Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Loyola University New Orleans Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/10/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 out of 16 people found this review useful. 1 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Loyola University has many great qualities, it is a liberal arts college and everyone there is unique and the atmosphere is amazing. Loyola is a small university but I like that because I know almost everyone on campus... even if I don't know the name, I know the face. Loyola has students from all over the world allowing you to see things from different points of view and learn different cultures and religions. Loyola has a goal and that goal is to have you become well-rounded and open minded so that you can succeed wherever you are.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Check out the school website loyno.edu - Visit the campus (But be sure to visit it while classes are in session, so you can get the feel of how campus life is during the year) - Sit-in a class to experience the Jesuit education Loyola offers and remember Loyola does not force religion on you... but it does want you to have knowledge of different religions and cultures so that you are able to understand different people. -Visit the City Park (This is a beautiful park across from the Loyola campus, that many students go to study or work-out) -Ride the street car. -Visit the campus gym. -Most importantly ASK questions!

    Bang for the buck

    Loyola hands out many scholarships, especially if you've done extremely well in school.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love being at Loyola. Campus life is great. I am beginning my sophomore year and I already know so many people. Also Loyola does a lot of volunteer work which I think is great because putting self aside every now and then helps you to have a better appreciations for things.

    Am learning a lot

    Loyola wants its students to be well-rounded. So you learn many things while you are there... about different cultures, religions, ways of thinking. Also even though Loyola is a Jesuit University religion is never something that is forced upon you. Coming here has helped me become more open-minded. Also student teacher ratio is 1:11

  • 07/08/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 out of 13 people found this review useful. 2 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Loyola is big on community service, the focus on the individual through mind and soul. Each individual aspect of a person is looked upon. Happy college searching!

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the school during the school year, not during the summer. Sure, the buildings are nice, but as in all colleges, thats not what you are really looking for. As a prospective student you need to pick a school that fits you best, and you may be able to tell instantly that the school you visit one random day is the one that is a perfect fit. Figure out what you want to do, and find a school that excels in that subject. If not, find a school that has several diverse opportunities for your major to be.

    Bang for the buck

    Loyola is normally generous when it comes to scholarship money. The endowment for the school is quite vast, and if you are smart enough you may receive a full scholarship.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy being in New Orleans, I am from only twenty minutes away, but even then the small distance is greatly differentiated. The culture and food is so diverse from all other cities, and there will always be something to do on your weekend-besides study.

    Am learning a lot

    As a private liberal arts college, class size is limited to about 40 students per teacher. I feel as though through the common curriculum I am learning everything I will need to know in college, plus the small school feel has been teaching me how to be sociable among the student body.

  • 11/06/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 3 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are interested in music should absolutely put this school on the list. Loyola is known for it's excellent music programs. Students who are interested in studying abroad. Students who are interested in religious studies. Students looking for a cozy, small school with easy access to the city.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would definitely advise any prospective students to come visit; you can see what the people are like, how they actually use the campus, etc. Also, don't be put off by the fact that it's a Jesuit school; religion is never pushed on anybody, not even in the religion courses themselves. It's mind opening and people are very down to earth, not uptight.

    Bang for the buck

    The cost of attendance is surprisingly low for a private school; Loyola is a very well respected University, and rightly so. Definitely worth the money if you work hard and make the most.

    Am enjoying being here

    Being from very far away, I was nervous to come here, I didn't know what to expect--but it has been great. I've been lucky enough to have several really amazing professors that clearly love what they do. Also, I've made awesome friends, and there is absolutely always something going on (especially if you dig music), because you're in New Orleans! The campus is small but cozy, in not too long you'll find that you see tons of familiar faces.

    Am learning a lot

    I've learned a lot coming here; Loyola University is all about the idea of creating a well rounded person in all aspects. The focus isn't on you as a student who needs to make perfect grades. The focus is on you doing great academically, but also growing into a spiritually aware person, as well as a person that is compassionate and makes a difference for their community. When you come here, you learn skills in the classroom, but you also learn skills to become a better person in every aspect of you.

  • 12/24/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Loyola is wonderful for students who are always looking deeper. There are groups whose sole purpose is to look inward, evaluate, and determine how those things that you find in yourself can better the community. Students that enjoy community service will thrive here. There are several on-campus groups devoted to getting out in the community and serving and they are all very rewarding. Community is a huge part of the university so students that value relationships will also thrive. Thinkers will find their minds developed to a greater depth than they experienced in high school. The mind is well nourished and challenged by the courses and professors here at Loyola and the growth that you will see exceeds expectations.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you are willing to work hard and evaluate yourself. A large part of Loyola is looking inward and improving yourself. Not only are you encouraged academically, but spiritually whether you are Catholic or not. You must be open to criticism because it will be given; it is up to you how you take it.

    Bang for the buck

    I know Loyola seems a bit pricey, but they also offer plenty of scholarships and financial aid to help you. And believe me it is definitely worth the money and the search for scholarships. I couldn't think of a better university for me. The experiences academically and socially that I have gained from Loyola are beyond worth and affordable. Recently Loyola was rated number 1 in U.S. Weekly for best value, best education and I believe it.

    Am enjoying being here

    The faculty, staff and students here are so amazing. They are kind and outgoing and hard working. The environment is very warm and we all form a family that works for individual and community improvement. Here your potential is something that is attainable because we all support each other and work for the good of the whole.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors at Loyola are absolutely amazing. Because we have smaller class sizes it is easy to form a personal relationship with them. They genuinely care about you and are very knowledgeable and skilled in the subjects they are teaching. The music professors are very generous in their constructive criticism and a quick to tell you how to improve. They care about your career and what your goals and potential are and try to equip you with the skills you require. The work is challenging, but there is someone there to help every step of the way.

  • 02/01/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 5 people found this review useful. 5 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    best campus safety rating i know!

    Great for these types of students

    knowledge-seekers

    What to do for fun

    check out downtown new orleans while taking a break from school.

    Food and Dining

    it new orleans great food goes without saying

    Dorm Life

    could be worse. beware of bad roomies.

    Academic Rigor

    courses designed to challenge you.

  • 04/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    LUPD is the best! The officers on campus are dedicated to providing this campus with safety. I know a couple of them and they are always asking me how things are going because ether care about the student's well-being as well.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have so many on campus that there is something for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    This campus is great for students who care about their education, but also want to have a little bit of fun so that they do not stress too much.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a bit pricey, but again, talk to Financial Aid and they will help you in anyway that they can.

