Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Lubbock Christian University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/07/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 out of 14 people found this review useful. 1 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People looking for a church affiliated university, people who want a successful athletic program for any of the programs offered here, and people who just want to have fun and meet new people and be called by their name in class instead of a number.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are really looking for small classes and that one on one time with your teacher then this is the place for you. This college is a well-oriented Christian college and they base a lot of their ideals around serving God. If you want an atmosphere of students and faculty that walk by you with a smiling face each day ready to meet new people, you will find a lot of that here. People here are really friendly and you will have tons of friends within weeks.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love the residence I live in and also the women's varsity basketball team's success. This is my second year here and I've grown to like it more and more each year.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors here really make sure that you learn the material they are teaching. Classes are small so you really can have one on one time with your teacher if you are not understanding something. They will give you their office ours as well as set aside some of their personal time just to make sure you learning and passing.

  • 10/15/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 2 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People that are willing to learn. People who are wanting to grow in a faith. Athletes, girls and guys.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to grow in your faith and in your education go to school here. There is no lie in the title Life changing university.

    Am enjoying being here

    All of the people here are amazing. This does not just have christian in it's title we have it in our actions. I feel so at home and so in love with all of my teachers and all of the wonderful friends I have made here.

    Am learning a lot

    All of my professors are very knowledgeable and they want to share that with all of us. It is not just about the money to them. They sincerely care about our education.

  • 04/13/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who work hard and want to better themselves by getting involved and growing spiritually.

    Tips for prospective students

    Jump in and get to know your professors. They'll help you in any way they can.

    Bang for the buck

    This is a private school so I don't expect it to be free, and yet I'm surprised at how competitively priced their tuition is. In comparison to other Chistian Universities, I find LCU to sometimes come in at half the price. When I compare LCU to big state schools, I'm also surprised that there's not a huge amount of difference in overal cost.

    Am enjoying being here

    The atmosphere is catching. Everyone loves being here, and there's just a pulse throughout campus life that encourages me to get involved. The activities on campus directed by different departments and Student Senate are great ways to get people plugged in. At LCU I'm having the best experience of my life.

    Am learning a lot

    My professors push me to do better. They are always checking up on me to see how things are going, not just in their class, but in all areas. I've been blessed to study Business at a university where the teachers genuinely care. They help instill professionalism within every aspect of my life, and truly care about my success after graduation.

  • 10/04/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 4 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you're a person who wants to be surrounded by loving people who treat each other with respect, LCU is the place for you. Here you're not just a number like at state schools, here you have your own identity and people will know you for you. Also if you're a student that thinks you're going to mess up in college, come here. I was one of those students and since I've been here i have done nothing but get my work in and not party everyday. The cool thing is that i still have TONS OF FUN!! Come here and you won't regret a thing.

    Tips for prospective students

    For Prospective students.... I would recommend getting your applications in as quickly as possible so that you may be ready for the intense loving place that LCU is.

    Bang for the buck

    LCU is expensive, and they just raised tuition this year by a lot. When it comes to getting the best value for your dollar i honestly do believe that attending Lubbock Christian University is the best thing to do. The help, accountability, and awesome atmosphere is most definitely the place to be.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am an accounting major. With that comes a ton of tedious work, but there are many things that one can become involved with. For instance, I am in IKoinonia, a social club here on campus, a brotherhood. I also contribute by being a part of the student senate where we regulate student events and money distribution. I also run with SIFE (students in free enterprise) that helps small and up coming businesses conduct the way they would like.

    Am learning a lot

    When it comes to the curriculum, there couldn't be a better one. The way professors teach us while incorporating Christian values is so amazing. One on one help is something a lot of students take advantage of; i know i do. Whether help is contributed by a tutor or even the professor, you are always able to get one on one help with anything you may need.

  • 05/04/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It's great for student who like to have smaller classes and like their professors to know them by name.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't take morning classes if you aren't a morning person.

    Bang for the buck

    It's pricey, but it is worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love everything about LCU. It is a great learning enviornment, and it is a beautiful campus. Everyone always seems to be in the best of moods.

    Am learning a lot

    I am able to focus a whole lot better because the classes are small and there are less distractions. I love that all my professors know me by name and not just as a number.

  • 04/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    LCU's campus is very safe. We have at least two security guards that drive around campus and in the neighborhoods close by 24-7.

    Greek Life

    LCU doesn't exactly have greek life, but social clubs; four girl social clubs and four guy clubs. This is a great opportunity to meet new people as well, and the clubs do their own activities - on and off campus. One tradition I didn't mention was Master Follies, similar to sing song, the clubs compete against each other for many titles.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many academic clubs on LCU's campus and activities. The activities will depend on your major. However, in the semester LCU will perform community events that everyone is encouraged to join.

    Great for these types of students

    Lubbock Christian University will impact every student in a different way.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Since LCU's mascot is the chaparral we have two bronze statues on campus and every year students will climb on the chaps to take a picture, but it's more of an unsaid tradition because you have to do it at night. Another tradition you will see it at orientation, on the last day current students and alumni will line the walk ways with glow sticks and we will sing worship songs while the incoming students walk past. This leads into a big devotional that ends the freshman orientation.

    Bang for the buck

    LCU is one of the least expensive private universities but what we do spend we can see it on campus. The LCU staff is always adding new things to campus to make it better. And the teachers are magnificent.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, LCU provides a few activities every semester such as Zombies vs. Humans and you get to dress as a zombie (if that's the side you choose), in the recreational center there is rock wall, intramural are year round, and campus golf. Some times the staff with bring in bounce houses and it might sound silly, but they are a great tool for relieving stress, plus its really fun! Off campus Lubbock offers the drive in, bowling allies, the mall, and a plethora of parks to choose from.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe provides another great place to meet new friends. The food is pretty good and you can back for as much as you want! The dining hall is not very big so it isn't overwhelming when you first walk in.

