Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Lourdes University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/12/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for anyone who wants a great education without the being overwhelmed by the large classes at a big campus. I spent 2 years at a big university and i hated the long walks in the cold from class to class, the 300+ students per class room, and the overall inpersonality of it all. Lourdes has so many activities going on that I feel like im walking onto a big campus, minus all the 10 mile walk. Lourdes is also great for anyone who knows they are going to need a little more help with classes they struggle with. The instructors have been super helpful and there are tutors available all the time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come prepared to succeed.

    Bang for the buck

    Being a little on the higher priced side of things, Lourdes is worth every penny. The class schedules are amazing especially if you have a job or family to work around. They streamline everything so your not spending everyday on campus. At fulltime Im only there a few days a week.

    Am enjoying being here

    Everything about the school is great! They offer so much to do outside of the classroom and the people are all super friendly and helpful.

    Am learning a lot

    So far my Instructors have been great. I have found many that actually care about their students and pride themself on doing a good.

  • 10/05/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The school may be OK for day time traditional students that have a lot of money to spend and aren't looking for scholarships or aid. If you have to take out loans - good luck paying those back as Lourdes is twice as expensive as some other schools in the area.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are going part time be very careful when planning your schedule. Some courses are only offered once every other year so you have to be available for those. If you miss one it will hold you from graduating for another year!!! I am not impressed as a non-traditional student.

    Bang for the buck

    I regret transferring to this school. It is too expensive for what the school has to offer its Business Students.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am a part time evening student. This school is not geared toward non-traditional students.

    Am learning a lot

    Some classes the instructors are effective and others are not. Accounting instructors are terrible in my opinion. I transferred from another 4 year school and the quality of the instructors at that institution seemed much better then Lourdes.

  • 02/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus security is constantly monitored by cameras and security guards that make their rounds on campus and at the residence halls multiple times throughout the day and night!

    Greek Life

    lourdes doesn't have any fraternities or sororities since it is a small private school.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are a lot of clubs and activities to choose from, and enough to keep anyone busy who wants to be involved!

    Great for these types of students

    anyone from traditional to non-traditional age students, those with or without families, transfer students, first-time students, commuter and residential, and graduate or undergraduate. very accepting of all religions as well.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the campus is actually owned by the sisters of st. francis and they have a lot of beautiful sanctuary areas around the school.

    Bang for the buck

    it's a little on the expensive side being a private school but it is a great atmosphere, wonderful education, interesting and free/fun experiences, and well worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    student activities (leap) offers a lot of fun and amazing opportunities for students and always for free! there is also a mall nearby, and plenty of clubs and such.

    Food and Dining

    with a new cafeteria, there is always a multitude of different delicious flavors made fresh every day by our food crew!

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are converted apartments a block away from campus and they have a lot of quality for the value! there's no place else that you will find dorms like these!

    Academic Rigor

    classes can be quite hard but not unbearable and most of the teachers are very helpful!

    Tips for prospective students

    help is always available, you just have to ask for it! make as many connections as you can, networking helps you at lourdes especially in more ways than you realize! and lastly, just make the most of your experience! lourdes offers many community service activities, as well as many social and intellectual activities that are free to students!

    In three sentences

    lourdes is a very friendly, accepting, and easy-going school that has staff and students that are always willing to lend a helping hand. it's main ideals are to create a community of learning, reverence, and service and they truly do so! lourdes university is a great place to be for traditional and non-traditional-age, commuter and residential, transfer or first-time, and undergraduate or graduate students.

  • 03/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Everything is always clean. There are security officers that walk around every once in a while to make sure everything is going how it is supposed to. There are also people that ride around on gators to watch for anything out of the ordinary.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many great clubs and activities. If there isn't a club, you can make one!

    Bang for the buck

    Lourdes is exceptionally affordable.

    What to do for fun

    There is so much to do for fun. There is Thursday game night, dodgeball days, wings and sings, concerts, comedians, hangout at the den, and so much more!

    Food and Dining

    The food is excellent. There is such a variety.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms but some of my friends do. The dorms are like living in apartments. You really get the feel of living away from your parents.

    Tips for prospective students

    Lourdes is awesome. It is a very friendly environment. If you can't find a class or building, don't ever be afraid to stop someone and ask.

    In three sentences

    Lourdes is a great school to go to. The professors are extremely helpful. The advisers work around your personal schedule to get your classes in.

