Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Mansfield University of Pennsylvania Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/16/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who love to be outside and to have many close friends. College is a time about learning wether its learning how to cope with being away from home or learning many new interesting information about your intended major. Mansfield is a great school for all.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like having a smaller school where you know most of the people then mansfield is a great place to further your studies. Also it is a nice, small quiet community.

    Bang for the buck

    Every college is expensive, but I definitally think Mansfield is worth every penny.

    Am enjoying being here

    The people and teachers are awsome which makes it a wonderful environment to learn and meet new people.

  • 02/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    transfer/non-traditional

    What to do for fun

    many events for students

    Food and Dining

    excellent choices and taste

    Dorm Life

    brand new dorms

    Academic Rigor

    tough but rewarding and you will be very prepared for next step of school or career.

    Tips for prospective students

    apply early.

    In three sentences

    smaller classes and more knowledgeable professors are a perfect reason to attend mansfield. countless clubs and events make mansfield not only a learning university, but one with a great social environment.

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Alpha Sigma Alpha, Alpha Sigma Tau, Delta Zeta, Sigma Alpha Epsilon, Sigma Tau Gamma, Zeta Tau Alpha, Alpha Kappa Lambda, BLUE, MODE, HBT, and etc.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have up to 126 clubs and organizations: 1.Advocacy Association 2.Alpha Kappa Lambda 3.Alpha Phi Sigma 4.Alpha Sigma Alpha 5.Alpha Sigma Tau 6.American Choral Directors Association (ACDA) 7.American String Teachers Association (ASTA) 8.Animansfield 9.Art & Design Guild 10.Art Acquisition & Exhibition Committee 11.Art History Assocation 12.Badminton Club 13.Billiards Club 14.Biology Club 15.Black Students Union (BSU) 16.BLUE 17.Boxing Club 18.Campus Crusade for Christ 19.Carontawan - Mountie Yearbook 20.Catholic Student Association 21.CEO (Collegiate Entrepreneurs' Organization) 22.Cheerleaders 23.Chemistry Club 24.Chinese Language Club (CLC) 25.Circle K 26.Classical Guitar 27.Colleges Against Cancer 28.College Republicans of Mansfield University 29.Committee on Finance 30.Computer Science Club 31.Council for Exceptional Children 32.Creative Arts Therapy Sounding (CATS) 33.Criminal Justice Club 34.Delta Zeta 35.Double Reed Society 36.El Club de Español 37.Environmental Awareness Club 38.Eta Beta Tau (HBT) 39.Film Production Club 40.Flashlight 41.French Club 42.Frisbee Club 43.Geography/Outing Club 44.Geology Club 45.German Club 46.GLO (Gay-Straight Alliance/Gay & Lesbian Outreach) 47.History Club 48.Honors Association 49.Inter-Fraternity Council (IFC) 50.International Tuba-Euphonium Association 51.Kappa Kappa Psi 52.Kappa Phi 53.Kayak Club 54.Kenshinkan Kendo Club 55.Lambda Alpha Epsilon 56.Lambda Sigma 57.Leo Club 58.Mansfield Activities Council (MAC) 59.Mansfield International Student Organization (MISO) 60.Mansfield Jazz Organization (MJO) formerly IAJE 61.Math Club 62.Men for Progress 63.MODE 64.Mountie Guides 65.MU Bass Fishing Team 66.MU Dance Team 67.MU Fisheries & Aquaculture Club 68.MU Horn Club 69.MU Model United Nations Organization 70.MU Muggle Quidditch Association 71.MU Nurses Association (MUNA) 72.MU Paranormal Society (MUPS) 73.MU Ping Pong 74.MU Poetry Society 75.MURPH's Health Sciences Organization 76.MU SHRM Student Chapter (HRMU) 77.MU Snowsports Club 78.Music Business & Technology Club (MUSBUS) 79.Music Educators National Conference (MENC) 80.Music Theatre Organization (MTO) 81.MUTV Productions 82.National Alliance of Saxophonists 83.NAEA (Nat'l Art Educator's Assoc) 84.Navigators 85.Operation Sports Fanatics 86.Order of Omega 87.Panhellenic Council 88.PA SWAT 89.Phi Alpha (Social Work Honor Society) 90.Phi Beta Lambda 91.Phi Mu Alpha Sinfonia 92.Phi Sigma Kappa 93.Phi Sigma Pi 94.Philosophy Club 95.Photography Club 96.Pi Gamma Mu 97.Political Science Club 98.Pre-Law Association 99.PRSSA 100.Psi Chi 101.Psychology Club 102.Residence Hall Association 103.Russian Club 104.SAAC (Student Athlete Advisory Committee) 105.Saddle Club 106.Sigma Alpha Epsilon 107.Sigma Alpha Iota 108.Sigma Tau Gamma 109.Sigma Zeta 110.Social Work Club 111.Society of Literature at Mansfield (SLAM) 112.Sociology/Anthropology Club 113.String Project @ Mansfield University 114.Student Alumni Ambassadors 115.Student Composers Society 116.Student Democrats 117.Student Dietetic Association 118.Student Government Association (SGA) 119.Student PSEA 120.Students for Peace 121.Students in Free Enterprise (SIFE) 122.Tau Beta Sigma 123.Volleyball Club 124.Watershed Club 125.WNTE-FM 126.Zeta Tau Alpha

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone that is looking for a change of scenery and a great education at a affordable price!!!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Cardiac Hill....come see it for yourself!!

    What to do for fun

    MOUNTIE FUN: Gym, Organizational activities, Sports events (GO MOUNTINEERS!!!),Hut Parties, Bowling, Movies, Skating ring(Troy,PA), and MOST IMPORTANT...HOMEWORK!!!! According to Mansfield University website we have: · major national music concerts (Past: Trey songz, Jay Sean, along with Shontelle and Jeremih, and etc.) · regional music concerts · lectures · films · comedy programs (Kevin Hart, Ron White and etc.) · variety shows · novelty programs · multi-media presentations · coffeehouses · theater · sports tournaments · diversity programs · DJ dance parties (Campus DJ's and DJ Diamond Kuts (2011) ) · travel programs (Bus trips) · recreational programs · educational programs · leadership development training · etc.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good from time to time at the dining hall called Upper Manser. For the most part students dine at the food court called Lower Manser. Off campus dining: The Hungry Monkey (five-stars), Papa-V's pizzeria (five-stars), Wellsboro diner(five-stars), Pudgies, Chinese food, Perkins, KFC, McDonald's, Pizza Hut, Wendy's and etc. Bars off campus(MU is dry campus): Gregory's (five-stars), Changos, and etc.

    Dorm Life

    I love the new dorms: Hickory and Oak!!!!

    Tips for prospective students

    -Balance your college life with education and fun time!!!! -Never be afraid to ask for help!! -Join Organizations! -Don't be afraid to step out of your comfort zone!!

    In three sentences

    Mansfield University(MU) is a small town rural college. It may be a small town rural college but there are plenty of things to do on campus and off campus. Most important MU offers small classes, that allow students to have more interaction with their professors.

  • 11/13/2010

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 4 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    average priced

    Did enjoy being here

    campus has activities, but factutly not helpful

    Did learn a lot

    Very large class sizes, not personal

  • 01/07/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    For students who like to be outdoors, don't mind lot of stairs or hills, can get used to the cold and rain and snow.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't procrastinate do the work and it will pay off.

