Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Lynchburg College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/21/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 out of 10 people found this review useful. 1 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who like a small, compact campus with great scenery. Those who like small class sizes and one-on-one time with teachers. Those who like lots of financial aid opportunities. Those who like a multitude of campus activities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Even though Lynchburg College gives out lots of financial aid, keep looking for more. Also, keep up your GPA and SAT scores. Lynchburg does not require very high scores to receive big financial aid packages.

    Bang for the buck

    Even though Lynchburg College costs about $37,000 a year, the college gives out an incredible amount of financial aid. I'm only paying $8,000 to go there this year. That's less than going to a state school.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is pretty small (about 2,500 students), which I like. I like the fact that I know many people well, and that walking across campus takes less than ten minutes.

    Am learning a lot

    All of my teachers have been great so far. The classes are small, which creates a better learning environment and more one-on-one time with teachers and other students. I learned the most in my two LCSR classes (English and History) because the classes shared a book. I could read a classic and learn about it from a writing perspective, and then learn about it from a historical perspective.

  • 01/19/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 2 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Division 3 Athletes, Virginia residents, AT majors, dedicated students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you really want a small school; this means smaller, more personalized classes but it also means more homework because teachers are able to grade more work with a smaller class load. Also, make sure this school has your major before deciding to attend. Even if you are only vaguely interested in something, make sure the school has it. You don't want to get somewhere and then realize you need to transfer; it's a difficult process. Try to get into the Westover Honor Society; it really pays off!

    Bang for the buck

    LC offers great scholarships, especially for in-state residents. Make sure you keep pushing the Financial Aid office looking for more scholarships; usually they will offer more if you insist. For the price of the school (or any price really), you are getting a great education.

    Am enjoying being here

    The people at LC are very friendly and open. Because the campus is relatively small (about 2,000 undergrads), it's hard to walk anywhere without seeing someone you know.

    Am learning a lot

    LC has some excellent faculty members who are really willing to work one-on-one with students as long as students are willing to put forth an effort.

  • 01/03/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 3 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who.. are visual and hands on learners. Students who.. are willing to go above and beyond what is learned in the classroom.

    Tips for prospective students

    The key to surviving this school is to get involved. There are so many clubs and activities that its kinda hard not to. LC will definitely have a positive impact on your life.

    Bang for the buck

    It is fairly expensive but there are so many scholarships and other ways to obtain money. The many scholarships can be individualized to the students intended major. There are also lots of on campus jobs that can help to pay for some costs.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love LC... it is like a second home for me. I am involved in many clubs and activities on campus which has really helped me to make a lot of friends. The school is very small so you will get to know pretty much everyone on campus.

    Am learning a lot

    The curriculum is very hands on. The professors are very nice and willing to help you with anything. The classroom size is very small which is very personalized and intimate.

  • 05/24/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 4 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for leaders and students who really want to branch out. Don't get me wrong, there is room at this college for those who don't want to branch out and socialize as much, but honestly, you really get to know people. This college does a great job appealing to most types of students and personalities.

    Tips for prospective students

    You really need to visit the college first. You'll know if you love it if you visit. There's kind, approachable professors. Just plan on having something to do on days when there seems like there is nothing to do.

    Bang for the buck

    The price may seem daunting at first, but if you apply for the scholarships, there is so much that the college is willing to do to help lessen the cost. There's so many scholarship opportunities.

    Will enjoy being here

    It has a cute, small campus, so there isn't much walking. The class size is small. I feel like some high school classes are larger! I really like being able to sit in a small classroom and be closer to the professor. There are a lot of activities at Lynchburg that is available. Also, there are local activities. On the other hand, the campus, like I said, is really small. For those who get bored easily, it might seem suffocating. But although the campus is small, there are a lot of little buildings to explore and people to meet if you're willing to branch out!

    Will learn a lot

    I have spent the summer at Lynchburg College. One thing I do know is that Lynchburg College is able to help students learn what it is to truly live on their own. There's a lot of choices and opportunities given. Many courses are geared towards career choices, which is really helpful. For example, there is a Pre-Optometry program that isn't offered at many other colleges. Also, there is a Cadaver Lab, which is truly amazing for biology and human anatomy lovers. There's a lot of resources on campus.

  • 02/21/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    LC is great for students wanting a smaller class size, students who want to become leaders, students who thrive on challenge, and students who want to be all they can be.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start looking at schools early. Know what each school requires to give credit for AP and Dual Enrollment classes. Start searching for scholarships early. Make a list of questions you have as well as a list of must haves in your prospective school.

    Bang for the buck

    LC has given me opportunities to excel in the classroom as well as helping me to discover who I am. Classes are small and allow for more individualized attention. The LC staff takes a personal interest in each student.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love my LC experience. It has allowed me to be involved in a number of different intramural activities. The students and faculty add to the hometown feeling I have experienced while at LC. I have been a Resident Advisor for almost two years and thrive on the day to day opportunities. LC provided me with on the job experience as part of the EMS squad and later provided the availability for me to receive EMT certification.

