Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Madonna University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 11/21/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    While Madonna is a Catholic university, a multitude of varying religions all coexist here. So if you're okay with that, Madonna is the place to be. Also, if you love to make friends from different parts of the world and maybe go out of your comfort zone at times (trust me, you will love it!) consider Madonna at the top of your list.

    Tips for prospective students

    For prospective students, I would have to recommend to spend a whole day checking out the University. There is so much to see and know. Like the Writing Center, an entire place dedicated to helping students out with papers from simply brainstorming to editing. It is a free service to any student attending Madonna. And TRIO, an organization within Madonna that helps out first generation, low-income college students, like myself. They loan out laptops, DVDs, offer workshops on a ton of different topics, give out free tutoring to its members, and so much more. The above is only available to members though, so give yourself a chance and apply early! The other thing to check out is the Library, of course, for all your studying needs. Also, the Franciscan Center is sort of a designated hangout for anyone who wants to kick back and have a six inch sub from the deli while studying. I recommend the Italian Special :) Make it a $5 meal and add chips and a small soda.

    Bang for the buck

    I'm a little biased on this question, seeing as I refuse to take out any loans and haven't received much financial aid in terms of scholarships so I'm paying for everything out of pocket! But if you're looking for an awesome school with lots of opportunities, friendly staff and students, helpful offices, and learning at every corner for a relatively low cost, Madonna is for you!

    Am enjoying being here

    I love it here. The counselors are extremely helpful. Mr. Brooks, my counselor during the first semester, helped me out so much! When I had a question and he didn't know the answer, he went out of his way to find someone who did. The staff in general is very friendly and will gladly assist a lost freshman on the first day of school. The students are always in a rush of caffeine, I would know, but if you happen to catch one, they are always up for a conversation. Besides the atmosphere, Madonna has tons of sports: men and women's golf, volleyball, men and women's basketball, and men and women's soccer, just to name a few. The games are always full of hyped up students so it's a great place to be at if you wanna go out for a night but can't afford to spend too much. There is also an incredibly long list of clubs to join. I'm sure that 99% of the clubs were student-created. I'm a part of S.C.O.P.E., or Students Creating Opportunities to Promote Education, which primarily serves to educate little boys and girls, and sometimes high school students, about the benefits of attending college. Sounds simple, right? It's not, it's effort and passion and volunteering when I would rather like to be sleeping. But honestly, I'm glad I'm a part of something that could change someone's life. It's worth it. So join clubs, play sports, and talk to people!

    Am learning a lot

    Wow, a lot can be said about the learning that goes on at Madonna. The classes, for the most part, are small and you really can get that one-on-one attention with the professor in the middle of class. The only exception to that rule would probably be during a big lecture, like Anatomy and Physiology lectures, which are around 80 students max. What I love about Madonna is Blackboard, an online site where professors can post lessons, handouts, videos, or summaries of what was discussed in class. Learning doesn't strictly happen inside the class, it happens all the time. Which is why that has encouraged me to consider going to Poland for a semester in Spring 2013. So excited!

  • 01/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The parking is great and the safety is great.

    Greek Life

    Nothing is offered

    Clubs and Activities

    We have sports and campus minstry.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel that the money spent on schooling so far as been worth it. The professors leave you with so much knowledge that you'll take with you after the semester ends.

    What to do for fun

    Get involved with the campus activities. There are many trips that our offered for downtown Detroit and even the Right To Life walk in Washington DC.

    Food and Dining

    The Take 5 Lounge is relaxing in between classes and the burgers are great.

    Dorm Life

    I lived in the dorm my first year and loved it. I love the small dorm size, but I still felt that I was away at school.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic classes are hard, but I feel that you learn so much.

    Tips for prospective students

    To take a tour of the campus to have a better understanding of the school. I recommend the writing center to review or help you write any papers. Don't be afraid to make friends or get involved in campus activities.

    In three sentences

    Madonna university is a very friendly atompshere. Madonna's professor are willing to help all types of students. The class sizes are perfect for all students to learn.

  • 07/09/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Madonna University has a small campus, but a quite friendly one. If one is looking for lots of involvement, I would have to say Madonna does have the motivation to start up activities for students to be involved in. In the past two years I've been there, they have been successful a dodge ball, volleyball, and basketball tournaments, and also created a Roller Hockey team.

    Bang for the buck

    One thing that's utterly frustrating at Madonna is the food they offer. Every weeks seems like they only have the same 7 meals and that gets kind of old. Another thing that could use improving is having the cafeteria, take 5 (lunch lounge), and the deli open more hours in a given day.

