious business program as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always talk to upperclassman about which teachers to and not to take; and if you don't know any upperclassman, check out ratemyprofessors.com. I've gone to that website every time I've applied for classes, and it hasn't steered me wrong yet. Don't spend all of your money on food. Use your declining balance and eat in the caf. The food isn't that bad. It's pretty tolerable actually. You will save a lot of money. Join clubs. Get involved in something. Make friends. It's so easy to meet new people. Tech puts on all kinds of shows and has so many different clubs. Not making friends is hard to do.

    Bang for the buck

    Louisiana Tech is definitely worth every penny. The money you pay to attend is a lot less than that of other schools, but you still get the full college experience. Plus, your tuition and other college payments are spread out into three payments as opposed to two, which is pretty convenient for most people.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love the quarter system because it gives you an opportunity to earn more credits in a shorter amount of time. You also get more breaks more often, though they are shorter than those on the semester system. Also, if you don't like a class, you don't have to worry about staying in the class for half of the academic year. I've also made a lot of new friends in college. Tech is a very diverse campus and it offers so many opportunities for you to meet new people. There are lots of different organizations from religious ones, to sports, to just random things. There isn't much to do in Ruston itself, but if you get involved on campus, you'll find yourself pretty busy. There's also the intramural center which has bowling, ping pong, basketball, pool, ping pong tables and a gym. Tech campus also has a swimming pool. On weekends, you can always go to Monroe, which is only a thirty minute drive, or to Shreveport, which is about an hour drive.

    Am learning a lot

    I'm an entering sophomore this year, and I can already say that I love Tech. The teachers I've had have been pretty great. I'm definitely enjoying the challenge of getting a college education. I think Tech makes the transition from high school to college an easy one. The classes you take as a freshman are similar to the ones you take during your senior year in high school, but with more information and more challenging context.

  • 08/27/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 3 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who don't just want to be another face in the crowd, who want a personal relationship with their professors, and enjoy the laid back college lifestyle.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't let the older buildings and smaller town fool you, I did pass judgment on the school based on its looks when I first toured the campus. They are refurbishing and doing a lot of improvements around campus in the upcoming years, it's slowly but surely becoming more aesthetically pleasing.

    Bang for the buck

    I did receive an Out of State Scholarship, but even without that, tuition was still considerably less for me than it was to attend my previous university in Texas. Tech is a great school to attend especially if you're interested in pursuing engineering or the medical field. Like they say, at Tech you get the private school feel at public school cost.

    Am enjoying being here

    There are plenty of social events and activities for anyone no matter what your particular interest may be. Tech seems to be very athletic oriented, but what University in the South isn't? I enjoy the school spirit, the hospitable peers, the small college town feel, and the overall college experience.

    Am learning a lot

    I transferred into Louisiana Tech from a school in Texas that was under the semester system. I have found that Tech, its small class sizes, and its quarter system gives you the ability to actually grasp the new concepts learned as opposed to learning the material just well enough to get through the next exam.

  • 05/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 4 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Louisiana Tech Police is constantly seen on and around campus, and they are available twenty-four hours, seven days a week. Also, once night starts to descend, the Tech Police send out golf carts to take students around campus so they do not have to walk alone in the dark.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is very active on campus, both within the Greek community and without it. They participate in many of the campus's big activities and in service projects and fundraising and always promote themselves.

    Clubs and Activities

    A wide variety of organizations exist at Louisiana Tech University, from academic clubs to athletics to tolerance groups. There is sure to be something for anyone.

    Great for these types of students

    Louisiana Tech University is great for a student who enjoys a relaxed, yet fun, environment where he or she can pursue a quality education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One class of Louisiana Tech University began saying Baby during the Alma Mater, and it has since become a tradition.

    Bang for the buck

    Louisiana Tech University offers many programs with wonderful educators. However, with programs being cut, certain courses, or majors entirely, are being offered less or are not being offered at all anymore. This can make it difficult to complete one's degree within five years.

    What to do for fun

    There are a movie theater and a shopping center located ten minutes from campus. Also, thirty minutes down the Interstate, there is a mall, there are two movie theaters, and there are a multitude of restaurants.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has made many improvements in the last year, and it is offering better food selections. Also, the dining services offer options like McAlister's, and all of the food services allow payment from one's meal plan.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms, while not the highest living situation, offer some comfort and luxuries, such as Internet and a kitchen. Also, the dorms are placed centrally on campus, so many buildings are close by or easily within walking distance

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are harder than others, as with any institution. It is easy to fall behind, so a student must be diligent is his or her work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not overload your coursework, as the quarter system can be demanding. Also, have an idea of what field of study you want to pursue so you do not waste time in a major that you do not enjoy and do not have to start over in another major.

    In three sentences

    Louisiana Tech University had a friendly and welcoming atmosphere. The quarter system offers a challenge to students to do their best and keep up with their schoolwork. It provides a quality education that can span across many majors and fields.

  • 09/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There are many different Greek organizations you can get involved in. They all have something to offer, you can decide which fits you best.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are SOOO many different clubs and activities to get involved in! From sports and academics to anime and Pokemon club.

    Bang for the buck

    I would not choose to go to any other school than Tech! I believe that it is the best decision I have made in my life.

    What to do for fun

    There are over 150 organizations to get involved with. There are also many different activities you can do in the intramural center along with different things to do around town and on campus.

    Food and Dining

    There are a lot of different places you can choose to eat at. You can always find something on campus to eat!

    Dorm Life

    The dorm buildings are older, but they are clean and comfortable.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are interesting and challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! Go out and find where you fit in best.

    In three sentences

    Tech is a great school! My professors are great and so are the classes. I really feel like I am at home here!

  • 11/07/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 4 people found this review useful. 6 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Knowledge seekers, fun-lovers, and social students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of your studies and get involved in some extra curricular activities.

    Bang for the buck

    Tech is a quality school on par with Louisiana State University and costs less to attend.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am having the time of my life here at LA Tech and learning while I do it. The quarter system is the best

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers here are well informed and always happy to share their knowledge, no matter what your question is.

  • 11/18/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Tech is wonderful for engineering, biology,education,kinesiology, and students interested in any area of math. Tech also has a great Fashion and Consumer Science program.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would advise any one who goes to Tech to join at least one organization to have a better college experience and social life. Students should also have a happy medium between studying and play time.

    Bang for the buck

    Louisiana Tech is the only university in Louisiana that has the quarter system. The quarter system allows you to earn more credits in the school year as opposed to going to a semester system school. This means that you can graduate from Tech in just three years if you stay on track.

    Am enjoying being here

    Tech is located in a fairly small town called Ruston. However, Ruston has festivals and neat little shopping places. Ruston is also 30 minutes away from Monroe and 2 minutes away from Grambling. There are always things to do in Ruston and the people are nice and friendly.

    Am learning a lot

    I'm a sophomore majoring in Biology at Louisiana Tech. Tech has one of the best biology programs in the state and most people who graduate from Tech go on to excel in medical school and other areas that involve science. Some of the best doctors in the state graduated from Louisiana Tech.

  • 11/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The Food at the Cafe is delicious. there are varieties of food such as pizza,burgers,fries,grilled chicken,mashed potatoes, cold cut sandwiches,salads,vegges,and etc. We also have a Chick-fill-a express and MCAlister's' Deli.

    Dorm Life

    The Residence halls are very secured and they are Registered Advisers (Ra's) there to assist you with moving in. There is key to your room and a key device that give you access in/out the building. Visitors are allowed between 10 a.m. to Midnight.