    Dorm Life

    Living in the dorms gives you the opportunity to meet life long friends. The dorms always have some type of event bringing everyone together, but there is always a quite place provided if the hallways become to noisy. The dorms are conveniently close to every building on campus as well.

    Academic Rigor

    The teacher's at LCU really challenge your classroom skills and set high expectations for you. They do so because they want you to push yourself to do great.

    Tips for prospective students

    The campus is small but it would still be beneficial to locate the buildings were your potential classes could be. With the campus being small the class sizes are no bigger than forty students per teacher. Even though the school's foundation is Church of Christ, your denomination doesn't omit you from becoming a student at LCU.

    In three sentences

    Lubbock Christian University is the definition of home away from home. Its campus is welcoming with its Bible versus written in the concrete and everyone has a warm welcome. The education is superb and the teacher's care about you beyond the classroom.

  • 04/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our safety crew is awesome and will walk you to where ever you need to go.

    Greek Life

    We have social clubs that center around the love of Christ.

    Clubs and Activities

    Social Clubs: Not sororities or frats (well besides Sub T 16) are really fun to get involved in. Aggies club: Agricultural club Senate: Student Government SIFE and many more!

    Great for these types of students

    Students who love a fun atmosphere

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Marriage Swing: couples that sit on it are destined to get married. LCU stands for Love Connection University, get your ring by spring! TWIRP week stands for The Woman Is Required To Pay. Girls ask your boyfriends, crushes, or guy friends out to some free fun sponsored by senate!! Usually includes a Hypnotist.. awesome!

    Bang for the buck

    It's cheaper than ACU! You get a lot here for your money, and I'm happy with the education that I get here for the money that I spend. It is well worth it!

    What to do for fun

    SUB LIFE! Hang out in the sub and play pool, air hockey, ping pong, and shuffleboard. There are places to sit and chat on campus, and even swings all around! Also Whataburger stops at 12 in the morning are always fun with friends!

    Food and Dining

    Food, we have some awesome chicken fried stake and mashed potatoes! We have a burger and fries line, pizza line, sandwich line, and a salad bar. We even have 16 different cereals all day every day and 8 different flavors of ice cream around the clock.

    Dorm Life

    Of course Dorms aren't the greatest anywhere, but you really get to know your neighbors and have fun in the dorms. It's a great experience! And the cleaning staff is truly amazing.

    Academic Rigor

    They really make sure that you are getting the most you can out of classes and teaching you everything they know.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check it out! I never would have known that this was the school for me if I hadn't got involved with the staff and the Be Blue dinners they held. Also come and see us, we love to see prospective students walking around campus!

    In three sentences

    I love this college. There is such a wonderful atmosphere here with the students and teachers. They really do care about you.

  • 05/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    LCU is very safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    Social clubs offer students many new opportunities.

    Great for these types of students

    Social clubs are great for students who are looking to expand their horizons and meet new people.

    Bang for the buck

    LCU offers so much for their students. Some things are worth the cost and others are not.

    What to do for fun

    Lubbock is a college hub. There are many restaurants, movie theaters and other attractions for college students to enjoy.

    Food and Dining

    LCU has different options for its students to get their meals at.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at LCU are comfortable and welcoming although they are a bit expensive.

    Academic Rigor

    LCU offers challenging courses for all majors and encourages its students to learn everyday.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to get involved and to check out everything that LCU has to offer!

    In three sentences

    Lubbock Christian University is a place for all types of students to grow and learn in an accepting and loving environment. LCU offers so many opportunities to its students. This school will change your life.

  • 10/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    supporting the schools sports teams, choir, and band as awell as being in social clubs

    In three sentences

    Lubbock Christian university is one of the best things that has happened to me. while studying here i get to met a lot of wonderful people, participate i a lot of school activities, and be surrounded by people who really love to help. it is the best college that i could have choosen.

  • 10/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have great security.

    Greek Life

    Kappa Phi Kappa

    Clubs and Activities

    Social clubs, choir, SIFE, many more.

    Great for these types of students

    People who want to get involved.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Masterfollies is the greatest fun you will ever have, and you can't understand it unless you have experienced it.

    Bang for the buck

    It's quite expensive, but the cheapest Christian school you'll find.

    What to do for fun

    Social clubs, Masterfollies, Intramurals!!!!!

    Food and Dining

    It makes you miss mom's cooking. Best food days in the cafe are Chap Days.

    Dorm Life

    It's a great experience, and the best way to get to know people.

    Academic Rigor

    I love all the professors here and they each believe in you and want you to be successful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be involved, it is the best thing about our campus.

    In three sentences

    It is a friendly place to be. Everyone who steps on this campus should feel welcomed. They care for you individually.

  • 12/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are campus security guards who drive around campus to make sure it is a safe campus. If on the weekend you need into the rip you have to have your ID to get in which I believe is a good idea because it keeps our buildings and students safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    The flight plan is for first generation students and it is a really good organization to be in. They help you with literally everything you can think of to make your college experience great. I highly recommend it if you are thinking of going to Lubbock Christian University if not look for a first generation program at your school.

    What to do for fun

    The school has a lot of things going on campus like Blur which is worship and a speaker comes and talks. If there is nothing going on you could go to the rec and climb a rock wall or play indoor soccer. If that is close like at nights sometimes you could also go hang out with people over at tech.

    Food and Dining

    At first the food was really good, but after a while of the same stuff it can get really tiring. Most of the food they have is really good, and then there is some that is not. They serve a lot of different kinds of food which is good.

