Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Lower Columbia College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/16/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    LOCALS. If you live in Cowlitz County, Washington, or just across the river in Oregon, LCC is great because it is at a convenient location close to home. MONEYSAVERS. If you are looking to save money in the long run, going to our local community college is a good plan. SOCIAL STUDENTS. No matter how old you are you will probably be able to make friends here. There are students of all ages and nationalities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Many classes have in class or distance ed options! There are a lot of vocational classes (such as automechanics) in addition to academic classes. LCC has one of the best nursing programs in the state.

    Bang for the buck

    It has been costing me about $1100 per quarter, give or take. That is a much better deal than university tuition, and if you take the right classes they will transfer to a university anyway.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love meeting people from all walks of life. LCC is the hub where they all come together. LCC hired me to tutor in four subjects, and it is the most fulfilling job I have ever had! Helping people=grand.

    Am learning a lot

    LCC offers most of the classes required for my transfer, all but one. I am a self-motivated learner and LCC offers math lab courses and self-paced learning options that allow me to work at my own pace, which is very helpful for me. On one hand, I take math a little bit slower just to make sure I'm getting it, and on the other hand I zoom like a racecar through Spanish.

  • 07/08/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    LCC is a great campus for local Cowlitz county, Clark County, and Columbia county students, because its close to home and a great community college with lots to offer.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are thinking about becoming a red devil/ LCC student you should come into the admissions center and talk to one of the many wonderful advisors, because they can help you determine what classes you will need to take for your major and other useful things. Also in the admissions center you can take the compass test which helps determine what level of math, science, and english classes you should start off with.

    Bang for the buck

    I am a full time student which mean on average I take about 15 credits a quarter, and for 15 credits my tuition is about $1,200 a quarter. This is a pretty good deal since that includes my books too which can be purchased used at the bookstore or online. Also your tuition covers the use of the school library, learning center, computer labs, and the gym.

    Am enjoying being here

    LCC is a very fun community college to go to, because there are always fun things going on around campus. There are many different clubs you can join which allows you to connect with other students. I am part of Multicultural club, which is a club that tries to promote diversity around the campus and our community. Many clubs host events around campus, so you can always find something to do in between classes or during your free time.

    Am learning a lot

    Lower Columbia College (LCC) offers great classes that are required to get into the nursing program. They also offer the classes in a variety of ways so that all types of students can take them. For example they have online classes, night classes, early morning classes, etc. Another great thing is they have the learning center which is pretty much like a tutoring center. So, if you need help with any of your classes you can come in and a specialized tutor will help you with your problems. They can also help you learn how to study for big finals or tests which can come in handy.

  • 01/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Small and safe.

    Greek Life

    None. This is a community college.

    Bang for the buck

    Like I said, The Running Start program is a great deal! Tuition is reasonable and fees are pretty low. Probably why people choose to stay in our town and go to school.

    What to do for fun

    Walk The Lake (Sacajawea that is), go to one of the rivers, or the mountains, see a movie or hang out with friends.

    Food and Dining

    Good cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms. This is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    There is a level for everyone.

    Tips for prospective students

    Leave the high school drama and work ethics behind. Time to grow up and become part of the adult world.

    In three sentences

    Great school. Great instructors. The Running Start program is a great deal!

  • 03/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very visible security team.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons of clubs and student activities. More than I have time for!

    Great for these types of students

    Non-traditional (older students).

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    For a small college in the middle of town--it's pretty, and welcoming. There is a huge online catalog and I've had great experiences with online courses. There are a lot of older students and many students from the 12 Step community.

    Bang for the buck

    I'm going to a junior college to save money. I feel like I'm getting a good value for my money. However the school is not ranked super high, so I am compromising somewhat. I figure I'll make up for that with my next steps in schools.

    What to do for fun

    LCC is close to shops, theaters, and recreational outlets.

    Food and Dining

    Lots of food choices close by, the cafeteria is pretty good, but kind of spendy for the average student. The espresso stand is great!

    Dorm Life

    no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent coursework and very challenging--particularly the humanities courses and general liberal arts studies.

