Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Marian University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 11/02/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Catholics Cyclists Athletes Bowlers Nurses Bio majors Teaching majors

    Tips for prospective students

    My dad told me that there will always be someone doing something on campus: there is always a T.V. show or a poker game. However, the most fun things happen at night. Get your work done during the day so you have have fun and party at night.

    Bang for the buck

    Marian University will take care of you if you are an athlete or going into a religious related field. Being an instate student at a private school, i have a lot of money in grants so it makes up for it. Please reconsider this school if you are not coming here for religious or athletic reasons. Academic scholarships only go so far.

    Am enjoying being here

    I really enjoy the small school experience. I am really bonding with the guys in my hallway. Someone is always doing something, so i am not short on fun. Although the campus is deserted over holidays and some weekends.

    Am learning a lot

    Marian University is like Butler was 20 years ago. This university is quickly expanding to cover a number of new majors. If you want to go into a medical field as a nurse or doctor, start looking in to Marian. We are building a osteopathic center!

  • 06/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Being a Biology major myself, there are so many different directions you can choose to take with it; as is the case with many of the majors. Other strong programs we have are the seminary, our music program, and those involved with nursing. In terms of extra-curriculars: I would have to say a solid 90% of students are involved in some type of activity, team, or club on campus. Our cycling team is the best in the nation and we have a super strong men's and women's bowling team (I'm bias, but honest) for only its first year as a program. Others would would definitely enjoy Marian are Catholics, really any athlete, Music majors, Nursing majors, those involved with drama/theatre, and plenty of others.

    Tips for prospective students

    Live on campus for at least your first year! Go to as many campus activities as possible! Don't be scared to talk to anyone, they are all so sweet and willing to help you with any question you have about anything and everything! Get involved in at least one club/committee!

    Bang for the buck

    I don't know exactly where ALL of my money goes, but I know that a good portion is referred back to me in many ways. The leftover? Well, I do suppose it has something to do with the new medical center they are building. Most on-campus activities are completely free to students and I foresee it staying that way for a long time.

    Am enjoying being here

    I definitely love my choice. I'll admit, at first I wasn't sold that this was going to be the school for me. I thought it was too small for the things I wanted to do, but it has totally shown me different. I love the small atmosphere; everyone knows everyone and they are probably the nicest and most inviting people compared to any school in the country. There is ALWAYS something going on around campus and we have amazing school spirit! Doyle Hall, the dormitory where all on-campus freshmen live, is an incredibly tight-knit community and definitely helps you bond with those who you will be sharing your next four years with.

    Am learning a lot

    Marian -- I think like any college -- opens up so many doors for you to learn not only the curriculum, but about who you are as a person. Still, I've taken so many classes that I thought were going to be boring general education courses that I had to get out of the way, only to find that they really sparked an interest that I didn't know that I had. Not to say that the courses are too easy, but I've been taking more than the average course load just because I have so many more classes that I am interested in taking and need to fit into four years! Additionally, being the Franciscan university that it is, I have learned a lot more about my own personal faith and Christianity as a whole while in the required theology and philosophy and outside of the classroom. From there, the class sizes are definitely a highpoint for this small campus. I've never been in a class with more than 35 students and that is far higher than the average. One of my classes actually only had two students (myself and another) which allowed plenty of one on one time with the professor. The instructors are amazing! Each and every one of them wants to see you succeed in anything and everything that you do. They have scheduled office hours, but are usually able to rearrange if there is any need.

  • 06/09/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who like a small community. Want hands-on approach with learning. Wants professors who will sit down with you individually and help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    It will be scary at first. I was terrified before moving on campus. By the end of the year, I didn't want to leave! I made awesome friends and everyone is very welcoming. I would highly recommend living on campus as it makes for a better college experience. (:

    Bang for the buck

    It will be outstanding how much you will learn and how much experience you will get starting with your first semester! Marian is definitely worth the money paid!

