Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Macalester College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/01/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Mac is great for strong minded individuals, independent thinkers, people who like to talk with others about intellectual topics as well as have a good time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the school, and stay overnight as a prospective student (or pf). I never did and I went into the school not knowing anything what the student or dorm life was like. I've hosted pf's and shown them around and can tell you that spending a night and meeting students gives you a very good impression of what the social life at Mac here is like.

    Bang for the buck

    Macalester is one of the more expensive schools in the state, but they are very good at helping students pay for their school. The money I've paid is far and away worth it. Mac has given me opportunities that I don't know I'd get elsewhere. I figured out my major and career plan due to excellent professors in the biology department, I'm conducting summer research with a professor and getting paid for it, and I'll be studying abroad conducting independent research in Costa Rica next spring. Had I gone to a different school all this might not have happened, so yes, Mac has much bang for the buck.

    Am enjoying being here

    Going to Macalester is probably the best decision I've ever made. I've met friends here from all different fields of study (my roommates and best friends' majors are english, computer science and economics). Most everyone gets along and you get to meet a lot of strong minded individuals. I went into the school knowing nobody and within the week, my entire freshman floor became a community where everyone was able to mingle and be friendly.

    Am learning a lot

    I've learned a ton in areas inside and outside my major. When trying to figure out my major I was astounded by the quality of the science department. My high school lacked a strong science program, but I learned so much so quickly through my classes at Mac that I'm now a declared biology major and working on summer research with a professor.

  • 05/23/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Highly motivated, focused, driven, overachievers - who need to attend a school with need-based aid.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to look at schools in the area! If Macalester isn't for you, there are dozens of great, small schools in the Twin cities area that might just work.

    Bang for the buck

    Macalester degrees are known worldwide - but that doesn't mean that you're going to get a job right out of college. If you're planning on going to graduate school, this is a good choice for you. If you just want a four-year degree to increase your potential salary and benefits...go someplace else.

    Will enjoy being here

    You must be motivated to go here - I would reccommend visiting the campus and eating lunch with a current student before deciding whether to go here or not.

    Will learn a lot

    Macalester offers a unique and highly intensified education - you'll definitely learn a lot here.

  • 11/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Mac is overall a really safe environment. Even though you are in the middle of the city, the Mac Bubble is very real and keeps you safe when you're walking from building to building. And, if you ever don't feel comfortable, students have the option to call Campus Safety and have two student employees walk with you to where you need to be.

    Greek Life

    Mac doesn't have any Greek life, but we do have super cool options for living outside dorms! We have a cultural house, language houses, an eco house and many others. Also, if you are interested in an alternative to the meal plan, you can apply to live in the Veggie Coop where residents take turn buying groceries and cooking vegetarian meals for the entire building. Even if you're not a vegetarian, a lot of people really love living there!

    Clubs and Activities

    While it's difficult to speak broadly to all of Mac's extracurriculars, I have a lot of friends involved in a wide variety of activites and they all love them! No matter what you are interested in, Mac has a club for it that will be very happy to welome you with open arms. This is where the friendly community enviroment at Mac really kicks in. In my experience, you form amazing circles of friends in Mac's clubs that stick with you during your time here!

    Great for these types of students

    Mac usually gets the reputation as a big hipster school or as very liberal. This is kind of true, but there are definitely a much wider variety of people at Mac than just hipsters. Ultimately, whoever you are I think you will find your niche here, but I would say Mac is especially great if you identify as politically involved (no matter which party), passionate, over-achieving, artsy, or even as a bit quirky.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Children's Section in the second floor of the library is a super cozy place to hunker down and study... or take a cat nap! There are also about 30 practice rooms with beautiful pianos in them in the new Fine Arts center that are just fantastic. When you visit be sure to ask someone about the bell!

    Bang for the buck

    If you need the money, Macalester will give it to you. We are one of the few colleges that give 100% aid based on your need, but don't figure that need into the application process. Mac is not only worth it academically, but the social experience you will receive here is something you'd have a hard time finding somewhere else. Though, again, Mac is really not that expensive if you can't afford it to be. A lot of my friends going to community college are paying WAY more than I am paying at Mac.

    What to do for fun

    Mac does a great job of informing students of both on-campus and off-campus events! We have periodic dances on campus and those can be pretty fun if you go with the right people. Poetry slams are AMAZING! They sound kind of nerdy, but seriously they are one of those things you just don't miss. Otherwise, the twin cities are amazing and there is literally always something going on if you're looking for it. Also, you can get cheap concert tickets and bus passes through the campus center!