    Did enjoy being here

    For the most part I did enjoy attending Madonna. I was on their golf team and participated in many other activities. Such as theater, No Strings Attach (a Capella group) My reason for leaving is because Madonna doesn't have the major/degree to offer myself, therefore, I need to look elsewhere.

    Did learn a lot

    There are many things to learn and/or get out of Madonna. For instance, coming out of a big High School and then going into a smaller campus, is quite something in a good way. You get to experience lots of one on one assistance, many staff/students on campus are willing to help one another out, and you learn/get to know everyone quickly. Lots of familiar faces on a daily basis.

  • 02/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 4 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    work

    Tips for prospective students

    this school is great for nursing and pursing your dreams. just do your best and never be afraid to ask questions.

    In three sentences

    the faculty really try there best to help you. the tutoring sessions are great. the work that is provided is explained.

  • 02/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    mu campus safety is guarded by former cops. therefore, i feel very safe living on the campus grounds.

    Clubs and Activities

    mu has a host of clubs such as; trio, social work network, campus ministry, various sororities, and autistic clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    anyone who is wishing to serve god in public and fight for a cause in ministry, mu has an excellent campus ministry program.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there is a food festival given every year at mu. everyone and anyone can bring a dish from their ethic backgroud.

    Bang for the buck

    madonna university also has a take five lounge for students to get hot and fried foods at a low costs. in addition, students can kick back, talk, laugh, and play games inside the student lounge all for free.

    What to do for fun

    madonna university has lots of basketball games to attend on a weekly basis. in addition, there are lots of food and dance parties given by various societies at the college.

    Food and Dining

    madonna university has a huge cafeteria which serves hot foods buffet style. in addition, there is also a sandwich shop located inside the science building which serves cold sandwiches, sushi, chili, and other goodies.

    Dorm Life

    dorm life at madonna university keeps students on his/her toes and sharp minded.

    Academic Rigor

    madonna university has a high volume of graduate students whom find excellent employment after his/her education is complete.

    Tips for prospective students

    learn when to ask for help. keep up with all assignments. never take on more classes than you can handle.

    In three sentences

    in my opinion, madonna university is an excellent university which gears toward writing skills. i have learned how to properly and creatively write apa style papers with the help of various instructors. in addition, madonna university is has such a diverse, and christian like atmosphere.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    a very safe and secure campus

    Greek Life

    NONE

    Clubs and Activities

    All sports, a lot of cultural clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who excel is small classroom settings

    Bang for the buck

    it is a very good education for the price. If you graduate from madonna you can recieve the same graduate tuition as undergraduate which is awesome.

    What to do for fun

    There is not much to do in livonia michigan, but you are right outside of downtown detroit and the athletic scene is nice. Their need to be more organizations on campus like fraternities.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are too small and too expensive for what you get. If you can live off campus. their are nice apartments within 10 miles radius from the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The work is tough at times but by no means is it unbearable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take classes seriously! It may seem easy at first, but the work will catch up to you. Online classes at Madonna are very fun to take and may be worth your while. Keep in close touch with your professors about your progress.

    In three sentences

    Madonna is very efficient and helpful in administration. The professors are intuitive and analytical of your work. It could use some major updates structurally.

  • 08/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone looking to excel

    Food and Dining

    Cafeateria food was OK at best. Hours of operation not good. When taking evening clases nothing was available.

    Dorm Life

    Didn;t live in a dorm.

    In three sentences

    Rigorous. Dedicated to student success. Relevent to the real world.

  • 09/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    all, students seem to get along at madonna.

    What to do for fun

    Madonna has a movie night once a week.

    Food and Dining

    The food court has a varity of foods healthy and non healthy.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are wonderful, the learning experence is great. The teachers have reall life experence in what they are teaching.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join clubs, and groups and participate in activities it makes the college experience more interesting and fun.

    In three sentences

    Madonna University is friendly, it reminds me of highschool in a way every one speaks to each other. The classrooms are small, the teachers interact act with the students. Madonna is a great place to further your education.

  • 10/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Madonna University is located in a very safe neighborhood and has visible security team that patrols the campus around the clock.

    Clubs and Activities

    Madonna has various clubs on campus for all interest from clubs specific to academic majors to those that cater to hobbies. Office of Student Life ensures that students have a variety of opportunities to stay involved and fun activities to participate in, from movie night to tons of volunteer opportunities in around the suburban and Metro Detroit area.

