Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Marian University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/14/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 8 people found this review useful. 1 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    This school has really good advisors and teachers. They try their hardest to make everything work out and easier for a student in any possible way. They always have office hours, or even not office hours, where you can just go and talk to them if you have a problem or just wanna chat. Moreover, there are great and nice people here that are friendly and carefree. This college has a very relaxing environment. Yes, there is some drama, but no matter where one goes there will always be some. Furthermore, there are tutors and a writing or help center where one can go if he/she is having trouble with classes, and there are always places to go if one needs to get away from the stress of school to hang with friends.

    Am enjoying being here

    Am I enjoying being here? I would have to say yes. Since I have came here I have met many people that are working towards the same kind of goals that I have. There are always activities to be doing on campus, and off campus. Also, there are always places that people can go just to hang out, study, or just relax. I like it a lot here.

    Am learning a lot

    This college has many different possible majors and minors. It has classes based on liberal arts and those for specialized for majors. I am learning a LOT here. Not only through just the liberal arts courses but also the Nursing courses I am currently taking. It has helped me understand more about life, people, and much more.

  • 07/28/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any student that learns best in small classes. If you're looking to go for internships this is definitely the place to go because your teachers will get to know you and like you and will be willing to help you find jobs and/or internships. If you like getting involved in community service, or just doing a lot of extras with your friends Marian has a TON of things to do outside of the classroom.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early, but that goes for any college applications. Do well your senior year they do ask for that end of the year transcript.

    Bang for the buck

    Most students get a scholarship of some sort so it becomes a lot more affordable for many students. I also think its a good deal because I learned a lot and ended up using al of the resources that they gave me for the math class to help me. Just being there, even though I haven't been there a lot, is amazing, everyone is so friendly and it's like I was welcomed home the first time I stepped foot on campus. Which, to me, is very important when you're going to be away from your friends and family.

    Will enjoy being here

    I have been there for a tour, a placement test, taking a test for my online course, and for registration. Every time I have been there I have been greeted with warm smiles and friendly instructions of where I need to be and when. Also the campus is small, perfect for cold and wet weather, and beautiful in any season.

    Will learn a lot

    This summer I took a math course online and was very pleased to find that my instructor was always available to help, and very patient with me. Math is not my strongest point but he helped me get an A and I took away a lot of information that I wont be forgetting anytime soon.

  • 12/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Everyone. Traditional, returning, non-traditional/adult, online, grad.....

    Tips for prospective students

    Define your goal, set your course, and DO NOT ever take your eyes off the prize especially when you are handed a diversion by life!

    Bang for the buck

    Worth all the sacrifice.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am a returning adult student with a drive to finally graduate and to teach at a university someday soon.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors are very knowledgable and helpful. The support staff is wonderful and the university offers tremendous paths for dvelopment.

  • 11/17/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Come here with an open mind. Take advantage of every opportunity that Marian offers. Stay at Marian on the weekends even though there isn't much to do, because you will meet new people.

    Bang for the buck

    The education that you receive her is worth the money you pay. The only thing I would say isn't the Bang for the Buck is the First Year seminar class freshman's have to take.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love being here during the week because there is a lot of things they have going on around the campus that you can never get to all of them. But as for the weekends it is boring. Telling you like it is. Yes they do have somethings but its happens only every other weekend and the opposite weekends there is nothing to do.

    Am learning a lot

    At this now university, Marian focuses on academic and has a lot of resources that students use to improve their grades and too learn more about the campus itself and its founders. The professors here are willing to help you if you ask. When I first came here I was told to get to know your professor and it is truth. For most of them, I am on a first name basis with.

  • 01/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is provided 24 hours every day along with polls on campus that you can use to activate security in time of need.

    Clubs and Activities

    For every major offered at Marian there is a club that you can join to help with community connection and self experience in that major.

    Great for these types of students

    If you like a small campus and having the option to knowing everyone on campus Marian is the place for you.

    What to do for fun

    Marian provides numerous activities for entertainment on campus. They have game nights to win prizes (ipods, money, gift certificates) they also provide free movies on Sundays at the movie theater. Nearby there is a bowling alley and a shopping mall.

    Food and Dining

    Marian just built a new dining area along with providing a new food service for the students.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are large and filled with excitment.

    Tips for prospective students

    You have the opportunity to get to know your teachers and create a friendship. The classroom sizes are small allowing you to have the opportunity to get to know your classmates.

    In three sentences

    Marian is a small campus filled with fun and excitement. It provides on campus jobs for students along with 24 hour assistance.

  • 03/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very good safety, i feel very comfortable there!

