Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Lyndon State College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/01/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Lyndon has many excellent programs, including those for atmospheric science, English/writing, and human services. Due to its small size, people from smaller towns may feel more comfortable here than in larger schools. Locals may also like it for the commute. It's quiet, safe, and high-quality. There isn't too much to do in such a small college, but it may be a good fit for those more interested in learning than partying.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for all the scholarships and grants possible- while Lyndon is less expensive than many other schools, you still don't want to owe a lot in loans upon graduating. Make sure to write down all your deadlines, and don't hesitate to ask questions; the financial aid and admissions departments are very helpful. Be organized, check out the website for information, contact your potential roommate as soon as possible if you're going to live on campus, and make sure to bring cold weather clothes. This is the North Country, after all.

    Bang for the buck

    As an out-of-state student, the price tag for Lyndon was a little painful. However, compared to other larger colleges, Lyndon is an excellent choice as far as quality- and their financial aid office, while often swamped, does a good job of keeping people in school. The teachers are great and well-qualified, the staff are more than willing to help, and the facilities themselves are good, if a little older. Overall, it's a good choice for less money.

    Am enjoying being here

    The events (such as comedians, shows, etc), weekly movies, sports teams, clubs, and many areas for students to congregate make for a quiet but content atmosphere. Although the town of Lyndonville has plenty to do between fast-food restaurants, a bowling alley, and a hockey rink, students used to a high-action life style may find themselves at loose ends. Those who prefer to surround themselves with friends and live a quiet life of studying and personal projects (like myself) will be right at home.

    Am learning a lot

    All of my teachers are well-qualified for their positions and, while I had to get used to their teaching methods, I've learned a lot. Classes are more intense than high school, with much more information and higher expectations, but the competency of the teachers and their willingness to meet with students to talk things out make this a good learning environment. The pace and teaching methods may be hard on some, but students should do well if they don't procrastinate and put in good effort.

  • 01/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Fair amount of help boxes, a public safety program on campus that responds fairly quickly.

    Greek Life

    Only one frat/sorority. based on grades.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The orienteering program, SOAR, is definitely different, but was able to meet other people in major and kept a few good friends

    Bang for the buck

    Could be a little more class availability.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends, or go to the many pizza restaurants in town.

    Food and Dining

    Bad food that is repeating week from week.

    Dorm Life

    It's great if you get in the right group. Can be a little rowdy as all people that age get.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you really wish to go their. And make friends with cars.

    In three sentences

    It's a small school allowing for more student/teacher interaction. On the same note the classes are smaller allowing for questions to be asked. But it's a small school so there isn't much to do in the surrounding area.

  • 01/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus security here at lyndon state college is pretty good. the always patrol to make sure that the student body is safe at night. they are always reachable and are nice to everyone.

    Clubs and Activities

    the college has 25+ clubs and organizations. they range from sports clubs, to student government, to role playing club. the clubs they have reach out to almost everyone in the college. they even have the college radio station as a club, so anyone can be a radio dj.

    Great for these types of students

    this college is good for any kids that want to relax and have fun without the need of a busy city. its also a great place if you want to major in climatology, mountain rec, and meteorology. but this college is also a good match for student who want a close community with both other students and the teacher here.

    Bang for the buck

    this college costs less than most colleges around, and for what you get here for services, its worth it. you get access to a whole library that not only holds books, but also have a room to watch movies, listen to music, and a ps3 that the college bought for the students to use. you also get access to a weight room and with the purchase of coming to the college, you get a personal trainer who will work with you. and by popular demand, the whole college is now wireless.

    What to do for fun

    the clubs that they have around the campus keep you occupied. there is also a pool if you want to go swimming for a quick dip. another thing that is fun is all of the evens the cab hosts for us. we get to see comedians, jugglers, and famous viral video performers. there is also a new skate park and basketball court so then you can shred and play hoops.

    Food and Dining

    the food they serve is divine. its 5 star quality and you have a lot to choose from. the dining hall is large enough for everyone and has wireless, that way you can work and eat at the same time. the staff is wonderful and they treat you almost like family, making the experience more comfortable.

