Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Luther College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/16/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 1 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    As long as you participate, any college will expand your horizons. Luther is no different, promising friends for life, new favorite foods, music, authors, and pastimes. I came to realize and maximize my potential on an individual and community level. Luther has the same pitfalls as other schools, but avoiding them is surprisingly easy if you stay true to yourself. Of course, if you are coming for a party, there is no shortage of that either.

    Tips for prospective students

    Walk softly but carry a big stick -Roosevelt Keep in mind that any college you choose is a business at some level. You need to think of yourself as a consumer of education. This means knowing what you need to do to get the absolute most of your experience. Do not allow the administration to intimidate you into accepting less than you pay for. This does not mean you need to start riots, just understand what is required of you and be firm but reasonable when organizing your time. We can never step twice in the same river- Heraclitus Your college experience will be what you make of it. There is truly no limitation to what you can accomplish within the borders of college and Luther does a fantastic job of providing you with more than enough avenues to accommodate your personal expansion. Man is the measure of all things- Protagoras Do not forget that you are your own person. You may have learned in high school that it can be easy to get sucked into the herd mentality. This may be worse at Luther than other schools because of its small enclosed community. That said, it is not impossible to triumph over the group-think if you consciously hold on to what is personally important. You may find as I did that the individual emerging from the other side is stronger and clearer than you could have guessed.

    Bang for the buck

    Unless you have a wealthy relative, Luther is not the place for kids who barely survived high school. This college takes its role as a bridge to adulthood seriously by making sure people who are ready to become adults do so. This is done by providing deserving students with stunning financial aid packages, even blurring the scholarship lines in places so that those who plan on getting the full experience miss out on nothing.

    Am enjoying being here

    My music collection has tripled, I can play racquetball with almost anyone, I can hold my own in a ballroom with latin or swing, I eat gyros like it's my job, I can blow minds around the bonfire with stories and philosophical musings, and all this happened within my first year. I met my college sweetheart at a freshman orientation dress-up dinner the first week. Now that graduation is here, I can not imagine any part of the rest of my life living up to my experience at Luther.

    Am learning a lot

    Almost every department takes pride and enjoyment in teaching students everything they came to learn as well as a good deal they did not sign up for. Most students are pleasantly surprised by the faculty's desire and success in challenging what we think we know.

  • 07/19/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 5 people found this review useful. 2 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Definitely the place to be for music and science students. It is also a great place for those same students to be active in sports as well as keep up with their educational goals.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try a little bit of everything; get involved with local student political groups, play intramural sports, and anything else that might interest you.

    Bang for the buck

    Despite the cost it is one of the best liberal arts colleges in the state and definitely worth the price tag.

  • 01/16/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    1) Get to know your professors. Go in during their office hours and just chat with them. They will be more than willing to talk to you, and try to make life here easier. 2) Get to know your RA's (Resident Assistants). They are upperclassmen who have been through what you going through. They remember how difficult it was during their first year, and they will be able to help you get through it. 3) Get to know the people down in the Student Academic Support Center(SASC) and Student Support Services(SSS). They are located on the ground floor of the library. They will help you with whatever you need. They will help with academic help, and provide you with tutors. They can give advice for financial support and they are great people to talk to when you are having problems and you have no idea who to turn to.

    Bang for the buck

    Luther is one of the most expensive colleges in the state of Iowa, but you get your money's worth. Luther will do everything it can to get you out of here in four years. They have all the resources needed to get through college in four years, all the student has to do is apply himself or herself.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love it here at Luther. The people here are very friendly. Luther is not just a school. It is a community. You are not just here to learn, you are also here to live. Luther wants to make life away from home as comfortable as they can. They do a fine job. There are so many things to do, you will never be bored.

    Am learning a lot

    Luther College is a great place to go to learn. The professors are very knowledgeable and very friendly. The professors will gladly spend time with a student to help that student understand concepts that a student is not understanding. The class sizes are fairly small. 25-30 students is the most I have seen in a class. The professors will know by name rather than a number.

  • 04/05/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for those interested in music, the sciences, and pre-professional courses. (As well as many others.) This college has such a positive influence on you that you just don't want to leave once you start! There is so much history and tradition in this college that I love hearing about it from faculty and staff. You tend to hear and find out the most interesting things!

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend first of all, getting some reading done the summer before starting school here because of the fact that this college has a required course for first years that involves reading, writing, and discussing over books. Also, get active and involved with anything you can to keep you from getting bored. There are daily chapel services, concerts, recitals, games/meets, restaurant performances, dorm activities, etc. Overall, take advantage of what is being offered to you!

    Bang for the buck

    This college is totally worth every penny! Plus, they offer lots of financial aid for the ones who are accepted. I don't think I know of any other college who really satisfies someone like this one. I invite all who are willing to work hard at everything they do here! Welcome!

    Am enjoying being here

    Yes! I love being here! It is truly lucky for me to have been accepted to this extraordinary college. The community here is so connected and committed. Professors always are willing to help you the best way possible to do well in their classes. The landscape environment is beautiful year round. Most of all, there's always something to do and look forward to here in this college.

    Am learning a lot

    Everyday there's always something to look forward to learning. Just when you think there may be a time when the professors go over something you think that you know they go over and make sure the teach the newest material released in the world. For example, Paideia, Health, Mathematics, one of the various choir rehearsals, piano, private voice lessons, and even in fitness and wellness (PE) class!

  • 07/22/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students that can adapt to change, especially if coming from a city to a small town, or a small high school to a larger school. Students that can study when it comes to important exams, classes, etc. Luther is pretty demanding, academically, so studying is essential. But also for students that love nature and go green movements! It's a very eco-friendly school!

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard in high school and apply for lots of scholarships! Don't take college courses lightly, even as a freshmen. Study hard, but also leave some time for fun. Even though the setting of a small town may seem scary, especially for city folk, there is always something fun to do. It helps for building relationships with students and professors.

    Bang for the buck

    For a Private school, it's a very great deal! For some students, it may be difficult-- however, my high school GPA wasn't rockin' enough to nail a few scholarships and I pay the same amount to study at Luther than I would if I had gone to the University of Minnesota. Once Luther grants, scholarships and loans even out, it's practically the same as a public school. Not many actually pay the full tuition.

    Am enjoying being here

    At first, it was hard to go into a school and start from scratch, however within a few days you begin to develop great friendships. Everyone is friendly and willing to give a hand. It's small enough meet up with friends while walking to class, but big enough to meet new people every day. There are always activities happening on campus and overall a very homely feeling, filled with friendly people!

    Am learning a lot

    I have taken IB courses in High School and I expected college to be somewhere along those lines of difficulty. Luther does a fantastic job of challenging students as well as offering many tools to succeed. All classes are small in order for professors to get to know students and challenge every single one of them. Great academics!

  • 01/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The infamous SPO cops will make you feel safe and secure!

    Great for these types of students

    If you are into music, come to Luther! Also, Luther has great biology and nursing programs.

    What to do for fun

    Decorah, although a small town, really has a lot to offer. During warm months, the infamous Whippy Dip can surely make anyone's day better with its soft-serve ice-cream treats. Located near the Upper Iowa River, students can also take advantage of the canoeing and kayaking rentals in Decorah. Being a hilly place, there are lots of breathtaking biking and hiking trails. In the winter, students can rent cross-country skis for the trails or ice skates for the outdoor makeshift rink. There is also a bowling alley, a movie theater that shows a free movie for students monthly, lots of great restaurants, and great shops downtown.