    Great for these types of students

    students that are not really into partying and want to make friends that are also not really into partying.

    What to do for fun

    going to the coffee shop, and going to sporting events. it really lets out the school spirit!

    Tips for prospective students

    email professors as much as you need to, they really don't mind! get involved, that's the best way to make friends! live in the courtyards they are really nice!

    In three sentences

    i think it is an excellent school. i can tell the professors really care about what they teach and are always there for students when they need help. i feel very comfortable in marian's environment.

  • 04/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    About five minutes from campus is the ice rink, which is where I like to spend my time. On campus, I go to the Sabre Diner every week, hang outside, and have movie nights with friends.

    Food and Dining

    The food is delicious! However, there could be more variety.

    Dorm Life

    My current dorm is great. The room is spacious and well taken care of. Not all the housing on campus is perfect, but all have advantages with disadvantages.

    Academic Rigor

    Some teachers are difficult to understand as well as communicate with, while others are easy as pie. Everything depends on what one's major is and how full they fill their schedule.

    Tips for prospective students

    I suggest to apply for as many scholarships are possible to find. Marian is a private school, thus can be expensive.

    In three sentences

    Although it is a Catholic based university, Marian is welcoming of any type of person, which is why I love it. The classes are small, so the students get to know each other. The variety of race, culture, religion, sexual orientation, and all other possible differences is incredible and awe-inspiring.

  • 05/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is equipped with security poles that can be accessed 24 hours a day. When pressed campus security will arrive as well as the Fond du Lac police department. I have never seen anyone press the button or have ever felt the need where my safety was being compromised at Marian. It's a small campus and there's usually people around if you are walking back from a night class where you can still feel safe. Campus security is available on campus all the time and will even walk you to where ever you need to go if you do not feel safe. Another added benefit is that they are good at pushing cars out of snow banks!

    Greek Life

    The Greek life makes up a large part of Marian Univeristy. One whole side of the street surrounding the school makes up the houses of the greek groups.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am involved in the Marian University Student Nurse Association. This club has allowed me to become involved in the Fond du Lac community as well as bringing in different guest speakers who are involved in the health care field every month. Another added benefit is that you get pizza at every meal, a free meal for a college student is like gold, as well as getting reimbursed for your nursing pin at the end of your four years if you are an active member and participated in the required community service hours. Marian University offers a wide variety of clubs and activities for all majors as well.

    Great for these types of students

    Marian University is great for students who are used to the small town feel. Even though it is located in a larger city, it doesn't feel overwhelming at all, especially if this is your first time living away from home.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One unusual thing that I noticed on campus is our mascot. Our mascot is a saber-tooth tiger. This tiger is usually present at larger events. I've seen this tiger ride a tricycle and play basketball among many other things. Not every day do you see a saber-tooth tiger roaming around.

    Bang for the buck

    Marian University is known for their nursing program and the quality of nurses that they put out into the health care field. Whenever I tell other health care professionals that I attend Marian University, they are impressed. It is a well known school for nursing. For a four-year university I would say that it is the best in the area for a private university education. Marian University also offers a variety of free programs to the students. Free printing is a major thing that I have taken advantage of over the years. Tutoring and counseling are also available. Marian is also great at meeting your learning needs, recently I learned that you can take your textbooks in and they can convert your whole textbook to a audio file so you can listen to your books as well.

    What to do for fun

    There was always something going on on-campus. The campus is small enough that you can walk/run around the outskirts and still feel safe. There is also a basketball court and volleyball court that always seemed to be in use. Lots of pick up sports games were happening as well as the scheduled university sporting events. Marian University also offes different events on campus that are free as well as a concert once a year where bigger named bands are present. This year Gym Class Heroes was the band that came to Marian.

    Food and Dining

    The food was standard cafeteria food. Marian University offered upscale meals in the cafeteria. The cafeteria recently made a huge change, where one meal swipe gets you an all-day access pass to the food. All you can eat. I enjoyed the salad bar while at school, it had a wide variety of options and was always fresh. We recently got an Erbert's and Gerbert's on campus, this offers students a place to grab a sub sandwich as well as offering your standard coffee house beverages.

    Dorm Life

    Naber Hall is your typical dorm-life. Small crowded rooms and a building full of all different characters...definitely keeps things interesting. You learn a lot of life skills living on your own in an environment filled with others that are experiencing the same things you are. Cooking on your own is something to get used to but you'll master the microwaved wonders! It was a great experience for me and I am happy that I got to experience the college dorm life for one year.

    Academic Rigor

    You're a nursing student. One day the lives of strangers are going to be in your hands. The level of difficulty is comparable to this thought. You'll make it, keep your mind on the end goal and the years will fly by.

