Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Luzerne County Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/11/2010

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I recommend LCCC for students that do not have the funds to accommodate expensive four-year colleges and universities. You can get your associates degree in 2 years for about $10,000 at LCCC whereas it is easy to spend $10,000 or more at other colleges for one semester. After your associates degree is complete, transfer to another university to obtain your bachelors. You really will save a large sum of money this way. I also recommend LCCC for students that are not sure if college is for them. If you are unsure whether you want to go to college, this is an inexpensive way to explore the possibility.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register for classes as early as possible. Many of the common classes like Biology, College Algebra, or Western Civilization fill up quickly. The longer you wait, the less likely you are to get into the classes you want. If you plan to transfer to another college or university after attending LCCC, speak with the other college’s representative to see what courses they require. This will help you decide which courses to take and may keep you from future frustration and delay. The parking lots fill up quickly in the morning. Come early if you want a good parking space.

    Bang for the buck

    Credits at LCCC are quite cheap. No four-year college or university offers credits for such a low price. You certainly get a lot out of your time here considering the price. LCCC credits transfer quite easily to most other colleges and universities. Since it is so inexpensive it is a great way to save money by getting some credits here before going to a four-year college or university. LCCC has a program with Misericordia University that allows for students of Misericordia to receive inexpensive credits at LCCC before, or during your education at Misericordia. These credits are guaranteed to transfer. Also, the quality of education you get is pretty good. The classes were relatively challenging and prepare you well for the more major specific courses that the four-year colleges and universities offer. The material taught here is nearly as good, if not just as good as the material at other colleges and universities. The tuition at LCCC is really a great deal!

    Did enjoy being here

    The college does not have much of a community feel. Since it is a community college all students commute. Because everyone commutes most students come to campus, finish their classes and work, and then leave. Not many people stay on campus to hang out. This makes it difficult to make friends. There are not too many clubs to join. Extra curricular activities typically enhance a students experience in college. Since there are few clubs you are not provided with many diverse activities associated with the college. Sadly, the college does not host too many fun events. There are typically free events held around the holidays that the clubs hold. However that is only a handful of times each semester. The student center is nice. There are plenty of places to hang out and even sleep between classes. There is an art exhibit that changes every couple of months. There is an arcade with a few games. The food in the cafeteria was pretty good but it closes around 2 each afternoon. Most of the college employees and professors are nice and easy to get along with. They treat you as an equal and are quite willing to help. The campus is not particularly pretty, but there is an attempt to plant flowers during the spring and fall semester. I just feel at LCCC you don’t get much of the college experience you expect and hear about. There is very minimal effort to unite the students and promote a community. I also feel that there was not much of an attempt to encourage students to engage in the extracurricular activities that typically help define the college experience.

    Did learn a lot

    The course curriculum is mildly challenging. Expect to work for the grades you get. Several hours of study are required for each course. The tests are not easy and not all teachers give extra credit. Even though I found some courses easy, I still had to work hard on homework and papers assigned. Completing this work teaches you a lot and certainly supplements what you learn in class. The assignments are given for a reason and are intended to teach you something about the subject. If the professor assigns something, do it. Trust me, it will help you in the long run.

  • 01/28/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Luzerne County Community College is a great college for students who have passion and drive for the major they choose. Everyone has to start somewhere so why not start at a school where you can get an education from teachers who have gone to top schools, and are willing to provide you with extra help if you need it. I'm currently a student at LCCC and my major is music recording. Just because it is a community college doesn't mean it isn't a good college. I really enjoy it there because they really care about teaching you and if you are a student who wants to transfer and move on they support you 100%. The work is challenging and in order to past the test you have to study, be in class, and take it seriously. It is a great school where you can make tons of friends. The great part of making friends is you don't have to hang around the campus all day to do it. You just have to be a nice person, and 9 times out of 10 someone will ask for your number to hangout sometime. It really is a great college that has a wide variety of majors,study groups,and great people.

