Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Manchester Community College - New Hampshire Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 03/28/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those of you out there who come from small middle class families, work part-time, or who can't afford to pay for $40,000 a year... start here! You can take some cheap courses, get the same education, and transfer later which would take A LOT off your tuition at a 4 year school!!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't wait! MCC accept students throughout the year! You can go in the fall, spring, or summer! For those of you who are still in High school, you can most likely take summer courses at the school!

    Bang for the buck

    MCC is part-time worker friendly for sure! If you live on your own, and pay for your own bills while working part-time, this is the college that will help get your education started! Im happy with the education for sure!

    Will enjoy being here

    Very nice community college for where it's located and the size of the student body. Many clubs and organizations to join. A lot of fun!

    Will learn a lot

    Who says Community college is bad? It really isnt! The teachers here are very nice, and very helpful. Usually, I have a great dislike to any kind of english course, but at MCC, I learned a lot and enjoyed every minute of my teacher's speeches.

  • 02/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    hands on or students who are nervious about college. it is a great way to get used to feel for college!

    Bang for the buck

    the classes are usually well worth the money. the proffessor taught me alot. the only class i thought was a waste of both my time and my money was college success seminar. plus ther are

    What to do for fun

    hanging out in the lounge is always a good time. there are always people to talk to or you can play pool or watch tv. the school also has lots of fun functions.

    Food and Dining

    they have decent food overall! but they have the most amazing french fries!!!

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes are hard and the work load is a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure to not rely completely on what the school tells you. in my experience, i have been misinformed and have had to go and do my own research.

    In three sentences

    manchester community is a great school. i have had amazing teachers that have taken the time to teach me and prepare me for the real world. i have had some issues with the school but it has been an overall great experience.

  • 05/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Plenty of places to hang out up the road.

    Food and Dining

    Great food, a nice cafeteria. Food is a little expensive but it is good.

    Academic Rigor

    Great!

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask questions, people will help you.

    In three sentences

    It is very welcoming, and everyone is nice. Once you know where you are going you will never get lost. The staff are very knowledgeable and helpful.

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Adult students who need to work part time or full time

    Bang for the buck

    Totally worth the money you are paying! The best education for half the cost. You can't beat it.

    Food and Dining

    I have never eaten at the school. I've heard the food isn't bad.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are rigorous and difficult. The program is very hard, but ensures you are as prepared as you can be for the workforce.

    Tips for prospective students

    Nursing Program is very selective. Get as many prerequisites out of the way as you can. Study hard for the entrance exam because it's heavily weighted. I took the NLN exam last year, but they're switching to the HESI pre entrance exam for fall 2013.

    In three sentences

    The education far exceeds the cost of tuition! Great nursing program! Nursing students are highly regarded in the local community and have achieved a 100% NCLEX pass rate for the last several years!

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    First-generation college students: the advisers and admissions staff are always very helpful, and the professors are always available to help you as well. Freshmen: because of its size, MCC is easy to navigate and the classes are small; very rarely will you find yourself in an actual lecture hall for a class. Transfer students: MCC has a terrific transfer program! Busy students: In addition to offering part-time schedules, MCC also offers a variety of online classes! Returning students: If you've attended college in the past and are just looking to take an extra course or two, or if you're looking to change you're career, MCC can help! Any students: Not only is MCC very affordable, but you can create the schedule that's right for you, and the small class size makes things less intimidating. Plus, it's right off the highway, so it's easy to get to from pretty much anywhere!

    What to do for fun

    As well as a big screen TV (with cable, of course), the new pool table is very popular with all students. Even those who aren't playing are sitting on surrounding couches either waiting to play the next round or just enjoying the social scene. As for extracurricular activities, there are numerous clubs to get involved in, the most popular of which is the weekly Game Night where students gather around the TV and play the latest video games (as well as a few of the classics). You wouldn't expect it at a small community college, but MCC is always buzzing with activity!

    Food and Dining

    At the moment, MCC is using a temporary cafeteria because they're working on a whole new student center and cafeteria which will be up and running in March. But regardless of where it's located, the cafeteria food is always top notch!

    Dorm Life

    One of the best things about MCC is that there are no dorms. A lot of people make dorm life out to be exciting and a non-stop party; maybe it is, I'm not sure yet. But regardless of the social scene, the biggest thing college residents have to deal with is taking care of themselves. Suddenly, not only are your classes twice as hard as they used to be, but you have laundry to do, food to buy, etc. on top of everything else. In my opinion, dorm life isn't good for first-year college students. Take it one step at a time and try a commuter college your first year or two so you can see what college is like before you decide to live at one. And remember, just because there are no dorms doesn't mean a college is boring; there's still a campus! There's always plenty of stuff going on at MCC everywhere you look!

    Academic Rigor

    Honestly, it depends on the class content and the professor. Some classes are easier than others, but none are ever as easy as you expect them to be!