    Tips for prospective students

    Nursing students: come with an open mind and the understanding that change is good. The nursing program right now is making several changes and is becoming more student focused and the idea of ensuring you are the best nurse you can be! The nursing demonstrations will seem like the worst part, failing the bed-making skill does not mean you are going to be a bad nurse. Have fun, it's only four years of your life!

    In three sentences

    Marian University offers a program where you are truly not a number but are a name. The small campus makes it a very comfortable and involved environment to be a part of. The nursing faculty is dedicated to ensuring that you become the best nurse you can be and are excited to join you on this special journey of your life.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    do not dine there except for lunch occasionally, expensive.

    Dorm Life

    do not live in dorm

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to check out all the degrees that are offered and select the one you truly want to do and not something someone else has suggested.

    In three sentences

    Very good university. You feel as if you are not a number but an important part of the university. The professors are very interested in your future.

  • 06/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is excellent. The security team really takes their jobs seriously. There are poles all around campus for emergency use. If it is late at night and you parked far away, they don't hesitate to walk you to your vehicle or find an escort for you.

    What to do for fun

    Fond du Lac itself has a great night life going on. There is adequate shopping in the town or in towns close by. Campus wise - Get in there, open up. Don't be shy. All it takes is saying Hi to one person that sits next to you. Attend campus events, make friends. College is an experience so enjoy it!

    Food and Dining

    The campus completely redesigned their dining areas and the food is good. Not too far from campus are a few different dining options such as Taco Bell, McDonalds, Subway, or even other sit down restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    I personally don't live on campus, but I have friends who do and they have no complaints. Rooms are nice.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are all beneficial to a student's learning. The professors help make learning fun. True, some give more assignments or papers than others, but there seems to be a balance despite the amounts of work assigned. Marian's online courses are well developed.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are a first year, take the general courses first and definitely take the First year seminar. Being a transfer student, I didn't have to take this course and I believe I suffered a bit for it. The seminar course prepares you for writing papers at a college level and gives you a good introduction into college life. Also join one of the many extracurricular clubs that the University has going on. There is a club for just about every major at the University.

    In three sentences

    Accommodating. Friendly. Inspiring. Marian has helped me from the moment I took the campus tour two years ago up until my current enrollment in the school. We all have things come up in our lives and Marian made it easy to find courses and a program that would benefit my schedule.

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is pretty safe. The campus is small, and security has a phone awaiting calls if there is a situation.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is rather limited because of the small school size. However, the three sororities and two fraternities do make the most of what they have!

    Clubs and Activities

    There is something for everyone, as long as the student keeps an open mind. Joining clubs is the best way to make friends who could very well be your friends forever.

    Great for these types of students

    Marian is great for many types of students. Typically I see very outgoing students or very achievement oriented students enjoying their time here the best.

    Bang for the buck

    I love this school. No matter where you go, you cannot find professors who care like this that will put the time into your education to ensure that you are learning. The focus on critical thinking is very effective for life- this school not only teaches the cirriculum, but life skills.

    What to do for fun

    Shopping, movie theatre, and joining clubs and organizations.

    Food and Dining

    Well, It is food. It is not overly gross nor is it overly extravagant.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is what you make it. Some buildings are drastically better than others. Overall, decent furnishings and means for entertainment. Students in dorms are typically very outgoing- thus to make the most of this one must come with an open mind.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor depends on the program. Some programs are much larger and have less academic support. Some programs are quite small and professors generously give their time. Overall, classes are progressively more difficult. Freshman classes are very different than the core cirriculum.

    Tips for prospective students

    A little bit of effort goes a long way. Professors notice more in these small classes- and appreciate effort. You are more likely to get good conciderate help based on your initial effort.

    In three sentences

    Marian is the most intimate campus I could have imagined. Professors actually care about you here, and truly want to help you to success.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Marian University works hard to strive hard to keep their students and campus safe. They are constantly sending out email and updates to keep the campus aware of things going on in the city and areas surrounding the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Even though Marian University is an expensive private college it is worth the money. The education they give is worth the time and money. They take pride in giving their students the best quality education possible.

    What to do for fun

    For fun there is a lot of clubs and groups to join that have different outings and activities to keep all students entertained.

    Food and Dining

    From the food that I have experienced on campus it has been very good. They have a delicious sub shop that is available with money that is on all student's ID cards.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live in the dorms here.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor for my program is quite hard, but as long as one stays on top of their school work and studying it isn't too bad. I feel confident that I will be able to do well and succeed at what I put my mind to.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective Students should really give this university a try. At first I was a bit hesitant, but I have now really enjoyed the wide variety of help and resources the campus offers.

