Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Marietta College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/03/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 out of 18 people found this review useful. 1 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone can fit in, do well, and achieve their goals at Marietta, you just have to do it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do yourself a favor and just apply, see what happens.

    Bang for the buck

    Don't let the tuition fool you. Over 95% of the students here get some kind of aid from the college. And its worth it anyway, the people are great, the professors are ridiculously intelligent, and not to be cliche, but the city of Marietta is quite charming, as is the campus itself.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love the people, I love the city, I love the campus, and I love the activities that go on throughout the year. Finding a way to enjoy yourself in Marietta is the easiest part of the transition from high school.

    Am learning a lot

    Professors are professors for a reason, and the ones at Marietta are by and large very good teachers as well. Knowledgeable and passionate about their subject matter, the only thing stopping an ambitious student from learning from them is laziness or complacency.

  • 10/16/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 2 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It's great for almost all types of students. It is a very competitive school though, if your just going to school for fun it might be challenging. If you are someone who did have a lot of trouble in high school there are programs to help you though and lots of people attend them so you don't need to worry about feeling dumb for being tutored.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go on a overnight visit if you can, that's pretty much how I made my decision.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a little expensive but you get a lot here. Like free laundry! All events are free to students too. They offer students a lot. All campus is wi-fi.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love it here. The student body is so diverse that it is easy to find a friend and you never have to try to fit it. There are lots of events that the college hosts regularly.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors here are all really helpful, they all give you their office hours the first day if you need any extra help. Some even give you there cell phone numbers if you need help with homework. Marietta also has lots of tutoring programs to help for free.

  • 12/16/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Marietta College is great for students who want to become strong leaders in the world. Students who want to study abroad during their college years will find that Marietta College offers many (and I mean many) opportunities to study abroad in different countries. If a student wants to create strong relationships with fellow classmates and professors, then this college is right for them!

    Tips for prospective students

    Marietta College is a place where you get what you put into it. I am currently involved academically and non-academically. This college thrives on teaching students about leadership and culture. The college is also highly involved in community service throughout the year. If this sounds like the type of place for you, then I encourage you to apply and to come and see the college for yourself!

    Bang for the buck

    Marietta College, being a private school, is expensive. The college relies heavily on donations from alumni and other philanthropists. There are many scholarships and grants that are given to students who are enrolled in the college. I must say that even though this college is expensive, I cannot complain about the friends that I have made and the professors that I have worked with.

    Am enjoying being here

    Marietta College was the only school that I could see myself at. I love how close the campus is with their students. In addition to being highly involved on campus, I have gotten to know a lot of people and have made lasting relationships with friends.

    Am learning a lot

    While at Marietta College, all my professors have a PhD. in their fields. Not only do the professors just stand at the front of the classroom and lecture for 50 minutes, but they get to know their students and try and help them succeed inside and outside of the classroom. A lot of the professors at Marietta College use their own personal experiences to teach their students an try to engage their students in critical thinking and

  • 05/24/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved early, stay on campus as much as possible, if you are in a relationship don't let it prevent you from branching out and meeting a lot of really awesome people, go through recruitment and see if greek life is for you, look into the honors and leadership programs, and most importantly, keep an open mind throughout your college experience.

    Bang for the buck

    Although expensive, Almost everyone I know is receiving financial aid. Despite the cost, you really do get what you pay for in this world. College is really less about being in the classroom as it is about the experience. Never again will you be young and able to get this kind of experience. This is worth all the money in the world to me.

    Am enjoying being here

    There are smiles all around on this campus. There is always something to do here, and one my biggest problems is that I don't have the time to do everything that I want to do outside of class. This is a good problem to have. Greek life is excellent and volunteerism is a big part of our campus.

    Am learning a lot

    My biggest class this past semester was 16 students. I do not have the option of fading into the wallpaper of the classroom, I am expected to be prepared every day, and if I am not, my professors know it. Being in such small classes has challenged me to be on top of my game every day and has put pressure on me to succeed and stand out even more.

  • 11/01/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Marietta College is a great place for students who are very active. There are a lot of opportunities, but students have to be aware and take advantage of them. It's also good for students who have a variety of academic interests. I came in with no idea of what I wanted to major in. Marietta College allowed me to sample a different areas to see what I really wanted.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come for a visit! It's the best way to see how you feel about a college. It will also give you a good understanding of life on campus. However, make sure to bring an umbrella. It can rain a lot here.

    Bang for the buck

    My education here at Marietta has been worth every bit I've paid for it. I receive a great deal of financial aid, as do the majority of my friends. The staff in the financial aid department are very helpful. There are plenty of scholarships and grants available. The education here and experience outside the class room has been truly beneficial.