    What to do for fun

    What is there not to do for fun? The University Programming Board and various other groups on campus always have something going on!

    Food and Dining

    I work in the Dining Services and I can tell you that the staff are committed to providing delicious food. If there is ever a problem, you just simply have to go to the Dining offices and voice your opinion and someone will listen.

    Dorm Life

    I love living on campus because I am close to the Library and Danna Student Center. Both places are prime places to hang out and get work done.

    Academic Rigor

    It can be a challenge, but the professors are here to help you succeed!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know some professors and even some Professional Staff member s in different areas of Student Life.

    In three sentences

    Loyola is one of the best schools I could ever attend. The sense of community and Jesuit values are always in play. Everyone here is always ready to help a student in need.

  • 12/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We're rated A in safety!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This tradition I absolutely love. It's called Sneaux and as the city of New Orleans know, we do not have the pleasure of experiencing snow so Loyola University hosts their annual Sneaux event for the students of Loyola as well as the community. University Programing Board of Loyola University puts on music, has food booths (making Smores, hot chocolate, cake, etc.), giving away free t-shirts, and even having a Santa Clause!

    What to do for fun

    Loyola University New Orleans is located in, obviously, New Orleans! There is a wide range of things that you can do in the city and on campus! I normally like to go sight seeing and experiencing the amazing Audubon Park and Audubon Zoo that is literally a street away from the university. Every third Friday on campus, University Programing Board also hosts many events from live concerts, to Glow-in-the-Dark Volleyball games, to off campus excursions such as going to watch the new Twilight: Breaking Dawn Part 2 Premiere and hosting Swamp Tours for the students of Loyola! There is so much to do for fun on campus, every student deserves to have a little fun here and there.

    Food and Dining

    Loyola University New Orleans has a buffet eating style where you can eat at much as you want as soon as you swipe into the dining area. You have a choice between a hot meal to gluten-free to pizza, salad, hamburgers, and sandwich bars. Then saving some room for dessert, you have a whole back wall dedicated to scrumptious desserts such as cake, Blue Bell ice cream, cookies dipped into chocolate, pies, cupcakes, and much much more! Not to mention the array of different fountain drinks, coffee, and tea!

    Dorm Life

    Absolutely love the dorm life. There are so many choices and different types of building dorm life style livings. You can live in a communal, suite, or apartment style living and they're all located on campus with other off campus residence buildings. I live in a suite-style living and it's a great opportunity to meet other people who live right next door to you or on your floor.

    Academic Rigor

    Loyola University New Orleans is not bad at their academic rigor at all. It's like how any university would expect their students to behave or do in their academic setting. Loyola University New Orleans wants you to strive in your academic career and the teachers and faculty are more than happy to help you with any questions, concerns or problems you may have with school.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like the close-knit community feeling and being able to make friends within the week of move-in day or being able to have a one-to-one teacher to student relationship or walking short distances to your classes or feeling at home and having countless opportunities available at your fingertips, Loyola University New Orleans is the right choice for you!

    In three sentences

    Loyola University-New Orleans is absolutely astonishing and amazing at what they do. No other words can describe what a great Jesuit university Loyola is. They truly fulfill what a true Jesuit university entitles.

  • 08/16/2010

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Do your best in High School or the other Colleges (If you are a transfer student) although loyola is very competitive with SAT and ACT scores, I believe they are more interested in how the student OVERALL will be an asset to the University (So they may look at your activities, Honors, GPA, Community Service) Remember, Loyola is a University that helps the student to find his whole self. so test scores are good but that is not all they look at so do not be discouraged to apply if you are not top in your class. Take a Chance!

    Bang for the buck

    Although very competitive, Loyola strives to show generosity to those who have worked hard in school. You demonstrate excellence on your records, Loyola will praise you through Merits and other scholarships based on need, and Talents. I coud not have chosen a better University.

  • 05/12/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone looking for a fun small school in a fun town!

    Tips for prospective students

    Come check out the campus, this year they gave a 1k tuition credit for coming to visit.

    Bang for the buck

    They gave me lots of scholarship!

    Will enjoy being here

    I love New Orleans and the campus

    Will learn a lot

    The faculty I met seemed really chill and fun

  • 06/19/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any & All!

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely go on a tour not only on the days that they have something going on, but also on random days so you can get the chance to see what the campus is like on a regular day.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is expensive since it is a private school, but it is definitely worth it. You are receiving top-notch education and have small classes which means you have more freedom to ask questions, be heard during class, and have a great opportunity to form a relationship with your classmates and professors.

    Am enjoying being here

    I couldn't have picked a better university! They faculty and staff are great and the student body is very diverse! It's a gorgous campus and New Orleans itself is a beautiful and magical place. In addition, you will get out of school for Mardi Gras break as well as Easter Holidays which students enjoy, Mardi Gras break is more than a chance to party. It is a chance to learn about a rich, colorful, lively culture that resonates deep within New Orleans'roots.

    Am learning a lot

    I have been able to take a lot of interesting coures at Loyola, and the best part is that the professors are willing to do whatever it takes to help you achieve your goals. Also, there are free tutors available and multiple labs you can go to for help. The best part is that you are able to take classes at UNO, Tulane, and Xavier free of charge if that class isn't offered at Loyola!

  • 12/07/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It may cost a lot but i guarantee it is worth the money!

    Will enjoy being here

    There is something always happening on campus and if not your in New Orleans, explore and have fun!

    Will learn a lot

    You start taking classes on your major your freshman year.

  • 12/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    the dorms are comfortable and fairly updated. i wouldn't call them palaces, but they are really safe. you can do a lot with decorations to make them cozy.

    Bang for the buck

    not a big social scene, but here and active if you're interested.

    Am enjoying being here

    The student community at Loyola is amazing. All different kinds of people can find their own niches. You can go out to the residence quad at night and listen to people play guitar and singing on most weekends.

  • 01/10/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    They are building excellent new dorms!

    In three sentences

    Visiting the school was an amazing experience, it was a beautiful campus. I would really recommend people who want to be around a friendly environment to visit, and attend.Being from New Orleans, the school feels like a great environment for me.

  • 02/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    attend volleyball & basketball games on campus; workout @ the gym

    Food and Dining

    great food in and around campus. what can i say...this is new orleans, known for the best food in the world.

    Dorm Life

    sorry i can't comment...i live @ home with parents.

    Academic Rigor

    intense...but if you stay on top of your work you will be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure to take advantage of the writing labs and professor's office hours. this will help you in the long run.

