Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Lycoming College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/01/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Lycoming College is a great choice for students who are looking for a small school in a small city which offers a lot of cultural activities. It also is great for students who want small class sizes and want their professors to know you by name.

    Tips for prospective students

    When looking for a college or university, size and dynamics of the faculty are extremely important. At some schools, the professors don't interact much with their students and some schools have very interactive professors. Generally, the smaller the school the more personal a professor will be.

    Bang for the buck

    Lycoming College is a private institution so it is more expensive than most public schools. However, the education and experiences which you gain from attending and graduating from here is certainly worth the extra money. They also have a great placement rate after graduation.

    Am enjoying being here

    Though, Lycoming College is a small college it offers a wide variety of clubs and organizations to participate in. Moreover, the professors create a desire in you to learn more and enjoy going to class.

    Am learning a lot

    The faculty at Lycoming College really want you to learn and to succeed in class. They are all open to questions and are willing to do whatever it takes to help you.

  • 01/24/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Business Administration or Archeaology interested majors. People who want the community feel.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit. Once you visit the campus, you will know once and for all whether the small campus is right for you. Also, don't be afraid of not knowing anyone at a certain activity. If you're interested in a club, go for it. Chances are you will have about 20 new friends after you join.

    Bang for the buck

    It may be expensive, but there are so many scholarships, that the price becomes comparable to state schools. Lycoming is a private, liberal arts college, so you are getting a great education. Don't let the sticker-shock deter you from applying because Financial Aid is always willing to work with students to make it affordable.

    Am enjoying being here

    I would not change my decision to come to Lyco for the world. It's a small school, so you know the majority of people on campus. Everywhere you go, you can pretty much count on finding someone to say hi to, someone to eat in the caf with, or someone to ask for help. It really is like a little community, and, as cliche as it sounds, I felt like I belonged here from the moment I stepped on campus.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors here at Lycoming are AMAZING, well, for the most part. No matter what college you pick, there are going to be those few professors that you dislike, but for the most part, here at Lyco, they are awesome. They make class interesting and fun and the time goes by quickly.

  • 07/23/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is in place at all times, and hours. Both at the dorms, campus, parking lots, and surrounding areas. They are on patrol and you can call them even if you arrive late to accompany you to your dorm.

    Clubs and Activities

    Too many to list and name. The even more amazing part of it all is that if you don't find one that suits you, you can apply to make you own.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that want to be able to live independently away from home, but want a campus that feels like your part of a family unit. It is a personalized environment. They are very supportive and they will remember you by name. You won't be just another student. You can have the best of both worlds. You can have fun while learning invaluable, quality academics that will lead you to achieve your dreams.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have many clubs, and organizations you can join. They also have a volunteer program that sounds phenomenal.

    Bang for the buck

    They are building and expanding the campus as we speak. Their science department has the latest state of the art equipment. You also have the many different option to apply for work at the college campus.

    What to do for fun

    They have swimming, sports, and a gym. Once a year they hold a concert. There are also supervised parties. The town of Williamsport is a small quaint town with many activities to do such as movie theaters, river rides, and restaurants to name a few.

    Food and Dining

    Freshman have carte blanc the first year. The variety and quality of the food was quite fresh and delicious. They have a family based company who take care of all the necessities, as well as two trained chefs on staff.

    Dorm Life

    Freshman share the dorm rooms with one other freshman. You are not left alone. There are one to two other girls in charge of nightly check in. They are always there for you if you have any problems.

    Academic Rigor

    The faculty, staff, and the students can give you incredibly valuable information. The students are more than willing to share their academic choices, and the results of those choices. The faculty is willing to sit with you and work out different scenarios, while leaving you with the peace of mind that the first year you won't be forced to make any concrete choices on your majors since many students change their choices as time progresses. They work with you in forming a personalized game plan that will ultimately lead you on the way when you do make that very important decision. There is no pressure on the freshman who have enough just to be able to acclimate to this new environment. They will be there to help you every step of the way.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school is an excellent choice for those students who are looking to have access to a personalized teaching method created to help all students. It is situated in a quite, familiar setting, with faculty members and students who are willing to go out of their way to help you in any way possible. You are made to feel welcome. Since you have to consider the fact that this will be you home away from home it is comforting to know that you will not feel like just another student. Their curriculum, lab equipment, administration, staff, teachers, and students work as a unit. A well coordinated unit. I visited many colleges and universities before I made my decision, it was not easy to do. My greatest advice is to actually go to the prospective colleges and universities in person. This way you can see if your are comfortable with all aspects of where you will be studying and living for the next four years.