    Am enjoying being here

    Marietta College is a great place to be. The people here are wonderful! I have found a wonderful group of friends and people who share similar interests with me. There are so many opportunities to be involved in whatever raises your interest. There is always something going on. Marietta is a very historical town, so there are neat tourist activities. It is also close enough to Parkersburg WV, Pittsburgh PA and Columbus OH to make day trips.

    Am learning a lot

    I love that Marietta College is a Liberal Arts school. It allows me to broaden my horizons and learn about a variety of my interests as opposed to strictly sticking with my major. The professors here are fantastic and always willing to give a helping hand! There is also a lot of learning outside of the classroom through internships, study abroad, and volunteer opportunities.

  • 05/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Marietta is a very safe campus, currently we are in the process of keeping our campus police force on campus (student lead after talks of abolishing their presence). Also, students are supporting an armed officer initiative that will enable our campus police to protect students and keep the campus free of any serious threats (currently not allowed to be armed). Our students are aware of horrible campus fatalities such as VT and we have every intention of protecting ourselves and our campus.

    Greek Life

    Yes. I have chosen not to join, but the Greek organizations at Marietta are well represented and do great community work.

    Clubs and Activities

    Greek life, political groups, religious groups, industry groups, sporting recreation and fan groups, there is bound to be a group for people of all types at Marietta College

    Great for these types of students

    Social, hard working, outgoing and opinionated.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Doo-Dah Day is epic. I can not describe it, but most everyone on campus can agree that a couple weeks before final exams in the spring is diagnosed by a good ole doo-dah day.

    Bang for the buck

    In my own experience, I have had three internships as a petroleum engineer in three years. I have seen the dividends pay out and because we are such a small college, alumni ties are strong and usually pay off in the way of internships and connections.

    What to do for fun

    Golf, recreation, bars.

    Food and Dining

    Food is amazing on the first visit. But, the day to day eating can get a little old. Definitely not the worst, but not the best.

    Dorm Life

    All of Marietta's students must live on campus all four years unless there are special circumstances. I have enjoyed every year because of the large living communities where fun is inevitable.

    Academic Rigor

    Small class sizes and a demanding load of general education credits makes Marietta a college where an absence of work can not go undetected. Additionally, Marietta was called the Harvard of the mid-west in the Princeton Review 2011.

    Tips for prospective students

    As I said before, get involved! Meet people that you might not usually meet and become integrated in the diversity and excitement that occurs on campus every day.

    In three sentences

    Marietta is a great place for a student that is outgoing and loves to get involved. The key to a great college career at Marietta is to be involved early and often.

  • 12/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Dedicated, open-minded, responsible, and adaptable students are suitable for Marietta College.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are attending the college that is right for you, not your parents. I understand money is always an issue, but there are ways around it. This is where you are going to be for 4 years of your life; why waste time at a place you will not be completely happy at? It is not only about the educational aspects, as well as environmental aspects.

    Bang for the buck

    Marietta College is a bit expensive, but I have complete faith that it is a great investment for me. The food service is a bit ridiculous. Other than that, I am pleased with what I am paying for.

    Am enjoying being here

    The environment of Marietta College is impeccable. I have never been anywhere else so friendly and open. I feel right at home and would never imagine myself anywhere else. It is a feeling that is hard to describe. Once you walk on this campus, you will know what I am talking about.

    Am learning a lot

    I am being challenged academically each and every day. The assignments are difficult but not overwhelming. I know that the topics I am learning will be applicable somehow in the real world. I am happy to say that Marietta College is the college that I am receiving my education from.

  • 02/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    greek life at marietta is an amazing thing

    What to do for fun

    join greek life and there is always fun things going on.

    Tips for prospective students

    be ready to work hard, and make sure you're ready to spend that much on an education

    In three sentences

    a very nice campus with pleasant staff. a wide variety of majors and minors are offered. small campus with lots of activities.

  • 05/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    What's cool is that there is always something to do on campus. We always have a ton of events for any interest. Some events (such as theater performances, music concerts, etc.) are free for MC students and staff.

    Food and Dining

    The service sometimes can be a bit slow, but I always get what I need when I need it.

    Dorm Life

    It can get a little noisy at times, but I've become so used to it, that it doesn't really bother me. I'm mostly the quiet, keep-to-myself kind of person, so that's how I'm able to get used to the noise.

    Academic Rigor

    It can get a bit overwhelming at times, but if I start on something right away, it won't seem so terrible. What's great is that I can always go to my professors, and they will help me should I need it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make the most out of everything here. The professors are here to help you. Get to know people. Since the campus is somewhat on the small side, this should be an easy task. You might meet people who share the same interests as you. Try to get involved with the different activities.

