Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Maranatha Baptist Bible College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/13/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 out of 11 people found this review useful. 1 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you want to know Jesus Christ better, to understand his word better, and to be better equiped to serve him, this is a great school for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    The rules may seem restrictive, but once here one comes to realize that Maranatha has a lifestyle of its own. It is very peaceful and the Leadership is very reasonable.

    Bang for the buck

    The quality of education is good, and the food is exemplary.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love it here, there are a large amount of extracurricular activities and dorm life is amazing. The faculty and staff are God-fearing and supportive.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes are God-centered and reasonably paced. They are also mostly smaller classes with 20-40 students so it is very possible to get to know the teachers.

  • 11/20/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 2 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Come ready to learn and to be challenged with the Word of God. This is not a place to just hang out, although we do have a lot of fun activities going on, but a place to get serious about serving God and preparing to serve him better.

    Bang for the buck

    Come have a lot of fun and make Christian friends that will serve the Lord with you.

    Am enjoying being here

    The atmosphere on campus is great. It is such a blessing to be able to discuss spiritual issues with your friends and to be challenged in your walk with the Lord by students and staff alike.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes at Maranatha are wonderful. The teachers are a lot of fun to be around and they enjoy interacting with the students.

  • 07/20/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This place is great for anyone who wants to know why they believe what they do.This can help when people ask you hard questions and you can give them a Bible answer as to why you do something.Instead of saying 'well that is just how I have always done it. They will have a chance to make God personal if they haven't already.And if they have they will get to become even more closer to God.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask questions. Don't be afraid of the teachers.

    Bang for the buck

    Ya know as far as the money side goes. You can't really put a price on learning about God.

    Will enjoy being here

    It was a nice place . The kids weren't very approachable but they were also at the end of the year finals. I personally would not have chosen this school for me . It is in the middle of town and I didn't really want that but, this is where God wants me.

    Academic Rigor

    The Bible classes that I went to here were just amazing! If it wasn't for our youth pastor making us do a study on a few theologies, I would have been lost.

  • 03/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have security that starts patroling the girls side of campus at around 6pm until 7am every night. They also check the buildings and periodically patrol the guys side. They are awesome!!! You become friends with them, and it definately makes you feel safe to know they are out there in any weather!!

    Clubs and Activities

    We have 5 different guy's societies and 5 girl's societies. Each society does different activities including helping in the community.

    Great for these types of students

    Everybody!!!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Each semester we have spirit week where they assign a different topic for each day that week and we can dress up like the topic. There are so many things that are awesome that we do that I can't even describe it.

    Bang for the buck

    In my opinion Maranatha is work every penny!!!!! You can get scholarships from outside sources as well as school scholarships such as a work scholarship to help pay for college.

    What to do for fun

    We have sports going on all the time, not only teams but also groups get together just to play for fun. There are dramatic production events each semester plus music events. Madison and Milwakee are an hour or less away, and there are stores and coffee shops within walking distance from the campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food is fantastic!!!! I have friends that attend other colleges and they all say that the food at their colleges isn't that great. At Maranatha we have roticery chicken, a pizza buffet, salad buffet, friut, vege's, taco bar, sandwich station, dessert bar, plus different hot food for breakfast, lunch, and supper!!!

    Dorm Life

    I wasn't sure at first how it would be living in a building with 30+ other girls because I've had my own room for 10+ years, but I love it!!! The fellowship and fun that we have. You develop such good friendship and become like sisters. Our dorm superisor is awesome!!! She seriously is like an older sister too. You can talk to her anytime. I just can't say enough good about it!! :)

    Academic Rigor

    Great variety of subjects to study and a fantastic faculty that helps you learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a tour of the campus if possible, and stay in the dorms. It's an incredible experience!!!

    In three sentences

    I love this school!! Great faculty that works with you and is super friendly. Fantastic sports program and student body!!!

  • 02/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus is patrolled by security guards 24/7. it has an extremely clean record with very few to no criminal acts each year.

    Bang for the buck

    maranatha has more to offer than meets the eye. while it requires a hefty price, the opportunities to be involved with numerous activities will make you feel better about paying for a private college.