    In three sentences

    Marian University is a small school, which took a little bit to get use to but having a use to it small university is really a blessing in disguise. The small school although I was not use to the size has been very good for me, the professors are available to give individual attention and have time to meet with you whenever you need it. They have many open office hours and work with you until you are able to succeed in the area you may be struggling in.

  • 09/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safe in my dorm and walking on the campus. There are safety poles to call for help and security is patrolling the campus. I stay aware of my surroundings, just in case.

    Greek Life

    Have not had time to investigate, but, it is active on the campus. Hopefully, will be able to investigate later. Plan to ask others.

    Clubs and Activities

    A lot of clubs and activities, if you have time. I have chosen to work and don't have a lot of time. Other students try to get you to join the clubs and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Gifted, friendly and have money.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Snack bar, library and dorm rooms.

    Bang for the buck

    This is my first time away from home and I am enjoying it. It is expensive and not enough scholarships available to help my parents pay the tuition. Thank God for a job!

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with my friends. Join the activities available. My campus job allows me to interact with other students on a daily basis.

    Food and Dining

    Food is not up to the level I enjoy. Prices are expensive. Not enough choices on campus and no close off site restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    Have to get use to having a roommate as I am an only child. Did not take long to fit in with others in the Dorm. My room at home is bigger than my dorm room.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes have been easy, but, know class work will be harder as the year progresses. I am learning. Work is challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be courteous to everyone. Speak or smile at everyone. Be willing to go outside of your comfort zone and join in activities/clubs.

    In three sentences

    Like Marian because they want you to be part of the family. Students are friendly. Dorm far from the main campus.

  • 09/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Somethings to do for fun is to go to the gym, talk to other people in the lounge and shop at the local Wal-Mart.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not very good. Although, they give you snack points to eat around the campus restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life totally depends on which facility you choose to be. Naber Hall is not the best place to be but it holds most of the Freshmen, the Courtyards, Townhouses, and Complex Apartments are awesome!

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips for students would be to stay focused, engage in activites, and meet new people!

    In three sentences

    Marian University is a small college which allows students to meet new people. In addition, it allows them to connect with the teachers more. Finally, student life is awesome!

  • 10/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always at hand and you can go to them anytime about anything.

    Greek Life

    I am not a part of greek life because of my schedule, but you may be. Marian fots all kinds of students.

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty to be involved in.

    Great for these types of students

    Liberal Arts interests. Students that wnat to know more about why thigns work the way they do. We have a huge nursing team here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The church is on campus and it is completely round.

    Bang for the buck

    They will teach you want you want and need to know and give you and advantage over most universities.

    What to do for fun

    Marian hosts several activities and so do the many groups involved in campus social events.

    Food and Dining

    the food is great and the choices are plenty.

    Dorm Life

    I have heard it is okay, I do not live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    If you do the work you will see the grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet with advisors right away, look for fellow students in the same major as yourself. Learn something new that you never would have been interested in before.

    In three sentences

    Marian focuses on the student and helping them learn through critical thinking skills. Marian has all the resourses students need to become sucessful in their college career. I love being a Sabre and Marian will give me an advantage towards my career goals.

  • 10/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many fun and exciting events to participate in on campus. One can either do intramural sports sch as flag football or beach volley ball, or they can go to the fall soccer games with a friend or two. Additionally, Midnight Madness occurs a few Wednesday nights a month, allowing students to participate in activities such as Zumba, Bingo, or Game Show Night.

    Food and Dining

    At Marian, there is a main cafeteria dining option that includes a pizza/sandwich station, a family style main course option, and an oriental station. There is also a salad bar. In addition to the cafeteria, there is a sandwich shop/coffeehouse combo located on campus. Both of these options offer delicious foods at a low price.

    Dorm Life

    For the most part, the dorms are relatively quiet. Of course, there is the occasional rowdy party, but it is a relatively reserved style of residence life.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are not just too difficult if one takes the time and effort to learn and understand the material. The professors are more than willing to assist the student with any difficulties they may have in the class. Study groups are also available to the students as well as learning center services.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't disregard Marian just because of its small student population; the small class size contributes to its grand sense of community and provides a delightfully welcoming atmosphere for everyone.

    In three sentences

    Marian University offers a quality learning atmosphere in which the individual can further explore their individuality and take part in interesting campus events such as a hypnotist show, Big Band in the spring and various social events. Marian also has a small class size which enhances the learning experiences because of the more personal setting.