    In three sentences

    After visiting and researching academic development, achievements, and graduation rates compared to other similar colleges and universities it was an easy decision to make.The staff, the faculty, and students who participated in the process of enrollment and orientation were incredibly friendly, informative, and did everything in their power to make you feel as you already belonged. They answered all our questions with courtesy and patience.

  • 01/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a mall that is a 30 min bus ride away and students can ride the local bus pretty much anywhere. There is a park right across the street from the campus. Downtown there is a movie theater and at the community arts center there is always something going on. And if you have friends with cars, then you guys can google a place of interest and take a road trip on the weekend and discover a new hobby.

    Food and Dining

    The food is ok. In the start of the fall semester in 2011, we changed food service providers and the food is ok. Most times, the cafe food is good and every once in a while is exceptional. But we have fast food places within walking distances away if you ever get tired of cafe food.

    Dorm Life

    It depends. You may get cool people on your floor and you may get people who are loud and obnoxious all the time. Either way, you will find people who you connect with and once you do, you will get the true experience of dorm life. Spending the night in friends' rooms, having movie nights, and planning outings with those people.

    Academic Rigor

    The curriculum itself is vigorous i think. But i think it all depends on who you have as a professor because i think they can tweak how they teach the required curriculum.

    Tips for prospective students

    Lycoming has sports and academics. Keep in mind that this is also a liberal arts school. Be sure Lycoming has the best program for your intended major available out of your choices.

    In three sentences

    Lycoming is a great school. The campus area is very quiet and tranquil allowing a very good study environment. The student life atmosphere is very engaging and social.

  • 02/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    everyone involved in campus security are always helpful and considerate. whenever incidences arise on campus that need attention, they are quick to react in order to keep the campus as safe as possible. also, if students ever need a ride to an appointment or anything, security is always willing to give them a lift. it's very convenient.

    Clubs and Activities

    i am currently involved in the dance club. it's run by and taught by students for free and includes so many different styles of dance including ballet, latin, belly, hip hop, contemporary, and dance team. at the end of every semester, the dance club puts on a dance show for the whole campus to come out and watch; it's one of the biggest productions of the semester, and is tons of fun! there are many other clubs and organizations to get involved in including juggling club, amnesty international, better together, and so many more. or you can start your own!

    Bang for the buck

    it has been a great experience being on campus; it's definitely worth what we pay to be here.

    What to do for fun

    the campus activities board is always thinking of new ideas for what to do for fun. just last week, they brought in an indoor ice-rink! also, they've brought in many comedians, acoustic musicians and bands, a hypnotist, slam poets, and so much more. there's always something to do or something to go see on campus.

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria here is extremely accommodating. everything is buffet style and there's new food served all the time. they serve vegetarian options, as well as many international options. the cafeteria team is always open to new suggestions and is very polite.

    Dorm Life

    dorm life here is very comfortable and each dorm has it's own style. freshman dorms are pretty basic and once you move up, the dorms become more unique. my sophomore year i lived in williams on life floor-- a straight edge (no drinking, no drugs, no smoking) floor. the whole floor was very close as friends. this year, my junior year, i'm living in rich, which is an all girls dorm. and my senior year i plan to live in the commons, which are more like apartments. there are a lot of different living styles to choose from.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes here are very exhaustive in their content and if the students ever need help understanding the material, the professors are always more than happy to help out as much as they can.

    Tips for prospective students

    lycoming college is a liberal arts school, so it allows you to take classes from all different areas of education; take advantage of that. how many other school offer unique classes like history of dinosaurs or chemistry of cooking? also, our foreign language program includes helpful outside-of-class conversation tables and native speakers from all over the world.

    In three sentences

    lycoming college is a great school and for me, it's close to home, which is important. the campus is beautiful and the class sizes are small so there is a lot of professor-student interaction. i had heard that the psychology program here was really awesome which is why i chose lyco.

  • 03/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe campus!!!!!!

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who would like to play sports, or enjoy extracurricular activities , in addition to academics is the perfect fit for LYCO! Attending LYCO develops you into a very well rounded individual.

    What to do for fun

    Just hanging out with friends on the campus listening to music, going to concerts, attending sports activities keeps you busy.