    Food and Dining

    The Luther caf doesn't have the best food in the world, but most people can be satisfied through one trip to the caf due to the many choices. There is also the Oneota market, open for breakfast and lunch during the week, which offers a fresh salad bar and several sandwich options. Marty's cafe has lots of appetizers, sandwiches, and delicious desserts to choose from. Sunnyside cafe, located in the art building, has delicious, addictive cinnamon rolls.

    Dorm Life

    In most cases, students must live on campus for through their junior year. Though not the most luxurious dorm rooms in the country, the freshmen dorms are known to create a great sense of community. The upperclassmen dorms provide a multitude of choices for living: students can live with one, two, or three roommates, or they can even choose a group of friends to cluster with. Three of the buildings are built into hills, so from highway 52, they almost look like tree houses...

    Academic Rigor

    Luther students know how to have fun, but they also are held to high expectations by most professors. For example, every freshman must take a course called Paideia, which is basically a mixture of history and English. Within this class, students are expected to read various books and other readings, participate in class discussion, and write formal and informal essays. By having to take Paideia at the beginning of their Luther experience, students are able to jump into the rhythm of college and its complexity rather early in the game.

    In three sentences

    Luther is an outstanding private liberal arts college. The faculty and students are friendly, and the campus is absolutely beautiful. From taking interesting classes to exploring the quaint town of Decorah, Iowa, Luther students certainly enjoy a great college experience; spend four years at Luther, and learn to bleed blue.

  • 12/13/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    it's a pretty expensive school but really you won't get much better than here. the professors really know what they are talking about and the accommodations are pretty good as well

    Am enjoying being here

    this campus is fantastic. its not to big but not to small. the community really supports whats going on here. there are so many activities,shows and groups.

    Am learning a lot

    it has been a real challenge at this school. being a music education major makes it very competitive for everything and that helps me to try harder then i was or already am.

  • 03/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Yes, Luther is expensive, but it's worth every penny. The experience you receive at Luther is so great. You find life-long friends, learn who you are and what you're capable of, and become a part of this community. It's home-away-from-home, and will always feel like that.

    Am enjoying being here

    Luther is an amazing place. It's in such a nature setting with fields, bluffs and a the Upper Iowa, all of which can be seen right while on campus. The school itself is committed to the environment and being as 'green' as possible. The students and staff are all incredibly friendly and courteous; I seldom walk through a door without holding it open for someone else, or having it held for me. In addition to being home to some of the friendliest people around, Luther is also very musically gifted. There are numerous choirs and bands and orchestras and the campus is generally filled with students singing in solfege or conducting, making my walk to classes remarkably more entertaining. Luther is overall, a great school where you are allowed to open your mind to new thoughts and experiences, meet new people from all over the states and beyond and appreciate the natural beauty of your surroundings.

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned so much in the year that I've been at Luther. It seems like opportunities keep spreading themselves in front of me. I have learned to be a leader in a community, work with others, challenge myself in my schooling, and develop who I am and what I love to do.

  • 07/25/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Luther would be great for students who are super into the arts. If you're like me, however, who love music and visual art but still want some balance with sports and other things, Luther is probably not for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do an overnight. I was set on this school until I did. I'm not saying it's not a great school, but seeing the campus from the student's perspective and not an admissions counselor made me realize it wasn't for me.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a private school, but seems to be pretty high up there in value. Could definitely do worse.

  • 08/09/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you love small schools in rural Iowa, this will be great for you. Unfortunately some things to keep in mind: -Very little cell carriers get this part of Iowa -Few banks have ATMs or Branches in this part of Iowa

    Tips for prospective students

    Just apply if you want to go, I don't know anyone who didn't get in!

    Bang for the buck

    Luther is /Very/ expensive. $41,000+ a year, and they do not give out aid easily. If you have extremely high grades you'll get scholarships, but my father got laid off right as I was accepted, and they did not take that into consideration of my aid.

    Will enjoy being here

    I suppose I will enjoy being here, it's one of the most widely known music ed programs, and it has a famous Orchestra that travels to Vienna every 4 years. It's a good music program, that you don't have to audition into but you do have to make progress to keep going in the program.

    Will learn a lot

    I imagine I will learn a lot here, there are amazing teachers and everyone seems to say that this is a good school.

  • 12/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those interested in music, science (Luther has a fabulous new science and lab building), the humanities, and study abroad.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your professors as soon as possible, join the music program even if you aren't a music major, and take classes outside of your major for a perspective that you never thought you'd have.

    Bang for the buck

    Luther takes care of you and has fabulous financial aid (moreso than St. Olaf College...).

    Am enjoying being here

    I'm a political science major, but I am just as much a musician as I am a politics student. I sing in the Luther Nordic Choir, one of the best a capella choirs in the NATION. The Student Activities Council and Performing Arts Committee bring amazing cultural and academic programs, lectures, and concerts every semester.

    Am learning a lot

    This liberal-arts education is what you make of it. You must be motivated to learn beyond required assignments and readings. Establishing a good relationship with professors is easy, and really helps students dive in to their academic field.

  • 12/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I'm not a music major, but many people on campus are. They love it. Science and music are huge fields on campus--Luther just built a new building for the science labs, and everyone loves it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Spend the night and don't be afraid to ask everyone questions. Once, when I was on campus as a prospective student, a chemistry professor spent an hour and a half telling me about his research project and all about the college. Students also love prospies so don't be nervous!

    Bang for the buck

    The price tag is large, but they are pretty good about getting scholarships and grants to help you out. It was more expensive for me to go to Luther than a state school, but not by too much.

    Am enjoying being here

    The atmosphere is excellent. Very few students leave campus on the weekends, there is always plenty to do on campus. Concerts, plays, sports, it's all great fun!

    Am learning a lot

    Luther has plenty of options for any level of student entering and the tutoring options are tremendous. No one judges you for going to a tutor, there are group tutoring sessions, and you can sign up for individual ones, too.

  • 12/26/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Music majors, people who like small towns

    Tips for prospective students

    Go on a visit. Seeing the campus for myself helped me to make up my mind about how I felt.

    Bang for the buck

    It is very expensive, but I don't doubt that they will knock down the price considerably if they want you bad enough.

    Will enjoy being here

    I think that I would really enjoy it there. They have a lot of clubs, and everyone seemed very involved when I went there. I would also like it because they are affiliated with the Lutheran church. The one thing I don't like is that it is in a very small town.

    Will learn a lot

    It seems like they have very rigorous courses at Luther, which is one of the reasons that I am considering them. I like the idea of Paideia, and think that I would really like learning there.

  • 12/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who love the outdoors, music, science, art, and drama. People who aren't afraid to be themselves.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to try new activities. Come to school confident, you will soon make new friends and find a social niche you fit right into.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel like tuition is a little on the expensive side.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have made great, lifelong friends and the atmosphere is great.

    Am learning a lot

    I am already applying what I have learned outside the class room and have only attended school for one semester.

  • 01/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe campus, have never had a problem.

    What to do for fun

    Stay on campus, a lot of stuff is brought it. Otherwise, there is a little shopping, or you can go to the local bar.

    Food and Dining

    The foods alright, need to switch it up every once in a while.

    Dorm Life

    Awesome dorms, some have more partying then others.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging classes, but not impossible

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early, and get lots of scholarships.

    In three sentences

    Awesome college, very good atmosphere for any type of student looking to join the Luther community.

  • 01/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    although decorah is a small community, there are an abundance of activities to take part in, and wonderful areas to explore all around the area, including dunning's springs, the ice caves, and trails galore! movie nights, small shopping areas, and adorable cafes are also always available, no matter the season!