    Am learning a lot

    LC has given me the opportunity to delve into different areas of study. Class ratios average 13:1 which makes for more individualized attention. Our professors are available outside of classtime to assist in areas we may be struggling in. We also have an awesome peer to peer tutoring program

  • 03/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i always feel safe, security here is so friendly!

    Greek Life

    i am in alpha sigma alpha, the greek life here is pretty sweet, it's not as evident as it would be at a larger school, but i am having so much fun. we have four sororities and three frats.

    Clubs and Activities

    we have awesome clubs and activities here, there are tons of opportunities to get involved.

    Great for these types of students

    people who like personal attention from their teachers and small classes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    don't walk on the circle in the middle of campus (friendship circle) or you won't graduate on time!

    Bang for the buck

    it's a good life. you get what your paying for.

    What to do for fun

    go to roly poly a sandwich shop on campus, or brewed. we have a fitness center, once you make friends and join groups you'll be way to busy for fun. sort of kidding.

    Food and Dining

    it really depends on the day. we have some good food.

    Dorm Life

    ah, dorms. well, the dorms here are pretty great, we have two freshman dorms and they are large and comfortable. we have air conditioning ( hey some don't) two beds, two closets, two desks and two dressers. the dorm life here is pretty good, can't complain.

    Academic Rigor

    the academics here are taken seriously, but many of the classes are taught by fun interesting teachers. school is a challenge but if you work hard, you will succeed. there are also many resources on campus like free help sessions and a writing center.

    Tips for prospective students

    go to class! the professors will notice if you are not there because the classes are smaller. join clubs, we have tons of clubs on campus. we also have many sports teams that are really awesome. put a lot of money on your laundry card, you will need it.

    In three sentences

    lynchburg college is a small liberal arts private school. the class sizes are small and the teachers really care about their students. everyone is friendly and willing to help you.

  • 03/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Top Notch! 24 hours a day 7 days a week

    Greek Life

    outstanding, safe haze free, and exceptional role models that are very involved

    Clubs and Activities

    Multiple from fraternities to subject focused clubs, community service etc

    Great for these types of students

    Small town rural communities that may be overwhelmed by large class sizes, students with difficulty leaving home, quiet insecure students that are not socially involved but all that are willing to work very hard.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Freshman are worshiped and very encouraged there are many freshman activities that focus on the transitions from home, such as Nightly bonfires, luas and when a student attends a Get together off campus Lynchburg arranged transportation for your safety colleges don't do that but Lynchburg does its amazing.

    Bang for the buck

    your academic progress is monitored closely all classes are taught by professors not students which are also involved and encouraging, no pressures to over achieve and plenty of instructional advice at Lynchburg you will not fail unless you yourself choose to.

    What to do for fun

    multiple group student activities especially with freshman lots of socials and sorority life is amazing and very safe, no hazing

    Food and Dining

    could use some improvement with variety and pricey at on campus diners, odd hours of operation but over all clean and willing to serve your needs

    Dorm Life

    Safe,RA are very involved, great space and comfortable

    Academic Rigor

    Five stars

    Tips for prospective students

    be prepared to work very hard, you will have many avenues of support,buy books very much in advance

    In three sentences

    exceptional resources,very encouraging and involved in progress, safe-secure

  • 04/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    CampPo is #1 here, I think i run into them 10 times a day! They watch out for our safety and do a great job of it!

    Greek Life

    We have both sororities and fraternaties here on campus and they play a big role.

    Clubs and Activities

    Anything you can think of there is a club for it!

    Great for these types of students

    Everyone!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Tye-Dye Tuesday, its a tradition here to wear your bright swirls every tuesday and is heavily encouraged and ofter sung by the dorm directors!

    What to do for fun

    Lynchburg offers many off campus activities for college aged students. Everything from ice skating and skiing to kyacking on the James River and hiking a mountian!

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay overnight and go to some of the classes to see what it is like to be a student here. As well dont be discouraged by our small size, the college is alot bigger then you think!

    In three sentences

    It is a wonderfulliberal arts college here in central Virginia. LC has so much to offer each and every student. i feel like I am really getting a well rounded education here.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Could use improvements but is decent

    Great for these types of students

    AMAZING

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Turkey bowl, is a flag football competition thrown every year

    What to do for fun

    Rock climbing, canoeing,, there is an outdoor leadership program that takes you around the area and shows you what there is to do and see.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for a life changing experience.

    In three sentences

    I feel that my school is the best that I have visited. I know my professors better than I knew my teachers in high school. I would never want to transfer, or have ever thought about transferring.

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. Security is always available, day and night, and we have safety phones everywhere.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is very big on campus. Many of the students are apart of Greek life and those who aren't are still able to attend many Greek functions.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are MANY clubs and activities to get involved in. There is something for everyone. There is no excuse to not be involved.

    Great for these types of students

    Lynchburg is great for any type of student. It has something for everyone. All the students are friendly, open, and get along with everyone.

