Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Manhattanville College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/13/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 out of 12 people found this review useful. 1 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who want to be in a small college environment, but want to have the option of going to big places like New York City.

    Tips for prospective students

    Spend a night here, observe some classes before choosing this college to see if it's right for you.

    Bang for the buck

    It's really expensive and you need to have a large amount of money, or receive quite a bit of financial aid. Most of the services are alright for the amount of money. The food could be a little better, but the dorms are decent and the actual school buildings are pretty decent as well.

    Am enjoying being here

    All the staff and people here are friendly, and there's always something to do. White plains is close by where there's plenty to do, and a bus goes into New York City every night.

    Am learning a lot

    All the courses I'm currently enrolled in are pretty interesting and I'm always learning something. The subjects to pick from are pretty various for anyone who isn't sure what they want to do.

  • 01/04/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 out of 12 people found this review useful. 2 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who want to roam around New York City, go to Times Square, and Madison Square Garden.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a very good campus with very good people. Also the activities and clubs, and volunteer activities are fun. The dorms in the campus look good, but the space can be limited sometimes, depending who you are rooming with.

    Bang for the buck

    This is a very expensive school to get into. I had to apply for a lot of loans, which I should stop doing because it is going to affect me in the future if i do not make the right amount of money. The food is good once in the blue moon, but when you have it again, it gets boring. The dorms in the campus are good, but space can be a pain, depending on who you are rooming with.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy being on that beautiful campus and the activities they have, such as: Fall Fest, Clubs, The Castle Parties, etc. The people on that campus are very nice and outgoing and fun to be around with. Also the volunteer activities they have are fun and enjoyable such as: helping teachers with kinder gardeners, feeding homeless people food in the streets of Harlem, and being a mentor to orphans.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning how to be more independent for myself now since I am a resident on that campus. I also learned interesting art skills that can help me with my major, which is graphic design.

  • 01/16/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Activists

    Tips for prospective students

    Do as much extra-curricular activities as you can while you're still in high school. My extra-curricular activities helped me get accepted into Manhattanville. My SAT grades weren't as important as I thought they would be. This college prides itself on its diverse student body and giving lower-income students a chance to succeed intellectually.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a really expensive school, however there are plenty of scholarship opportunities for lower-class students. I don't appreciate that the tuition rose because of increased funding for sports.

    Am learning a lot

    There are a lot of compelling lectures given on campus. Professors are active and promote student activism and involvement in the community. I've learned so much this past fall semester and I've made interesting connections with like-minded colleagues.

  • 07/09/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    4 out of 5 people found this review useful. 4 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Trust fund babies! Just kidding! Though, as I mentioned earlier, it is crazy expensive. It's good for students who don't mind taking out loans for their education. It's also good for someone who wants to explore different fields. Manhattanville allows students to take a broad range of classes so if you go into college not knowing what to do, you will be able to figure it out between classes and good advising.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enjoy your time there. Take advantage of the free tutoring and all of the other free events they offer at Manhattanville. Also, the advisors here are really supportive and know their stuff. I also recommend that all students get a campus job and are become familiar with the career development office. Bring a fridge for your dorm and bring a lot of frozen food because the food there isn't very good.

    Bang for the buck

    Manhattanville is extremely expensive for a not for profit school. They do give a nice enough amount of grants but they never meet the amount of aid you need. They give you financial aid in the form of student loans and when you max out you are basically forced into either asking your parents to take out loans for you or to take a payment plan. The office of financial aid and student accounts are incompetent and archaic. They never pick up their phone and if you really need something done, you are going to have to do it yourself. That is the reason I left the school.

    Did enjoy being here

    I didn't enjoy Manhattanville. Outside of the music department I found there was little campus life. Events would mostly be empty except for the parties the college held. There just seems to be so much apathy and indifference in the school among the students. I also left because even in the music department, there aren't many opportunities for performing other than a small chance in the school musical and a lot of informal reviews.