    Bang for the buck

    Its not as expensive as many other universities but it is costly.

    Am enjoying being here

    There isn't much to do, because of where the campus is located. There is pretty much just a wal-mart which everyone goes to. The people here are really cool mostly everyone gets along. There alot of things going on, on the campus that anyone and everyone can join.

  • 12/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who love the small town atmosphere. It's not a big city with restaurants, movie theaters, and clubs everywhere. Mansfield is a quaint, close-knit family atmosphere where you can get coffee in the cafe on the corner, take a pleasant stroll around the town, or join in on the local farmers' market. Even if you don't know someone's name, you know them by their face because it's such a close university and town.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep your mind open. Even though it seems like there's nothing to do in Mansfield, ask any student and they will be more than willing to tell of all the activities they are involved in and invite you to join them. My evenings and weekends are constantly filled with activities I'm involved in. It's not at all like it seems.

    Am enjoying being here

    I can't image being anywhere else. I have made the best friends I could have ever asked for here and more memories than I thought possible.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes are fairly small (with the economy class sizes have had to get a little bigger) and professors know you by name. Even if they only had you one semester, they will remember you when they see you around campus.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Things I really shouldn't spell out here. ;)

    Tips for prospective students

    There is like nothing to do outside the college itself. Rednecks abound. GET TO KNOW YOUR PROFESSORS.

    In three sentences

    In the sticks. Smaller than other state schools. Amazing faculty (mostly :P)

  • 04/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Actual police officers. I was ALWAYS seen either town or campus police where ever I went.

    Bang for the buck

    Pretty cheap for out-of state (NYS) student.

    What to do for fun

    Activity programs in the dorms, the Hut always seems to have things going on.

    Food and Dining

    Lower Manser is delicious. Just be careful you don't spend all your flex in the first 2 weeeks!

    Dorm Life

    Heard the new suites are very nice, but I only lived in Maple. The dorm itself could be updated, cleaner and nicer. Activities are always going on.

    Academic Rigor

    A few professors are not in my book of favorites, others are wonderful, helpful and knowledgeable in their subject of teaching. See RateMyProfessor.com, it's very accurate.

    Tips for prospective students

    Live on campus, you meet so many people and have the opportunity to do so many things.

    In three sentences

    Radiology program is great. Good clinical and work opportunities offered. On-campus living for a semester, always had something to do.

  • 06/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police make rounds, walk people home/to dorm/to car for night classes, and 24/7 shuttle bus :)

    What to do for fun

    MU is a small town but local towns have movie theaters and malls. MU has alot of on campus activites that are a blast and free (included in yearly costs)!!

    Food and Dining

    Dont but the meal plan, get flex and make alot of your own food. Mansor makes you gain the Freshman 30 not 15 and alot of it tastes like crap.

    Dorm Life

    Ill have to say I have not had the best of luck in the dorms on main campus. I changed Roommates about every 4 months. If you're on main campus check out the commons its off campus housing thats cheaper than the dorms, aircond. and personal rooms own living room, wifi and full bathroom and kitchen!

    Academic Rigor

    This is a top school for nursing!!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're entering the nursing program realize its a 4 year program and only the first two years are at main campus, the jr/sr years you'r at Robert Packer hospital in Sayre PA. If you're a transfer make sure you take your AP1&2 elsewhere...super hard class here at MU.

    In three sentences

    Mansfied Nursing program is one of the best in the State and its been over 10+ years with a nursing grad to fail BSN RN Nursing boards on their first try. Its a smaller class (less than 40) and its like a little family by your 2nd year. The professors here are the best in the country, they not only teach in the class room but give out cell numbers to text, emails, and phone numbers. So glad I chose mansfield!!!

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There really is not much to do on or off-campus, unless you are twenty-one and can get into bars. Also, if you have a fake ID, good luck using it. All the bars in the area make you swipe your ID just to walk in the door.

    Food and Dining

    I've never eaten in Upper Manser, but Lower Manser's food is alright. Unfortunately for me, I do not have a meal plan, and have to pay out of pocket if I want to eat on campus. Lower Manser has okay choices, but it can be really overpriced at times.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus. However, their old dorms were disgusting. There were rusty handrails and very small rooms with hard-as-a-rock beds, and the occasionally leaky window. Their new dorms, though, are rather beautifully done, with suite-style bathrooms and kitchenettes.

    Academic Rigor

    As I have said, the school's classes are not very difficult. If not for the relatively strict attendance policy, I would have easily passed without showing up. I have yet to encounter a course more challenging than a sophomore high school class.

    In three sentences

    Mansfield University is not exactly a high-end school. While they are currently working on renovations (which are rather inconvenient at times), the school itself is not very large, populated, or in a wealthy area (the average income is around $40K/year). Based on how easy the classes are, they may as well named the college High School: The Sequel.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never a problem!

    Greek Life

    Thinking of joining!

    Clubs and Activities

    If you don't find a club you like......you're not trying hard enough! There are so many clubs and activities!

    Great for these types of students

    All types of students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Still learning!

    Bang for the buck

    Not the most expensive school, but definitely not the cheapest as well. I believe I'm getting excellent value for my education.

    What to do for fun

    Join a fraternity, attend dances and study groups. There are many sports to get involved in also.

    Food and Dining

    Food is excellent, and do not forget to eat the pizza and mashed potatoes. YUM!

    Dorm Life

    Oak and Hickory the new dorms are BEAUTIFUL!

    Academic Rigor

    At Mansfield University you will learn so much towards your career of choice, and even through the enrichment courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have some kind of organization tool...whether it is a smartphone or a day planner. You will be off to a great start being organized.

    In three sentences

    Mansfield University has become my second home. The professors are all very intelligent and do care about their students. There is plenty of on and off campus life as well.

  • 09/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel extremely safe on campus and there is many emergency poles and the campus police are able to get any where fast.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities to do. I am personally in five different clubs.

    What to do for fun

    I am in the marching band. I hang with friends and play pool. I take walks with my friends.

    Food and Dining

    The food reminds me of the food I had at high school. Lower Manser is way better than Upper Manser. Lower Manser is expensive and I have used a lot of my flex money.

    Dorm Life

    I love the dorms because every one has a lounge for the entire building and I like to play pool with my friends. The mail boxes are easy to find. the resident assistants will help you with anything and plan fun things to do with the rest of the floor.

    Academic Rigor

    The programs are mostly lecture so the rigor is what you make it. I make it very rigorous so I can pass my classes. The teachers push through the material and test on it on their schedule they make.

    Tips for prospective students

    Mansfield has tons of hills and stairs, so be prepared for it. Mansfield is a small campus with only about 4,000 students. Do not worry about quarters here for laundry.

    In three sentences

    Mansfield is beautiful and small. Great for fitness the entire campus and the fitness center. The music program and marching band are amazing, and the chemistry department are a close family.

  • 09/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a 24/7 fully staffed police department on campus. The safety is paramount to my parents and they approve.

    Greek Life

    There are several Greek Life opportunities. The Greek Life does live on campus now and do not have off campus housing. This is for the safety of the students.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am in the Mounties Marching Band and am not a music major. You can participate in clubs and activities that you may not be majoring in but have an interest. This helps you to explore other interests and become a well rounded individual.

    Great for these types of students

    Again Mansfield is known for it's music program and education programs but does have it all.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are several hangouts on campus for conversation and watching music programs and performances.