  • 11/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Not worth at all the 7 grand a semester. I'm going to tranfer after the spring semester is over. I don't feel like I've learned anything at all.

    Am enjoying being here

    I've made a few friends here, lots of rich snobby kids though. You'll have that any where in life. Like I said above, the professors I've had so far are horrible.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors I have aren't very helpful. I'm in a reading strategy class for God knows what reason. I feel so behind in that class. My math teacher marks the entire answer wrong if you didn't solve it the way you wanted to solve it, even if you have the right answer and show all your work. My art professors, they don't like my art work. I want to get better at art, but how they are towards me, it makes me not even want to try to do any better.

  • 01/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    definetly not worth the 13g a year.

    Food and Dining

    food here is gross.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't go here. Look elsewhere.

    In three sentences

    one of the WORST places you could attend. professors are crude and very unhelpful.

  • 02/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    always see campus security walking around school and throughout the buildings

    Greek Life

    still in progress

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    you can join other catholic students for mass

    What to do for fun

    loads of new campus activities new sports teams clubs and organizations are growing and if you have an idea they are always open for suggestions

    Food and Dining

    new cafeteria!

    Dorm Life

    new bought out dorms, apartment style!

    Tips for prospective students

    get to know your advisors!

  • 03/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Lourdes has security on campus at all times.

    Greek Life

    I am not into the Greek life so I have not checked it out.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lourdes offers a different variety of clubs like the Biology club, Black Student Union, Art club, Latino club, and Future Educators just to name a few.

    Great for these types of students

    Lourdes would be great for anyone who is trying to get a higher education and at the same time think outside the box.

    Bang for the buck

    I think it is worth what I pay, because I am getting a great education.

    What to do for fun

    The staff keeps things on the calendar for the students from drake concerts to hookey games. so their are a lot of things to do like game nite.

    Food and Dining

    The new cafe is great, it is buffet stlye and the food is really good.

    Dorm Life

    I have not stayed in the dorms, but others students say it is great.

    Academic Rigor

    I think the work that is assigned is to help you learn the material that is need to be able to function in your field of study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use the tools that are provided to you and don't be afraid to ask questions because they are their to help you. Be sure to use the win center it is their for your use.

    In three sentences

    Lourdes university is a wonderful school, the instructors are great. The win center is a great place to get work done in between classes. The small classes are a plus, you are able to get one-on-one help.

  • 05/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel pretty safe on campus, and I take night classes most of the time.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    We are slowly getting more each year.

    Great for these types of students

    Any student, no one will feel out of place here.

    Bang for the buck

    It is pretty expensive, but keep in mind it is a private school with small class sizes.

    What to do for fun

    As mentioned earlier the school is primarily non traditional students, but there are fun family friendly activities throughout the school year. There is a beautiful theatre on campus, and student pretty much go free to events held in it.

    Food and Dining

    There is a nice buffet style dining area, and several places to eat near campus.

    Dorm Life

    They just recently built dorms, and I am no longer a freshman so I have no idea what it is like.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of all the resources the school offers.

    In three sentences

    Small cozy University, with beautiful scenery. Great learning atmosphere because there are very few distractions, this is primarily a school for nontraditional students. Helpful staff.

  • 05/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. There is usually a security officer doing rounds throughout the day and the people are just friendly here.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs are very active at Lourdes and they are always promoting their clubs. The activities are also very fun and allow students to interact with one and another.

    What to do for fun

    Lourdes provides a lot of fun activities for students and takes them on trips to baseball or basketball games. They also host a lot of events at the University.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great. They just opened a new dining hall in 2011 and it is remarkable.

    Dorm Life

    I love the dorm life. We have apartment style dorms with two bedrooms, a kitchen, a living room and a bathroom. It's a nice lifestyle to have in college.

    Academic Rigor

    They have a tough grading scale but they give students so many resources to achieve the grades that you want. They provide free tutoring and the teachers are easy and willing to work with you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Lourdes is a very welcoming community and allows opportunities for students to prosper and excel in their classes.

    In three sentences

    Being so far away from home, Lourdes had provided a safe and comfortable lifestyle for me. The classes and teachers are great also. I call this University my home because I love it so much.

  • 06/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Cops offer to walk you out to your car if it's dark outside

    Clubs and Activities

    Intramurals, art clubs, many activities put on by student organizations, bible studies, and much more!

    Great for these types of students

    Free spirited, hard working

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One of the unusual traditions I've noticed is having karaoke night once a semester to unwind and get to know other students.