    What to do for fun

    Lynchburg is a very quaint city where less is more. There is a mall, movies, many restaurants, swimming areas, etc. Mostly its beautiful hills where you can hike and hang out with friends outdoors.

    Food and Dining

    The food is different everyday, with selections for everyone.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is great. It is clean and well lit, with sizable rooms. Also when staying in a dorm you get close to people on all different floors, like a big family.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are challenging, but passable. If you put in the hard work and effort, you will make it.

    In three sentences

    Lynchburg College is a big family. You get to know everyone here on many different levels, including the President and the dean.

  • 05/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Although there was one incident of a creeper trying to attack girls last year, there are generally no problems. Campus security offers rides to people late at night, and any student can call and request a ride back to their house or dorm. Emergency e-mails and text messages are sent out when there is an emergency and there is an alarm they check often to make sure is still working.

    Greek Life

    I am not sure because I have never joined, and only hear rumors about the drama perpetuated by people involved in these groups.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many activities, and students can create their own group as long as it goes through the correct people and gets approved. Illegal groups on campuses are much frowned upon.

    Great for these types of students

    Outgoing, friendly, studious, welcoming.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    In the middle of the campus there is a step on which they say if people go over it you will have to spend an extra year in school. This is true for me because I am having to do just that!

    Bang for the buck

    Since it's a private school and doesn't receive financial aid from the state, it is expensive however I think it is worth it. A lot of money is put into activities as well as the aesthetic appearance of the campus.

    What to do for fun

    There are a ridiculous amount of activities to do at LC. The groups range from LGBT to a Green Thumb club. Students can become part of the government on campus, and there are academic trips made off campus such as the ethics bowl many philosophy majors participate in. There is a lake near the school and although we can't swim in it it is nice to sit out there on the dock and read a good book or go jogging on the trail.

    Food and Dining

    I am a vegetarian so I don't know about all the food, but the non-meat food is good. There are many options at the dining hall as well as other places on campus to go that are also good. Cereal and sandwiches are offered for extended hours which is great if someone is in classes throughout the lunch period.

    Dorm Life

    The Resident Assistants are great and very welcoming as well. When you are a freshman, older students help to move him/her in. There are a few important rules but other than that it's pretty relaxed. There are now certain dorms specifically for freshman, so there is no alcohol which is good because there are parties everywhere else on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are not too difficult, but they definitely become increasingly so after a few semesters. There is a senior thesis and a class called senior symposium which is quite difficult and stressful, however that is when the student is a senior so they are better prepared.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a college whose students are close then come here. It is a small school so pretty much everyone knows everyone. The professors are great and very accommodating, and the LC community in general is very welcoming. Lynchburg the city is not great, so everyone stays on the campus.

    In three sentences

    Not only are there many opportunities for students to receive extra assistance with courses, but the teachers themselves are more than willing to sit down and help a student understand the material. The students are welcoming and there are ample groups on campus to join. The campus itself is beautiful and because of this more people go outside which is something all colleges ought to strive for seeing as how there is a pandemic of young people who stay inside playing video games.

  • 01/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security will pick you up from anywhere on campus if you feel uncomfortable walking back to your dorm.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for those who love small schools. The class sizes reminded me personally of high school again. If you want to be a person and not just a number in the class then LC is a great school.

    What to do for fun

    Intramural sports, clubs and organizations, sports teams, attending games.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask for help when you need it. Take advantage of the on campus resources. Join anything that sparks your interest. Attend the academic fairs.

    In three sentences

    This school has small class sizes which is nice. It also has a beautiful campus. LC has nice and caring professors who will help you in anyway.

  • 03/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I have not eaten on campus

    Academic Rigor

    I love my professors!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't procrastinate!!

    In three sentences

    I feel very welcomed into the LC community. Coming back to school at age 45 has been much easier than I thought.

  • 03/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is very good and they have many options. The food is healthy. The dining hall is very big.

    Dorm Life

    I love living in the dorms. The rooms are a size able place to live in. They give the necessities you need to live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic programs are very good. The professors take time to help the students. Classes are small for more individual help.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a very small school and less than 3,00 students. Professors and Doctors are very helpful. Safe enviornment to be in and around.

    In three sentences

    I love the atmosphere and how small the campus is. I play field hockey and I love the team. I enjoy the academic and athletic programs.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    15 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Is safe

    Greek Life

    Has a large amount of students who participate in greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs and activities, like any other school

    Great for these types of students

    Students who need more personal help from teachers and who like to feel like their opinion matters in class.

    Bang for the buck

    Great education for a decent price

    Food and Dining

    The food is decent

    Dorm Life

    I have not moved in yet, but dorms are co-ed

    Academic Rigor

    Some students do not take the academics too seriously

    Tips for prospective students

    Really Know what campus size you want.

    In three sentences

    I think Lynchburg College is a great school for students interested in a close knit and personal attention type education. Lynchburg College is small but has great opportunities and assistance. They also offer better financial aid than most state schools.