    Tips for prospective students

    As I discovered, college is totally the opposite of high school. You don't have classes everyday, but your classes are now two or three times longer than they were in high school. Things go a lot faster, too; it's not unusual to cover an entire chapter in one lecture! The most important thing you can do to stay afloat is to TAKE A LOT OF NOTES! Notes help you sort out ideas and get them down in your own words so you fully understand them, plus writing things down helps you retain them. And don't be afraid to ask questions if you're confused. You're paying to be in these classes, so get the most out of them that you can! Also, don't sleep in or skip any classes; missing just one could put you a whole week behind, and some professors don't allow you to make up exams.

    In three sentences

    Overall, MCC is great for students who are new to college, or who are trying to save money (or both!). Because of it's size, MCC isn't as overwhelming as other colleges can be; there's no dorm life to stress out over, and it's small enough to learn the layout of in just a week or two. Basically, it's the same education you'd get at any college, just without the excess stress and, of course, at a far more reasonable price!

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security was one of the upgrades the college made a priority last season. New cameras and members of the campus safety team were added to ensure that the safety of the students remains the number one priority.

    Clubs and Activities

    Although they don't have any sports teams, the school has ample amounts of clubs and groups that are formed based on the interests of currently enrolled students. The faculty are flexible and always open to new ideas for ways t bring people together.

    Great for these types of students

    HVAC, nurses and business professionals in training make up the majority of students here.

    Bang for the buck

    Absolutely!

    What to do for fun

    Hit up the lounge for some socialization or play some pool. There's a gym with personal fitness trainers that will help make your workout routine and diet more efficient. Come join us on Fridays for special events on campus or on the weekends for special outings.

    Food and Dining

    Even though our cafeteria is under construction (estimated to be completed by spring), the food is still really good as well as reasonably priced. The variety is not as plentiful as when it was a full cafe, but they still offer enough options that you can still find what you're craving on most days.

    Academic Rigor

    The work load is fair yet challenging. You're won't be overwhelmed as long as you put in the effort. The professors are there to help and make that know from day one.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check this place out on one of there many open house dates. Make the rounds and get to know the professors and academic advisers you would be working with. Have a current student give you a tour and answer all your behind the scenes questions.

    In three sentences

    A fabulous experience so far! My academic adviser, Mike Magoon, took the time to get to know me, what I wanted to get out of my college experience and how best to make that happen. The staff have been not only been supportive with all my needs, they have also been the kindest people you would ever hope to work with.

  • 10/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I'm not sure yet. I have yet to explore the activities here.

    In three sentences

    At first I hated MCC because it was a community college and not a University where there were dorms and the lifestyle of staying on campus. But now that I have been here for a couple weeks I love it! A lot of my teachers have taught at SNHU, which is where I wanted to go.

  • 10/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is campus security and a police presence. I've never felt any danger. They also keep the front desk manned.

    Clubs and Activities

    I can't rate them because I haven't been to any, but I know there is a gaming club, an art and design club, an LBGT Club, and several others. They all have various times and days. And there is a club fair at least once a year.

    Great for these types of students

    Perfect for students who didn't do so great in Highschool or who have taken time off of school and need a refresher before returning to education full time. They also offer some certificate programs, but I don't know much about them.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Its a non-smoking campus, but there is a gazebo you can smoke at to one side. Currently they are renovating the student center. There is no Greek life and no Dormitory.

    Bang for the buck

    The education is very much what you make of it. For the most part the faculty is helpful, but there are some staff members who are useless.

    What to do for fun

    Manchester is only an hour/hour and a half from Boston and there is a bus that runs there daily. Manchester itself has plenty of nightlife(there are bars all over the place downtown) and an art museum. The school offers a variety of student run clubs, with a club fair at the beginning of the school year. From Boston you can also take a China Town bus from South Station for $15 each way to NYC. Maybe plan a weekend?

    Food and Dining

    Sits in warming trays from an outside catering service. Its pretty bad and very overpriced. I recommend packing a lunch.

    Academic Rigor

    Just do your work. Do extra work if you can, try to do everything you can to move into a better school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be self motivated. Your instructors are spread pretty thin and will do what they can to help you, but they can't hold your hand. Remember this is meant as a stepping stone to move into a more advanced school.

    In three sentences

    The school is expensive for community college. Seems to be a decent campus with club activities offered. No dorms on campus, but there are many other colleges in the area and the public transit system is decent and free with student ID.

  • 12/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's several clubs a student can join, and in-between classes you can go to the library to read, or hang out in the Cafe and play pool, watch TV, or use the free WIFI.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria is under construction, but Tidewater catering company brings lunches every day. Meals must be purchased individually, but food is good as long as you don't get it while they're packing up to leave.

    Dorm Life

    I'm not too much of a social person, though I suppose some people would be saddened by the lack of on-site housing. But it it a community college, so there's that.