    In three sentences

    Marietta feels like the towns one would see in a classic film: sprawling green lawns, squirrels running around, etc. The atmosphere is quaint, and I feel like its a home away from home. I like how close everything is on campus (I don't have to go far to get to my classes, etc).

  • 06/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There have been no problems with campus safety at any point in time I have been at the school.

    Greek Life

    There are only a few options compared to larger schools.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs on campus that put on campus-wide activities. If none of those suit you, it is very easy to start any club you want.

    Great for these types of students

    Small atmospheres, and with a close nit group of friends. I feel as though I know almost everyone in the school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are several different traditions on campus. I will highlight one as Doo Dah Day a fun filled day of mud volleyball along with different inflatables.

    Bang for the buck

    Although it is expensive, with scholarships and fininacial aid it becomes more affordable. The small classes and opprotunites in your career field make it understandable why it is expensive.

    What to do for fun

    There is always a sport playing on the weekends. Most students stay for the weekends allowing for a good time to hang out with all of your friends and to unwind from the long week.

    Food and Dining

    The food is ok, some places are better than others. They are trying to expand the options.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are small, just like at every other college. It's what you make of it, I made some great friends in the dorms and it allows you to get very close with people quickly. Laundry is free which is a nice luxury compared to most colleges.

    Academic Rigor

    It is challenging but not impossible, it takes disipline to do all of the work and turn it in on time. In high school, I wasn't a very organized person but in college that doesn't fly, get organized it will pay off. The studying and homework will take more time than you have ever put in but it will pay off with good grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved, it will make your whole college experience more enjoyable and you will meet friends for life there. Make friends in your classes, they may be able to understand things you were not able to. Take advantage of tutors or study halls, they are free a part of the college, the tutors are proven in that class to excel and excited to help.

    In three sentences

    The small classes allow ample amount of one on one time with your professors many of them give out their cell phones numbers allowing many opportunities to reach them. The campus is small allowing short trips to get to class, but you also have the chance to get a reputation on campus since there not many students.

  • 06/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Many campus activities, along with being around friends on the weekends, or attending athletic events, even intramural's.

    Food and Dining

    New dining coming to campus.

    Dorm Life

    Brand new dorms going in with state of the art rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    Small class sizes, great one on one interactions with professors outside of classroom. All classes are taught by Professors and not teacher assistants.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a tour of the campus and sit in on a class, and ask current students how they like the school.

    In three sentences

    Is a great town and excellent environment to attend college. It has a small town atmosphere with a big school feel.

  • 07/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Police are always seen around and they are so friendly that asking them for help is not hard at all. Campus police are concerned with the safety of the students and the student's accordance with rules and regulations. The blue light system around campus would be easy to use if ever there were an emergency. Campus police gives out their number and they are just a call and about a 2 minutes-wait away. From flooding to stray dogs, campus police is definitely present and available. Dorms are equipped with magnetized key card locks that lock automatically when the door is shut. Auxiliary doors have alarms on them if they are propped for too long.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is quite available to students and is rather popular on campus. Their presence is strong but not participating in no way ostracizes an individual. There are three national sororities, one local sorority and three national fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs and activities are so easy to join. Usually there is a day where each group sets up a stand on the Mall and putting down your email gets you in the know with what's going on in each group and you can sign up for as many as you want. Student participation is imperative for the success and the experience of the group, as they are often entirely student-run. There are opportunities to start clubs if there is nothing that caters to a specific activity with just a few people and an appeal to the college student senate for funding and recognition.

    Great for these types of students

    Marietta is great for any kind of student because it has so many diverse groups, clubs and teams that anyone can feel accepted once they find their niche.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year we have Doo Dah Day, which is a campus-wide stress-relief fun day before finals in April. The college and students arrange activities like ultimate frisbee tournaments, mud volleyball tournaments, other competitions and rent blow-up bouncers of all kinds. The foodservice is an outdoor barbecue and everyone has a great time all day. The Mall is the main vein of the college - it is a brick walkway that used to be the continuation of Fifth Street. The college finally reached an accordance with the town to lay down brick and close it off to motorized vehicles. It is always a good place to meet people and a good point at which to rendezvous.

    Bang for the buck

    Involving yourself in activities on campus is critical to not feel the hit for how many bucks you have to pay. The campus is constantly moving - constantly renovating and building - so in the grand scheme of things, the money comes back to enhance the life on campus and academics that are offered. As tuition was raised this past year, so was a multi-million dollar dorm building with a food service and health center and new parking lot. These kinds of changes are significant and remind us that we are paying quite a bit, but the school is doing good things for the students.

