Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Lynn University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 out of 10 people found this review useful. 1 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You will always feel save at Lynn the campus has the best safety.

    What to do for fun

    Party and party and did I mention party? Well besides parties the school provides lots of activites such as game night, moive night, or days were you just cook stuff for fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not the best food in the world but it gets old after awhile.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are okay size freshmen year but once your freshmen year is over you get dorms with bathrooms and the rooms are so much bigger as well. So just hang in there your first year and the rest of the years you'll have an amazing room.

    Academic Rigor

    The class sizes are perfect which make the teachers push you to try your best. You have lot's of one on one time with professors so excuses are not accept. Overal the academic teaching at Lynn is great.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's a great school to come too. Make sure to keep your grades up if you want to be part of the Lynn Community.

    In three sentences

    Lynn is a great school to come and study at. The campus is small, which makes it fell more like home. You meet lot's of amazing people and class sizes are the perfect size.

  • 06/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 2 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This university is by far the safest I have ever been on. In order to get onto campus one must go through security and show ID.

    Greek Life

    There are two fraternities and two sororities on campus. It is not the same as most schools because unfortunately in the city of Boca Raton it is illegal to have frat and sorority houses.

    Clubs and Activities

    Due to the diversity there are hundreds of clubs on campus, and it is very simple to create a new club or interest group.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like to get to know their teachers personally and are very independent.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One unusual tradition would be the KNIGHTS UNITE DAY OF CARING. During this event all of the students get together and choose from hundreds of different community service projects to take part in.

    Bang for the buck

    One downfall for the school it is really expensive, but what can you expect when the school looks like a country club. On the upside the University gives plenty of scholarships.

    What to do for fun

    There is plenty to do for fun, the beach is less than three miles away. It is also located in a town with two other big universities.

    Food and Dining

    The food is wonderful, there are so many selections for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. From make your own omelets, to hibachi style stir fry.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is probably the main reason I love the school so much. The people I met are all like a family away from home. Everybody knows everybody.

    Academic Rigor

    After finishing freshman year at Lynn University, the academic rigor varied. All of the core curriculum classes were rather easy and not much effort is need in doing well. As for the major classes the classes are extremely tough and rigorous.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are a student that would like to be in a smaller class setting, this is the place for you. The professors are always there for help in the classroom or during office hours. They are not there for the weekly pay check but are there to see their students succeed.

    In three sentences

    Lynn University is by far the most diverse college campus I have ever been to. There are people ranging from Boston, Massachusetts all the way to Pakistan. I rate Lynn University a ten out of ten, here you are not a number you are a student that is part of a larger family.

  • 06/28/2010

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    4 out of 10 people found this review useful. 3 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    I do not know if i would enjoy it yet but i bet i would.

    Will learn a lot

    I think lynn would be a great school for me. I say this because it has a tutoring center and its a small school and thats what i need to succeed.

  • 05/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 5 people found this review useful. 4 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I very much feel safe at Lynn. There is plenty of campus security. Plus, because the final presidential debate will be held here, I believe it's October 2012, I happen to know there is FBI agents all over the place, some even posing as students, to keep things safe. Even if the debate wasn't going to be here, I would feel safe anyway. I just can't say enough about this school. I'm very impressed and definitely feel safe. (And of course I feel very proud they picked my school for a presidential debate!) But campus security is available for any problems, and I feel they take their students' safety seriously.

    Greek Life

    I'm not Greek.

    Clubs and Activities

    Due to my school schedule, and I've just been at Lynn one semester, it's a 45 minute drive from home, I haven't had the opportunity or time to explore the activities. My current interest, which I plan to be my lifelong interest and lifestyle, is my exercise and various fitness routines, which makes me feel my best. In coming semesters as I get more into my classes pertaining to video production, I'm sure I will get involved in something. This school, I believe, adds $500 to your student loans for activities, whether you partake or not. I'm still new here, I need more time.