    Tips for prospective students

    Find a student who is experienced at LCC and buddy up. I have learned more about how to negotiate the Financial Aid world from other students than from anyone else.

    In three sentences

    The quality of coursework is very demanding for a junior college and challenging. The instructors are excellent and very progressive. However some of the systems in place are a bit daunting for college students. But to their credit the school is working hard to improve.

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and activities that go on, so it's not hard to find something to do that might interest you.

    Food and Dining

    They have good food at fair prices, but on campus there is only one place to choose from unless you want a vending machine. But the choices are fairly good.

    Dorm Life

    This is a one because there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It's easy to get things done, but only if you are on task. Three isn't much push for personal improvement.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know what you want to do when you get here. Often it is hard to get help unless you know exactly what you need or unless you have a teacher you can speak with about the matter.

    In three sentences

    Lower columbia college is a nice transition school. It helps you get to where you need to go, and the faculty are very helpful. Overall, this school is adequate.

  • 06/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is all around, they aren't as strict on smoking laws as I wish they were but they have retrieved several of my lost goods so I appreciate the security.

    Clubs and Activities

    The school has so many clubs available. I constantly see the fencing club in hallways or outside practicing their jabs; I hope to get involved next year. As for the rest, I have already gone into detail about the clubs and activities at the What I Do For Fun section.

    Great for these types of students

    Students wanting to get started in College. Students not knowing where to start. Students not knowing where to focus their career. Students that like getting really involved or stay out of the picture. Honestly, I would recommend this school to anyone. Their gym could use some sprucing up and so could their food supply but other than that it is a really good College!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There aren't really any unusual traditions or locations on campus, I have only attended one college so I'd have to ask what one means by unusual traditions or locations. I spent most of my time in the library, I wouldn't say that is an unusual location though.

    Bang for the buck

    The Clark Community College I heard is cheaper but I believe LCC has them beat. The only place I believe Clark would have them beat is the Gym and Cafeteria; however, I have not been to any other Colleges so it is hard for me to give a solid recommendation.

    What to do for fun

    What I did for fun on campus was got involved in programs and activities. The school had several choir and dance shows, which are always fun to watch. The school also set up activities outside in the sun i.e. The Hawaiian Luau and The Red Devil Days. The program I had gotten involved in near the end of 2012 was the LCC Insanity Challenge. Lower Columbia hosted the Insanity challenge by Beachbody every Monday-Friday 12-1Pm and 5-6Pm; I attended the 5-6Pm. I had previously finished P90X and was looking for even more so this program was right up my alley and I enjoyed it all the way to the end!

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining; there is a cafeteria in the student center. That is where most people get their food and eat, others go off campus to one of the many fast food places. I have a pretty strict diet so I just bring my own lunch, the school has microwaves set up in the library and student center, which I found very useful for my food. The prices are a bit high on the food as well so I wouldn't recommend eating the schools food, unless willing to spend a little extra cash.

    Dorm Life

    There were no dorms, that I was aware of. So I suppose it would be a one star?

    Academic Rigor

    I believe all the resources and materials were present in order to higher my education.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend buying text books early, before the quarter, and becoming familiar with the book beforehand. Prospective students should ask around about which teachers they should take; students who have taken a teacher they felt hindered their learning will surely warn you. Don't be afraid to use the instructors in the library, who cares what it makes a person look like. The instructors are placed there to help educate, and it would be wise to take full advantage of that if ever stumbling on a problem or essay. Ask the reference librarians for help on understanding library databases, these things are very helpful for research of any kind. Lastly, get involved! There are tons of clubs that can be participated in and tons of new people to be acquainted with!

    In three sentences

    The school is a very optimistic place. Within the school are many opportunities. I enjoy attending this school because of all the resources available to me as a student.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is no bullying or anything that I know of at LCC.

    Clubs and Activities

    LCC has a great baseball program and also a very good debate team.

    Great for these types of students

    It's a great school for transfer students. It will get you used to college courses without completely overwhelming you.

    Bang for the buck

    It's really just a great school. The people are all friendly and it has a relaxed atmosphere for the most part.