    Dorm Life

    Honestly dorm life is hard for freshman, because not everyone is on the same schedule as you are. It can be really frustrating at times but you learn to deal with it. Even though it is hard at time it is also really good because if you ever need anything there are a lot of people who will help you and be there for you to listen.

    Academic Rigor

    Being an athlete our team wanted to have a GPA of 3.4 which is a pretty good goal to have. The school only requires a 2.5 which means it is really easy to get into. But they are pretty strict about missing classes, so you have to be a student who wants to get an education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be afraid to be open about your religion. There is not a lot of students because it is a smaller school but don't be afraid of not making friends because everyone here is very heartwarming. You get the best of both worlds because Lubbock Christian is a small school and Texas tech is right down the road which is a big school.

    In three sentences

    Lubbock Christian University is a perfect place to grow your walk with the Lord. It also has a wonderful programs that will help you with your walk into your profession. It is a perfect place to find yourself and plan your future.

  • 12/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    LCU has multiple security guards at all times, every student has access to the security number so anyone can call at any time of the day.

    Greek Life

    Since LCU is a Christian school, we do not believe in sororities or stuff like that. LCU does not believe that hazing a student is appropriate.

    Clubs and Activities

    LCU has social clubs and organizations, and lots of them are to help the community be a better place. Some activities are sports and games around campus.

    Great for these types of students

    This University is good for any type of student. It's an amazing place to be.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A tradition they have on campus is that we have Chapel, Monday through Thursday as a school, the whole campus shuts down so we can all gather in worship together.

    Bang for the buck

    I could really say that LCU is worth the money, but if you had it. I don't really have it so that's why I'm trying to apply for scholarships.

    What to do for fun

    Some people think that because Lubbock is such a small and lonely place, that there wont be anything for anyone to do but that isn't really the case at LCU. There are so many social clubs and organizations, inter murals, pool, ping pong, and other games, and just lots of friendship building.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining at LCU is good, the food is delicious and we all sit with different people. At LCU, we are encouraged to reach our peers who may not be very social around campus. The dining hall is a great place to meet new friends.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life at LCU is nice, they have upper class men in each hall to help freshmen feel at home. They do everything they can to earn your trust and friendship.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic program at LCU is to help the students succeed. People think that just because it is a Christian school, it will be easy, but I here to tell you, that's a false accusation.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you manage your time wisely, don't get side tracked on what you are actually there for.

    In three sentences

    This University is a very open and friendly place to be. Everyone welcomes you with open arms and the teachers actually care about your well being. To them, you aren't just another number, you are an actual friend and are of importance to them.

  • 07/11/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    13 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    all types but especially for students who are not expecting much from college.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you are looking for a four year university that will give you man open doors and help decide your future career LCU is for you.

    Bang for the buck

    this university is expensive, i can not say if it is worth it yet if i do not know how it is.

    Will enjoy being here

    the environment is very welcoming, the people and staff are welcoming as well.

    Will learn a lot

    i have stepped on campus and in the classroom and have found the learning area will not be a problem. i know i will learn a lot in the university and i can not wait to step foot in it as a student.

  • 01/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There could be more improvement on the social clubs at times, but plenty of activities do if you are in a social club or a sport.

    Great for these types of students

    Who want a school where you will be around other Christians (not just Church of Christ but many other denominations) and even find your future spouse (as it is called the love connection campus)...then it is great. It is nice to be around Christian students here and the faculty do care for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Master Follies...fun but awesome!

    Bang for the buck

    The price is expensive and you want to make sure you pass your classes so you pay for what you are getting. There are plenty of discounts for Bible majors and others listed on the website. However, for those of us who have not attended a Christian high school or are not a Bible major, we pay regular tuition. There is no out-of-state or in-state tuition as well, which is an advantage. Unfortunately, if you are not a Texas resident (such as myself), you do not get the Texas Resident Grant.

    What to do for fun

    The SUB is a fun to hang out and you can also do various activities around Lubbock if you own a car.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has it flaws when has the occasions where the food is bland or there are things that you are just not hungry to eat. Advantages include cereal, a sandwich/deli, a salid bar, pizza at lunch and dinner, and hamburgers/hot dogs if you do not want the main food they are serving.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is nice overall. The only flaw is the RAs doing room checks at 11:00pm each night when you are wanting to get some sleep. Also, freshman have a 1:00am curfew. This is something that can get old for people but this curfew is NOT for people who like to stay out late at night every one night.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are challenging depending on your major. The main thing is even if you do not get a lot of homework, your teachers and professors expect a lot out of you. They want you to succeed and most of the instructors are willing to

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to apply for any Ambassador scholarships and also try to score very high on your ACT/SAT. If you can, apply for the honors program or get involved with some of the activities on campus. Make sure you save your money to help pay for school and except to be at chapel and in your classes. This is not a school for people who want ease by in their classes.

    In three sentences

    LCU is a good school that offers comfortable student live if you are living on campus.

  • 02/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    security is driving around the campus 24/7 to ensure the safety of students.

    Bang for the buck

    it is very expensive but there are ways to get help and it is definitely worth it!

    What to do for fun

    lubbock christian university sets up activities almost every weekend to give you something to do. for an example, master follies is this weekend and they have carnivals set up in the spring.

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria is an all you can eat buffet and will always have the basic foods with some special food. you don't have to pay for every time you go get more food and the workers are always smiling.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are very clean and active. they have activities almost every other week with prizes and a lot of fun.

    Academic Rigor

    the professors pushes you every day but does not give you anything you cannot handle. they are their for you everyday when you need help. they give you everyday situations so you are prepared for the real life.

    Tips for prospective students

    get involved with whatever you can. getting involved helps your everyday life and helps you get to know people. getting to know people helps you succeed even in your academic life. even if you are not a social person you can still get involved and have the best time of your life.

