Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Loyola University Maryland Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/12/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 out of 17 people found this review useful. 1 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People looking for small classes People looking for a great education People who love to be involved with their school community People who enjoy community service and helping others

    Tips for prospective students

    The community at Loyola College is very family like. The size is not big, so it is not overwheliming for freshman, and people are generally friendly. Class sizes aree small, so teachers are always available to their students during their office hours. For upcoming freeshman, all I can say is that the school is very welcoming and you will enjoy the people here.

    Bang for the buck

    ALthough tuition is high, there is alot of financial aid and options to students. Faculty also helps students when they ask.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is not as big as others, yet the enviornment is calm and there are many sights to see in downtown Baltimore. Also, the school holds many activities sponsored and held by the different clubs.

    Am learning a lot

    Classes are taught by proffesors that want their students to learn and to enjoy the subjects they teach. Also, teachers are available for students when a student needs their help understanding the subject.

  • 05/30/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    7 out of 9 people found this review useful. 2 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    The campus is absolutely beautiful. Everyone seems to be very friendly and happy. The cost of the school is high, but I believe it is well worth it.

  • 12/30/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 6 people found this review useful. 3 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Loyola is great for students who try hard, but who focus more on taking what they learn in the classroom, and applying it to the outside world through service. As a sophomore with a 4.0, I definitely channel a lot of my energy into my grades. However, I have learned that the most rewarding thing is not earning the A, it is rather realizing that something has been learned, and this something can be used to change the world for the better.

    Tips for prospective students

    Engage yourself in a lot of community service, work hard to keep your grades up, and show genuine interest in the school.

    Bang for the buck

    The campus is gorgeous, the professors are brilliant, the students are kind, the gym is jaw dropping, the athletics are fun, and the housing is absolutely unbelievable. However, the tuition and room and board totals fifty thousand plus, which is an incredibly large amount of money.

    Am enjoying being here

    Loyola is not only academically stimulating, but the social life is wonderful. Being in a city allows for a variety of options. The people whom I have encountered at campus, both students and faculty, are generous, kind, friendly, funny, wonderful people. The campus is absolutely beautiful, and the school just radiates happiness. It is hard not to enjoy attending Loyola.

    Am learning a lot

    I was the salutatorian of my high school. Although Loyola was known as my safety school, and I only enrolled here because of the merit based scholarship I was awarded, I could not be happier with my decision. I have learned a myriad of information, and have had 15 wonderful professors. These professors are brilliant, and truly wish for their students to thrive. I have learned far more than I could have imagined, and I am so thankful for that.

  • 02/16/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 4 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Loyola is an A+ school for the B+ student who couldnt quite get a spot at a top teir school but didn't want to settle at some crappy state school or bad small school. Most of the Loyola students are good looking hardworkers who certainly know how to have fun. If you are lazy or don't want to party then don't come here....

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out the school and within minutes you will love it! Make sure your grades are decent and you have some extra currucular involvement. Also, Loyola is expensive. The tuition is high, the room and board are pricey, and going out on weekends will definately clean out your wallet.

    Bang for the buck

    You get what you pay for! Although this is an expensive school, the ammenities are great. The campus is beautiful, updated, and well maintained. The technology and services are great as well.

    Am enjoying being here

    The facilities are great for a smaller college. The academic buildings are all very nice and have great technology. The cafeteria, fitness and aquatic center, and dorm buildings are among ,if not the, best in the country. Socially, it is fun. There are many bars and restaurants nearby. Also the Inner Harbor and Fells Point are very close. There are not a lot of on campus parties though.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors expect a lot out of their students. The teaching method is unique in that the class sizes are all very small and student input is very important. A lot of hands on learning and application rather than boring lectures.