    Food and Dining

    If you have any dietary restrictions, Mac is very accomodating. There are always vegan and gluten-free options, and the catering staff is very accessible if you have further concerns. Don't go into school here expecting a diet of cheese pizza, mac&cheese, and ramen--Cafe Mac never serves it. Very nice selection of healthy foods, amazing salad bar (feta cheese and kalamata olive amazing!), wide variety of foods, and nice variation throughout the week. My only complaint would be about their policies surrounding the cafe. You aren't allowed to take food or coffee out of the Cafe (except pastries and fruit), and if you want to downsize your meal plan they don't offer you a lot of other options, but still charge you the same price. As far as I know, these things are being worked on at this time, however.

    Dorm Life

    I was placed in a single my first year on campus. At first I was kind of crushed about it, but Mac does a really great job at including everyone and creating a welcoming community environment. Making friends was really easy, and I wouldn't consider myself an extremely social person normally! I really love my dorm community and have had a great time bonding with my floormates as well as meeting people from other communities. Dupre doesn't have sinks, but it makes up for it with class. Definitely invest in some colorful posters, but where the dorms lack in aesthetics they make up with amazing people and a friendly atmosphere. You will find your Mac family.

    Academic Rigor

    Macalester is definitely not for you if you don't enjoy schoolwork. As a student, be prepared to read and write TONS. It isn't bad, though. Professors are very willing to work with you if you're having trouble and they genuinely want you to succeed. Also, even if you come in thinking you have a pretty well established set of opinions, expect to have them constantly questioned. Mac prepares you to think about things from every angle and constantly re-evaluate yourself. There is a meme for Mac that says Life used to make sense; now everything is a social construct, and it is very true, but it is a really fantastic academic environment there! Everyone is very passionate about what they are doing and Mac students are generally strong advocates for social justice issues. Mac definitely prepares you for the world, not just for more school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely visit! Macalester has a very definite atmosphere, and it's difficult to imagine yourself as a student there without having physically been there.

  • 06/09/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Motivated students looking for new opportunities and ways to get involved in the community will thrive here!

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit, visit, visit! Get to know the Twin Cities area so that you can use it to your advantage once you are on campus. Stay overnight if you can and take time to feel the vibe of this neat school.

    Bang for the buck

    While Mac is not a cheap school, my financial aid package was very beneficial and largely comprised of grant money.

    Will enjoy being here

    Growing up in a small town going to small schools, I am thrilled to have the opportunity to go someplace where I will be in a bigger city, yet still have the community that comes with going to a smaller school that I have grown to love so much.

    Will learn a lot

    Having basis in the liberal arts is a major draw for Macalester. Getting to test the waters and form out a career path as I move along is a definite plus at Mac.

  • 03/06/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    gated and close. feels very safe.

    Greek Life

    doesn't have any.

    Clubs and Activities

    basically anything you'd want.

    Great for these types of students

    hipsters, hippies, unique, boho type people. also, liberals.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    they have the rock that they share with carlton.

    Bang for the buck

    it's considered a hidden ivy.

    What to do for fun

    it's right in the city, what can't you do?!

    Food and Dining

    awesome dining hall with many healthy choices!

    Dorm Life

    friendly dorm living.

    Academic Rigor

    seems like it has great undergrad studies!

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure that your essays are top notch.

    In three sentences

    macalester has a beautiful campus. macalester has friendly welcoming people. macalester includes a diverse student body.

  • 07/06/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Smarty-pants, people looking for a diverse community, liberals (or moderates, I haven't heard of many uber-conservatives on campus, though I don't really know I guess,) travelers, rich kids, poor kids, people that have special interests/talents, people who love the city and people who like small campuses with access to a big city :)

    Tips for prospective students

    I never spent a night or saw a dorm, so I guess I'm not the best judge of that. However, don't judge a school based solely on their facilities. While important, (and very nice) nicer buildings don't equal nicer people or a better education, or even better opportunities. Keep that in mind! You should feel a connection to the school you choose, and don't let anyone influence your better judgment! It is your education, not your parents'.

    Bang for the buck

    Macalester is one of THE MOST expensive schools in the country, but I received a very, very, very generous financial aid package and it ended up costing less than any of the other 17 schools I applied to, and all of them had lower tuition-room-board-other expenses. It depends on your specific financial situation, but I found the people/faculty at Macalester to be really helpful and CARING! I am so excited! I will graduate with under $10,000 in debt. I hardly have to pay a thing! (College is still expensive.)