    Dorm Life

    the dorm arrangements that they have are pretty fair. the rooms are a bit small but with some maneuvering of furniture, you can make it sustainable. the roommates and suite mates may very, but its a good idea to get to know them so then you can have a good year at lyndon.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes they offer here are not only bound to what major you are planing on taking, but can also broaden your mind to new possibilities. with the classes they serve here, you will be able to learn new things that can possibly change your outlook on life.

    Tips for prospective students

    for those who are interested in coming to lyndon state, i would suggest to have an open mind to everything. there are a lot of different cultures and personal backgrounds that you may have to work with. you should also aim to make friends because being that it's a small college, you want to try to hang out with people to make for a better experience. also, bring lots of warm clothing because during the winter, it gets really cold.

    In three sentences

    lyndon state college has to be one of the most affordable colleges across the united states. it also has a great diverse student body and has people coming in from all over. even though its a small college, lyndon is one of the best choices for those who want to really focus on their studies, which is why i give it a 4/5.

  • 02/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the public safety on campus is normal, if your not doing anything wrong then they typically don't come around.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are a lot of different groups on campus that cover a wide variety of things.

    Great for these types of students

    small community, outgoing, outdoor oriented.

    Bang for the buck

    when it comes to the food, there should be a better quality for what students pay. dorm life and academic wise its normal.

    What to do for fun

    burke mountain, kingdom trails, lake willoughby are all within driving distances. if you like to be outdoors it is an amazing place.

    Food and Dining

    typical dining experience at lyndon state, some days the food is amazing and other days you just custom order a sandwich.

    Dorm Life

    if you don't mind sharing a room with someone else then they are fine. typical size dorm rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    it truly depends on your specific field of study but for the most part all of the programs are right on the ball.

    Tips for prospective students

    come to lyndon with an open mind!

    In three sentences

    lyndon is a smaller college so it's a nice community, everyone knows each other. there are a lot of very great majors here and the professors are amazing! lyndon is only fifteen minutes from burke mountain which is awesome!

  • 02/14/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    5 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    i enjoy going skiing and hiking and that is exactly what lyndon does. along with just spending time outside with some wonderful people.

    Food and Dining

    just like eating at home but yet better!

    Dorm Life

    the dorms appear to be very comfortable and home like. easy to get settled into.

    Academic Rigor

    i can't quite give it 5 stars based on not actually taking a class there. however, i have had the chance to sit in on a class i'm interested in and loved it.

    Tips for prospective students

    don't get scared by the tuition price. with their wonderful help it is surely attainable with grants and scholarships.

    In three sentences

    from the amount of time i have spent at lyndon state without even being accepted, i have enjoyed it and fine the staff to be very welcoming and knowledgeable. come from the area and living in a big city has surely made me appreciate a smaller college which sits down one on one and helps out each individual.

  • 03/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Do the work and you'll have a lot of free time. Lyndonville can get very boring really fast so if you're honestly considering coming here be sure you're going to be okay not being around a lot of stores/malls.

    Bang for the buck

    Being an out of state student I'd say there are a lot of better colleges out there, but if you're going into the Music Industry major this is a perfect school.

    What to do for fun

    In the winter skiing or snowboarding, partying, long boarding, recording in the studio, any outdoor activities. Racquetball is personally my favorite, and visiting Darling Hill.

    Food and Dining

    They're just now switching the dinning hall food service so it could be better but the food is just very repetitive and not the best. High five for grilled cheese and sandwiches everyday.

    Dorm Life

    It's alright, can look like a prison at times but you meet some cool people. Most of the RA's are chill, some of the residents halls are haunted.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically it's not bad. Depending on your major will depend how strict and demanding your classes are of you. If you put in the time and effort you should have no problem.

    Tips for prospective students

    Learn to ski or snowboard it gives you something to do during the long winter.

    In three sentences

    It's a great school, it can get boring at times but looking out your window to the mountains everyday always makes it better. The professors are awesome and really do care about you. Winters suck because they last forever but overall I think it's a great place to be.

  • 09/30/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    7 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Great Ski School area.

    What to do for fun

    If you are an outdoors person then this is the place to be. Great skiing in the area.