    Food and Dining

    there are four locations to eat on campus, including the cafeteria, marty's (burgers, fries, etc.), oneota (deli sandwiches, salads, soup, etc.), and sunnyside cafe (coffee, fruit, the best cinnamon rolls in the planet). as long as you are comfortable navigating from place to place, the food is fabulous!

    Dorm Life

    the sophomore and junior dorm buildings have just been remodeled, and even the oldest dorm buildings are up to par. the ras are always friendly, and there is just an overall wonderful feeling of community in every dorm building and down every dorm hallway.

    Academic Rigor

    classes vary from boring to challenging, as i'm sure most colleges provide, but luther offers such a wide variety of topics that it's hard to stay bored for long. generally, four papers are written per semester per class, and the topics are always engaging.

    Tips for prospective students

    although the first week of orientation is exhausting, the planned activities truly do help you make new friends, and make new friends surprisingly fast. everyone around you is there hoping for the exact same experience you are, so don't be afraid! keep your chin up, smile, and have a great time at luther ccllege.

    In three sentences

    luther has an incredible, open, inviting atmosphere that is nothing short of warm and welcoming. the students and staff are ridiculously friendly, and everyone goes out of their way to help others. classes are taught by challenging, engaging professors that truly love to be here as much as the students do.

  • 01/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    luther is a very safe campus.... though you may want to watch out for the squirrels as they prepare for winter. they're crazy!

    Greek Life

    it's basically nonexistant. some people participate, but it's pretty pointless here.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are so many clubs here! if the club you're looking for doesn't exist, you can easily create it. it's really easy to get involved.

    Great for these types of students

    luther's a huge music school, so if you like music, come here! if you like getting a lot of attention from your professors, luther's small classes will be perfect to you. if you want an incredible college experience, luther is the place for you!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    we play a game called humans vs. zombies every year that takes over the entire campus! for a week, everyone goes crazy, either fighting to stay alive or turn humans into zombies. it's so much fun!

    Bang for the buck

    luther has a big price tag, but basically everyone here is getting some type of assistance. the friendships you create and the lessons you learn here make it worth every single penny.

    What to do for fun

    you'd think that being out in the middle of nowhere would be boring, but luther is never boring! they're really great about bringing groups/musical artists to campus and there's always something fun going on.

    Food and Dining

    the food is hit or miss. sometimes it's great and other days it's disgusting. luckily they have a lot of options, so if you don't like what you originally got, you can go and get something else.

    Dorm Life

    my dorm experience has been better than i anticipated it would be. my roommates and i get along really well, and most of my friends can say the same about their roommates. the ras make sure that something is always going on so we're never bored!

    Academic Rigor

    it all depends on what types of classes you take/what your major is. if you take ap classes in high school you'll be prepared for the work load here.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you visit the campus when school is in session! my first visit was during the summer and i hated it because there were no students around. i came back that winter and had an incredible experience.

    In three sentences

    luther college is an amazing school. the people who go here are fantastic and the community we add to is a lasting one. i didn't think it would be possible to love a school this much!

  • 01/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i almost always feel totally safe on campus. i'm always on my toes if it's night and i'm alone, but i've never felt unsafe. there are security vehicles about,but there's also just a feeling that the kind of people who go here wouldn't be a problem. if it's a weekend night and you're a girl, you don't go walk around by yourself when the bars are closing. it's just a matter of being smart about yourself, but there is little threat.

    Greek Life

    greek life is not very vibrant at luther. there are a couple sororities and frats, but there aren't huge houses dedicated to them like at many universities. they hold parties and benefits, but don't make up a huge part of campus life.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are clubs a plenty and activities all over the place. our location (lack of cities nearby) inspires administration to provide lots of sports(conference and intramural) along with theatre(faculty and student led) and music(lots and lots of choirs, orchestras, and chamber groups.)

    Great for these types of students

    it's a great school for kids who are serious about academics, but don't have a stick up their butts. the people who come here are generally very friendly and kind, but also nerdiness is totally accepted. we have our fair share of quirky kids, but in the best way. woodsy, hipster, sporty, and music kids abound. students interested in music and biology are usually cited (for good reason), but as a social science major, i love it here too.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    quirky activity is beloved on campus. weird igloos in the winter. picnics on the lawn in spring and fall. you have to check out dunning's spring ( a waterfall just 4 blocks off from campus) and other natural beauties around decorah. everyone goes to the whippy dip at the beginning of the year, the local open air ice cream shop.

    Bang for the buck

    i never feel like i'm paying more than what i'm getting. my mind has been so expanded by my classes here, that i can't imagine not having come here. my professors have almost always wanted to get to know me personally and help me along my way. the administration does a great job with financial aid. i pay less for luther than i would have at university of mn - twin cities. check out your options.

    What to do for fun

    well, it is in a small town in iowa. there is certainly bar-life for those interested, with 19 year olds being allowed to enter bars in iowa. there is a place called club pyramid that draws great bands (dosh, andrew bird's drummer played there) as well as djs(dubstep, etc.) a couple weekends a month. otherwise, you can be total goofs all over campus and have fun. go to the art buildings and make something! cook something in the dorm kitchen. go for hikes in the beautiful surrounding area, go lay in anderson prairie (on campus) and look at the stars. luther also brings in acts to keep us busy. they do a great job.

    Food and Dining

    luther has a good sized cafeteria. as with most cafs, it's a little less than exciting. there are other options though like a burger place and a café with more exciting options. you can deal with it.

    Dorm Life

    luther does a great job of creating community in the dorms for your first year. the dorms are pretty clean and okay. i lived in brandt which is very nice. they're still dorms though. i always feel safe and at home.

    Academic Rigor

    i do about 5 hours of homework a night on average during the semesters. however, the work you do is exciting and mind-opening. there's time for social life, but sometimes sleep suffers. it's not too crazy academically, but you're certainly challenged. but in a great way! the way you should be in college.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you visit! the campus is beautiful and was a major selling point for me and was bigger than expected, but others think it is a bit on the small side. if you come here, get to know your professors. they are incredible assets and can help you figure yourself out.

    In three sentences

    a warm-hearted place to be supported, challenged academically, and to figure out what you want to do with life. luther is a friendly place to become who you will be. it may be on the smaller side, but the community feeling it has makes that all worth it.

  • 01/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    local theater

    Tips for prospective students

    apply for financial aid early.

    In three sentences

    they have a great music program. there is a tight student body. faculty is very personal.

  • 04/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I can leave my valuables in my backpack unattended with no fear of them being taken.

    Greek Life

    Not very much activity with these.

    Clubs and Activities

    So many options it is no problem to find a club to suit your interests.

    Great for these types of students

    Small town or large city people adapt well to Luther. Being a little quirky is a campus wide theme so coming in with a vibrant personality is great.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Very Norwegian community

    Bang for the buck

    A bit expensive but it is manageable and the experiences you get are worth every penny!

    What to do for fun

    Decorah is a small community so many activities are outdoors such as biking on trails, hiking, canoing, cross country skiing, and others. There is a movie theater, ice cream shops, museums, and a lot of small town restaurants and bars to experience. On campus there seems to be an activity every weekend from plays to concerts to comedians not to mention intramural sports.

    Food and Dining

    There are many options for dining on campus whether you're vegan, vegetarian, or you love meat! Some days the food is better than others but most of the time it is no problem choosing something satisfying.