    What to do for fun

    The athletic events are always energetic and good events to attend. The recreation center has free weights, weight machines, basketball courts, a track, and squash courts. Students like to play flag football, soccer, football, and ultimate frisbee on the greens. There is a sand volleyball court that is always populated on sunny and warm days. Marietta is a calm town and has a bike and running trail along the water. Various clubs will arrange events at the Gathering Spot or in various locations on campus that are usually free to attend or ask for a donation in support of a cause. The Gathering Spot has pool tables, darts, ping-pong tables and TVs. Along with a snack bar, the Gathering Spot is always a good place to go and hang out. The YMCA is a five minute walk away and has a pool that is free to Marietta student when they show their Marietta ID.

    Food and Dining

    Marietta is constantly listening to students' reviews of the food service on campus. While there are few dining options, the variety is always there to never get bored with the selection. The quality of food is very good and the fresh food options are excellent. Eating healthy or vegetarian is not a problem; there are options for curly fries and burgers daily. Meal plans are flexible and cater to virtually every student.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at Marietta is excellent. Dorms are continually being updated and renovated to keep up with the changing world. Many students live on campus all four years, so the sense of community is strong. Floors become families and dorms are united. There is WiFi all across campus and in the dorms; free washing and drying for all your clothes, as often as you need (no rolls of quarters needed!); bathrooms are cleaned every day of the work-week. Quiet hours are respected and RAs are amiable. Choosing a dorm always brings a lot of excitement and talk to campus and changes are usually pretty easy to do.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor is what you want of it. Because Marietta is a liberal arts school and requires courses from all subject matter - science, philosophy, language, communication - to graduate, the academics will exert in ways that students may not necessarily be accustomed to. The idea is to stretch the mind out of its comfort zone to then become comfortable with other subjects outside any given major. As with any course, effort must be put in to see results, so five stars are awarded for academic rigor. There are opportunities to attend tutor sessions and office hours for extra help; there are opportunities to take honors and more demanding courses through academic and research honors. Marietta College helps you make what you want to of your college years, the rigor of the academics has a portion of its dependence on you. You are rewarded for your efforts and success with acceptance into prestigious academic societies, Dean's list, and scholarships.

    Tips for prospective students

    In searching for a college, do not doubt your ability to participate. Research the offerings available and consider the history of each group or club and do not assume you will not be interested in something that is a shining characteristic unique to a school: the McDonough Leadership Program. The experience you have is not necessarily dependent on the size of the school; the experience is dependent on your choices, who you meet, what you do with your free time and the friends you make and relationships you maintain. Marietta is located in a very small town and there is city life starting 45 minutes away, but the quaint town at the corner of the Ohio and Muskingum rivers is beautiful and aesthetic. While Marietta is a small liberal arts school, the powerhouse it is becoming with athletics and the variety it is adding in terms of courses available are not to be overlooked. There are opportunities at Marietta that you will have no where else like participation in Foreign Policy and Leadership conferences at the United States Naval Academy and service trips to Ghana.

    In three sentences

    Marietta is the diamond of the Ohio Valley with its New England style campus; the construction of new buildings - and renovation of old - continue to show its life for over 175 years. The tightly-knit student community is woven through participation in science clubs, student senate, collegiate and recreational athletics, work-study jobs, volunteer and leadership opportunities, Greek life, musical and theatrical participation and school-planned trips. Academics challenge students and students have plenty of opportunities to apply their knowledge to real-life problems, situations and projects; the liberal arts aspect of Marietta brings in sections of each sphere of academia to each student, leading to a richer and more fulfilling undergraduate experience.

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is actually one of the safest places around. All the officers are the most qualified in the area, not your weekend warriors or rent-a-cops.

    Greek Life

    The Greek Life is great and growing! two new chapters were added this last year. While a growing greek system can seem scary, it is not overwhelming, like any you will see on tv. There is unity between houses and greeks and non-greek. It can offer a lot of leadership and community service opportunities.

    Food and Dining

    while I am skeptical to writ this one yet, I am hoping the future food of Marietta College is much better. Food service provides have been changed out over this last summer and should create a great new change!

    Dorm Life

    There have been two new dorms finished lately as the school is growing in these economic hard times. While a dorm room is a dorm room the buildings are set up with activities and areas to allow for fun times with other students.

    Academic Rigor

    I find Marietta College a very challenging school as the teachers can work closer and adapt to not cover previously learned material. Due to small class sizes, they are able to help you along the way, but only after first challenging you to do something new.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the school, that is what will pull you it. Marietta College is in a beautiful area, everyone is friendly, on multiple occasions the school and community support each other. And whenever things seem too difficult, faculty and staff, as well as other students are always there to help.

    In three sentences

    A wonderful, small, liberal arts school. With an abundance of clubs and activities to get involved with, even in the first semester. The courses can be challenging but faculty and staff are always there to help. The Long Blue Line, or tradition and loyalty alumni have for the college has allowed to to continue to grow in hard economic times totaling 11 major projects in the last 10 years, including two new dorm halls, a new rec center and many more changes.