    Food and Dining

    Food was not very good.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are ok, bathrooms are not good.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get in contact with the school early and try to get as much money as possible

    In three sentences

    If you are looking for a journalism career this is the place to go.

  • 11/22/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have this fountain on campus that they make into a frozen mountain in the winter and students can ice climb it. I love that part of this college. This college has so many on campus activities that are available for anyone to do. I hope I get accepted to go!

    Food and Dining

    I saw the hornets nest on my tour, looked good to me :D

    Dorm Life

    The dorms look nice, and I like the area so I don't think I'll mind it :D It feels like home to me and I'm not even at this college!

    Academic Rigor

    I'm not sure about the academics but I'm sure they're challenging!

    In three sentences

    I love this college so much, I am applying here for the Fall of 2013. This college feels like home to me. When I visited I could tell it was perfect, the beauty, spirit, and fun of it just makes me so excited!

  • 12/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public Safety goes around every day, many times a day and checks the campus. The people in the library also do hourly rounds. In the res halls, they do rounds every night. And it's somewhat difficult to find a RA or an RHD, but if needed you can call the Hall Director on Duty or Public Safety. If need medical help, there is an ambulance on campus. Or you can call the Health Center.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a ton of clubs to choose from such as Graphic Design club, GSA, anime club, other clubs I don't know.... but there's a ton.

    Great for these types of students

    People who like small secluded schools where everybody knows everybody. And people who want to get things done but don't mind being a little bored, unless they strictly want to focus on school.

    What to do for fun

    There's not much to do in general, but they do show movies every Tuesday and Sunday. They have random events such as guest speakers, comedians, hypnotists every Thursday. And in the beginning of the year they put together fun things for us to do and to settle the freshmen in and make them feel like family. There are also a lot of sport events. And there are plenty of clubs to choose from.

    Food and Dining

    There is one dining hall that serves decent food and they try and serve a variety of different foods, including foreign dishes. But be warned, they serve a lot of pork and chicken and rice. In the dining hall, there is ice cream and cereal. And there are 3 sections: Hot Meal, Sandwich and Salad, and Desert tables. Also, LSC has a small food store called the Hornet's Nest where you can buy food and snacks or place an order. You can pay with dining points or real money.

    Dorm Life

    Most of the people live in Stonehenge. It has a total of 6 buildings, 3 with four floors, 3 with three. Every 2 buildings are connected by a breezeway. At LSC, people live in suites in the buildings. In each building there are 2 suites per floor with 7 rooms each. In a different freshman res hall, there are 4 suites per floor with 4 floors each. Each suite has a kitchenette area with a sink and fridge. In the separate freshman res hall, each suite has a common area. The res halls in Stonehenge have a huge common room in one of the connected res halls. The wifi is okay in most buildings. The cell reception is okay everywhere else except my room. There are vending machines in each common room.

    Academic Rigor

    They want you to succeed and they try and help you move forward. Some teachers take late work, some don't. Some teachers even give the deadline of the end of the semester so you have all the time in the world to complete your projects and essays, but don't procrastinate too much otherwise you'll get behind in your studies.

    Tips for prospective students

    The school is small, so you must be willing to have close relationships with your professors and other faculty. You also have to stay on top of your work, but that's the same everywhere. Each professor has his or her own style of teaching.

    In three sentences

    The school itself is very isolated and small. However, the programs and the sense of family make up for that. They are very hardworking and want you to succeed in life.

  • 02/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have a great public safety team that makes sure everyone is safe. You can call them 24/7 and get help from them for anything. Vermont is a pretty safe place in general but this campus is also very safe.

    Greek Life

    I am not really sure there is a Greek life. I don't think I have seen a club or anything but I am sure if some one was determined they could start a Greek life club.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a huge variety of clubs on campus. Ranging from the theater club to even a quidditch team. If you can not find a club you like then you can start one yourself as long as you find others interested in it too.

    Great for these types of students

    People who like cool weather and want easy accesses to a ski mountain really should consider going to Lyndon State College.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a fountain in the middle of campus that is always going, even in winter. When it freezes it makes this huge ice pillar that people can climb.