    Bang for the buck

    Mansfield University is a state university. The cost of tuition, room and board are extremely competative and well worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    There are many extracurricular activities such as Marching Band, many sports, and many group activities.

    Food and Dining

    The dining facitilities are fantastic. Many food choices with food made to order.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is fabulous. There are two large new dorms that have everything you could possibly need. More dorms are currently being built.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are challenging but fair. I have had no issues with any professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Mansfield University has many many degree programs. It is well known for it's music and education programs but don't forget about all the other wonderful degrees and programs.

    In three sentences

    Manfield University is a top notch college. The education obtained is excellent and I anticipate obtaining employment in my chosen field immediately upon graduation. Going to college in the beautiful PA mountains is worth the drive.

  • 11/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Mansfield's campus safety is amazing. (They even built a set of stairs that we refer to as 'the rape stairs' because they are built to fit the stride of a woman running from a rapist.) There are blue lights everywhere, and the campus security office is located between the dorms for ultimate safety. I have never felt unsafe here on campus. The officers at the office are all very nice and will help you if there is ever a need, and there has yet to be a time where I do not feel safe while I am on campus grounds.

    Greek Life

    Although I am not in a fraternity or sorority, I am friends with so many people who are, and their experiences seem so rewarding and enjoyable. Mansfield University provides numerous ways to get involved with Greek life, and Greek life is always helping out around campus or the community to show that they care about the school and the students.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are numerous clubs and activities here on campus. Becoming a member is easy and very rewarding. Being a part of clubs gives you the opportunity to meet students from different majors, and connect to people that have the same interests as you. There are also so many activities to attend on campus. From RHA sponsored events to campus wide events, you will never be bored on campus!

    Great for these types of students

    Mansfield University is great for any type of students, that is why it's such a great school! Whether you are fresh out of high school or a non-traditional student that has decided to give college a go, Mansfield is a great place to further your learning.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One unusual tradition that I have learned since I started at Mansfield is Humans vs. Zombies. Yes, it sounds very nerdy, and it is, but it's actually a great experience. I have never played, but they try to have at least one game per semester. It's great to see so many students on campus all get together to enjoy campus life. Humans vs. Zombies, in brief words, is basically a nerf gun war. So although it may get a little annoying to be hit by nerf ammunition while walking to class, you really can't help but take pride in the fact that our campus is so close-knit and willing to work together as a team.

    Bang for the buck

    Mansfield University is known as a school that is less costly than other Pennsylvania schools. This may be true, but whichever college you go to it is going to be expensive. However, I do believe that Mansfield is worth the money. I have grown so much as not only a student but also as a person in my time at Mansfield. I also am a strong believer in the importance of education, so every penny spent here is worth it to me.

    What to do for fun

    Along with all of the dorm life opportunities I mentioned earlier, there are many other fun events to attend and groups to join. Mansfield has a large number of groups including fraternities, sororities, honor societies, clubs, and sports. Becoming a member of various clubs can be very rewarding as a student, and also later on in life. There are also university wide events such as Spring Fling and Fall Fest that are fun for all of the students. (prospective students, do not miss these events, they are tons of fun and get your mind off of the stress of classes!) Mansfield also has a great workout facility and they have many sports clubs and organizations that meet either during the day or at night, so whether you have more fun on a treadmill or doing zumba there is always something to do. The music department is constantly putting on amazing concerts, and there are also weekly comedy nights for free. Mansfield also has concerts that come at a discounted rate for students that are always tons of fun to go to. Although we may be known as a small school, there certainly is no excuse for not having fun!

    Food and Dining

    At Mansfield University, there aren't numerous places to eat, because we are a smaller school, but there is still tons of food that can be eaten. Manser is the most popular place to get food. Lower is more like a food court at a mall with a pizza place, sub shop and grill. Upper Manser is buffet style with a salad bar and desserts as well. Manser provides students with a great place to get together and eat. I'm guilty of spending upwards of 2 hours in Manser for one meal, time flies when you're having fun with friends I guess! For the food, there is usually always something good to eat. However, like all schools, you're going to find problems here and there with what you eat for dinner. But overall, I'm very satisfied with the food and dining options at Mansfield. For quick snacks there are always the simply to go carts or jazzmans for wraps.

    Dorm Life

    There is so much to do in the dorms at Mansfield! I have yet to meet an RA that does not give 110% effort. There are always new floor programs and building events. For prospective students, be sure to check out as many RHA events that you can. (again, they give you free stuff, and who doesn't love that?) The new dorms are beautiful, and although they are slightly more expensive, they give you the option of a private bathroom which many students have found is worth every penny. I live in an older dorm, and I am completely happy with what it has to offer. Living in a dorm is a great way to meet new people, and stay connected with your classmates.

    Academic Rigor

    To be honest, no matter what I rate this University on a scale of Academic Rigor, the next student may have an entirely different opinion. I think this is true with most students, regardless of their school, because every major has different professors, and different regulations. I believe that, for a liberal arts student, Mansfield is a great school. Mansfield offers so many classes and opportunities to explore your skills in different career areas. Although we are primarily known as a school for promoting education and music, there are also many other degree programs that thrive here. The professors here all expect a high level of effort from their students. I think that the proof of this is that my general education classes require almost as much work as my major requirement classes. And for those students who might not feel that they are ready for a hard work load, there are many introductory classes and lower level classes that can help you get started. Mansfield's motto is developing tomorrow's leaders and they give their students multiple ways to develop academically as a student.

    Tips for prospective students

    For prospective students of Mansfield University my number one tip would be to buy an umbrella! The campus is absolutely beautiful in all seasons, but for those not familiar with this area of the state, the weather can become pretty obnoxious at times. To be honest, one of the main reasons why I chose Mansfield is because of how great the campus looked. But walking from building to building in the pouring rain in November is no fun without proper rain protection. In all seriousness, I also advise prospective students to be sure to take advantage of all this University has to offer! Although we may be a small school in a slightly remote area, there is so much to do to be involved with campus life. They offer classes, organizations and fairs that will help you not only with college life but also with job applications, interviews, and skills you will need to start working in your career. A lot of new students will not take advantage of these opportunities, but hearing from graduates and even upperclassmen, I have learned that it is always better to seize every opportunity the University offers. And the best part is, most of these events are absolutely free. (Sometimes they will even give you shirts, and who doesn't want a free shirt?) My final words of advice are to go to the University homepage (www.mansfield.edu) and you will find questions to practically any question you want to ask. And if you can't, there is always someone who is just a short e-mail away from answering you.

    In three sentences

    Mansfield University is known for developing tomorrow's leaders. The professors, administrators, staff and students all work towards this goal in a group effort. Attending Mansfield University gives every student the tools they need to succeed as not only a student, but also as a leader later on in life.

  • 11/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is a very safe place, with a police station right on campus. The officers there are very friendly and are constantly driving around campus to make sure everyone is following the rules. Also with it being a smaller town, the borough cops also drive through campus from time to time.

    Greek Life

    There are several Greek associations both social and professional and they make it very clear when they are recruiting! Another good focal point is that they are very strict on their anti-hazing policies so you won't have to worry about having to do the things portrayed in the movies.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are an endless amount of clubs and activities and if there is a club that isn't already in existence it's very easy to create an on campus club.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is a great place for students that don't mind a rural setting as well as a smaller student population.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every semester the students are given the opportunity to participate in a campus wide game of Humans Vs. Zombies which you can look up online to see what the game is all about.