  • 08/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always a campus police officer around so you feel very safe no matter where you are on campus.

    Greek Life

    Is a big part of Marietta College and is supported greatly by the college and community. Greek life extends beyond the party theme and excels in academics and giving back to the community.

    Clubs and Activities

    Almost every club and activity you can think of. If one is not present that you'll enjoy you are free to begin one that will interest you.

    Bang for the buck

    Marietta is a private college so tuition is a bit pricey but it is definitely worth while, the education as well as the way you receive it at Marirtta is life changing.

    What to do for fun

    There is a different activity to participate in every week as well as a host of organizations to join. Also Marietta has plenty of scenery if you'd just like to sit out and enjoy a beautiful view. No matter what you enjoy there's not a time where you can't find something to interest you at Marietta.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining is always the biggest thing that one has to get use to. Dining and food is adiquite there are a lot of different varieties to choose from. All dietary needs are accommodated. We recently changed dining services so the food and dining experience just became that much better!

    Dorm Life

    I abosolutely love living on Marietta College campus! The dorms are similar to apartments and provide a very homey feel. They are cleaned regularly and are a perfect fit for college life away from home.

    Academic Rigor

    Marietta College has a very rigorous academic profile. That is not to say Marietta is too hard to successfully excel but it does mean you'll have to have self discipline and want success enough to do what it takes. Marietta definitely helps to make your strengths stronger and your weaknesses grow into strengths.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go in with an open mind and a focused mindset. Meet as many people you can and connect with them. Although you'll have a major Marietta is a Liberal Arts school and having friends in different majors and from different cultures can help make college flow smoothly. Also, take advantage of the various opportunities at Marietta become well rounded!

    In three sentences

    Marietta is a wonderful college to attend. The atmosphere as well as students and professors/staff are very welcoming. The small classes make getting to know other students, professors and staff very easy as well as allows for a quality education.

  • 10/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    At Marietta we have our own police department. And for such a small college, I feel very protected. You always see them on campus.

    What to do for fun

    There are many intramural teams to get involved in. I am now playing flag football. Also like going to watch sporting events on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Can't complain about the food. There is a wide variety to choose from. Outside of the main dining hall there are other smaller places to eat.

    Dorm Life

    I am housed in an old house and really like it. The nice thing is that the common areas are large. All of us on my floor are studying petroleum engineering.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are well taught. I am learning things that will be very useful in my field. You have to study.

    Tips for prospective students

    This college is definitely one to visit! Once you visit you will not want to leave. This college is wonderful.

    In three sentences

    At Marietta I am a name not a number. Classes are small and very hands on. Nothing bad to say about this school!!

  • 10/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    For a small campus it is easy for the police to keep us safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    I already said there are hundreds of clubs that vary in participation level. You can be doing something everyday for one or meet once a month for another.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Doo Dah Day is a tradition on campus where everyone wakes up and drinks all day long. There are blow up slides and obstacle courses for people to play on as well as giveaways.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is quite steep. However, coming out of Marietta will make every cent worth it with the reputation you will achieve.

    What to do for fun

    There is a volleyball court and an enormous recreation center that makes me be proud to be on this campus. There are also hundreds of clubs to join and be a part of.

    Food and Dining

    College food is college food. It's going to be hard to find 5 star cuisine on any campus.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are in close proximity, and that makes it a homey environment. It's nice to be able to walk a short distance and see anyone of your hundreds of friends.

    Academic Rigor

    There is a lot of work to do. The work is thorough and hard to do. The class and work you do at this college will make you respect what you do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come here ready to take pride in where you come from. Choose the college on the environment and the feel.

    In three sentences

    Tuition is high but there is a lot of academic prowess to develop in. There is a family feel to the campus because you know who you want to know and can grow close. The academics are something that you will cherish for the rest of your life as they put you into a position to be the best at whatever you wish to pursue.

  • 11/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You have to have a key card to get onto housing buildings at any time. Campus police patrol during all hours. If you need an escort at night they will gladly come pick you up.

    Greek Life

    There is a Greek presence on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    All different kinds of clubs and activities to chose from and if your kind of club is not available, you are encouraged to start your own.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like small, quiet environments to learn in.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The gathering place is a fun spot to hang out. We have a rock and the mall that get sainted or written for to share upcoming events

    What to do for fun

    There is a movie theater, skating rink, boutiques, big chain stores just minutes away. There are hiking trails, parks you can visit.

    Food and Dining

    Has places for health and not so healthy food. Four different dining places that serve good food.

    Dorm Life

    Never very far from a classmate if you need help with work. Activities to bring everybody in the building together.