    Academic Rigor

    My Aviation classes I have taken so far are pretty easy as long as you study you should be fine. The same for all other classes just keep track when you take you exam,quiz,test,etc... Only thing is LA Tech operates on a quarterly time frame.

    In three sentences

    Faculty and staff are very friendly and helpful in assisting students at LA Tech. They make sure you have everything that you might need. If you have any questions or concerns you can easily call and make appointment or just visit their office.

  • 10/01/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    LA Tech campus police are always driving around. If you feel uncomfortable in any way, all you do is call and they will come pick you up or escort you. There was only one major incidence on campus the 4 years that I was there. Break-ins and theft were not a problem. Ruston is a very safe town with very little crime. There is also an alert system through text message or e-mail that alerts students about any kind of danger/threat.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is a major component at Louisiana Tech. I personally was a Sigma Kappa and it made my college experience what it is today. I met so many people, became involved with so many organizations, and participated in many charities thanks to my greek involvement. Not to mention, it's a blast! I highly encourage everyone to go through rush. It is definitely not the stereotypical greek life that is depicted in the movies. We have very strict hazing policies and community involvement is very evident.

    Clubs and Activities

    Greek life is a big part of the Louisiana Tech community. I personally was a Sigma Kappa and absolutely loved it. I became involved in other organizations because of Sigma Kappa and met my best friends. I loved the charity work and sense of belonging. Union board and SGA are also major on-campus organizations. Almost all of the on-campus events are sponsored by these groups. I honestly feel like there is an organization for any type of person on this planet at LA Tech. Just put yourself out there!

    Great for these types of students

    LA Tech is great for students from smaller towns or for students from bigger cities that want a family feel. Our engineering, education, and bio-medical science programs are outstanding. The research opportunities are endless. I can't imagine anyone not liking it, but maybe I'm a little biased ;)

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Lousiana Tech is very traditional. We love our mascot, we love our campus, and we love our community. The tradition that I love the most is when you graduate you get a brick laid down on campus with your name and year on it. You are a part of your alma mater forever. 100 years from now your great grandchildren can go find your brick and see a piece of your life. I love it. As far as unusual locations: it is said that our auditorium is haunted and that if you go in late at night that there will always be one seat that is folded down and it is always the same seat. Of course, the story behind the person in the seat varies. Go see for yourself!

    Bang for the buck

    I am from Texas and ended up at Louisiana Tech because of the low cost and high education rankings. My out of state tuition was waved due to my ACT score. I believe the cut-off is now a 26, but I would check into that. I was also offered two other scholarships based on my high-school academics. In comparison to the public Texas universities I looked at it was a no brainer! Louisiana Tech recently ranked among the Top 20 in the nation for graduating students with the least amount of debt.

    What to do for fun

    Ruston is a small town, but it has a lot of personality. There are a few local bars that all the college kids like to hang out in and relax and there are also a ton of community events. For example, Peach Festival is a tradition in Ruston and is very entertaining with its live music, pie eating contests, golf tournament, and scavenger hunt. Football games and tailgating are a must and the Union Board and SGA events on campus are always fun!

    Food and Dining

    I personally ate on campus every day. We had a large variety of foods including: McAlister's Deli, Chick-fil-A, Burger King, Counter Culture, sushi, taco salads, wraps, and a pasta/pizza station. I hardly ever ate in the cafeteria, but I was told that it was good also! There are always places to sit in the student center or other dining areas plus tables outside!

    Dorm Life

    I lived in an on campus apartment, which are one of the newest developments of Louisiana Tech. I loved it! It was the perfect size and the price was not outrageous. I loved being able to walk to class and not worry about parking. The RA's are super helpful and are always there if you need them.

    Academic Rigor

    I can only speak for my major, which was biology. I felt like the intensity of the academics was enough to prepare me for graduate school, but not so much that I constantly felt overwhelmed. I managed to graduate in three years with a 3.86 GPA and still have some fun! Perfect balance.

    Tips for prospective students

    Set up a personal tour and meeting with administration. It is very helpful and gives you insight into the financial end of things as well as academics. Make sure to complete your student FAFSA considering this is how Louisiana Tech gives out incoming student financial aid. There are also private scholarships that you can apply for! Go visit Ruston and the campus; both are lovely!

    In three sentences

    Louisiana Tech has a close-knit family feel. The class sizes are small and you will never walk across campus without seeing someone you know. The community is also very involved.

  • 06/24/2009

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 6 people found this review useful. 10 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    accelerated learning

    Tips for prospective students

    love the quarter system

  • 08/17/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Mostly science-type majors. However I would greatly recommend the art program here. There are other non-science majors here as well that pretty much anyone can check out.

    Tips for prospective students

    There is not much to do here in Ruston. Make sure you have lots of entertainment opportunities around you or a car with lots of gas. The nearest mall is 30 - 45 minutes away. Also, Lincoln Parish is a dry Parish. Just fyi.

    Bang for the buck

    One of the cheapest colleges I've ever heard of. You get the same experience for a lot less money. It's cheaper than some of the colleges that were available to me in-state - and I'm out-of-state! The quarter system also helps as you go through classes faster than in a semester system.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have great friends, the community is great and full of southern hospitality. It's close enough to home to where I can visit on a weekend if I want to but far enough away to let me feel like I have a sense of my own independence. The dorms could use a little bit of work, though.

    Am learning a lot

    The art program here is amazing for a school that is not listed as an art school. The teachers are amazing and willing to work with you on 99% of any problems you might have. The professors and teachers make it very easy to understand the material provided.

  • 10/20/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 9 people found this review useful. 3 people found this inaccurate. 12 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Who have lots of bucks... Good Liberal Arts programs... Who prefer the Quarter System instead of the Semester System....

    Tips for prospective students

    Better be rich to go here.... Better have dual enrollment courses

    Bang for the buck

    TOOOOOOOO EXPENSIVE TO BE IN THERE... DORMS HAVE HIGH RENTS... $ 20 IS YOUR APPLICATION FEE...

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Look both ways before you cross the street, my friend!

    Greek Life

    It's not such a big deal here.

    Clubs and Activities

    Union Board, Student Gov Association, Alpha Epsilon Delta, Astronomy Club, gosh please don't ask for all of them!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Pet the bulldog statue when you walk by. It has been a tradition for who knows how long, and the stain has worn off to where you see the copper on his head! Do not step on the seal, or you won't graduate. Find the underground tunnel.

    What to do for fun

    If you chose LA Tech for your college, then you more than likely know how to have fun without toys and games, or you have the potential to learn how to do so. Is it in you?

    Food and Dining

    There are lots and lots of different food options, and the cafeteria was so good that I ate there at least once a day!

    Dorm Life

    Do not live in Harper if you can save yourself from that and you are a girl. If you are a girl, then I encourage you to get the experience. If you are a boy, then do everything you possibly can to not live in the dorm for certain reasons. I had a blast in Adams Hall!

    Academic Rigor

    It indeed has one of the finest engineering programs in the nation, and to my knowledge, every other program is pretty spectacular!

    Tips for prospective students

    Tech is super chill and the perfect place to go if seeking a Godly community with people who live what they believe.