    What to do for fun

    They have a planetarium inside the college which is absolutely beautiful. They also put on many different activities from intramurals to karaoke.

    Food and Dining

    I have yet to be to the cafeteria but, the little food carryout they have here is wonderful and full of healthy foods

    Tips for prospective students

    Use all the resources the college has to offer

    In three sentences

    I love the environment here at Lourdes. Everyone, professors and students, are very friendly. Lourdes has been a place that makes learning more enjoyable.

  • 08/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    24 hour security.

    Greek Life

    I'm sure they have something but I'm not into the senorties.

    Clubs and Activities

    They offer every club that any other university offers including all sports.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are from a small town and close family this university is perfect>

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have Den and we plan trips and have bible studies

    What to do for fun

    Many many activities on campus to many to name

    Food and Dining

    They have a chef that cooks all our food in the dining hall.

    Dorm Life

    Apartment complex equipped with furniture and appliances.

    Tips for prospective students

    apply early and they offer all the help you need to get finalized and moved in.

    In three sentences

    Lourdes is a wonderful school. Its small and a beautiful. I love the fact that I get to live in an apartment not a dorm.

  • 08/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Lots

    Food and Dining

    great food and dining very clean and organized.

    Dorm Life

    From what I heard and seen the dorm life is just as great as the college.

    Academic Rigor

    Perfect place to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend that people look into registering at Lourdes it is a great college to attend.

    In three sentences

    I love how easy it was to enroll at Lourdes. My academic adviser was very helpful and nice. The classes are small to where I can get the help I need from my instructors.

  • 08/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is small and the security is always walking around. The school feels completely safe even at night.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so man clubs and activities that one can join on campus!

    Great for these types of students

    It's great for students who do not want to attend a large school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is designed more to look like a park, it is full of Catholic beauty as you venture through buildings and halls.

    Bang for the buck

    Lourdes is definitely worth it!

    What to do for fun

    One great thing about Lourdes is how much they do just for fun. All around campus you will see flyers about school activities. Student Organizations put on and attend events such as: Spa days, Concerts, Professional games, and a bunch more!

    Food and Dining

    I have only had the buffet a couple times, but they have home cooked meals everyday. Something different every night. It's always healthy and delicious, it beats heading into town to hit a drive-thru.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms, however I hear that is a lot of fun. Friends of mine living in the dorm really recommend it for when I become enrolled as a full time student at the college.

    Academic Rigor

    Although I'm just starting and have yet to be in some harder classes, some of the classes I have taken just haven't seemed that hard. You may learn a lot, but the work load and stress is very low. I have yet to figure out if it is a good thing or not.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would definitely recommend Lourdes University for upcoming students, especially Post Secondary Students. Coming into college years early I was very nervous, but Lourdes gave me a secure feeling as I attended college.

    In three sentences

    Lourdes University is an awesome school that keeps the small town feel with its park like settings, small class sizes, and friendly staff and students. There are a ton of free services such as: career help, tutoring, and help and review for your papers. The staff there is dedicated to helping each student, and the teachers want to hear from you.

  • 09/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I was weary about spending so much in my first 4 years, but I am more than happy with my decision.

    What to do for fun

    There are many free activities every weekend and other events such as Detriot Lions and Tigers games, go karts, and other activities that the school buses you to and from for free.

    Food and Dining

    They offer all you can eat homemade breakfast, lunch, and dinner along with a cafe that offers Starbucks coffee at half the price it normally costs you.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus, but I have seen the dorms and they are actually fully furnished apartments with TONS of space.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are very important here. It is for students who want to learn and have a drive.

    Tips for prospective students

    This university should be at the top of your list if they offer your major. However, just because it says university please double check that they have a program for what you want.

    In three sentences

    Lourdes University is a private school, but it is so worth the price. The amount of extra perks that they offer as part of tuition is so helpful. This school is small at about 2,700 students right now, but it has a normal campus feel.

  • 09/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Lourdes University is full of college enjoyment. They arrange study parties, varies activities, social functions and tons educational awareness conventions.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Always be considerate of class time as it is very valuable. 2. Do not be afraid to socialize, you never know who you may meet. 3. Interact with your professors as much as possible. 4. Always remember at Lourdes University you must work hard to play hard.