    In three sentences

    this school is very friendly and helpful! i love how close every student is here and everyone helps their neighbor at every chance they get. the teachers know you by name and pushes you to the limit but helps you succeed.

  • 03/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus security is patrolling 24 hours a day in a patrol car. nothing has happened that has involved security matters yet.

    Greek Life

    there is not really frats or sororities is called a social club due to the naia private school policy.

    Great for these types of students

    for people who are engaged in loving jesus and who like a town where alot can happen.

    Bang for the buck

    acedemic wise this is amazing for the $.

    What to do for fun

    many activities are on campus. we have a rec center that has a pinp pong table 3 full court basketball courts, a rock wall, and a futsal court for soccer, along with a weight room fully equiped with new machines.

    Food and Dining

    this rates about the same as the dorm life. as a freshman you have to have a nineteen cred meal plan. the meals consist of a hot lunch line, sub line, nineteen different cereals along with fruit and salad everyday. the meals are not consistent and the quality is nit all that great.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are not all that good. two people share a space about 10' by 14' its not that but it can fit two beds, two desks, and a sink, along with a separate closet.

    Academic Rigor

    the academic aspect here is amazing, its ranked one of the top of naia private schools. class size is small so interpersonal interaction is acceptable to an extent. the professors are very interactive and keep me engaged throughout the lecture

    Tips for prospective students

    everyone here is friendly, and it is easy to make new friends because the campus is somewhat small. it snows occasionally here and the weather is very moody. it changes from day to day. also the class sizes are small, teacher to student ratio 1:25 so you can get one on one with your teacher any time.

    In three sentences

    lubbock christian is a great university to join people who have the same faith as you and to express your faith in and worshiping our wonderful god (10). academic wise i love it here, the class sizes are small and the lectures are full of knowledge and information (10). the only thing that is a main dislike here is the cafeteria food (5).

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    17 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus seems very safe as it is a little bit remote and has an awesome security system, complete with a guard.

    Clubs and Activities

    Various religious organizations and the usual fraternity/sorority. You can also participate in some sports if possible.

    Great for these types of students

    Disabled, strong in faith

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Their school spirit and support sign for games looks a little like the OK sign.

    Bang for the buck

    Well worth the huge tuition fees.

    What to do for fun

    Participate in various sports or clubs.

    Food and Dining

    Pretty good food. Some was used for the 2012 Applicant Dinner. That's my only impression so far, but not bad.

    Dorm Life

    Not bad if you're going to stay home. Otherwise, it could get tricky and loud.

    Academic Rigor

    Seems about as hard as studies at any other college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to work hard, but have some fun too. Keep a positive attitude during any major challenges. Don't be afraid to integrate your faith into campus life. Their name isn't Lubbock CHRISTIAN University for nothing.

    In three sentences

    The campus is very compact, with every class I'll need in only one or two buildings. The people are extremely friendly and ready to help you as necessary. Campus life seems fun and there apparently is never a dull moment.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    They have great clubs and activities for anyone. No one is left out of the campus life.

    Bang for the buck

    I am glad that I chose this college to be my home for the next four years of my life. It is hard to find such great Christian people who love to serve God and spread His world.

    What to do for fun

    The Rec center is HUGE! It is going to extremely hard to not have something to do there.

    Food and Dining

    The food is really good! The kitchen is clean and sanitary.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is good. There is always someone in the dorm that is there to help you out.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic program is extremely good. It is kind of a small school, so the teachers know you by your name, you're not a number to them.

    Tips for prospective students

    You will love this school, and you'll have a wonderful time. Everyone is extremely freindly and lovely. They are always willing to help out.

    In three sentences

    Wonderful school. Extremely friendly staff. Godly school.

  • 09/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have security driving and walking around campus to ensure the students safety. We have security's number in our phones for emergencies.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and activities! Get involved and make life long friendships!

    What to do for fun

    We have the Recreation Center and the Student Union Building where we play indoor soccer, workout, volleyball, basketball, zumba, ping pong, air hockey, and pool! It's so much fun! We even get together to play hide and go seek at night in our mall area!

    Food and Dining

    Amazing food all over campus! We have the caferteria that is open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. We also have Take 10 and Koffee Cup!

    Dorm Life

    From mattress surfing to party hall dances! Dorm life is so fun!

    Academic Rigor

    If you are struggling your professors will always be there to help you! Did I mention the free tutoring and the writing center? You can sign up for tutoring for free and take your essays to the writing center for corrections, etc.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved with many things. From clubs to tutoring!

    In three sentences

    Lubbock Christian is a small university full of friendly people and professors that care about you succeeding. They will go beyond to help you. There are so many great opportunities to help you succeed.

  • 09/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there lots of things on campus you can do for fun. there always an event going on or you can watch movies in the parlor, go mattress surfing, or get involved in different activities that students host on occasions

    Food and Dining

    the food is really good and its a nice variety of food and they serve healthy foods.

    Dorm Life

    the dorm life is awesome because you meet new people and create bonds like you never thought you would before.

    Academic Rigor

    the academic rigor is good. they have lots of academic programs here and a nice variety so even if your undecided you can choose some ones that may be of interedt and always change

    Tips for prospective students

    lcu is a great school top go to becuase you get that one on one attention with your professors and if you are struggling with your walk with christ a christian school is like taking baby steps

    In three sentences

    easy to get around teachers really care about you and your success friendly enviornment where you can be yourself

  • 09/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You don't have to worry about walking by yourself and having to turn around every 5 seconds. Safety is crucial; you have nothing to worry about.

    Greek Life

    There is something for everybody, don't miss out.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is so much to do at LCU, time will fly by and you will enjoy every second of every minute, of every hour of every day.