    In three sentences

    It is my opinion that school is school wherever you go, but it is the people who teach there and attend with you and what the school is about that will either draw you in or repel you. The wee town of Ruston is as cozy as a campfire in December and populated with an administration and people who do not crave the party atmosphere but instead have a blast with what is in front of them, hold onto their morals and standards, and do not wonder what they are labelled as. I will most definitely finish my college education at Lousiana Tech University and continue to advertise it as I do now as a school that teaches like all the others but is full of accepting, fun, and passionate people.

  • 01/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    engineering students!!!!

    What to do for fun

    tech has a wonderful gym also allows students to join various intramural teams.there are also various,diverse organizations that are constantly hosting public,entertaining events. outside of school, there are many places to eat and a wonderful movie theater.

    Food and Dining

    the food in the cafe isn't the best in the world, but it's edible. we also have a food court with burger studios, cajun kitchen, salad garden, and tsunami sushi and noodles. other food venues at tech are chick fil a, mcalester's, bene's, bytes, and java city.

    Dorm Life

    living in the dorm is actually fun! the ra's are friendly and very resourceful and it comes in handy living with people who have the same workload as you. living outside of your home will help build responsibility.

    Academic Rigor

    the quarter system will keep you on your toes, but it's nothing to be afraid of. there are various groups that can help you achieve academically, as well as the wonder tech staff!!!!

    Tips for prospective students

    never get behind on schoolwork. because tech is on a quarter system, there is no time to fall behind. also, whenever you have trouble, a teacher should be spoken to asap.

    In three sentences

    louisiana tech is a fast pace school. however, all the teachers are humble and gracious enough to care for all aspects in each student's life. ruston may be a small town, but tech is never a dull place to be.

  • 02/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    tech offers a great night time service that has golf carts and drivers to drive you to and from places around campus at night. tech police is always around.

    Greek Life

    greek life at tech is great. it offers a lot of fun and different activities, as well as a great way to meet people. there is a greek organization for every type of person with any kind of interest.

    Clubs and Activities

    tech has a wide range of clubs from academics to athletics to community service. there is something for everyone. literally. people even play humans vs. zombies throughout campus.

    Food and Dining

    tech offers a great variety of on campus dining outside of the cafeteria. there is something for everyone.

    Academic Rigor

    classes are as hard as you make them. of course some things are harder than others or harder for different people, but there is always someone to help. most teachers have office hours where you can come and ask questions and receive extra help. the bark also offers math tutoring as well as a writing center to help students with papers in any subject.

    Tips for prospective students

    go greek! it's a great way to meet people and it really gives you stuff to do. join clubs! they are a great way to do something productive with your time as well as meet people that have similar interests to yours.

    In three sentences

    louisiana tech is a great place for college, not only for the school, but also the atmosphere. tech's campus is full of things to do as well as a great teaching staff that cares about their students.

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    16 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Personally I read and study.

    Food and Dining

    Plan on attending have not had any experience yet.

    Dorm Life

    Plan on attending have not had any experience yet.

    Academic Rigor

    Plan on attending have not had any experience yet.

    Tips for prospective students

    Learn to motivate yourself and always work hard but most importantly know when to have fun and when it is time to work.

    In three sentences

    This college offers exactly what I am looking for. They have an Air Force ROTC program as well as an engineering program. After doing a little research I knew this college was for me.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    17 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The cost of tuition and everything else is a pretty good price compared to other schools that I am researching.

    What to do for fun

    So far from my visit to their campus, there seems to be a good amount of things that you could do for entertainment. You could play the sports that they offer, join clubs, or just hang out around on the campus.

    Food and Dining

    There isn't much to offer but it is still edible.

    Academic Rigor

    I can not say much since I am only just researching at the moment but it doesn't seem too much as an up-tight school.

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The only major accidents and incidents we have on our campus is the cross walks, there have been a few students who have been hit in the cross walks. Whether you are walking or driving make sure you pay close attention when you get to them.

    Greek Life

    I am not in a Greek organization, but as I look around campus not many of our Greek organizations are as involved on campus as the non Greek organizations, but they still make the Greek life look fun and it makes students want to be apart of it.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs at Tech, you just have to stay on top of your emails so that you can know which clubs are looking for new members, but I'm sure there is at least one club that is perfect for each student

    Great for these types of students

    This is a school that I think is good for all types of students, however, tech is more of an engineering school so engineering students might enjoy it a bit more.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I wouldn't say we have any unusual traditions, but there is one game that students like to play every year which is humans vs zombies. I have never played but I see a lot of students running around campus playing and it looks very fun and interesting.

    Bang for the buck

    Overall it's worth the money to go to the school. The only thing they can improve on are the dorms and I feel that there should be more activities on campus for the students. You will enjoy your time here though.

    What to do for fun

    Ruston may not be big but there is always something you can find to do whether it's going to Monroe to shop, going to a party, or simply hanging out with friends and having a movie night, there is always something you can think of. With the addition of our two new pools at the Intramural Sports Center you can also go swimming!!

    Food and Dining

    The food places are great. We have chic-fil-a, McAllister's, Burger Studio, Counter Culture, and more. To be honest, most students enjoy eating the cafeteria food as the food is really good. There are also healthy foods to choose from for those who like healthy eating.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are okay they could be remodeled, but I enjoyed staying in Harper.They allow you to paint your room in the dorms, so you can decorate it to give it that home feeling. The apartments are decent, not all have washers and dryers inside but I have also enjoyed being in my apartment.

    Academic Rigor

    It is crucial for you to stay on top of your school work. Even though you may have a class that isn't hard, there is still a lot of work and you can easily fall behind.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Always check the dorms and on campus apartments, housing is very important. 2. Go into the Student Center and rub the Bulldog for good luck!!(: 3. Get to know a few people, this will be very helpful in the future.

    In three sentences

    Nothing beats being a bulldog!! I have enjoyed being at Louisiana Tech and meeting new people. There are a lot of friendly people and many things that you can do to get involved on campus.

  • 07/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Most fun activities are done at the Lambright Intramural Center where many students go to the swimming pool, rock climbing, shoot pool, bowling, racquetball, and many more extracurricular activities at Louisiana Tech. Also, students will go to the sports bar or karaoke bar for some leisure fun as well.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining are excellent; plus, there are more than one restaurants on campus to choose from than the cafeteria for example Chik-Fil-A.

    Dorm Life

    I stay off campus so I am not to sure, but based on what my fellow students tell me that the dormitories are very nice and relaxing.

    Academic Rigor

    Louisiana Tech University is ran by the quarter system so the classrooms moves very quickly. The instructors will work with you in every way possible to your level.

    Tips for prospective students

    Future students who are researching to find a university best suited for his/her needs, Louisiana Tech is the place to be at school. They have many degree programs to choose for any student most comfortable majoring in that field of study.

    In three sentences

    Louisiana Tech University is great on and off campus. Student life is wonderful where many different activities is constantly done to keep students happy. The administrative faculty and staff keeps you inform on things to help improve Louisiana Tech as a whole.

  • 07/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Engineering and Biology

    What to do for fun

    Go to football, baseball, basketball games.

    Food and Dining

    Many places to eat on campus. Make sure you get a large declining balance. You can get better food for a cheaper price.

    Dorm Life

    Do not stay in Mitchell. The place to live is University Park. It's more expensive but it's worth it.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are tough, but many of the teachers will help you with your grade as long as you ask.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you do not take all your prerequisites before you start many of your upper level courses.