    Food and Dining

    My only complaint at Lyco is that the food could be better. Also the cafeteria hours need to be extended secondary to extracurricular activities.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great. My football coach paired me up with my roommate and we hit it off immediately. Most kids at Lyco are involved in a sport or extracurricular activity. Football coaches at Lyco are awesome. They take the time to not only coach, but take a very active interest in your academics.

    Academic Rigor

    I've had positive experiences with my classes because of the small size of classes. There are times I needed to meet with my Professors to clarify things for me and they were always available.

    Tips for prospective students

    The only tip I could give to an incoming Freshman is to come to Lyco with an open mind. As I previously stated, students as well as admininstrators are there for you. All you have to do is take advantage of the availability of same.

    In three sentences

    I am presently a Freshman at Lycoming College. My first year has been a very positive experience for me. I like the feel of the small campus. Everyone at Lycoming is very friendly and there is always someone available to help if a situation arises. Classes are small, so everyone in class has the opportunity to participate. With small classes you can interact with both your fellow classmates and Professors. Everyone at Lyco CARES!!!!

  • 04/02/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    7 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Come here.

    In three sentences

    Lycoming is a beautiful school. It has an incredible accounting program. It also has a lot more than an accounting program but a good Business and nursing section.

  • 05/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 person found this inaccurate. 8 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Our campus has so many activities every week that keep you busy. Weekly movies that aren't even released yet. Clubs and organizations are always holding events that students can attend.

    Food and Dining

    The food is terrible but there are so many great local restaurants that make up for it.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are really great and spacious. The only problem is the classes are becoming too large to accommodate all of the students.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are challenging but I know I am getting my money's worth.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students in music or theatre majors should look elsewhere because the programs are not high quality for those majors.

    In three sentences

    Lycoming has incredibly educational programs. The professors have incredible knowledge. The campus is beautiful.

  • 06/15/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    9 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security guards on campus at all times.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of different clubs to choose from and if there is something you want to do that isn't on campus you can make your own club.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are looking for a small knit community where everyone knows your name.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a private college, but they give a lot of money in scholarships which really helps.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of things to do off campus like movies and restaurants. On campus there is a big area to play athletics and there is a restaurant area where people hang out.

    Food and Dining

    The food is WONDERFUL! They just got a new food company and it is just so yummy.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are pretty nice and spacious.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes for my major, psychology, are wonderful! It is a liberal arts college so there are a lot of fun and interesting classes to take.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go in with an open mind, it is a very small school and campus. Make sure you communicate well with the people that are working with you because they will do everything they can do get you what you need.

    In three sentences

    Everyone here is so friendly! The professors and current students really want to get to know you. And you work with an advisor that knows so much about your academic field.

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our Campus Security Guards are the best!

    Greek Life

    I'm personally not involved in Greek Life, but there is an array of options for this.

    Great for these types of students

    Lyco is a great place for anyone. From the artistic types to the jocks, the campus is very welcoming to anyone and everyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Being located in Williamsport, PA, home of the little league world series, many of the freshmen earn their community service hours by working the games at the start of the semester.

    What to do for fun

    Our CAB has events planned all the time. From the concerts they host, to merely playing pick-up games on the quad, theres always something going on that you can do.

    Food and Dining

    Its cafe food. Enough said.

    Dorm Life

    It is what you make it. Go to the floor activities, meet your neighbors and you will have a good time.

    Academic Rigor

    This really all depends on your major. The science program expects alot from you, but provides you with the tools to be successful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't let the price tag scare you. The financial aid office goes out of their way to assist you. Also, get involved in as much as you possibly can. The more you do, the more memories you will create in your time there.

    In three sentences

    This school has offered me experiences I don't think I could receive anywhere else. The Science professors have integrated a plethora of information into just the three years I have been there. In combination with the hands on experiences, I have learned more than I thought I would.

  • 07/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are several events planned that the students can attend including free concerts for students. Last year was Maroon 5!

    Academic Rigor

    The liberal arts program is intense, so its best to go in knowing what you want to study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for as many scholarships that you can. Look for outside options when it comes to buying books.

    In three sentences

    The school offers many options and opportunities. It is very expensive because of its private school status. Teaching staff is incredible.

  • 12/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have security guards patrolling campus 24/7, and their office is always open. They offer escort services where they will walk you from place to place if you want them to, an emergency text alert system, transportation to/from the Williamsport airport and hospitals, and they are completely unarmed, because they've never needed to be. I am from a very sheltered neighborhood with an extremely low crime rate, so I'm very wary, but I have never ever felt unsafe here. In addition, all of our buildings use an ID scan system, so people can't get entry without a valid Lycoming College ID.