  • 07/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 5 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Loyola is great for the student that loves to be involved in his or her school community yet also pays close attention to his or her schoolwork.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Get involved. There are tons of clubs, activities, and community service opportunities, you are bound to find some that interest you. -Don't forget to leave time for your schoolwork. Although it is important to get out of your room and do stuff, you need to know when to do your schoolwork. -Go out on a limb, try something new, something you've always wanted to do but couldn't in high school.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes, Loyola is quite expensive, but financial aid and work-study does help a little. At the end of it all, you will probably have some loans to pay off, but it will all be worth it because you would have gotten one of the best educations and the best experiences.

    Am enjoying being here

    Loyola is such a great place. No matter what your interests are, there is a club or activity for you, and if there is not, it is really easy to start your own. You will never be bored. there are always events going on, you are bound to have a great time.

    Am learning a lot

    Loyola is the place where the professors truly want you to learn. If you take advantage of all the opportunities that Loyola has to offer you, you will learn a whole lot, not just what is written in textbooks but about real-life issues that surround the Baltimore area.

  • 07/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 6 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Service oriented students will love Loyola. There are so many opportunities to serve on campus and in the city of Baltimore!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be honest in your application essay - be you. Don't write about the typical this person inspires me... I went on a great trip to... Write about what YOU are passionate about. Write about what makes you different, what makes you unique. Also, I would highly recommend submitting a resume, because it is getting very competitive to get into Loyola. Finally, I highly suggest an interview. You want them to know who you really are, not just a name on the thousands of applications they read. What really helped me was the interview - the guy who was interviewing me told me that I was exactly the type of student Loyola was looking for, and it encouraged me throughout the entire college process.

    Bang for the buck

    Loyola is expensive, there is no doubt about that. But the university is generous to those in need - I was offered an extremely generous scholarship when I applied. Though the price tag is daunting, its alright - just apply anyway, and they will work with you. You really get what you pay for at Loyola. No matter what you major in, there is an excellent program to support it. Furthermore, Loyola's academic reputation is outstanding - I have had many offers already as a sophomore for various internships. Loyola is more then worth the hefty price tag not only for these things, but for the non tangible aspects as well - service, community, friendship - we're a family.

    Am enjoying being here

    I came to college skeptical about making friends. I was surprised to find how friendly everyone is at Loyola - from the students, the to professors, to the staff. Its really easy to make friends in class, or in various clubs. I have found an awesome friend group that I know I can depend on for anything, but I still have other friends that I hang out with - its not a clique, or anything even close to that.

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned so much at Loyola University Maryland. I came in to college knowing that I would be challenged, but boy was I surprised! It is a very difficult school academically. Because of its heavy academic core and strong Jesuit ideals, you have to work alot. But the professors are wonderful, and the school has an excellent reputation for a reason.

  • 01/01/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 5 people found this review useful. 7 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Loyola is a great place to be if you are willing to involve yourself in school activities. There are activities and events for every typ of interest you just have to look for them.

  • 02/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 8 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    those who want small class sizes and care about academics, a campus where they get to know everyone that they see, those interested in service, those who like to have options of things to do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Decide if a core curriculum is what you really want to do. Also, the great amount of attention paid by professors here is not really offered at other schools.

    Bang for the buck

    Although on the expensive side, they give out a lot of financial aid. Also, there are many programs and services that make it worth it. Motor pool and the many programs that they run for students (like Midnight Breakfast) and the free events on campus are really fun and give you and your friends things to do.

    Am enjoying being here

    There is a lot of things to do on and off of campus. The college town shuttle takes you to places like the Inner Harbor (where the Aquarium, Science Center, and a variety of great places to eat are), the Towson Town Center (mall, shops, and movies), and other colleges. The people here are also very friendly.

    Am learning a lot

    All of the teachers really want you to learn, understand, and enjoy the material that they teach. This, along with smaller class sizes, makes it an easy environment to learn in. Also, classes encourage participation to make sure you know the material. The teachers are also very eager to help if you need extra help.