    In three sentences

    i love the small class sizes. i don't feel like just a number on campus. my professor's actually know my name.

  • 04/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Greek life is very prevalent, but if you want to join a sorority or fraternity, you will know when and where to be.

    What to do for fun

    There is so much to so. There are speakeasies, clubs, coffee shops, museums. Take your pick.

    Food and Dining

    There is excellent food in the area and at the school. The Tulane student prefer our cafeteria over theirs.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is comfortable and safe, but also lots of fun. The school is in New Orleans, so everyone enjoys the night life and it carries over into the dorms. Quiet times are respected though.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes start off pretty simple and give you a strong foundation for later courses, but make sure you have time-management mastered. The teachers are not shy about homework.

    Tips for prospective students

    G.P.A. starts freshman year. Use the introductory courses to get ahead and stay ahead.

    In three sentences

    Loyola is a great school. The classes are intimate and personal, but challenging. The teachers really work with you and for you.

  • 05/01/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is extremely safe. There is a on campus police department. Police officers roam the campus 24/7. NOPD (New Orleans Police Department) is always patrolling around the surrounding area, since Loyola is in the heart of New Orleans.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is every type of extra curricular activity to participate in except football. But then again hey what do you expect it's Loyola.

    Great for these types of students

    Quiet Earthy Academically Devoted

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    At Loyola there is the Loyola Seal; its said that if you step on the seal you will not graduate. I think thats pretty cool

    Bang for the buck

    Loyola's tuition may seem expensive but it is worth every dime.

    What to do for fun

    There is many things to do for fun. Loyola host many creative events to keep students entertained.

    Food and Dining

    The food is awesome. There is an on-campus dining hall, also many Cajun food shops on campus as well. Loyola also shares a dining hall with Tulane, and Loyola students are allowed to eat on Tulane's campus.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are pretty cozy. They are doing a lot of new construction to the dormitories this summer so that means UPDATED rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    Like I said above, Loyola is about academics. There is quite a bit of fun there as well. Also Tulane University is located next door which is always a plus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early. If a small university is ideal , then Loyola is the place for you. Do not pay attention to the expensive tuition; Loyola has paid 110% of my tuition. Do not let money be the deciding factor in your college decisions.

    In three sentences

    Loyola University is a wonderful school attend. If academics is your hot spot then Loyola is the place for you. Loyola focuses on education first.

  • 07/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Decent. I've never felt unsafe and if you need help, they do their best to accommodate.

    Greek Life

    Lame.

    Clubs and Activities

    Decent variety of activities, there are a lot of service-based clubs. No very good sports teams.

    Great for these types of students

    NOT a fratty kind of environment. Musicians do well here, there are tons! If you like to party, you'll like New Orleans.

    Bang for the buck

    Loyola is pricey, but being a private school...they give excellent scholarships for academics, community service, and musical aptitude. The price is reasonable for the unique, top-notch education you receive. As an out of state student, I don't get ripped off by out of state fees.

    What to do for fun

    New Orleans is a city built around celebrating life. Dancing, drinking (if you're of age, duh), TONS of good live music. Seriously, if you can't have fun here, you can't have fun anywhere. Lots of bars here are 18+ and even though they can't legally serve you, it's good enough to be able to go to bars.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay. Produce isn't great, but Loyola students can also eat in Tulane's dining halls, and if you use your Wolfbucks effectively, you can usually always find decent food. They serve pretty decent food most of the time and the vegetarian options have gotten much better in the past year.

    Dorm Life

    The ResLife program at Loyola is indefensibly stubborn and unaccommodating. Residential Life is quite possibly the only error of Loyola's ways. Dorms aren't great. INCREDIBLY overpriced. Live off campus, if you can.

    Academic Rigor

    As an honors student, I never struggle to find challenges academically. Some of the common curriculum courses are a touch too simple, but some classes here will push you incredibly hard to make the grade, but it's really what you make of it. Loyola offers really great course selections.

    Tips for prospective students

    The dorms are pretty bad, but everything about Loyola makes it worth it 1000 times over. If you want a big, fratty school-- this is not he place. However, if you want to go to a college with a vibrant, diverse student body, a beautiful but modestly sized campus in the heart of an electrifying city--this is your school!

    In three sentences

    Loyola's professors and staff care deeply about teaching to the 'full person'. Most student I know love the school, myself included, and despite the self-invested residential life program and money-greedy bureaucracies within the university, Loyola N.O. is the perfect University. It is easy to feel at home here, and I couldn't see myself anywhere else.

  • 07/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Some students have chosen not to wear shoes.

    What to do for fun

    Converse with friends, enjoy the day outside with other students or visit one of the many recreational spots Loyola offers.

    Food and Dining

    New Orleans cuisine is the best in the world and there is plenty of it at Loyola New Orleans.

    Dorm Life

    Could be better but is made better by the enjoyable atmosphere.

    Academic Rigor

    It can be difficult at times, but nothing is impossible here with a bit of effort. Loyola seems to accommodate to all students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard and work hard and you shall succeed at Loyola.

    In three sentences

    Loyola New Orleans is an excellent academic institution which is complemented by the smooth New Orleans environment.The people are more than friendly and more than willing to help.

  • 07/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every Friday our dining area will have fried or baked catfish and seafood gumbo to eat

    What to do for fun

    Spending time with friends or meeting new students is a fun way to spend your time. If you not socializing somewhere on campus or at an event, there will always be fun and entertaining options off of campus.

    Food and Dining

    There will be a variety of options of food to chose from on campus. Most of the food taste great especially the fried catfish. The dining area is a very friendly and welcome environment.

    Dorm Life

    Loyola Residential staff provide the best dorm life for students. They are willing to help you feel at home. Also there is no curfew.

    Academic Rigor

    Not every class you take at Loyola will not be a walk in the park. Most students say that their major classes are the most easiest than the common curriculum.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to Loyola ready to learn and have fun. There so many things to do around school that you may not have time for. So make sure you manage your time wisely.

    In three sentences

    Loyola is one of the best school to attend. The small campus environment makes it easy to know other students and professors. There will always be something to do on campus every week.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang out, go to the park, magazine street, the boot (bar), downtown new orleans, the zoo

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is pretty good, lots of different choices, and you can always run over to Tulane for more options.

    Dorm Life

    The rooms are spacious and comfortable. They all have air conditioning which is great, and Buddig has it's own bathrooms.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes for honors students are hard, but that's what you signed up for. Regular classes are easy to get through as long as you do your work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Choose Loyola over Tulane. Tulane might be better ranked, but ask any one in the area, and they'll tell you that Loyola is ten times better.