  • 08/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    LC takes safety seriously. I feel very safe on the LC campus, even at night. The security officers are friendly and always ready to help if needed.

    Greek Life

    I wasn't sure about joining at first but I'm so glad I did now! My sorority sisters are my family here and they have made leaving home so much easier. They're so supportive and always have something fun planned!!!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of clubs and activities to choose from at LC. I've really enjoyed experiencing new things and meeting lots of new people!

    Great for these types of students

    LC is a great school for anyone! It offers the feel of a much bigger school but its still small enough to feel like home and the faculty here treats you like family. They are truely devoted to their students!

    Bang for the buck

    LC is a great school for the money! The financial aid office is one of the most helpful anywhere and tuition increases are always lower here than most other schools. They really try hard to make a good education available to anyone who is willing to put in the effort.

    What to do for fun

    Get involved!!! Volunteer, join a club, or go to a game. And, don't be afraid to try something new!

    Food and Dining

    The food at LC is great and there are lots of options for all budgets.

    Dorm Life

    I'm a commuter student but I love to hang out with my friends in the dorms! I spend a lot fo time here studying, doing activities with my sorority sisters, and just hanging out with friends and I think its pretty cool!!!

    Academic Rigor

    The classes can be tough but the professors are always willing to help. Don't be afraid (or too proud) to ask for help if you're having trouble. The faculty and other students are fantastic here!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! Don't take on too much but find groups and activities that interest you and participate. You'll make lots of new friends and learn about resources for help when you need it.

    In three sentences

    LC is a great place to go to school! The faculty is really devoted to helping students succeed and the other students are super friendly and helpful. LC is like my home away from home!

  • 09/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security rides through campus on carts all day and night. You'll be safe.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Hornet days!!!

    Bang for the buck

    I'm going to be honest, private schools are expensive.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many clubs, organizations, and sports (both competition and intramural) to do on campus. The RA's host various activites for First-Year students. Also, there are weekly Walmart trips. :)

    Food and Dining

    The food's okay. Not my favorite, but it's worth it.

    Dorm Life

    It's pretty cool. I love my roommate. I actually live in the room and bed that my RA lived in last year. So cool!

    Academic Rigor

    Time management is a must! I'm telling you, Without it, I don't know how I'd still be here. Pay attention, take notes, and most importantly, come to class on time. Teachers deduct points from your final grade, when you're absent.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure they have your major. I'm hear on a BA Music degree, way different from a B Music degree. Do your homework on degrees!

    In three sentences

    Lynchburg College is a small, close-knit family. You get to learn about so many people, just by the end of the first week. Perfect for students who want a grand and valuable education from a small, liberal arts private school.

  • 10/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is around 24/7. they will be there when you call and can pick you up if you are across campus at 2 am! They are caring people who love their job and do it very well.

    Greek Life

    greek life gets involved, no hazing, just great people to get involved with.

    Clubs and Activities

    So many clubs too many to name, and if there isn't one you can make it!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Homecomming is a lot of fun for everyone. Also if you have something to support the word will spread and you will have so much support it is crazy.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is pretty pricey but with all the great qualities this school has and some of the best programs i have ever seen I would say it is totally worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Not a lot off campus, there is a movie theater, bowling, shopping, rollerblading and lazer tag. On campus organizations try to find things to do such as games and events to make as many activities as possible.

    Food and Dining

    Not the best verity but the staff is friendly and open to suggestions.

    Dorm Life

    Your RA will take care of you, no matter what situation you have. They are clean and have the best staff I have ever seen. There are so many options for living on campus!

    Academic Rigor

    All classes are great. The teacher are always around to help through office hours as well as via e-mail. If they can't get to you they're are also study services for pretty much every subject!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask questions and get involved. It's not a front people here really are this nice!

    In three sentences

    A friendly environment that makes you feel at home. The staff and faculty are very helpful and want you to succeed. This small campus is just a great place to be.

  • 03/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs, sports, and organizations to get involved in on campus. In addition, there are events almost always going on, be it on the dell, Dillard Fine Arts center, or in the residence halls.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is great. I like that there are different places to choose from to eat.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter, but from what I have seen in the residence halls, everything is very well taken care of. I plan to live on campus in the future so that I, too, can experience every aspect of college life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Put forth the effort required to accurately and thoroughly complete assignments. Do not procrastinate; most professors give you advanced notice for a reason. Focus on your grades, but don't be so focused that you miss out on the other aspects of college. Get involved and appreciate the diversity here on campus.

    In three sentences

    Lynchburg College is an all-around great school. It is diverse, safe, and provides the opportunities and resources needed to succeed in any profession. The staff is wonderful; all of the professors and other faculty make it a priority to know students on a first-name basis.

  • 03/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    -Top-notch, always there when you need them, very responsive, are tapped into a campus-wide emergency call button system for maximum saftey.