    In three sentences

    I have attended three different universities, two being semester schools. I enjoy the quarter system here at Louisiana Tech University. Out of the three school I attended, Louisiana Tech University is my favorite for sever reasons.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Nice small community and on campus police are wonderful! Late night golf cars drive around to deliver students back to their dorms or apartments safely. Only reason I gave it 4 stars was because of an incident where a student was robbed at night. Although the thief was caught it still happened. The police are wonderful and stay up and out all night.

    Greek Life

    Loooooots of fraternities and sororities for students to get involved.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of fraternities and also lots of on campus clubs both in your study and outside of your study.

    Great for these types of students

    Engineer, architecture, athletic, nursing, and aviation majors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    You'll see the traditions when you go to sporting events like football and basketball. Locations mostly include food in Ruston.

    Bang for the buck

    Depending on which major you go for of course but have heard great things about aviation, architecture, nursing, and of course the engineering program is the best in Louisiana by far.

    What to do for fun

    Walmart, movies, Intramural Center, swimming, rock climbing, and lots of sporting events all free if you're a student.

    Food and Dining

    Not a huge selection and rather expensive, but the main cafeteria is nice and varied if you have a meal plan.

    Dorm Life

    Some dorms are better than others but overall not too bad. Definitely something all freshmen should experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great school that is rather small and very personal. Great teachers, staff, and students

    In three sentences

    Great school for engineering. Very personal including teachers and staff. Classes are challenging and require determination to prove your success

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    22 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Tech is a great place for students who want to earn a great college degree and have fun doing it as well.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Rubbing the sacred bulldog statues are the most interesting traditions to me. They're all the same statue but in different location, but some students who feel that need a little luck will pat the bronze bulldog in hope of some good luck.

    Bang for the buck

    Louisian Tech's housing and meal plans are cheap and worth the payment.

    What to do for fun

    On Tech's campus, there is a gym completely for the students. There's a basket ball court, swimmig pool, a track, pool tables, ping pong tables, and workout room. They also hold the ocassional dances there as well. From the time to time Tech organization also fund concerts with big celebrity performance as well.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is good. They have a wide variety of food. It offers all of the needed food groups. On campus and on the outskirts of the campus, there also are some fast food and buffet places as well.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are fine. Some worse than others, but they are workable. They have an area for students to study, have internet access, a decent tv, a microwave, and fridge. The beds are decent as well.

    Academic Rigor

    Louisiana Tech has many academic support programs. From their Greek organization to thier class professors, someone is always available to help with stressful course. Almost all their organization have a tutoring program. Their number one priority is to help the student pass the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    I advise prospective students to break out and socialize amongst others. During orientation I met alot of new friends and learn more about the school from students that were already studying there. Talking is a great way to learn more about the school.

    In three sentences

    Louisiana Tech University has an awsome atmosphere for students. Its very friendly and supportive. I feel as if I am destine to do well if I attend Louisiana Tech University.

  • 10/17/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    23 of 45

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I have been to the area and the people are nice and welcoming. The area also has a nice homey feel to it, so I can just Imagine that the campus and staff are just the same.

  • 10/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The support of emails concerning weather updates to advice on avoiding fraud and transportation teams around campus 24/7 is another way Louisiana Tech University prides itself in supporting and providing for its students.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life at Louisiana Tech University is also a special and popular way students are able to get involved and enjoy college life. Commitment to no hazing, supporting nationally known organizations, and throwing great parties are a few ways that Greek Life at Louisiana Tech University is so special.

    Clubs and Activities

    Offering numerous clubs and activities, Louisiana Tech University offers many opportunities for students to have fun and enjoy community while participating in the things they enjoy. Tech offers many clubs and activities like the Equestrian Club, Cyber Club, Bass Club, Eco Car Club, Powerlifting, Paintball, and Wakeboarding; just to name a few.

    Great for these types of students

    Louisiana Tech University is great for all types of students. Due to their affordable price, Louisiana Tech student body is comprised of all walks of life from many diverse cultures all over the world. This university is great for any and all students, as it produces some of the highest graduation rates with the lowest student loans of any university in the country.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One tradition at Louisiana Tech University that students love is that they give their graduates a brick with their name and graduation year. This simple yet special gift can also be etched eternally on Louisiana Tech University's Campus as they have a whole section of sidewalks made from graduates bricks each year.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes, Louisiana Tech University offers a close-knit college town, great community, unparalleled support from faculty and teachers, quality education, high graduation rates, but the fact that they offer all this for such an affordable price is the reason I and many others have chosen Louisiana Tech University as our college of choice.

    What to do for fun

    Louisiana Tech recently completed remodeling and making additions to the Lambright Wellness and Fitness Center this past summer 2012. Among the stunning architectural additions to Lambright are a floor to ceiling rock wall, indoor and outdoor lap pool, frozen yogurt store, new fitness equipment, and much more. Not only can students enjoy all Lambright Rec and Fitness Center has to offer, students can also attend any and every athletic event free with their student id.

    Food and Dining

    From Chick-fil-a to McAllister's to Sushi and Orange Chicken, Louisiana Tech University provides a large diversity of food with which students can choose to eat on campus. Also found on campus is the Tech Bytes store, providing essentials and groceries that students can purchase without having to step foot off-campus.

    Dorm Life

    Overall, the dorms are well kept and advised. The few times as a freshman that I needed an RA for assistance, they were always near by ready to help. The dorms are well maintained and frequently worked on for further improvement for the future. The most highly sought on-campus accommodations are Louisiana Tech University's on-campus apartments. The on-campus apartments are located on the north side of campus and provide a comfortable, convenient residence for students at Louisiana Tech.

    Academic Rigor

    As a current chemical engineering student, I can only speak for the Engineering Department upon answering this question. I find the curriculum and classes to be challenging, but impossible. The help and support of teachers at Louisiana Tech University is unparalleled. My gratitude goes out to the faculty and course material provided here at Louisiana Tech, for although challenging it also results in successful preparation for life after graduation in a career field.

    Tips for prospective students

    With a low student to teacher ratio, students at Louisiana Tech are privileged with a more personal relationship with teachers, counselors, and faculty members. This helps students become more successful in the classroom and in the college life as a whole.

    In three sentences

    Louisiana Tech University is among the top universities for graduating students with the lowest amount of debt. Providing such quality education and campus life at an affordable price is something that makes this university stand out among the rest. Louisiana Tech University's unyielding support as well as their commitment to the excellence of the students, is what makes Louisiana Tech so successful and loved by its students.

  • 10/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    You definitely get what you pay for here.

    What to do for fun

    Ruston is not a big place and there isn't a ton to do. However, if you meet the right people then you don't have to worry. Our recreation center has two pools, bowling alley, basketball gym, and a regular full service gym. Alot of the students like to go to the games and cheer on their Bulldawgs. Shreveport and Monroe are not very far and both offer lots of things to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus is really good. There is a food court which has a sushi restaurant, burger joint, wraps, and a salad place. Also in Tolliver, we have a McAllister's and Bene, an italian restaurant. The cafe also offers really good food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are not the best for guys. They are old and out dated, but they will be building new ones soon. The apartments on campus are great. I lived in the dorms first and then moved to an apartment. I am so glad I did. You feel like you are at home in the apartments, which come fully furnished.

