Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Maine College of Art Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 05/07/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Art students

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your portfolio started soon! I started my portfolio last year (junior year), even then, I was too busy to complete it this year (senior year). Also, make sure to include WHAT YOU ARE GOOD AT, rather than showing works of multiple mediums. Oh, and include an adequate amount of still lives/life drawings too. Moreover, pay attention to your grades, even if they may not be perfect, maintaining an okay GPA will have your chances increase. Join as many art clubs, take as many art classes as you can, but most importantly have fun with your high school career.

    Bang for the buck

    It may be a little pricey, but compared to other art schools, MECA is on the cheaper side.

    Will enjoy being here

    Even if I haven't visited the campus yet, my cousin lived in Maine, and toured the campus when she was a sophomore in high school. She's told me of a lot of great things about the Portland area. The Portland district is great for eclectic artists because of the unique shops, the diversity, as well as the coastal area.

    Will learn a lot

    Reading from other reviews, I know I'll learn a lot, not only in Illustration, but in other forms of art too. They have an awesome Foundations program, and just by reading the curriculum, I know I'm going to learn more and more about art.

  • 02/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 8

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    it's in the heart of portland's art district so there is always plenty to do within walking distance. on the first friday of every month congress street is lined with artists and vendors displaying and selling things they've made. there are concerts and sporting events all the time as well.

    Food and Dining

    the food is fantastic! and they always have vegetarian and vegan options.

    Dorm Life

    i haven't lived in the dorms but i have friends who do, and they love it.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes are challenging, but not overly difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    take a tour and have an in-person portfolio review, if possible.

    In three sentences

    it's a beautiful school with great facilities. the teachers and administrators are very caring and attentive. it's a fantastic place to learn how to create.

  • 03/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. The only thing to watch out for are the bums on the streets. They usually don't bother anyone but occasionally they will ask for spare change.

    Clubs and Activities

    Since it is such a small school there are limited clubs, but they do have some. The nice thing about how small the school is that if you have an idea for a club you are welcome to make it official and start one!

    Great for these types of students

    If you are passionate about art and love a tight knit community, this is the place for you. Maine College of Art makes sure it's students are involved with the community. Because of the small size of the school, you are really able to become close to the professors. They are able to help you frequently and really care about how you do in their class.

    What to do for fun

    There is plenty to do around Maine College of Art. Since its located right in the middle of Portland there is always something going on. The city has art fairs and parades right outside our front door! The civic center is only a few steps away if you are interested in concerts or going to see a hockey game. There are plenty of shops and restaurants as well. It is perfect for an art student because there are tons of galleries all throughout Portland.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dinning is pretty good. There is always a vegetarian alternative and the food is very healthy.

    Academic Rigor

    Each night I have plenty of work to do. Basically I work around the clock, however it's very rewarding in the sense that you are getting more experience and learning new things along the way. If you ever need help, any of the professors are more than willing to sit down with you to give you the help you need.

    Tips for prospective students

    At times the work load can be overwhelming, but don't worry. As long as you spread it out you'll be fine. Make sure you don't miss a lot of class. Even missing one class and you can easily fall behind on a lot. Make sure to be aware of that. Teachers can only be so generous.

    In three sentences

    Maine College of art is a great school. Their facilities and professors are excellent. Although I've only been there a year, this school has helped my skill set tremendously.

  • 08/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    If you are smart about city life, you will be more than safe in Portland.

    Clubs and Activities

    Any club you want to start, you pretty much can.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone passionate about their art, practice, and future.

    Bang for the buck

    Quite expensive for what they offer, I often was left out and rarely went on fieldtrips. My chair at my desk was stolen, and I never got a replacement.

    Food and Dining

    The Meca Café serves great food, and the sandwiches are awesome.

    Dorm Life

    My roomate and I had to share a closet prettymuch, the smallest and most pittiful room

    Academic Rigor

    Comfortable mostly, surprisingly a large amount of papers to write.

    Tips for prospective students

    Got money?

    In three sentences

    A fantastic place for people to grow in all meanings of the word. grow in skill, spirit, fame, and networking. The only thing that won't grow is your wallet, which will turn into a blackhole and devour your life untill you have to join a branch of the U.S. military to pay for it.

  • 09/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 8

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are endless options in the city from the taverns to the mall or stay in and have game night around the TV.

    Food and Dining

    Meals are cooked well and all you can eat until you are full and for a growing boy like me that was welcomed news!

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are nice in quaint buildings with a family like atmosphere.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are average pace with steady workload, but teachers are super easy to work with if an issue arises.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sit back relax and know this is the best decision you could make for yourself and your career choice.

    In three sentences

    Welcoming with a small community atmosphere. It is a feeling of being in a small town in the middle of a big city. Everyone is super friendly and inviting from staff to students.

  • 10/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Portland is ranked among the country's safest cities. It is very walkable, and well lit and broad at night. Things are close to each other, and emergency personnel are very quick to respond. The school has in place a text alert system for situations which may arise, including safety alerts and weather conditions (snow/ice).

    Greek Life

    MECA does not have Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is so much to do at MECA. Annual zombie ball on Halloween, Tweed Ride every fall, Breast Cancer walk, there are so many events going on. Running group, Cycling club, Fiber Arts group, theatre group, LGBTQ support and awareness, Student Senate, art shows, political events, concerts/music, etc, I could go on forever.