    Did learn a lot

    I learned so much from going to Manhattanville. The academic programs here are average; however, the music department is wonderful. Although the music program itself may be average the professors here are outstanding. The classes are small to begin with but being a music major, I was in even smaller classes. The professors there are awesome; however, there are always a few who ruin it for everyone, but I only ran into two or three after attending two years at the school.

  • 04/10/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 5 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are helpful in situations when they are needed. Pretty safe campus, no incidents i've recently heard of other than your typical on campus dorm party busts.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    There are over 40 clubs and it isn't hard to start your own. The groups vary from religious to dance to interest groups.

    Great for these types of students

    Friendly, open minded, sociable, community service oriented students. There is also a big international group of students so you never really feel like an outsider.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are awesome parties that count down the days to senior graduation. There is also fall fest which happens once a year with performances, booths and other various fun things to do on the quad. During the spring we have quad jam which is similar to fall fest except the school pays for two well know performers to come perform at the school. This is probably the most anticipated day of the year.

    What to do for fun

    There are parties on weekends sometimes but most students prefer to go to the city and the bars in White Plains. There are also many activities and community service opportunities during the week and weekends for those interested.

    Food and Dining

    Pretty good, sometimes gets boring as it would in any other school. You have the option of eating in the cafeteria or the pub, which you can take back to your room unlike the cafeteria food. There are also places to use your swipe in the library and main academic building. Our meal plans consist of a designated number of meals a day (a choice or 3 or 2) and pub cash which is just money on your card for any kind of snacks or food on campus.

    Dorm Life

    As incoming freshmen you all live together in one dorm. This i think is a plus because you get to know your graduating class well and also the rooms are spacious. But as upperclassmen the rooms get smaller until you are a senior and can get a single. As an underclassmen you aren't guaranteed a single even if you request for one unless it's for medical purposes. There are parties more typically in the suites, which many people opt for with their friends as upperclassmen.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on your major but it isn't too difficult if you try hard enough. Some majors are seemingly easy but not so much once you look at the curriculum.

    Tips for prospective students

    There are many scholarships available in this school, make sure you apply. Also make sure this school has the programs that interest you before visiting and applying. Realize that it is a small school so if you're looking for something larger this is not for you.

    In three sentences

    It is community friendly Everyone is nice Very community service oriented

  • 06/16/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who enjoy close communities (everyone seems to know everyone on the Manhattanville campus) and students who are alright managing their own time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the small class sizes. If you're having trouble, it's very helpful because the teacher most likely knows that you are having a hard time. Also, experiment with classes. If you think you want to major in Biology, but you're also interested in Psychology, take introduction to Biology and introduction to Psychology. Both introductory classes will count for something towards graduation in the end :)

    Bang for the buck

    This school is very expensive. That's a fact. They do, however, try very hard to award scholarships and grant money to those who need it. I don't think that many people have their full need met, but they do their best to award money. Actually, recently they have increased the amount for each merit scholarship.

    Am enjoying being here

    This school is very nice! We have a fairly wide variety of food for the students to choose from and a meal plan to suit almost every students' need. There are a bunch of on- campus jobs for those who have been awarded Federal Work Study, as well as for those that have not. The party scene is around if you want to be a part of it but it's also easy to avoid if you'd rather not be. The people are very nice, for the most part, as well.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes that I've taken have been very interesting. The introduction level classes give a very good idea of the different subjects you can pursue and enjoy. The advanced classes as well seem to cover the subject thoroughly. Many of the teachers are wonderful and helpful. They're often around for you to ask questions. Most times, they reply to questions on weekends and allow time to help you and speak to you after class, before class, or during their office hours.

  • 07/15/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    So dissapointed. I thought this was a nice place but when the staff treats you like crap it shows that they could care less about you as a person, instead they just care about what you pay. They never answer emails or calls but when you get your bill they are on top of you. Amazing. Especially applying as an international student, the way they treat you is so disappointing.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the city, it's probably the best thing about this college.