  • 01/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 9 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Loyola is great for students with a private school or rigorous high school background. It is a wonderful school for studying abroad as over 50% of students study abroad. It is also a great place for students who love community service. Loyola has many programs that link up with nearby shelters, schools, soup kitchen, etc that welcome service from students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to work your first semester. It is nothing like your most difficult course in high school, it is harder. Do not be afraid to reach out for help if you need it the first year.

    Bang for the buck

    Loyola is very pricey, but well worth it. I know of only a few people who aren't on a scholarship or receiving financial aid. The upkeep of the campus and dorms are great. The only negative is the dining hall. Loyola does not have a meal plan, but money put on a card. That often becomes expensive and a hassle if you don't have an apartment your first year. Also the dining hall is restaurant style so there is not much variety and it is very unhealthy because they are like fast food options.

    Am enjoying being here

    Loyola is a big adjustment as any college, but more so depending on what high school or other college you went to before. Loyola does not have too much diversity, but they are getting better each year. Other than the lack of diversity, Loyola is a great place to be. The majority of the professors are kind and helpful. The dorm life is among the top in the nation, ranking third. The campus itself is beautiful every season. Lastly, Loyola's Jesuit tradition strengthens the inner person and the developing adult no matter if you are Catholic or not.

    Am learning a lot

    Loyola has a very rigorous academic program. Each major is very challenging and will push the student to their best ability. Each class has very knowledgable professors that truly want to help the student in any way possible. Also learning is not restricted to the classroom. As a Jesuit school, Loyola aims to teach about community service and helping others.

  • 01/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 10 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want small class size

    Dorm Life

    Since the dorms at Loyola are relatively big, especially Newman Towers, dorm life is fantastic since you are surrounded by all your friends. Furthermore, after your freshman year students live in on-campus apartments with kitchens and living rooms making dorm life very comfortable.

    Academic Rigor

    Make sure to build a connection with your professors and go to them if you are struggling. Since the class sizes are small, professors love when you show them that you care, and remember one of your professors will most likely be writing a recommendation for you one day!

  • 01/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 11 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the university goes to long measures to insure that it's students are safe. they inform of any crimes going around campus and provide students with tips how to avoid these dangers.

    Greek Life

    there isn't a greek

    Clubs and Activities

    there is just about any activity or club a person can think of on campus. if someone doesn't find what they want they can always make their own club to suit their interest. there is a service organization that provides students with a great opportunity to do one time or ongoing community service.

    Great for these types of students

    it is good for just about any student except for students looking for a very big party school.

    What to do for fun

    there are a lot of activities organized by the university such as paint balling, skiing, bowling, plays and much more. since baltimore city is a few minutes away one can also go to the harbor area and around there for many more things such as boat trips, restaurants, malls, and movie theaters.

    Food and Dining

    there are a lot of choices for food from fast food to nice restaurant style dinner. also there is a salad bar and a small grocery store for the essentials. the fast food choices might get boring after a while, but there are a number of restaurants within walking distance that take the universities money plan.

    Dorm Life

    one great thing is that first year students can pick if they want a traditional dorm room or if they would like to live in an apartment. also the community is great and there is a lot of building bonding, from movie nights to sports tournaments.

    Academic Rigor

    the courses are challenging and will test a persons time management skills. if a student applies themselves they will not have problems.

    Tips for prospective students

    get involved with the professors. many of them can help not only with their subjects, but give you study tips for courses in general and help you attain internships or research opportunities. also get involved with numerous activities offered to students, best place to meet new people. join a club or sport, they are a lot of fun and great friends come out of them.

    In three sentences

    a place where you can feel at home, the campus is wonderful, and the academics are strong. everyone is friendly and will answer any questions you have with a smile and if they don't know it they will make sure to find someone who can help you. also the professors love when students come to them with questions, if the student can't come in their office hours they will make sure to schedule a time that works with the students schedule.

  • 03/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 12 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus police are always patrolling .

    Great for these types of students

    students who want a challenge small class sizes

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    loyolapalooza a big on the quad party, celebration towards the end of the year. live music, great food and games.

    Bang for the buck

    expensive but rigorous classes.