    Am enjoying being here

    I love it here! I have made amazing friends who I will never forget and will be friends with forever! In the first year here, I made so many memories it was crazy! I will never forget my times at Marian. (:

    Am learning a lot

    Marian University is a great place to become a teacher or anything else that they offer. It is a small community, where we start gaining experience from the first semester. At Marian, I will be entering my second semester of my sophomore year in August. When I went to visit a friend at Marian, I fell in love with the campus and the people. The professors are very hands-on in their approach of teaching and really want us to achieve all of our goals. I believe that God has a plan for me, and I strongly believe that plan is to continue school at Marian University to go on to be a teacher and change the lives of children and let them reach for the stars.

  • 07/07/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    My sister is a Junior at Marian and I have visited her often. I love the old time feel of the campus.

  • 12/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    adult and online seeking

    Tips for prospective students

    be prepared for the expense

  • 01/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    get involved as much as possible in extracurricular activities, whether it be volunteering for something you believe in or joining greek life.

    Food and Dining

    i've never lived on campus so can not accurately rate this.

    Dorm Life

    i can't accurately rate this because i never lived in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    i've found the courses i've taken thus far to be mentally stimulating and challenging. as long as you do the reading and what's required and study it's definitely possible to do really well.

    Tips for prospective students

    you can do anything you want to do if you're willing to work hard. set goals for yourself and dream big, there's no limit to what you can achieve. what's helped me the most throughout my time so far at marian has been developing a relationship with my adviser.

    In three sentences

    i've found marian university to be a great school to attend and everyone who works there to be extremely helpful. i don't necessarily agree with their requirement of two theology courses, i think one would definitely be sufficient. i look forward to hopefully starting their nursing program in may, i've heard nothing but great things.

  • 03/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the marian police force is staffed by fully trained indianapolis officers who have always seemed to me to be genuinely invested in their responsibilities. they offer night escorts - no questions asked. the team also offers a self defense course that counts toward your degree.

    Greek Life

    this school does not have any sororities or fraternities - i call that a bonus.

    Great for these types of students

    i'd recommend marian to students who benefit from time in the classroom as a way to help focus on studying and learning course material. if you're one who wants a chance to talk to the professor during or after class about concepts covered in lecture, this school is great. and if you're not, there are plenty of online course offerings, too.

    Bang for the buck

    i have been pretty happy with my experience at marian so far. while the cost can sometimes make me cringe, i know from experience that the people at the university care so much more about helping me to succeed in my degree than at state schools. i've been through a degree at a state school and it's so much more about research than about the students trying to learn. marian is about giving you the tools you need. it's no wonder the school has such a good reputation.

    What to do for fun

    marian university has its own ecolab dedicated to studying green living and environmental issues. it's a pretty cool area to go see. the school is in the heart of indianapolis, so there's always something to do.

    Food and Dining

    beware the freshman 15! the food at any institution is going to be just that - institutional cooking. still, it's imminently edible and better than your average cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    while living with a bunch of complete strangers can spell a recipe for personality conflicts galore, everyone is in the same situation and understands the need for civility.

    Academic Rigor

    this is an accredited university so academic standards are held fairly close to those at any other college. you will most likely have to set a study routine and stick to it if you are to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    please consider renting your textbooks as it's always a savings. also, don't wait to fill out forms or apply for scholarships as tuition costs are significantly greater than public university rates.

    In three sentences

    the professors at marian university seem to care so much more about educating students than professors at larger schools and state schools. not only has the small size of the school offered a chance to study under caring professors but it has also fostered a close-knit community of peers. this kind of environment affords quite a bit of support to continue learning and improving.

  • 03/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Downtown offers a number of activities. There are usually some sort of sporting events going on.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for hefty tutuion prices. Also know that this university is rooted in the liberal arts tradition.

    In three sentences

    A well round curriculum. The students and faculty are very respectful of others. One of the last places where free thought is celebrated.