    Great for these types of students

    If you're looking for a small, lively city to live in, MECA is the school for you. If you want a personal experience, where professors and admins know you and your work by name, go to MECA. You're not just a number here; people actually care about you. Portland is a wacky city, full of life and color and community.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The annual Holiday Sale is a huge two-day event in December, held at MECA, where vendors comprised of students, faculty, staff, alumni and a few local businesses sell handcrafted goods in all media. Each year the school has a BFA exhibition in the fall for undergrad students--this is a juried show where students can be awarded scholarship money. There is the Merit Show, another student exhibition, in the spring, where students can be awarded scholarship money. The Nothing Major show, a student run exhibition for students who have yet to declare a major; students can be awarded for scholarship money.

    Bang for the buck

    MECA is fairly inexpensive as far as colleges go, but that doesn't mean you're not getting everything you could be paying for. It is an exceptional school system and fosters artists of all mediums. Students are immersed in art, while gaining experience in business and academics. MECA works closely with the Portland community, and public engagement is big here.

    What to do for fun

    There is so much to do in Portland--it's a city after all. MECA has a Student Life group which organizes weekly activities for students, such as a theatre group, running club, cycling club, LGBTQ support and awareness, and many more. Portland is a walking city, with trails along the coast and through the Eastern Promenade and Western Promenade. The Maine Mall is just south of the city, and reachable by bus. Portland has several parks, such as Deering Oaks Park, and there are tons of events around the city at all times of the year. There are art galleries and a movie theatre, and concerts big and small. The Civic Center has hockey games and big concerts, and other traveling shows like the circus or even a monster truck rally. Tons to do.

    Food and Dining

    MECA just renovated its cafe, and it is run by a chef and students. The food is very good, and there are always vegetarian and vegan options in addition to the main course. These options are creative and delicious, and many students at MECA are vegetarian or vegan.

    Dorm Life

    The two Res Halls, Oak Street and Shepley Street, are both very old buildings that have been remodeled into residential spaces. The walls are thin and it's not always the quietest space, but it fosters a close atmosphere that is warm and welcoming. In Oak St, there is one full bathroom per two rooms (any combination of singles, doubles, or sometimes triples--the size of the room determines how many people live in it), which is easy and convenient, and cleaning is expected of the residents, not a facilities staff. In Shepley, it is apartment style living (galley kitchen and full bath, two or three rooms), with either two or four people per unit. Again, cleaning is expected of residents. Laundry is located in the building for both res halls, and both have bike storage as well.

    Academic Rigor

    The liberal arts department at MECA holds high standards and expectations of its students. They expect students to take academics seriously and let academics inform their studio practice.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be flexible and know that you might not end up in the major you come here for. Take electives outside your intended major. Be ambitious and really push yourself in your artmaking. After all, it is better to be on the short side of success while you're still in school, but you MUST be able to handle constructive criticism and grow from the experience.

    In three sentences

    MECA forms a small, close-knit community that is always adaptive and receptive to Portland and the city people around it. It is a personal experience, where professors know you by name and hold you accountable for the work that you do; they really care about your work and your growth through the school. MECA is an excellent environment which fosters both artistic creativity and innovation outside the art world as well by holding its academics to a high standard, in order to inform the studio practice of those in the school.

  • 02/23/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    7 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The school has locked 24 hour access to studios (not sure if this is all years or only upperclassmen). There is always a security guard present.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is perfect for students who need a small supportive community and personalized attention. I've also seen adults returning to school have a positive experience here. Everyone is friendly and helpful.

    Bang for the buck

    Reasonable value for people working in traditional media or disciplines (wood furniture, jewelry, painting, sculpture, illustration, graphic design.) I wish they had more to offer as far as using technology, sound, performance, film and video - there is some new media like making apps and animation. It feels a little dated that way.

    What to do for fun

    Avail yourself of all the fabulous visiting artist lectures the school offers throughout the year and in the summer. There's often someone around teaching yoga at lunch time, which is an excellent way to have a restorative break during the day.

    Food and Dining

    Excellent value - I attended a public lecture last week and had lunch in the cafeteria. $4.25! Helpful, friendly staff.

    Dorm Life

    Did not use the dorm, but it is right around the block from the school, so I imagine the commute is perfect!

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are good quality, instructors come from diverse perspectives. I didn't find it difficult to get an A, but I did invest time and enthusiasm in the classes I took here. There are some honors classes being offered now in Liberal Arts/Art History - perfect for the motivated student.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be put off by the price, there is help and they have an articulation agreement with SMCC, your first two years from community college can transfer over. I was going to SMCC and was able to study here as a GPACU exchange student.

    In three sentences

    A small, friendly community of dedicated artists and faculty committed to providing a quality education for emerging artists. MECA has a beautiful building and an impressive library. The institution is central to the life of the downtown area.

  • 05/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Not worth the cost of tuition. Get scholarships!

    What to do for fun

    Portland is a hip, fun city with lots of stuff to do. You can go to night clubs, cafes, and restaurants. The galleries are a blast, especially on first Friday.

    Food and Dining

    The caf is great!

    Dorm Life

    I was an off campus commuter. I have heard the dorms are a nightmare.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically, the classes are about average. The history classes are difficult but the English classes are easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tailor your education for you, not everyone else. Push yourself and don't get pushed over by the anyone.

    In three sentences

    Maine College of Art is a small school with a great faculty. You will need to be self motivated. This school is a great starting point to build a portfolio.