Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Madisonville Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 04/21/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very small campus with parking near most of the buildings. Well lit and secure with a low rate of crime.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    There are some clubs and activities available but there is a limited selection.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students that want to stay near home and attend college at the same time. The nursing programs has many options for people seeking an Associate degree in Nursing. Inexpensive alternative to attending an University.

    Bang for the buck

    Very inexpensive with many options for tuition assistance. Federal and Pell grants, scholarships, and loan assistance.

    Food and Dining

    There are many fast food restaurants located near by and a cafe located on campus

    Dorm Life

    This is a community college so dorm living is not required.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are very knowledgable of the courses taught and are eager to help students strive.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan to transfer to a four year college know what classes will and will not transfer ahead of time. Each college has its own requirements for degree programs. Most core classes will transfer but be careful of history and humanity courses.

    In three sentences

    A great inexpensive way to pursue your dreams and degree. You can save plenty of money while completing all your Associates degree.

  • 06/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    MCC is located in the middle of town, and is easily accessable for the police or other emergency teams to arrive quickly.

    Great for these types of students

    MCC is great for students who want a great education at a reasonable price. Also, a lot of seniors in high school take classes to get a head start in their college career.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Glema Mahr Center is located on the MCC campus and is used for a variety of different things such as high school plays, concerts, and plays like Tempest that travel and do shows. The college tennis courts are a special treat to me personally because they have a summer league I play in from May to October.

    Bang for the buck

    MCC provides cheaper classes than a big time college like UK and you still get the same piece of paper after the same amount of time that says you have an Associates or Bachelor's degree.

    Food and Dining

    The snack and pop machines are a great source of sugar for the added boost of a morning math class!

    Dorm Life

    Being a Community College, it doesn't have any dorms for students.

    Academic Rigor

    The teacher I have for Basic Algebra is a very sweet lady who takes time to make sure everyone knows how to work the problems she assigns. You must be able to work hard as a college student without being overwhelmed by other things such as a job or outside hobbies. I take time after every class I have to get on the Internet and get most, if not all, my homework done for the sections the teacher lectured on that day.

    Tips for prospective students

    As a new student, I was nervous about getting into the application process, but it is much simpler than I was lead to believe. I got everything done and ready for classes in what seemed like a blink of an eye, so don't wait because you think it's going to be hard!

    In three sentences

    I believe a home-town atmosphere is what sets MCC apart from other colleges, because the teachers and the administration care about your education and how well you succeed. I was late applying for an acceptance there, but the advisers made everything much easier than I would have guessed. As a current student I can honestly say that, even though I thoroughly enjoyed high school, I am enjoying MCC even better.

  • 07/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students that need to go to school for cheap.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There aren't any.

    Bang for the buck

    If you can get a full Pell grant, you don't have to pay for anything. If not, it's still not very expensive.

    What to do for fun

    They have events but not as many as a university.

    Food and Dining

    The food is awesome, but expensive.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms on campus and it won't let me change the star I put.

    Academic Rigor

    The work isn't the easiest but they try to keep you from failing. There are alot of resources on campus to help you pass your classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to your advisor. Ask for help. Go to class.

    In three sentences

    The admissions and financial aid people are very helpful. The school may be small but they have alot to offer. The food on campus is expensive but good.

  • 08/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always security and the campus shuts down I think at 8 or 9pm Monday through Friday.

    Greek Life

    there is none at the community college I go to

    Clubs and Activities

    I really don't participate in any of the clubs and activities as a I have a family and work full time.

    Great for these types of students

    outgoing and carefree

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Bake sales like every 2 weeks.

    Bang for the buck

    The cost for each semester is not bad and when you have top notch professor's who know there job makes forking out the money easy to take.

    What to do for fun

    Be on the student council

    Food and Dining

    The campus only offers vending machines and a snack bar not a full resturaunt.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home with my husband and and 7 year old daughter. Also my college is a community college and there are no dorms not like a regular 4 year college.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at this college are top notch and are not easy on any student. You have to put your mind to it and make yourself study and get through the classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Choose whether or not to go on campus or online for classes. Get signed up for classes early as they tend to fill up quick. Get your advisor to help with the classes needed.

    In three sentences

    I am a student and I am able to take classes online or on campus which has gave me better opportunities that I otherwise would not have just going to campus. The professor's at the college are on top of their education and know how to teach. I have a choice of taking classes at any campus in the KCTCS school system all online.

  • 12/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 9

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Many different clubs and organizations that offer great fun activities.

    Food and Dining

    The school is close to town and does offer dining on campus as well.

    Dorm Life

    There is no on-campus housing.

    Academic Rigor

    Madisonville Community College offers many classes that would fit anyones schedule.

    Tips for prospective students

    The only tip I would give is to ask questions, the staff at campus are extremely helpful and truly seem to want every student achieve their goals.

    In three sentences

    Being an nontraditional student, I have found Madisonville Community College to be an excellent school to attend. The staff and professors here are very helpful and have made my first semester here great. There are several support systems here that make going back to school a little less intimidating than it first appeared and would recommend MCC to anyone thinking of continuing their education dreams.

  • 01/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Madisonville Community college offers a wonderful cafe. They offer multiple selections of diverse food. They have multiple snack stations.

    Dorm Life

    Madisonville Community college offers no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Most academics that you enroll in are going to be Rigorous and challenging. Madisonville community College offers multiple resources and a great staff to help your academics become less challenging. The Classes at Madisonville Community College are not that challenging

    Tips for prospective students

    Be very enthusiastic about your courses throughout your semesters. Be very attentive to whomever is giving a lecture. Have fun creating a bright future for yourself.

    In three sentences

    Madisonville Community College offers a wonderful learning environment. They offer great resources to help students further their education in whatever field of study they are enrolled in. Overall, Madisonville Community college is an excellent College to attend.

  • 03/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    they have a cafe.

    Dorm Life

    there is no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are somewhat helpful, but it's mostly just you teaching yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask questions and stay on task.

    In three sentences

    MCC is a good place to start your college career and get used to a college setting.

  • 06/18/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There are many places to eat within the community making a palatable meal for everyone's liking.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to work hard. A real nice school but education is their main goal.

    In three sentences

    Listed as one of the top 5 kctcs schools in the Ky area.

  • 01/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 9

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is student organizations, a theater on campus, library, and other social activities.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria; however, you are close to a lot of restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    There are not any dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes range in rigor; however, all the professors are willing to help. There is also a great tutoring program.

    Tips for prospective students

    Good college to start with.

    In three sentences

    Madisonville Community College has a great atmosphere. The teachers are awesome, and willing to help you. There are also a variety of classes offered.