    Great for these types of students

    If Lynn University teaches what you want to do with your life, I can't imagine going anywhere else. Again, diversity, great professors. I've only completed one semester, but I am very proud to say I go to Lynn University. When I was having problems with quantitative reasoning, my professor let me come early and he tutored me and helped me immensely. I passed with a great grade. I feel all of the professors would be just as helpful. If not, they do have tutoring available. So if you're serious about your future, want to be proud of where you go to school, Lynn is the place for you! I just also think it's really impressive that I'm going to school with people from all over the world! Getting to know people from other places, I feel, will make you more knowledgeable of other ethnicities, and basically make you a more tolerant and understanding person as you go forth in your life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I am proud to go to Lynn University. The earthquake in Haiti, the students and professors were killed. They have built a wonderful memorial for them. And it's an international school, so there are people from all over the world coming here! Diversity is a wonderful thing, meeting people from other cultures and countries.

    Bang for the buck

    All I can say is I'm grateful I have the opportunity to attend my school for my desired degree. My mom encourages me, and although she doesn't have a lot of money, she does everything she can, as she always has, to make sure I have a good life. When I think about people who don't have that support at home, I think of her. She had absolutely no support from her parents, she fended for herself, and she went to school with no support system and is doing what she truly loves to do, even though it doesn't pay as much as it did before the economy went bad. I feel empathy for people who don't have a mom like I have. On the other hand, she didn't have a mom like I have, and she succeeded through her own perseverance. So my point is, after all this, is you can achieve your goals, if you want it bad enough, through tough times and lack of family support. My mom has taught me a lot about following your dream, no matter what. You just have to ask for help when you need it. For those who don't have my mom to encourage them and support their dream, I want them to know you can still achieve your goal, just like my mom did twice. I think I will always be a stronger person because of her, how she raised me on her own, how she has survived through difficulty on her own. I will achieve my goal one way or another. Someday I will pass that trait on to my child or children, and anyone I come across who needs me to encourage them. I'm here if you need me!

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of activities at all universities, but my personal preference has become health and physical fitness. October 2011, I became more interested in this area. I have lost approximately 50 pounds through exercise and healthy eating. It is no longer just a way to relieve stress, but it has now become my lifestyle. I was overweight most of my life, and due to a personal tragedy, I started on the treadmill to feel better. It has now become a part of me. I do various forms of exercise, and I've researched and learned about healthy eating. I can't imagine ever going back to the way I was before. To me, fun is a great workout, taking care of myself. The people in my life can't believe I am the same person! And it's not just about vanity, although that's a great plus, but changing my lifestyle I have noticed also helps me handle stressful situations (example: my quantitative reasoning class, which I just passed with a good grade!!)

    Food and Dining

    I pack my food at home and take it with me to save money.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately, I am not able to live in a dorm due to finances.

    Academic Rigor

    Yes, it's difficult. But it will make you stronger, if you have perseverance. At a good university, there are helpful professors, tutors, etc. When you feel like you want to give up and you're frustrated, just think of what your future will be not achieving your dream. Just know in the end, it will all be worth it. Four years of hardship is nothing compared to someday being able to work in your chosen profession. (My mom taught me that.) And even 20 or 30 years from now, you will still feel proud and no one can take your degree away.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know your goals. Have a support system at home; if you don't, ask for help and you will find it, just reach out. Make it your number one priority; keep your eye on the ball (your future degree) and don't let any hardships make you give up. If you want something bad enough, you can always find a way to make it work if you look for help. Four years of hardship now will mean a lifetime of doing what your passion is. No one can take that away from you; not to mention the self-esteem that comes with getting good grades and knowing you're that much closer to your goal. Keep your eye on the ball. Don't let distractions keep you from your goal: Your degree!

    In three sentences

    Very knowledgeable and helpful professors. Fantastic and respected university. I feel I will reach my future goals attending this university, and so far I've noticed how I feel motivated, proud and eager to learn.

  • 06/11/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Serious, chilled, focused about their future, social, fashion and business lovers.

    Bang for the buck

    I really don't know if I am looking forward for distractions because I have more serious stuff set up as my goals. So hopefully there will be Bangs but I might not participate in all of them.

    Will enjoy being here

    Yes I will, because I will need focus for the next 5 years and the school brings lots of it. Help of every and any kind is all through the school, library, teachers, friendly counselors and more...iLike already!

    Will learn a lot

    Since there's not so much students around the school, the teachers, counselors may actually have enough time after class to teach you something new everyday. Plus with the Hands On and internship programs available at school, that's a nice way to experience new things

  • 07/09/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Participate in school activities, go to the beach, wonder around the cities, and spend time with friends.