    Academic Rigor

    Certain classes will make you read a lot, others will challenge you to developed and defend ideas on a given topic. Some classes you will have to study constantly to keep up with others you will only have to read to be able to pass.

    In three sentences

    Community that strives to push everybody to be the best they can be. Friendly, small campus with tons of activities to get involved in. Challenging curriculum that will prepare you for whatever major you are in.

  • 01/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The new rec center is a great way to have fun and stay in shape. Walking in town is another great way to have fun. Going to sporting events can be a great way to get involved as well.

    Food and Dining

    There are many places to eat on campus. The food is always full of quality.

    Dorm Life

    Everyone is friendly and the dorms are fairly large.

    Academic Rigor

    The college is challenging, but like many schools there are weaker classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come prepared. The school expects a lot out of their students.

    In three sentences

    Marietta is a challenging private school located in Ohio. It is a small, division III school that provides a feeling of security. The college is a great way to make new friends.

  • 01/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    This is a major part of my happiness here, it helped make this place more like a home.

    What to do for fun

    I am a part of greek life as well as involved in the many clubs we have.

    Academic Rigor

    This college isn't easy but the education you receive from the institution will help you go far.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be willing to go out on campus and try new things it helped me make some of my best friends.

    In three sentences

    This College is amazing! I feel so at home here. I could not have chosen a better college

  • 01/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have always felt safe. Campus police are always around to help and are always on duty.

    Greek Life

    The fraternities and sororities are respectable on campus, and sincerely make a difference to the college life for the better.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many sports and clubs to get involved with, as well as recreational teams to play on.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for academically successful as well as liberal students (for the leadership program) as well as math-smart engineers (petroleum engineering). It has amazing programs for both of these fields.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have many unique traditions because Marietta is over a century old. I am a freshman so i'm not familiar with them.

    What to do for fun

    Marietta is a small town. It's what you make of it. Find friends, walk the town, get involved.

    Food and Dining

    Generic college food. There are a few options (4) to pick from, but they have pretty tough hours. You arent eating a good meal after 8pm.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm buildings are small but the rooms are a decent size. It is comfortable living.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically, this school is challenging. They do not reward for A+'s, but deduct for A-'s. This is a school where you have to work to get an A.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just like any other college, there are many crowd to get involved with. Whatever the case, just find your niche and group of people, but balance them with schoolwork and other activities. Too much on one thing is almost never a good thing.

    In three sentences

    Marietta College is a private school with a great community. The people and professors are friendly and it's very easy to set yourself up to succeed. The workload is tougher because it's a private college, but if you think a small school is for you, it has great opportunities.

  • 02/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police is very attentive to the needs of students and there are emergency calling stations all over campus. This is the safest college of all the colleges I searched for.

    Greek Life

    Not a participant

    Clubs and Activities

    There is so much to do and so many different organizations to be a part of, there is something for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    Any student who wants to learn. There are so many possibilities and opportunities here!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a lovely spot on campus called The Gathering Place where students can get together to hold events. It has fun games and is a nice place to hang out. Also there is what students refer to as the Foof Room which is a room much like The Gathering Place that is filled with bean-bag chairs, or foofs

    What to do for fun

    On campus there are many extracurricular activities to be a part of as well as Greek life. I love participating in choir and in theater productions!

    Food and Dining

    There are lots of options both healthy and delicious!

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus, I am a commuter

    Academic Rigor

    College is challenging, but it is worth the hard work to receive the knowledge college has to offer

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid, if you're willing to learn, you will be welcome with open arms.

    In three sentences

    Marietta College has been a life changing experience. I am increidbly happy to be learning at such a wonderful college. What they are teaching me here is helping me become a better, more well-rounded person.

  • 02/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe and I walk back to my dorm alone very often from the library in the evening. I have not heard of any major problems.

    Greek Life

    They are all available.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are several. I have not joined any.

    Great for these types of students

    I think it is great for any type of student.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I do not know. This is my first year and I am very busy.

    Bang for the buck

    I have a very full schedule so yes I am getting plenty of bang for the buck.

    What to do for fun

    There is a nice athletic complex. There is exercise equipment. there is open areas outside also

    Food and Dining

    The main dining hall has good food. It is a buffet every day. There are two other good places to eat on campus also.

    Dorm Life

    My dorm is small. The area is nice. They are clean.

    Academic Rigor

    My classes are interesting. I have a lot of homework. The tests are very hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check for the degree you want. Find a college that offers it. Look at several.

    In three sentences

    I like it. I am learning a lot. I enjoy being there.

  • 03/12/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    23 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to a sporting events event on campus or drive to nearby Cincinnati to explore the city.