  • 10/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there is emergency poles all over the campus and security is always walking around. the RA's help and have sceduled nights where they walk around the campus trying to keep the peace.

    What to do for fun

    I hang out with my friends and we watch movies or go to another house. i play volleyball on the court for fun and it is out side the dorms.

    Food and Dining

    The food doesn't always taste the greatest and the eggs are green, i usually just eat the pizza, ice cream, or fries.

    Dorm Life

    The second floor has people that throw tables and chairs around, they are always loud and drunk. The first floor has all this gossip and two faced people, usually they are high and drunk. Lastly, the floor that I am on is the only all girl floor, there is so much drama because people are two-faced where they will pretend to be your friend and talk bad about you to everyone else. there are people that i thought were my friends but i found out they are the ones that started the rumors.

    Academic Rigor

    academics are great because they are at a difficulty where you should try hard and not slack off.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would only recommend this college if you do not care about having a social life because that seems like it is the best way to survive.

    In three sentences

    I think the school is great with academics. One of my professors said that they hate freshmen and they are glad that they do not have to teach any next semester. This does not feel like college it feels like high school with all the immaturity, rumors, and drama that is going around.

  • 11/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Not a fan of the food on campus. They need more of a variety.

    Dorm Life

    Do not live on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    You may not agree that you have to take the basic classes but you would be surprised at how those classes help open your eyes to new perspectives of learning.

    In three sentences

    Very versatile in the offerings of classes and times. Helps you to evolve into the person that you want to be with the help from mentors and professors. Willingness to help you and provide you with resources if you live off campus and if you have a family.

  • 12/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Plenty of security if you need them.

    Greek Life

    They offer so many events that are open to everyone. There is always something fun going on.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs that offer a variety for every student. They get you involved with your school and community.

    Great for these types of students

    This school fits all student types. Whether you need smaller classes to get the one on one or if you are more independant there is something for everyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I know of.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is a little more costly but I feel it is worth it. There is a lot of one on one teaching if you need it and you don't get lost in the shuffle.

    What to do for fun

    There are always new activies to do on campus from comedians, to bands and karaoke.

    Food and Dining

    Good food selection and variety.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are small but the courtyards are amazing.

    Academic Rigor

    Great variety and levels for all academic abilities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to all your classes. Take notes. Find someone to study with.

    In three sentences

    The staff at the entire college is great. Great class selections. Class sizes are perfect.

  • 12/26/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    20 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    lots

    Bang for the buck

    Sticker price is a lot but they give you a lot of financial aid.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of clubs and activities for everyone.

    Food and Dining

    I haven't eaten on campus but they have a very nice meal plan where you punch your number in once and can come in and out all day and get as much as you want.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are amazing I am contracted to stay in a courtyard apartment style dorm, but the regular dorms in Naber hall are really nice as well.

    Academic Rigor

    I am not really sure, because I am not studying there yet,. From what I have heard they are very helpful and want you to do well

    In three sentences

    A great place to be, filled with positive and helpful people who want to get to know you and help you get to where you want to go in life!

  • 12/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is monitored 24*7 by securities and has a very safe and secure environment for their students.

    Greek Life

    Marian lets he students establish, under supervision various sororities and fraternities which help students thrive different ways on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Marian offer from various academic clubs to sports clubs.

    What to do for fun

    Sports and clubs are always there to make the campus fun.

    Food and Dining

    Marian offers meal plans and the meal plan has a healthy, nutritious menu for you.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is very comfortable and enjoyable, because everyone around you are friendly and even if you don't feel the same way, the RAs are always there to help out.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically, Marian University challenges you and will definitely help you reach great heights.

    In three sentences

    You will be inspired. You will learn great things. You will be always occupied.

  • 01/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You have activities that the campus ministry sets up and you can make up your own actitivies .

    Food and Dining

    The food here is great ! The only time it wont be so great is when it the weekend and no one is really around to come into the cafe .

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is good here and it has rules . But sometimes you won't really like the rules . After 10pm, we have quiet hours of weekdays and on the weekends its 1am

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay involved with one or two one the side activities . You don't want to be in just your studies .

    In three sentences

    Marian University is a great school that has teachers and academic advisers that will help you strive for success . This is a private school , very convenient for those who doesn't want to leave Milwaukee . From a scale of 1-10 , Ill give Marian a 8

  • 01/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of great clubs but if you want one that actually does things and is a blast to be a part of, join SMA!

    Great for these types of students

    Committed and goal driven.

    Bang for the buck

    The education is worth it, but the food, dorms, and activities are not.

    What to do for fun

    Meet people and learn to make your own fun.