    In three sentences

    Lourdes University is has an exceptionally caring environment. They work very hard to help you pay for your education with no problem. Lourdes University makes sure that religion is a major part of your education experience. Lourdes University does not set you up for failure, they prepare you for life and its hardships by providing varies programs that offer around the clock support.

  • 09/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's the University of Toledo 7 miles away, Toledo Mud Hens games, Detroit Tigers games, Detroit Lions games, Detroit Pistons games or if you're really up to it you can drive about 40 minutes to Cedar Point in Sandusky, Ohio.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall always has fresh food that is prepared that day. You can either buy snacks from the cafe or eat at the buffet in the dining hall.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are apartment style living. One bedroom for freshman and sophomores. 2 bedroom style living for juniors and seniors. You can also request a single room living style as a junior or senior.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are simple and somewhat affordable, graduate programs are free for alumni and help is provided for classes in the easiest way.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard and take advantage of all the academic help that is provided here.

    In three sentences

    Lourdes is a place to go if you want to be able to connect with your teachers because there's not more than 25-32 students to a class. A place where you can get your big classes out of the way before experiencing the big university life. It is a NAIA school and has many sports, the tuition is about 28,000 a year.

  • 10/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe on campus. I walk to and from class everyday and have never felt threaten. Lourdes also provides shuttle services to keep students safe.

    Greek Life

    Lourdes does not offer Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lourdes is just starting to grow and expand. There are not as many clubs as larger schools. The activities are fun when I attend.

    Great for these types of students

    I think that Lourdes is great for any type of student. There is someone here for anyone. Each person would fit in somewhere.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On campus there are many unique items. There is the Grotto, which was built by young nuns. There is also hand made tiles that were made by the nuns as well.

    Bang for the buck

    I really enjoy Lourdes University. I feel like the small class size is worth the cost. The only thing not worth the money would have to be the meal plan.

    What to do for fun

    I like to go to student events for fun. I also enjoy the exercising trials near the housing. Since we live in the city, there are always things to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good for a while. After a while it gets repetitive. It is also very expensive.

    Dorm Life

    The housing is awesome. I love having my own kitchen and bathroom! The only down side is the amount of hot water, which is not much.

    Academic Rigor

    Lourdes University classes are tough, but the professors are willing to help. There is always help when needed. There are many tutors available.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should try to get at least a 3.5 in high school to get the best scholarship. They should take the time to tour campus and see what is offered. Prospective students should not be afraid to ask questions.

    In three sentences

    Lourdes is a university that cares about each person. Students are not just a number to the faculty and staff. I feel at home.

  • 01/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. There is security around the campus and housing. I am aware of my surrounds and never feel unsafe here.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lourdes has numerous activities that occur all year long. They also have many clubs that I suggest joining. It is very easy to gt involved here.

    Bang for the buck

    Lourdes University isn't an inexpensive school but it is definitely worth it. You get a great education, new life long friendships, new experiences, and the atmosphere here is amazing. Everyone cares about you and will do anything to help you including the faculty.

    What to do for fun

    Lourdes University may be a smaller college but there are still parties. The majority of students go to the basketball and volleyball games. Since it is located near a bigger city there is much to do in the area. Also there are other larger colleges that are very near too that many people go to on the weekends.

    Food and Dining

    I have the meal plan since I live on campus. There is always a variety of food and there is always a salad bar available. However, it is always nice to go home for a home cooked meal.

    Dorm Life

    I live 25 minutes away from campus but my parents thought it would be a good idea for me to have the college experience and live on campus. At first I was unsure but it was the best idea. I love living on campus and have met so many new friends. Also it has given me freedom and responsibility but if I ever need Mom and Dad they are only a phone call away.

    Academic Rigor

    I came well prepared for college from the high school I attended. I am competing for a spot in the nursing program which is very competitive but I can always get my work done and if I need help so many people are willing to help including the professors themselves. However, it is necessary to put work into your studies to earn the results you expect.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go in to college with an open mind that way when something unexpected occurs you can be flexible. Also living on campus is a great opportunity I suggest taking advantage of. It allows you to make new friends, and have the college experience of living on your own, but remember Mom and Dad are only a phone call away.

    In three sentences

    Lourdes University was a great choice for me. It is a small college where the professors know you and they want you to succeed. It has a great atmosphere for learning along with meeting new friends.

  • 01/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    boxing art music hangout with friends et

    Food and Dining

    The food is really good. But it is expensive.

    Dorm Life

    the only have a few dorms. Not a big school. So not much fun dorm activities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet with financial aid office before choosing to attend.