  • 04/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are a great asset, especially if taking evening classes. Overall the campus is small and safe, but to know their services are available is a relief.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty, and many different types.

    Bang for the buck

    Prestige education and finding a career after graduation isn't difficult.

    What to do for fun

    Close to a lot of different things to do. Plus there are plenty of sporting events and student activities that you don't have to leave campus to have fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food selections are limited, but what is available isn't bad.

    Dorm Life

    I can't say as I have not lived on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    If you stay on top of your studies, you will not become overwhelmed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to study. The professors know the programs are challenging, but they want to you know and retain the material for the future. There are plenty of resources to help you succeed, so don't be afraid to seek it out and use it.

    In three sentences

    The school has a beautiful environment and the staff want to see the students succeed. The nursing program is challenging, however the quality of nurses the school presents is beyond words. Most students don't have a difficult time find a fulfilling career.

  • 06/05/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    10 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Appeared to be very safe. There is 24 hour security on campus.

    Greek Life

    Unsure of.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activity I simply cannot named them all. check the Marian University website for a list.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are serious and wants to get a good education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    St. Francis Hall is located behind another building and is not visible to the naked eye.

    Bang for the buck

    Believe so.

    What to do for fun

    There are many things one can do for fun. One can join school clubs or talk a nice way to downtown just minutes away.

    Food and Dining

    Again I have no idea how good the food is.

    Dorm Life

    I cannot comment. I do not live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I cannot comment since I have not stated my first semester yet.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not wait last minute to apply for finacial aid.

    In three sentences

    Marian University is very clean and spacious. The staffs are approachable and are always willing to assist. The classes are small, therefore more one on one interaction with the professors.

  • 06/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Although there are no cameras on campus, Marian is very safe, it has a 24/7 police force. The police are there whenever you need them, whether it is to walk you across campus at night (in case you wish to have an escort) or to help you change your tire when you have a flat. Marian is very safe, I've never felt dangered.

    Greek Life

    None, however Butler University is only 5 minutes away from campus, which has a great Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a few clubs that are very active and noticeable around campus. Whatever your major is there is a club for it. If there is no club that interest you, you can start a club. Marian is always open to suggestions.

    Great for these types of students

    On the academic side Marian is best known for their nursing, and music programs, there are many students that are involved with these programs making it very competitive. Marian is also opening a medical school which will be Indiana's first medical school. Marian is not just academics though, they have a 15 time nation championship cycling team along with a nationally ranked bowling team and a conference championship football team.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year the freshman claass has a game called stick'em'up which is for every freshman at Marian University and is a great way to get to know your class. As of a few years ago a campus wide game called Humaans vs Zombies started which is a week long game,

    Bang for the buck

    marian is an expensive school, but however you get what you pay for. The staff is so personable and is always there when you need them. The alumni is very active, and as a freshman you even get to have dinner with some of the alumni. The sports teams are good and getting better so you have the all around college experience.

    What to do for fun

    Marian's staff offers activities and events all the time, sometimes it could be a comedian or speaker while other times it could be bumper cars in the parking lot. There is usually always something to do on campus, and if there isn't you can go downtown to the canal, or bars if you're 21.

    Food and Dining

    Since the school is so small there is only one dining hall which has restricted hours. The food is different basically everyday, which means it's hit or miss. Sometimes the dining hall is good and sometimes it's not, but there is always subway. Subway is a meal exchange opportunity after the dinning hall has closed.

    Dorm Life

    You become really close with the people that are around you, most of the time people leave their doors open so you can just walk in and start communicating. There are floor activities just about every week, so you can become closer with the people you're living with. If you do have a problem with the one you're living with you can always transfer rooms or dorm buildings. Marian wants no complications and is very understanding when it comes to transferring rooms or moving out.