    Greek Life

    Lycoming employs a very very strict no-hazing policy, so Greek life here is safe, fun, and constructive. We have five sororities on campus, two national (Alpha Sigma Tau & Alpha Xi Delta), and three local (Gamma Delta Sigma, Alpha Rho Omega, & Beta Phi Gamma). We also have four fraternities (Tau Kappa Epsilon, Phi Kappa Psi, Kappa Delta Rho, & Lambda Chi Alpha). Roughly 25% of the student body is Greek, so while there is a presence, it isn't overwhelming, and you certainly won't be pressured to join if you don't want to. The Greeks here are not bitter towards independent students at all. In addition, to help make the transition easier, students are not allowed to pledge themselves to a Greek organization until they have completed one full semester. This helps make sure that they're fully assimilated into life at Lycoming first.

    Great for these types of students

    If you want to have close relationships with professors, and be in a place where everyone knows your name, come here. Instead of student #3546, you will be you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year, we do a giant Thanksgiving dinner, and the dining hall is done up all fancy, and the faculty serve the students food. It's a really fun chance to bond with the whole community right before break. We also have a beautiful Christmas candlelight ceremony every year with performances by the choir and lovely passages. I'm not even remotely religious, but I love it. And the last tradition I can think of right now (even though I'm sure there's more. We're really big on tradition here) is that we have a gigantic bell near the Clarke Building (where the music program is housed). Supposedly if you touch it or kiss it before a big exam, it will bring you luck.

    Bang for the buck

    Lycoming is a private school, and as such, is somewhat pricey, but they do frequently give out scholarships. Sometimes the cost can even drop as low as a state school. However, regardless of cost, I can honestly say it is worth every single penny if you really try to make the most of what Lycoming has to offer. When you step off of this campus, you will have a leg up over many other recent graduates because you will have such a strong, diverse foundation. In addition, the family feel in the campus and the giant body of alumni will help you make connections in the real world. Once a Warrior, always a Warrior.

    What to do for fun

    Our Campus Activities Board usually has something fun planned. Every weekend, they show a free movie. We've gotten films like The Dark Knight Rises, Harry Potter 7, and The Hunger Games on campus before they were even released on DVD. They also plan lots of excursions off campus, including an annual ski trip, trips to New York City to see Broadway Shows, and a trip to Medieval Times in NJ, among others. If you're more of a home bunny don't fret though, they have TONS of on-campus activities too. Lots of performers come in and do concerts, including one mainstage concert each year (last year we had Maroon 5, and the year before, Ke$ha). We also have comedians, puppies you can cuddle, and relaxation events. In addition, Lycoming has a ton of extracurricular clubs you can join, from fencing to dancing to knitting, etc. That's a great way to learn something new and meet new people and have fun!

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty much what you would expect of any college cafeteria. We are catered by Parkhurst Dining. Every day, we have a salad bar, a couple soup choices, pizza, burgers, a deli where you can custom-make sandwiches, a bagel bar with jam/cream cheese, various cereals, a ton of desserts (the chocolate chip cookies are pretty awesome), a hot food special, a vegetarian special, and whatever is at the Bravissimo bar, which varies between omelettes, stir-fry, and stuff like that. So if you're a picky eater or just don't like the special that day, you can get creative and mix and match. There are also a ton of fast-food joints and local restaurants within a close radius of campus if you want a change every now and then.

    Dorm Life

    Honestly, it really depends on which building you live in, but I think that's true of most schools. The freshman buildings, Skeath and Asbury, are both pretty nice. But beyond freshman year, you have lots of options on where to live: Rich Hall is all-female, Williams has the Creative Arts Society floor and the LIFE (substance-free) floor, Forrest Hall is all singles (no roommates!), East houses most of the Greeks, and the Commons/Apartments are college-owned apartments on the perimeter of campus. Those are all supposedly fun places to live. The only building I've heard negative feedback about is Crever, but I don't really go in there ever so I wouldn't know.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm a theatre major, which means I'm in one of the few courses of study that isn't as popular here, but I must say our program is spectacular and rigorous. Between diverse major requirements and the distribution program, you will get the most well-rounded education possible, regardless of field. Professors don't just feed you information, they provide you with the actual skills necessary to apply it to the real world.