    In three sentences

    It is wonderful school. They are nice and want you to do well. However, it costs way to much.

  • 03/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They have a lot of programs that you can do for fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good it is just expensive.

    Dorm Life

    It is fair, just to many rules to abide by because it is a catholic school.

    Academic Rigor

    Keep your g.p.a. above a 2.0 to stay out of academic probation.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always do your homework and study. If help is needed there are willing people that wants to help you out.

    In three sentences

    Lourdes is very helpful in whatever you need help in. The atmosphere is very peacful. A lot of programs for you to particiapate in.

  • 07/13/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    22 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food and the dining area is amazing

    Dorm Life

    I love the housing, the room is very spacious, and really feel like home

    Academic Rigor

    I believe it is really good and they have a lot of teachers and tutors to help you with whatever you are majoring in

  • 07/15/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    23 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They have several sports programs to follow. They have clubs to join. They have a Commons where people can go and socialize.

    Food and Dining

    Multiple Dining options available.

    Dorm Life

    New dorms were just built.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come prepared to walk the grounds. Don't forget the Gift Shop. The Chapel worth the effort to see.

    In three sentences

    I have gone on a Campus Tour and found the Campus to be clean, appealing, and inspirational. The artwork is awe inspiring. The Staff was knowledgeable, welcoming and pleasant, I would give it a 9.5 out of 10.

  • 07/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always see security patrolling. Also, the Sylvania police department is only about 3 minutes from the school and from the dorm rooms.

    Greek Life

    No Greek life...yet!

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are unsure of the large campus style college and want more teacher interaction and more student interaction.

    Bang for the buck

    A bit pricey but not as much as other private schools that I looked at. Scholarships are offered through the school.

    What to do for fun

    There is an organization called Leep that offers students to get out of the dorms and explore what there is to do in Toledo. Mud-hens games, concerts, and other trips are offered with school transportation. Lourdes also has grown in the athletic teams that they have. At least once or twice a week students can attend a game either on campus or off.

    Food and Dining

    The new cafeteria is awesome! A variety of different dishes are offered and a wide variety of drink choices are also offered.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live in the dorms but they are new to the school. Before the Spring of 2012 Lourdes did not have any housing for students. Now they have renovated old apartments and students are able to live in apartment style dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Most majors are able to be pursued. The only problem I have had is trying to get enough students into the class in order for it to be taught.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like and want a small college this is the one. With a Catholic background surrounding the school students and faculty take pride in showing what they believe in. There are a lot of organizations to become involved with and a community to support you when you do end up graduating.

    In three sentences

    It is a great transition school from high school to college. The class sizes are small and the teacher interaction is great with a lot of one on one contact. It is a growing school and growing community ready and willing to make a change in this area.

  • 12/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are always on duty and never too far away

    Greek Life

    No true Greek life but there is a business fraternity

    Great for these types of students

    Business and nursing students. Students who are concentrated on graduating and know how to prioritize

    What to do for fun

    Tons of student activities, the school is very supportive of sports. The mall is down the street and there is tons of things close to campus to do.

    Food and Dining

    Its the best cafeteria food I have had amongst the school cafe's I have been to

    Dorm Life

    You're not going to do any and everything you want but there is some room to breathe

    Academic Rigor

    But there is tons of help available, don't take that for granted.

    Tips for prospective students

    Become well known by your professors in a positive way. Attend the LEAP events. Come here to go to school and not to party, they're trying to build something great here.

    In three sentences

    It is a very small but beautiful campus. There is a lot of help from staff resources available. They care about you.

  • 01/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty of clubs to join based on interest or major.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for both traditional and non-traditional students.

    Food and Dining

    Love the buffet style! it's delicious!

    Dorm Life

    Apartments instead of dorms. Definitely more worth your money!

    Academic Rigor

    Great place to learn. helpful instructors.

    In three sentences

    Friendly students and staff. Beautiful campus. Small in a good way.

  • 01/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe and I have never heard of any disruption from the year I have attended.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a good amount of clubs on campus. I participate and am the President of the Social Science Club which cooperates with psychology, sociology, social work, and criminal justice students but has an open membership for anyone in any major.

    Great for these types of students

    All students are welcomed as there is a vide variety of traditional and non-traditional students, including a large amount of commuter students. The school is also very diverse as people from all walks and race come to gather for a common purpose, get their education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is apparently one day out of the year where they dig up the founders grave, who was a nun, so that people can visit and pray. The cemetery is located on the far side of campus but normally students don't venture over there.

