Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

MacMurray College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/20/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    4 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This College is great for new student who come from mostly private, charter or small high schools. You will feel right at home I'm sure I will coming from a small private school. I have tried the larger College and it was too overwhelming and if you don't have alot of initiative your first year you can get lost.

    Tips for prospective students

    Give them a call. Anyone will be very helpful and go out of their way to help you through the process and let you know of many special interest that await you at MacMurray College.

    Bang for the buck

    The registrar's office has been most helpful and working with the financial aid department I find MacMurray very affordable.

    Will enjoy being here

    Being part of smaller College that should be easier to navigate is something I look forward to. I believe I will enjoy it at MacMurray because I look forward to making life long friends. I give MacMurray College *****

    Will learn a lot

    I have researched this college and have gotten to know many faculty. I believe I will learn a lot because of the support I will get.

  • 02/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    as one of the cheapest private schools in illinois, macmurray is definately the best spent dollar you'll ever make.

    What to do for fun

    down town springfield is only a half hour away if you want to get away from the quiet life of jacksonville, else-wise your fellow college mates are usually more then willing to do just about anything.

    Food and Dining

    whats not to love about all you can eat buffet style food and an on campus restaurant included in your room and board?

    Dorm Life

    the only down side to the dorms are the sometimes glitch rendered heating systems. this is much better in the upper class dorms due to personal heaters however.

    Academic Rigor

    the courses can feel a bit minimal at times, but the interactions you get with your professors more then make up for it.

    Tips for prospective students

    use the center for learning excellence, it will save your life on more then one occasion if you do.

    In three sentences

    everything considered, macmurray is a great college with small class sizes, personal interaction from your professors, and genuine care about your education from everyone here. they have a free tutoring center which employs your peers to help you pass your toughest classes. you'll be hard pressed to find a better deal.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You never have to worry about safety the campus is well lit.

    Clubs and Activities

    I played football and the fans are the greatest

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students that come from all walks of life.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends and go to sporting events

    Food and Dining

    Good thing you have flex dollars to spend to get other food. The dining facility needs to upgrade to modern and young people taste buds

    Dorm Life

    Everlasting freindships will emerge from dorm life

    Academic Rigor

    Professor are easy to talk to and are willing to help you achieve.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a visit and enjoy a small campus atmosphere with a big campus heart.

    In three sentences

    Starting a college career this is a great place. It is amall in size but big in expectations for each and every student. When my grandfather died last fall the compassion the school faculty and staff showed was enormous and appreciated.

  • 11/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is fairly good. I haven't been disappointed by it once yet.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are small. They can use some maintenance to be repaired on things such as windows heating and air.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are very reasonable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Learn to manage your time wisely and know your priorities. If you fall behind go to the CLE and get a tutor or contact your professor for help/

    In three sentences

    MacMurray College has a small campus and student body along with a low student to teacher ratio. The professors are very involved with their classes and will help you upon request. The courses to pick from vary and are very interesting to take.

  • 12/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who like receiving individual or one on one attention for help fro teachers. It also is great for meeting new friends while not being overwhelmed by the amount of students.

    Bang for the buck

    Compared to other private schools in the state MacMurray is one of the top most affordable private schools. Admissions does a great job helping students find all the assistance they can. Also the campus is a small sized campus so it is not over crowded and you can seek all the help you need in many areas thanks to the school small population.

    In three sentences

    This is my first year at MacMurray I am a transfer student. I just finished my first semester and so far I like the school a lot compared to my previous school. The class rooms are a very comfortable environment and you can receive all the help you need.

  • 01/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security is great. All you have to do is give them a call and they're on the way to help you. The most we call them for is to open our dormrooms when we lock the keys inside.

    Greek Life

    The sororities/fraternities are all great here. They help you meet new people and experience new things. Last semester with Belles Lettres I helped host a carnival for an elementary school in town.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for students that like to have one on one time with their teachers.

    Bang for the buck

    All of your money is well spent here! Some of your books may be a little pricey, but they're worth it. If you have any questions about your financial aid status the staff in Kathryn Hall/The Business Office will always help you with a smile.

    What to do for fun

    You will meet a lot of interesting people at MacMurray College. You can have fun wit them and attend the college sponsored events. Some of the events that the school had last semester ( Fall 2012 ) were a hypnotist, a parade, and skating.

    Food and Dining

    I will give D Hall a rating of 4/5 stars. The food is pretty good there. Nevertheless, Pipers never lets me down. The smoothies are the best!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice. The rooms are decently sized and they can easily be customized to fit your personality.

    Academic Rigor

    Try to get to know all of your teachers. You will learn as much as they have to offer as long as you put in the effort.

    Tips for prospective students

    Remember to spend your time wisely in the library, EC, and in the classroom. Your teachers are actually there to help you.

    In three sentences

    MacMurray College is very cozy. The campus is big enough to give you a nice walk but, not tire you out. Just remember to mingle with the people in your dorm and get to know your teachers and you will always have a good time!

  • 02/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I wouldn't know. I have never ate in the dining hall or Pipers.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm, I commute so I couldn't tell you much about them.

    Academic Rigor

    Very good. The classes are challenging but the most of the professors are very willing to help you with the course work and if you come across ones who do not, then you can always go to the CLE for tutoring.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your teachers. Sit in the front of the class. Overall, make friends and have fun!

    In three sentences

    It has a small campus so it is not very far you have to walk. The class sizes are very small so it makes you more personable to the professor. The professors really want to help you succeed and are there to help guide you along through college.

  • 02/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have 24 hour campus security.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are numerous choices for clubs and activies at MacMurray College. Choices for anyone and everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    MacMurray is great for students going into the nursing program. They have a great program, and building for nursing students. Also, the clinical locations are not too far away for traveling. Athletes are also great here, and enjoy their teams.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, we watch movies, go sledding when it snows, do arts and crafts, go out to eat, or even go shopping. You have to be creative when you want something fun to do. Sometimes it's hard to do things when living at a college. You just have to figure things out to keep you entertained.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not bad, but it's not like it would be if you lived at home and had home cooked meals.

    Dorm Life

    Living in a dorm is not always the best thing. I personally have had three roommates, but it's not the worst thing. You have to be able to get along with others, and learn to live with people being around. Sometimes you have to deal with loudness at strange times of the day.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors care about their students, and want the best for them.

    Tips for prospective students

    When attending any college, including MacMurray College, the best advice to give is to focus on your goal. Make sure you like what you are doing, and have determination. Don't throw your life away to have a good time, make sure you do your work and learn as much as you can.

    In three sentences

    MacMurray College is a great school to continue your education at. The professors are wonderful, they care about their students, and will do whatever it takes to make sure everyone is successful. The campus is great, and has an at home feeling with the number of students attending being around only 500.

  • 10/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 9

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are over 30 clubs and organizations. There are plenty of sports teams. Also, it is super easy to create your own club/group if they don't have something you're interested in.

    Food and Dining

    There is a dining hall, and a place called Pipers. Pipers is kind of like a little resteraunt with fastish food. They're both good though!

    Dorm Life

    I'm actually a commuter student, but from what I've heard the dorm life is good!

    Academic Rigor

    I'm only in my first semester so I really can't say how difficult the classes are. They have been manageable thus far. However, I'm sure difficulty will increase when you begin reaching your upper level courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early, certain scholarships require you to have applied by a certain deadline. Don't be nervous, the staff and students are very helpful and kind. Use the campus resources!

    In three sentences

    MacMurray College is a small school with a wide range of majors to choose from. The professors are very helpful and do care about their students academic success. MacMurray college has an overall positive environment.