    Great for these types of students

    If you want a faith based school, who puts God first as well as the students, this school is for you. You will be called by your name and not by a number. You will grow spiritually and you will enjoy it.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Chapel is considered something big at Lubbock Christian University. Mostly everybody on campus attends, we get to praise and worship God as a family its amazing!!

    What to do for fun

    There are many ways to have good clean fun. Lubbock Christian University knows just how to have fun. There are many ways to enjoy your day, such as playing or attending a sport. LCU has intramural sports, where you play for fun. There is also the Rec Center where many student go to hangout on their free time. Do you enjoy staying healthy? The Rec Center provides many fitness classes which you can attend and stay healthy. LCU also has Chapel; I consider it as something fun, because you get to enjoy spending time with others and praise God at the same time.

    Food and Dining

    A home cooked meal. You won't even realize that you are not at home.

    Dorm Life

    You will meet new people, who will soon become your friends and a shoulder to lean on.

    Academic Rigor

    You won't regret it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be scared when starting at Lubbock Christian University, I promise you they have great teachers and staff who are there for the students, it's truly a blessing.

    In three sentences

    Lubbock Christian University has a great staff that is willing to help at any time; they truly make you feel welcomed. If you want to succeed and have a career this school is just for you. Lubbock Christian also works with your schedule, whether you are a single parent, or you have a full time job, or even both; Lubbock Christian will help you fit your education into your schedule.

  • 10/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Lubbock Christian University has 24-hour security constantly patrolling the campus. On the first day of school they ensure that their number is in your phone and offer to help you in any way you might need. They are so dedicated to their job that they will walk you back to your dorms at night if you are walking around campus late or will drive by multiple times if you are running outside. All you have to do is ask. The security department also has a program to communicate with the students via text in case of emergency.

    Greek Life

    There is only one fraternity on campus and they are listed under social clubs.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are 8 social clubs on campus which include something for everyone. Sports, choir, band, and theatre are also offered.

    Great for these types of students

    Christian students who want that type of education should attend Lubbock Christian University.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Lubbock Christian University hosts many events that make living here a special experience. TWIRP weeks is coming up and consists of girls asking the boys out on dates. Every night LCU puts on an activity for the couples to enjoy.

    Bang for the buck

    Lubbock Christian seems to be an expensive school, however the financial reductions can make it extremely manageable. Good ACT and SAT scores are rewarded with scholarships as are volunteering on campus, participating in activities such as choir, and being a Bible major. I highly recommend discussing the options with an Academic Advisor.

    What to do for fun

    Because Lubbock is such a small town, LCU ensures that students always have something to do on campus. The 8 social clubs host mixers, devotionals, club lunches, etc. These are awesome events where you can meet new people and have a good time! Intermurals are also offered for any students who desire to participate. These events consist of self made student sports teams that compete for bragging rights. Volleyball, basketball, soccer, and even quidditch are all available.

    Food and Dining

    Lubbock Christian requires freshman to purchase a meal plan. I am allotted 19 meals a week in the cafeteria and I have $50 of munch money to spend in the on campus stores. The Cafeteria offers a variety of meals so you can always find something that sounds yummy. My favorite is the omelet bar for breakfast. They custom make it right in front of you and it really fills you up! Lubbock Christian also is home to two additional food places. The Koffee Kup is the coffee shop adjacent to the library and often serves as a student hangout. Take 10 offers breakfast and lunch and is a great alternative when you have to grab something quick.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at Lubbock Christian University are small but manageable. My roommate and I each have a twin bed, dresser, and desk. In addition, we have a shelf for our kitchen materials and the TV sits atop that. The closets are huge! The bathrooms are down the hall and have four showers that are blocked off by stalls and the laundry room is right next door. One benefit is the free laundry machines here on campus. Although I was nervous about living in the dorms, it is one of my favorite parts of attending school here.

    Academic Rigor

    Lubbock Christian University offers a variety of majors and academic programs to meet the needs of each individual student. The Honor Program for example, consists of deeper academic courses to allow a higher standard for student who have already mastered the basic concepts. They offer a variety of majors (nursing, education, ministry, etc.). You can have a hands on input when choosing your schedule so that it can be as rigorous or as easy as you want.

    Tips for prospective students

    Lubbock Christian University offers Chap Days multiple times each year which allow prospective students to tour the campus and experience the campus environment. Take time to meet the advisors, discuss your major, and ask any questions you may have. This will provide you with an accurate idea of student life on their campus.

    In three sentences

    Lubbock Christian University is a private Christian college focused on the educational, personal, physical, and spiritual wellness of its students. The personal community makes this University unique and assists all students by providing them with the tools necessary for success. In addition to their high academic worth, the student recreation life provides students with an amazing college experience.

  • 11/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I personally like exercising, so I go to exercise to have fun with friends or by myself. There is rock climbing wall and it is so much fun.

    Food and Dining

    Food are not too bad. I can still live eating in cafeteria. If I get bored of cafeteria food, I go to coffee shop to have some meals. Cafeteria sometimes have special days with special food.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great! Surrounded by many good friends, I have so much fun! RAs are really friendly and people are generally nice. Yet, there are of course some times when it gets too loud or noisy.

    Academic Rigor

    You can learn many important stuffs if you try to learn. Like other universtities, there are people who do not study very much. Because it is a university, most professors do not push students much to do their own works.

    Tips for prospective students

    The place may be dry for some people. Get read for that.

    In three sentences

    Lubbock Christian Universit is a great place to have good fellowships with others. I have met so many great people in this university. Not only the students of my age but also the professors are so freindly and nice.

  • 12/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 24 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Flight plan!!!!!!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Chapel, four days a week.

    Bang for the buck

    REALLY expensive!

    What to do for fun

    Intramurals! Flight plan!

    Food and Dining

    I eat at home as well.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home.

    Academic Rigor

    Not bad but not good either.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved.