    Food and Dining

    maranatha has one of the best dining commons of all colleges in america. there are plenty of choices each day with great quality.

    Dorm Life

    dorm life is incredible! people are friendly and fun to be with.

    Academic Rigor

    classes are not easy, and in order to do well you will have to work hard. one advantage of a small school size is that teachers can work with students on a more personal level.

    In three sentences

    maranatha is a great christian college for all types of degrees. while it does have a large bible and ministerial program, it also offers degrees in teaching, biology, nursing, business, music, and many more. if your looking for a good education with a christian emphasis, consider maranatha the perfect place for you.

  • 03/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe!

    Great for these types of students

    those wanting to by stretched.

    Bang for the buck

    expensive, but god provides.

    Tips for prospective students

    find a balance between work, school, devos, leadership roles, and extra curricular activities.

    In three sentences

    a great, christ-centered school.

  • 08/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security guards are great! They willing guide girls to their dorms to protect them from any unwanted company!

    Greek Life

    Take Greek!

    Clubs and Activities

    Great ministry opportunities!

    Great for these types of students

    Genuine Christians

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Christ and the Gospel is respected!

    Bang for the buck

    You definitely get what you pay for! Worth every cent!

    What to do for fun

    Check out Old Main Cafe!

    Food and Dining

    Great food! Best ever when it comes to Christian colleges.

    Dorm Life

    Attitude makes all the difference!

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are the best!

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out the great small downtown!

    In three sentences

    Maranatha has great foundational principles! It teaches God's Word literally. Teachers here are amazing, personal, and caring.

  • 09/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    All around campus it is not uncommon to see security guards walking around, patrolling campus. At night, the security guards patrol around the ladies dorms and graciously walk women back to their dorms to provide safety and peace of mind. While they do not carry weapons on them, they are trained in how to handle a dangerous situation and are easily able to communicate with other guards on duty should trouble arise.

    Clubs and Activities

    Maranatha has a multitude of sports, like football, basketball, soccer, etc., to be involved in, as well as a host of music ensembles (orchestra, band, percussion, and choir) and drama plays to be a part of. It is not uncommon to see groups of students just get together for bible studies, homework study groups, or just to hang out and have some fun.

    Great for these types of students

    Maranatha is great for students who want to take their education AND their life seriously. Maranatha is a great place for students who want to learn more about God and also what their purpose is for life, and why getting a college degree really matters. Lastly, Maranatha is a great place for students who want to have a personal relationship with Jesus Christ and want to live their live for his glory.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One of the main buildings on campus is what the students, staff, and faculty call 'Old Main'. The building used to be a catholic church and still has gorgeous stained glass windows inside that make the building very enjoyable to the eye.

    Bang for the buck

    The best part about Maranatha is the environment on campus. Everywhere you walk people are always smiling and genuinely enjoying life. The people at Maranatha make it a priority to love others and treat others like Jesus Christ would treat them, which makes it an encouraging and enjoyable place to live in.

    What to do for fun

    On-Campus at Maranatha, there is a lot of activities that students can be involved in for fun. Throughout the year, the Office of Student Activities puts on various events for the students to participate in. There are also a variety of sports events to watch including basketball, baseball, softball, wrestling, cross country, soccer, volley ball, and football to watch all throughout the year. There are also many recitals and plays throughout the year for students to attend. Maranatha also happens to be situated about 45 minutes away from two major cities in Wisconsin, Madison and Milwaukee.