  • 06/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is the fitness room, which has a game room as well. There are plenty of sports or other clubs and activities!

    Food and Dining

    I have never gotten food at Luzerne, it is way too expensive!! People do say it tastes alright though.

    Dorm Life

    Luzerne does not have dorms, however, many people live around the campus or commute! I am a commuter, and I think it is easier for me to maintain my schedule with not being in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Make sure that you always have what you need for class!

    Tips for prospective students

    Take all of your easy academic classes first, for example, English, Math, Sciences, it makes getting your credits much easier! Be prepared no matter what! There could be a pop quiz or homework check, even if the teacher didn't say there was.

    In three sentences

    Luzerne County Community College is a wonderful college! There are plenty of classes and majors to choose from. Also, for teacher-on-student interactions (class size) it is around 1-on-20.

  • 11/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is in a community environment with a district judge just a floor beneath the classes but the safety is second to none. The moment you walk in the building you feel safe as a student attending the college.

    Greek Life

    There are no fraternities or sororities at LCCC.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many great clubs and committees at LCCC.

    Great for these types of students

    Luzerne County Community College is great for any student who not sure how they will be able to handle a big college environment or that just cannot afford to go through a full four year course at a big college and would like to transfer.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Unlike most community colleges Luzerne County Community College has a number of Campuses across the area. There is main campus located in Naticoke, Shamokin, and most recently opened Kulpmont.

    Bang for the buck

    Although the price of tuition is fairly low the school is great for students of all ages and offers a wide range of age groups for interaction with.

    What to do for fun

    The campus I am located at in Shamokin, Pennsylvania is conveniently located about four blocks from downtown which contains many stores and restaurants.

    Food and Dining

    On the campus I attend at there is no food or dining opportunities since it is a commuter school.

    Dorm Life

    This is a commuter school there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Every single member of the staff at LCCC Naticoke and Shamokin Campus wants every single student to succeed and takes their job seriously in trying to help the students to achieve their goals. All the professors are very understanding and laid back. The Professors talk to you not at you like most tenured college professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Unlike most colleges where someone can get lost in the crowd, everyone knows the students by name at the campus which shows how much the staff actually cares. There is no need to worry about being an unknown student. Also do not be afraid to talk to any of the professors for any reason all of them realize they are people and talk to their students like normal people.

    In three sentences

    The school environment is very friendly and down to earth. All the staff are very helpful and wish to see all students excel. The location of the school is convenient and very comfortable.

  • 06/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have not seen one fight, or even a verbal fight my whole first year. No one has misbehaved or acted out of line.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    From a paranormal society to student government, there's something for everyone. Interested in baking or photography, there's a club for you. Snowboarding and religion? Still got it.

    Great for these types of students

    It's a great school for anyone who is looking for a quality education at a completely fair price. It has something for everyone!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are plenty of beautiful locations to sit by and relax, or perhaps snap that photo you were looking for.

    Bang for the buck

    Luzerne has received two national awards for their radio broadcasts. and their nursing program is thorough. You absolutely can not leave this school without learning more than you ever knew before.

    What to do for fun

    It's an open campus with a fitness center, a game room. lots of places to relax, a library, public internet access, and occasionally there are events held in the main building. Lots of organizations and clubs to join as well.

    Food and Dining

    The Cafeteria food is better than a high school's, but it's not exactly top notch. The fry cook is pretty amazing though. She always makes delicious burgers and sandwiches.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes can be difficult and some can just be fun. All the teachers I have met are friendly, but when it comes to getting your work done, they encourage you to do it. They don't threaten you with grades. They ask you if this is all you can do, and help you push yourself to new and greater heights.

    Tips for prospective students

    I suggest when you go to any college, you get yourself organized. It's much different than high school, but you may slack off if you don't keep yourself in check. Make sure you study 2 hours for every one hour of class. Oh, and bring lots of pens. They tend to always go missing.