    Will enjoy being here

    Macalester is great, however, I think the St. Paul/Twin Cities area is probably the more attractive draw of the two. There are plenty of campuses that would be fun, just like Macalester, but few have the benefits and fun of a big city. Great education and enormous possibilities when you get sick of studying with other student; where else can you get that?

    Will learn a lot

    I have no doubt that I will learn a ton. Macalester is a great school and I've heard from many current students and alumni that their experiences in the classroom and abroad are irreplaceable. I have a feeling that no matter who you are, though, you will only get out of college as much as you put in. I plan to put most of my energy into my studies (but I definitely plan to spend lots of time having a very fun four years of independence.)

  • 10/10/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Smart, driven, creative, interested in a variety of topics, engaged in extracurriculars

    Tips for prospective students

    Be very open in your essays - Macalester is not looking so much for a certain type as for you to be yourself. I recommend visiting campus and interviewing if you can. The interview process is a pretty informal conversation, and helps the school get to know you better than an Admissions Portfolio can.

    Bang for the buck

    Its very expensive compared to schools in my home country, Canada. That said, it really is an experience you can't have at a bigger school. Also, financial aid helps!

    Am enjoying being here

    There is a ton going on on-campus for students - the only problem is juggling my schedule to fit in as many events as possible and still finding to time to get homework done!

    Am learning a lot

    Although I may not be in the ideal classes (my own fault), there is no denying that a lot of information and practical skills are being pumped into my head. Both in and outside the classroom, the campus culture here fosters a hunger for knowledge that is pretty widespread across all four grade levels.

  • 12/19/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    hard-working hipsters who love to volunteer students who want to explore diversity and global citizenship ...everyone!

    Tips for prospective students

    Interview! I didn't, and I believe it hurt my admission chances (I was originally wait listed). It'll also force you to go to campus and visit which I highly recommend. Campus is pretty all year round, and the tour guides really help you understand Mac life.

    Bang for the buck

    Financial aid is a huge reason that I am here. It covers up to 100% of a student's need. The only loans you should have to take out would be from the government. Financial aid office is really nice and helpful.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy being at Mac. My professors are awesome, and the students are too. Mac students don't really know how to party though.

    Am learning a lot

    I have only spent a semester here, but already I've learned quite a bit. Learning doesn't just take place in the classroom; everyone at Mac has unique experiences to share. Classes are really intense, and they will challenge you in very unexpected ways. I had to learn a bit of HTML code for an English class of all things. I've grown a lot since being here.

  • 02/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    explore the twin cities, check out campus events, play intramural sports, join over 100 student organizations or create your own.

    Food and Dining

    you will be hard-pressed to find a cafeteria with more variety and better food quality. macalester makes it incredibly easy to eat healthy and to eat a wide variety of foods. it is also extremely easy to be a vegan or vegetarian as everything is clearly labeled.

    Dorm Life

    dorms are relatively new, have ample space, and are well managed and clean.

    Academic Rigor

    academic rigor depends largely on the classes chosen by the student.

    Tips for prospective students

    test scores and gpa are not the most important things on your application by far. make sure to ask about specific programs you are interested, and don't hesitate to reach out to current students and ask whatever questions you have at any point in the college search process.

    In three sentences

    macalester college is an excellent liberal arts college. the professors are top-notch, there is plenty to do, and it is a great place to be.

  • 05/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    On campus is very safe. Wandering into the twin cities, though, can be dangerous.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are over 200 student orgs on campus. There are Acapella groups and Club sports, and political groups. There's realy a group for everyone.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many student organizations on campus that there is always something to do. From being in an org to just hanging around the twin cities, there's always something to do. Mac has a sort of Urban setting and a very easy public transit system to get on and off campus. There really is always something fun.

    Food and Dining

    Cafe Mac is a great place to eat when compared to other colleges. Since you have to be on the meal-plan first and second year, there are times when you get sick of Cafe Mac. It's the only dining hall on campus, so it is nice to eat with everyone.

    Dorm Life

    It really depends on which dorm you live in. There are some dorms that are aesthetically more pleasing, but others that have a better sense of community. In reality your floormates first-year tend to be your main friends throughout the rest of your time at Mac.

    Academic Rigor

    Mac is an academically challenging school. If you're willing to put in the work, you'll get what you put in back. It's really important to care about academics at this school. It's hard, but in the end very very rewarding.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be yourself. Visit before deciding. Try to stay the night at one during one of the samplers.

    In three sentences

    Macalester is a fun and unique place where you are bound to encounter someone with the same interests. It's a challenging school and schedule, but worth the effort. There's really a place for everyone at this school, it's liberal and open-minded.