    In three sentences

    Loyola has the nicest people, the best food, and the greatest teachers. You can't walk the campus without seeing someone you know. The dorms are comfortable and up to date, too.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go see the city, have a night out on the town. There is always something to do if you look. New Orleans has plenty festivals, Mardi Gras, and great food, music, and more!

    Food and Dining

    The OR isn't that great, but we have retail and we can also take advantage of the dining options at Tulane which makes up for a lot.

    Dorm Life

    The people are very nice at Loyola and you are truly living among friends.

    Academic Rigor

    A lot of the classes are insightful and challenging. I haven't been dissapointed with many classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Dobt get caught up in the New Orleans scene and use the time you have wisely. Don't be afraid to ask for help, because there will always be someone there willin to help you.

    In three sentences

    Loyola is an amazing school. A lot of the professors are very experienced within their fields, and willing to help out. It's a lot of fun to be part of the pack.

  • 05/25/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    22 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Loyola offers a diverse campus, being located in New Orleans, LA.

    Tips for prospective students

    I am a prospective student, so I have some learning to do as well.

    Bang for the buck

    This college is expensive! For students looking at masters programs in the future, however, this many possible future scholarships and admittance!

    Will enjoy being here

    Loyola's campus is beautiful. If you haven't been I strongly suggest visiting. The campus life is easy to get involved in as they offer student lead, campus, and service groups to get involved with.

    Will learn a lot

    I love the student to teacher ratio and how the classes aren't seminar style like those on the campus of closer colleges es. LSU. A freshman class there is an auditorium and I can't learn like that!

  • 07/16/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 23 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    There are a lot of scholarships offered and from what I can tell a lot of students are there on financial aid.

    Will enjoy being here

    I've only been to campus twice so far, once for a visit and once for orientation, but Loyola is such a pleasant place to be. New Orleans is such an amazing city and there is so much to do! I definitely haven't been this excited about going back to school ever.

    Will learn a lot

    From talking to upperclassmen, it seems the professors have a genuine interest in educating and bettering the minds of their students.

  • 08/23/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    24 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    You will love it here!!!

    Bang for the buck

    It may have not been in my price range but I will work it out because I see myself getting an education here.

    Will enjoy being here

    The people are nice, the counselors help you with everything you need, and you can get things done!!

    Will learn a lot

    I I have found some of the information that was issued to me very helpful!!

  • 09/08/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    25 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who can deal with hot and humid weather, and also can spend their winters without snow.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the school!

    Bang for the buck

    The city of New Orleans offers students countless opportunities. Since Tulane is also conveniently located across the street, students have options to take classes at either school.

    Will enjoy being here

    It is in a beautiful area.

  • 11/11/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    26 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    I really, really think I would love going here! It's definitely one of the top schools on my list... But I haven't been able to visit the campus yet. What's the environment on campus like?!

  • 03/18/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    27 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    It's New Orleans.. Everything is fun.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has really good food and a lot to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are SMALL!

    Academic Rigor

    I haven't started classes at Loyola yet, but I took rigorous classes in high school and have a high ACT score and I got in, so I'm assuming a lot will be expected out of you in the classroom.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply before December 1 for the best scholarships. Apply for the FAFSA early. Take a campus tour before May 1 and you'll be eligible for a on-time only $1,000 scholarship. Visit campus because the pictures on thei website dont do Loyola justice. Campus is BEAUTIFUL!

    In three sentences

    Loyola is a small school in a big city. They are a close-knit community of students from all over the world. They really want students to be well-rounded.

  • 05/07/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    28 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    It's New Orleans! Party!

    Food and Dining

    The Orleans Room, OR as we call it. Has ok food but is getting better.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is amazing!

    Academic Rigor

    It's a pretty demanding school but you can get by with working moderately hard

    Tips for prospective students

    Join as many extracurricular activities as possible

    In three sentences

    A beautiful campus with great faculty and a complex student body that embodies Jesuit Education. A school with the perfect student to teacher ratio for music. A great school for the liberal arts

  • 05/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are many police on patrol 24 hours a day

    Greek Life

    so so

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many volunteering opportunities

    Great for these types of students

    religious, non-religious, hippies, hipsters, music, liberal arts, English, education

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Mass and pancakes occurs the Sunday at before final exams. French toast is served in the cafeteria after Sunday mass. It's awesome!

    Bang for the buck

    You will receive an excellent education. The teachers are very friendly.

    What to do for fun

    It's New Orleans! The city is your playground!!!

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is delicious when you visit and for the first week, but it only goes downhill from then.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms do not have many programs.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a challenging university.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your financial situation together before attending because it has a hefty tuition but is worth every penny.

    In three sentences

    Loyola is a great, intimate, small school where you will get lots of attention. You will be expected to have moral values but they do not necessarily have to line up with Catholicism even though it is a Jesuit school. The music program is stupendous.

  • 06/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are campus police always walking around, both on Loyola's Campus and Tulane's Campus (located right next door).

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs to become a part of and activities held in the Residential Quad. This past years activities include paintball, water balloon fights, free offers of King Cake during Mardi Gras season, and every once in a while, free Cane's chicken!

    Great for these types of students

    This is a great music school. A couple bands were created last year and they put on shows in basements or places like Cafe P.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Mass and Pancakes is a great tradition for Loyno.

    What to do for fun

    Living in New Orleans, there's always something going on. Not only are you around for Mardi Gras, there are also parades for various holidays. Across from campus is Audubon Park and Audubon Zoo. The street car is in front of campus too, allowing you to easily get downtown for dining at restaurants or to walk around Bourbon Street. Loyola has a great music and bar scene as well. Many events have shuttles so you have a ride to and from concerts. And, for all of you who must know, you only need to be 18 for most bars! There are three located less than a mile from campus, so you'll never be bored on the weekends.

    Food and Dining

    The Orleans Room has great food, many of which are inspired by southern NOLA cooking (like Gumbo and Catfish Friday, Yum!). With your meal plan you can also eat at Tulane's Dining hall, Bruff Commons. With wolfbucks, you are able to purchase food from the Market, a place similar to a convenience store, La Davina, a small cafe with paninis, soups, and salads, Satchmo's, an amazing sushi bar, Flambeaux's, a po-boy shop, as well as places on Tulane's Campus! Tulane has the LBC, which includes places like Panda Express, Quiznos, and Einstein's Bagels.