    What to do for fun

    I would definetly sign up for a sport or club. They have a great baseball program there. In fact, Derrick Salberg made a game winning catch for LCC that ended up on ESPN!

    Food and Dining

    The caferteria makes excellent food and the prices are very affordable. They even have a little coffee shop inside!

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately because it is a smaller community college there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes I have taken so far have ranged from easy to intriguingly difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest to always remember deadlines because they tend to be very strict on them, and of course be on time to your classes and appointments.

    In three sentences

    Lower Columbia College is a small community college. The teachers and students are all very friendly and they offer a large variety of courses. I would give Lower Columbia College a rating of three out of four stars.

  • 08/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Employees drive golf carts around everywhere. I feel very safe here.

    What to do for fun

    They have different activities fairly often. Plays, art exhibits, poetry readings.

    Food and Dining

    I wish the cafeteria had a larger variety of choices.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers here give a lot of work!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get everything turned in as early as possible to register. Classes fill up fast.

    In three sentences

    I have had a good experience here so far. There have been some very helpful people here. There have also been some people who are student workers that potentially need more training.

  • 11/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria, its not the worst but not the greatest. Other options for dining are nearby though.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Pay atttention, participation and attendance is graded with 98% of the teachers so go to class, get there around 7 if you want a really good parking spot or take evening classes.

    In three sentences

    Classes at Lower Columbia College are small and most of the teachers are very friendly and willing to do whatever they can. the environment is friendly and comfortable. the parking however is extremely limited.

  • 12/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It seems like a very safe college.

    Clubs and Activities

    Open for clubs, they have several. I've not engaged in any yet.

    Great for these types of students

    Nursing, mechanics, english, & math, good starter school.

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot to do. I'm just studying at this time.

    Food and Dining

    OK, I guess!

    Dorm Life

    Don't live in dorm. one star

    Academic Rigor

    So fair it seems fast pace, at least two hours of homework for every one hour class time. Three Stars.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enjoy what you can learn, it will help you learn.

    In three sentences

    Lower Columbia College seems to let you know your options in study. It seems to be a good college just started there. Everything is easy to find.

  • 06/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    See the plays, bands, choirs play in the auditorium. Join clubs if they have what you're looking for.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria has only a small amount of choices but the campus is across the street from stores and restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are usually in the 100-200 range because it is usually a transfer college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard and often and it will pay off.

    In three sentences

    Very small classes which helps you learn more than in a large classroom. The classes are taught well and the instructors are very helpful. Only bad thing is there is not very many clubs/activities.

  • 09/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    GREAT!

    Greek Life

    Not much, other than Phi Theta Kappa.

    Clubs and Activities

    LOTS OF CLUBS!

    Great for these types of students

    EVERYONE!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Squirrels are everywhere! We nearly worship them hear. Although adorable, they can also be scary. If you ever hear any weird noises coming from the trees or garbage cans, don't freak out! It's definitely a squirrel.

    Bang for the buck

    I have learned so much in my two years at LCC. Definitely worth the money, and a LOT less than a University. I saved a ton of money from earning my associates at a community college first!

    What to do for fun

    There are so many clubs and activities around. Join in on the fun! You'll meet great people and share wonderful experiences!

    Food and Dining

    There are tons of restaurants around campus, but after being in college you quickly realize that food is EXPENSIVE. The cafeteria is full of great, affordable food, with sales tax included in the price!

    Dorm Life

    Sadly, we don't have any dorms. :(

    Academic Rigor

    College isn't as difficult as everyone says, as long as you make time to do your homework and ask questions when you have to. The instructors are there to help, and they are more than willing!

    Tips for prospective students

    USE ONLINE RESOURCES! Nearly anything you have to go to campus to do can be done online. You can pay tuition, plan your classes, and use hundreds of great academic resources for writing papers, doing research projects, etc.

    In three sentences

    I LOVE this college, from everything from the great professors to the friendly staff and other students. I have had so much help from everyone in the staff and student staff, especially in the registration/financial aid building and library. I have learned so much in every one of my classes, and have had a wonderful time meeting friends in classes and activities.

  • 11/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have campus security but I have not been around for any time they have needed to be called. LCC is generally a safe campus with very friendly people.