    Tips for prospective students

    The faculty care a lot and will strive to make solid personal connections with you, and there are a lot of great resources available on campus but Lycoming will not baby you, so you need to be proactive to take advantage of them. Also, be sure to pick the school that feels like home. After all, you're going to be living there for four years!

    In three sentences

    A small liberal-arts college in central Pennsylvania with so much to offer. If you want to be academically challenged, make lifelong friendships, and thrive in a small setting, we welcome you to Lycoming. Come visit, they run tours almost every day and that will be the best way to determine if this is the right place for you.

  • 02/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are karaoke nights in Jack's Place which is a little cafe where everyone can hang out late on campus, and there are always activities and clubs around campus you can join.

    Food and Dining

    The food can get old after awhile, but the kitchen staff have been working hard this year to switch things up and bring in new recipes and ideas.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are pretty nice, especially for upperclassmen who can get suites and even off-campus apartments owned by the school. The only frustrating aspect of campus life is that you are not allowed to live off-campus unless your parents live within 30 minutes of the school.

    Academic Rigor

    Lycoming College holds academics as number one, and though there is a lot of work and assignments, the professors are more than willing to assist you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Lycoming College is a place where one's individuality is embraced and encouraged. I know it sounds cliche, but the important thing is to be yourself and remain open to new experiences and meeting new people. There is a place for everyone to feel like they fit in.

    In three sentences

    Lycoming College is a wonderful school sincerely interested in your personal growth as a student. The faculty and staff are extremely approachable and genuinely concerned in your satisfaction and success within their programs. The campus itself is beautiful and comforting as well.

  • 03/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    We offer plenty of fraternities and sororities to cater to anyone who is interested in Greek Life!

    Great for these types of students

    All types!

    What to do for fun

    Williamsport offers plenty of activities for college students, from art fairs, to movie theaters, to shopping and bars. The campus itself has a wide variety of clubs and sports which students can participate in.

    Food and Dining

    The food is unappetizing most of the time. The food provider tries to appeal to a wide range of culinary tastes, so the food is very often something strange I've never heard of and very bland. Being raised on Tex-Mex, I like a little more spice in my food!

    Dorm Life

    The facilities are older, and we've had more than a couple of maintenance issues. Still, they are pretty good compared to some of the other schools I've visited and very clean!

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are academically challenging, but the professors are always willing to help!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in an extra-curricular activity! Despite the small size of the college, this is the best way for you to meet others at Lycoming who share your interests!

    In three sentences

    Lycoming College offers a rewarding college experience at a reasonable private school price. It has all the perks of a small college, including personal interactions with professors and small, intimate classes. The classes and extra-curriculars are of an excellent variety and quality.

  • 05/31/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    15 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Lyco is in the city of Williamsport, surrounded by places to visit. That includes the Little League World Series!

    Food and Dining

    On my visit, the food was excellent. Many options are available, it's all you can eat, and the basic meal plan includes unlimited meals!

    Dorm Life

    Freshman dorms are rather small, but larger dorms and apartments are available for upperclassmen. They are smoke free too, so that's a plus.

    Academic Rigor

    Lyco has an outstanding reputation for academic excellence.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus and research the programs Lycoming has to offer.

    In three sentences

    Of all the schools I looked at attending, Lycoming was the most appealing. They made the application process easy and answered many of my questions. Lycoming is beautiful and well known, and I will be glad to attend.

  • 07/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security for each building and patrol occurs constantly.

    Clubs and Activities

    Numerous choices and variety of clubs and activities.

    Bang for the buck

    In comparison to other private small colleges, rates up there.

    What to do for fun

    Get involved, many things going on around campus.

    Food and Dining

    Good food, good choices.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is the way to have the full experience.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are challenging but not overwhelming.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask questions, don't be afraid to! Everyone is willing to help. Join clubs and activities!

    In three sentences

    Lyco is a wonderful small private college. Class sizes are awesomely small! Faculty and fellow students are outstanding.

  • 10/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security patrols the campus 24/7. They are willing to escort you back to your dorm late at night if you don't want to walk back my yourself.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Lycoming College has a rivalry against Susquehanna University and they fight it out at the Battle of the Boot, a mens soccer game. Also, at each home football game, Prof. Darby's dog runs out and gets the tee after each kickoff.