    In three sentences

    I would rate Lubbock Christian University an 8. The faculty is very nice and welcoming. However, the quality of education could be better in some, but not all areas.

  • 12/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security monitors the school 24 hours. There is alot of security guards on campus to make feel safe. There all friendly.

    Clubs and Activities

    The social clubs make you feel welcome and at home. Your chance to meet new and different types of people. you do fun activities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    An unusual traditions is to get on the school mascot and ride it and have your picture taken. Another unusual tradition is to learn to make the chaparrel bird noise.

    What to do for fun

    You can go to sport games. They always have fun activities on campus that you can attend. Join a club and socialize with them.

    Food and Dining

    You have a variety to choose from. Everyday there something new and food from different cultures. the food taste good and is fresh.

    Dorm Life

    The students are very friendly. They have fun activities in the dorm for you to meet new people. Your resident assistant will be there to check on you and become your friend.

    Academic Rigor

    As long as you apply yourself to your academic goals getting high grades will be easy. Take execellent notes and always pay attention adn test will be easy. Ask questions if you don't understand something.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be outgoing and i promise you wont regret it. Get to know your teachers because they there to help you and are willing to. try the activities on campus as a way to meet new people.

    In three sentences

    It has a nice size school. The teachers care about you and want to help you succeed. Nice size classroom's so learning is easy.

  • 01/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We ALWAYS have security driving around, which is very comforting to yourself and your parents.

    Greek Life

    We have greek life but it is referred to as clubs at LCU. Pledge week is so much fun and even if you do not pledge, it sure is fun to watch other people pledge!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs on campus, even if you are not apart of a club, people still encourage you to go out and join the fun.

    Great for these types of students

    If you like challenges and need a push in your faith, this college is perfect.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We are often called Love Connection University, rumor has it that if you sit on the marriage bench with your loved one, you will get married!

    Bang for the buck

    You are challanged in academics and faith every day and have every one of your classmates and professors right beside you along the way.

    What to do for fun

    There is so much to do, The school constantly has something going on so you never get bored. If, by the slight chance you do, ask a couple of people and there are many options of what to do on and off campus.

    Food and Dining

    I actually work in the cafe here, the food is great. It tells you something when I work there and STILL eat there!

    Dorm Life

    The rooms are very comfortable and girls, the closets are HUGE!

    Academic Rigor

    Acadamics here is always a challenge but ALL of the professors are willing and want to help, unlike many colleges. The professors here understand that school is difficult and want to push you as far as they can but, at the same time, help you along the way.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a very prestigious school, if you want a challenge, here is the place. LCU is known for academics and sports, we love to show our school spirit through sports and grades.

    In three sentences

    I love this school! It is small but still big enough to meet new people every day. The christian atmosphere makes me feel at home and every one is very welcoming of you here!

  • 01/24/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    27 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There's always security right around the corner if anything happens, even though hardly anything happens.

    Great for these types of students

    It's great for almost any type of students.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a school that is completely worth every cent.

    What to do for fun

    There are clubs and sports that you can get hooked into.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria's food is amazing.

    Dorm Life

    I'm not going to live in the dorms my first year, but the dorms are so clean and pretty.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are amazing. My dad's a teacher there, and he says many classes are challenging, but if you need help there are tons of people who can and will.

    Tips for prospective students

    When you get there, just relax and be yourself. It's so open and welcoming there, you don't even have to worry.

    In three sentences

    I am super exited to be going there next fall.

  • 04/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I don't know a whole lot about campus safety first-hand, but everywhere I go on campus I always see campus security circling in their cars and so I always know I am safe.

    Greek Life

    We don't have real Greek sororities and fraternities, but we do have social clubs, which is similar and most go by Greek names. Social clubs are clubs that you rush into and within your club you can participate in intramural sports, service projects, club meetings, banquets, retreats, and Master Follies. I am a member of one of the clubs and love it!!!

    Clubs and Activities

    Like I said, LCU has so many opportunities to get involved. Student Senate, performing groups, SIFE, Social clubs, academic groups, and so many little activities hosted by the school.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to get involved on campus. The great thing about a small school is that you have the chance to be known and to be involved. It is so easy to run for student council, to rush a club, join the choir, or start a group for something you love. LCU is a great place with lots of really friendly people

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    TWIRP week! The Woman Is Required To Pay is a week of fun (and free!) dates hosted by LCU where traditionally the girl has to ask the guy out. We have Coke and Nacho night, roller skating, movies, and so much more! It's really a lot of fun and good excuse to get a cute date!

    Bang for the buck

    LCU is an expensive place, I'm not going to lie. But it all depends on whether or not you think a great education, professors who want you to succeed, great quality of life, fun activities, and a lifetime of memories is worth it. Another great thing about LCU is that they want to help you. There are so many opportunities to get financial aid, so don't let the cost scare you away. I wouldn't trade this school for the world, even though I'll be paying off loans for a while.

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot of fun to stuff to get involved in at LCU. They are always offering special movie nights, date nights, entertainment, devos and such. We have clubs to join, as well as social clubs (which is our version of Greek). And you can always get involved in band, choir, performing group, sports, intramural sports, and lots of fun activities hosted by the school.

    Food and Dining

    LCU offers meal plans to the Caf, our on-capmus cafeteria, which is pretty decent. We always have lots of choices available and they always offer pizza, the sandwich bar, the salad bar, and the grill, along with the two or three changing choices. We also have an on-campus restaurant, called Take 10 where you can use your meal points to buy hamburgers, chicken, breakfast burritos, and yummy snack, as well as the Koffee Kup which also accepts meal points and sells coffee and light meals.