    Dorm Life

    There are four dorms to choose from throughout your stay at Loyola University New Orleans. Each dorm as it's perks. Biever Hall's perk is as an incoming freshman, you live with all freshman! It's the easiest way to meet people in your grade who are going through the same thing as you. Biever was also recently updated. The perks to Buddig hall is the guarantee to having a double room (you and one other roommate, whereas Biever has half triple rooms). Another perk in Buddig is having your own bathroom. Bievers are communal. Carrolton Hall is for upperclassmen and here you have the opportunity to live in apartment style rooms with 4-5 other people. Cabra Hall, located on the Broadway Campus is for upperclassmen as well and is shut down for the 2012-13 year for reconstruction. They should be very nice once they reopen for the 2012-14 year.

    Academic Rigor

    This college is definitely challenging and advanced classes are offered. Many professors are approachable and willing to help you if your grades are low.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're considering going to Loyola there are many ways to learn about the school without making the trip to NOLA. A popular social aspect is the Class of ____ page on Facebook. One is created for each class and there you get to meet others interested in the school, ask questions to which Residential Life administrators can answer, as well as get opinions for upperclassmen. The campus tours are also great, allowing you to get a feel for what campus life feels like, as well as taking tours throughout the city to places like swamps!

    In three sentences

    Loyola University New Orleans is a very well-rounded school with a friendly atmosphere both inside the classroom and out. Professors are very amicable and easy to approach. An added bonus is the wonderful, cultured city it's located in!

  • 06/22/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    31 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Loyola is a little expensive. The financial aid is quite good, however.

    What to do for fun

    Fun is what New Orleans and Loyola are all about. Whether it is during the day or at night people know how to do it right in New Orleans! Bars are more popular than parties and there are plenty of bars with different atmospheres from college partying to live music in the French Quarter you will find something you enjoy!

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty alright. Since Loyola is small there is essentially one dining hall, but they try to offer a variety of options. Near the end of the semester they tend to get a little creative (ie: putting left-overs from the previous day on pizza) but you can usually find something.

    Dorm Life

    I would recommend living off campus as soon as possible. The dorms are a little deteriorated (which they are working on). However, living in the dorms and sharing a room is a lot of fun for the first year!

    Academic Rigor

    Loyola can be challenging if you can challenge yourself. Education is what you make of it. Some students like to take the easy way out and this is possible at Loyola. However, those who are interesting in expanding their minds and perspectives are able to do so in a personalized learning environment.

    Tips for prospective students

    Loyola is not the school with the state-of-the-dorms or the football team. Students find fun exploring New Orleans, enjoying the great food and music, and making the city their home.

    In three sentences

    Loyola New Orleans is a close community of students and faculty working together to help each other and the community. Students come from all over the country to pursue liberal arts degrees, including music industry, philosophy, music therapy, English and more. Overall Loyola is a laid-back, fun community located in culturally-rich New Orleans.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is safe, but it doesn't always feel that way because it is an open campus. There are not fences or walls keeping anyone from the city off of campus. LUPD is very active and responds quickly if ever needed and the blue light system makes me feel safe whenever I'm walking around campus. Being completely honest though, if you don't feel comfortable not living around fences in a medium sized city then this isn't the place for you. Safety regulations are strict in dorms though.

    Greek Life

    I am involved with Greek life, but in a more non-traditional way. I am part of Sigma Alpha Iota, a music fraternity for women on campus. The awesome thing about Loyola Greek life is that it's so diverse. The social frats and sororities (like at any school) can be time and money demanding, but it is easy to find the part of Greek life you would like to be involved in.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many different clubs on campus! It's hard to balance it all if you join too many things, but a lot of the clubs will have activities that are open to everyone so if you have class during the meetings you can still participate in activities with them.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students that want to have a fun time at school, but learn something. It is definitely the kind of school the effort you put into your work shows. It's really easy to get sucked into New Orleans crazy lifestyle, but if you are smart about it and don't get too crazy you'll love it.

    Bang for the buck

    For a private school it's pretty inexpensive. The professors I've had really try to make sure the books they require us to buy are inexpensive (but not bad books).

    What to do for fun

    There are so many things to do for fun! There are so many jazz shows to go to (students and professionals). There's a great night life there, but there is always something to do whether it be go to the zoo across the street or go Zydeco dancing at Tipitinas.

    Food and Dining

    Some of the food you can get at the OR can be questionable, but for the most part it's pretty good. The benefit of going to Loyola is that you not only have dining choices from the ones on our campus, but also at Tulane which is really helpful if you just want a break from eating Loyola food.

    Dorm Life

    Depends on what floor and what building you live in. They are doing construction so all the residence halls are going to be so much nicer this fall!

    Academic Rigor

    I think it depends on what major you have. Each college within the college is challenging in very different ways from each other.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask as many questions as you can to the students and faculty. It's challenging to switch majors because of how small the school is, so be relatively clear that your major is what you really want to do. Be prepared to take classes you may not feel comfortable taking. The common curriculum requires that you take a certain amount of classes in the other colleges on campus to be a more diverse person (the amount depends on your major).

    In three sentences

    Loyola University-New Orleans is a small and caring Jesuit school. I love the professors in the music department because they are so knowledgeable and open. The students are as diverse and friendly as the faculty.

  • 07/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    On campus is safe, but you really have to watch yourself when you are anywheres in the city.

    Greek Life

    Due to the size on the school, it is not that big, however, most of my friends are greek and I participated in much of the greek life activities. I would recommend it, Greek life is not over bearing, it's more of a side club then a way of life like at the larger schools.

    Clubs and Activities

    They always have a club for anyone to join, and they all have pretty much the same people in them, so they're an incredible way to experience the school.

    Great for these types of students

    Music, arts, political science, and business students. I am fairly quiet and I still flourished here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The top of the parking garage is a beautiful spot for students to see the entire New Orleans skyline. They also have many different student planned competitions that fun, like bar crawls and city wide scavenger hunts.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is extremely expensive, and only plans to rise. However, the school is small, so you're paying for the best professors and networking in the country. So I all depends on your preference and how much financial aid you get.

    What to do for fun

    Everything, the city is your playground. I have not had as much fun in my life as I did my freshman year in New Orleans.

    Food and Dining

    The dinning gets old very quick and by the end of the semester you will be tired of the same things. However Loyola does a joint dinning board with Tulane University, so we share all of their dinning facilities which helps out in the long run.

    Dorm Life

    Depending on where you live, you will get mixed reviews. I resided on 10th floor Buddig Hall. I was not impressed at all with the dorms, but they are being redone as of 2012, so prospect students will enjoy a new building.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not get caught up in the festivities of New Orleans, stay on track and keep heading where you want to go.