    Academic Rigor

    College class's are hard, butt Marian classes are really hard. Somme teachers grading scales help you, but most of them hurt you. (If you don't study) All you need to do is study, if you need help there's tutoring and a writing center that is available when needed. Don't get behind because most students take 18+ credits so there is no time to slack off.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's a small campus so everyone knows everything it's like high school where rumors and events spread fast. Go to class, professors notice when your not there and will ask you next class, just going will get to bonus points with them. Participate in anything you want, students are very supportive and give you props even if you don't succeed.

    In three sentences

    Marian is an all around great school, you'll be close to your classmates and professors. Everyone there cares about your education and is willing to help. There's always something to do, and the school provides many activities every week.

  • 09/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Small campus, great police force.

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons of clubs to join for your particular area of study.

    Great for these types of students

    commuter, faith based, wanting a quality education

    What to do for fun

    Movie nights in the library

    Food and Dining

    subway on campus is pretty good!

    In three sentences

    Pretty pricy but overall a good school. I'm a nontraditional student and taking an accelerated program for nursing. I am still included in all the happenings at main campus.

  • 10/02/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    13 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who desire a smaller environment where relationships are easily fostered.

    What to do for fun

    The campus is in Indianapolis which is one of the greatest sport towns in the country - home of the Indy 500, Colts, Pacers, NCAA headquarters, and Big Ten football championship.

    Tips for prospective students

    Call and talk with people at the school if you have any questions. They are incredibly helpful.

    In three sentences

    I have been blown away by the professionalism and helpfulness of those I've encountered at the school. Marian is at the forefront of changes in the educational environment, plus their traditional campus setting is absolutely gorgeous.

  • 10/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Their text alert system is outstanding!

    Great for these types of students

    It's great for students who do not like to get lost in the crowd.

    Bang for the buck

    It is really pricey, but worth it to have one-on-one attention.

    Food and Dining

    Food could be better here as there is just one Subway and then a small cafe on campus if you do not live in the dorms. It is, however, convenient to have quick and healthy options!

    Dorm Life

    I cannot answer as I do not live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    This is not as rigorous as my first degree, but it is not a walk in the park either. While professors are there to help you and are always willing to go the extra mile to make sure you understand, courses are challenging and professors are always pushing the envelope to make sure students are challenged.

    Tips for prospective students

    The best tip I have is to listen in class and come to class. The professors here are so engaging and they really want you to learn. If you put in the effort, so will they.

    In three sentences

    Professors at Marian University care about students and are always there to help whether that is inside or outside the classroom, small classes sizes make this possible. Making education applicable to the real world is something all professors do. There is a friendly, supportive culture that always challenges you to think outside the box.

  • 12/17/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    15 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The first time i ever went to Marian, i noticed 2-3 police man watching over the campus, this made me feel very safe and protected.

    Bang for the buck

    I love where the University is located, being in Indianapolis is a wide range of diversity and things to do.

    Food and Dining

    I love that the subway is right on campus! Healty and easy to acsess.

    Academic Rigor

    So far, the Professors and staff at Marian have been very helpful and hopeful!

    In three sentences

    Marian Univeristy is a private Univeristy with accepting role models and motivated students. I love the unique University and rustic features. I am very thrilled and excited to meet the diversity of students and professors while attending here in Spring 2013.

  • 01/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is extremely safe. Policemen are very visible on campus from being in their cars to riding bikes around. Marian is in its own secluded spot on the west side of Indianapolis, and our security keeps it pleasant and safe. The only setback is there is one emergency phone on campus.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Marian has a rich variety in clubs and activities. The Student Government is one of the largest groups and hosts the student formals, a casino night, What's up Wednesdays, and open mic night. Just about any interest from knitting to intramural sports has a club that people meet for.

    Great for these types of students

    Marian is especially great for students who love the small-school feel. A smaller student population guarantees one-on-one interaction with instructors whenever students need and getting to know a lot of the people on campus

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Unusual locations on Marian's campus are our Mansions. One is particular is haunted, so students like to see if a ghost will pop up in the doorway as many have claimed to see before.