    Academic Rigor

    Louisiana Tech is not only a great university to attend, but you can feel safe in knowing that your degree is actually worth something. Tech sets a tough curriculum so that you will know everything that you need to by the time that you graduate. Tech is on the quarter system. It's one of the greatest things about being here. It gives you the oppurtunity to earn more credits in a shorter amount of time. Just when you get tired of one set of classes, it's time to change quarters. You should definitely come here if you plan on being an engineer. Tech is one of the best engineering schools in the countries. The business program is also on the rise.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking at Tech as a prospective college, then don't hesitate to contact admissions or the college that you fill you will be in. I can't remember how many emails that I sent to the admissions office. They are just so friendly and will do everything in their power to help you. Tech is located in Ruston which is pretty small, but it gives you that sense of being at home. One of the things you will hear alot if you attend Louisiana Tech is that we are a family. Dr. Dan Reneau, president, likes to stress that.

    In three sentences

    Louisiana Tech University is a great up and coming university. Over the past few years, its professors and colleges have gained countless recognition. If you are an engineer, business major, or want to be a teach, then Louisiana Tech is definitely for you.

  • 10/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Lambright Intramural Center has a gym, an indoor pool, an outdoor pool with a spacious seating area, pool tables, a bowling alley, basketball courts, and raquetball courts that is open and free to the student body.

    Food and Dining

    Burger Studio, McAlister's, and Counter Culture are my favorites on campus, but there are great places all over Ruston to eat. It is a small town, and the community is great to Tech students.

    Dorm Life

    The roommate makes all the difference in the world! The facilities are nice though, and well-located in the campus. Parking is decent, and the maintenance staff is always helpful with anything you need.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of my classes are challenging, yet fun and highly attainable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to speak with the administrators. The people at Tech truly want to help in any way they can. Also, take care of things like housing arrangements and financial aid as soon as possible, so that classes can be your main focus when they need to be.

    In three sentences

    I love Tech. It is a family atmosphere, with wonderful professors. Thanks to my classes and the Band of Pride, I have made some lifelong friends that have made my experience absolutely the best it could be!

  • 10/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe on campus. Through the day you will see the Tech police driving around the school.

    Clubs and Activities

    To many to count.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Do not walk over the La Tech seal in front of the clock tower rumor has it if you do you will fail a class.

    What to do for fun

    There is always clubs and other activities going on but the best would be going to the Bull dogs home games.

    Food and Dining

    Food's awesome. There is a chick fila on campus. There is even a place were you can get descent sushi.

    Dorm Life

    I am a transfer student and have never lived in the dorms but from what I have heard is the girls dorms are nicer sorry guys.

    Academic Rigor

    I am a biology major and the school work is tough but there are tutors to help get you through the tough stuff.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not take chem 100 with Dr. Upoly unless you already know chemistry he is a nice guy but very hard to understand.

    In three sentences

    The campus is very beautiful and there are clubs and activities to fix anything person's interest. The computer system is a little out of date as far as I can see. And the teachers and advisers are very help full.

  • 11/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is incredible!!! They send email alerts if there has been any reporting of burglary, etc. to make sure that all students are aware and can 1. Be on the look out for any strange activities and 2. be safe! The Tech Police Department has a great service that you can call at absolutely any time (day or night) and they will come pick you up and take you to wherever you need to go! If you are studying late, your car is parked across campus, or your dorm is on the opposite side of campus....you call, tell them where you are located, and they make sure you get to your destination safely! I think its truly awesome that they care about the students like that!!

    Greek Life

    We have an amazing Greek Life here! Both sororities and fraternities are involved and helpful! They do a lot of community work and are present at every Tech function!

    Clubs and Activities

    Tech has so many clubs and activities...there is no way possible for a student not to find something they are interested in! Union Board on campus works so hard to provide fun activities for the students and they do a great job! There is so many options and opportunities to get involved so..get out there!!

    Great for these types of students

    Louisiana Tech is great for absolutely any type of student! There is such a large array of cultures and that is super neat! Since Tech is renowned for their engineering programs we have a lot of foreign students. I think its awesome because it gives you a chance to meet people from different cultures and countries and get a new perspective! Tech welcomes everyone..it's basically one HUGE family!!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One thing that Tech does that is really unique to me is each graduate gets a brick with their name on it! So years after you have graduated, any time you go back to campus you have a brick which shows that you have forever made a mark at Louisiana Tech! You make some of your best memories in college and to know that your legacy is seen everyday is so special.

    Bang for the buck

    You definitely get your moneys worth at Tech! You get a great education, a great place to hang out, awesome athletic events and a college experience unlike any other! When you graduate from Tech and create your resume, Tech is a school that is honored all over the country and will make you stand apart from the rest! I totally think that Tech gives you the best bang for your buck!

    What to do for fun

    LAMBRIGHT!!! It is our on campus workout facility but its not only for working out. They have bowling lanes, ping pong tables, pool tables, basketball courts, both indoor and outdoor swimming pools, and yogurt! EVERY Tech student gets in by showing their ID card! They are open late and you can go pretty much whenever it is convenient for you! OH..how could I forget to mention our ROCK WALL! Lambright is awesome, brand new, and filled with top of the line equipment!

    Food and Dining

    Tech's food and dining is awesome we have been blessed with a great selection of food on our campus! I have yet to have a bad meal! We have Chik fil A, McAlister's Deli, a burger shop, sushi, sandwiches and salads, (my favorite) Cajun home cooking, and last but not least the cafeteria! The food does not disappoint on campus! I eat on campus everyday!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is pretty good here! All dorms are convenient for getting to class. Most female dorms are located in the middle of campus so they are close to the student center and bookstore.

    Academic Rigor

    Tech uses the quarter system which is definitely a blessing! But this also means that material is covered faster than most colleges using the semester system. It can be intense but it is so worth it! You MUST be on your A game the entire quarter because it will fly by! All professors I have had have been amazing and very well educated. If you choose Tech I can guarantee that you will learn and be challenged in positive ways.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Get active!- At Tech there is so many clubs and opportunities to not only have fun but also meet new people. -Don't Be Shy- Part of the fun here at Tech is that everyone is treated like family! I have yet to meet someone rude or unhelpful! Be outgoing..talk to the person in line with you in the cafeteria, what can it hurt! -Make Connections-Talk to upper classmen and get their perspective on professors, clubs, etc. That is key in college! Also get to know your professors because they will be there for your whole journey at Tech!

    In three sentences

    Louisiana Tech is absolutely AMAZING...plain and simple! The faculty and staff here at Louisiana Tech are so loving and welcoming. There is NO ONE here on Campus that won't help you.

  • 11/20/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    29 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Personally I like to hang with friends.

    Food and Dining

    Havent had the experience yet.

    Dorm Life

    Havent had the experience yet.

    Tips for prospective students

    Develop great studying skills and keep up with your work.

    In three sentences

    I heard its a really great school for someone pursuing a career in engineering.

  • 11/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel safe on campus. Watch for pedestrians while driving. Health, however is a whole other issue. Some buildings, like the library, are contaminated with mold (Black, gross). The Wiley tower also hums with electrical vibration. That whole building really needs to be redone, so minmize time there,if you can

    Clubs and Activities

    There is actually a fairly large art scene here. The Wesley Foundation really reaches out, too.

    Great for these types of students

    It is world class for engineering majors. Their new MBA allows you to get your masters degree in one year. They also have a rigorous architect ciriculum.

    Bang for the buck

    The buck part keeps going up, while the bang goes down :(

    What to do for fun

    Go to a game, see a movie, or shop local. Pastry Moon, located at 111 E. Mississippi Ave downtown is my favoritr store. Tat place is awesome!