    In three sentences

    The school is very small and personal, but easily the best choice in my book. The city is unique and beautiful offering students something to do every night. The city acts as a campus which is a huge advantage for students.

  • 10/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can take the street car to alot of places around the city and there are a few bars a few streets away from the campus.

    Food and Dining

    The foods pretty good. Our cafeteria is called the OR which most of the time is really good also we can go to any of the food places on Tulanes campus.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is fine. I lived in Biever Hall my freshman year. I wanted Budding but now I actually prefer Biever I like not having to wash my own shower and the atmosphere is a lot nicer than Budding. It makes you feel like you're in a big family.

    Academic Rigor

    Loyola really challenges your way of thinking. The school encourages you to think outside of the box which you end up using in other aspects of you life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know that you can always come to your professors for help. The school is really helpful in all kinds of ways

    In three sentences

    Loyola is VERY diverse be prepared to meet people from all over. There are ALOT of places to eat around the school. The C-store is really expensive.

  • 10/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Artsy, music industry, independent, outgoing

    What to do for fun

    It is New Orleans you'll never run out of things to do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early, and apply for the cardoner or spark program!

    In three sentences

    Amazing school! Loyola is a really close community that after just a few months will feel like family. The teachers are always really helpful and nice and since its a small school they know your name! You're not just a number here.

  • 11/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    VERY SAFE!

    Greek Life

    Exists, but you can get along just fine by not being apart of the Greek scene.

    Clubs and Activities

    Anything you can think of, or you can create a new club.

    Great for these types of students

    People that are comfortable being themselves. The people that are different.

    What to do for fun

    The Boot. The Palms. Bourbon Street.

    Food and Dining

    Only problem is the OR (cafe) open and closes at certain times, but there are other options, and you can always go like right across the street to Tulane's campus.

    Dorm Life

    Biever is fun but you never know what you are walking into. Buddig is the best, very quiet and sort of not exciting.

    Academic Rigor

    I do not find it very hard. But then again, I have not been here for long.

    In three sentences

    I love this school. The people here are very accepting of anyone different. They also try very hard to plan many events, and most of them are great events.

  • 01/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I would say you are remotely safe. Just follow the basic rules when you're walking at night: stay safe, try to walk with a friend , stay in lighted areas. I've received a few emails about thefts and violence going on around Tulane campuses, but I haven't ran into anything yet.

    Great for these types of students

    I think Loyola is great for people who like smaller city, something near the countryside with great food in general. If you're from the north like me, It's a great experience to venture out for and try. If you're Catholic, this school can provide a great religious journey. And well...if you like to party, seafood, or if you like warm winters, this is the place for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every December, the school manufactures snow in the front of the campus for students and anyone who can make it. Its a fun time in the snow before the holidays start .

    Bang for the buck

    Loyola is very generous, so don't stress out about the 46,000 tuition!! I was worried at one point about paying it all of, but I've gotten a lot of money from them and I'm doing just fine.

    Food and Dining

    The food down here is great. They have a variety of fresh items like pizza, a salad/cereal bar, freshly baked things, and a different meal for dinner every night. Every now and again, we'll have something that the school only passes out maybe once or twice a month or even semester--things like steak, crawfish, smoked salmon, and other delicious meals.

    Dorm Life

    Well, it depends on who you are. In MY experience, I live on The Dreaded Sixth Floor of Biever Hall, where everyone is a party-hard person, in constant to my quiet lifestyle. The grotesque part comes in at the bathrooms, where after a long night of partying, the bathrooms and water fountains are...gross (understatement). My dorm stays clean since me and my roommates are barely in it, though I would have rathered a dorm alone.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging, but flexible. Every teacher I've had was approachable and will help you should a problem arise. Whether they are strict or lenient depends on their teaching style, but don't be afraid to ask anyone for help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared: Teachers may pound into your head all the time College is a different ball game you know, that stuff you dont hear. It's true. Be prepared to push your limits and to study hard. Time management: Time management is really important and time has no room for procrastination at this point. It's way better to finish early than to rush and finish on time or late. Limits: It's okay to have fun--go to parties, meet people, etc. But don't take it so far to the point that your performance suffers. Know your personal limits and remember that college isn't all fun and games.

    In three sentences

    Loyola University is a very fast-paced school that really pushes on your strengths and weaknesses for you to be a better person. Albeit being a private religious school, Loyola is affordable and open to any religion that comes into their door. The smaller size of the classes offer more one-on one time, and if you want a larger class, you are able to take classes at our neighboring university Tulane, giving us a greatly diverse area.

  • 01/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is pretty good. There is only one police station on campus but as campus is only a couple blocks in area they have no trouble covering it quickly. If there is any emergency Tulane Emergency Medical Service is right next door at Tulane University so there is never a long wait for medical care.

    Great for these types of students

    There are many music, arts, and performance students of all types here. I feel that this school is really a good place for people involved in the fine arts to bloom.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Before a big test or exam some will rub the feet of the St. Ignatius statue for good luck.

    Bang for the buck

    I think that the tuition to attend the school is well priced. There are small classes and really well informed teachers. I believe that the cost of living on campus is overpriced though.

    What to do for fun

    Loyola is in uptown New Orleans, so there is plenty to do off campus. There are also many events and concerts on campus to keep you entertained.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good, but not amazing. Keep in mind that you are eating in a cafeteria and not a fine dining restaurant

    Dorm Life

    The Freshman dorms are below par and overpriced in my opinion. They are quite small and 2 to 3 people are assigned to each room. If possible try to get into the Buddig halls your first year on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I have found some classes difficult but for the most part the difficulty of the classes has been average to easy. It really just depends on which teacher you end up with.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask about your teacher before you sign up a class to get an idea of their curriculum and whether their teaching style matches up with your learning style. Do not overload yourself with too many classes.

    In three sentences

    Loyola has a really nice atmosphere due to its small student body and campus. So far I have not had a class of more than 30 students so it has been really easy to ask questions from the teachers and get to know them. As far as classes there is a good balance between those that are challenging and those that are simple which has made studying and homework manageable.

  • 02/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are bars and other fun places around campus, but many freshman enjoy going around the French Quarter on various nights.

    Food and Dining

    The food is amazing. The choices range between various southern dishes, and each one is better than the last. Another good thing about attending this small university, is that you'll also have access to Tulanes food court.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is the best part of the whole college experience. The rooms, even in the budget dormitories, are all very spacious and lovely.