    Dorm Life

    Freshmen dorms do not have air conditioning. Remodeling is currently taking place on the dorms with new hard wood floors and lofts will now be provided in all dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are very competitive and professors generally seem enthused about the subjects they teach. Professors are very flexible with their office hours and are always willing to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a more expensive school so saving money early is a good idea, but Luther gives many acedemic, music, and need-based scholarships to make it just as cost-effective as a state school. If Luther has the major you are interested in, the cost is well worth it!

    In three sentences

    Small class sizes make it easy to become personal with professors. Offers a wide variety of liberal arts education opportunities. Has many services that help prepare you for the future with staff who truly care.

  • 05/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Luther's Greek Life is not a big part of life on campus, but there are a few unchartered but school-approved sororities and fraternities on campus. The students in Greek Life tend to be friendly and energetic, as well as heavily involved with service and philanthropy.

    Great for these types of students

    Luther is great for students who aren't afraid to push themselves and aren't looking for a big party school. It's big into sustainability, being environmentally conscious, and serving its students needs in a way that is good both for them and for the world around them.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Luther has a longstanding rivalry with Wartburg College, in Waverly, IA. In the past, this was a bigger deal than it is now, but it's still fun to tease and play with the idea of the rivalry.

    Bang for the buck

    I love Luther, personally. It's got a great atmosphere, helpful and interesting faculty and staff, a beautiful campus, and all-around great people.

    What to do for fun

    Being in a small town, there aren't a lot of going out options, but that is made up for by the beautiful surroundings. Dunning's Spring is a gorgeous place to hike and explore. Going to town is tons of fun, with its beautiful architecture and fun shops.

    Food and Dining

    Sodexo, Luther's dining services company tries really hard, but sometimes they try a little too hard. The food's not bad, and there are lots of options. The Oneota Turkey Bacon Stacker in Oneota Cafe on the main floor of the Union is to die for!

    Dorm Life

    RAs at Luther are friendly, observant, and involved. They are just as much your friends as they are your advisors. There isn't really a bad dorm to end up in at Luther.

    Academic Rigor

    Luther is a school that is going to push you. This isn't someplace you come to glide along, this is a school where you are going to learn a lot and work a lot. That said, if you take the right classes, you'll have fun doing it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Whatever you may have heard about Paideia, it's not as bad as people make it out to be. For housing, you really want to live in Brandt. Don't be afraid to contact current students if you can find them; everyone is super friendly!

    In three sentences

    Luther is easily one of the most interesting places to study in the Midwest. It is full of fascinating people and professors. It has a bright, energetic atmosphere that keeps you moving forward.

  • 05/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    For the most part, very safe. I've felt perfectly safe walking across campus at 2am by myself, although there are occasionally some minor incidents reported.

    Greek Life

    There is an expanding Greek program. I personally am not familiar with what it all entails, but I have some friends that are.

    Clubs and Activities

    The music program is phenomenal. Roughly 1000 out of the 2500 student body participate in either band, choir, or orchestra. There are activities for every kind of person; a ballroom/swing club, Performing Arts Committee, Student Senate, Debate, diversity center, and so many more that I can't name them all.

    Great for these types of students

    It's big enough that you don't know everyone, yet small enough that you are able to recognize people around campus and in the cafeteria. Professors get to know students well enough that later semesters they will still know you and say hi to you if they see you on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Luther cares about the environment and has an amazing Sustainability program. We are constantly finding new ways to save on energy and other resources and have been implementing a local foods and fair trade policies.

    Bang for the buck

    It's expensive, but well worth it for all of the great opportunities and personal relationships with the professors!

    What to do for fun

    Go explore some of the trails around, play games, go to restaurants/bars, movies, bowling, typical small-town things.

    Food and Dining

    Dining is great; there are a lot of options. It's easy to meet up with friends. Being a residential campus, most of the students go to the cafeteria to dine so you always run into people you know. The food variety isn't the greatest, but there's always at least cereal, sandwiches, and salads.

    Dorm Life

    A smaller school means it's easier to get to know people and recognize people. Everyone is friendly and says hi.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are harder than others and some of it depends on the professor. It's a small enough school that you can easily have personal relationships with the professors. There also seem to be more papers and essay tests than at larger schools.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved and try new things. Don't be scared of trying things that you've never done before. Don't start by taking all general courses; maybe take 3 and take one course just because it sounds fun. I did, and that just-for-fun course ended up leading me to my major!

    In three sentences

    I love it here. It's a great fit for me!

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Small town Iowa, no one is out to get you

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Naked soccer

    Bang for the buck

    Don't let the price scare you, many scholarships are available and the school is know for producing great graduates.

    What to do for fun

    Many outdoor activities (beautiful trials, a river that runs right by campus for tubing and canoeing), local ice cream parlors, bars, and much more!

    Food and Dining

    Local and sustainable.

    Dorm Life

    Being a small you get to know your classmates well.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes will push you to new limits you didn't know you had and professors are always there to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tour the campus and see the great facilities for your yourself.

    In three sentences

    A personalized small town college tailored to each students needs. A vibrant campus with high academic rigor and excellent professors. Welcoming student organizations and academia.

  • 07/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safer at Luther than in my own home town neighborhood. Everyone looks out for each other.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Roscoe's is the one and only bar, even the staff joke about the craziness that happens at 'Scoes'! The top of the campus church is also a great place to slide around on during the winter.

    What to do for fun

    The area surrounding Decorah is beautiful so anything outdoors is fun. Frisbee on the library lawn, hiking and biking out to the many parks, and socializing at the one and only Roscoe's.

    Food and Dining

    If you do not get creative with the food then you will most likely end up hating the cafeteria. Mix and match, do not eat the same thing every day and all will be swell.

    Dorm Life

    If you know how to decorate and you find people you get along with then dorm life can be very enjoyable.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes will challenge you. If you breezed through high school do not show up and expect to do the bare minimum and think that you will get good grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be afraid to put yourself out there because everyone is very welcoming. Sign up for anything and everything that interests you and narrow it down from there. Enjoy yourself but make sure you remember why you came to college; to further your education before you go out into the real world.

    In three sentences

    Luther is a friendly place to spend the next four years after high school. There are many resources to help students find the right career. Luther will challenge every student to succeed.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is around on a 24 hour basis, and dorms are in the process of becoming key card only opening.

    Clubs and Activities

    The music program here is the highlight of the school. Over 75 percent of the student population is in the music programs.

    Great for these types of students

    Outgoing, goal-oriented, and studious students fit well here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are tunnels underneath the campus that connect all the buildings.

    Bang for the buck

    You get what you pay for, it's a private college. Not only that, but if you are in a lower pay class, the school and government will pay for most of your tuition.

    What to do for fun

    Activities are student led so join whatever group fits you the most!

    Food and Dining

    Amazing food! Lots of places to eat, like Marty's Cyber Cafe and Oneota.

    Dorm Life

    Awesome dorms, great activities.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are relatively challenging and encourage you to think about what the message of the lessons are. Classes are small and well rounded and teachers are attentive and clear.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you make the most of the awards given to you. Spend a lot of time in the library. Have fun!

    In three sentences

    In three sentences

  • 09/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security system in Luther is very rigid and profound. We are safe on campus, but if we drink under age or use drug, someone will definitely report us to security men.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life here.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are wide range of clubs we can join from dancing to charity organization. But the most recognizable activities on campus are anything related to music. We have 5 official music choirs and many other smaller groups on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    For students who wants to make strong connection with the school, with professors, and fellow students. For students who love music, whether they major in music or not.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I am a freshman. I have not found any unusual traditions or locations so far.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition and other fees are fairly high. However, school offers wide range of scholarships to students. The point is to be patient to look for it, and take any opportunities we have.