    What to do for fun

    college town shuttle takes you to the mall, the inner harbor, you can visit the great and beautiful town of fells point.

    Food and Dining

    expensive

    Dorm Life

    best dorms, they are liking living in your own apartment with your own kitchen and bathroom, but if you want that typical dorm style they have that too.

    Academic Rigor

    the school strives to keep you at a c+ or better, if you get a c- you will be notified. some teachers give a lot of work, but all are willing to help you through it.

    Tips for prospective students

    do you work and have fun later. study hard then study harder. it's a great school, but do not fall behind on your work because you are having so much fun.

    In three sentences

    loyola cost a lot, but is very challenging and allows the student to learn, instead of giving out a's. loyola cares for the student's mind, body and spirit. loyola is pricey but a great school.

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 13 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Every fall semester Loyola holds an activities fair on the academic quadrangle or QUAD for short. This is where every club on campus has a table set up with information on their club or organization. It gives you an opportunity to pursue your interests while at the same time be a part of something completely new.

    Food and Dining

    Food is a huge concern for many applicants. Unlike other schools Loyola does not have a meal plan. We have more of a debit card system. In my mind, I believe that this is a more efficient way to use our money because we are paying for exactly what we're eating. We have two main dining facilities on campus which include Boulder Garden Cafe` (Moe's southwestern grill, salad bar, soup, to-go food, pasta bar, boars head, bagels, vocelli's pizza, WOW grill etc.) and Iggy's which includes our very own supermarket as well as many other options that boulder has already.) In an university setting the food can get boring or redundant that's why Loyola is so great. Loyola is for the students and we can ask for changes on our menu. We also have mein bowl and Ikigaii which are our Chinese food and sushi providers on campus. Loyola keeps us very well fed. At most campus events we have free food from our on campus caterers Sodexo.

    Dorm Life

    College is so exciting because as a student you are living away from home. Not only is it a place where you meet new people but it is your home away from home. College becomes your new home for the next four years and the people around you not only becomes your friends but they essentially become your family. Particular only to loyola; loyola has the #1 best co-ed dorms in the country and overall the #2 best dorms in the country. There are a variety of living styles which fit our different personalities including, doubles, suites, apartments, lofts, and townhouses.

    Academic Rigor

    When a student graduates from middle school, high school is most likely and usually is just one step above (academically speaking) than middle school. I think most students need to keep in mind that college is what is shaping and molding us into what we are going to make of our future, which puts it a couple more steps above what high school. That being said, the academic rigor that one finds in a university setting is a 100% more challenging but at the same time it's 100% more rewarding. The classes and material is a lot more difficult, but what you get out of it is a lot more. I think the hardest part about being in a university setting is that for the most part you are away from home, which gives us, as a student the responsibility of doing our work and doing it on time.

    Tips for prospective students

    I think that my number one tip for a prospective student is to not be nervous. College is a whole new experience that every incoming freshmen has never experienced before. Everyone is on the same boat. The more you open yourself up to stepping out of ones comfort zone the more you get to learn about yourself and the world around you. Another huge tip that I would give every prospective student is to get involved. There is not an easier and more efficient way to meet more students, faculty. staff and administrators than by getting involved in different, events, committees, clubs, etc. on campus.

    In three sentences

    Loyola University Maryland represents community. It's a place where you not only grow as an individual but you learn how to work as a team. As a person you make strides to become men and women for and with others.

  • 06/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 14 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus is very safe but the streets around it aren't quite. Especially for drunken underage students who choose to walk down a dangerous street at night instead of taking a cab!

    Greek Life

    None whatsoever, not allowed on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many different clubs, a lot to offer, anything you might be interested in we probably have it.

    Great for these types of students

    People who follow the trends or the crowd.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Loyolapalooza, a big fair close to the end of the semester. Food, rides, games, fun, the concerts, we had fabolous, Maino, The Goo Goo Dolls.