    Food and Dining

    Okay. Nothing amazing but certainly better than other places.

    Dorm Life

    The price you pay is not worth what you get. Simple as that.

    Academic Rigor

    Okay I guess. Some classes are interesting, but none is really quite challenging. At least if you're looking for an academic challenge I suggest you find a better institution. They have a nice Honors program but that's about it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be fooled by their financial aid, before you know it they'll add new fees and costs they never explained. And their response? ''If you can't afford it go somewhere else.'' They could care less. They're not eager to help or give you advice they just send out the bill and it is up to you to figure out how to pay.

    In three sentences

    This was my dream college, WAS. I was treated so badly by admissions and the office of services for international students that I ended up withdrawing my admission. It is amazing how rude they were. I was shocked at how unprofessional it makes them. Even my counselor advised me right away to withdraw, I quote her words ''If they treat you this bad before you even get there you know it is not worth it.''

  • 08/16/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are sports, clubs, and volunteer work that can be done on any student's spare time. And since its located near New York City itself, there are many other options of fun and entertainment for the student.

    Tips for prospective students

    If I had the chance to choose a good college, even just a starter college, Manhattanville College would be a great choice. It gives a wonderful life to students, helps them have many opportunities, not just in country, but abroad as well.

    In three sentences

    Manhattanville College seems to be a college of many opportunities for one of different culture, race and of the female gender, like myself. The fact that the campus sits on top of historic ground, brings my interest even more so, because it enhances the value of the College itself. And if I had to rate the College itself, on a scale of 1-10, I'd rate it a 10 for sure.

  • 03/29/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus is really safe. I feel safe walking back and forth from the library by myself at 2AM during crazy study days.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are a lot of great clubs on campus, from student activity board, latin student organization, and UNICEF

    Great for these types of students

    calm students diverse students

    Bang for the buck

    The school over charges for everything from, $1.50 for ramen noodles, $10 to open your door if you locked yourself out, and crazy prices for other things. if you are looking for great attention from professors, this school is great.

    What to do for fun

    people often hang out and drink with their friends. Others go into the easily accessible white plains and go to the bars, watch movies, or eat out.

    Food and Dining

    Dining isn't the best here. Late night options include eating at the pub, which includes only fried greasy food.

    Dorm Life

    Dorming here can be expensive, especially when some people get a better dorming style and both pay the same amount.

    Academic Rigor

    Not so difficult academic curriculum, but good choices of classes and majors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply here if you are interested in a very small liberal arts campus, campus is also a 45 minute drive from New York City.

    In three sentences

    Mahattanville College is great for student looking for one on one interactions with their professors. The academics aren't so difficult but there is a great variety of courses. The atmosphere is great for a small school, but there isn't much a party scene on campus.

  • 07/11/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Manhattanville College is great for any student who loves a small school feel, a close proximity to the city, professors that actually know your name and a beautiful campus (there's a castle!).

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for as many scholarships as possible it is worth it. Also keep communication open with Student Accounts, the Financial Aid Office and the department of your prospective major. Some departments give scholarships towards freshman.

    Bang for the buck

    Manhattanville is expensive but they do make an effort to make it affordable for those who cannot pay the full price tag. There are a wide range of scholarship options as well as grants. With financial aid my bill is at the same price as a state school and Manhattanville has many work study options for student who are eligible.

    Am enjoying being here

    I went to college thinking no matter where I went I would be miserable because I am not a home away from home person but Manhattanville really surprised me. The campus has such a community feeling everyone is friendly and I instantly felt at home there. Every professor I've had has really made an effort to get to know me and I feel like they genuinely care about not just me but my education as a whole.

    Am learning a lot

    Manhattanville College has a full rage of majors and minors with knowledgeable professors who have a passion for the subjects they teach. Since every professor is passionate their lessons don't bore me to death and I walk away from the semester feeling like I actually learned something. Not only are the classes educational but there is such diversity on campus that I learn so much about other countries and their cultures.