    Food and Dining

    When students go off to college, often there is a joke about gaining the Freshman Fifteen, meaning that the freshman gain 15 pounds from the food at their school. At Maranatha, the joke is actually the Freshman 25 because their food is excellent. Every student who lives on campus is part of the meal plan which means that those students get 21 entries into the dining hall per one week. The dining is buffet style and the cooks continue to improve their food and dining room set-up every year.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm Life at Maranatha is a very fun and encouraging environment. The dorms are set up so that there is a main leader for each dorm, floor, and even room. The leaders are there to not only get to know each person and spend fun times together, but also to be there if someone needs help spiritually, emotionally, or physically. Whether you are in need of some entertainment, an encouraging word, or a friend to walk you to the health center, you will always find what you need in the Maranatha dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes at Maranatha are at a level that a college education should be. Every class challenges you to learn, but the classes are never so rigorous that it is impossible to succeed. If a student does have problems keeping up academically, however, the teachers at Maranatha are more than willing to help their students and there is also a helpful tutoring program that is offered to students.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip for prospective students would be to start looking at Maranatha's online classes before they even get to college. Maranatha offers many general education courses online that can help a high school student get ahead before they even get to college. The best part? Online courses for prospective high school students are at a 50% discount. If a prospective student starts early, they can save a lot of money over their college career.

    In three sentences

    Maranatha Baptist Bible College and Seminary is a Christian college that not only prepares people for church ministries, but also educates people to obtain degrees in areas like Nursing, Education, Business, Science, Music Performance, and more. The staff and faculty take to heart the success of their students and are willing to go above and beyond to help the students improve academically and spiritually. Any student who is looking for success and comes to Maranatha will surely find it.

  • 07/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    It looks like the college has many activities to do in your down time if you allow yourself any.

    Food and Dining

    The food is very good and the have a good variety to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is awesome I love being in the dorms. you start to become a family with all the girls in the dorm by the end of the year.

    Academic Rigor

    On a scale of 1 to 10 a 9.5 it they have a high academic standard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep going even when times look rough and it looks like your assignments will not be done on time. If you need help don't be afraid of asking because people might think your stupid. the teachers are always willing to help and they are very kind they want you to succeed.

    In three sentences

    This college has a good strong biblical foundation,the teachers have a heart for God, and they care about the students. This is one of the best places for a college student to be.

  • 09/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Exceptional! Regular foot patrols throughout campus, ladies going back to dorms in the evening can request security escorts.

    Bang for the buck

    Private christian college for about the same price as in-state state college tuition.

    Food and Dining

    Newly remodeled Dining Center, state of the art, lots of healthy choices.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically accredited

  • 10/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They just installed new securities features; however, they don't seem to be as safe as they were promoted to be.

    Great for these types of students

    It is a great place for music, drama, and business students. They also offer great opportunities for TESOL students. The music, drama, and business departments are extremely knowledgeable and down to earth.

    Bang for the buck

    Maranatha is very expensive. For the most part, it is worth it. However, there are some things that could be improved.

    What to do for fun

    The college is located in a small town, but Madison, WI, and Milwaukee, WI are within drivable distance. There are shopping, good restaurants, parks, and places to get pampered.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great! They offer numerous lines and variety, including a Salad Bar, Demo Bar, Nacho Bar, Breakfast Bar, and a Main Line.

    Dorm Life

    Although a couple dorms are old, they are still maintained and are comfortable places to live. The dorm-mates are good company and get along nicely. The dorm supervisors are fantastic!

    Academic Rigor

    The work load is tough, but it's tailored to be the best possible way to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    The most important tip I can give is to learn to study and time management. Another good tip is to get to know as many people as possible. You never know who will provide a good job opportunity or become your life-long best friend.

    In three sentences

    Maranatha is a fabulous place to socialize, study, and learn. Maranatha offers a huge variety of majors and activities. Maranatha has fantastic teachers who are ready and willing to teach and give personal help.

  • 10/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have very efficient security that keeps a close eye on the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have very active societies and focus groups.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who Love God.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Old Main

    Bang for the buck

    It's very expensive.

    What to do for fun

    Sports, bowling.

    Food and Dining

    Great selection, buffet-style cafeteria. A little low on gluten-free, dairy-free foods though.

    Dorm Life

    Awesome.

    Academic Rigor

    The standards are very high.

    Tips for prospective students

    COME HERE!

    In three sentences

    Maranatha has been such a huge encouragement to me. I am very thankful for what I have learned so far.

  • 02/03/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    13 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want to grow in their spiritual walk.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great both spiritually and physically!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't let the strict miles stop you from following GOD's leading. It this is where you are supposed to be He will work it out in the best way possible.