    Greek Life

    None that I Know of.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs and activities at LCC are vary helpful and also really fun to gather together with other students who are interested in the same things you are. They are also a great help if your having trouble in classes.

    Great for these types of students

    Hands on learners or any student really. LCC has a wide variety of classes and all of which are taught a little differently.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    No Unusual traditions that I am aware of.

    Bang for the buck

    LCC has a wide variety of classes and your are sure to find a great match. It is also much cheaper than most colleges so there is definitely a big bang for your buck.

    What to do for fun

    LCC has plenty of great clubs to join. I am in the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society at LCC as well as in the Chemistry club and both are very fun and helpful in finding scholarships and helping in academics. We also have great sports at LCC such as our Red Devil Baseball team, softball, volleyball and basketball who always have a great record.

    Food and Dining

    The food at LCC is really good. they have great burgers and pizza and very friendly faculty there as well. Like any other school most of the food is greasy and unhealthy but they also offer healthy alternatives for those trying to stay fit.

    Dorm Life

    I personally live at home in Castle Rock Washington so I am unaware of how the dorm life is.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor of Lower Columbia College really depends on what classes you take. I have had easy classes but I have also had more challenging classes such as Chemistry 161,162,163 and the Calculus series.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip would be to get an advisor and listen to what they have to say. They know what they're talking about and can help you plan your academics more affectively so you don't waste your time and money.

    In three sentences

    I personally enjoyed Lower Columbia College. The people here are fun and interesting to say the least and there are plenty of clubs to keep you busy. The classes are interesting and challenging and will definitely prepare you for transferring to a four year university.

  • 12/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a variety of clubs and activities to join.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register as early as possible, classes fill up fast.

    In three sentences

    Teachers at LCC are friendly, supportive, attentive to individual needs. The school design makes it easy to find classes and maps are also provided. LCC offers a wide range of career opportunities and overall, it is a great school.

  • 12/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There's always something to get involved with

    Bang for the buck

    LCC is inexpensive even for a community college, but offers some of the benefits of even a university.

    What to do for fun

    In Longview there's not much to do for fun. I think there's like a bowling alley and that's it. But you only 45 minutes away from Portland which is much more exciting.

    Food and Dining

    Honestly never even tried to find food on campus but threre's tons of great places to eat with in a five-ten minute walk from the school

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the professor and the subject your studying you'll find everything from classes you can skate through easily to more challenging academics.

    In three sentences

    Lower Columbia College is a small community college but has a very diverse group of students, including people of all ages, all backgrounds, and all personalities. It has a beautiful campus for such a small school and friendly students. The staff is super helpful from you professors to the admissions center where you can walk in and they'll happily walk you through everything from applying, to the fafsa to student loans.

  • 12/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria has amazing food! I personally recommend the nachos.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes aren't particularly difficult, if you have the study skills to keep on top of your work. Set aside time to do homework and you won't have a problem.

    In three sentences

    LCC is a school full of really interesting people, both students and teachers alike. Plenty of interesting classes are available. A great place to begin higher education.

  • 04/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt unsafe on campus.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    I am unsure about this one.

    Great for these types of students

    Older students, undecided students and running start students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They give out free food once a quarter.

    Bang for the buck

    LCC is very cheap, especially as a running start student. I imagine the education is fairly good for a community college.

    What to do for fun

    Movies and Bowling. As a running start student I was involved with more high school activities for fun. Longivew does not have a great selection of things to do.

    Food and Dining

    I have never eaten at LCC, but from what I see the food doesn't look that good. Longview also does not have a great selection of food. You would have to travel 25 minutes to Vancouver for a better selection.

    Dorm Life

    To my knowledge LCC has no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    LCC is not much more difficult than high school once you factor in all the free time you have.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not get in the habit of procrastinating. It works in high school and LCC, but when you get to a four year it will not work.

    In three sentences

    LCC is good for three types of students, those who are undecided on their professions, those who are older and changing their professions and running start students. As a senior in high school I think it is great because I get to take college classes and have a more flexible schedule. I wouldn't recommend it for students who are right out of high school and know what they want to do. .