  • 04/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a Japanese boarding school that neighbors Manhattanville.

    Bang for the buck

    You walk out with a well balanced education.

    What to do for fun

    Relax on the quad.

    Food and Dining

    One of the best cafeterias you'll find in a college campus

    Dorm Life

    This isn't a party school, it is a very intimate school, everyone knows one another and it helps make college easier.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to work very hard for a very good education with professors that care about your work and your success.

    In three sentences

    Manhattanville is a friendly community where everyone comes together as a family. It is a small loving school where everyone wants to see one another do well. Manhattanville is home to me.

  • 04/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Not much for safety but they are personable and fun!

    Greek Life

    None but there are chapters within the county which people can join.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of club choices ranging in activities which are active on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Students not looking for a campus with a lot of big parties and freedom.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Quad Jam (all day event with activities and performers), 200 nights, 100 nights, 50 nights, and more.

    What to do for fun

    Make your own fun, the nights parties, Quad Jam, go to the bars in Purchase.

    Food and Dining

    Cafe dining gets redundant quickly. Trick is to go to The Pub and make different salads and wraps periodically.

    Dorm Life

    Biggest dorms available are the ones offered as freshmen, after that they shrink.

    Academic Rigor

    Honors program offered and certain professors will push students for academic challenges.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit and ask students for their honest opinion of the school.

    In three sentences

    Manhattanville has a beautiful quad which students can enjoy during great weather. Yet the weekend events are lack luster, Residence Life is too strict and location isn't the most inviting.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is ALWAYS a way for a student to find fun in Manhattanville! Whether it's through a school-sponsored event or through a random occurrence, students will always find a way to have fun, even if they make it happen on their own!

    Food and Dining

    The food in Manhattanville isn't TOO bad but it can definitely be generic and leaves room for improvement. Also, the prices are a bit high for commuters as well.

    Dorm Life

    I cannot honestly review this as I am a commuter here.

    Academic Rigor

    The school is very challenging in terms of academics and challenges you to think hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    In Manhattanville College, YOU are in charge of your education and college experience! In the end, you will have a magical experience but only if you're willing to make it happen!

    In three sentences

    Manhattanville College is a very interesting college. One can never truly find a dull moment in the school as students tend to create moments that prove to be very entertaining. The education is also very challenging as well.

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is great- very approachable. I've never felt unsafe on this campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The castle on campus has a lot of history and is very beautiful. The school hosts its own parties in the castle.

    Bang for the buck

    Work at getting a lot of financial aid and scholarhips- this school has a huge tuition and is not worth going to if you don't get any discounts.

    What to do for fun

    New York City is very close and offers endless possibilities. White Plains has a great bar scene. There are also a lot of parties on campus hosted by students and the school.

    Food and Dining

    The meal plan provides a lot of food with satisfactory quality. It does get tiring by the fourth year and you are required to have a meal plan if you live on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Mostly on campus dorming- they're currently improving the dorms. The rooms are pretty small and there aren't kitchens in the suites.

    Academic Rigor

    This depends on your major and what classes you sign up for. The Education program provides very well constructed classes and excellent professors.

    In three sentences

    Manhttanville is a great small school with a fantastic education program. It has a great location, very close to the city and in the middle of Westchester, NY. The price is a bit high but there is a nice community feeling.

  • 10/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus safety team is always available 24/7. Our buildings are designed in a way that only students and professors can access them.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are great clubs and activities to join. Our community makes is easy for you and your friends to come together and create your own groups. It isn't hard at all. So if you can't find the club that's right for you, make your own!

    Great for these types of students

    This school was made for EVERY STUDENT!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Mville begins its celebration in October. We celebrate together the 200 nights before our seniors graduate. We come together as an institution to celebrate our unity and our success through dance, theater, our legendary Halloween Festival, and of course the Haunting of Reed Castle!

    Bang for the buck

    I truly believe that Manhattanville College provides more than you pay for. You have the freedom and ability to access all kinds of helpful programs, technology, and services. The school provides its students with careers and internships that go beyond.