    Food and Dining

    This is an area that has improved over the years. That being said, there is plenty room for improvement. They need more local, healthy choices.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is awful! I haven't had to live on campus here, but I've heard some horror stories. Plus the price is way too high. Find a house to share with some other students.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are easy. They are not all computerized. However, they do have some online classes. Those do fill up fast!

    Tips for prospective students

    Really look into your curriculum. Make sure you are truly interested in the classes that are required for your major. Try to get out of living on campus.

    In three sentences

    The classes are small with some truly excellent teachers. I love my advisers and the advising process at this school. Seated in the city of Ruston, a rapidly growing city that still has a small town feel.

  • 12/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Not much to do in Ruston. Many trips to Walmart have been made out of boredom

    Food and Dining

    The food in the Caf (cafeteria) is alright, but it gets old quick. There's also a Chick-fil-A and McAlister's on campus too.

    Dorm Life

    Not the nicest dorms. But although they are old, they are typically well-maintained

    Tips for prospective students

    LaTech is an engineering school, but there are more than just engineers here. Don't be afraid to look at Tech even if engineering isn't your thing.

  • 12/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This is a very safe campus. Not many attacks occur but you should always take precaution especially when walking alone at night. They encourage you to save the on campus police number in your phone. This also comes in handy because you can call the golf cart service offered at night which will drive you around to different places on campus. It is a cab in the form of a golf cart.

    Greek Life

    I can not really comment on the Greek Life because I am only a freshmen and I have not joined anything. From what I do see on campus it seems like it will be fun and it will give you the chance to make a new group of friends.

    Clubs and Activities

    Their are so many different types of organizations on campus for people that everybody should be able to find something that fits there personality.

    Great for these types of students

    The Louisiana Tech University is great for every type of student.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    An unusual tradition on campus is that most undergraduate students do not walk on the Tech seal located in the quad. Supposedly a dead bulldog is buried under the seal which is the school mascot. People say that a long time ago two boys were walking home and found a bulldog. They took the dog home to their apartment and the manager said he could stay for the night. During that night a fire broke out in the apartment. One of the boys and the dog managed to get out. When they realized the other little boy was still in their, the dog went back to wake him up. The dog did not make it back out. He died of smoke inhalation. The boys wrapped him up in a blue jacket and a red jacket and buried him. This is where the school colors come from. Rumor has it that you will not graduate if you walk across the seal.

    Bang for the buck

    Majoring in engineering at Tech gives you a bang for your buck. This school is one of the best ranked schools in engineering. Getting a job ofter obtaining a degree from this school for engineering will not be hard to do. However, I will not lie and say that it is an easy major. It is a lot of hard work but I think it will be worth it in the end.

    What to do for fun

    I will admit their is not much to do on campus if you are not involved in some type of organization or have friends to hang out with. However, most people go to the Lambright Wellness Center for fun and it also free since it is paid through tuition. The center has an indoor and outdoor pool, a rock climbing wall, ping pong and pool tables, a bowling alley, fitness rooms, courts, and many other things. Coming here will give you something to do when you are bored out of your mind.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is not the best food. It is often repetitive and not everything looks delectable. Luckily there is also a variety of food places on campus too. The meals plans offer you a select number of meals per week in the cafeteria and a set amount of declining balance for the quarter. The declining balance can be used at any of the eateries on campus plus the campus grocery store. The best thing about the location of the campus is that so many restaurants are within walking distance of the campus. Some of the places even accept Tech Express which is like a prepaid debit card offered through Tech. You will always have a wide variety of food once you get tired of the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are old so they are not in the best conditions but they are livable. The dorms do have a plus side though. The dorms are pretty close to the classes so you can get those treasured extra minutes of sleep. The dorm life also allows you to meet new people including your roommate who might become your best friend.

    Academic Rigor

    This school goes on the quarter system which is different from most schools. The classes last ten weeks instead of fifteen weeks. This means that the classes are fast-paced. I would not recommend this school to anybody who needs more time to comprehend things. However, if you need help the BARC center is open everyday which is free on campus tutoring.

    Tips for prospective students

    The biggest tip I can give a student is that studying will become your best friend. I learned this lesson the hard way. I spent my first few weeks of school enjoying my new found freedom and socializing which reflected in my grades. Now I study on a daily basis and my grades are improving. Another good tip is to do your homework the day it is assigned. This way it is fresh on your mind and you will not have to deal with the last minute stress. Another good reason to do this is because a lot of the homework is submitted online but is not due to the last day of class. This could hurt you if you wait until the last week of class to do all the homework for the entire class. Overall, just do your work. Another tip that is not work related is to keep an open mind in college. There are a lot of different cultures, ethnicity, and many other things. Do not judge people because they do not look or act like you.

    In three sentences

    This school was not my original choice but I am happy that I chose to go here. It has a beautiful campus and a friendly environment. You will be welcomed here with open arms.

  • 01/06/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    33 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Students of this college receive cards that one may put money on to buy most things from the campus and surrounding area.

    Dorm Life

    I do not know much about dorm life. Sorry.

    Academic Rigor

    As the daughter of someone who went here, I can say that Louisiana Tech's Academics are outstanding.

  • 02/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Overall Louisiana Tech is a wonderful school. I'm a freshman and I LOVE it.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of things you can do for fun but the main thing is going to the Lambright which is a center that is free for students where you can go work out, bowling, play basketball, ping pong, and tennis. There is also an indoor and outdoor pool. There is a food place called Counter Culture that sales awesome frozen yougurt and other foods and drinks. It's just an overall great place to go to have some fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you can manage a fast paste system because they are on the quarter system and classes do go by pretty fast.

    In three sentences

    Louisiana Tech is a great college. The people are very friendly and willing to help you out. I would recommend anyone to come here.

  • 02/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is great! If it's after dark and you need to walk across campus to the library, just call the Tech police and they will send over a golf cart to drive you there for free!

    What to do for fun

    There is always stuff to do for fun! If there is not anything you like already, that's okay because you can create your own group of something!

    Food and Dining

    The food is great, but unfortunately very repetitive so I go to the on-campus Chik-fil-A and McAllister's when I am tired of the Cafe.

    Dorm Life

    I live in the Adams dorms here and love it. I can wake up at last minute and still get to class on time! The faculty here clean up very well and are well respected!

    Academic Rigor

    Tech is different from many other schools because we are on the quarter system. So if you are a fast paced learner wanting your degree sooner, you would definitely enjoy it here. Instead of having 2 semesters, we have 4 quarters and you can do what's best for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip to prospective students is that once they are accepted here to join a club of some sort to become apart of the Tech family! I am in the Band of Pride and have a ton of fun with tons of friends. I feel like I belong here!

    In three sentences

    I feel that Louisiana Tech University is a great college to attend whether you are or are not from the Rustin, Louisiana area you will still feel like you are at home. If I had to rate this school on a scale from 1-10, 10 being the best, I would choose a 9.5!

  • 05/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel totally safe on campus. Campus police is always patrolling and there are emergency phones around campus you can use incase of an emergency. there is an escort service that brings people to and from places after 6:00 p.m everyday so you wont have to walk at night or if you just simply don't feel like it.

    Greek Life

    There are many different fraternities and sororities on campus. There are only four black fraternities though. Delta Sigma Theta, Omegas, Alphas, and AKA's.