    Bang for the buck

    The price of admission is about average for PA schools and they off a good neighbor tuition for surrounding state residents. If you do not qualify for those two tuition groupings then it might be a little out of your price range.

    What to do for fun

    The campus has a club right on site that usually has dance parties every weekend or at least every other. There are also pool tables and ping pong tables in every dorm building as well as a game room in Alumni Hall. There are also other things to do around town

    Food and Dining

    Although the school does offer a variety of dining options, the food is not the greatest and in the lower dining hall, food is over priced.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are definitely really nice and the residence life administrators do a great job of putting together fun events for you to participate in. The one downfall is that the campus is a dry campus so if you are looking to party you either have to be very careful, or do it off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics of this school are great it's just that sometimes your professors and advisers are not very good at communicating via e-mail so you either have to bug them or speak to them in person.

    Tips for prospective students

    - Don't be shy. - Watch spending your flex dollars too fast.

    In three sentences

    The school itself is very well known for it's academics. With a location that is fairly rural so the scenery is really nice especially in the fall if you enjoy the more country setting. The one downfall would have to be the social life, so if you are a social butterfly who likes getting out, plan on doing some traveling.

  • 11/14/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    16 of 42

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    It's a beautiful campus in a gorgeous little town. While there doesn't appear to be much in the town to do, there is a lot on campus that can be done. Everyone seems very kind and approachable as well.

  • 11/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They have hut parties that look like fun

    Food and Dining

    I do not have much but what I have had is ok

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter studedent

    In three sentences

    I have enjoyed the campus so far. It is very beautiful.

  • 12/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always a campus police car rolling around campus. If you call the campus police late at night they'll usually come pick you up and drive you back to your dorm. Very safe.

    Greek Life

    There are four Greek sororities and four Greek fraternities, but that's all I know.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of clubs on campus. I just pledged the anti -frat Eta Beta Tau and that was ridiculously fun!

    What to do for fun

    Mansfield can be pretty boring at times, but if you look you'll almost always find something. There are tons of organizations to join on campus that are really fun and the school constantly brings in different performing artists and other celebrities. This past semester I was able to meet Max Brooks (author of World War Z and The Zombie Survival Guide) when he came to campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is decent, but nothing to write home about. Also Mansfield just made this new policy on the meal plan that's terrible.

    Dorm Life

    Pretty basic dorm living. Mansfield is currently pouring money into the new dorms they're building on campus even though the old dorms are fine. We suspect Mansfield wants everyone to enter the new dorms so they'll make more money.

    Academic Rigor

    A lot of the classes here are very challenging. You're going to want to meet all your deadlines and be fully prepared for all your tests! You could go from passing to failing based on the results of one test.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep busy. If you fall asleep a lot you WILL fall behind.

    In three sentences

    Mansfield is a small town campus where everyone is quite friendly. The teachers here are great and are very knowledgeable on their subjects. They're always looking to help.

  • 12/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a lot of stuff to do for fun. The activities council plans a lot of stuff and even has concerts. Dorm live is fun too.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your professors. The more you talk to them the more they know how to grade you. Also STUDY!!

    In three sentences

    Mansfield is a very nice school to go to. It is a small campus with professors who actually care if you do well. Overall good school.

  • 12/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have an onsite police force

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots to do everyday

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus has a night club that is open weekends

    Bang for the buck

    The college is definitely worth the money

    What to do for fun

    The gym rents out bikes to use on the local trails. There is a pool on campus thats open year round.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good, but there isn't much of a selection from day to day

    Dorm Life

    Everyone is close to each other. There is always someone to hang out with.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors in each class challenge the students to do their best in each coarse.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your best in high school and learn all you can while it's free. Do your best on your SATs.

    In three sentences

    The school is great. The campus is amazing with lots to do. The staff is helpful and does their best to help if there is a problem

  • 12/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you keep in contact with your advisers. Make sure you register for your classes right on the date you are suppose to. Keep up with your work, don't let yourself fall behind.

    In three sentences

    The professors are good at their teaching. I like the smaller campus. There is convenient parking for off-campus students.

  • 12/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe with the police station right along side the dorm buildings and security buttons all over campus.

    Greek Life

    I am personally not in Greek life right now but after hearing great things i am joining next semester.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs and activities offered are awesome. There are things for everyone on campus and plenty to keep us busy.

    Great for these types of students

    Mansfield university is great for students that want to get away from home but not to go to a city school. With Mansfield being a relatively small campus it's easy to feel at home.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The only unusual location i know of would be the library that was there for quite awhile and once was a girls dorm and is known to be haunted.

    Bang for the buck

    Coming from a middle class family college has always seemed pricey but Mansfield University seems to be doing as it should.

    What to do for fun

    There is not a lot to do in Mansfield area, however the on campus events and activities makes up for it.

    Food and Dining

    The food offered on campus i see to be good quality with many different options on a daily basis along with plenty fruits and veggies.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life as a freshman was the lower class buildings however i still found them well equipped for our needs of a home at college.

    Academic Rigor

    Mansfield in an academic view is amazing, as a nursing major Mansfield offered the best program in my area.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips for prospective students would be to not take the college experience for granted as a whole. It is the best experience I have had but i wish i was more informed before heading into it.

    In three sentences

    On a 0 to 5 scale I'd rate Mansfield as a 4. I would not transfer to any other school however Mansfield is not perfect. However i am very happy with my choice to study here.

  • 12/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe here.

    Great for these types of students

    Ones who have tough majors and don't need distractions.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a parade that goes on every year. Mansfield was the site of the first football game under electric lights. They have a little celebration every year to celebrate. There is also a re-enactment of the first game too.

    What to do for fun

    Hanging out with your friends. Because Mansfield is a small town, there isn't a whole lot to do. Therefore, you have to learn to make your own fun. If you have a car, the town nearby have things to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good. I just wish there were more places to use my dining dollars.

    Dorm Life

    Noisy neighbors are unavoidable. The dorms are nice, large enough for walking space but small enough for two people.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging, but not unachievable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check all aspects of the school and make sure it fits your lifestyle.

    In three sentences

    Mansfield University is a great school because it has a lot of opportunities for all kinds of different people. It is a school that cares about its students. The students have names, not numbers.

  • 01/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are constant patrols of campus police that ensure that not only are students safe but that the buildings and vehicles of those on campus are safe. The local Mansfield police patrol Main Street below the campus where many students work and go out which helps students feel safe about walking or working in the area.

    Greek Life

    There are many different types of fraternities and sororities on campus. Mansfield even has an academic fraternity that includes both men and women. Greek Life at Mansfield University consists of professionalism, social connections, and community and academic service.

    Clubs and Activities

    Mansfield University has numerous clubs and different activities for everyone. There is almost a club for every major and interest that you can think of at Mansfield. If there isn't a club that you feel that you fit into then Mansfield gives you the opportunity to create your own club or organization.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are an ELL student then Mansfield University is the place for you. There are accommodations and many different options for students from all around the globe. If you are a music major then you will be thrilled to work with the faculty and students who share your love for music.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Many of the music majors participate in Ugly Sweater Week on campus in December.