    What to do for fun

    Mville gives each and every student to create clubs and functions. As a family undergraduates and upperclassmen come together and form all kinds of groups. We have sporting events, gaming events, movies and shows.

    Food and Dining

    Manhattanville Food and Dining: Here at Manhattanville we embrace each and every culture, and what is better than sharing your culture and traditions with others through Food! Our dining hall has also been responsible for hosting amazing parties and social gatherings.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm Life has been an amazing experience with all the great people you get to meet, and since our dorms are co-ed, you are able to experience real life and enjoy all different kinds of people.

    Academic Rigor

    Mville believes strongly in the development of the individual. The faculty push their students to achieve their best through a well developed challenging and engaging experiences. The faculty also live on campus with us, so it makes it easier to develop a great relationship with your professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Manhattanville is not an SAT mandatory school, which gives each and every student a fair shot at admissions. My best advice is that you give it your all and be true to yourself in your essay.

    In three sentences

    Manhattanville College is the place to be if you plan on expanding into all different aspects of success. They celebrate individuality and are good with getting to know each and every student. Mville has made the transition process easy and enjoyable, and I can't wait till the new year!

  • 10/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus' safety, although very friendly, knows how to handle their job. If you do wrong, they'd be willing to work things out with you. Students in conflict with others would have their issues sorted out by campus safety and a higher power such as the Dean. Simply put, behave or be put in your place, in a good way.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many, many clubs here. So much of them, I don't even know the names of all of them. The ones I do know are the Anime Club, Gamers' Guild, and the Art Club.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Musicians battling against one another? For music lovers: If you got skills, this would be perfect for you. You'd get to show off your credibility to a diverse and appreciating audience of Manhattanville student and faculty.

    What to do for fun

    Best thing to do for fun is either socialize or party. Who doesn't like making new friends or partying? Not only does it kill time, but it has one thrilled throughout, thus making either enjoyable.

    Food and Dining

    The food in Manhattanville College is very delicious! It is hard not to eat it; it's there, tempting one to eat it. The foods are divided into different sections, making those with different taste in food able to eat what they love without having other food get in the way. Nevertheless, the food is digestible and satisfying.

    Dorm Life

    I may not dorm at Manhattanville College, but I've been in friends' dorms and I'm in Spellman Hall's (Building where the freshmen dorms are all located) halls long enough to see what goes on. Friendly neighbors, very active and lively students and faculty, it is a win-win situation to both residents and commuters alike.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics aren't the hardest, but they are far from the easiest. This college knows how to challenge a person, yet make what the students are challenged with very easy to understand. At first the work may seem overwhelming, but in about two to three weeks, it would seemingly become a part of everyday life in college.

    Tips for prospective students

    To anyone planning on attending here, or to any student currently here: just be yourself. Manhattanville College does not have all the drama and troubles of high school; people are much freer and respectable here. Share your interests with others that you meet along the road as well because you never know who you could meet that does exactly what you do, and may even be of assistance to you in what you do as well.

    In three sentences

    On a scale of 1 to 10, I'd give Manhattanville College a 10. This college has so many career opportunities; any student will find what they intend to study here. on top of its abundant career paths, student and faculty alike are very friendly, knowledgeable, and able to help you with any situation, whether it is personal, academic, or if you're in need of some advice.

  • 10/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    School events. Holiday events.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to reach out on your own if you plan on living on campus.

    In three sentences

    Manhattanville College is a private institution. It has small interactive classes. You are able to either live on campus or commute.

  • 12/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There is no greek life at this school, but there are many clubs and honor societies to join.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a great focus on clubs and activities at this school as well as athletics.

    What to do for fun

    The city of White Plains had great shopping all around Westchester. There is a great night life all around. The campus is only 30 miles from New York City, so a day in the great city is not far away.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria provides a great variety of food choices. Also there are days in the week that focus on a specific type of food, but there are always other options. The great part about the cafeteria is that you can also make your own salads, sandwiches, and smoothies. There are many vegetarian options and eating healthy is easy with what is there to offer.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are roomy and one can feel at home.