    Bang for the buck

    Marian is very good about giving the students what they pay for. It is expensive because Marian is a private institutions so thankfully, there are multiples of scholarships available. However, with free tutors, a free gym, other free events and groups on campus, and people always open to listen for ways to improve, Marian gives what people pay for.

    What to do for fun

    There are multiple events held on campus for students. The open mic night is very popular among students where a student or performing artist hosts and other students come up and sing, recite poetry, stand-up comedy, etc. Sporting events are also fun to attend. The Velodrome down the street allows for students and the community to watch our national cycling team, and there is always good attendance at our football games. Indianapolis also has a myriad of attractions. The Indianapolis Museum of Art is right down the street from Marian as is the Indiana State Fair in the fall.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Marian is good enough quality. However, there are limited places in which to get food. The cafeteria, Subway, and the Knight and Day Cafe are the only places on campus that offer food. However, the new student center that will be built soon will have other food options for those on campus, so we're growing!

    Dorm Life

    Marian has multiple dorms, appartments, and houses for the students to live in. There is a dorm specifically for freshman which gives more of an old college feel. New dorms also are on campus with private bathrooms and living spaces. Appartments are also on campus for students interested in ministry and students 21 years of age and older. Houses are next to campus for students also, one in particular for students interested in the Peace and Justice program.

    Academic Rigor

    Most if not all of Marian's courses challenge students to think critically. However, not every class has quizzes and tests either. Some courses only have papers to turn in periodically. Instructors usually give decent time periods between papers and tests filled with lectures and note-taking.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be let down by the small school feel. There are plenty of largely populated schools nearby to visit friends and get that experience too. Marian has the feeling of home. It is expensive since Marian is a private school so apply for as many scholarships as possible. It's worth it in the end. Marian also has free tutors, so if one has trouble with class he or she only has to sign up for a tutor for help.

    In three sentences

    Marian University is for the student who values a small school education and one-on-one attention from instructors. The people on campus from students to faculty and staff are all very courteous and caring towards one another. It is a place where individuals meet friends for life.

  • 02/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Although Marian is a little pricey, it is well worth it. The faculty in the financial aid office is great, and they do all that they can to inform about your specific opportunities for grants and scholarships.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to get involved with the school, its a great way to meet new people and also improve your student resume.

    In three sentences

    Marian University is a wonderful college to attend. It is very inviting, and all the student and staff really care about your higher education. I am so glad I found this school!

  • 02/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is awesome! We have our own police station on campus and they take care of all the students by constant patrolling of the campus. But they will ticket you if you don't have a parking pass.

    Greek Life

    There really isn't a Greek Life except those associated with certain degrees such as education or psychology.

    Clubs and Activities

    There all all kinds of clubs here on campus, you name it and we probably have it, or something similar. For being a small school, it has quite a bit going on.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for those students who want to leave home, but still have a family atmosphere. There has been a growing tradition that started with the MU Volleyball team to view the campus as a family.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are two manisions on campus and one has a super long tunnel attached to it. It was actually used as a dog walk in the rain and snow. Another unusual location is the ecolab on campus that is full of different wildlife.

    Bang for the buck

    While it is an expensive small school, you get quite a bit for your money. They could probably afford to update things with the money, but I'm sure it will come in time.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something going on campus. Whether it's a club meeting, movie showing, or a sporting event campus is always booming. There is a wide array of guest speakers, plays, musical performances, and just plain fun stuff to do.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining is kind of improving slowly. The dining staff is a little rude and not too bright, and the food isn't all that great. But there is always the Knight and Day Cafe and Subway on campus as alternatives.

    Dorm Life

    It's improving along with the campus itself. The school is growing constantly and just added a new dorm. As a freshman, Doyle Hall is not the ideal place to start living away from home, but it only goes up from there.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor here is tough but not impossible. The profesors challenge you to the edge of your knowledge, but if you absolutely don't know something they will help you find the answers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to approach your professors, they are all super nice and are willing to work with you. Also, you need to get involved early so you can meet new people!