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Grand Avenue is a great place to shop and dine. There are many parks around the school, and the river provides beautiful scenery. The Twin Cities also host many professional sports teams and have many places to enjoy music and the arts.

    Food and Dining

    Because there is only one cafeteria on campus, students get tired of it easily. Although, it offers a lot of different options.

    Dorm Life

    A close-knit community is created in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The teaching style of professors vary. Still, be prepared to read and evaluate before class so that discussion in class is meaningful. Tasks and assignments are generally open so that students conduct research on a topic that interests them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open to discussing and defending your beliefs in a manner that is consistent and non-offensive. However, if you have not made up your mind, you will take part in larger discussions that will provide you valuable insight.

    In three sentences

    Macalester creates an environment that is tolerant and inclusive. It's student population is small enough for professors to be open to students, but large enough to sponsor groups focused on a wide array of activities. The conversations that take place are substantive and thought-provoking.

  • 01/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is small and has many safety phones. Much of the student body is also First Aid or EMT certified.

    Greek Life

    No greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    You can join almost any club imaginable. We have quite a few volunteer clubs, sports, knitting, social activist groups, environmental groups and many more.

    Great for these types of students

    Macalester is perfect if you are a student who is fairly self-motivated and have a passion for something outside yourself. Macalester students are dedicated to issues from social justice to environmental conservation to mapping globular clusters in the sky.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We watch Rocky Horror Picture Show on the main lawn before classes start in the fall. It's a fun way to pass time with new friends even if the movie is not the best one ever.... We also have Dog Days around finals so that students can pet some puppies as a way of relieving stress before they die during testing.

    Bang for the buck

    Macalester's financial aid, though not a perfect program, made this school affordable for me in a way that no other school did.

    What to do for fun

    On campus events such as movie showings and various speakers are common but Twin Cities (Minneapolis/St. Paul) have so many different things to do that it's hard to be bored.

    Food and Dining

    Food is very good, especially if you are a vegan or a vegetarian. Cafeteria always has pasta, pizza, salad, fruit, burgers, Asian food, and international food options. Things do tend to cycle but overall quality of food is good.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are clean and well-maintained. Because the campus is small there aren't very many options (for example, we may have all-girl or all-guy floors but we don't have any dorms that are only open to one gender). We do have rooming options for those who identify as gender-neutral and there are very few limitations on opposite gender guests.

    Academic Rigor

    Mac is not an easy school, its classes are difficult. That being said, nobody on campus wants anybody else to fail. Professors are readily available as are preceptors and student tutors. Learning is more important than the grade for most students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't stress so much about making friends and fitting in. The people at Macalester are open and caring, and the vast majority come to the school knowing absolutely nobody on campus. This means that relationships are easy to create and maintain.

    In three sentences

    Macalester College is comprised of a student body that is passionate about many different issues and subjects. Its academic rigor is significant, but both the professors and the other students work to help each other succeed. With its location in Saint Paul, MN students rarely lack for things to occupy their time with.

  • 06/20/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None

    Great for these types of students

    Smart, engaged, thoughtful types

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's the bell (ring it when you first have sex on campus). There's a game with a giant ball that has made a comeback since I was there. You can learn to play the bagpipe for free (one of my biggest regrets).

    Bang for the buck

    Private school can cost a lot (usually in the form of loans) but Macalester is committed to meeting the financial need of all its students, so for low-income folks, it can be a good deal. It's a great school academically, but not necessarily the path to the highest paid positions.

    What to do for fun

    The Townhouse is the best gay bar. Get into some performing arts in Minneapolis; I saw incredible one-man plays, quirky theater, and dance performances on a regular basis. Also, free Thursdays at the Walker. And playing in the snow.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the Twin Cities! They are full of amazing opportunities to apply your learning. Find work that excites you and use your education to compliment that work.

    In three sentences

    Macalester is intellectually engaging and challenging. It emphasizes internationalism and community engagement, but it often falls down when it comes to commitment to its progressive values.

  • 06/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I work with the security officers and they are wonderful people and do an excellent job. I always feel safe on campus.

    Greek Life

    There isn't one.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many, you will find what you're looking for!

    Great for these types of students

    Looking for a very academically challenging environment, devoted to social justice, interested in activism, interested in internationalism.

    What to do for fun

    The Twin Cities are a lot of fun. They offer a lot of cultural opportunities, the most parks for a metro area in the US, tons of club and concert venues and a very lively athletic scene. Campus is right in between the two cities (about a mile between each downtown) and opportunities to get involved with the local community are endless. In addition, there is never a dull moment on campus. You will never search for something to do, but rather, for time to fit everything in. Activities are vibrant and diverse, and you're sure to find something to suit your interests.