    Food and Dining

    The Take 5 Lounge provides hot and cold food options to students. The prices are comparable to most fast food meals. There is an alternative grill in the Franciscan Center on campus that also provides hot and cold options and vending machines. The dorm provides meals for those students who reside there through the school's meal plan options. There are a variety of restaurants in the community from fast food to familiar dine-in restaurants (Chili's, TGIF, Bar Louie, Buffalo Wild Wings, Red Robin, etc.)

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is consists of a small percentage of students as Madonna University primarily a commuter school. There are dorm options available to those students who require them. I have never lived in the university dorms, however, I have seen them and they are comparable to other universities in the area.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on your major and level of commitment and dedication to getting good grades. All of the instructors expect students to ask for help when needed, commit to the learning process, and do your very best. Time management is essential as there are often papers, tests, presentations due in the same week for different instructors. Don't fall behind and again ask for help when needed; the school offers excellent resources to supplement classroom instruction and those who may have disabilities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your research, take a tour, and interview a current student. Madonna has a lot to offer and seeing it for yourself will help you to decide if this is the university for you.

    In three sentences

    Madonna University is a small Catholic university built on Franciscan principles and humanistic values. It offers great academic programs, a large variety of scholarship and grant funding, and a friendly, safe campus life.

  • 12/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Madonna has many security guards and is in a very safe location.

    Greek Life

    Very small, I think that Madonna only has one and is academic.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a few clubs and activities but the student life is fairly small. It is not hard to get involved if you want to all the clubs are very open to new comers.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Madonna is a catholic school, before they turn on the lights to the christmas decorations or plant a tree there is a blessing ceremony. I find it unusual but it is a tradition.

    Bang for the buck

    Madonna has a very well known nursing program, the the program is very competitive but is highly ranked. This will hopefully make it easier to receive a job after graduation. I defiantly think that this school is worth the cost.

    What to do for fun

    Madonna is a beautiful, small campus that has a nice wooded area for walks when the weather is nice. There is also many activities within a short drive time.

    Food and Dining

    Madonna does not have many food choices on campus, but is surrounded by many different restaurants within a short drive.

    Dorm Life

    Though I do not live in the dorms the people that I know that live in the dorms enjoy their experience but admit that the dorms could be a bit nicer.

    Academic Rigor

    Madonna University makes sure that students understand the importance of going to class and work hard to achieve their dreams and earn a degree.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to get involved, don't be afraid to put yourself out there, try new things, meet new people, and learn new things. That is what college is all about.

    In three sentences

    I love Madonna University. I have learned so much from the great professors and love the small classes sizes. Though the student life is small it is not hard to get involved and meet other students.

  • 01/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food and dining on campus is typical from what I have experienced at other colleges and universities. Madonna offers healthy prepared options as well has hot meals, ranging from grilled to fried.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus and commute to the University. I have not experienced the dorm life at Madonna. It would be very convenient to live on campus not only to get to class more easily but as encouragement to get involved in many groups, clubs and organizations.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses at Madonna University are challenging, however the small class sizes make it easier to be involved. All of my professors have been very approachable and understanding. The work load varies from class to class, most classes can be managed with hard work.

  • 02/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe here on campus! Campus security is on call 24/7 and they are more than willing to escort you to and from classes. Very responsive and caring!

    Clubs and Activities

    They are around, but small and generally minimally active (other than the residence hall)

    Great for these types of students

    Student who prefer a small atmosphere school, that allows you to stay focused on school but make fun friendships too.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a Mother House where the nuns worship and stay. The building looks like it belongs in Italy, or France! You can tour the building, but it is an extraordinary, holy place. The sisters are on campus often, some teach and some take classes. Being close with the nuns is a very cool experience!

    Bang for the buck

    They do fulfill what they promise and advertise. They do want to see student succeed, and make college affordable. Madonna staff work well with students, and become close to students as they work together.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of organizations of campus to attend. Often we hang in groups at the dorms (the guys just bombarded our floor with waterguns the other day, we are very active), competitions in ping pong and other silly sports, as well as other events put on by the residence life staff. Glow in the dark capture the flag just happened too; we have fun!

    Food and Dining

    To be honest, not the best. But do-able, and if special needs are presented the University will take care of them. Sodexo is the company who runs the food organization on campus; you can live through it but you will want to bring snack with you!

    Dorm Life

    The buildings are older, so they aren't quite as nice as some are looking for, but the residence life staff do a fantastic job at pairing you with a roomate! Private, double, and quad rooms are available, and activities happen often in the dorms, though most students leave for the weekends. Residence grants available and offered generously!