    Clubs and Activities

    -Over clubs and sports available to students -Numerous national championship titles/athletes come from LC -Numerous state championships won -High quality training staff

    Great for these types of students

    - Friendly/Outgoing - Involved - Learning-Oriented - Ambitious - Creative - People who want their voice to be heard/want to make a difference

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    - The Turkey Bowl (annual flag-football tournament held the weekend before midterms) - Friendship Circle (circular intersection with a commemorative steel plate that has several legends attached to it) - Hornet Hop (dance created by our current college president and his wife)

    Bang for the buck

    Lynchburg College, in the short time that I've been here already, has definitely defined itself as a school that goes above and beyond the call of duty in terms of education, and definitely gives you your bang for the buck.

    What to do for fun

    -Varsity Sports (over 84% of LC students are involved in some kind of club/sport) -Clubs -Community Service -The Dell -Shellenburger Field -Hiking/Biking trails around campus -Various sports facilities -Low-cost movie theater less than 5-minutes off campus

    Food and Dining

    Among the various college cafeterias that I have eaten in, LC's Burton Dining Hall is definitely in the top 5, but not primarily for taste. Instead, it's appeal comes more from its variety, as they offer a wide array of culinary sensations in addition to permanent favorites, such as the Schwan's ice cream machine and the sandwich bar. LC also offers a grillhouse called the Westover room, the Brewed Awakenings coffee shop, and a sandwich shop known as Roly-Poly.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm Life at LC has proven to be of exceptional quality, especially when you consider that all rooms have AC+heating, loft beds. wall-to-wall carpeting, and free wifi. Also, each dorm floor has two large bathroom areas and a fully equipped kitchen. That, and no matter what floor you're on, you will always make excellent friends and acquaintances.

    Academic Rigor

    A very high emphasis is put on academia at LC, because not only are most of the professors experts in their field, but also because they are willing to go out of their way to make sure their students succeed. LC also offers a wide-variety of helpful academic services to students, such as the writing center and the PASS sessions that are held on weeknights.

    Tips for prospective students

    - Be prepared to buy a lot of LC merchandise. It just happens - Learn how to share and compromise - Stay healthy and fit - Be as friendly as you possibly can- it will pay off later! - Get used to calling yourself a 'Hornet' and wearing lots of black and red.

    In three sentences

    Lynchburg College is an amazing school that has a very close-knit community between students and faculty. Academics is a priority, but not the only priority, as a heavy emphasis is put on student involvement in the community. Overall, Lynchburg College is a wonderful transition from the passive world of high-school to the aggressive real world.

  • 04/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security makes rounds and is always concerned for the safety of the students.

    Greek Life

    Good people and very disciplined.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs will try and appeal to your interest and future plans.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who loves to be out and about meeting new people.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Schewell Hall is a definite place of interest on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Faculty are outgoing and very keen are trying to push you to do your best.

    What to do for fun

    There is usually something going on during the weekends, just gotta know where to look.

    Food and Dining

    Better good all around.

    Dorm Life

    Very interesting people to meet.

    Academic Rigor

    Just difficult enough to keep you interested, but without cutting into leisure time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for college does not follow the same pace as high school, you are expected to do your work with or without reminders.

    In three sentences

    A small community of people that are very outgoing and willing to get to know you. Teachers and faculty are very helpful and put forth the effort to get to learn you individually. Highly recommend this college for those wanting to venture out into the world and graduate with great new friends and memories.

  • 05/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Do not step on the plate in friendship circle or you will not graduate on time

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs (there are many) Support friends in sports activities

    Food and Dining

    Brewed is the best place to grab lunch on the go Westover is a nice place to sit and dine after a long day

    Dorm Life

    There is never a dull moment

    Academic Rigor

    The course programs are rigorous but you learn alot

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard and study harder Make friends Connect with your professors

    In three sentences

    Great atmosphere for learning and meeting new people Excellent but rigorous nursing program Feels like home

  • 06/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus security keep us updated on anything potentially hazardous. There is an alert system via text and email so virtually everyone will know if something happens. There are also various locations on campus with call boxes for emergencies. You can also get an escorted ride anywhere on campus at any time day or night. They really value our safety.

    What to do for fun

    There is an abundance of on campus activity with different clubs and organizations. Also, LC provides free transportation on the city bus line. There is bowling, shopping, rock climbing, trails, lakes and plenty of other activities to keep you entertained.

    Food and Dining

    There is a great salad bar, and many options for students to choose daily. Meal exchanges provide an alternative place to dine. Also, the campus is vegetarian friendly, providing different choices for those who choose to avoid eating meat.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are a little bit crazy, but they are safe as well. You have the privacy of your room as well as common areas to hang out. The RA's are there to assist in any trouble adjusting that you may have.

    Academic Rigor

    The program intensity depends on your chosen major and minor. Some students choose to double major or minor. There are so many great programs sometimes it is hard to chose just one!

    Tips for prospective students

    Learn to apply yourself in high-school and don't become side tracked by the social aspect of college. Get out there and try new things, there are plenty of club sports. Try to get to know others, you'll quickly become familiar on the small campus.