    Food and Dining

    The overall food/dining experiences seem to be the same. Everyone likes the food.

    Dorm Life

    The thing that most students seem to like is Greek life. Living on campus is definitely recommended.

    Academic Rigor

    The coursework is difficult but the responsibility that comes with the work and time management skills you learn is worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit first. Make sure that the college feels right for you as an academic student and as a person.

    In three sentences

    Small liberal arts college. Feels like a good fit for a lot of students. There are a lot of opportunities to step up as a leader on and off campus.

  • 03/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Greek life on campus is huge. The Greek community is one that is unique here because it is more of a community rather than just sororities and fraternities. They offer so many different opportunities for philanthropies and bonds of brotherhood and sisterhood. Being a part of a Greek organization has made me a better person and made me feel at home here.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many activities on campus. The variety of clubs is big as well. There are intramural and club sports, along with writing clubs and newspapers.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something going on in the town, or in on the campus. There are always speakers, performers, magicians, and so many other activities.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good. There are about 4 different options on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Freshman living is great because all of the freshman live together in one complex, so you really become close with your class. The upperclassmen housing is really nice as well.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the major, Marietta College's academics are pretty tough. The teachers here really like to challenge you and make you work to the best of your ability.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips would be to make sure you get to know your professors. The professors here are more than willing to help you and become a great resource when you need it. There doors are always open. Another tip would be to GET INVOLVED. We have a huge Greek Community on campus, along with Athletics, and clubs. You name it, we probably have it. If we don't, we can always create it!

    In three sentences

    Marietta College is a place that feels like home where the classroom environment is small and unique to the individual. Even though the college is small, there are so many extracurricular activities to become involved in. I am so happy with my choice here at Marietta because I am able to become involved in so many things, and still be true to my values and myself.

  • 03/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I've noticed that a lot of people dip snuff and chew tobacco here.

    What to do for fun

    you're on your own with this one.

    Food and Dining

    Food is not very good here. there are options, but the options are limited, although they are expanding menus every once in a while.

    Dorm Life

    this varies from floor to floor, but generally it's not that loud/dirty.

    Academic Rigor

    some classes will be very difficult and painful, some will be easy. depends on what you take and what your major is.

    In three sentences

    This school is very quiet and not very diverse. Not much goes on here. Some would say it's boring, but I find it comfortable. there are places you can go to party on the weekends, yes, but if you're expecting an american pie-type school, you are mistaken.

  • 04/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Izzy's is a great place to catch a quick bite to eat, while the bagel shop in the library is nice for snacking while pulling hours-long study sessions. Gilman's food isn't always up to par though.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter, and therefore don't have experience in the dorm life, though every time I've been in my friend's dorms I have felt very safe.

    Academic Rigor

    Marietta College offers courses that are challenging, but the professors are always available and more than willing to help when a student doesn't understand the material.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should be prepared to study, and especially if they chose to go into the Petroleum Engineering program, to study hard. Don't be afraid to get involved in campus organizations, also! They look great on resumes and help you meet new friends.

    In three sentences

    Marietta College has a beautiful campus, friendly professors and staff, and a rewarding academic program. While the courses aren't easy, you never feel like you're wasting money on your college education at Marietta. Marietta College is definitely a college I'd recommend to everyone!

  • 06/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The city of Marietta is so safe. I would feel comfortable walking downtown or throughout campus by myself at 3 in the morning.

    Greek Life

    I was never a member but the charters are very active and put on a lot of neat fundraising events.

    Clubs and Activities

    I had a work study job in the student life office at Marietta. One day my task was to organize the list of campus clubs and file them -- it took me an entire week! There are sooo many clubs to join.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who enjoy a tight knit community and want to know the people they are going to school with. It is a school for the students who want to be involved and known by their professors, classmates, and local community members.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Sternwheel Festival is held every year at the start of the fall semester. I do not know the exact weekend but it is a lot of fun. Fried fair food, a free country concert (Jason Michael Carroll, Jake Owen, and David Nail are the ones I've seen) and the most amazing firework show all along the Ohio River. You don't want to miss it!

    Bang for the buck

    It is a private school so it can be expensive. Be prepared for tuition to go up every year. But almost all students receive some sort of aid -- I don't know a single person who paid full tuition for school. You would be surprised how much money is available for students. I will say this, I have no regrets about the debt I took on to be at Marietta College. I would never do it over differently.