    What to do for fun

    Williamsport is a pretty nice town where you can get to most places just by walking. In town there is a nice coffee shop called Alabaster's, Le Chocolat, a bookstore, and several nice restaurants and cafes. Bus transportation is free for Lyco students. If you have a car or are comfortable riding the bus, you can go to the Lycoming mall or the movies.

    Food and Dining

    It isn't mom's cooking but it isn't terrible. It gets old after about a month, even though they rotate the menus. All of the food is freshly prepared everyday. The food can be very bland, however, this is coming from someone who is used to using a lot of seasoning in their food. The kitchen staff is extremely helpful and friendly.

    Dorm Life

    Freshman dorms are small, but that can be expected. There are community bathrooms in freshman dorms, but upperclassmen dorms have shared bathrooms. In the summer, rooms are hot; in the winter, even hotter. Sometimes, it can get pretty loud at night, mostly on the weekends, but it isnt too bad.

    Academic Rigor

    For freshman, most of the work isn't necessarily hard, it is just very time consuming.

    In three sentences

    Lycoming College is a small, close-knit community. Most of the students and faculty are very friendly. So far, all of my classes have under 15 students and it's nice having the individual attention from my professors.

  • 02/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety and security office is in the center of campus. The security roam campus 24 hours a day. If you are alone at night and don't feel comfortable walking back to your dorm, they encourage you to call security and they'll escort you back. Also, if you work off campus and get off late at night and don't feel comfortable walking back alone, they'll come pick you up in the campus security SUV.

    Greek Life

    Personally I am not interested in Greek life, so I don't know much about it. But I do know that there are A LOT of groups on campus. There is entire dorm building on campus and each section is for a different sorority/fraternity. There are some in a separate building, and many off campus in their own houses.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and activities on campus I can't even remember them all! And if the school does not have the club you are interested in joining, it's really simple to start it yourself!

    Great for these types of students

    Great for diligent students who are looking for a school that will challenge them, but also be willing to help in any way. Also a good match for students who want a small school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One of the professors trained her adorable collies to run onto the field, grab the kick-off stand, and bring it back to the sideline. This is done at every home game. Also, there is a bell on the upper level of the quad said to contain good luck, so when students have a tough test you can see them go up and touch the bell before heading to class.

    Bang for the buck

    There are tutor services on campus for every subject that is free to students. Also, there is a center that will check and correct papers for you free of charge. There are multiple computer labs on campus, so there is always somewhere on campus to go if you need one. We also have IT services, which assists with any technical problems you may be having for free. The newly renovated gym is free to use. They also rent out bikes, if you're bored and want to go for a ride.

    What to do for fun

    As I've already said, the RA's do a good job at conducting activities for your floor. There is also the Campus Activities Board, which brainstorms things for students to do. Each semester there is a trip to see a Broadway show completely free, they have movies in one of the lecture rooms every weekend, and many other really cool things! The gym also has intramural sports for every season for students that are not on the school teams.

    Food and Dining

    The main dining hall has many stations, giving us so many options for each meal! We also have what's called flex dollars. This is money on your student account that you can spend at the other food places on campus, such as Cafe 1812 (which sells Starbucks products!), Jack's Corner (they have the BEST chicken fingers!), and the smoothie bar.

    Dorm Life

    I lucked out and have the best RA! She is always coming up with fun activities and group outings for the girls on my floor. But every RA here does this, so I'm just biased! The rooms are a decent size and so are the showers (which is a definite plus considering they're community showers!).

    Academic Rigor

    You need to take 16 credits to be considered a full-time student. Most courses are 4 credits. At this school, 4 credit courses require a lot more work, including papers and tests. It's tough, but in the end it will be completely worth it!

    Tips for prospective students

    - Know what size school you're looking for. Lycoming College is a small liberal arts college, and if that isn't for you, make sure you're aware of that. - Talk to the staff and ask questions. I was here for an open house and asked a random staff member a question. He didn't know the answer so stood in front of me and made a couple phone calls to find the answer. They're very on top of helping in any way possible, while other schools lack in that respect. - Distance and placement. Do you want to be close to home, or as far as possible from it? Also, take into consideration whether the school is in a rural, suburban, or urban area. Another thing to think about it where it is based on climate. Lycoming College is in Appalachian Mountain area, so naturally it gets cold and a friend of mine transferred because of this.

    In three sentences

    Lycoming College makes me, and every other student I've spoken with, feel at home. Everyone is extremely friendly. The staff go out of their way to assist the students of Lycoming in any way possible.