Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Marion Technical College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/09/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to study in advance.

  • 08/16/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure your college choice is the right one for YOU.

  • 03/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    this is the safest campus i have ever been on. there is only one police officer, but he is visible most of the time. the marion county sheriffs also patrol the campus. i have never been afraid to walk by myself anywhere on campus at any time of day.

    Greek Life

    none

    Great for these types of students

    any type of student is welcome here. i was surprised to find that, as an adult student, i wasn't the only older student in the class.

    Bang for the buck

    the tuition is cheaper here than other places but you get as good an education as any university.

    What to do for fun

    there are some activities available on campus such as a workout facility and gym.

    Food and Dining

    the only food available on campus is vending machines. there are many restaurants nearby though.

    Academic Rigor

    while mtc is a laid back campus and the teachers are helpful, the academics are comparable to any university. if you work hard and study well, you will succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    get as many of your general education and pre-requisite classes done in the first year as you can, before you begin your major classes.

    In three sentences

    marion technical college is a great place to get a 2 yr degree or begin the first 2 years of a bachelor's degree. it is a small campus where people are friendly. the professors are helpful and want to see students succeed.

  • 04/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    A fairly safe college.

    Clubs and Activities

    Various activities that are sponsored by the student resource group. Movies, gym, hikes, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    All types of students. A diverse college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The pond and clock tower that chimes are lovely.

    Bang for the buck

    There is a beautiful pond in the center of the school building. It's a nice place to sit and look out and reflect on your thoughts.

    What to do for fun

    There is a very active student resource center with on going activities to enjoy.

    Food and Dining

    Located in an area with a variety of restaurants close by.

    Dorm Life

    None

    Academic Rigor

    Can be fasted paced, but with effort you can keep up.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to study hard. You will get out of your education what you put into it.

    In three sentences

    A beautiful school with teachers that care and a chance at making a better life for yourself.

  • 05/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    I give it a 3 star

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open and up front about what you want to achieve.

    In three sentences

    Marion Tech is a covenant college for me to attend. They care about their student. Also they look out for what works best for you and your schedule and your goals

  • 06/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This is great for any student who is simply looking for a career to get them out of basic retail or restaurant jobs or as a starting place to jump into other 4 year institutions.

    Bang for the buck

    This is definitely a great value for the career that you will get in return.

    What to do for fun

    There is lots of different extracurricular activities for all different kinds of interests. You merely have to seek out the clubs that facilitate you and your interests.

    Food and Dining

    There are student lounge areas with vending machines, but do not expect a huge cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    I do not think they have dorms here.

    Academic Rigor

    It's a rigorous school that will help you learn new things, but it is fairly easy to get into.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard and attend class regularly.

    In three sentences

    This is a great school for anyone looking to go further in life without spending a fortune on college. Their focus is giving you the skills for a higher paying job where you will thrive and move forward. They will assist you in finding a career to choose then set you on the path of achieving that goal without breaking the bank or getting in debt.

  • 06/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety is good 5 star

    Greek Life

    Several available

    Clubs and Activities

    clubs are numerous 4 star

    Great for these types of students

    Study hard.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Check out the new Nursing building.

    What to do for fun

    Surrounding areas has a great nite life in Columbus, Ohio only twenty miles away.

    Food and Dining

    the food is average 3 star

    Dorm Life

    the dorm life is not good 2 star

    Academic Rigor

    The school is very tough but fair. 4 star

    Tips for prospective students

    I would apply early and sign up for the free tutoring classes.

    In three sentences

    The school is very student friendly. The school has a great tutoring program. The school has a great Nursing program.

  • 06/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There are many restaurants nearby and vending machines available for a quick snack.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms available, but I would say my own bedroom is very comfortable!

    Academic Rigor

    The general education classes are pretty easy but the course load increases as you enter your core classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not waste money on four year colleges. Start off at Marion Technical College to get an Associate's Degree and then move on to another school if you want a four year degree.

    In three sentences

    Marion Technical College offers a great education at a very affordable rate. The faculty works with you to help you get the education you want. An affordable school that is close to home can't be beat!

  • 01/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have a campus officer that you can talk to at anytime.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am not in any clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Hands on people and for people that like to be challenged for little money.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are none.

    Bang for the buck

    I am very satisfied that I pay little money for the experience I get.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends across the street in McDonald's.

    Food and Dining

    They have a vending machine line in the cafeteria you can purchase from.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Marion tech has teachers that have been out in the field and prepare you for what to expect.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you pay your balance up front because they will cancel your classes without warning if you miss the deadline.