    In three sentences

    It seems like a great college. I know students that attend here and love it. the teachers that I have met are great.

  • 03/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There's quite a few security guards and I've never felt in danger

    Clubs and Activities

    I don't really participate, although I have heard the drama program is pretty great. Thats about it though...

    Great for these types of students

    Academic, Christians who want to grow in their faith, people who want a good college experience.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Apple Bees for after 10 appetizers and Volleyball and Basketball games are where the fun is at!!!!

    Bang for the buck

    If you can afford it...than go here, however it is quite expensive and coming from someone who is paying for college herself...I'll probably graduate with quite a big debt...

    What to do for fun

    the sky's the limit!! My best and favorite weekend was when me and a big group of friends went to Madison, WI for a day filled with state street shopping, mall shopping, and going inside the capital! We've also gone to plays in the Madison area which is a great experience.

    Food and Dining

    Better than average, just don't expect to have your mom's best casserole ...

    Dorm Life

    Most of my friends are in my own dorm, and one of my best friends happens to be one of my roommates!!

    Academic Rigor

    It's pretty hard, but that's coming from a public schooled kid...study, take good notes, and don't wait until 12:30am to do homework

    Tips for prospective students

    Go out of your way to meet new people, build good relationships, and take advantage of opportunities.

    In three sentences

    Great Environment. Great People. Good grub.

  • 02/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety at Maranatha is excellent! It helps that we are in a very small town with minimal crime rate, but we do take steps to prevent anything from happening on campus. As soon as dark settles in, security can be found at all major places and by the girls dorms.

    Greek Life

    I will be honest and say I have no idea what this means. I'm guessing we don't rank very high on it.

    Clubs and Activities

    This is definitely an area for improvement at Maranatha. I give three stars because we do have societies, but rarely do they meet and have activities. They do have society sports that rotate through the semesters, but if you're not a sporty person you are out of luck.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are a musical or sporty student, this is the Christian university for you. They have frequent fine arts activites available for attendance, and are also NCAA 3rd seed in basketball, voleyball, and soccer. Maranatha has also just recently added a men's volleyball team to their schedule!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It's not really unusual, but I do find it awesome that Maranatha has it's own Facebook meme page. Everything funny that happens in the student body ends up on there, and it is indeed hilarious.

    Bang for the buck

    Overall, you get a very good experience for what the cost is. If I could make a suggestion to the college, it would only be to invest in some more things to do on campus. Those who do not have cars, or friends with cars, don't really get to do much.

    What to do for fun

    This is an area of Maranatha where I can not give raving reviews. Really, the only things to do on campus are working out or being at the coffee shop. I will say, however, that there are movie theaters close by, bowling alleys, skating rinks, and parks all within 5 to 10 minutes of campus. There are also many restaurants with great deals especially on the weekends.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Maranatha is astounding! They always have a salad, pizza, sandwich, and rotisserie bar for every meal. Also, a demo and rotation station changes daily. The only complaint I would have is that their spinach is sometimes very wilty--a sad situation really.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is pretty great at Maranatha. There is definitely room for improvement, such as a later dorm lock and more freedom, but every school will have things you do not necessarily like. Overall, though, the people and atmosphere of a dorm at Maranatha is an exciting experience you won't soon forget!

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor of Maranatha is impressive! Not a week goes by without a project, test, or group study to be done. This may seem overwhelming at first, but as you progress it becomes fun and you will realize the importance it has.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tip 1: Make sure you come with the mindset that it's only four years. There are some very annoying rules, granted, but for the quality of academic and biblical education you receive is well worth it. Tip 2: Come to Maranatha with a willingness to learn. Be willing to learn not only academically but socially and spiritually! These qualities are essential in any college experience, but even more so when you bring God in to the picture.

    In three sentences

    Maranatha Baptist Bible College is an incredibly rigorous in their academics. Their student life and atmosphere is entertaining and encouraging. The teachers at Maranatha are very personal and perform their duties with academic excellence.