    Food and Dining

    Get a room with a kitchen. The cafeteria food is not great and not worth the money.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice but get a tv and radio. THe rooms are small and there is hardly anything to do on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Marian University is very challenging academically. For my field I appreciate that the faculty has been and still is actively performing in the field.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not wait more than one week to get a tutor if there is a chance you will need one. Learn to cook and live in a residence that has a kitchen because the cafeteria does not have that great of options and they tend to be repetitive. Get a job if you don't have a full ride.

    In three sentences

    Marian University is a great college when it comes to the academics. The faculty is committed to assisting all students with success. Marian University provides great internship opportunities.

  • 01/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is great. They will come and open classroom doors for like art students to finish work until 10:00 p.m. They also will come to any building or dorm hall to walk you to your car or dorm if you don't feel safe.

    Greek Life

    Greek life I hear is great, but I'm not apart of it.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is clubs from Math⪼ience to Black Student Union and campus ministries. I'm personally apart of campus ministry.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is not anything unusual really. The campus is Catholic based so one tradition we do is have mass in our chapel.

    What to do for fun

    Play basketball on the out/in door court. You also have a sandy volleyball court. Then there is midnight madness which consist of activities such as glow in the dark zumba, movie night in auditorium, prized bingo etc.

    Food and Dining

    Food has it's selections but personly I feel it can much better.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great!We have programs and different games in our hall.

    Academic Rigor

    Marian can be hard for freshman if you slack on work and don't take control your time management. Just like any well known college the academics get harder every year and if you don't put in the time and effort you will fail.

    In three sentences

    Marian is a 8 on a ten scale. I choose 8 because I love a smaller college because students recieve more one on one time with teachers and there is a lot of help from tutors and specialist in math, english and science. I just can't stand the wifi because sometimes it won't work and you have to sign in every couple of hours.

  • 02/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends and attend school events.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of your studies and if you have the chance to get ahead, do it.

    In three sentences

    Marian University is a great community based, private college. I have developed great personal and professional relationships here. It is one of the best colleges in the U.S.

  • 02/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a lot to do on Marian campus. Marian has so many lounges where students and their friends can hang out. Tournaments are created by students in all sports. Marian has rallies where they give door prizes such as signed jerseys, I pad�s, and flat screen TV�s away. Every year Marian puts on a big concert where a famous artist comes to perform for students and the community. Last year Gym Class Heroes came and performed their number singles. The campus is always giving students great deals on nearby places. They give out free games at the bowling alley, coupons to stores in and out the mall, $2 passes to the movies, and many other great deals. They also have movie night on campus where students and friends can gather and watch a movie while free popcorn and other snacks are provided. They have club fairs where different clubs can recruit new members. The clubs sponsor great activities such as polar plunging, parties, and cookouts. It is a lot of fun things to do on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Marian rewards their student every semester with sixty free dining points. The students can spend them in Common Grounds, Erbert And Gerberts or Uno�s. Common Grounds is coffeehouse where student can purchase tasty treats and Starbucks quality espressos, lattes, smoothies and coffees. Erbert And Gerbert is a sandwich shop where students can get the best subs ever made in front of them. Uno�s is a pizza parlor that is opened late for the midnight snackers. They have the best milkshakes by the way. Marian also provides their students with different meal deals or points. These deals can only be used in the cafeteria. The cafeteria provides breakfast, lunch, and dinner. It is also opened on certain hours during the weekend. The cafeteria cooks variety of food from all around the world. Each day there is something new to eat even the salad bar change.

    Dorm Life

    It is fun to live on campus. They have different areas on campus where students can choose to live. The freshman is required to live in Nabre, but Marian has the Courtyards, townhouses, and Duplexes. This is an old campus so something�s might be out dated but not too outdated. Everyone on campus is very polite and respectful. Students come from all over the world, so student learn many different things from house or roommates. Marian allows student s to select who they want to be their roommate. The rooms are a little small. A stove, refrigerators, cable and many other appliances are provided by Marian for students. Marian is a very safe place. They have security on duty 24 hours each and every day. There are emergency alarms around the whole campus and security is very quick to respond to an incident. Living on campus is very fun and student makes plenty of new friends each day.