    Dorm Life

    What can I say about dorm life? You live a small room with a roommate you don't know and share a shower with the whole hall of girls (or boys if you're a guy). We have on girls dorm for all years and two for the guys, but the nice thing is that there also private rooms available in both the dorms and the sectioned off courtyards in addition to the on-campus apartments that are really nice. Over-all, housing is pretty decent for college living.

    Academic Rigor

    LCU really does have a great academic program. The core classes are informative and beneficial. They are simple enough to where, if you put in the work, you can easily make a good grade, but challenging enough that you need to put in some work, especially since the professor will know your name! And of course the major classes in every department are great. LCU is always trying to improve and we really do have some great faculty.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check it out and see if LCU is for you! We have great education and nursing programs, along with many other majors, including an AWESOME Bible department! (Youth and Family Ministry major).

    In three sentences

    LCU is a great private Christian university in the college town of Lubbock, TX (also known for Texas Tech). It's small enough to where the professors know your name and you always have access to them. LCU really cares about and listen to the students and the staff, professors and even students are always making improvements.

  • 04/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is security driving around at all times. They give you their numbers and you can call if you ever need anything.

    Greek Life

    We technically don't have Greek life but we do have social clubs. They are so much fun. I am involved in one and it was the best decision I ever made.

    Clubs and Activities

    Social clubs here are amazing. Also Inter-murals are very fun to get involved with.

    Great for these types of students

    LCU has great Bible programs and teaching programs.It is also good for people that like small environments.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are always people hanging out in the sub. If you ever get bored just go in there.

    Bang for the buck

    LCU has very good prices for being a private school. They also help in finding scholarships.

    What to do for fun

    Getting involved in a social club is the most fun thing on campus to do. Besides that, there is usually events going on on campus that are set up by student senate.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't the best but there is always the option of sandwich line, pizza, salad, fruit, burgers, or cereal.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are not the newest or the nicest but they have fabulous RA's and are fun to live in with all of your friends.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are difficult but aren't too hard if you just keep open dialogue with your professors and do what they ask of you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your professors! They will help you in any way they can if you talk to them. Also use the tutoring center as much as possibly because it is a free and extremely effective resource.

    In three sentences

    I have personally enjoyed my overall experience here at Lubbock Christian University. The atmosphere is encouraging, family oriented, and loving. The teachers really act like they care about you and want to invest time into your lives.

  • 06/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    This is a private university and that definitely shows in your tuition, but the quality of the education and the professors is worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    I did not live on campus and if I could go back I would have lived on campus for the full experience.

    In three sentences

    Lubbock Christian University is an awesome school! The teachers and staff are invested in your education and will help you every step of the way. Also, it is a small school where everybody is your friend.

  • 08/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security is always on guard although, I don't think they're needed much. The campus feels safe to me (a 26 y/o female).

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of stuff to do at LCU for fun. You can attend a range of sporting events as well as other events and the people are friendly and easy to talk to.

    Academic Rigor

    As far as I can see, LCU excels in academics. I feel pleased with my education and feel that I definitely earn it! I work hard for my grades but I believe this is how college is supposed to be.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to LCU for friendly knowledgable professors who will help you out as much as possible. Find financial aid.

    In three sentences

    LCU has a fantastic environment. LCU has small classes so you get plenty of one-on-one time with the professors. LCU is perfect for me!

  • 09/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    security always drive around the campus.

    Great for these types of students

    People looking for a church affiliated university, people who want a successful athletic program for any of the programs offered here, and people who just want to have fun and meet new people and be called by their name in class instead of a number.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Tradition is there is Chapel Monday - Thursday. It about strengthening you spiritual life.

    What to do for fun

    watch movie in the dorm. go play outside. hang out at church.

    Food and Dining

    I guess it good.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm is kind of small.

    Academic Rigor

    If you don't understand in class you can ask your professor. If you are outside the class and need help you can text your professor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Dot not be afraid, the lord your God is with you always. Professor are nice and they will help you with anything just ask them.

    In three sentences

    It a good school not just in academic but also in spiritual life. Less people is classes. Close to Texas Tech University.

  • 09/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafeteria is mediocre at best, but Take 10 in the Student Union Building is great.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms, so I can't say much about the dorm life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask for help as much as you need it. The professors will try to work with you as much as they can.

    In three sentences

    LCU really looks out for its students. The teachers are all highly invested in making sure that you succeed and will generally go out of their way to help. You're not just another student at LCU; you are genuinely valued.

  • 09/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have a campus police that I see regularly around campus, as well as they send any important information out in email.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am a non traditional student with a family so I don't really have time for these things. I know they exist but that's about it.

    Bang for the buck

    It is expensive, but you get all the support you need.

    What to do for fun

    They have fun events planned all the time. I love that you can bring your family with you.

    Food and Dining

    I haven't eaten there either.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms, so I can't really rate this, but I haven't heard anything bad.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm only taking 6 hours, its tuff but not overwhelming.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just ask all the questions you have, they will answer them!

    In three sentences

    Lubbock Christian university is great. Everyone is very helpful and willing to answer questions. They do not treat you as if you are stupid even if you are a little lost.

  • 10/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security on LCU's campus are fat, slow, old, fake wanna-be cops who couldn't cut it.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Great for these types of students

    Spiritual men and women thinking of going into a bible major.

    Bang for the buck

    No where near it. They should be charging about 1/3 of the price they do for what they provide.

    What to do for fun

    This is a place where LCU doesn't lack. There are constantly social activities being sponsored by the school. Zombie night in the fall, TWIRP week, laser tag, and if you get sick of the campus activities, there is always plenty to do in Lubbock.

    Food and Dining

    Typical cafeteria food from LCU. You'd think as much money as you're paying you'd be eating gourmet every night, don't get your hopes up.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm rooms are small and smell badly. My room when I got to campus this smelled like a skunk got in and died. I'm not sure if I've finally got the smell to go away, or if I'm just used to it by now.