    In three sentences

    Luzerne's staff have been just fantastic and the teachers make sure they pay attention to every student's needs. Everyone understands at this college that things come up in our personal lives, and they work with us to make sure we do well. I have seen growth in my abilities from my first year here alone, and the tuition is incredibly low for such a great education!

  • 03/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe campus with lots of security present at all times.

    Clubs and Activities

    lots of clubs and activities to get involved in.

    Great for these types of students

    adult learners

    Bang for the buck

    it really is the best priced school in the area.

    What to do for fun

    not too much around the campus in regards to entertainment.

    Food and Dining

    cafeteria is not so good and is a bit pricey.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms available

    Academic Rigor

    the teachers are very knowledgeable and are very willing to help students.

    Tips for prospective students

    ask lots of questions. there is so much available to students if you ask the right questions.

    In three sentences

    a very nice school that has many opportunities for students. very helpful staff that is knowledgeable. beautiful campus that has easy access to the interstate.

  • 03/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    the food at Luzerne County Community College is getting better.

    Academic Rigor

    Luzerne County Community College has a variety of outstanding professors that are personally invested in what your college education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Luzerne County Community College has a lot of clubs and activities you can join. It's also really affordable

    In three sentences

    Luzerne County Community College is a great starter off college. Luzerne County Community College has a great and supportive staff and students. Luzerne County Community College is a great college to find a major.

  • 03/28/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    8 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I have not been to the dining facilities yet.

    Dorm Life

    I will not be living in the dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    I haven't attended classes here yet, but the reputation of the nursing program is top notch.

    Tips for prospective students

    Never give up on your dreams. Know what you want to do and then go for it no matter how difficult it may seem.

    In three sentences

    Great school that allows me to go back to school. Great pricing for someone who doesn't have the money to go to a traditional school. Accepts me for my past mistakes.

  • 04/11/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    9 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    traditional and non-traditional

    What to do for fun

    Only involved with education.

    Food and Dining

    Haven't tried it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to deal with disorganized admissions process. The education is worth it though.

    In three sentences

    Excellent education. Inexpensive tuition. Instructors care.

  • 05/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    On main campus, in the campus center, on the second floor, there is a space with televisions, couches, and computers to relax when the students have down time. There are also games on that floor. In the beginning of the fall term there is a home coming event which has free games and food and is quite fun. They also have an event like that before finals in Spring term.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria and the food is actually good and is reasonably priced. They also have specials which are very good.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Luzerne County Community College.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes curriculum are pretty tough but the teachers help to explain things in depth as not to confuse anybody and there is tutoring available to help the students.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you attend this school you should take the mandatory class First Year Experience the first term you attend. It helps to get you ready for your college experience and tells you different things available on campus. Another tip is to use the resources available especially tutoring, it really will help a lot to make sure you are where you want to be in your grades. The library is also great because the librarians will help you and there is information on anything you might need to research for a paper.

    In three sentences

    Luzerne County Community College is a great experience with the excellent teachers and students. There are many clubs to join and there is always help if needed. There is diversity and many different students and staff.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security officers are always alert and patrolling the campus and the parking lot, which ensure the students and faculty's safety.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a long list of clubs on campus as well as sports. Some of them include the history club, the paranormal society, ski club, snowboard club, just to name a few. These clubs take field trips and meet often.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that come from a low-income family should consider LCCC. It is very affordable and offers financial aid to those in need, covering tuition and books.

    Bang for the buck

    The state picks up 1/3 of the tab for this school, therefore an in-county student's tuition is 1,575.00 per semester. The classes are the same at a more expensive institution.

    What to do for fun

    LCCC has many clubs and organizations offered to it's students. It also has a career center for helping students pursue the right path. There are many computer labs on campus as well as the library for resources. There is also WiFi.

    Food and Dining

    The prices are reasonable and the food is very good. There is a wide variety of choices in the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    This is a commuter school only.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics and majors offered at LCCC is a wide range. There are plenty of degrees to choose from, even a general studies curriculum made for transfer students.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school is very inexpensive. You could attend a more expensive school and receive the same education. I recommend taking classes here for your first two years of school then transferring.