    Clubs and Activities

    Tech has a lot of different clubs and activities. If they don't have a certain club or activity that you like you can get one started by talking to the right people. If you aren't involved with anything on campus its because you don't want to be because there a tons of things to do.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who do not like big schools or classes Louisiana Tech is perfect for you. The classes are sometimes the size of a high school class. If you don't like the city life Ruston is perfect because it is midsize and a very good place to live.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Tech has this logo in the center of campus that no one walks through because a bulldog is buried under the cement. The dog was found by some students who asked their RA if they could keep it and the RA said only for one night. They kept the dog and a fire broke out that night all the boys got out except one and so the dog ran in and woke the last boy up but the dog didn't make it out so the boys buried him in a blue and red jacket for being heroic and that is how Louisiana Tech got its mascot and school colors.

    What to do for fun

    Tech sometimes don't have anything to do on campus but Union Board put some activities together throughout the year. We had a talent show, spring fling, and even a magician on campus as well as a few bands. They also host rock, paper, scissors where you can win real cool prizes like beats by Dre and all you have to do is win a rock, paper, scissors game.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay. The caf tends to cook the same thing over and over which can get tiresome but if enough students make a request for something they will get it. They meet the demands of students.

    Dorm Life

    I lived in an apartment because I didn't want to use the community bathrooms in the dorms. The dorms are okay to live in I just don't like the bathrooms. There is one dorm building that doesn't have community bathrooms. The RA's put together game nights and activities for the residents. It's a good experience because I stayed in one during orientation and enjoyed it. The apartments are awesome though!!

    Academic Rigor

    LaTech has a no cheating policy. The professors are very strict on cheaters. If you cheat and get caught you can get expelled from the university. Cheating shouldn't be an option because the work isn't too hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    As an incoming freshman do not be afraid. College is what you make of it. You can enjoy the college life and still have good grades. As long as you study and do your work you'll be fine. The biggest thing is GO TO CLASS. You'll be on your own so no one will be there to make you and the temptation to miss class is hard but resist it.

    In three sentences

    Louisiana Tech University is like a family. The school isn't too big or small so you're classes aren't as big. Not having huge classes is better for a person to connect with the professor more.

  • 08/29/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    37 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a campus police station. Many times students call for a ride back to their dorms at night and the police enjoy helping the students around.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Naturally there is Mardis Gras and there are always concerts on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Food on campus is great. There is a Chic-fil-A and a Mcallisters. The town around has good food and accepts many Tech id's.

    Dorm Life

    Some dorms are older but serve their purpose.

    Academic Rigor

    The programs at Tech are wonderful. Engineering programs are great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Perfect for engineers, but is a small university by comparison.

    In three sentences

    Great campus, easy to navigate. Wonderful engineering program and tons of things to do on campus. Quiet and small enough to enjoy.

  • 09/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Good.

    What to do for fun

    sports organizations concerts when available and other fun days.

    Food and Dining

    Good.

    Dorm Life

    great comfortable friendly

    Academic Rigor

    fast pace serious

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't fall behind because it will be to late to make up loss work.

    In three sentences

    The school is clean. Well organizing as well as still developing. It is fast learning and serious.

  • 09/24/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    39 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great, they have campus police always on duty and phones along the sidewalks if you ever need help

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs and activities to choose from and if they don't the right club for you, then you can start your own

    Great for these types of students

    It is great for any student who wants to meet new people and have a great time

    Bang for the buck

    this college is cheaper than most and still get the same quality of education

    What to do for fun

    there is lots of clubs and activities on campus, there is even a pool for those hot days

    Food and Dining

    There are lots of options to choose from

    Dorm Life

    Dorm rooms are small but you will meet lots of new people

    Academic Rigor

    The classes will be difficult but you will still be able to handle coursework

    Tips for prospective students

    don't overload yourself

    In three sentences

    My experience visiting the campus was great. I can already tell that coming here would be a great decision. I can't wait to start here soon.

  • 12/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Enjoy the town or go to the movies or mall

    Food and Dining

    The food up here is AWESOME. They have an amazing style of cooking in Louisiana and it is very good.

    Dorm Life

    Its okay for a freshmen to start off in one.But a you elevate your classification think about and apartment.

    Academic Rigor

    It is very fast paste. Since we are on the quarter system it is fast.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not get behind. Be able to juggle academics and outide life

    In three sentences

    Its an amazing atmosphere with beautiful scenery. The school spirit and legacy is amazing. You are guaranteed a job after graduating.

  • 01/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have these 'red tables' located along the cafeteria building that are extremely popular for lunch or just hanging out. Also in the area is the school's emblem in the ground. It's said to be bad luck to walk directly on it, so you always see everyone walk around it. Looooong story. There is also a brick laid for every graduating senior around campus.

    What to do for fun

    There is literally always something going on. Approved events can be seen on everything from flyers posted on bathroom doors to hand-written chalk signs along the ground. They even send emails to students inviting them to any event held around campus.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has a wide range of choices, there is a mini food court around it with reasonable prices. There is also a mall-like food court in a separate building right across from the caf that even has a little convenience store. They have multiple meal plans to appeal to everyone and with certain plans the additional money can be used around campus.

    Dorm Life

    They are in the process of remodeling and renovating. In my residence hall, there are nice people, respected spaces, and stalled bathrooms. This particular hall also has 3 people to a room, but most rooms have 2 mates since one either moves out or does not show. Any complaints made might need to be high in number in order for the residence department to comply though.

    Academic Rigor

    I love how talented teachers are. I am an art student. They go at a pace that is good for those who have absolutely no experience and grade accordingly. And even though they are nice and ask that you call them by their first names, they know the boundary between profession and personal and you cannot help but to respect it. And the program is flexible, so even with 3-month learning periods, progression is made every week. Even the talented have something to learn in the classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not jump the gun on the amount of hours you take. For starters, just take the minimum so you can feel out your major, balance classes, etc. Ask about anything you feel is necessary. RA's are on every floor, every adviser is there for you, and if you prefer to, you can email departments all around campus for questions or concerns.

    In three sentences

    LA Tech is full of Southern hospitality for all races, genders, and sexes alike. The art program is complete with a wide-range of fully competent and cool teachers. Quarters are a nice change from semesters.

  • 03/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    When you walk into the student center to grab a bite to eat, at one end there is a bronze bulldog. As students walk by the dog, a majority will rub the dog for good luck and school spirit. Students will also walk around the seal that is placed in Centennial Plaza to avoid the bad luck of not graduating.

    What to do for fun

    There are many things to do in Ruston for enjoyment. Catch a movie at the theater, go to a sports event on campus, or attend any of the programs that the SGA or other campus organizations put on. You can also drive to Monroe (30 min away) or Shreveport (an hour away) for a little more variety.

    Food and Dining

    The food is ok, but there are not very many healthy options and the school could do a lot better where the cafeteria is concerned.

    Dorm Life

    I love living in the dorms. There are sometimes problems but the staff is always willing to come and fix it.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers keep you on your toes but are willing to help you if you get in a bind.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep up with your deadlines! They will sneak up on you before you know it and then you will be in a panic!

    In three sentences

    Louisiana Tech is a school that I do not regret attending. The campus life, teacher availability and help, and the campus itself are all welcoming and inviting. The school does a great job of taking care of its students.

  • 04/30/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always a police car driving around campus day and night. Emergency phone boxed are placed around campus for emergencies. To enter the residence halls, you will need a remote access key to get in. Resident Assistants patrol the dorms and apartments to make sure everything is under control

    What to do for fun

    The on campus entertainment organization always has free and fun events for students. Music bands, comedians, magicians, and other performers are invited to come to campus. You can watch movies on the big jumbotron in the football stadium or win free prizes like a big screen TV in bingo night or tournaments.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is actually good. There is a different variety everyday and healthy options are available. There is a Chick fil A, burger place, salad place, pizza place, sushi/asian food place and a mini convenient store.