    What to do for fun

    There is not many things to do in small downtown Decorah. Therefore, Luther always have events on weekends such as concerts, social games, academic talks, etc. Furthermore, as long as we have friends, only sitting in the cafeteria chatting is fun already.

    Food and Dining

    Not so great generally. Because I am an Asian, it is understandable that food at a white-dominated school does not suit me well. But I still manage to find something to eat every meal.

    Dorm Life

    Great! I have a lot of friends here. Everyone is so friendly, and easy to conduct conversation with. I live in one of the quiet floors that are ideal for studying and relaxing. However, some dorms are pretty noisy because a large number of Luther students major in music. So, there is music all the time.

    Academic Rigor

    Faily intense. All freshmen are required to take Paideia course, which is a discussion-cum-writing class. This is an opportunity for students to voice their ideas about particular social aspects.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open-minded so that you can have a lot of opportunities to understand the world through sharing ideas with other open-minded students

    In three sentences

    The highest priority of Luther is to create a high sense of community at school and Decorah area. Luther accepts and values different ideas of everyone from all backgrounds, which makes students feel involved in school spirit.

  • 09/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is not much to do for fun. You can join inter murals and do a lot of other things on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food at the cafeteria is hit or miss. There is also a place called Martys and the food there is amazing.

    Dorm Life

    Lots of people are noisy. So be sure to ask your tour guide or someone you may know which dorms are the best to live in.

    Academic Rigor

    Luther has some of the best programs. Including their Bio and Chemistry programs. They will always help you and have tutoring for free if you need help in any course.

    Tips for prospective students

    The campus is absolutely beautiful. You will need to learn to study hard since this school is one of the harder ones. Be prepared to do a lot of homework and do not let yourself get behind.

    In three sentences

    Luther College is a great college. They have amazing programs and all the teachers are willing to put there time in to help you. Class sizes are small so you get that one on one attention

  • 11/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every September the students gather at a location determined each day and rock out to the song September by Earth, Wind, and Fire. This tradition is called Septembertime, and culminates up to the 21st night of September, when the song is played multiple times with the largest number of students possible crammed into the Choir Room.

    What to do for fun

    Virtually every weekend on campus Luther hosts entertainment for students. One time per semester they host a big name band. For example, they hosted FUN. this semester. There is also Hunger Games activities, and a week-long Humans vs. Zombies game that takes place each semester.

    Food and Dining

    There are more than enough opportunities to eat on campus. The Cafeteria (The CAF in student talk) is the main location on campus to eat. It is located in the student union, at the center of student activity. In The Cafeteria there are numerous options to eat including an Entree Bar, Pizza/Pasta Bar, Salad Bar, Vegetarian Bar, Grill Bar, Exhibition Bar, Condiment Bar, Fruit/Yogurt Bar, Dessert Bar, Ice Cream Bar, and two Drink Bars. The late night eating establishment on campus is called Marty's. There, you can get chicken strips, burgers, cookies, deli wraps, pizza and pasta, or my personal favorite...sushi! A really healthy option on campus is Oneota Market. At this place you can get some grab-and-go sandwiches, or their daily special. They live up to the term Taco Tuesdays with their weekly Walking Taco Bar. A must get on campus is Sunnyside Market's Famous Cinnamon Rolls. They are to die for.

    Dorm Life

    The freshmen dorms are incredibly welcoming. Move-in day is something that can't be matched. The second that you drive onto campus students come up to your car and carry EVERYTHING that you have to your room. Throughout the year the dorms create a warm atmosphere for social times and study times. The upper class dorms are a step-up from the freshmen dorms. They have air conditioning, which is great for the first few weeks of classes. If you ever have the chance to live in a Farwell Cluster, do so. They provide a chance to live with 10-12 of your closest friends in double rooms that all connect to a common living room.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors work to encourage students to go above and beyond what they think that they are capable of achieving. If students ever have a question that they need answered, the professors are always a short walk or a phone call away. The homework load varies from class to class, but it always helps with comprehension of the material.

    Tips for prospective students

    Even if you have the slightest interest in attending Luther College make a visit to campus. The students will tell you all of the ups and the downs about the campus. The students and staff love to answer any questions that you may have, so DO NOT be afraid.

    In three sentences

    The combination of academic prowess, musical excellence and athletic proficiency makes Luther College unlike anywhere else. The moment you walk on campus, the faculty and staff along with the students welcome you to the community with warm hearts and open arms. There is something for everyone with interests that range from volunteering to intramural activities and everywhere in-between.

  • 12/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security here is really strong, too.

    Greek Life

    A couple sororitys and frats.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have everything!

    Great for these types of students

    Religious, driven, adventurous, friendly

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Sort of out in the middle of no where in a small town. Walmart is really the only place to get a lot of stuff except for obscure shops downtown.

    Bang for the buck

    Expensive, but worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Go to a recital, PAC or SAC concert, a movie, shopping downtown, hiking around the bluffs, tubing down the river, or more!

    Food and Dining

    There are a lot of options in the cafeteria, but it is still cafeteria food.

    Dorm Life

    Freshmen have their own buildings so it is a great way to meet people. There are lots of different options when it comes to dorms for upperclassmen.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your major and teacher, classes can range from easy to very challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be involved in as much as you can, and take time to explore the city of Decorah! It has a lot to offer.

    In three sentences

    Luther is small, but definitely not boring! There is a strong sense of community. The music program is really strong!

  • 12/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is completely safe. There are usually quite a few laptops or books that are left in one place while the owner grabs lunch, which are always there upon the owner's return.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Frisbee is HUGE here, and there are athletes that range from casual to intramural to practice-seven-days-a-week.

    Bang for the buck

    Worth every penny.

    What to do for fun

    There are clubs on campus in virtually every interest, plenty of weekend activities (comedians, big-name artists like Macklemore or Fun., ethnic food nights, etc) and students are ALWAYS hiking, biking, or running on the trails around Decorah.

    Food and Dining

    Caf food is varied and always has great healthy options. There are also two coffee cafes on campus and a grab-and-go style of dining in addition to the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    Resident assistants spend time planning activities and group-bonding activities for their residents, especially in the first-year dorms. Housing only gets better as you get older!

    Academic Rigor

    Students are challenged and there are very high expectations. Some academic majors are more rigorous than others.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you visit campus and watch the students around you: look for smiling faces, interactions between students and professors or staff, and the amount of students who are hanging out or studying around campus.

    In three sentences

    Luther College is made up of a passionate community of students, professors, staff, and Decorah citizens that care about the people and world around them. Academics are rigorous, dorm life is built on community, and there is LOTS to do on and off campus.

  • 12/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never had a problem with feeling unsafe here. All the dorms are very secure and Decorah is a small, friendly town with basically no crime rate.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a whole bunch of clubs at Luther, and at least two for whatever you're interested in. I am involved with the Speech team and the LC Femmes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Christmas at Luther is a choir program put on in late November/early December. It's always worth it, whether you're in the choir or just watching. There are also plenty of parks and wildlife centers all throughout Decorah, and the whole town has a strong Norwegian heritage that shines through.

    Bang for the buck

    I am actually not rich, so spending so much money on an education is a big deal for me. However, the experience and the education I'm getting for it makes it worth it in my eyes.

    What to do for fun

    The activities committee always has something planned- from Fun. concerts to hypnotists, there's rarely a dull moment. If you're a quieter person like me, movie nights with friends and exploring Decorah are both fun things to do as well!

    Food and Dining

    Honestly, I love the food here. There are enough options to have something different every night, so I never get tired of the food choices!