    Academic Rigor

    All Professors are very educated in what they teach. Not only will you learn a lot new things the teaching styles help you connect with the class. Many times students will have one teacher that really influences them and these professors really show that they do their job and want to help us learn. The professors are available for office hours and any time you need anything they are there for you. Classes are hard, but when a professor shows that they are available out side of the classroom there is a great relief and support that is needed through out college life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Getting to know yourself and what you want to do is important, and this college really allows you to explore your options. There is time for you to determine future career paths, and it is good to know that there should not be a lot of stress when trying to figure this out. There are many options and support that you will see is there for you to take advantage. So keep informed and use what is available to you.

    In three sentences

    This college has much to offer, even though it is not a very big school. This allows having personal relationships with professors because there are not large lecture rooms. Manhattanville really sees you as an individual not just any other student and will put your best interest first. This college has much to offer, even though it is not a very big school. This allows having personal relationships with professors because there are not large lecture rooms. Manhattanville really sees you as an individual not just any other student and will really provide help and support whenever needed.

  • 01/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    As I stated above, there were many damages on the floor I lived on. At a Halloween party, I learned that the lower classman was exposed to alcohol by seniors who were considered as their friends. I also witnessed a neighbor of mine snorting weed. Alcohol and drugs may be an explanation for the damages in the halls. I have not witnessed any violence yet, but the behavior from the students are dangerous enough.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities to choose from. Many may even help students with their major. One club that I find great is the Christian Fellowship club, which I am a member of. This club helps students learn more about God's teachings in the bible. I was involved in a performance where I made a duet with another friend for a poetry event night as part of this club where I read two poems that were Christian-based and my friend played the piano in the background.

    What to do for fun

    What I like about Manhattanville is that there are many events to attend, especially during the weekend. The school has planned many parties and movie nights. Also, if you are a Duchesne scholar, some of these events are educational and will help you earn hours to save your scholarship.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is made in buffet style, with a pizza and sandwich bar, a bar for salad, fruits, yogurt, cookies, and other goods, and a place for ice-cream and different toppings to choose from. However, the pizza served is very oily; the garlic bread is oily as well, salty, and soggy. The meat is very chewy and the food overall can be very unappetizing and not cooked properly at times. The only meal that may satisfy students the most is breakfast. Students will usually go to the pub, where I notice they get salads, burgers, chicken wraps, chicken fingers, and fries.

    Dorm Life

    During the first semester, I was assigned on the third floor, also known as the �party floor.� Students were very rowdy during the night and I also encountered immaturity and disrespect. I had my door pushed open twice and my name tag pulled off my door. Furthermore, on another night, students chose to tear down exit signs and bust ceilings and lights, which led to a high bill the floor had to pay. A friend of mine who lives on the first floor, near the kitchen had gotten headaches from students� rowdiness and could not sleep well. However, I did manage to get my homework completed, study, and sleep well. Despite the problems I encountered, there is fair space for two people some rooms have carpets, while others have tile floors.