    In three sentences

    Lynchburg College is a small, beautiful campus that is continually improving. The faculty and staff genuinely care about the development of students. The students are creative and driven to succeed.

  • 06/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security guards are around 24/7 and will help escort you back to your dorm will you need them to. Barely anything bad happens on campus, and there are areas on campus to call for security to help you.

    Greek Life

    The fraternities and sororities are a big part of the campus and help out in special events for the other students here. They will set booths near the cafeteria to give information on what they are doing and will hope you will be a part of their event.

    Clubs and Activities

    This college really love men's lacrosse. Lynchburg College also has track, basketball, soccer, field hockey, and others.

    Great for these types of students

    This campus is great for students who want to be part of Greek life and sports teams.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Maybe not exactly unusual, but during Christmas we always have our Dean of Students dress up as Santa.

    Bang for the buck

    You can save money depending on your meal plan, but not much. It's actually better to go to Wal-Mart for your food (and other) needs than to really buy much stuff here.

    What to do for fun

    There is a nearby bowling lounge and downtown Lynchburg sometimes has events. There is a mall and many shopping centers. There are also parks to visit.

    Food and Dining

    The campus gives you a card that will either have $500 dollars or a meal plan to use for the semester in the cafeteria. There are three other food places on campus, known as Westover, Brewed Awakenings, and Roly Poly. At Westover, you can use your meal card, but the other two you have to pay with money.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life here is average. You have your space and your roommate has his or hers. On a weekend, it can be noisy from students who may be partying. What is good is that there is a refrigerator and stove to make and store your own meals. You will find these on either one or floors in the dorm building.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers here want their students to gain their bachelor's degree. An academic advisor will be there for you to help you decide on classes to take to graduate. The college will offer grants and loans depending on your GPA and SAT scores.

    Tips for prospective students

    Utilize any of the available student help programs on campus. If you need help writing a paper, go to the writing center, where English majors can help you proofread and finalize you research project. Ask teachers and students for advice on any of your schoolwork for clarity.

    In three sentences

    Lynchburg College is a nice college if you like a mixture of concrete jungle and suburban neighborhood. The students and teachers here are friendly and will help you with what you need. There is usually something always to do on a weekend with the friends you have made.

  • 06/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security on duty all day everyday, patrol campus regularly, emergency call boxs on every building on campus. Wherever you are on campus you can see a blue light that shows where the emergency call boxes are located.

    Greek Life

    We have four social soroities (Alpha Chi Omega, Sigma Sigma Sigma, Kappa Delta, and Alpha Sigma Alpha) and four social fraternities (Sigma Nu, Phi Delta Theta, Delta Sigma Theta, and Sigma Phi Epsilon)

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for anything and everything you can think of and if we don't have it, then you can make it happen.

    Great for these types of students

    Learn best in smaller classes

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Beaver Point is an on campus cabin near the lake that students can go to study, throw horseshoes or play volleyball. The location is often reserved by clubs and organizations for events.

    What to do for fun

    There are a ton of on campus activities sponsored by the college. The college often has deals with local businesses so that students can also have a little free/cheap off campus fun. Such as, kings dominion trips, bowling nights, Hillcats games, etc.

    Food and Dining

    There are a lot of options as to where students can eat. The cafeteria has fresh food everyday and a make-your-own sandwich and salad bar with lunch meats from Boars Head. Westover, where students can use meal exchanges, have multiple meal options. Brewed Awakenings is a little cafe located in an academic building. The Hornet Shop, that also allows meal exchanges, have quick meals to grab in between classes. Finally, Rollie Polie, a local sandwich shop, serves wraps and stays open late.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm rooms are pretty big compared to the other colleges that I looked at. Cleaning people are really nice. There are a lot of options for where you can live. There are 2 freshman dorms, 4 upper-classman dorms, 2 apartment buildings and a lot of on campus houses that upper-classman can live in as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study a lot.

    In three sentences

    Lynchburg College was the best choice for me. The professors are hands on and know you by name. It's easy to concentrate with less people in each class.

  • 09/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    For campus safety we have a EMS squad on campus that can help you out in a medical emergency and get here quicker than the intercity ambulances. We also have security constantly about on campus, and the blue lights that you can press to call campus security to your location as well.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have numerous clubs and activities here. Even if you can't find a club your interested in you can create one. They also always have different events going on throughout campus; especially on the dell.

    What to do for fun

    For fun they have different campus activities and you can ride the local transportation system for free with your campus ID. There is also Greek life here on campus, but with it being a small campus it isn't spectacular or anything.

    Food and Dining

    The dinning hall is the main location for food on campus. They serve different cuisines and have different area/food bars for ever cuisine. The next best places would be Westover and Roly Poly. Westover reminds me of an upgraded family dinner with the food that they serve and you can eat your order in the den next to it or get your food to go. The Roly Poly is a sub shop where you can pick what you want and they roll it up in a sandwich type of burrito for you.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice. For incoming freshman the dorms are a bit older and you have shared communal bathrooms. The wi-fi isn't the best but you have ethernet boxes in every room, a t.v. cord, and a phone jack. The rooms are decently sized and they also all have air conditioning. You also have a kitchenette and laundry room on every floor too, so that's also a plus. The lounge areas are also nice because of the pool tables provided. The RA staff isn't that spectacular, but you learn to get used to it.