    Bang for the buck

    Compared to my previous private college experience, Lourdes was able to work with me and get me the biggest BANG for my buck. All I had to do was contact my financial advisor who set down with me and in a snap she was not only able to find loans for me, but also other scholarships that would help me pay for school. Plus Lourdes has one of the lowest private tuition rates in Ohio, which shows that you can get a great private education without all of the extraordinary cost.

    What to do for fun

    I live off campus but still find time for fun as friends and I would often kill time between classes by going to the Ebeid basement and playing a round of pool or Ping-Pong.

    Food and Dining

    The food is delicious! Lourdes offers two forms of eating options which include the grab-and-go and the actual cafeteria. The grab -and-go has a wide variety of premade lunches/dinners, including personal pan pizzas and bosco sticks made fresh every few minutes. The grab-and-go is my go to between breaks as it supplies fresh and easy options such as fruit and yogurt parfaits, vegetable bowls, salads, sandwiches, wraps, and my favorite, hummus. The cafeteria on the other hand is just a few steps away and offers an all-you-can-eat option for those that prefer to gain their freshman fifteen that way. This option is also very delicious and the cafeteria emails the students every day informing of the different options of the day.

    Academic Rigor

    From what I have experienced at Lourdes, all of my courses have been able to challenge me to think outside the box. At most institutions, teachers can merely teach to teach. Yet at Lourdes my instructors push the question of so what? This concept as reflected in all of my classes shows the application that is necessary once we all graduate.

    Tips for prospective students

    Lourdes is the perfect place for you! With an abundance of major options and one of the lowest tuition rates in Ohio, this school stacks up with major colleges. I was a dense transfer student from a higher up liberal private college and felt completely at home once I transferred. Lourdes accepted all of my transcripts and their academic program shared the same standards from my previous college, without the same price.

    In three sentences

    This school is excellent! The staff are top notch as they help in nearly every way possible to see their students succeed. At Lourdes, anyone can fit in with a wide array of ethnicities and age groups on campus which makes the experience altogether better!

  • 01/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety are around the dorms and campus all the time. Also they are just a phone call away.

    Clubs and Activities

    Student Government LINK Active Minds

    What to do for fun

    Lourdes has many sports teams. Lacrosse to basketball. Lourdes also has a gym on campus as well as a fitness center. At the dorms there is a building next door with the Lourdes Den, which has television, pingpong and pool.

    Food and Dining

    The Grille at Lourdes University has some of the tastiest food I have ever had. From your basic hamburger and fries to steak and potatoes. The food there is excellent and worth the meal plan.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at Lourdes University are amazing. They literally are apartments. You have a full kitchen, bathroom, and living room to yourself and your roommates. The dorms have air conditioning and heat. They are one of the best dorms I have seen.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the classes at Lourdes University are difficult but as long as you put the effort into studying and doing your homework the classes are easy to pass.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask for help. Students always think that if they ask for help it looks bad. No. At Lourdes University that's not the case. I was a 4.0 student in high school and I go to our Academic Support Center almost every day to get help. It makes you a better student. Trust me.

    In three sentences

    Lourdes University is one of the best colleges in my opinion. The faculty there actually care about you and your future. I feel like at Lourdes all the students and faculty are one giant family.

  • 01/19/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 34

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    It is a Wonderful campus!!! 10 in helpfulness from any and everyone!!!!

  • 01/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always around and they make it safe.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    As a somewhat private/catholic school, mass is offered at our school and so much community service. Events to better the community and broaden your knowledge and experience are offered all the time.

    Bang for the buck

    Scholarships, lots and lots of scholarships can really help. Apply for everything you can because tuition and books and other necessities can be expense and all the help you can get would make everything a lot easier.

    What to do for fun

    There are clubs for everything. Whatever you enjoy most, get involved, stay active, and have fun. So many trips and events are planned and it is the absolute best.