    Bang for the buck

    Mansfield University is worth every penny. Tuition is not easy for anyone but Mansfield University will help students find ways to help pay for their college tuition. The professors are proficient in their fields and truly prepare you for the real world. It is a campus that is safe and has numerous learning and social activities for anyone.

    What to do for fun

    If you enjoy being outside there numerous hiking and biking trails for outside recreation. The campus is located in a beautiful part of Pennsylvania where the hills and mountains change with the seasons. There is also a number of different eateries and places to visit on Main Street right below Mansfield University.

    Food and Dining

    There are many different choices for students when it comes to food and dining at Mansfield University. For instance there is the main dining hall where students can choose from a variety of freshly cooked meals, or for students on the run they can choose to eat at one of the conveniently available food cafe's in some of the buildings for breakfast and lunch. There is always a variety of choices for students and guests that support healthy living.

    Dorm Life

    There are many options for students when it comes to living on campus. There are new facilities that have been opened for students to consider that are very close to all of the buildings on campus. It is a safe and clean environment that students will feel comfortable in while staying in Mansfield.

    Academic Rigor

    Mansfield University provides academic challenges to students in order to help them challenge themselves academcially and think outside of the box. Not only does Mansfield University help students learn to love the process of learning but it prepares them to use these skills outside of the classroom and in the real world. Mansfield University pushes students to not only answer or work according to standards but it pushes students to see the bigger picture and apply themselves personally to make better changes that can effect others.

    Tips for prospective students

    Any prospective student needs to be open to the different opportunities and organizations that Mansfield University has to offer. There are many different clubs and organizations that will not only enhance your experiences at Mansfield University but will also help you create greater social and academic connections that will help you outside of college. Manage your time wisely and remember that Mansfield University had very supportive staff and faculty who are there to help you if you are willing to work hard and put in the effort.

    In three sentences

    Mansfield University provides students with an education that will prepare you for the real world and make you a leader in your field. It is a campus that is filled with a faculty and staff that are diverse, caring, and knowledgeable in their own fields. Mansfield University embodies principles of learning such as scholarship, leadership, culture, and diversity that will help any student become proficient in their field of study.

  • 01/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is pretty safe, and the campus police are sticklers on the parking regulations

    Greek Life

    The sororities and fraternities are not that popular at MU.

    Great for these types of students

    This is a great campus of a person looking for a laid back atmosphere and does not like huge areas. Also someone who likes to hike hills and have wonderful scenic views

    What to do for fun

    Mansfield is a small town and not much to do, but hang out watching movies is something very popular. Even though the town is small and there is not much to do off-campus, the college tries to make sure there are plenty of activities to participate in on campus.

    Food and Dining

    No matter what school you go to people are always going to complain about the food. Honestly there is a variety and I do not feel as though it is the worst place to eat/

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is awesome. I lived in Maple A as a freshman, and absolutely loved it. I met alot of people and pretty much know where and who everyone is living on A side.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is more that expected in highschool, but nothing a student who is focused could not handle.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students need to know how to take notes and adapt to different teaching methods.

    In three sentences

    I would rate MU as a 8,5, because it is fairly easy. The programs offered are well known and considered good. The work that is given is fairly enjoyable.

  • 01/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    more police than students ;)

    Greek Life

    YUCK!

    Clubs and Activities

    Geography, Geology, Kayaking, Ski, Model United Nations, Saddle Club, Glow, and so much more. we have over a 100 clubs and organizations to join.

    Great for these types of students

    Outdoors people. It is not a great place for people who want to party or find clubs.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Cart Lab for geography majors provides an area for us to hang out with people from our major, study and even has a department library so you don't have to buy your books.

    What to do for fun

    Join Clubs, attend seminars, and experience the oppertunities that the campus provides.

    Food and Dining

    Expensive and bad quality

    Dorm Life

    Expensive!

    Academic Rigor

    I love my education because I have a lot of hands on, in the field studies, and many oppertunities to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out the Geography Department!

    In three sentences

    I love my Professors and having a small college. There are a lot of activities and clubs. Orientaton is not commuter student friendly.

  • 01/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Not a lot of non-safe things go down on campus.

    Greek Life

    There's a big greek life on campus. I am a brother of Kappa Kappa Psi, personally.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a few organizations around campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Mostly music and English students from what I can see, but I'd assume the other programs are good.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nope.

    Bang for the buck

    It's not very expensive, but you get a quality education.

    What to do for fun

    There's not a lot unless you're into hiking and things like that. But the lack of things provided forces you to create close relationships with the people around you.

    Food and Dining

    No matter what anybody says, Manser (the dining building) provides good food.

    Dorm Life

    I quite enjoy the dorms. I personally don't like the new dorms, but that's for my own reasons, most people love them.

    Academic Rigor

    I think Mansfield is pretty average. It has it's hard classes and it's easy classes. It all depends on what you want.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just be ready to walk hills. Other than that, Mansfield is a pretty standard, good school.

    In three sentences

    Mansfield provides a hands on education. It has a beautiful campus. I would give Mansfield a high rating.

  • 02/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    ZTA

    Clubs and Activities

    Dance Team , Cheerleading

    What to do for fun

    I am on the Dance team and In many different clubs

    Tips for prospective students

    Do Not wait till the last Minture to do your work

    In three sentences

    I think that Mansfield University is a very good school for freshmen , because it gives them a chance to learn how to be on your own with out your parent being right over your back . Also , Mansfield helps prepare students when they are doing with school and looking for a career in the feild that they might want to work in

  • 02/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The police are always there to help

    Bang for the buck

    cheap school, good education

    What to do for fun

    bowling, hanging out, alot of on campus student activities

    Food and Dining

    good but it gets old after a while

    Dorm Life

    i commute

    Academic Rigor

    sometimes it can become stressful

    Tips for prospective students

    just do as your professor assigns and dont slack off

    In three sentences

    A very family- like enviroment

  • 02/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    A+ Campus police available but the campus is a very safe and welcoming campus.

    Greek Life

    There are many soroities and fraternities, I am not part of any, I participate on sports teams but Ive heard that they are fun and safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    A Sports: Cross Country, Track and Field, Soccer, Field Hockey, Sprint Football, Basketball, Softball. They also have intramural sports and a great fitness center.

    Bang for the buck

    A When I first came to Mansfield I was skeptical on whether or not I would like such a small town but I am so glad I am able to feel so comfortable and safe in this town. People watch out for each other.

    What to do for fun

    Theres a bowling alley, a bike path to go for walks or bike rides on, a river to fish in.

    Food and Dining

    C The dining halls are not the greatest, there are not may options available to the students and often times are closed.

    Dorm Life

    A- Friendly, safe atmosphere, very at home feeling.

    Academic Rigor

    A+ The professors are very down to earth and are always more than willing to help you with academics and personal issues as well. You are NOT just a number is the classroom.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like a small town, Mansfield is for you. You get to know or become familiar with everyone.

    In three sentences

    Mansfield is a great community. It is a small town with friendly people that you get to know over the years of attending college here. The town and area is a safe place to be.

  • 04/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join clubs! There's so many clubs at Mansfield. The Greek Life here is really nice if you get in the right organizations, and I stress that it's good to have a support network here. Things will get extremely boring, extremely quickly if you don't make yourself a group of friends.