    In three sentences

    Marion tech is a challenging and rewarding experience. I have attended 3 different colleges and Marin tech is by far the best one. They work with you and help you get your degree instead of sending you through the ringer with paperwork and classes you don't even need.

  • 01/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    Some teachers act like high school freshman.

    Tips for prospective students

    You will either love it or hate it.

    In three sentences

    Quick and easy.

  • 03/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is 24/7 campus security through the Ohio State University police officers

    Greek Life

    We have one small sorority called Phi Theta Kappa

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities to do here. There Albert Student Center always has new things to do. There is also a chance to be a Student Ambassador, a sorority member, and others.

    Great for these types of students

    This campus is great for students who want a small campus with almost all of a large university experience. This campus is great for students who just graduated high school and don't want to venture too far from home and working adults who want to go back to school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This campus may seem unusual to some because there are two colleges put into one campus. There is also the traditional zombie apocalypse on campus every year during Halloween.

    Bang for the buck

    Well worth the money!!! To get an associates degree at MTC is a very smart choice. They charge $166 per credit and the more credits you take the more discounts you get. Plus there is not a bunch of other fees. There is your tuition, a $16 parking fee, and a lab fee (only if you take certain lab classes); plus general book fees.

    What to do for fun

    Marion Tech shares their campus with Ohio State University at Marion (OSUM) so students can interact with OSUM students and there are many off campus activities both schools schedule with one another. There are hiking, camping trips; movie nights on campus, and many other activities.

    Food and Dining

    There are available vending machines, but its better to go off campus to close restaurants if students want good food.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms available, but apartment complexes are nearby

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are compatible with what you would expect at a university, but there is more instruction and lecture time. Much less outside of class work due to more lecture in class

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students need to make sure they schedule as soon as they can. This is a smaller college so classes fill up quickly. Also it is great to make close friends in each of your classes. They can inform your professor if you cannot attend a class and you could set up study groups.

    In three sentences

    This is a great community college for students right out of high school or adults wanting to go back to school. The professors are well educated, very helpful, and the classes are small enough for one on one instruction. I would recommend this college to anyone!

  • 10/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Make sure to make a list of what you think you are going to need in college and keep going over it and only list the bare minimums because you will be surprised what you're really not going to need, always rent your books used, it's cheaper and you get you're money back once you're done with them. Also scout out deals to buy your supplies and click coupons! Don't buy from the book store unless you absolutely have to it's way over prices even though they have some cool stuff, most is not needed. Invest in a very good laptop- don't buy one just because it's cheap and consult with an expert or computer savvy person. It's also better to wait for your refund check to buy your supplies, that way you save and have more money!

    What to do for fun

    to much to list!

    Food and Dining

    in the school there is no real cafeteria there is alot of drink machines and hospital-like vending machines but there is a TON of restraunts nearby!

    Dorm Life

    i live in my own apartment so sorry i can't give any real advise on this but they did recently build some apartments for students to live in like dorms but too overpriced for me so invest in your own place and get 1 or more roomies! i have kids so i can't.

    Academic Rigor

    I thought the classes would be VERY difficult but they aren't! I have very bad add/adhd and the teachers always keep the classes funny,more personal and homey so you learn better!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to make a list of what you think you are going to need in college and keep going over it and only list the bare minimums because you will be surprised what you're really not going to need, always rent your books used, it's cheaper and you get you're money back once you're done with them.

    In three sentences

    I was very nervous about going into college and scared i would pick the wrong one but this college has surpassed everything i was hoping for in a college, the teachers/staff are very helpful and understanding if you need help!

  • 01/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt unsafe on campus and I do not mind walking alone because there is a cop always on duty.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of options and opportunities offered.

    Great for these types of students

    Any student would be great at this school

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a beautiful pond with a bridge and a tower that rings.

    Bang for the buck

    It is affordable and is like other universities and colleges.

    What to do for fun

    Marion does have a movie theatre, shopping stores, restaurants, a skating rink and more.

    Food and Dining

    MTC is surrounded with food and dinning, such as fast food and restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on campus but housing all around.

    Academic Rigor

    Marion Technical College is not harsh or strict when dealing with people, nor do they judge or have a temper. However, I would say they do expect you to learn, not be distributive, pay attention, do your best, and be respectful. The students here are motivated and valued.

    Tips for prospective students

    MTC is an affordable school with a great education system. The opportunities and experience they have to offer are amazing. Don't let the fear of new surroundings stop you.

    In three sentences

    MTC it is a wonderful school offering many opportunities. The students, professors, and instructors make you feel at home and are willing to help you when help is needed.. College life here is enjoyable and has a great atmosphere.