    Dorm Life

    Dorms can be noisy, but there's never a dull moment and some of the girls on my floor are my closest friends! Plus, my roommates and I get along exceptionally well.

    Academic Rigor

    Luther has a rigorous academic program that both challenges me and keeps my interest.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to reach out! Join clubs or sports. It's a great way to meet new people.

    In three sentences

    The first thing I noticed when I moved in was the friendly atmosphere. Immediately, I felt part of a community and that was important to me. Also, they have a REALLY good music program.

  • 01/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is completely safe. Security is top notch.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs on this campus there is absolutely something for every single person.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who wished to have fully rounded education, which is the liberal arts goal, and music loving students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    During the month of September Luther has Septembertime. This is an event in which every night in the month of September, at a different location around campus and play the song Do you remember? Christmas on campus is also a hugely popular time.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is wonderful at providing scholarships. It is by far cheaper for me to go there than a state institution.

    What to do for fun

    I enjoy hanging out with friends, watching movies, or exploring downtown. Our Cafe is also a great place to go.

    Food and Dining

    The Cafeteria at Luther is a wonderful place. There are many options, and one is almost always able to find something truly delicious and satisfying. The only complaint is the food temperature, which is mostly warm.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is overall pretty great. My floor for the most part is pretty quiet and respectful of others. The only disturbances are my neighbors upstairs who seem to have no regard for their downstairs neighbors.

    Academic Rigor

    Luther has every level of classes. Some of them are more challenging than others, but there are so many resources available on campus that there is almost no excuse to do well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you understand what your intended major entails later on. Create and tweak your study methods until you get the desired outcome. Do not be afraid to ask for help if necessary.

    In three sentences

    Luther is overall a wonderful school. The atmosphere is one that encourages learning and allows students to be themselves and truly do what they want to do. The campus is a place that I love to be.

  • 02/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It's easy to get involved in a lot here and still have time to get everything done. In that manner, I feel like it's not too hard to get my money's worth here!

    What to do for fun

    Decorah is small, but there's still a lot to do! There's a movie theater, a bowling alley, TONS of hiking and biking trails, a waterfall, canoeing, camping, cross country skiing, etc.

    Food and Dining

    While the food is not the best, as a student you get used to being creative and figuring out new options for food and meals.

    Dorm Life

    The resident life office is good about having activities for students to get involved in, and some of the dorms are very newly renovated. Your floor becomes your neighborhood, and people are generally respectful of others as well.

    Academic Rigor

    Luther's academic rigor is high, but at the same time the amount of support offered by professors is also high. Classes are small, allowing students to form relationships with their professors and to feel comfortable asking for help at any time.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're thinking about attending Luther, be sure to go on an overnight visit because that's when you'll really be able to see what it's like to be a student here. You'll quickly see the amount of dedication that all the people here have to making this a great community.

    In three sentences

    Luther College is a wonderful and welcoming community filled with many people who genuinely care about the education of the students who attend. In the time that I've been here Luther has become my home, and the people here have become my family. The support system which is offered here on top of the high quality academic, music, sports, and other co-curricular activities offered makes Luther a great place to spend four years of your life.

  • 03/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Most people go to the local nightclub Roscoe's. Other than that, there's a lot of cute shops and some pretty big free shows, although they're infrequent.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is a little better than average, but there aren't very many affordable off-campus meal options.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are decent and there are a lot of floor activities. Nothing special, however.

    Academic Rigor

    I've had a pretty good experience with most of my classes. However, the course offering is rather limited.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try out for the music scholarships, since they're pretty easy to get. Try to get a job at Marty's because it's pretty easy.

    In three sentences

    Luther College has great music and science programs. It's in the middle of nowhere, so there's not a lot of stuff to do, but there's some good free shows. If you don't drink/party on the weekends, you feel a little left out.

  • 04/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. We have 24/7 security staff that constantly patrol the grounds and are always a short phone call away.

    Greek Life

    There are sororities and fraternities on campus. While not my thing, they're not overly obnoxious and they do contribute a lot of good to the school with events they sponsor.

    Clubs and Activities

    If we haven't started it already, you're more than welcome to start one. We have an active ballroom swing club that does national competitions, choirs that compete, and so much more. Just check the campus's website for more information!

    Great for these types of students

    Any student can find happiness at Luther if you're willing to take a moment to look.

    Bang for the buck

    While the price might look steep initially, I've gotten more out of college than the college has taken from me monetarily. I've had so many opportunities, especially thanks to the alumni network that loves to keep in touch and contribute to current students. The price truly is a small one when you consider what you're getting.

    What to do for fun

    There's a ton! We have an on-campus challenge course, frisbee golf, extra-curricular choirs, mountain biking clubs, gaming clubs, mobile development clubs, and so much more. There's literally something for everyone.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is undergoing yet another renovation this coming summer, so things are only going to improve. The food is 'okay' most days, but some days, they have pretty fine cuisine. There are several other on-campus options that offer consistently good food.

    Dorm Life

    There's a pretty good on-campus housing system. I've never had an incident with my roommates, and that seems to be what's typical. While there are some that don't work out, my roommates and I still choose to live with each other year to year.

    Academic Rigor

    Luther's professors vary, but most of them will not be afraid to challenge you. Earning an A in a class here usually means something more than getting an A at most other institutions. Often times, it's not enough to go through the motions on homework; the professors will expect you to make an effort if it's an area in your major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid of the cost. Luther has scholarships for just about every student. In fact, it was cheaper to attend here than in-state school would have been for me given how much Luther has contributed to my education.

    In three sentences

    Luther College is a great place to learn if you want to be able to take advantage of one-on-one time with professors. Class sizes are typically less than 30 people, so you have great opportunities to get to know your peers and professors. The campus has loads of fun activities to try out and has one of the most beautiful sceneries.

  • 07/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Luther has some great outdoor activities like caving, swimming, hiking, and biking. The campus holds weekly trips to do many of these things, but it's just as easy to go explore the landscape on your own. One nice thing is that you can walk to the center of Decorah in about twenty minutes, and there are really good restaurants and shops on Water street. Luther also offers free rental of camping equipment so if you wanted to go on a weekend camping trip, that's supported by the campus!

    Food and Dining

    While cafeteria food is generally hard to get used to in the first year of college, at Luther the food is wonderful. There are so many options and many of the fruits and vegetables are locally grown. Fresh fruit and salad bar options every day, and a variety of good food. Sometimes there are theme nights where chefs will come in and make a treat. Oneota market is also a fabulous place to grab lunch, and has some great daily specials. Marty's has wonderful grill food, but the service can be a little slow. That being said, it is your classmates working there so you have to give them a little break.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are beautiful buildings that encourage community bonding and activities. The freshmen floors tend to get really close and a lot of people make their best friends from these relationships. Brandt is by far the best dorm, though others would argue the same for both Ylvi and Olson halls. Brandt is built for a more social person, and tends to be more music oriented as Jenson (the music building) is right next door.

    Academic Rigor

    Most classes are rigorous, with heavy expectations for work and class participation. Since so many classes are small and discussion based, anonymity is hardly an option. Some professors have been known to call students to get them out of bed for class!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be intimidated by the religious affiliation--Luther may be a Lutheran college by nature, but that does not mean that this faith is forced upon you. If you seek it out, the faith opportunities are rich, but if you choose not to, no one will think twice.

    In three sentences

    Luther is all about community. The people here (staff and students alike) are friendly, academically driven, and help you to become a better more well rounded person. I am so grateful that I found a place where the support system runs deep, and the opportunities for me are abundant.