    What to do for fun

    Get out and explore Baltimore! Plenty of restaurants, bars, clubs and malls to shop! Also join different clubs on campus.

    Food and Dining

    We have Moe's Southwestern food, WOW Wingery, Vocelli's a pizza place and we used to have Boar's Head. We also have a grocery store in one of the apartment buildings.

    Dorm Life

    We have the second best dorms according to whoever rated us and I agree. Aside from the occasional older buildings the setup is nice, apartments, some with 2 bedroom and bathrooms.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic programs are very rigorous including core curriculum.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for not so much of a culture shock, Loyola is trying but there isn't that much culture. Baltimore is very cultured but you have to leave the Loyola bubble!

    In three sentences

    Loyola is very good when it comes to academics, small, interactive classes. Your teacher knows who you are. If you want to study abroad we have great programs as well.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 15 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None.

    Bang for the buck

    ESPENSIVE, but so worth it!

    What to do for fun

    Concerts, baseball games, restaurants, bowling, ice cream, on campus events, plays and comedy shows, fine arts, clubbing, bars, exploring, shopping.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall food never changes. It's like a food court. You will get sick of it, but mostly freshmen eat here. Use your kitchen!

    Dorm Life

    Student life is one of the greatest departments at this university. Most of the dorms (excluding two freshman dorms, Butler and Hammerman) have private bathrooms, so no communal showers. Upperclassmen all have full size kitchens. Learn to cook so you can take advantage of this!

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging but not unreasonable. Professors tend to be fair and very caring toward their students. Show up to class and study on the weekends, you will run out of time and not be able to sleep otherwise.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't listen to every review you read. Come here and visit at different points in the year. Find clubs you would join and contact their leaders.

    In three sentences

    Loyola University Maryland is exactly what you make of it. It can be a place where you make lifelong friends. Go to class!

  • 09/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 16 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is kept secure with our Loyola Police Officers and a great blue light system in case of emergency.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and activities that it is near impossible to list them all! The best part is that if for some reason you can't find a club that interests you you can easily create it! Just get together with a few friends, draft a proposal, and you're on your way.

    Great for these types of students

    Loyola is great for students who are looking to learn and have fun both in and out of the classroom. Your professors will always keep you thinking and Baltimore City will always keep you entertained.

    What to do for fun

    Baltimore is a great city to explore! There is plenty to do on campus but there are always ways to get off campus and have some fun. Places like the Inner Harbor, Fells Point and Towson are all close to campus and bursting with excitement.

    Food and Dining

    Food options on campus are more limited than the average campus however that is only because from sophomore year up students are in apartments with their own full kitchen! Most students find it easier/more cost-efficient to cook in their apartment and have family dinners with roommates.

    Dorm Life

    Loyola is ranked year after year in the top 5 best residence life options for colleges across the country.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are definitely more difficult than the average college however they are manageable and if you are struggling at any point professors offer office hours and are more than willing to sit down and help you develop a plan. Class sizes are kept small so that students can get to know their professors and build a bond with them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come see the campus and talk to our students! The second you meet the students on campus you are bound to fall in love with the school.

    In three sentences

    Loyola's Evergreen campus is centered in Baltimore, MD and always leaving out students with something to do. Between intriguing classes, exploring the city, getting involved both on and off campus and creating life long friendships you are bound to create memories that will stay with you forever.

  • 11/03/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 17 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People that like to do community service, those who like to work hard during the week and have fun on the weekends, and those who like to be involved.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard in High School, keep reading you will do alot at Loyola, and become a good critical writer most professors ask you to write analytical papers.

    Bang for the buck

    Loyola is a very expensive school but they have a good financial aid office and its worth it for the education, the dorms, and the name on your resume.

    Am enjoying being here

    Loyola is a great school and I really enjoy being here. The classes are interesting and really seem to relate to the real world. The people are overall nice. If you are not a big partier consider this when looking at Loyola.

    Am learning a lot

    This school is not for those who do not like to work hard or study! Most professors will help you any way they can but you have to put a lot of effort in to get good grades.