    Food and Dining

    I love to eat, so I'm a fan of the buffet-style dining services in Manser Hall. People complain about the quality, but I'd like to see them cook such a variety of food at a massive scale. Some of the food are bland, you'll find a lot of staples returning week after week, and it's nothing overly ethnic or fancy, but you'll get everything you really could want. I never left there hungry.

    Dorm Life

    The new dorms, I hear, are fantastic. They're really expensive though, and I much prefer the privacy and independence of living off-campus. When I lived in the old dorms it was awful: the heat was either too hot or too cold, no control over that. People are really gross about their bathroom habits (floor-wide bathroom!) plus just rude neighbors.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm told the music program is stressful and impressive, but as a non-music major I was hardly challenged, especially in my gen eds. I have completed assignments last minute with much success. I hate to admit it, but it's true. The professors are really too lenient.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know people early on. There's no such thing as checking out too many clubs, and it's a good way to get your name out there and gain a good support network. You'll make friends that'll hang around your entire time at Mansfield.

    In three sentences

    Easy to shine for a driven individual. Gets boring and dull at times. Everyone knows your name.

  • 05/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The police force on campus is pretty good. There are blue emergency buttons all around campus if anything goes awry.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs are kind of sub-par. And the list of clubs on the website are pretty outdated.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Hut is a sort of event hall in the woods in the center of campus. It normally hosts dance parties and such. They're very raunchy.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is less expensive than others I have seen. The majority of courses I have taken have all come down to You get what you pay for.

    Food and Dining

    Sodexo is very unhealthy and over the years the policies of the dining hall have changed for the worse. However, the staff is incredibly friendly and kind.

    Dorm Life

    The school is currently tearing down every old dorm building and replacing them with suite style dorms. The Res life teams are decent. The security systems are a pain, what with trying to swipe into buildings, but it definitely does a good job of keeping unwanted people out. So, you feel safe. There is constantly construction sounds and electrical and water failure though, so don't get excited.

    Academic Rigor

    I've come across really structured classes where I learned a lot and appreciated what I was being taught. There are also quite a few classes in which I felt degraded and insulted by the teaching style and content.

    In three sentences

    Mansfield is a very small rural town college, so there's not a whole lot going on. Some professors are have structured classes, while others do not. You really have the chance to get to know almost everyone.

  • 05/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Always make sure of what major you want to do before you get into it. Search around online for your books before purchasing them. Always do the extra credit assignment that are presented to you.

    In three sentences

    They have a great social work program. They have a great faculty to help you achieve your goals. The book store prices are higher than they should be for your books.

  • 06/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Mansfield provides students with over 500 clubs and organizations to get involved in. There are also a wide variety of campus activities and local events during the school year that offer entertainment and academic enrichment.

    Dorm Life

    The new dorms are of excellent quality! Students love the atmosphere and environment represented by the resident directors.

    Academic Rigor

    Mansfield's programs challenge students to perform to the best of their ability. The students are encouraged to go outside of their comfort zone to better themselves and society.

    Tips for prospective students

    Mansfield professors expect a great deal of effort and responsibility from their students. The also provide an equal amount of care and concern for their students.

    In three sentences

    Mansfield is a small campus with a community feel. The campus environment is acdemic and enriching. Students who attend Mansfield leave college with the feeling of success and are ready to be leaders in society.

  • 01/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never experienced any problems.

    Clubs and Activities

    The options are endless!

    Bang for the buck

    Offer a combination of seated and online classes, making it possible for students to get more done, quicker.

    What to do for fun

    Be outside! It's gorgeous.

    Food and Dining

    It isn't fine dining, but it's good!

    Dorm Life

    I never lived in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I have found my classes to be challenging and intriguing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you can handle a northern Pennsylvania winter!

    In three sentences

    The staff is friendly and efficient. My department head has proven to be accessible and knowledgeable. The classes are challenging.

  • 01/22/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Mansfield is one of the safest colleges in the nation with a police station located right on the campus. It also has many emergency alert buttons to push when there is any sort of situation in which help is needed. Additionally to get in to many of the buildings students to swipe their ID cards to get in thereby deterring access of the building by criminals.

    What to do for fun

    There is often many fun activities going on at Mansfield at any one point in time For example they often play movies in the auditorium or plan games for the dormitories. Additionally it has many fitness centers for those who enjoy being active. Therefore I feel that it is almost impossible to be bored at Mansfield University.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Mansfield is filled with variety and many different options for where you want to go. These options range from all you can eat to chicken wings to simple things like salad and turkey sandwiches. All in all everyone is sure to find something they enjoy eating here at Mansfield.

    Dorm Life

    Mansfield University has an outstanding suite style dorm system complete with separate bedrooms and private bathrooms. These features allow for a much more relaxing environment and gives the dormitories a much more homey feel.

    Academic Rigor

    Mansfield offers many very challenging courses as well as some classes that are surprisingly simple. Overall the courses shouldn't be too overwhelming so long as you attend class and read your books.

    Tips for prospective students

    The number tip I can offer for new students planning on attending Mansfield would be to not skip classes. These classes are costing you your money and helping you to improve your life. If you don't want to go to classes, don't go to college.

    In three sentences

    Mansfield University is a remarkable college with the very best of professors. The small class sizes make everything more personal and making friends is often very easy as well. Perhaps the greatest aspect of going to school here is the support, Mansfield offers so many programs to ensure your success that it is almost inconceivable that anyone who attends this school will fail.

  • 01/22/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are campus police on campus 24hrs a day and the building is located in the middle of the campus. There are also safety alarms located throughout the campus if an emergency situation did occur. Since i have attended the school, no real safety issues have been observed. I would say the campus is a very safe place to be and attend.

    Greek Life

    Yes Mansfield has allot of opportunity's available if you are looking to join a fraternity or sorority including but not limited too ZTA, and SAE,

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities available on campus all the time for example BSU, Fraternities, sororities, Geography club, Psychology club, biology club, MAC, MUTV etc.

    Great for these types of students

    Music majors would love this university, they definitely cater to students looking to further their education with music.

    Bang for the buck

    You definitely get your moneys worth at this school, and i would most certainly recommend coming to Mansfield to other students looking to further their education.

    What to do for fun

    Things to do for fun on campus include the hut which is a small club like atmosphere on campus. The hut not only allows dancing and music on the weekends but also provides open mic and comedy shows for students during the weekdays. There are also lots of other activities on campus for students held by the clubs on campus and there activities vary by semester, but range from music artist coming to the campus, fashion shows and formals.

    Food and Dining

    There are multiple food and dining areas on campus, depending on what part of campus you are at, you can always be about a 5 minute walk from a food area. They offer a food court, dining hall, bagel place, the hut and two cafes on campus for students. The food is good, just sometimes may be expensive and will not always go on a students meal plan.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is actually changing for Mansfield University at the current moment. The older building on campus are actually being not only renovated but some completely torn down to build new, larger dormitories for students. The new buildings offer larger rooms, with private bathrooms, loft areas and living rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    I would say that the level of academic rigor depends on the major you are going for. Depending on your field of study, some majors are definitely more difficult to obtain then others. But If you set your mind to it, and you really want it, any major can be achieved successfully. Of course we all love the easier courses, but its the ones that challenge you, that you get the most out of in the end.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips for future students would be to definitely get to know your teachers, they will be able to help you closer to your graduation date with letters of recommendations and internship opportunity's. And take advantage of clubs and activities available to you on campus not only for personal enjoyment, but some offer experience and certifications in certain fields of work.