    Tips for prospective students

    Macalester is very challenging, something that not everyone is expecting coming in. I thought that I would be very well prepared, and while I have done well, I have worked harder than I ever would thought I would. But it has definitely been worth it! And even so, with such a small student body, you'll find time for fun and deep friendships.

    In three sentences

    At Macalester I have found a loving and supportive community, challenging and rigorous academics and more opportunities than I ever could have dreamed of. I have learned about the world around me and about myself at Mac and have developed meaningful relationships with my peers, my bosses (work study) and my professors. Campus is beautiful and the Twin Cities are a wonderful place to study and grow.

  • 08/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There's always security guards on-call. They patrol campus at night and are quick to respond to calls.

    Greek Life

    NON-EXISTENT

    Clubs and Activities

    Wide range of clubs! A great way for new students to feel connected to campus.

    What to do for fun

    First of all, we are located in the heart of the Twin Cities. There's TONS to do, if you know the right people. That can range from civic engagement opportunities to clubbing and perusing museums. There is a lot to do. BUT a lot of them require you to leave campus to do so.

    Food and Dining

    I've had food from different colleges and universities and I'd have to say that Mac has one of the best! I only gave it 4 stars because the food does start becoming repetitive.

    Dorm Life

    It really depends on what you like to do. Once, you find a group of friends with similar interests as you, dorm life can be pretty sweet!

    Academic Rigor

    It's a challenging school. It doesn't have the prestige as a lot of the other Ivy league schools, but as a New Ivy, Mac is a strong contender. Students will be challenged because a lot of the people who go here were some of the best and brightest from their respective communities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be so quick to judge people. When you arrive to campus just take some time to break racial barriers. You're attending a school that has multiculturalism and internationalism as two, out of the four, main pillars.

    In three sentences

    The staff and faculty can be described as nothing less than amazing. I have had a wonderful time engaging in discussions about race, ethnicity and politics. Mac is a great place to find your true self.

  • 11/21/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    16 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You can always call a security escort if you dont feel safe at night. Because its located in a city, there are thefts, and getting robbed is a possibility if youre stumbling home alone on a saturday night with your ipod in. This is rare, but awareness is key.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    There is ALWAYS something to do on campus!

    Great for these types of students

    liberal, hard workers, open minded, active

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The amazing pipe band!

    Bang for the buck

    The education and professors are of the utmost quality. The facilities for sports and art are wonderful, and always being improved. I haven't spent much time on a lot of other campuses, but I think that in order to GET the bang out of the buck, you really have to use what the college offers in terms of academic support, activities, clubs, etc.

    What to do for fun

    Macalester is great at hosting entertainment - speakers, musicians, concerts, dance parties, djs, etc. When there isnt something happening on campus, learn the bus system to go to Minneapolis for their amazing live music scene, museums, galleries and shopping. Minnesotans also love their cycling and sports, see the Timberwolves or Vikings at the Metrodome.

    Food and Dining

    Cafe Mac is the best! They really invest in sustainable food, and cook it well. There are tons of options for vegans, vegetarians, gluten free and carnivores alike. There is a wealth of cafes and restaurants from thai to afghani around campus as well.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately the dorm life isnt great, unless you are in one of their great dorms. There is still a single sex (by floor) dorm. Some have sinks inside, some not; some more modern, some not so much, bigger, smaller, etc. They range from singles to triples, and you must live on campus for the first two years. Luckily the dorm choices improve for sophomores, juniors and seniors.

    Academic Rigor

    Be prepared to be writing multiple 10+page papers in a month. Macalester is incredibly reading and writing intensive - think 100+ pages for a nights reading sometimes! Luckily, there are lots of resources on campus (in the career center, library, etc) to help you out, which are really underused. Collaborate with peers, and don't be afraid to approach your professors for their thoughts.

    Tips for prospective students

    Invest in actual winter gear - warm boots, a big coat, good gloves, etc. These don't have to be pricey either, catch the end of season sale in the spring, or check out one of the many great vintage/thrift stores near campus. Give everyone you meet a chance. Its a small school, and bad social interactions go a long way - you never know who'll you'll have to partner with in your next class! Try everything! The clubs are very welcoming, especially to those new to the topic or activity (also, theres usually tasty food involved..).

    In three sentences

    Macalester is a place for the open-minded, who want to explore outside of their comfort zone, personally and academically. Being a small school, students can easily get to know their professors and peers, and work in depth on longer projects. The Minnesota climate can take some getting used to, but the twin cities are a great hub for food and entertainment.