  • 11/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 18 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    This school is expensive but you get a lot out of it.

    What to do for fun

    The campus is so close to all the attractions Baltimore has to offer so it is hard to be bored here.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is good and there is a wide variety of options.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are some of the nicest in the country.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are hard but not impossible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to Loyola!

    In three sentences

    I love Loyola because it is full of opportunity. They students and professors here are amazing. The campus is very nice.

  • 01/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 19 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    As soon as you leave campus it would be recommended to remove nice and/or preppy Loyola campus clothes, because you will be entering the getting almost immediately.

    Greek Life

    no greek life. although club sports are pretty close

    Clubs and Activities

    Its all about the clubs you join, it can really heavily impact you hang out with and how you mix in with the community.

    Bang for the buck

    It is an incredibly expensive school, although they do have extraordinary sports complex and dorming facilities.

    What to do for fun

    The Inner Harbor is a great place to visit. There are so many new and fun things to do every time you visit.

    Food and Dining

    Pretty good dinning facility. It can be hard to find seating, especially if you're with friends, during busy times at Boulder. Iggy's is a great place to eat and allows meal swipes almost the entire day.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are fantastic although the pairings aren't so good, inevitable I guess.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are definitely challenging, but you can easily create the grades you want with some hard work and focus.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want a somewhatclicky community that bears great friendship, and a great campus environment( dorms, dining, and educational facilities), then Loyola is definitely the place for you! It is a huge sports school and everyone is connected through our sports team, it brings everyone together.

    In three sentences

    It is a lovely school the can easily be found a great second home to most people. It is very positive and really allows its students to make the most of their time here. I would most definitely recommend Loyola.

  • 01/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who: want to study abroad their junior year, love being involved with service, are passionate about their studies and learning, love being known by faculty, appreciative students, students who love being involved as well as learning in the classroom.

    Tips for prospective students

    When applying make sure you include a lot of extracurricular activities. One thing I love about how they view prospective students is that they take EVERYTHING into account not just a solid GPA they try to see what can make a whole person and love all activities, sports, volunteer work, etc.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is beyond beautiful! I have yet to meet someone mean. So many people from the workers to the students are friendly. There is something for EVERYONE to get involved in, from religions, ethnicities, hobbies. If you put your mind to it, it is never boring!

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers are absolutely great! Always willing to help. Each of them have extended office hours that they always want students to come to for any questions. All of my teachers have also been extremely timely when answering emails on questions regarding material or assignments!

  • 06/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are so many activities to do for fun and very many clubs and organizations. It is also easy to take a bus off campus for fun.

    Food and Dining

    There is a limited selection of food and dining. Most of the food is fried and not very healthy. The food is manageable but I wish there were healthier options.

    Dorm Life

    They dorms are very nice and student life is always available to help if there are any problems.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic work is challenging but manageable for hard-working students who study and do their homework.

    Tips for prospective students

    For students coming to Loyola I would suggest to get as involved as possible. Also they should make sure they go to the tutoring center if they need help with academics because they tutors are very helpful.

    In three sentences

    Loyola is a great school with many activities for students. Loyola encourages students to get involved and there are activities for every interest. Loyola truly cares about their students and want them to have good experiences.

  • 08/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 22 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police does a good job

    Greek Life

    No Greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    Many club and activities

    Great for these types of students

    Good for any type of student, only setback is lack of diversity.

    Bang for the buck

    Very expensive school, but is for the most part worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Downtown Baltimore is a 5 minute ride, there are a lot of things to downtown, you'll never really get bored.

    Food and Dining

    Could be better, there is no cafeteria, just a bunch of mini restaurants and the food gets old after a while.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are one of the best in the country, have a lot of variety in the type of housing you want to live in.

    Academic Rigor

    Its not Harvard, but requires a lot of work to be successful. But if you work hard, manage your time, and see the teachers you'll be successful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enroll in a lot groups to get yourself acclimated to the school. Take the roommate survey seriously because, odds are you'll be associated with them all four years.