    In three sentences

    Mansfield University is set in a beautiful environment in north west Pennsylvania. It offered smaller more personal classes, where I was able to get a better learning experience with my teachers. Mansfield University was a great option for a more affordable state university.

  • 03/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Dangerous dorms but police are everywhere

    Greek Life

    Don't like the Greeks personally

    Clubs and Activities

    Wide variety

    Great for these types of students

    Rural

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Cardiac hill. Not for the faint of heart.

    Bang for the buck

    Its cheaper than where I wanted to go

    What to do for fun

    There are clubs and Greek Life if you're into that kind of thing. Nothing really to do off campus other than go to Walmart or drink.

    Food and Dining

    We're having a food poisoning epidemic right now. Upper manser serves crap food, lower is good but overpriced. There's ok places around town but be prepared to spend a LOT of money.

    Dorm Life

    Extremely dangerous. Sycamore had an elevator crash. Hickory has near constant gas leaks. Oak had a water main break and Spruce (so far) has been safe.

    Academic Rigor

    Some teachers are hard but nothing is impossible. Some teachers can't really teach well...

    Tips for prospective students

    Know your professors

    In three sentences

    I thought it was ok at first. It quickly went downhill and now I just want to get out of here.

  • 03/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are very few large incidents on campus. The streets are well lite and all the builds you need to swipe your ID to get to most places. There are also people sitting at the front desk to alert anyone to danger.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of different clubs and activities you can do on campus. You can also create your own club by going to the Dean of Students.

    What to do for fun

    I often go to the gym which is very nice and has good newer equipment. It also has a rock climbing wall and three basketball courts. I also play Football with the Sprint Football team here. There are often events at the Hut like concerts and dances and large selection of other entertainment.

    Food and Dining

    This really just depends on the day at the upper part of the dinning hall, it can be either really good or very terrible, but the lower part is usually good. There is a new bagel shop that is extremely good but unfortunately it is not part of the meal plan yet.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms have just been built for the most part so the dorms are really nice. They also have entertainment rooms that have a pool and ping pong tables as well as TVs so you can bring a game system ti the room and play. Although the dorms are kind of far from the classroom they are very nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor isn't too bad the work load is very manageable and the teachers give you plenty of time to do the work.

    Tips for prospective students

    One tip is to make sure you go to the Finical aid office and make sure everything is in order. Another tip is be ready to climb a lot of steps and hills. Lastly just do what the teachers ask of you and don't be afraid to go and ask them for help. Most of them are really nice and will help you to understand the material.

    In three sentences

    Mansfield is very hilly but it is a very nice campus. The staff and faculty are very helpful but they sometimes have trouble communicating with one another for finical aid. Overall Mansfield is a great college for the price that they give for in-state and good neighbor states.

  • 03/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Mansfield is one of the safest campus' in the nation! If you are someone who constantly worries about your safety, there is no better college for you than Mansfield.

    Bang for the buck

    For the price Mansfield is a really good deal. There is a ton to do on campus most of which is free or a small fee due to the student activity fee. For the level of education Mansfield is a great price. Very affordable! Most anyone could afford to come to Mansfield and you are getting a great education while having a great time.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many things that go on on-campus it can be overwhelming at times. From musicals, to arts and crafts, to balls, to fun sports activities, Mansfield has them all. If you are board and need to get off campus there is a Walmart, bowling ally, movie theater, and lots of small really good restaurants. If you're looking for a small college with lots to do but is still fairly quiet, Mansfield is the perfect match!

    Food and Dining

    The main dining hall is hit or miss (though no one has died yet!) The lower dining hall is pretty good but has the same thing everyday! The small cafe's around campus are really nice but expensive and eat up you flex dollars quickly! Overall eating isn't horrible but can get boring and hard to do as the years and semesters drag on. If you aren't a food snob though Mansfield is perfect for you!

    Dorm Life

    The newest dorms are really nice! The only downside is the people who live on campus. They tend to be really loud and messy. Also some of the RA's don't enforce rules so dorm life can be frustrating at times. If you are a patient person you will love the dorms here. Plus you can always shut the door (they automatically lock) when things get too loud in the halls.

    Academic Rigor

    All the teachers are super smart and want to help students succeed. If you are a student who is all about learning Mansfield is the place for you! Not only will you succeed but you will enjoy your time here as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have lots and lots of layers if you decide to attend here. Don't use up all your flex money (money given by the campus that you can spend at non-food court areas) all at once! The food may suck but it's better to spread your spending out. Also flex money transfers from fall to spring so if you on spend $100 out of $200 you will have $300 in the Spring! Know the Mountie shuttle's schedule! No one wants to walk up hill on a cold snowy day.

    In three sentences

    Mansfield is cold and windy most of the year and classes are rarely cancelled. However it is a tightly knit college with a large amount of school spirit. Let's not forget the amazing talent in the music department!

  • 03/25/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Mansfield University is in the top 10 universities/colleges for safety in the United States.

    Greek Life

    There are many of these as well.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs and activities that happen everyday.

    Great for these types of students

    It is great for students that like rural areas.

    Bang for the buck

    This university is great on money. Students get a very good education while spending less than other well known colleges or universities.

    What to do for fun

    Get involved with Greek life or other organizations around campus. There are also different events that are planned on specific days.

    Food and Dining

    I have eaten at the dining hall a couple of times and was pleased with what it offered. It's set up like a food court. There are about 4 or 5 different places you can choose to eat, so you can always have something different.

    Dorm Life

    I do not stay in any of the dorms, but they built new dorms last year. From what I hear they are good.

    Academic Rigor

    Mansfield professors have the correct qualifications and are very good at their jobs. They are very knowledgeable and most have experience within the field they are teaching.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved with campus life and meet new people!

    In three sentences

    Mansfield University is a fun, productive, and activity filled campus. Professors are very good at what they do, and they care about their students' performance in their class. There are also many different places to relax and have fun on campus.

  • 10/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Your FYS professor will have speakers come in to talk to you about staying safe and about how other people should not endanger your safety. We have counselors if you need to talk to someone and the professors will always have an ear open for you. There are blue lights all over campus - posts with an alarm button on them that you can press if you feel endangered that will alert police to your position and immediately send them to you - with, imagine that, blue lights on top of them so that they are easily identified. If you ask, I guarantee that you will find multiple someones willing to walk with you to wherever you need to go. This is a dry campus, so there is no alcohol allowed. If someone is drunk and bothering you, you are free to report them. If you feel endangered by smoking, all smokers are obligated to take their business outside and stand away from the dorms. No college campus is completely safe, but Mansfield University is working its hardest to make sure that it is as safe as can be.

    Clubs and Activities

    I attend SPECTRUM (our college's LGBTQA club), the Social Work Club (every program has its own club), and Quidditch. Frankly, I love every one of them. Of course, other people might have their own preferences, and that is fine as well! We have very many clubs and, if we do not have the club you want, you can very easily start your own! We have club fairs so that you can get a good look at some of the choices. Do not be afraid to ask questions or attend different clubs just to try them out. You are under no obligation to stay in any club you do not like or do not have time for.