    Academic Rigor

    For the first semester, I took three writing classes, which were First Year Seminar Writing, Creative Writing, and African-American Studies. I had a pretty tough professor for African-American Studies who gave me a lot of criticisms for my essays, but it taught me how to make my essays more argumentative, precise, and comprehensible. Many students had to revise their thesis statement before the professor approved it. In First Year Seminar and Creative Writing, I learned how to improve my grammar, punctuation, and make my responses briefer. Creative Writing and African-American Studies were classes that I was interested in and First Year Seminar is a required course. My point is although First Year Seminar and Creative Writing were courses of interest, they helped me become a better writer. I chose to major in Communications because my parents explained that writing was not going to help me earn enough money. Communications can help me in the Journalism field by not only writing papers, but be seen on television or be heard on the radio. I chose to take Journalism the year of 2013 as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    For prospective students, make sure you hand in or send all items needed to get into college, like your final high school transcript and other requirements. Also, while in school, have your parents make payments on time in order to remain in school. You will not be able to dorm if payments are not made on time. For the year 2013, my parents and I have agreed that I commute because they could not afford a bill that was due a month ago since my mother has been unemployed since July 2012. My father has always filed taxes under my name as Head of Household and my mother's tax information has been recently added to my FAFSA, so I received a new financial aid award letter. Moreover, not only will you unable to dorm, you will be unable to access your grades, which are only available on the school website, or register for courses the following semester. Since a bill has not been paid in a month, I have a hold on my student account. In addition, if you were awarded as a Duchesne scholar, you must at least complete thirty hours of community service or your scholarship will be delayed and put you in more serious debt. Finally, it is very important that you at least know what you are going to study or have an interest of what you would like to study. You do not plan your major/minor until your sophomore year, so you have time to think. During my first semester, I realized that many students dropped out of classes that they did not need to take in a very short amount of time. I recommend that you take courses that you feel will benefit the career you want to pursue. It is okay to explore different areas because that is what college is about, but it is best to take certain courses that you feel will help you in the future.

    In three sentences

    Despite rating Manhattanville as 3 out of 5 due to food and customer service, the school is beautifully built as a castle with a lovely campus to explore and very talented people to meet. There is a great diversity of students, arriving from different parts of the world. Also, the school has a wonderful act of community service, allowing students to volunteer in other cities in New York, besides Purchase and take trips to places outside New York.

  • 01/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is hardly any campus safety around.

    Clubs and Activities

    very few

    Great for these types of students

    arts majors music majors

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The 200, and 100 nights parties are a big deal here.

    Bang for the buck

    Pretty expensive not enough resources.

    What to do for fun

    There are a couple of shows you can go to. The basketball team is pretty good as well as the girl's soccer team. Other than that there really isn't all that much to do. There are free trips to NYC on the weekend and the shuttles take you to white plains on the weekdays.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research the school and make sure it's right for you. Also plan out your finances it's pretty expensive.

    In three sentences

    The school doesn't have many resources if you are a science major. The school is fine if you want to go into the arts the theater program is really good from what I hear. I will be transferring.

  • 01/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go into New York City or go into White Plains.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep up a good GPA so that they may receive one of Manhattanville's scholarship.

    In three sentences

    Manhattanville is a very diverse school. There are many different clubs. The majors offered are excellent.

  • 01/29/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Mville has a lot of mini parties. They were more popular back in the day. Now the parties are usually a ghost town.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is open until 8pm. The pub is open til 2am. However, there isn't enough variety for food to eat and pick from. Especially is someone wants to eat healthy.

    Dorm Life

    Unless you live in Spellman dorm life is pretty quiet. Most people don't roam everyone sticks to themselves.

    Academic Rigor

    Manhttanville is required for students to complete 120.00 credits in order to graduate. However, the process of the portfolio system is not completed explained thoroughly. In addition, it seems not everyone has the same answers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved with the campus. Campus activities and information will not be handed to you. Do not be afraid to ask questions about what to do. Explore the city around you.

    In three sentences

    Manhattanville is a small and intimate school. It's fun if you make it fun.

  • 06/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    there are manhy differnt choices in food. Incuding a salad bar and also a pizza. there are also gluten free food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is really greta. There are different resident building to choose from. Although getting the room you want is very competitive.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are for what the student is loooking for. The range of classes is very open and wide. You are mostly likely to get the classes you want to get into.

    Tips for prospective students

    For incoming studetn get ready to here your name be called all the time. Its a communtiuy where everyone knows each other very well.

    In three sentences

    Manhattanville is one of a kind. The college gives you the information, corricullum, helpful faculty, and home feeling that all first year coolege student are looking for. Its a great way to also meet different people from all over the world.