    Academic Rigor

    Early in the semester workload seemed rather light, but it got very heavy very quickly. Still not nearly as nightmarish as high-school however. Work at a steady pace and don't dawdle, and you'll go far.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't slack, don't skip classes, communicate with your teacher and classmates. All of the usual stereotypical incoming student warnings are stereotyped for a reason.

    In three sentences

    Nice building, and friendly people. Classes are fun, and teachers (the ones I've had at least) are very friendly, being more like friendly acquaintances than instructors.

  • 03/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The first thing you see when you walk into the school is the campus security room. The child care center doesn't let anyone in without their college ID.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is always something going on. I just never partake in them because I have a full time job, full class schedule, 8 year old son, and house to clean.

    Great for these types of students

    Any. I have people with toddlers and a full-time work schedule in my classes as well as high school seniors who want to get a head start on their college education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I can't really think of any. Video game night is once a week.

    Bang for the buck

    I only give it three stars because the price has gone up since I started and college is SO expensive. Compared to a four-year school though, MCC is one of the best prices you'll find!

    What to do for fun

    I really like the people in my classes. So we often hang out before or after class just talking in the student center. There are lots of clubs and the pool tables/TV's in the student center are always in use. I also enjoy using the computers in the library since I can use the printers and my son likes the books in the kids section.

    Food and Dining

    I actually really love the food at the college. I specifically forget to make dinner on the nights I have class so I can stop in and pick something up. They also offer a lot of healthy options like salads with buffalo chicken, veggies with hummus or dip, and juice, not just soda.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms, but the student center is always busy, and they are expanding it.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on the class, teacher, and interest. I really like two of the professors who teach classes for my major, but I did not like the structure of the third's. I have friends who feel the opposite. They liked the third/s, but not the first two. Each teacher grades differently as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not stress! The school offers so many great services. Financial aid, including scholarships, the CAPS office for academic help, the bursurs/registration office for class sign up help, and I have yet to meet a teacher who isn't understanding!

    In three sentences

    On a scale of 1-10, I'd give it a 100! The teachers and administration are always so realistic. They understand that life happens while you are trying to attend college.

  • 04/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safe at MCC. There is great security to make a student feel welcomed and ready to learn.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many activities at MCC. From arts and music, to history and science clubs, there is something for everyone!

    Great for these types of students

    The school is great for those who want a decent education while not spending great amounts on student loans.

    Bang for the buck

    It feels great to be furthering my education while paying so little. I am receiving the same level education as those in a university but paying a fraction of the cost! My first two years of college are completely payed off thanks to MCC.

    Food and Dining

    The catering service at MCC is great! There are great vegetarian and gluten free options for those who need it. It is great to stop in for a snack on the way to class.

    Dorm Life

    The campus is tucked away in the hills of Manchester New Hampshire. MCC offers a fun and relaxed environment as a commuter. It is truly my home away from home!

    Academic Rigor

    Many say that a community college does not provide adequate academic abilities; I beg to differ. I am challenged by many of the higher level science classes offered at MCC. I feel like I a getting a strong base education in General science classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to choose classes that fit their interests. It is best to get the general courses out of the way in order to make room for classes of interest! It is great to get involved with extra-curricular activities as well!

    In three sentences

    MCC is a strong foundation for higher learning at half the cost! The classes are well organized and create a positive learning environment. The school provides great life skills in order to develop oneself into a more independent individual.

  • 02/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    You definitely are getting a great education for a great price. MCC really does care about education more than the price and you can tell.

    Food and Dining

    I've only been in the cafeteria a few times but both times the food was good and priced fairly. The seating is really nice with a lot of room for everyone.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms!

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends on the class and the professor. Usually, the professors are fair and the classes are always a bit easier then what you expect them to be. As long as you pay attention.

    Tips for prospective students

    What I quickly found out about college is, it's really nothing like high school. You have the freedom to take classes whenever you want and just in that alone makes the college experience much more enjoyable than high school. My tip for you do to good in classes is to take notes and be sure to pay attention to deadlines. If you're good with taking notes, retaining information and paying attention to deadlines then you'll do fine.

    In three sentences

    At MCC, you can tell the professors really care about teaching their students so they learn and absorb the information given to them to better their future careers. The classes are small and professors are easily accessible one to one if you need the help.

  • 03/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The new student center also has a new cafeteria which will cook you up anything in a jiffy, a menu is provided, and daily soup/pizza/entree specials. Yummo!

    Dorm Life

    This college does not provide student lodging.

    Academic Rigor

    I find all the courses at MCC up to par with any well respected Universities. The courses are well thought out and are equally challenging as they are engaging.

    In three sentences

    Manchester Community College give you the skills and education you need to succeed. The staff here at the school go out of their ways to make sure you succeed in your goals and remain on track. The school have been newly renovated with a beautiful new student center and a new state of the are Computer Science/Computer Forensics labs.