    In three sentences

    Luzerne County Community College has shown me that a great education does not have to break your pocket or bank account. My professors and the faculty are very helpful in assisting my needs. I am getting the best education I can that's affordable with amazing quality.

  • 06/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Overall, LCCC is a great place to start your college experience and at about a third the cost (or less) than a four year school.

    What to do for fun

    Join some on-campus clubs, form a study group, get invloved with student athletics.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is probably better than you think, give it a try.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus, can't help you there.

    Academic Rigor

    Study, Study, Study. For every hour of class, plan on three hours of study outside of class, unless of course you are confident in the material. Use the tutoring program. You can also make a little extra money tutoring other students in classes you are proficient in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your due diligence. If you plan to go on to a four year school, check the transfer policy for the classes you plan to take. Seriously look in to renting or buying used textbooks. I've saved hundreds of dollars by going that route. Ask questions, don't be passive. Avail yourself of the tutoring program if you need it(it's free). Get the best grades you can, they do matter and the higher your GPA, the more scholarship opportunities will be available to you.

    In three sentences

    LCCC is a great place to start a college education. The tuition is reasonable when compared to a four year shool. There are several programs of study available.

  • 08/06/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    13 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is secured by guards and other equiptment.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    The activities involve sports of different kinds at this college.

    Great for these types of students

    This is good for students that have to pay out of pocket for classes and ones wanting to go for nursing, business, science and other choices in career.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It took a little more time to set things up for classes to begin but it was worth the wait.

    Bang for the buck

    Their prices for this college are a lot less then other colleges. It is in an affordable range for the same classes another college may charge three times as much for.

    What to do for fun

    I want to do certain sports for fun on campus.

    Food and Dining

    I eat at home.

    Dorm Life

    none

    Academic Rigor

    none

    Tips for prospective students

    Start your planning with this college ahead of time because they take a while to set everything up.

    In three sentences

    They are still working on setting things up for classes and financial aid for me. I am going to the brach near by to add another class on Wed.

  • 08/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Bowling and reading when I can!!

    Food and Dining

    Haven't tried it yet!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure they have all paperwork in order!!

    In three sentences

    I have really enjoyed attending college here so far. I like the teacher that I have had so far. And I enjoy the smaller class room size.

  • 09/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I'm earning 16 credits this semester, and only paying $1800 in tuition. Compared to other colleges and universities in my area, that's pocket change. At LCCC, I'm getting a good education, and saving a lot of money at the same time.

    What to do for fun

    Located near the center of Nanticoke, there is plenty to do during breaks and free time. There are several shops and dining places only a few blocks away on Main Street. The campus also offers a variety of clubs and extracurricular activities.

    Food and Dining

    I have yet to eat at the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    My courses are all challenging, yet I never feel like I won't be able to succeed. They do a great job of making you really think, and that's what an effective course does.

    Tips for prospective students

    First of all, be honest with yourself. Don't overload your schedule with difficult classes that you know you won't be able to handle. Also, if you aren't a morning person, don't schedule any 8am classes. You're literally setting yourself up to be miserable all semester. Consider what you can tackle, and go from there.

    In three sentences

    Luzerne County Community College is a great way to get a quality education at a good price. This easy-to-navigate campus is very welcoming and friendly, and I feel very comfortable being there. The grounds are clean, the staff is friendly and helpful, and I have yet to find something that I don't like about the college.

  • 02/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security officers are nice.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are division 3 sports teams and a club that suits everyones interests.

    Great for these types of students

    Wallflowers and low class students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The ping pong/ longe area is always filled with kids.

    Bang for the buck

    The best. The tuition per full time semester is $1,950. It can't be beaten.

    What to do for fun

    Every Tues. and Thurs. there are activity periods with fun, engaging seminars, and intramural sports.