    Academic Rigor

    Students can pass their courses with flying colors if they use the resources that are provided by the campus. The most difficult thing in any course is reading. Students should read a chapter ahead in order to keep up. Some lectures can be really lengthy but if the student can be alert and present in each class they most likely will pass the course. Another challenging thing is time management students should use their time wisely and study for quizzes and exams. Getting help is another important thing. If a student is struggling they should not be afraid to set up meetings and use other free resources Marian provides. Students can attend study group to help with understanding things they are struggling with. If student learn the information good enough to teach someone else then they should be very successful at Marian University.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would encourage them to come to Marian. The Professors are really great at teaching and loves to help their students. Instead of standing in front of the class lecturing boring notes, they find activities pertaining to what they are teaching to make it fun and easier to learn. The classrooms are very small so students are able to interact with Professors during lecture. Students can set up meetings with their Professor if extra help is needed. Marian provides many free programs such as the writing center and tutors to help students if they are struggling in specific areas. For freshman Marian provides student with a Gene 101 class. This class helps introduce the student to college life it teaches them critical thinking and other things that would help them. This class also provides their mentors. Marian provides different work opportunities for their students. There are plenty of clubs, programs, and events that the campus set up to entertain their students. Every week something is going on for example free bowling games and free movies night. They also give students plenty of deals like if a book a student need is cheaper at another store student can bring a print out and the bookstore will match the price.

    In three sentences

    On a scale form one to ten I would rate Marian University as a seven. They provide smaller classrooms so student can experience a one on one relationship with Professors. They are very interested helping their students succeed.

  • 05/24/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    27 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    A very friendly environment, especially good for someone like me who is not especially geared for large campus life.

  • 08/12/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    28 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Athletics

    Food and Dining

    repetitive

    Dorm Life

    Many people leave on weekend

    Academic Rigor

    Intro classes fairly easy

    Tips for prospective students

    Admissions very helpful

    In three sentences

    Small college. For students looking to commute. Great opportunity to play sports.

  • 08/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter

    In three sentences

    I transferred to Marian for a specific program but after taking some prereqs I realized that I needed to further explore my options. The professors are truly passionate about what they teach and work to make every student's experience unique. I am looking forward to finishing my degree at Marian!

  • 10/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This is a tough subject, the repercussions for somethings are basically slaps on the wrists, and others a tad bit over dramatic. The actual security guards, are very sociable and nice though, and try their hardest, just Marian upper officials, care more about money than students well being, emotionally, mentally, and all around.

    Greek Life

    Its pretty secluded, I haven't really heard much about it yet, other than they seem friendly, the sororities that is, and they do Halloween baskets, and birthday cakes that your parents can send you which is really cute.

    Clubs and Activities

    All of the clubs seem like alot of time killers, like paperwork and basically not fun.

    Great for these types of students

    If you have a car, and have money then its perfect, if not no!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing special!

    Bang for the buck

    Is most certainly not worth the $32,000, even though the price tag reads 31,050 it is incorrect. You will pay fees like new student fee, and general fees that really dont go to anything other than the school, and get very repeatative!

    What to do for fun

    There are clubs, however in my opinion, they are not that great. All they consist of is community service and paperwork, nothing really fun. There is really nothing to do at Marian unless you have a car, or can walk a long distance in the day to get to the YMCA.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not the best. They charge us somewhere around $3500 for food, that is not the best quality! The other day in my mashed potatos, I found a whole potato, but I guess I can complain, at least they are real.

    Dorm Life

    I live in a Courtyard Penthouse as they call it, and I love it. There are only 6 of us in our little house, and it is wonderful! The dorms look terrible and seem terrible, try for a courtyard!

    Academic Rigor

    The first semester that I have been here, I haven't had many classes, while others have been swamped. Just make sure you balance social life with work and homework. They tend to give out busy work that is petty your first year.

    Tips for prospective students

    I want any prospective students to tour Marian at least three times, like I did, also do not only talk to your student tour guide, talk to other students. Make sure that you know what you want to do when you come here, and also stay on top of scholarships, you need them! Lastly, I am bored out of my mind so have a job, and CAR!!!!!

    In three sentences

    Marian University sells itself, I fell in love with the very friendly people, and the small environment. The campus is and people are nice however the food is not as good as was expected, and the box elder bugs are annoying. I think that yes there are some professors here willing to help others are not, but are just trying to teach and be done, they do not necessarily care.

  • 02/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've never had a problem feeling safe on campus. There are security poles all around campus for emergencies and RAs patrol at night too. I have never had a problem on campus. I have however heard of things being stolen, but that can happen anywhere, you just have to be smart about things.