    Academic Rigor

    The class size is small so you get a more in-depth learning experience. The biggest class I have had so far is no more than 20 individuals. This allows the professor to actually know your name and you become more than a number. The professors also have office hours in which you can make an appointment to come with them any questions or concerns you might have about the course.

    Tips for prospective students

    The first thing is that it's a small campus so do not expect anything more or anything less. The one thing that your going to want to bring with you more than anything is a decent sized ethernet cable because the wi-fi in the dorms is horrid. The classes, professors, and dorms themselves are great. But majority of the student population (at least that I've noticed) are virtually in the same economic upper class and act accordingly.

    In three sentences

    The class size here is small which means you really get to know your professors here which is nice. The facilities on campus are few but they are satisfactory. The only thing is that the technology here could be improved upon and updated from the computers themselves to the programming.

  • 10/07/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    27 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Alright. Not the safest college I've been to

    Clubs and Activities

    Okay

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Don't step on the circle in the middle of campus it's unlucky

    Bang for the buck

    Kind of an expensive school

    What to do for fun

    They have a lot of activities

    Food and Dining

    List of options

    Dorm Life

    Freshmen live together and dorm buildings are coed

    Academic Rigor

    Pretty solid.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus.

    In three sentences

    It's okay.

  • 11/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has great security guards. They give you their phone number and when ever you do not feel safe or need a ride, they will be more than willing to drive their golf carts over to you. They are a 24 hour service.

    What to do for fun

    LC always has something on campus to do. We usually have concerts. In our planner, we have small statements of what is happening that day.

    Food and Dining

    Food is always up for grabs at LC. We have the cafeteria (which always takes reccomendations), Westover (a great hangout area as well as great wraps and grilled items), and Roly Poly (a wonderful place to hang out and play some pool and snack on a wrap).

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at Lynchburg College are mostly central. They are all near the Dell which is the center point of the campus. Thus, repetitively close to all of the classrooms.

    Academic Rigor

    If you ever struggle with a class and need help, we have a PASS program for tutoring as well as tutoring sessions you can sign up for free of purchase. You also have office hours given to you by the professors and all of them will work with you to find a time for an appointment.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips I would recommend for prospective students are to stay true to yourself and to stand strong for what you believe. With this, you would fit right in.

    In three sentences

    Lynchburg College is life changing. I am fighting to stay in this college as I type. It is the best college I could ever ask to attend.

  • 01/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Be open minded. Enjoy meeting different types of people from around the country.

    In three sentences

    Just like everything, it is how you make of it.

  • 02/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety comes first.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many things you can do here. You will not go bored.

    Food and Dining

    Super Amazing!! Best food that anyone could imagine. They have fantastic chefs.

    Tips for prospective students

    You will not go wrong by coming to Lynchburg College. The students, staff, professors are beyond amazing. You are not a number to your professors; you are always taken into consideration. You feel wanted here. They really care.

    In three sentences

    Lynchburg College is beyond amazing. It over exceeded my expectations for any school; could not have chosen a better school. Would not transfer out for any reason.

  • 02/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The part of town Lynchburg College is located in is not the best part of town, being closer to downtown. Security does the best they can though and are constantly patrolling as well as the Lynchburg City Police Department.

    Greek Life

    HUGE POPULATION ON CAMPUS. I mean I would really say that at least 75% of the campus is involved in Greek life. The Greek life here really emphasizes on charity and volunteering which I believe is important.

    Clubs and Activities

    Offers a lot, but again lacks organization.

    Great for these types of students

    Athletes, Parents with money to spend (unless you get scholarships).

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a circle/meeting place in the very middle of the campus with an emblem in the middle. It is said if you step on the emblem you will not graduate on time (early or late). So students will help someone they do not even know not step on it.

    Bang for the buck

    The type of learning and academics makes it worth it for me. I understand the importance of critical thinking in the real world and the fact that the college empathizes it so well it truly awesome. If you pay attention this school can really offer you the knowledge you need to be successful in the real world. I will admit that I do feel I am only a number to the other areas of the college.

    What to do for fun

    There are a wide variety of activities offered on campus, but the lack of structure and organization amongst groups in pretty disappointing. One minute you've got practice or a meeting the next minute you don't its next week! Good variety though I suppose. Off campus - great food, plenty of movie theaters (even a dollar one!), and access to plenty of places to shop in the area. Lynchburg bus system is actually free for LC students!

    Food and Dining

    Lynchburg college offers a good variety of meals from pizza, the subs, and a good home-cooked type of meals. Breakfast is the best always! But if your a vegan or vegetarian you'll be stuck eating cereal and fruit - not many options for us!