    In three sentences

    Marian is a small Catholic school in Indianapolis with a lot of one-on-one attention to students. The professors are all super cooperative and really understanding, but I'm not in contact with those higherup in the food chain. The big wigs need to be more involved with the school community and it would be an absolutely perfect school.

  • 02/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    MUPD patrols frequently and is always willing to help, even with jumping a car.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Any 3 people can start a new club on campus. There are events every wedness day (Whats Up Wednessdays) and there are many opportunities to get together with classmates.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who wish to have a close relationship with their professors (15:1) and great opportunites in athletics, and academics.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Marian has a great eco lab with nature trails and outdoor classrooms. It also features 3 mansions of former oil tycoons from the 1920's.

    Bang for the buck

    Marian is very expensive ($37,000) however most students here recieve a great amount of financial aid.

    What to do for fun

    Marian has a great atheltics department which provide a fun and energetic community. Intramurals are available, and it only takes 3 people to start a new club.

    Food and Dining

    Food is one of the major downfalls at MU. There are only 3 options, and many times the cafe is nothing special.

    Dorm Life

    Freshman dorms are nothing special, but it is a great environment to make friends and integrate into the college life. New Hall and University hall are great upgrades.

    Academic Rigor

    Some majors are more difficult than others. However, our nursing programs is arguably the best in the state and we have just built the first medical school in over 100 years.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are comfortable with a small school. Most students who leave do so because they don't like the size of MU. If you don't mind a small private school, the opportunities are great (and I promise this school can offer you everything and more big schools do, besides parties).

    In three sentences

    Small, Close knit community. Great opportunities to be involved in the community. Caring teacher, coaches, staff educating the whole person.

  • 04/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Cops are always around and will even give you a ride across campus if you don't feel safe walking at night.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    There is just about any club you can think of.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like small settings. Also they work well with homeschoolers.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I like the Knight and Day Cafe in the library.

    Bang for the buck

    It's expensive but there is so much you get for your money. Small classes, free health and services, free gym, free counseling, and free tutoring.

    What to do for fun

    They always have lots of fun stuff planned to do like bonfires and much more.

    Food and Dining

    I like the buffet style but they don't always have the best food.

    Dorm Life

    It's nice but it just wasn't for me.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are difficult but the teachers really work with you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved and make friends.

    In three sentences

    Marian is very small with small class sizes. The teachers know you by name. It has a very homey feeling.

  • 05/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Marian University Police are always seen on campus.

    Greek Life

    we are currently petitioning to start one.

    Clubs and Activities

    Student leagues: Basketball, dodge-ball, ultimate-frisbee, and many other activities are on campus. I believe each Major on campus has a club.

    What to do for fun

    Spring 2013, was my first semester at MU. I enjoyed going to the basketball games, watching movies in the library theater, and bonfires the dorms would host. Sometimes, my friends and I would meet at the Clair Hall's recreation room and watch NBA games on the bigger screen. Finally, the Ruth Lilly Center has racket ball, two basketball gyms, and a weight room to get in some exercise.

    Tips for prospective students

    Marian University is a nice community. I transferred here from California and although its not home, I wouldn't want to be anywhere else. The professors I had this semester were down to earth and made it their priority to make sure each student passed. MU is a 15:1 student:teacher ratio.

    In three sentences

    Marian is a very beautiful campus that is growing each semester. It is very clean, and the staff/students are friendly. FMO, Marian is a 10:10 rating.

  • 08/11/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    22 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Marian is very safe; you will always see at least one police officer patrolling the entire campus.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life at Marian.

    Clubs and Activities

    I tried to get myself into a lot of clubs while I was there, so I could have a few things to put on my resume. However, I have noticed that a lot of people don't appear to be interested in any of the clubs. I wonder why. At least 90 percent of the entire Marian population consists of commuters.