    Academic Rigor

    They teach you what you need to know, and generally do not pile on extra work. They get you through the General Education courses as fast as possible, and get you into the major specific classes. Class sizes are 15 students to 1 teacher, and professors are usually very informative & active.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to focus on the essay application for the scholarships, and be serious about attending the college for greater scholarship award chances. Be on top of the information, and be actively communicating with those at Madonna! Create a network!

    In three sentences

    Madonna University is very close knit, with faculty who want to see you succeed. They have great resources, and are reasonably prices. Their scholarships are also very generous!

  • 06/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The parking lot is dimly lite.

    Bang for the buck

    Enroll at Schoolcraft Community College and transfer as many classes you can for a better price per hour. Even over the Associate Degree level.

    Food and Dining

    Snack bar is just OK

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are a breeze or are very heavy. Online and in class are available. Some online classes are very easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask around to see if the professor fits your type of structure.

    In three sentences

    Madonna University is a very good school. The faculty is very helpful on an individual basis. Class sizes are usually not large, 30 to 10 students.

  • 07/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    This school is on the expensive side, it is $500 per credit hour. But it is a great school with good teachers.

    What to do for fun

    There are sport activities and many fun fundraisers to participate in!

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm

    Tips for prospective students

    Save your money because it is expensive to go here. Study and do your homework, also use the help that is available to the Students that go there.

    In three sentences

    4.5 Stars out of 5. Madonna has great teachers and small class but is rather expensive! I love the school though!

  • 09/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Madonna has many events throughout each semester. Events like capture the flag, game night, movie night, ETC. If you participate you can have some fun. Lastly, just hanging with friends is fun.

    Food and Dining

    Food here is okay, some days it isn't so good and some days its not so good. If you are health conscious, this is not the place to eat. You can find some healthy options if you choose and look carefully.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are okay and could use a little improving. Other than that the dorms ae always clean and improves every year. Lastly, the students and staff in the dorms are friendly.

    Academic Rigor

    Madonna has many majors to choose from. Majors like dietetics, hospitality, food service, ETC. Academics are very important because it helps you earn a degree and pursue your dream job.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try your best in all of your classes and never give up. Second, use all of Madonna's resources because they will help you out a lot in your classes. Lastly, always ask your teachers for help if needed, they will have no problem helping you.

    In three sentences

    I would rate Madonna University a B. Mainly because all the the staff here are friendly. Secondly, this school encourages its student to do the best they can and provides many helpful resources to help its students succeed. This school is great.

  • 09/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe being on campus, especially since it's in a safe area. There is usually a campus safety jeep roaming the campus and there are emergency poles placed around the parking lots.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life here.

    What to do for fun

    Personally, most of my time consists of cross country practices aside from school. Even though practices take up my time I know the campus has tons of other fun activities, like movie nights or ice cream socials.

    Food and Dining

    Madonna offers a few choices for food there is the Take 5 which includes items made on the grill, Stacks which is a sandwich place, and the regular cafeteria. I'm a picky eater myself and don't enjoy most of the food. Fortunately, they mix the menu up everyday so I can usually find something I like a few times a week.

    Dorm Life

    I was really nervous about living in the dorms away from my family, but I actually really enjoy it. It is nice to kind of be independent and make decisions on your own. Besides that the dorms are quite cozy and the residence hall is kept fairly clean. The downside is that there are community bathrooms, but they aren't actually that bad here.

    Academic Rigor

    From what I have heard from other students here so far, the rigor of your courses really depends on what major you take. For example, many people I know are in the nursing program and they are always studying! Since I am still undecided and only a freshman my classes aren't too rigorous yet, and I am able to keep up with the work.

    In three sentences

    I have only been here for a month so far but I love it. I enjoy the small class sizes and the professors are definitely willing to work with you. Also, the school offers many clubs and sports that allows students to be really involved and make new friends.

  • 09/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There is a place to get food, however I have just started going there so I have never eaten here.

    Dorm Life

    I commute to Madonna.

    Academic Rigor

    Madonna challenges students to bring out their best academically.

    In three sentences

    Madonna is an excellent school. Offers a variet of programs at a bachelor and masters level. Small class room sizes.

  • 02/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Not much fun.

    Food and Dining

    I suggest bringing your own food or eating off campus.

    Dorm Life

    Most students live off campus. Its kind of a boring school when it comes to a social life.

    Academic Rigor

    High standards especially in writing. However there is countless assistance for improving.

    In three sentences

    Madonna is a great University when it comes to academic support and encouragement. Sadly, there is not a huge social life there. However, the assist to succeed and find a job after graduation is amazing.