    Bang for the buck

    You get a great education for being a fairly inexpensive for a school.

    What to do for fun

    The Campus Activity Board puts on events each week. They will invite comedians, magicians and even musicians. Every week they play a fairly new movie that is free. Most weeks they have little events in the student center that involves getting free stuff. One week we made molds of our hands out of wax. There is also Burke Mountain just down the road for winter recreation, a skate park out back behind the Stone Hedge Complex and many little stores downtown. Plus there are a lot of different clubs that anyone can join.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good for school food. There is always pizza, a hot meal, grill options, a salad or fruit bar, soup, sandwiches, desserts, and even a specialty bar. There they make different special dishes. For example stir fry with your choice of veggies or pasta dishes. There are a lot of choices in the dining hall, everyone can find something to eat. If you don't then you can go to the Hornet's Nest where they have a grill and all sorts of snacks. There you have to buy the food with a point system but it is a good place to go when you want a snack later at night.

    Dorm Life

    They are not call dorms, they are called residence halls because it is not just a place to stay. The Residence Assistants sets up activities every month for you to do. It really is a close knit community.

    Academic Rigor

    I would say the academic rigor is not that bad. As long as you do your assignments and work hard then you can do it. It is not that hard but the professors do have high standards for your work.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest to students looking at the school to remember to do your homework and take advantage of the tutoring services that are available. I would also suggest to just talk with your professors and create relationships. A good recommendation or a bad one for a job or internship can depend on weather you and your professor know each other well. You can also have fun, but remember that you have to balance your work and play so you have enough time for everyone.

    In three sentences

    Lyndon State College has a warm community that welcomes everyone with open arms. The professors put in a real effort to get to know you even outside of classes. The students are hard working and love the school with all their hearts knowing that it is their home.

  • 02/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Lyndon State is right near Burke Mountain so if you love to ski then it's a great place to being attending school. There is also a bowling alley and a couple of small diners in town.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good. Breakfast isn't great but there is a very good selection for lunch and dinner. They serve cheeseburgers everyday and French fries too if you don't like what's on the menu.

    Dorm Life

    I really enjoy my roommate and I have a beautiful suite area with plenty of access to a kitchen and laundry room. The only thing that I don't like is not being able to take hot showers, sometimes its hard to get in when there is hot water left!

    Academic Rigor

    The classes aren't much different from high school classes but it depends on what you are majoring in. If you are studying to be a teacher you have to double major in education and liberal arts, that is a heavy work load.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips for students who plan to go here is to work hard. You have to maintain a GPA higher than 1.0 or you will have to leave and you can't come back until you have completed a semester at a community college and you have to improved your GPA.

    In three sentences

    Lyndon State College has small classrooms which makes it easier to approach teachers and ask questions if you don't understand the material. It also has a great science lab and I get to go outside during labs and experience the environment during class!

  • 02/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe on this campus, campus security makes their regular rounds and keeps peace on the grounds.

    Greek Life

    No Greek Life

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for everyone!

    Great for these types of students

    All types, mostly students who have some difficulty in the classroom.

    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable for a good education.

    What to do for fun

    This college has a club titled CAB which provides tons of fun activities for all students to participate in at no cost to them. These activities range from live performances on campus, to bus trips to Boston, or NYC, and even fun little activities such as making their own license plates or hats!

    Food and Dining

    As a commuter I do not use the main dining hall, yet I make a daily visit to the snack bar known as the Hornets Nest where I can pick up a tasty slice of pizza, or have a sandwich made for me by the Sedexo employees.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter, however, from what I have heard from my friends the dorm life is lived quiet and comfortably.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a college, naturally it is difficult, however, they offer many different levels of courses for all types of students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open minded, especially if you come from around the neighborhood and don't want to go here, it's not a bad school. Trust me, I was in your shoes.

    In three sentences

    I came to Lyndon State College with a pessimistic attitude, not wanting to be here, I knew that I was going to be miserable. I am happy to say that I was wrong. This college changed my mind for me, from the beautiful, open campus on top of a mountain; to the happy and easily approachable professors in the classrooms.