    Food and Dining

    There is typical cafeteria food: deli, grill, salad bar.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms because it is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    The science teachers leave the students to a lot of out of class learning. I have only felt once that the semester load was too much to handel.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved on campus. Talk to other students about which teachers to take. Don't wait to look for schools to transfer to.

    In three sentences

    The best bang for your buck. I truely feel like I'm learning. The teachers and advisors are awesome.

  • 03/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I am a single mom, have a job, and am a full time student, so when I have free time I relax and that is my fun

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria is large and has many options

    Dorm Life

    No dorming, acommunity college

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging, but the teachers and staff are extremely helpful and supportive.

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan early, schedule classes in advance as much as you can, and enter the experience with an optimistic attitude and enjoy all of it including the struggles.

    In three sentences

    The teachers are extremely helpful. It is very easy to schedule classes and the classes you need are usually available. The campus is easy to navigate.

  • 03/14/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    18 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Affordable classes that can be used towards degrees at much more expensive colleges.

    What to do for fun

    Clubs are available.

    Food and Dining

    There are a few dining options at the main college, the food is good but the location is in a building at the top of the hill.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are very easy, others are challenging. It depends on the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    The website for online classes is not as user friendly as it could be, I'd recommend attending the class at the main campus for those students who are enrolled in online classes. Arrive early for classes/meetings at the main campus, the campus is on a steep hill so depending on where you are going, it could be a lot of climbing.

    In three sentences

    Convenient - L.C.C.C. offers a variety of ways to attend classes towards a multitude of majors, there are online, local, and main campus classes. Comfortable - there is a high percentage of non-traditional students, so it's easy to feel comfortable regardless of age. Affordable - as an accredited school it is an affordable way to work towards a higher degree.

  • 04/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Occasionally I see campus security, but they are located right on campus. I have never had any problems, nor have I heard of anyone else having issues.

    Bang for the buck

    Worth it.

    What to do for fun

    LCCC offers many clubs.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not the best, nor do they have a big selection.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life.

    Tips for prospective students

    The campus has a lot of stairs, so be prepared to walk up and down.

    In three sentences

    Luzerne County Community College is an amazing school to get your generals out of the way.

  • 06/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    With Luzerne County Community College being a community college, the tuition is extremely reasonable. With that reasonable price comes the unexpected twist of very pleasant professors who, as I've said, are willing to work with you on an individualized and personal level if you desire.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of student-run organizations at Luzerne County Community College. In addition, there are various sports teams throughout the year.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria at Luzerne County Community College is average. You can get hot food or sandwiches during lunch/dinner hours, and snacks just about any time.

    Dorm Life

    Luzerne County Community College does not offer dorms, and all students reside off-campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The faculty at Luzerne County Community College are great! If you need more help understanding some concepts, or want individualized feedback, all you need to do is ask.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you spend a decent amount of time researching job opportunities in the area (or wherever you plan on living after college) when choosing your degree path.

    In three sentences

    Overall, Luzerne County Community College is a wonderful school. The college offers Associate's Degrees in just about any field one would find necessary to move on to a Bachelor's Degree at another school. In addition, the faculty are extraordinarily pleasant and willing to work with students on an individual level.

  • 04/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Luzerne is the biggest bang for your buck! It is a community college making it transferable to any major schools. Being able to pay off the first year of college, because it is affordable is the best feeling.

    What to do for fun

    Shamokin has a plethora of bars and restaurants, making it easy to find something fun to do.

    Food and Dining

    Although Shamokin's campus does not offer food many days there is food being sold in the main hallway. There are also many restaurants around the campus.

    Dorm Life

    Campus does not offer housing

    Academic Rigor

    Academically Luzerne is difficult, comparable to most community colleges. The teachers do want to see there students succeed so it does help having a teacher there every step of the way.

    Tips for prospective students

    Luzerne is affordable, and a great start to see what college courses are like, do not miss out on the opportunity.

    In three sentences

    Luzerne County Community College is an affordable start to a college education. The school offers a friendly environment within a nice community. The staff at luzerne is very helpful, always looking for ways to help there students succeed.