    What to do for fun

    There are the standard house parties and local bars on the weekends. I would say the bar scene is average at best but students still manage to have fun every weekend there. The college is always putting on special events -- Up til Dawn, Doo Dah Day, Relay for Life, outdoor movies, movies in the planetarium, mock casino nights, Sunday night free wings and pizza for NFL games, magic shows, hypnotists, concerts (Taylor Swift came one year), trips to cedar point, Globetrotter shows on campus -- I really could go on and on. The point is, if you are bored, you are trying to be uninvolved. That is just the stuff to do on campus! There is also front street shopping, rope swinging into the Ohio River, a trip to the local aquatic center, not to mention all of the history associated with downtown Marietta seeing as it is the first settlement in the northwest territory.

    Food and Dining

    I would say this is Marietta College's weakest link. The college and dining program is always open to suggestion and it has gotten a lot better over the course of my four years there but the food is not great and sometimes it can be hard to get over there within operating hours, particularly if you are an athlete and have late practices.

    Dorm Life

    The upperclassmen dorms are very nice. Something unique to Marietta is that most students live on campus all four years. It is very hard to get approved to live off campus. This may seem like a sneaky way to get extra money out of students and maybe it is but I loved living in the dorms for all four years. It creates a really neat atmosphere and close knit community throughout all the graduating classes because everyone is living in such close proximity to one another.

    Academic Rigor

    Marietta is tough but your degree is worth something when you graduate. Most of the professors are Ivy League graduates and truly are brilliant.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of financial aid and check your account often. I loved my experience at MC but the financial aid department was truly a hassle throughout all 4 years.

    In three sentences

    Marietta College has a community atmosphere unlike any other. There is something for everyone to get involved in. Those students who did not enjoy their experience here never really gave it a chance.

  • 12/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are some bars and night clubs for those who enjoy nightlife. Marietta has a variety of unique local restaurants as well as chains for those who enjoy eating out. There are cute little stores around. The school itself has a rock climbing wall and nice recreational center.

    Food and Dining

    I have eaten at Gilman dining center a few times for various events, and it offers a variety of options for the students.

    Dorm Life

    I have visited the dorms for freshmen because of friends, but I personally do not know because I am a commuter.

    Academic Rigor

    It is possible to do it with a little help and effort!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you are willing to do the work! Because Marietta is a small school, they expect more out of their students because there is more interaction between students and faculty.

    In three sentences

    Marietta College is exceptional when it comes to one-on-one interaction with their students and staff. I love the small school experience because you get to know each other and make relationships that will last a lifetime (both professional and personal). I think that the education I am receiving will prepare me for a job one day more than if I went to a larger, public school.

  • 01/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. There is a police center on campus and they will come to your aid any time you need.

    Greek Life

    I do not take part in greek life, but it is a very important part of college to many people at Marietta.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a number of different clubs for students interested I groups related to religion, academics, sports, and other fun things.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students looking for a small school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I can't think of any unusual places.

    Bang for the buck

    It is very expensive, but you will get a quality education.

    What to do for fun

    Downtown Marietta has many unique shops to go to. The college offers many opportunities to take part I activities such as music events or talent shows.

    Food and Dining

    I am a commuter so I don't have a food plan.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter and do not live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I have had a few challenging classes as well as some classes that were very simple and easy to pass.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to join clubs and groups to get involved on campus.

    In three sentences

    Marietta is a perfect college for students looking for a small campus. The professors and staff are committed to making your college career successful and will do anything to help. I would recommend Marietta to anyone looking for a small liberal arts school.

  • 03/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are fully accredited and the campus is small and easy to patrol.

    Greek Life

    4 sororities and 4 fraternities with a campus population of around 1400 students.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have tons of clubs! More than some bigger colleges!

    Great for these types of students

    Academically based students that like small towns

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a rock that everyone paints and we have a resident hawk that we yell at.

    Bang for the buck

    Marietta is a great college and worth the money it takes to come here.

    What to do for fun

    Movie theaters in walking distance, plenty of restaurants, small shops

    Food and Dining

    Great food for a college! Always fresh fruit but not all food is great.

    Dorm Life

    Some drama but generally good dorms and great people.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes in my major are very rigorous but not all classes are.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go where you feel at home; if you think that small town and small campus feel at home, Marietta is the place to go.

    In three sentences

    Marietta is extremely welcoming and friendly. The students are very fun and glad to be here. I would give it high ranks, a very great campus.

  • 10/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join a academic club, service organization, or fun get together group. Greek life is a popular choice.

    Food and Dining

    You'll survive but it won't be pretty. You'll have to work your schedule around the hours the dinning hall is open if you want to use your meal swipe.

    Dorm Life

    Weekend partying in some dorms is excessive. Upperclassmen dorms are small. Freshman housing lacks A/C.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics can kill you if you let sneak up on you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Your dorm will be small after freshman housing plan accordingly and do not fall into the party sub-culture.

    In three sentences

    An academic challenge, a leadership catastrophe, but the place you want to be. The professors will become your best friends as will your classmates. Small liberal arts college for the win!