    Academic Rigor

    Schedules are never too hectic and the class timing gives anyone adequate time in between for rest or whatever they must get done in between. Some teachers method of teaching may seem a little high school, but with every lesson plan printed and handed to you, you can always get ahead of your work and be ready ahead of time to ask questions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay calm new comers, this place will quickly become home before you know it.

    In three sentences

    Very well located campus, right next door to Tulane University. The teachers are all willing to help make your college experience the best possible. Also, the city itself becomes your classroom as you venture out and participate in assignments based around the city's culture.

  • 03/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None.

    Great for these types of students

    party animals, non-traditional, and unique students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    can't think of any

    What to do for fun

    Mardi gras, Lundi Gras, drive thru daquiri shops, and party! Tulane has plenty of frat parties.

    Food and Dining

    Food is okay

    Dorm Life

    Dorms suck!

    Academic Rigor

    pretty challenging school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Advocate, advocate, advocate. Enyoy beautiful New Orleans, and develop friendships with the natives down there. There is no place like NOLA!

    In three sentences

    The school is very diverse, and has a wide array of multicultural programs and student activities. But, the campus buildings need to be remodeled.

  • 04/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    New Orleans is an exciting city, there is no lack of things to do.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is okay. Be sure to get lots of wolfbucks

    Dorm Life

    Try not to get a three person room, they are too small.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are hard but the professors are very supportive and helpful

    Tips for prospective students

    Register for housing as soon as you can. There is a housing crisis ALL the time.

    In three sentences

    The small community and specialized learning makes for an excellent education. The environment makes for a warm living and comforting learning space. The surrounding areas and city are an exciting enriching area as well.

  • 05/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    The organizations are fantastic. There is always something going on and however you want to get involved, you can.

    Great for these types of students

    Liberal arts, humanities, etc.

    Bang for the buck

    The on campus resources are great. The small professor to student ratio makes every penny worth it. You get to know your professors and they get to know you. While it always stays professional, it is useful to know that if you need help with a class, the professors are willing to assist you.

    What to do for fun

    Try different restaurants. Go to the French Quarter. At least one organization will have something going on every night.

    Food and Dining

    The Orleans Room is great for every meal. If you want something different, you can go to Flambeauxs or any restaurant in New Orleans. That is the beauty of living there.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are fun but always wear shower shoes. They are actually quite enjoyable and it is useful to know that many of the people you are in class with, live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes can be challenging but are not impossible. Keep up with your work and go to office hours.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be friendly. Be open to trying different organizations. Utilize on-campus resources such as, the WAC Lab (Writing Across the Curriculum), the mathematics center and ARC (Academic Resource Center). Go to office hours and get to know your professors. The professor to student ratio is small for a reason. Lastly, work hard and enjoy yourself.

    In three sentences

    Loyola University New Orleans is a fantastic school especially if you are involved in the liberal arts. The campus is small but Incredibly beautiful, in part because it is located in New Orleans. The Loyola community is welcoming and you will find friends here.

  • 06/22/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    43 of 51

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I am a prospective student researching about this school. I wanted to know, How many possible extracurricular activities does Loyola have?

  • 07/02/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    44 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Party!!! It's New Orleans....need I say more.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is amazing. Go to the gym so you wont get fat

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are small but if you use it for sleeping and just studying, your good.

    Academic Rigor

    It's hard but if you study, go to class, and party just enough less...you'll do fine and pass your class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on campus!!!!!

    In three sentences

    I can't wait to go here. It's expensive but in a way where I find every penny is worth it. This is going to be a great experience.

  • 07/10/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    45 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Going out is a big part of living in New Orleans. It's crazy going downtown, and not in a good way. I would recommend planning out your nights in advance, like going to a show or an event at a club or a party or something fun. Also, if you have a car, go to the beach!

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty decent and there's a pretty good variety.

    Dorm Life

    Living in the dorms is dirty, noisy, and pretty gross. However, as it is at every school, it's great for bonding. However, it is super dirty and gross. I wouldn't live in there for more than year.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend to be very outgoing. You should also visit New Orleans for a while before you decide to go because it is not a city for everyone.

    In three sentences

    Loyola is a great school if you're a music major, education-wise. However the offices are as slow and disorganized as the city it's in. The community is a little obsessed with itself and is overbearing.

  • 12/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe, there are many blue lights (which are alarms in case someone is in trouble they can press the button, and the light that goes off is blue) that alarm the LUPD which is the campus's police department that there is a problem.

    Greek Life

    There is over 300 different clubs and activities and over 1/3 of the student population is in a sorority or fraternity .

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities, and many ways to join, just meet the right people.

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities on campus but if you feel like you want to go out, there is. A Club it isn't a top notch club, but its OK, plus its right down the street from school. Its called the boot which people 18+ can go to.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good, But it gets aggravating when Tulane comes over and takes up all the utensils

    Dorm Life

    The people are all different and you will make many friends throughout the entire semester.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips I might add, is get some sleep and plan out your schedule. Make sure you have time to breathe and have some fun.

    In three sentences

    In three sentences I would sum up Loyola as being one of the most culturally diverse schools around. It is a challenging school, but it is well worth the hard work, plus it's in the middle of New Orleans, meaning you're not far from all the fun. The whole campus is a five minute walk from front to back, so you have a lot of leeway, I highly recommend this school.

  • 12/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always police men and women walking around. They are friendly and always doing their job. The police station is right next to the dorms.

    Bang for the buck

    Everyone is different here. We do not just wear Loyola shirts everyday. Everyone dress different and weird. You can tell the difference between a Tulane and a Loyola student.

    What to do for fun

    There are fun things to do on campus and in the dorms. The RA always have something plan for everyone to do. There are always fun and free activities going on. There is also a club two blocks away from campus that a lot of Tulane and Loyola students go to.

    Food and Dining

    The food is really good and there are different options to choose from. There are different places to go and eat. We also can swipe our meal cards at Tulane University which is right across the street. We also can use our wolfbucks at their food court. Awesome!

    Dorm Life

    There are four dorm buildings to choose from. The lease expensive is beiver and buddig. Buddig is made like a suite and it is better than the freshman dorm beiver. The upperclassman dorms are more nice and feels more like home. Those are more expensive.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are there to help. They bond with you and know you by your name instead of a student ID number. There are a lot of opportunities for 1 on 1 help.

    In three sentences

    Loyola is the most smallest, diverse, and friendly college ever. Everyone is like family. You are more than just a student.