    Great for these types of students

    Mansfield University is not in the city. Again, we are in the mountains. There are hills everywhere, flat plains do not exist. Outside of the campus, there are not many places to go and we generally operate out of a Dollar General and a Walmart. The campus itself is not very large and the population is relatively small. Do not come here if you everything I just explained does not appeal to you because I swear that I am not lying. This is a small, rural area, with the closest towns of any important being an hour or so away by car. If everything I just explained sounds fantastic, then, fantastic news! You belong here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Mansfield University in itself feels delightfully unusual to me, but that could be every college. In Quidditch, one of our unusual traditions is to, whenever the referee yells out, The snitch is loose!, yell back, Yeah, he is!. Or, when the referee yells, The snitch has been released!, we yell, See ya, snitch! In Quidditch, we also make a large deal of intimidating our enemies by chanting very loudly with all of our pre-game energy. It works every time. Other than that, I can not really think of anything too terribly unusual. Everyone and everything, again, feels unusual to me. I would not be here if it did not, I revel in unusual. The people are weird in the best possible way and every club has its own traditions that are quirky. The professors themselves are a bit quirky. My FYS (First Year Seminar) professor brings a tea pot and cup to class every day and my Psychology professor likes to stare into your eyes as he talks to the class until either he or you looks away. Everyone here is a bit strange in their own way.

    Bang for the buck

    In all honesty, Mansfield is not cheap. It is not terrifyingly expensive for everything it offers, but it remains expensive nonetheless. To save on money, it is getting rid of amazing programs, such as the Anthropology/Sociology major, the Education major, and the Business Management Major. It is a terrifying time to be at Mansfield right now because we do not know who they might try to cut next for the sake of retaining any wealth left. Nonetheless, I am choosing not to leave because the professors and the people and the classes are so amazing and incredible. No one wants to cut these classes and the true show of the Mountie spirit is in how we have fought and still fight these choices. Of course, one doesn't pay to have a Mountie spirit, but one does pay for everything else. The meal plan is worth it in my opinion, though the dorm rooms are incredibly expensive per semester. I have heard that it would be cheaper to rent a house off-campus. Despite that, I really would like to stay in dorms for the rest of my college career - it is so comfortable and fun here. The professors are, themselves, generally top-notch. I do hear complains about different teachers, but I hear more praise than anything for the majority. The programs excel in my opinion, and turn out incredible human beings ready for the work force. All in all, it could be a little cheaper here, but I still chose to attend, so maybe you will think it worth your money as well.

    What to do for fun

    What isn't there to do? Join a club. Go for a walk! Go on a field trip. Goodness knows, someone is always going somewhere to do something. Go to The Hut, this gathering place where different things are usually going on each night - such as Karaoke, Trivia, visiting bands, comedy, dances... If going out isn't interesting, stay in your dorm building and just go down to the game room or whiteboard room (by whiteboard room, I mean you get to draw on the walls of a room because they are whiteboard. I swear, it's fun, and you usually are not doing it alone). Go cook something maybe, or attend dorm activities! The RA's host different activities throughout the year according to their dorm's theme and the season. You are allowed to attend any of the dorms' activities, no matter where you live. Or you can go watch a college sport! Someone is always practicing or having a game. The Quidditch team itself has practice five days out of the week with intramural games and then off-campus tournaments. If none of this sounds fun, then just ask what your friends are doing. If fun to you is a study group and quiet time, there are study lounges and designated quiet areas in the library just for you. The library itself is a fun time because of its large book selection and, if it doesn't have the book you want, you can get an interlibrary loan and receive the book from another library within just a few days. Chances are, though, whatever club or fraternity/sorority you are in will be fun enough. I certainly haven't had much of a chance to be bored since I got here!

    Food and Dining

    There are multiple places on campus where you can get food. In the Spruce dorm building, there is a bagel cafe called Einstein's. In Alumni Hall, there is a small shop called Jazzman's. The main dining halls themselves are Upper and Lower Manser. Lower Manser is more select and strict, but their food is amazing. You can have your own choice of meal no matter the day. Upper Manser, on the other hand, changes their meals from day to day, meaning that your favorite food could show up maybe once in a week or two. However, Upper Manser is an All You Can Eat Buffet - once you are in, you are allowed to eat anything and everything you please. The downfall of Upper Manser is that it has set meal times and no breakfast, meaning that it doesn't open until lunch at 11:30 and then dinner at 4:30. Lower Manser is opened from early morning to late at night all week days. All of these locations do serve coffee.

    Dorm Life

    We have custodians in each dorm who work hard to make sure that the dorms remain livable. There are other inhabitants who like to scream and yell at unhappy hours in the night, but this is college. Everyone is delighted to not be at home anymore even if they miss their own people and beds. Your neighbors are generally kind and your RA's are the go-to people for any problems or needs that you have. Each dorm building has a kitchen that you can use and you can borrow pots and pans from the front desk if need be. The dorm rooms themselves are equipped with two closets, one shelf in each closet, a bathroom, a lovely set of windows so you can see the outside world, a desk, a sink cupboard, and drawers for clothes. A shower curtain is supplied as well as two small waste baskets. Every room also has a thermostat so that you can control how hot or cold your room is at any point of the night or day. Everything else, you have to supply yourself. The more books you have, the more shelves I suggest you bring. The highlight of our college life, however, is the free washers and dryers! You do not have to pay to do laundry here! There is a common area on each floor with a large widescreen TV and comfy chairs and sofas, and then there are multiple study lounges on each floor. There are four dorm buildings: Oak, Sycamore, Hickory, and Spruce.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are not like the classes you took in high school. However, I have talked with other students and it is the general consensus that college life is easier than our past high school careers. The number of classes you take alter from day to day and, as I have said, everyone wants to help you succeed and exceed. There are tutors, peer leaders, advisors, tutoring programs, upperclassmen, professors, and even your fellow freshmen, all ready to help you. You could probably even go to the university president's house and ask him and his wife for help. No one here wants you to fail and no one here is going out of their way to make your classes impossible. If your classes feel impossible, then all you have to do is look for someone to help you make it better.

    Tips for prospective students

    For you students that might be coming in, here is what you need to know: Find which professors have doctorates, refer to them as Dr. What-Their-Last-Name-Is unless they specifically say otherwise. I have one professor who prefers her students to call her by her first name. When you are accepted, you will be contacted in some way about all of the resources you will have, once such resource being this fantastic place called WebAdvisor. The moment you know that your classes for your first semester have been set, go to WebAdvisor and check them out. Look specifically for what books they will want you to have for each class and then see if you can find them online for cheap or somewhere local. College book stores are expensive and not everyone has the money for that. At Mansfield University, we have these spectacular individuals called Resident Assistants or RA's. If you can not settle in or if you are having issues, find them and attach yourself to them. They will help you, they will be your friend, and they will introduce you to people or programs that will help you. Mansfield University has very many clubs. My suggestion is to not take on any more than three on top of your classes. You will not have time for anything else, I promise you. Mansfield University has Quidditch! Join us. Mansfield University is very diverse in sex and sexuality. Do not be afraid to be who you are here. I assure you, you will most likely find someone who is just like you. Avoid online classes. No, trust me, they are not fun. This is my personal opinion, but it is a very strong personal opinion. Avoid online classes.

    In three sentences

    Mansfield University is set in the mountains, surrounded by the changing colors of autumn and attended by the most wonderful people one could ever meet. Everyone wants to help one another settle in and find their niche in the university life, leaving no college freshman behind as we all climb through each week of graduation. At Mansfield University, there is always something to do and someone to do things with!