    Dorm Life

    As an incoming freshman, the dorms look fantastic!

    Academic Rigor

    So far, it seems great!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have any questions, feel free to call the school. They are very kind and welcoming.

    In three sentences

    Lynn University is a small private school which is great because that means less students. Less students means that you can have a lot of one on one situations with the professor and you can get closer to your classmates. The school seems to be a very welcoming beautiful campus with staff members available to make you feel comfortable.

  • 10/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have security walking around at all times and there are phones all over campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Our sports teams are top notch. And the clubs here are awesome!

    Great for these types of students

    Any international student or a student wanting to go to an international school. Students wanting a smaller school. Students wanting a low key environment.

    What to do for fun

    You can go to the beach or the mall by campus. You can go play a sport. You can go to one of the many clubs and go dancing.

    Food and Dining

    The only bad thing about the food is that they don't give too much variety.

    Dorm Life

    The rooms are pretty good and spacious.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes aren't too bad. Just a lot of papers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join a sports team and get involved.

    In three sentences

    Lynn has a small class environment and dialogue based classes. There are quite a few international students from all over the world. At Lynn, everyone knows everyone

  • 02/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    This school is more expensive than usual so be prepared to break the bank.

    What to do for fun

    Night life here is great. The beach is in biking distance and the mall is in walking distance.

    Food and Dining

    We have a 24/7 cafe. Need I say more?

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life here is great! Most of the people are nice and your RA's are more than helpful with everything.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors here teach at a normal pace. I came from one of the top 10 schools in the nation and I adjusted well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come here with an open mind and be ready to network. There are so many people here who want the same thing as you if you take the time to know people.

    In three sentences

    If you are looking for a small close knit university, then this is the college for you. It is liberal meaning you jump right into your major without taking any pre-reqs. The scenery on campus is gorgeous.

  • 05/07/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a huge mall 5 minutes from the school that has restaurants, clothing shops, and a movie theater not too far. There are also a lot of concerts at the school. Guests include The Plain White T's as well as other famous artists.

    Food and Dining

    The food is DELICIOUS. It is also free and unlimited buffet. It is open 24/7. So f you have to stay up late studying, u can always go to the caf. Whether it is at 12 in the afternoon or 2 in the morning.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are EXTREMELY spacious and there is always space leftover after you have finished moving all of your stuff as well as your roommates stuff in.

    Academic Rigor

    They have every type of major and it is a great place to study.

    Tips for prospective students

    You will have no regrets. Also, it does not matter if you apply early or late, you will get a great room. I applied late in March and I still got the roommate and the type of room I requested.

    In three sentences

    I love the campus and the size of the student body. Everyone is welcoming and very friendly. The food is UNLIMITED and the campus has great security and all the students are always safe.

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The school is very calm, there aren't that much dorm parties but you can meet people simply by just walking around. Since it's located in Boca Raton you're pretty much close to Ft. Lauderdale and Miami which is where everybody mainly goes every weekend.

    Food and Dining

    The school there isn't that much to die for. You'll get bored of it after a while and crave to eat something else outside of the school. Breakfast is always good though.

    Dorm Life

    Lynn University does a pretty good job pairing roommates. The dorms for freshmen are obviously small but the next years they get better. It's pretty much awesome living without your parents.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are pretty simple and challenging depending on what you are taking. Make sure to always talk in class which is what the school mainly depends on and to communicate a lot with your teachers.

    Tips for prospective students

    The school is very much what you make of it. Don't expect it to be like in the movies. If you want fun, make sure you have a cool group of friends.

    In three sentences

    Lynn University has a great student body filled with diversity. You meet people from all over the world. Also the teachers there are so helpful and are always there for their students.

  • 06/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very secure. Especially at night because you are required to show your ID and if you are not a student and wish to visit a student, you have to have that student call the security desk and make prior arrangements.

    Greek Life

    Limited.

    Clubs and Activities

    The selection of clubs at the university are very limited.

    Great for these types of students

    International students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are none.

    Bang for the buck

    The cost of the university is very expensive as it is a private university. However, I do feel secure on the campus and confident in the quality of education I am receiving there and that alone compensates the tuition.