    Great for these types of students

    Marian is very good to the San Damiano scholars, athletes, 21st Century Scholars, Catholic high school graduates, and students who have relatives who are a part of a Diocese. To everyone else, good luck paying for college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's something about a pet graveyard by the Wheeler-Stokeley Mansion, but I'm not sure that it's even true.

    Bang for the buck

    It is very expensive to attend Marian, unless you are a 21st Century Scholar, athlete, or San Damiano Scholar. I went to Marian for a year and a half, and I had to drop out mid-year because I could not afford to continue my education there.

    What to do for fun

    If you want to do something fun off campus, go to the north side of Indianapolis. You don't have to worry so much about having to go through a shady neighborhood just to get to downtown and the south side. So many restaurant options and other points of interest.

    Food and Dining

    There is the Knight and Day Cafe, which is the best option in my opinion. However, I also liked the Subway inside the RLSC. The food in the actual cafeteria is terrible, so I avoided going there as much as I could.

    Dorm Life

    I did not have the best roommate experience while I was here. It was okay, but not great. And I did not like my RA when I was a freshman.

    Academic Rigor

    My classes were pretty easy through my whole career there. But I was told that the School of Business is the easiest program at Marian. If you want something extremely challenging, go into Nursing or anything in the School of Math and Sciences.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pick your friends wisely. During my first semester at Marian, I hung around a great group of friends; we did everything together. And then, second semester, I noticed myself hanging around the wrong crowd. It was also the same for my last semester there.

    In three sentences

    A second-tier institution. As much as it is emphasized that Marian is going to be the new Butler, I don't think it even comes close, and I doubt that it ever will. Marian is geared more toward students who don't have enough money to afford their first choice, or they just got denied from their first choice and had to have a back-up plan so that they could still go to college.

  • 01/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Though we be in a city we have our own police station with actual cops not rent a cops.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    Think of a club or activity we have it or you can make it happen.

    What to do for fun

    We have tons of clubs and sports on campus. We have everything from an Anime club to a crafting club. As for sports we have the normal things as well as some more obscure things like bowling and lacrosse.

    Food and Dining

    The food is a low point if you are a gourmet. Though if you are good with pizza, hamburgers, and pizza you will love it here.

    Dorm Life

    From communal living to suites Marian has great dorm life. Though if you are looking for a Frat you'll be disappointed we don't have any. But we do have monthly activities for each dorm that range from game night to movie marathons.

    Academic Rigor

    I am a double major so the homework and paper writing is extreme. Though if you attend classes and actually do the homework passing the classes is not to difficult. Most professors say you have to work to fail a class.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like close knit groups and clubs this is the college for you. The dining hall if you are a picky eater is somewhere to stay away from. Though you can always visit the knight and day cafe or subway if you get hungry.

    In three sentences

    Marian University has a delightful campus with a new and historical feel. We have several mansions on site as well as new buildings such as our new Medical School. Currently, we are even building a new students center with a Starbucks and Papa Johns.

  • 04/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Broadripple is close. Lots of food and fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    The school is tough academically. Prepare to be challenged.

    In three sentences

    Marian University is a great school. Small class sizes, great sports and location. Fun friends to hang with.

  • 07/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The police station is located in the student center. If you feel unsafe in anyway just call campus police and they will escort you where you need to go.

    Greek Life

    No Greek life :(

    Great for these types of students

    Catholics, athletes, cyclists, med-students, education majors

    What to do for fun

    There are so many clubs and sports around campus to join. If you don't end up joining a club there are lots of other activities to get involved in. Each spring there is a campus wide Nerf battle, and there are activities such as Up all knight in the library to stay active and involved.

    Food and Dining

    The food is wonderful! There are so many choices, and the chefs accommodate to dietary needs!

    Dorm Life

    I have never lived in the dorms at Marian; but my friends have told me wonderful things about their experiences.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are challenging; but can be easily completed as long as you study the material given.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to study and take notes, no matter where you are this is important in college.

    In three sentences

    Marian is a great place where all the professors make you feel wanted. You're definitely not just a number at this University.