    Dorm Life

    If you do not drink or are not on a sports team the dorms are awful. Sports teams usually reside in the dorms as a team so the left over rooms are filled with students who choose not to be in the main dorm where there is always excessive alcohol and partying. NOT GOOD. Also the school requires you to live on campus until you are a junior unless you are married or 23 years old. I think that they should look at each case individually and decide. Not everyone is apart of the vast majority of dependent, spoiled college students that reside here.

    Academic Rigor

    I absolutely love learning here at Lynchburg college. The professors are really passionate about what their subjects and are interested in helping students on a person level to make sure they understand. Also the professors make sure the learning sticks with us. Critical thinking is a major objective here so the professors do not simply spoon-feed you they make you think, which in turn makes you remember all that you have learned. There are also a lot of outside the classroom services to help with academics including peer-run groups on a regular basis and subject-specific help centers. The school itself has been around for a while and is really well known in the area; this also means lots of connections with large and small companies in the area. The school has lots of opportunities to get out and get ahead and have hands on experience networking and working with accomplished individuals.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be careful who you choose to hang out with. The school itself is a wonderful place academically, but unfortunately there is a LARGE amount of drinking taking place on campus and it is hard to get to know people if you are not out partying with the rest of them. But I don't wish to discourage prospective students but to instead come be a leader and help bring about change and awareness. Be a role model for the other students because one (or the few) student(s) cannot do it alone.

    In three sentences

    The academics and teachers are wonderful in helping those who are really interested in learning. The college could use a lesson on money management (instead of building more buildings, they should repair the ones they already have). I would like to see more diversity amongst student body.

  • 03/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There is a wide variety of food that is offered on a daily basis at the cafeteria for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. One could also get quick bites to say from Westover or Brewed Awakenings, much similar to a Starbucks. In addition to having other places to eat on campus, one should explore some of the many smaller but delicious restaurants surrounding the campus.

    Dorm Life

    I found dorm life to be a great way to meet many new people in my grade. Since I would be spending four more years with them, I was proactive and was friendly with most of all of them. There are not many opportunities in the dorms to meet many people outside of your class which makes it difficult to meet upper classman.

    Academic Rigor

    The classroom setting is much more personal, with most classes not exceeding 30 students. This creates a much more personal student to teacher relationship. Students are more easily able to meet and discuss with their teachers about issues regarding classes, and the teachers are always willing to spend time with their students to make sure they understand the material.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep an open mind, be friendly, and always be willing to meet new people whether it be in class, in a sports, or in the dorms. This applies to all colleges, and it will make the experience that much better.

    In three sentences

    Lynchburg College is a constantly evolving campus both in infrastructure, specifically referring to the new student center that is currently being built and will be ready and open by the next school semester in the fall, and in the classroom. Every year new courses, undergraduate majors, and graduate level programs are being offered which presents many opportunities to the students who currently attend or plan on attending the campus. This is a college where the students can have a fun time meeting new people, have many chances to become more involved in student activities like sports and clubs, and receive a great education.

  • 06/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security can be reached at the touch of a button, literally. There is a box with a button on every dorm room building and if you push it campus security becomes alert and responds. You can also receive text about what's currently going on around LC, they even give updates about the weather.

    Greek Life

    The greek life at LC is great. There is absolutely no hazing allowed and the make the experience fun. There are greek houses that you can go to and find out more information and really finds out which one fits you.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs here at LC, there is a Hula-Hoop club and even Pre-Med club. The clubs are there to cater to the hobbies that are shared among LC students. There they can discuss events and ways to get new members in each club.

    Great for these types of students

    LC is great for any type of student. There is so much going on that it is hard not to find LC like your second home.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Something that is unusual and fun is the late night breakfast that is held in the cafeteria. There is food, fun, and time to take a break from studying.

    Bang for the buck

    The professors here at LC go above and beyond for educational needs. They really find a way to connect with each individual student and create a relationship the is beneficial to there education.

    What to do for fun

    Something to do for fun on campus is to attend campus events. There is often always something going on at LC. For example, the different food night they have in the cafeteria are fun, there is a seafood not and also a chinese food night. Or you can go play some pool at Roly Poly.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is filled with lots of options, there is vegetarian and also gluten free items. LC caters to each students needs by providing you with the six basic food groups your body needs.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm is life is phenomenal and really gives you an at home feeling. There are different activities that allows you to interact with your RA and other students in your dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    There are designated tutoring centers that help with each subject here at LC. We have something called a Writing Center that helps with the improvement of writing skills. You are able to use this center as many times as you want and it comes highly recommended. There are also tutoring labs and sessions for histories, sciences, and maths as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    One tip I would give for incoming students is to be open. There are so many things going on at LC and for you to get a chance at finding your place here at LC, you need to be open to new ideas.

    In three sentences

    LC has a great environment and is very welcoming. You can always find help when you need it and you never feel alone. LC prepares for life after college and a sincere and genuine way.