  • 07/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a variety of varsity and intercollegiate sports, along with a variety of extracurricular activities.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty typical, but nothing to get excited about. They do have an opinions board in every location though for constructive criticism.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very nice and kept extremely clean.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a private college, so you cannot expect the work to be easy. It is a private college though so the professors will bend over backwards to help you in any way. They actually want you to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like the small school feel, this college is perfect for you. They have a variety of varsity and intercollegiate sports available along with a variety of extracurricular activities.

    In three sentences

    Luther is a private college, located in Decorah IA. It is a very small institution with a good learning atmosphere. The most significant aspect is the fact the professors actually view you as an individual rather than a number.

  • 08/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Luther hosts some kind of event almost every night. Besides that, there are also tons of clubs to join. Downtown Decorah is home to many restaurants, coffee houses, ice cream shops, and unique shopping. There is also a club that hosts parties regularly.

    Food and Dining

    I'll be honest, the cafeteria food is not the best. However, the cafeteria just got a makeover, so maybe the food has been improved also. There are also other options besides the cafeteria that I tend to find much more enjoyable and flexible to different meal plans.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are great. There is a place for everyone. The Towers usually house the athletes and partiers, Larsen typically caters to the quiet and studious, and Farwell allows you to create your own community by living in clusters. There are also great off-campus housing options.

    Academic Rigor

    I have definitely been challenged academically at Luther. The professors care about the quality of work you produce and push you to do better.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be social. Get out there and try new things, join a club or a sport, go out for choir or a band. It's the best way to meet new people and make wonderful friends.

    In three sentences

    Luther College is the perfect fit for me. It's a small, close-knit community full of wonderful people and there is always something going on. Decorah is also a great place to live and has basically everything you need.

  • 09/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I would say that our campus is really safe, since it is in a smaller town. Usually the biggest crime on campus is a bike getting stolen. However, this is usually because it is not locked and someone borrows it to get across campus. Most of the time the bike is later found at another building on campus.

    Greek Life

    There is a small Greek life on campus; however, it is not a big part of campus life, like it may be in some bigger universities. Many of the sororities/fraternizes on campus are community service based.

    Clubs and Activities

    As previously mentioned, there is always something to do on campus, and most of the time it has something to do with a student-lead group or activity. There are dance groups, acapella ensembles, groups for different areas of study, leadership/community service groups, a PRIDE group, even a quidditch team!

    Great for these types of students

    It is great for students who want a smaller, more close-knit campus. It is also great for those you want to be involved and challenged academically, but who also want to participate in sports, music ensembles, student-lead groups, etc.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One of my favorite traditions on campus is SeptemberTime. Every night in the month of September, we will all gather at a different location on campus and dance to the song September by Earth, Wind, and Fire. Also, there is this cute little ice cream shack in town (within walking distance from campus) called the Whippy Dip. It is definitely a campus favorite.

    Bang for the buck

    Yeah, it's a private college, so of course the initial sticker price is going to be shocking; however, because it is a private school, they are able to offer more financial aid, unlike a large state university. The dorms are in good condition and have a more homey feel (i.e. they don't look like a prison cell). The food is great, the professors are helpful and knowledgeable, and the overall vibe of the campus is very welcoming.

    What to do for fun

    It seems like there is always something to do on campus, whether it be a concert, a band performance, a guest speaker, movie night, study group, or athletic event. There is never a dull moment and definitely has something for everyone.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafeteria is actually really great. Every day they have a grill (hamburgers, fries etc.), salad bar, pasta bar, sandwich counter, a main entree line, fresh fruit, a simple servings line (gluten-free, etc.), cereal/other breakfast items, and stellar dessert. Online, they also have the entire week's menu, where you can plan what you're going to have (or what you did have) and it will show you the nutritional information. As far as other places to eat on campus, there is Marty's--a more laid-back, hang out spot, with more restaurant type food (taco salads, burgers, chicken, etc.), there is the coffee/ice cream/bakery shop, the C-store where you can buy some general food for snacks or a quick bite to eat, there is Oneota Market, and the Sunnyside Cafe. I'd have to say that the food here is pretty great. They also try to serve a lot of locally grown, organic, and gluten-free food so there is sure to be a lot of options.

    Dorm Life

    The residential life here is fantastic. They choose they best RAs, who have great attitudes and are always ready to help you with whatever you may need. Of course the first-year dorms are not air conditioned (which is common among most schools), but they do have air-conditioned study and social lounges in each residential hall. They also each have a kitchen and a service center where you can check out cleaning supplies, cooking necessities, etc. The RAs do their best to plan fun activities for your floor to do together to increase bonding.

    Academic Rigor

    There is definitely a class for everyone, no matter your academic level. Counselors and teachers are ready to help you find the class that fits you, whether you need to be moved into a more challenging course, or maybe you need to take a step back.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely come check out the campus, or even stay over night with a current student. Actually coming to visit the campus is what convinced me to apply to Luther and is what made me fall in love with the school. If possible, schedule a tour where you can meet a faculty member in your prospective area of study, a music professor in a band or choir, or a coach in an athletic field that interests you.

    In three sentences

    It has a great atmosphere, where I feel welcomed and at home. There are so many great activities and programs to be a part of such as, music ensembles, student-lead groups, and the outstanding nursing program. Since it is a smaller campus, you have more opportunity for one-on-one time with a teacher and/or tutor and it is really easy to get to know all sorts of different people.

  • 10/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Luther does have a steeper tuition as it is a private college, however some of the services and personal attention that come with going to a smaller college make it worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Luther is in a gorgeous valley with unending opportunities to explore nature. The school itself allows you to check out canoes and tents and the like for free if you chose. There's also a bowling alley and a movie theater within walking distance from the campus. There something going on almost every night on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Marty's, Oneota, the caf, the possibilities are unlimited! Not to mention the large selection of great off campus food.

    Dorm Life

    On campus living is mandatory at Luther, and while that may be a little off putting for some, it creates a super close knit community.

    Academic Rigor

    Luther offers a large variety of courses and the profs are amazing! Even though the classes can be challenging, there's a huge support system if you need it. The school provides free on campus tutors and the prof are super accessible if you need them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit, because you WILL fall in love with the campus!

    In three sentences

    Luther is full of a wide range of people from all different backgrounds and experienced. It's a place where you won't be judged on what you wear or what you look like; dress in heals or in sweats, it doesn't make a difference! And the profs actually know you and care about your success!

  • 01/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    For a small place, we have a large number of groups, with a wide range of tastes. Academic, Political, Athletic, Greek, Recreational, Environmental, Faith, and many more await any student for the picking.

    Great for these types of students

    Music, Science.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have September Time Where we dance for a whole month, every night to September by Earth Wind and Fire. We dance like children(energetic and shamelessly.) It's great.

    Bang for the buck

    Luther does have a high price tag, but there is something about this college and greater community that is more than definitely worth the dollar.

    What to do for fun

    Explore Decorah. This place is endless in nature and a great downtown area.

    Food and Dining

    College food. Don't expect much and you'll be pleasantly surprised. However, the food service staff here is very interested in allowing the students to have active discussions about what foods/what method of food access are allowable and desired. For instance, our organic and locally grown food consumption has skyrocketed in the last decade. We grow a large amount of food at the Luther Gardens, which students are encouraged to be a part of.

    Dorm Life

    The living here is very nice. Some students like to be rowdy and such on the weekends, but on the whole, the rooms have more than enough space to live comfortably.

    Academic Rigor

    Like most colleges, the rigor is made by your effort. Luther is no different. That being said, the professors here implore you to exert as much academic effort as you can, as they know that will benefit you in the long run.