    Food and Dining

    Dorm life gives the opportunity to stock up on foods of your choice. However, cafeteria food is way better than high school cafeteria food. There are more choices and home cooked meals offered in school. Also freshly made foods are presented to you for your liking.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life can be exciting! It exerts independence and growth within someone's life. Living in the dorms can be trying also with roommates. Make sure that you have a roommate that you can imagine living with, get to know them, and choose wisely. Make sure you get along and respect one another or it won't work.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic can be a tough force with little to no effort being applied to the courses. However, by giving it your all, you can get through it with the focus and drive needed. Also asking for help can be a total life saver for when the material is hard to understand.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make the most of your experience at whatever college you choose. Lourdes is a college with so much adventure and opportunity that you just can't waste. I encourage you to get involved, get active, and have fun. Also study and ask for the help you need because the staff is very understanding to your needs, Classes are made up of small amounts and it's easy for the individual help that instructors are willing to give. College can be a great or hard experience, it's up to you and how bad you want it.

    In three sentences

    Lourdes is a small campus with great opportunities. Lourdes is about education, family, and community. Lourdes is a great place to be because of the atmosphere and the people.

  • 01/22/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Plethora of clubs to join. It is also very easy to start your own club.

    Bang for the buck

    Although it is a private christian school, the staff does not force you to practice their beliefs. A theology course is mandatory because it is private school, but they do offer courses in oriental religions. We are also making plans for a new athletic complex.

    What to do for fun

    There are activities planned every weekend. Last few years we have rented a bus to take a trip to Chicago where students can disperse and do what they want. Sit at a coffee shop the whole day or go on a shopping spree. You can get a stamp for every event you attend and at the end of the semester there is a party where you can win prizes. The more events you go to the better prizes you are eligible for.

    Food and Dining

    Food has mixed reaction. I personally like the food. It is buffet style dining. Always fresh baked pizza you can see being made. There is always vegetarian options and meals are not repeated that frequently so there is new meals to try. It is always a pleasure making my way to the soft-serve ice cream machine.

    Dorm Life

    Residence style dorms. Each one comes furnished with stove, refrigerator, bed, couchs, dining table. Very comfortable living. Definitely a lot more than a room with beds. There is a shuttle from the residence halls to the school, but you can also walk. They are about five blocks away from each other.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers want you to succeed, so the classes are not easy. Nor are they impossible, the teachers want to challenge you to perform at higher level. It is a rewarding experiencing in the end.

    Tips for prospective students

    Nobody laughs at you because you ask for help, so do not be afraid to ask wherever you decide to go. At Lourdes everyone is welcoming and it is very easy to meet new people through the various events that are planned for the students by other students.

    In three sentences

    Lourdes has a very helpful and friendly who always have time to help students get to where they need to be. Small class sizes allows the teachers to keep track of their students and they even get to know you by name. Lourdes has a beautiful campus from the art hanging on every wall indoor to the wooded acres where students can walk on trails.

  • 01/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I believe Lourdes Campus is the safest campus around. It is located in a good, small, upscale town. It is kind of tucked out of the way in a residential area.

    Greek Life

    Lourdes does not have the typical Greek Life...which can be a good thing if that is not your scene. Lourdes does have academic greeks which is great to become part of.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a variety of clubs and activities on campus and plenty of fun things to get involved with. Lourdes seems to do a lot of service work which always looks good on a resume.

    Great for these types of students

    Lourdes is actually great for any type of student...traditional, non-traditional, working...etc. The class schedules are flexible and convenient.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Just take a walk around the whole campus you will probably see some unique things.

    Bang for the buck

    Obviously, Lourdes is not a cheap school to attend. But the one on one attention from professors and the peaceful, small campus is well worth it. Plus there are no extra parking fees since there is plenty of close parking for every body! Being located in Sylvania, Ohio is also a plus because there is a low crime rate and you don't have to be too worried about getting robbed.

    What to do for fun

    Lourdes is a good school for someone who is either trying to get into the social/party scene and also for the student who wants to avoid it. Lourdes is still close to other colleges like Toledo and BGSU and there are many close bars. But Lourdes is secluded in Sylvania, Ohio so someone who might not want to party every night is not bothered by it. It may not always seem like there is much to do in Toledo but Lourdes has events and groups that student can get involved in and there is something to do every week.

    Food and Dining

    I love the food at Lourdes Campus. It is not like other colleges where they have KFC or Taco Bell. There is Starbucks but the dining hall has really good food that is made at Lourdes. There is a wide variety and the price can't be beat.

    Dorm Life

    I cannot say much about the dorm life since I do not live in the dorms. Although, I have heard very good things. The dorms use to be actual apartments so it is more like apartment living rather than a normal dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at Lourdes are great! There are plenty of choices of majors. I have enjoyed every call I have taken at Lourdes so far...even Math...and I never use to be good at math. All of the professors and very helpful and personable. The small class sizes help you get to know other students and receive better help from the professor.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking to attend a school in the Toledo, Ohio area don't forget about Lourdes. Some people over look it because of the fact that is a Private Catholic school. Don't let that aspect keep you from attending Lourdes.