    Dorm Life

    Living in a dorm on campus is quite convenient. You will be within walking distance for classes and will be close to the food court for meals. Friends will be made quicker since you are in a residential area where everyone is going through the same thing you are going through.

    Academic Rigor

    The college life is no longer the safe haven you had in high school. You are doing things on your own more which means you have to learn time management and become more independent. Classes will challenge you even more and you will be learning things at a faster rate.

    Tips for prospective students

    If I was looking at colleges to apply to, I would definitely do multiple campus visits/tours. This allows you to have a better picture of what life as a student could be like. Any questions you have about a certain department or student life in general will be answered right away since you are there in person.

    In three sentences

    Louisiana Tech University is a nationally recognized college in the United States with high educational standards that are never lowered. As a Tier 1 national university, it provides a good learning environment with excellent student to teacher relationships. It is the highest ranked university in the state of Louisiana in average starting salary for graduates.

  • 06/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Tech campus is quite safe. There are constantly police officers on patrol around campus. It is also very easy to contact them if you need them. They also offer transportation services at night so you do not have to walk across campus alone.

    Greek Life

    I was not involved in Greek so I am unable to provide a review.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and organizations here at Tech. Every major has one or more organizations where students can be around others that are heading down the same career path. They even give you a chance for experience and even scholarships. There are also many clubs for just about any interest you can think of. Take some time to check through the club and organization database to see if anything would interest you!

    Great for these types of students

    Tech is known as an engineering school, but it is great for any type of student. We offer many academic majors here, and employers love a Tech student. As a matter of fact, Tech has been recognized nationally for value and high starting salaries.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Tech has many traditions, but the most common one you see students practicing is petting the bronze bulldog. There are three of them: in the President's office, in the student center, and the football stadium. At the beginning of every football game, the boys walk past the dog and pet him for good luck. Students due the same thing in the student center. Not only does petting the dog give you good luck for that final exam you're stressing about, it gives you a sense of pride and love for being a Louisiana Tech Bulldog.

    Bang for the buck

    Tech is one the quarter system which means paying tuition about every three months. However, compared to most other schools like Tech, it is cheaper. Furthermore, it is worth it. You get a great education in well maintained, technological classrooms, have access to many resources that will help you in your college career, and you just plain enjoy being a student here.

    What to do for fun

    As I've said before, there is always something to do at Tech. Organizations and clubs always have activities going on in Centennial Plaza. Tech also holds annual events such as Fall Fling, Spring Fling, and Mayfest. There's also sporting events to attend all year round, or you can get involved in sports yourself by joining intramurals. The gym on campus has plenty of fun things to do as well including swimming, rock climbing, and bowling.

    Food and Dining

    Dining is wonderful here at Tech. We have plenty of options to choose from. The student center contains a food court (asian place, Burger Studio, Salad Garden, snacks, and drinks), the cafeteria, and a Chick-fi-la!!! Tolliver contains a McCallister's, Bene Pasta (create your own pasta bowl), Java City, and Byte's Store. You can also purchase snacks from the bookstore.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live in a dorm so I am unable to provide any review.

    Academic Rigor

    As far as academics, Tech is one of the best. Our school is constantly being voted the top academic school in Louisiana. The classes are great. They are small and the teachers know you by name, which is helpful when you are needing assistance from them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to get involved. Tech has many clubs and organizations to join, plus there is always something going on for students to get involved in. Also take advantage of Freshman Orientation. This is a great opportunity to get to know campus, the people around you, and even get involved in an organization.

    In three sentences

    I give Louisiana Tech a 5-star rating!!! The teachers and students here are wonderful. There is a lot of diversity here, and there is always something to do!!!

  • 08/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I think one of the campus traditions that people first here about is not stepping on the seal in the middle of the quad. According to legend, those who walk on the seal instead of going around will not graduate. The seal is a unique location because this is where the original bulldog of Tech was buried. Speaking of bulldogs, if you are looking for some good luck you can rub the head of the bronze bulldog statue near the cafeteria.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining on campus is pretty decent unless you are expecting gourmet food. I only eat in the cafeteria once a day, so I do not know how different the lunch and dinner menus are. However, there are a lot of options within the café: there is always a pizza station, a salad bar, basic burger/fries, and a few â??entrée and sidesâ?? options. Outside of the café, the most popular options are probably Chick-Fil-A and McAllisterâ??s. You will inevitably have to wait a long time for your food at McAllisterâ??s, but it is worth it. Other on-campus dining options include a Burger Studio, a Cajun place called Kickinâ?? Cajun, a sushi/rice place, a sandwich joint, and a pasta/pizzeria. Thereâ??s also a coffee place called Java City that I personally think is as good as Starbucks, but it has way less drinks to choose from. There are plenty of tables set up inside and outside that are perfect for eating, socializing, and enjoying the rare nice Louisiana weather. If you get tired of the on-campus options, Tech Drive, the main road leading to Tech from the interstate, has lots of cheap fast-food and snack places. The only complaint that comes to my mind is the pricey meal plan you are forced to buy every quarter if you live in the dorms or on-campus apartments. Some people can use it up, but you have to pay for it even if you do not use it all.

    Dorm Life

    Simply put, I would not recommend living in the dorms after your freshman year. I can only think of two positives of living in the dorms that make freshman life a bit easier. One is that you are situated close to everything â?? it is a five minute walk to classes, the cafeteria, etc. When you are a freshman that does not know how to get anywhere (especially if you are directionally challenged like me), this is a comfort. The other positive is that the RAs really try to get to know you and create a fun environment. There are always events like movie nights and craft nights. As far as the negatives (which far outweigh the positives), the first one that comes to my mind is the lack of space. The rooms in Adams are prison-cell small. There just is enough room for two people, but three people would be a nightmare. The rooms in Aswell and Harper are more manageable, but still get claustrophobic. Another negative is the community bathrooms, which are as bad as you think. No matter how hard the cleaning ladies work, there are always girls who do not flush, hair all over the showers, you name it. Finally, I think the roommate process needs modifying. Residential Life does what they can to pick a compatible roommate for you, but if your roommate is horrible (and I had one of those immediately), you are the one that has to try again with another roommate. Meanwhile, the girl who drives everyone away gets a room to herself for no extra charge because no one can stand living with her.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor really varies from person to person. I am sure every counselor and college blog says that college is what you make of it, etc. etc. It might be annoying to keep hearing that, but it's true. For example, some majors are notoriously harder and more time consuming than others (architecture and engineering). Also, since everyone makes their own schedule, you might meet one person whose schedule is overloaded with difficult classes and another whose schedule is lighter. From my personal experience, the classes at Tech can be challenging and rewarding. Once you settle into your major and start taking major specific classes, you will really enjoy your schedule more. Being on the quarter system instead of the semester system means classes do not last as long, so professors have to rush through information some. I prefer this because there iÂ?s no time to waste on unnecessary projects and whatnot (you get in, learn, and get out), but some people like semesters better.

    In three sentences

    Any freshman at orientation will keep hearing that Louisiana Tech is like a family and it is true. Being in a small town and being a medium-sized campus makes Tech feel like a little home away from home. Tech has its good and bad points, but overall it is a lovable college.