    Tips for prospective students

    Never forget about the resources. They are endless. Explore all options for whatever you need.

    In three sentences

    Students experience all four seasons, but the main season here is windy, so kites are a must. Luther is the college, but Decorah is the place; make great use of both. There is no such thing as the Luther Bubble, there is only a great community of current students and alums who love this institution.

  • 01/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For being a small school in a small town Luther does a great job creating activities on campus. From professional ballet to open mic night in the fast-food joint called Marty's. They even have a coordinator that schedules trips to pumpkins patches and ski resorts outside of campus.

    Food and Dining

    Coming from someone who enjoys making their own food. The food at Luther was a drastic change. It is the normal that everyone complains about the cafeteria either because the food or because they secretly want mom's home cooked meal. However, the food in the cafeteria has been slowly improving to the point that I am looking forward to dinner everyday. Furthermore, Luther College has three other dining areas that give good food once you're tired of the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life can be quiet or jumpy depending which dorm you choose. For example, Olson tends to be forgotten about and has a individualism vibe. Brandt is more lively and more adventurous groups of students. Ylvisaker has more of quiet close-knit family feel. So depending on your style each dorm has it taste.

    Academic Rigor

    Luther has high expectations of their students, yet understand student limitations. Do not get scared if you see students walking around that somehow manage doing three extra-curricular activities, 16 units, and 10 hours of work per week.

    Tips for prospective students

    Luther has a lot to offer but it is not necessarily front and center. You have to dig a little to find it.

    In three sentences

    Luther has a relaxing atmosphere with high expectations. In normal settings, these two concepts would clash, but at Luther College they compliment each other. This allows the campus to give each student the fun, but makes each individual think critically from a holistic perspective. In essence, Luther College gives positive mind blowing experiences in every subject.

  • 01/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is ready to help no matter what, and they are always happy to do it. They are a fast service as well!

    Clubs and Activities

    They're are tons of opportunities on campus!

    Bang for the buck

    College is expensive. It is expensive no matter where you go.

    What to do for fun

    So many outdoor activities!

    Food and Dining

    Great food in the cafeteria that is organic and locally grown!

    Dorm Life

    Great living facilities

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to try new things!

    In three sentences

    Luther College is a great community experience with lots of opportunity. However, it has very high tuition costs. Luther has great extracurricular activities and a great education program.

  • 01/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of clubs that students run and that students can join. It's easy to find a club that you'll enjoy, and you can also always start a club if you feel like it!

    Great for these types of students

    Music students. The music program here is absolutely fantastic.

    Bang for the buck

    For the price, you get a fantastic experience. Definitely apply for scholarships! Financial aid is willing to work with you so that you get the financial assistance you need.

    What to do for fun

    When it's nice out, go out for a walk downtown or to Dunning Springs. Take advantage of the outdoor recreation opportunities emailed to you through your Luther email.

    Food and Dining

    It's just food. A little repetitive at times, but you'll get used to it. Warning: If you want macaroni and cheese with chicken nuggets, be prepared to stand in a line for 10+ minutes.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is fantastic. You get to know your roommates well, and you also get to know the people on your floor very well. The RAs on the floor will try to schedule as many floor outings or meetings as possible so that people on the floor can connect with each other.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers truly care about what they're teaching. In each of the classes, you learn so much and are able to apply what you learn to your life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit while school is in session! You will get a feel of what the school is like. Also, if you can, do an overnight! Join an organization because it will help you adjust to college life. Know what your limit is in terms of how many credits you want to take per semester. Take classes that interest you. Try to stay on top of events that are going on during weekends or at night so that you meet as many people as possible. Never be afraid to ask for help on an assignment from your professors because they will help you with whatever you need.

  • 01/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Luther College has a very safe campus. There is 24-hour security guards on campus that can be called any time for any reason, even to be walked back to your dorm if you feel uncomfortable walking alone. All dorms have an outside lock system that only Luther students have access getting into with their ID cards. Students may only enter other dorms before 10pm using their ID cards. This allows the students in each dorm to be safe.

    Greek Life

    The biggest honor society at Luther College is Phi Beta Kappa. This promotes excellence in liberal arts and sciences. Greek life is not a very big part of the college experience at Luther, but if a student wishes to be a part of a fraternity or sorority, there are several opportunities available.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs for everyone! Luther has clubs ranging from athletics to arts to academics. If a student wishes to be a part of a club but there is not one available, the student can request to start the club that they wish to be a part of, making it possible for everyone to be involved.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is very fitting for students who like to help the environment and very into sustainability. Luther College has a very strong music department, drawing students in every year with their summer and winter music camps called Dorian Music Festival. Luther also has a very strong science department, mainly in biology, but also has a pretty big nursing program. Luther College is great for students who like to be involved in lots of things because it is a liberal arts college and allows students to participate in several different things without majoring in the subject, such as music.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Luther College is very well known for its efforts in sustainability and have several hybrid, electric, and natural gas cars. As the college has remodeled their buildings, they have added many sustainable elements such as low-flow water systems, occupancy sensors, efficient air-handling systems. The school also puts in lots of windows to use for natural light, rather than artificial. A big tradition on campus is taking whippy walks with your friends down to the local ice cream shop, called the Whippy Dip. Another big tradition is Luther's annual Christmas concert called Christmas at Luther. There are five shows every year, with every show being sold out. About 60 percent of students on campus participate in the show. This is possible because a student can be involved with sports and music without either one taking more time than the other.

    Bang for the buck

    Although the sticker price for Luther College may seem very big, the financial services are very useful and very good at finding grants and scholarships for students in need. Most students that attend Luther College for less than the cost of attending a public school. With the amount that the students do pay, Luther uses that money wisely on the students by providing the best meals, performances, dorms, security they can find.

    What to do for fun

    Although Decorah, Iowa is a small town, Luther College makes it a point to have lots of events for students to go to. There are two concerts every semester with big artists and several other concerts with less-known artists. Luther believes every student should have the opportunity to be a part of any event they want without having to worry about finances being a problem, so they include a standard $100 fee at the beginning of the year that covers any extra performance costs that come to the college without it costing too much for the students. Without this, it would cost the students an average of $25 every time there is ANY performance at the college.

    Food and Dining

    Luther College provides several different options for meals in the cafeteria. There are at least seven different food stations, all of them including healthy options. They make it a point to cater to everyone and have something everyone can enjoy, including a separate gluten-free line.

    Dorm Life

    Luther College provides safe and inviting dorms for students to stay in. Every dorm is equipped with a kitchen and laundry rooms for students to use. The Resident Assistants that stay on the floor with the students are very helpful and easy to talk to about anything. They are fun to be around but get their jobs done effectively and efficiently every time.

    Academic Rigor

    Luther College makes it a point to have every student well rounded in every area of study, rather than just focusing on your intended major. They do this by having all-college requirements that every student has to take in order to graduate. This includes taking Paideia as a first-year student, which focuses on writing, reading, thinking, and discussing topics that are important in the world today.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have the opportunity, stay overnight on campus to get a feel for everyday college life to see if it is the right choice for you. Getting a feel for everything on campus, such as the food, sporting events, and dorm life will help make your choice for where you want to go a lot easier!

    In three sentences

    Luther College provides a safe, clean, and healthy environment for all students. All the staff makes everyone who enters the campus feel welcome and that they belong here. Luther College cares about healthy lifestyle choices and sustainability by providing healthy meal options and composting as much as they can, rather than sending it to the dump and harming the environment.