    Greek Life

    Like I have said before I am a part of Kappa Beta Gamma one of the three sororities we have here on campus. I, of course, love Greek life, but I know it is not foir everyone. Here at Marian Greek life is like any other club. You go to meetings, hold fundraisers, do community service, plan events, and hang out with people like yourself. I will say that Greek life is not exactly like all organizations though. As sorority women we are taking on leadership roles to better our organization. We plan many events and offer many community service hours. Greek life, I would say, is closer then any club on campus. In greek life the other members are not friends they're family.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many organizations on campus and more be added every semester. I am a part of many such as art club, environmental club, spectrum, sss/trio, family ties mentor, and Kappa Beta Gamma sorority. If you think you might not have the time for school work and an organization, trust me you do. I am a double major and have a minor, as well as a leadership position in my organizations, being a mentor, and maxing out with credits on top of that. I do all this plus more and am still able to find time to study and have a social life too. The organizations on campus are definetly worth your time.

    Great for these types of students

    Marians great for anyone really. It just depends on what you're looking to get out of your college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's not really anything unusual to me, but some spaces that can be forgotten are the office of student engagement, campus ministry and the duplexes. The owe is new, and campus ministry got moved across the street. The duplexes, where finanicial aid and the sororities are have always been across the street. People who are not in the sororities or do not have business with financial aid tend to forget that it's a part of campus too. As for traditions there is always a Christmas and thanksgiving dinner/celebration, as well as big band.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel like what you learn hand the people you interact with is definetly worth it. On the other hand the material things you get is not. You do not get enough room or quality food. Half the time I feel as though my money is being wasted on pointless stuff. For example, Marian replaced the patio furniture. One there was nothing g wrong with the furniture. Two the old ones looked better and where harder to destroy. Sometimes I feel like Marian waste money on what they want instead of what the students want. What we really need are more dorm spaces and more student spaces.

    What to do for fun

    Honestly it all depends on what you like to do. For me there's not really a lot going on so I mainly end up hang in out with friends watching movies. I do love when Marian has comedians come or mentalists. However, I am not big on the other events like zumba. Overall Marian has a wide variety of types of events and does not really have an event consistantly. For example, kareoke used to be once a week like every Friday. I personally enjoyed the fact that the event on Friday was always the same. I am not saying it had to be kareoke, but I liked the consistency of it.

    Food and Dining

    Okay the food has gotten better since last year, but that's not saying much. Any place other than the cafeteria is fine. The cafeteria or as known on campus as the HSC has little variety, not much of a selection in healthy foods/fruits, and the list can go on. Last semester I can honestly say over half the time I took pizza it was literally raw. I'm pleased to say that is not the case anymore, but overall they need to do some upgrading.

    Dorm Life

    I personally love living so close to all my friends without my parents around. I do, however, dislike the space available for some dorms though. It seems like freshmen dorms are the biggest and each year they came you into smaller and smaller spaces. I also wish my RAs would have tried to get more involved with their residents. I personally did not want to join anything, but my friend dragged me with her to some event and I ended up joining. You never know when you might find where you best fit, so keep trying until it's perfect for you.

    Academic Rigor

    For me the workload is not that hard, so long as I have the professor that best fit my learning style. If you are having trouble or are worried about a class there are many places one could go to seek help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips are to go to as many events as you can your freshman year before you get too much school work. Even if you do not think you will like it try it. Join some kind of club or organization on campus and get involved.

    In three sentences

    Overall the staff are so friendly and actually know your name. However, the campus experience, like food is not the best. They are working on updating activities, but it is just not the same since my freshman year.

  • 02/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    I don`t know really anything about our schools Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a club for almost every major. If you are an athlete there are many sports in which to become involved in. There are inter-murals.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who want to succeed and be actively involved not only at school but also in the community.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    For every holiday, like Christmas, Thanksgiving, Halloween, and Valentines day. The cafeteria does something special. They play music or watch old movies that correlate with the holiday, and they make a special dessert that also goes along with the holiday. For example on Valentines day they had a cookie designer, that frosted cookies for everyone.

    Bang for the buck

    Don`t count out private schools. They have a lot of opportunities for large scholarships.

    What to do for fun

    There are many sporting events throughout the year. Different clubs sponsor different music events, hypnotists, and speakers. There are many clubs to join.

    Food and Dining

    For school food it is pretty good. We also get 60 points with equates to $60 for free on our ID card every semester to use at our coffee shop/cafe or our snack center called the HUB.

    Dorm Life

    For freshmen there are three different options for housing. If you are very sociable the normal dorms would be great for you. If you like a little more space and to have more peace and quite the courtyards are the place for you.

    Academic Rigor

    You will be pushed, but if you stay on top of your homework you will succeed. If you need extra help, we have awesome tutors and a writing center that can help you in any subject.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep your grades up in High School. Don`t be afraid to apply to your dream school.

    In three sentences

    It is a wonderful school. The teachers care about you and are there for your success. The school also has many activities to keep a student busy.