Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Lurleen B Wallace Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who like a smaller more personal college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early because the best classes go first.

    Bang for the buck

    LBW is a community college and with that comes a little less money out of the pocket. They have several scholarships available form the college and even more from their foundation.

    Am enjoying being here

    The school isn't far from home and allows me to save some extra cash while attending. Most of the students are local and great to be around.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes are smaller, the teachers more personal and the experience is a little less stressful. They have few clubs to choose from, but they are wonderful clubs to join. The teachers also have a tutor session after classes to help students with any extra needs. All of the staff is wonderful, helpful and easy to talk to.

  • 03/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    LBWCC is great for any student just starting out with college. It's small enough to make you feel comfortable and not as overwhelmed by starting your adult life.

    What to do for fun

    Well the campus itself is beautiful and I often find it fun to just sit around on the benches outside and enjoy the sunshine.

    Food and Dining

    It is located very close to all of the best food establishments. It takes no longer than 5 minutes to get to where the food is, so all-in-all it is very convenient.

    Dorm Life

    LBWCC doesn't have any dorms but it is very well located. Very close to town that way you can run any errands or pick you up something to eat between classes.

    Academic Rigor

    I find all of the classes that I have taken so far very academically challenging, but your teachers are more than willing to accommodate different people and the different ways that they learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your basics over and done with, it is cheaper to do it somewhere like LBWCC rather than taking everything at a four year university.

    In three sentences

    LBWCC is an amazing college. It's small enough to make you feel comfortable with the class sizes, but it is big enough to comfortably prepare you for moving to a four year institution. The students, teachers and administration are all exceedingly wonderful.

  • 04/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students that live in these areas

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is just over $100 per semester hour

    Food and Dining

    Vending machines

    Tips for prospective students

    Enroll at a college such as this to obtain basics or some type of vocation.

    In three sentences

    LBWCC is a small, rural community college. The class sizes are small and personal. This is an adequate institution to begin your college education.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 13

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    It is a wonderful school. The teachers are great and the leaarning experince is good as well.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    5 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a small pond on campus, wonderful for relaxation.

    Food and Dining

    Less than a few miles from any restaurant in the surrounding community.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    From what I have seen, LBWCC is not rough on their students but they are fair. It is definitely equal opportunity.

    Tips for prospective students

    A tip for prospective students is to always ask questions when you're in doubt, there will always be an answer if it can be answered.

    In three sentences

    Lurleen B. Wallace Community College is a fairly decent campus, it is easy to maneuver around to find where you need to go. If I were to rate this college out of ten, it would definitely be a 10. The staff tops everything off and brings the college to a ten, they're kind and always understanding.

  • 08/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 13

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    This school helps me with everything. They are great. The people are amazing and the teachers are great.

  • 10/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    LBW offers a lot of clubs and activities.

    What to do for fun

    The saints spirit is very high here.

    Food and Dining

    I LOVE LBW.

    Dorm Life

    We do not have a dorm yet.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know the counselor and she will definitely help you.

    In three sentences

    I love LBW. It is a great place to grow and the faculty and staff help you so that passing their class and succeeding is not hard to achieve. I would recommend LBW to anyone.

  • 05/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to athletic and music events.

    Food and Dining

    No dining hall just vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    They are currently building dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you stay in touch with staff to stay on top of your game.

    In three sentences

    LBW is a good a school. Its a small school so its easier to get one on one help. The students who attend the school are ready to get along with.

  • 07/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    I don't live in a dorm, I live at home!

    In three sentences

    I love the atmosphere here! My teacher and classmates are so wonderful! The people in the front office are ALWAYS there to help any way they can too!

  • 09/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs that the student body can be part of.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The golf course would be something on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    The price is amazing. You can hardly beat it! The prices are very reasonable.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and organizations to be a part of that are a lot of fun. There is also tennis courts, a volleyball court, a nature trail, and there are also sports games to attend. Also, there is a golf course on campus.

    Food and Dining

    There is not a dining hall but the clubs and organizations serve breakfast or lunch a good bit.

    Dorm Life

    Lurleen B. Wallace has recently built dorms, mainly for the students who travel so far everyday and also for the students whose family's live in another state or a far off distance from the college.