    In three sentences

    Great school, with amazing housing, a good community, and great faculty, in a good location.

  • 03/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 23 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Sporting events are a really big deal on campus. Loyola is located in Baltimore and the inner harbor offers a lot to do. Loyola is also located right next to Towson and Hopkins University and there is a lot to do near either college. There are plenty of stores to shop at and several unique restaurants in the area.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't that great but next year (2013-2014) Loyola is bringing in a new food provider and the food should become better.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are awesome! The layout of housing on campus is very convient and close to academic buildings and food. The dorms are spacious and most come with a kitchen and living room. Each dorm has their own bathrooms and other than freshmen year there are no double options.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the major some are harder than others. Loyola's core requirements are challenging and students are expected to participate. At the end of each semester I guarantee you'll have learned a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are okay with small class sizes and teachers wanting you to participate. Be sure to get involved on campus and to explore what Baltimore has to offer.

    In three sentences

    Loyola is a respectable institution that puts its students first. Loyola is welcome of all and is a happy place. Loyola University Maryland is a great place to learn and to attend your undergraduate.

  • 06/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 24 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Being in Baltimore, Loyola poses a risk for crime; however, being on campus is very safe. A patrol officer can be seen from almost anywhere. Off campus housing has had issues with crime recently, but on campus housing is well patrolled and the campus has a safe feeling to it, at any hour.

    Greek Life

    Loyola does not have Greek life on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Wide range of clubs and activities that allow students to try something new. Loyola is big on clubs and creating communities within each organization.

    Great for these types of students

    Athletes, artists, business students, anyone!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Loyolapalooza is a free spring concert and festival type event that takes place on the quad. Also, there is always something unusual going on somewhere on campus!

    Bang for the buck

    On the higher end of pricing, but COMPLETELY worth every penny.

    What to do for fun

    Visit the inner harbor, be active, visit other local colleges, explore Baltimore.

    Food and Dining

    Loyola is currently switching dining services to a traditional cafeteria style and meal plan service.

    Dorm Life

    There is a reason Loyola has some of the best ranked dorms in the country.

    Academic Rigor

    Very challenging but even more rewarding. Great professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit on a nice sunny day! The campus is beautiful and the tour guides are great.

    In three sentences

    Loyola offers each student a well-rounded education and college experience. Its beautiful Evergreen campus and much respected housing is a must-see. Each person can find their niche here.

  • 01/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 3 people found this review useful. 25 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    so may clubs and activates to get involve.

    What to do for fun

    Hangout with other student. Involve in school activities.

    Food and Dining

    not so good plus too expensive.

    Dorm Life

    awesome

    Academic Rigor

    awesome

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard.

    In three sentences

    Good professor with positive attitude to the student. Good environment for the student to study.Good sources to gain information for the student.

  • 07/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a strong campus police presence and blue lights can be seen all over campus.

    Greek Life

    none

    Great for these types of students

    preppy; work hard, play hard

    What to do for fun

    bars, shopping, movies, orioles or ravens games, museums, restaurants

    Food and Dining

    The quality of the food is great but it lacks variety and is pretty expensive. Fortunately there are lots of places to eat surrounding Loyola.

    Tips for prospective students

    Loyola is a bar school so be prepared with your fake ID!

    In three sentences

    Loyola has strong academics and offers a variety of majors. Its location near both Towson and Baltimore means there are always things to do. The campus is beautiful and the dorms are nice.

  • 07/09/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 27 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Lots of club that are aimed at a diverse audience

    Food and Dining

    The food is delicious, lots of variety

    Dorm Life

    Great spacious rooms

    Academic Rigor

    its college classes will make you think

    Tips for prospective students

    Really work on time management as you would with any other school

    In three sentences

    Loyola has a beautiful campus filled with opportunities. The school's value is very open-minded for a Jesuit school. Loyola is a diverse community but you have to search for the diversity.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are so many ways to get involved at the school. They actually incourage you. You'll have so much to do but so little time. You can get involved in community service to clubs.