    In three sentences

    Lourdes has a very pretty campus. Lourdes is a small college with a small campus. You can make friends at Lourdes.

  • 01/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have a 24/7 campus security. They patrol the residential campus 24/7 and have their own number you can call if you have a problem. They are well trained professionals.

    Greek Life

    Unfortunately, we do not have greek life at Lourdes university.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have a lot of student activities on campus that individuals can get involved in. Any group on campus is welcoming to those that will serve others. You can even create your own group if you would like!

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are focused, love to be recognized by name, and live to serve others will excel at Lourdes University.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We are a Catholic-based institution and we encourage students to always express their faith. The Sisters of St. Francis do walk around campus! The Sisters live behind the university so you will see them time to time. They love to feed the students!

    Bang for the buck

    Lourdes University provides any student with everything they need. The individualized attention is great for those who need direction when dealing with educational studies. The faculty does care about you here! They will help!

    What to do for fun

    Lourdes is in the heart of Sylvania, Ohio which is surrounded by shops, malls, superstores, and activity sites. The city life can accommodate to anyone. You do not have to travel more than ten minutes to get where you need to be. Also, Lourdes provides groups such as LEAP (Lourdes Events and Activities Planning), Campus Ministry, Resident Assistant programs, and many more.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall at Lourdes University is exceptional. They always provide a wide range of foods and they are served to protection. We have a salad bar, grille, home-cooked meals, cusine foods, pizza of the day choices fresh out of the wood burner, and a dessert bar.

    Dorm Life

    Lourdes University provides residential students with apartment style living. You have your own bathroom, living room, kitchen, and a shared sleeping space. The apartments are two minutes away from main campus if you are driving which is very convenient.

    Academic Rigor

    Lourdes University is difficult. However, if you contribute to your studies and you put all of your effort into your education, then you will succeed. Even the courses that do not pertain to your major are difficult. Every class should be taken seriously. You are paying for these classes and if you fail them then you have to pay for them.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips for prospective students are to make sure that your studies come first. There is nothing more important than your future and the best thing you can do for yourself is to settle into college with the mindset that your studies are like your job. Without your studies, then you will not succeed.

    In three sentences

    Lourdes University is for sure a ten on a scale of ten being the best and one being poor. Lourdes University goes above and beyond with the academics that they provide for every student. I love my time here at Lourdes and I will share this with others.

  • 01/29/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Wants to be close to home Like a community style and friendly atmosphere Like small classes that provide one on one attention Like free tutoring

    What to do for fun

    Attend L.E.A.P events Play pool at the den, or watch movies in the den, and/or dance on the game system

    Food and Dining

    The food is great. Every Friday, Lourdes have an ice cream bar that consists of putting the toppings out so that students can make their ice cream more tasty. At the Caf�© I like the choice of writing down what we would want to eat.

    Dorm Life

    What's so cool about the dorm life is that there are no dorms. The students own an apartment with a roommate(s).

    Academic Rigor

    I feel as the academic rigor at Lourdes is serious and motivating. Students at Lourdes have no choice, but to push themselves beyond their individual limits in order to get better at something; to describe, everyone around each other has a goal in life, so with that being said, the seriousness of the professor and peers motivate others to be serious and focused.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be yourself because we're taught not to be ourselves and self love along with God's love is the best love. Another tip is to be open minded; learn and understand why individuals do what they do. As well as gaining confidence and learning about fresh ideas. You can't go wrong with being confident; a lack of confidence can lead to negativity, depression, fear, poor body image, eating disorders, alcohol and drug abuse, jealousy, defensiveness, procrastination, anxiety, violence. Be a voice for the voiceless and yourself Be hungry to succeed Learn how to manage your time and balance academics and activities To add, observe your surroundings and peers Most importantly, hang around people who share common interest and goals so that you are always motivated to not be lazy Network Get involved

    In three sentences

    Lourdes University is a peaceful and friendly atmosphere with great staff. Discover a new U and Lourdes guarantee small class room sizes so students are not recognized as a number. Most importantly, here at Lourdes is rooted in the Franciscan tradition- a community of learning, a community of reverence, and a community of service.