  • 12/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Cops are always on patrol on and around campus. I've never witness and harassment or on campus violence. They have emergence panic button around the entire campus and on surrounding street.

    Clubs and Activities

    The school doesn't have many clubs, but it hold a lot of student based activities (talent shows, performances, student held events)

    Great for these types of students

    Student interested in music and arts.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Unlike some colleges known for football and basketball Loyola has the 3rd best quidditch in the state

    Bang for the buck

    There are so many opportunities giving to Loyola university students. We also are allowed to use all of Tulane school, so it like being on two college campuses. This includes being able to take their classes and join their clubs.

    What to do for fun

    There is a game room ,music studios, and gym available to student. On each residential floor there are smart tv that are easily accessible. I spend most of my time in the music building playing the variety of instruments which are available to students.

    Food and Dining

    There are a number of places to get food on Loyola campus . This included over 9 places on the campus it self. Loyola students are also allowed to eat at Tulane's dining facilities including their 14 store food center.

    Dorm Life

    I enjoy the dorm life. The RA's are nice and there are always events going on. These event hosted by the school are student body included live shows, free food, and fun activities.

    Academic Rigor

    Loyola is a very rigorous university. The work isn't alway easy or fun but the course are stimulating.

    Tips for prospective students

    If Loyola is one of your college option take the time to make sure it right for you. It not a party college nor is the campus very large.

    In three sentences

    Loyola is a great college with a wonderful art and music program. It has complete gym and amazing library. Along with teacher who are dedicated to teaching and will work one on one with students.

  • 02/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of fun activities that our student government puts on for the student population. We have a really nice gym with all sorts of equipment, a pool where there are monthly movies, we have a fitness fair and yoga in the quad, we have a Quidditch team that competes with other schools.

    Food and Dining

    The Orleans Room is the main cafeteria on campus. On campus we also have a convenience store on campus that is open until midnight every day, Subway, Smoothie King, a burger joint, a sushi place and a bakery. In addition to that we can also use our wolfbucks on the Tulane campus where there is a Panda Express, Baja Fresh, a smoothie place, Einsteins bagels and more!

    Dorm Life

    The freshmen dorms can get a bit noisy on the weekends, but other than that, it's really not too bad. The rooms are really nice with exposed brick and a TON of outlets. It IS small, but there is definitely enough room for your personal space.

    Academic Rigor

    The work is hard, but do not be discouraged if you don't get an A in every class, as the semesters go by you will find a studying technique that works for you and your lifestyle. We also have a writing lab and an academic resource center for tutoring. If you are having trouble, talk to your professor, they will most likely have a suggestion that can help you out.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking at Loyola University for your college career, I would recommend that you visit and take a look for yourself. Look around on the campus, but also look at the people, the smiling faces. Inquire to sit in on a class, talk to a professor that teaches in a subject you are interested in.

    In three sentences

    Loyola is a friendly atmosphere with an open mind and progressive views on today's issues. If you are looking for a small campus with a strong sense of community with great values and admired morals, this is the place for you. It is more than I could have ever dreamed of.

  • 03/07/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    50 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    The program I was searching for is a very rare one and a lot of times colleges don't seem to show strong potential in a Music Industry program but Loyola New Orleans has the Music Industry Studies program that is exactly what I had been searching all over for.

    In three sentences

    I originally found this college through lists that had been posted online of beautiful college dorms. I can't wait to start school here and enjoy the lush grass and beauty of the architecture all throughout the city.

  • 04/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Loyola University Police Deapartment will walk with you on campus to make sure you feel safe if you ask. Also, we have Safe Ride which is good for students that live off-campus ,and close to the school. LUPD communicates with New Orleans Police Department to keep students informed about local robberies and suspicious people in the neighborhood.

    Clubs and Activities

    You can easily start your own club or inter mural team here with just ten members, but with over 80 clubs and intramural sports teams we probably already have something for you. Getting involved on campus provides you with great experiences to pad both your resume and your memory. Greek Life is small, also a great way to be involved on campus. Work study jobs are great here, too. The school wants to make sure you a have a great college experience.

    Great for these types of students

    If you appreciate ethnic, racial, religious,and sexual orientation/identification diversity this school is for you. Also, if you are not from America , but want to go to college here this is the place for you. If you plan on majoring in the mass communications, film studies, or business field are school and this area for film is the best place for you. If you went to a Jesuit high school, and would like to go to a Jesuit university this school is for you. If you want to go to a small private school for public school costs, this school is for you. The list goes on.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    For the past two years, students take letters from the Loyola sign at the front of the school and make it spell YOLO during Mardi Gras. The school doesn't give us any grief about it; they just replace the letters. It's a little funny, and in a way, it's kind of a tradition now.

    Bang for the buck

    You definitely get a great bang for your buck with all the cool experiences, unique opportunities, education provided by Loyola.

    What to do for fun

    It's New Orleans what can't you do for fun. Every third Friday Loyola has a party. Special events are always going on especially on Tuesdays and Thursdays during (the window) 12 - 2. The movie club shows movies every Friday afternoon. Mission & Ministry spiritual camping retreats. You could go downtown to the French Quarter, or go to Vaso on Frenchman Street. For fun eats go to Little Tokyo and sing karaoke, or enjoy yourself at one of the many annual festivals held in New Orleans like Voo Doo Fest. I mean the possibilities are endless.

    Food and Dining

    I like that when can eat at both Loyola and Tulane campuses. It provides you with variety, and for students that take classes at Tulane or Loyola's Broadway campus convenience. Sodexo the company that provides food for both puts out surveys to get student feedback and they reward you for it ,too. Sodexo is always having themed dinner nights like Carnival night. Dining would be better if are wolf bucks worked at local restaurants which is being discussed for the future. If we could get the money we don't use back or applied to our whole time at Loyola.

    Dorm Life

    For freshman, Biever provides a built-in community, but not everyone in your community cleans up behind his-self, so beware of community bathrooms. Buddig houses themed living communities that you pay more to live in, it's kind of like being in a club or a Greek organization, but without the pledging. Some living communities take a class together their freshman year. The rooms are a good size in all of the residence halls.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are great and the upper-level class work is challenging, but it is definitely manageable to have fun and do well in school. Your success in school is what you make of it.

    Tips for prospective students

    If money is a problem, it is not a problem here. Admissions will throw money at students and help you to get the best financial aid package available.

    In three sentences

    Loyola University is a diverse community in the heart of New Orleans. It is rich in culture, and the professors here are excellent.