    Academic Rigor

    This just depends on your field of study, just like at every school. Some departments are a little more lenient, while others are very strict They do hold high standards for their student's, just don't expect much help achieving them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply to other schools, maybe schools that are state schools and save your money. This school is not providing near up to par services for the amount of money it costs to go here.

    In three sentences

    I am not happy with Lubbock Christian University. I believe the administration are lazy and liars. And on top of that, they school hides bend a christian facade, just so they can jack up the prices they can charge.

  • 11/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    LCU is one of the safest campuses. We have a staff that will come at anytime to charge the battery in your car, walk with you at night if you feel unsafe, or whatever the case may be. They are there 24/7.

    What to do for fun

    I am involved with many activities on campus such as intermural sports and social clubs. Along with this I am a student trainer for a sports team on campus and love what I do.

    Food and Dining

    We have our own coffee shop here as well as a little shop called take 10 that is for LCU only. Then there is always the cafe where you will find a large variety of cereal and omelets every morning. For lunch and dinner they always have pizza, salad, sandwich bar and something fresh off the grill.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm is a dorm, every experience will be different however mine was so good that I decided to go back as a residential assistant my second year. Everyone is very friendly and it is a safe place to be.

    Academic Rigor

    The students here work extremely hard to keep up with the latest in teaching and new studies. Professors want you to know the information and will tutor you for free or just talk to them if you are struggling with anything at all.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know that LCU has many awesome opportunities, we may not have the desired major that you are looking for, however there are many studies that allow you to transfer in to Texas Tech and get 2 degrees at the same time for the same amount of money. You will always find a mentor here at LCU, you are not alone and they want you to know that.

    In three sentences

    Lubbock Christian is truly a life changing university. The professors know you by name and know your learning style, you are not just a number in the class you are a somebody to them. I came to LCU knowing absolutely no one and by my freshman year I knew more than half the campus and they became like my family, a home away from home.

  • 01/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have a very safe campus our security are on duty 24/7, not to mention that we live by a wealthy community.

    Greek Life

    We have different social clubs.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have different activities throughout the year but two very known activities that most people love are TWIRP meaning The women is required to pay. In which the women is required to ask the guy on the daily dates they make, Another famous one is Coke and Nacho. As we enjoy our coke and nachos we also have a talent show of all the talented people on campus

    Great for these types of students

    We have a lot of different organization on campus. Some which are the Aggies, whom tend to really just have cook outs and hang out, to a Minority Student Association, which helps you learn about different culture on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    An unusual tradition that LCU has is chapel. Everyday except Thursday everyone meets at eleven in the auditorium, and it becomes a time where we take at least thirty minutes off our buy life to learn about God.

    Bang for the buck

    LCU is probably a pretty expensive school, but we do have to understand that without our money LCU would not be what it is today.

    What to do for fun

    We have an amazing rec- center. In which we have zumba, insanity, dancing, and even an cycling class. All for free! Not to mention our rock wall as well.

    Food and Dining

    I have been at LCU for three years now, and I can honestly that the food is not all so great, but sometimes their are some good days.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is not so so great. Mostly if you are coming in a a freshman! But once your past your freshman year it can get better. From living in our courtyards to having your own apartment.

    Academic Rigor

    Going to school can be a struggle but I can honestly say that at LCU, that struggle can feel less of a struggle because of the awesome and understanding teachers on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always come with an open mind. Knowing that you go to a christian school is probably not always the best thing, mostly if your not from the church of Christ But do not come to judge

    In three sentences

    I can honestly say that Lubbock Christian University has had a big impact on my life. The teachers that are on campus, or better yet the whole community is amazing. Everyone is so loving and kind that feeling misplaced could never happen.

  • 02/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are tons of fun things to do around Lubbock and on campus. We have a lot of sports games that students get in free as well as Social Clubs to join.

    Tips for prospective students

    College is something you will have to work hard at and compromise time between social activities and school work.

    In three sentences

    This school feels like home and is full of Christian Professors and students who share the same morals and values. LCU offers multiple ways to not only get involved in school events, but also events going on in the community where you can easily serve the Lord. LCU also has an awesome Education program where some of the finest teachers are graduates of the program.

  • 03/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    LCU sends out emails and alerts on your phone to keep you safe.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    In front of the auditorium is a statue of the LCU Chap and at least every student has taken a picture riding the Chap. It's sort of a tradition.

    What to do for fun

    LCU has social groups and clubs that many students participate in and have fun. There is also a variety of sports to play, competitively or just for fun. And LCU also has a lot of student gatherings for everyone to come together and have a good time.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to go to college and not be just a number in the class, I suggest going to LCU because people will know you by first name and show that they care.

    In three sentences

    Lubbock Christian University (LCU) is a great school to attend. The professors really care about each student and they do all they can to help their students with anything they need. LCU is an amazing environment to be in.

  • 05/28/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    40 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Theres one security officer on duty at all times and there are no blue light towers.

    Greek Life

    Its not necessarily greek life but its the closest thing they have they call it social clubs. None are nationally recognized.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A strange tradition i was introduced to was by the time you graduate everyone has to ride the chaparral statue in the middle of campus and must get there picture taken on it.

    What to do for fun

    Intramurals.

    Food and Dining

    I mean its car food...

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are terrible and they stink. All dorm rooms are carpeted with a sink so the building smells quit musty.

    Academic Rigor

    Most teachers are very lenient when they grade and a lot of them will bump you up a letter grade when it comes final exam time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Only attend this school if you are very passionate about religious studies. You are required to attend a bible study class each semester and must attend chapel everyday.

    In three sentences

    Religious. Easy classes. Classmates will seem very up tight and will pretend to have money.