    What to do for fun

    I studied for fun. I didn't have a car for most of my freshmen year so whenever I wanted to hang out, I often organized a small study group and through this, I found friends and fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food is really good. The kitchen always has something new along with the usual favorites like cheeseburgers and deli styled sandwiches. It'd compared it to a mini-buffet.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is pretty boring because the campus itself is boring although the RA's are engaging and friendly.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses offered at Lynn are indeed challenging, but the good thing about this is the class sizes are small. There are no more than 35 people in each class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class on-time, stay focused, and make friends. It's okay to have fun as long as you're priorities are in order.

    In three sentences

    Lynn University is a very clean, eco-friendly school. Although it isn't as big as other universities, it is still pretty big for a private university. The diversity at Lynn is beyond that of a typical university.

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    What I love about Lynn? The support. I have been applying to this University for several years already. Only the support I get from there makes me to try again. This year I plan to apply there again! I hope Lynn doesn't have a limit for trying!

    In three sentences

    Apply. Get in. Enjoy.

  • 08/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Everything

    Tips for prospective students

    But, also offers a relaxed atmosphere throughout the community and is a safe place to live. The beach is always a must since there are lots of options close by to campus.

    In three sentences

    Lots of great places to shop, eat, and relax with friends. Right down the road from FAU offering opportunities to meet other college students outside Lynn.

  • 09/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety isn't really an issue, unless someone puts themself in such a position. Call boxes are located around campus in case someone is in an emergency situation.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a variety of clubs offered, and the school is always encouraging its students to get involved.

    Great for these types of students

    Social, laid-back, beach bums, looking for easy days.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Having lost a number of students and professors in the 2010 Haiti earthquake, Lynn University honors the victims of the earthquake every year by encouraging students, staff and faculty to participate in some form of community service around the city.

    Bang for the buck

    Lynn's located in Boca Raton, where the term Boca Brat was coined... It's not completely unaffordable, but the term bang for the buck doesn't apply.

    What to do for fun

    Keep on the watch for your favorite artists playing concerts around South Florida - all of South Florida is pretty accessible. The beach is always an option, and shopping is a big thing if visiting Miami. There's more to do when travelling outside of Boca, so keep that in mind.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the caf is really good for cafeteria food; just the other day I had salmon with mixed greens.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on-campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are relatively easy, but get progressively more difficult. Still, they aren't extremely challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prepare for the Florida heat! And it will rain randomly on one side of the building for an entire two minutes, so bring an umbrella. Don't be afraid to smile and say hi there! to people around campus; they won't bite.

    In three sentences

    Lynn is a small but strong private university in South Florida located about an hour from Miami Beach. It is focused on the students and on their success, having incorporated a Mentor program and an Academic Advisor program to ensure students are given the most help to achieve. The small class size gives all students an opportunity to participate, and there are many opportunities to

  • 04/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe, we have security guards everywhere, it's very easy to find someone if you ever need anything.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that prefer small schools and involved counselors. Any of the counselors you get will be very interested in helping you, especially if you show genuine interest in your major.

    What to do for fun

    It's very easy to go out and find a few clubs, like Oasis. There's plenty of nice restaurants, like Cheesecake Factory

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is delicious, although at peak hours it can be hard to get a seat inside. It's open 24/7, and the food is always warm.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice, with decent living space for everyone. The walls are thin, though, so be prepared to hear everything.

    Academic Rigor

    While not all of the classes are difficult, many of the higher level classes, and the Dialogues, really make you think. You can take a special 3.0 program, and finish in three years, or even faster if you're able to pay the tuition.

    In three sentences

    A very good school, close to plenty of nice places to go. If you ever need to find food or anything for your dorm room, you can easily find plenty of stores that can accommodate you. If you ever need to get anywhere in Florida and don't have a car, there's a train station just down the road.

  • 08/19/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is excellent and well managed. They have security gates at each entrance and you must show an ID to gain access. They regularly check cars to make sure they have a parking decal to be on campus. Security also has a program called safe ride which will pick you up anywhere within a 10 mile radius of campus and bring you back. It only works one way and you must show an ID car to ride back. The service operates from 11-2 am on Thursday to Saturday and is great when you need to have a safe way to get back to campus if the designated driver is not able to drive home that night.