    Food and Dining

    There is a huge variety of food. From comfort food to gluten free and vegan. You can even contact the head chef and get a personalized menu.

    Dorm Life

    The best dorms I've seen. They are spacious and freshman dorms are great. No wonder they are second in Dorms like Palacesin the Princeton Review.

    Academic Rigor

    They have a core curriculum but they are there to help you so it's not stressful.

  • 12/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 29 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none

    What to do for fun

    Go to bars or go downtown to Baltimore, Hampden is also very fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not choose the honors program.

    In three sentences

    It's a great school that offers a very well-rounded education. Loyola's Jesuit education really delivers. I really feel like I've had a top tier education of mind, body, and spirit.

  • 07/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    LoPo is okay, they do their job when they need to, but most of the time they're pretty annoying

    Greek Life

    No greek life on campus, but there are citywide chapers.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for EVERYTHING. I love it !

    What to do for fun

    There is always something to do. Either stuff on campus or somewhere off campus.

    Food and Dining

    Food is pretty expensive. It's good when you first get there. We just added the meal plan so maybe that will change things. Its better to do peapod or go grocery shopping.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is pretty great. I think we're ranked #2 in the country for dorms. Student life can be pretty annoying though. It's kinda hit or miss with housing. Some rooms are amazing and some rooms suck.

    Academic Rigor

    It's pretty tough academics wise, but theres always people around to help. The school is really big on academic honesty so that's pretty good. They sometimes are too strict with it, I've seen people get in trouble over a couple words or for forgetting to cite one thing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the school on a nice day and definitely do an overnight stay.

    In three sentences

    Loyola is truly a great school, I feel at home here. It's really easy to make friends and everyone is pretty helpful.

  • 10/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Explore baltimore and the street fairs. be sure to be safe, stay off York Road and carry pepper spray.

    Food and Dining

    Food has improved with new program

    Dorm Life

    Amazing dorms

    In three sentences

    Loyola focuses heavily on business but forgets about it's science majors. Loyola lacks school spirit, but the school has nice people.

  • 03/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe despite being in an open city campus

    Greek Life

    nonexistent

    Clubs and Activities

    soooo many quality clubs and you can create your own and get funding

    Great for these types of students

    involved, interested, intellectual, smart, aspiring, outgoing

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    loyolapalooza- outdoor concert in the spring relay for life- stay up all night and raise money for campus

    Bang for the buck

    awesome jobs and opportunities but verrrrry expensive

    What to do for fun

    inner harbor, bars, outdoor adventure trips, options (laser tagging, paintballing, etc)

    Food and Dining

    Expensive, and the same thing everyday.

    Dorm Life

    second best dorms in the country! everyone has huge apartments sophomore year and up. freshman dorms are far better than I've ever seen!

    Academic Rigor

    hard, lots of work if you want to be successful

    Tips for prospective students

    -eat on campus -explore Baltimore -talk to current students -ask questions -explore the entire campus on your own

    In three sentences

    Hands down the best decision I've ever made. The students, professors, and administration are all very friendly, helpful, and interesting. I am academically challenged and given the opportunities to succeed in all aspects of my life (academically, physically, spiritually, and socially).

  • 03/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Security is always present. Never any problems on campus.

    Greek Life

    NONE

    Clubs and Activities

    Always an opportunity for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    Preppy, hard working

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Humanities Building; housed the first season of House of Cards

    Food and Dining

    Won't find better food at any other school.

    Dorm Life

    Best dorms anywhere

    Academic Rigor

    Very challenging but rewarding

  • 07/27/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    34 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    This university has many activities to participate in.

    Tips for prospective students

    I will be starting in September 2014. When I have tips, I will post them

    In three sentences

    Very friendly and hospitable. A joy to visit. I am looking forward to the commencement of my college career here.