    Academic Rigor

    There are many academics at Lurleen B. Wallace.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great college to attend. It is like going to a four-year college without even leaving home.

    In three sentences

    Lurleen B. Wallace Community College is a great first college to attend. The faculty are very interested in their students. There are many clubs and organizations for students to be a part of.

  • 10/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is extremely safe. There is good lighting throughout the parking lots. (The lighting is soon to be increased). There is a multitude of security cameras, and there are easily accessible walkways.

    What to do for fun

    Outside of class students can go to the student center and play ping-pong, or they can go next to the dorms and play tennis. There is also an intramural tennis team available for new students to join. Alongside these physical activities LBW has a basketball, baseball and softball team. Extra classes or activities include martial arts, yoga, the ensemble, and Bible study groups. There are typically several plays, ensemble performances, or ballets occurring in the theater building throughout the year.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining is mostly limited to fast food chains around the campus but none of them are more than a few miles away. Some people bring their lunch, or cook in their dorms. On occasion the culinary program sells tickets for a gourmet three course meal.

    Dorm Life

    I am not a current resident in our new dorms. Saints Hall however is open to all students and my friends who live there enjoy the experience. The dorms encourage good social interaction and allow you to know you classmates further.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic stress is as hard as you would like to make it for yourself. I am a student taking a 16 hour schedule for an honors program and I am constantly reminded of the need to study. However, I can truly say that the teachers of Lurleen B. Wallace are well-educated and well-trained in their fields of study. I feel completely academically prepared for a four year institution. Each day I can go home saying I learned at least one thing.

    Tips for prospective students

    I encourage all prospective students to come visit the campus and see everything Lurleen B. Wallace has to offer. Each and every member of the staff is extremely inviting, especially thanks to southern hospitality. Also, don't be afraid to ask a question! Everyone here is willing to help.

    In three sentences

    Lurleen B. Wallace offers students many career opportunities. It's teachers offer rigorous academic standards, allowing scholars to reap the rewards of being prepared for any four year institution. Lurleen B. Wallace also offers many clubs and elective classes to open many doors for the new student.

  • 03/07/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    12 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe

    Greek Life

    im not for sure

    Clubs and Activities

    many!!!!

    Great for these types of students

    smart,articulate,ambitious

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Andalusia alabama

    Bang for the buck

    they have a great study hall

    What to do for fun

    you can read books, try out for sports, attend bible clubs.

    Food and Dining

    they have great food there

    Dorm Life

    there dorm life is so awesome i caint wait for my first year at the college.

    Academic Rigor

    not for sure

    Tips for prospective students

    they are willing to help above and beyond.

    In three sentences

    Lbw is a great school to attend. they have a great show choir which is called the ensemble. they also have a great staff who's willing to help you learn what you need to learn. At Lbw your not just a number your a student who they care about.

  • 04/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for people going into a technical program, if you are planning to transfer to a four year college, go to escc!

    Bang for the buck

    Its true, they are cheaper than bigger schools, but I hope you get a scholarship or Pell Grant, if not, good luck with all that debt! Student loan debt is one thing, but being in debt with the bank is another.

    What to do for fun

    I go to work, go to class, and go home. There is really nothing fun to do here.

    Food and Dining

    No food. Every now and then, they will have a free lunch, but not food everyday.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms. You can rent an apartment at saints hall, but that about it.

    Academic Rigor

    Some teachers are really great but some are just hateful. I don't care how far you have to drive, do not take Ms. Spurlin's class. Take Ms. Ballew instead. Ms. Spurlin is a hateful and bitter woman that is mean and doesn't teach very well. I learned nothing from her. I showed up to class every day and tried my hardest but she failed me and wouldn't try to help me. I re-took the class with Ms. Ballew and she is wonderful. I learned so much from her! And she is sweet and will always help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are not getting a scholarship or Pell Grant, go somewhere else. They Do not participate in the student loan program. You cant get a student loan from anywhere with LBW's school code. No matter how hard you try. You or your parents will have to take out a personal loan from a bank or somewhere like that. No one can afford to pay tuition out of pocket, but they expect you too. And don't expect them to try to help you at all.

    In three sentences

    I was very disappointed, it was not at all as good as I expected. Some teachers are great while others are obviously just there for a paycheck. I wish I would have went somewhere else.