    Greek Life

    The Greek life isn't that great on campus, we only have a handful of sororities and fraternities. They are involved in helping out the community and volunteering but not that many people want to participate or join the group.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of student run organizations at Lynn with an opportunity for everyone to be involved in something that they like. I am a student athlete so I didn't have as much time to be an active participant in clubs but I have heard good things as far the involvement of students that goes on. KOR (Knights of the round table) and SAB (Student activities board) put on great events for students and have a lot of free giveaways for students. They are both student run by organized leadership and promote school spirit for games/ events. iPulse also puts out a campus newspaper that is written by students and covers current events.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for athletes because of its membership in the Sunshine State Conference. It is one of the top ranked Division two conferences for academics and athletics. Lynn offers men's Baseball, Basketball, Golf, lacrosse, Soccer, and Tennis. For women sports Lynn has Basketball, Cross Country, Golf, Soccer, Softball, Swimming, Tennis, and Volleyball. Lynn has a total of twenty two national championships.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Each year we have an annual founders day carnival and celebration. It recognizes the founding of the university and its donors. The dining hall puts out great food on the lawn and Lynn brings in a variety of carnival style foods. They also hire bounce houses, face painters, photo booths and entertainment. A large canoeing race takes place in one of the lakes on campus and even the president takes part in the event every year. The campus also served as the 2012 presidential debate location for current President Barrack Obama and Mitt Romney at Wold preforming arts center.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is private and therefore it is kinda expensive to attend. But having great academic grades and test scores helps a lot for gaining scholarships. Athletes can also get scholarships to play sports as well it is a division two school in the sunshine state conference. It is a great school to be at due to the location and the great events the college puts on but scholarships are very important if you would like to attend without loans or financial help.

    What to do for fun

    Boca Raton is a more upscale city that is kept clean and has a south Florida fitness feel to it. Lynn is located only three miles from the beach and it is a popular spot to go to on the weekends for students. Their are plenty of clubs and bars if you prefer the nightlife in Boca, and it is not far to travel to Miami or Ft. Lauderdale for a change of scenery. The shopping has many classy plazas with a well stocked mall for almost any store you can think of. The public library is only a mile away from school and there are an ample amount of restaurants to chose from.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining has gotten significantly better than previous years. This is only my second year at Lynn and last year was the first time that they started the 24 hour unlimited meal plan. It was really great to not be tethered to a schedule on when to eat and you could whatever time you wanted in the morning or at night. Granted at the later hours there wasn't much selection because of not many people would be eating at that time but it was nice to actually have the option of getting something if you were pulling an all nighter or just getting back from going out. They added more healthy and vegetarian options and they display the nutrition facts on almost all the food you eat. They have new stations and an outside grill with a patio area to sit on. The dining commons also just made an website that you can bookmark as an app on your phone that contains each weeks planned meals along with nutrition information for each item.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms for freshman are not that great to start off with but get better the next year when you become an upper class-man. Compared to other colleges the freshman dorms that are triples are pretty big and come with your own bathroom. If you do a double they are small with not much storage and you have to share a bathroom with the whole floor. The dorm life is pretty good and they all have AC that you can control in your room.

    Academic Rigor

    As far as academics go the professors aren't very hard in grading or in work load when you first start out. The dialogues or general education courses that everyone takes are pretty simple as long as you keep with with assignments and attend class. As you progress though your semesters at Lynn the intensity of the course work depends on your major and how many classes you take. Overall it is not much of a challenge as long as you stay on top of your work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Before you commit to any school it's very important you check on how available their scholarships and financial aid is, and if they have the major that you want to study. If Lynn has the area of study that your interested in then apply early for scholarships so you get an idea how much it will cost you to attend. Take a campus tour if you are seriously considering the school so you can see for yourself how Lynn is and if you will like it or not. Also look around the Boca Raton area so you know what the city is like to live in for the next four years of college.

    In three sentences

    Lynn University is a diverse learning environment with small class size that makes you more comfortable to interact with your classmates and teachers. It has a small town feel on campus and you eventually get to know everyone so you aren't just another name on class roster. You make friends with people all around the globe and locally from each state.