Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Marist College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/16/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 out of 16 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 1 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Marist College is great for students who wish to be in a small suburban area. Some may find cities overwhelming, but Poughkeepsie is not a huge city. Poughkeepsie is a step-down from the overwhelming city life and more of a suburban city. Everything one needs can be found in the area, without having to memorize that Store A is located on the corner of Second and Twentieth. It is also great for students who wish to have a more personalized college experience. The small classroom settings truly allow students to get to know their professors on a personal basis. Marist is also ideal for students who need extra help in Mathematics or Writing because Marist has a Math Lab and Writing Center for students who need extra help, while tutors are also available.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're looking for a small private school, Marist College is the one. There are around 5,000 students enrolled, which creates a great atmosphere in the classroom. The maximum amount of students in a class is around 50, while most classes contain 20 students. Marist College is located in Poughkeepsie, New York, which is a small city setting. Because of this, anything you'll ever need is typically located within a short driving distance of the school. There is a 37% acceptance rate, so it is imperative to have impressive grades in high school and for the SAT's.

  • 07/25/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 out of 13 people found this review useful. 2 people found it offensive. 1 person found this inaccurate. 2 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    At first glance, Marist appears to be a haven for the Uggs, abercrombie and fitch apparel wearers who are from the tri-state area. However as you look closer there are the few international students who add sum color to the marist atmosphere. There really isnt much diversity on campus but it is evident that the administration is working hard to improve that flaw. Most students tend to think alike and basically come from the same backgrounds with similar core values and morals. The social life is centered around the bars.Marist is a party school, with house parties every week and the usual Tuesday to Saturday night trips to the local bars in Poughkeepsie. Although most students party most days of the week they still find time to get their work done. If you can juggle partying and maintaining a decent gpa then Marist is definitely the school for you

    Tips for prospective students

    Marist's teacher-student relationships tend to be really close since class sizes range from 10-25 students. The surrounding community really isnt all that great, however getting to the town by cab is $2, which is really pocket friendly. Resources at marist are endless, all you really need to do is ask and you will receive. In order to get as much as you can from admin you have to stay on top of them. Housing is limited but they are kept immaculate and are almost palace like compared to other campuses. At Marist you are sure to get the proverbial bang for the buck as long as you make good use of your time and resources available.

  • 01/14/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 out of 10 people found this review useful. 3 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are looking for a small school with a great sense of community and if you are serious about your education, Marist could be perfect for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are considering Marist be sure to attend a tour of campus, they are held regularly. Pack warmly for the winter season, the wind off of the Hudson is freezing in January, but the view is breathtaking. Marist is not a place to slack off, as most of the students are very smart and you will fall behind quickly if you don't try your best, but you will find that you have all the support you need if you ask for it.

    Bang for the buck

    Marist is expensive, especially for me as I went pretty far out of state. However, you get what you pay for; Marist is known for giving its students every resource available. the internship program is especially helpful, you can be sure that they will help you find the perfect internship (as many as you have time for!) , and that they will assist you in getting a job in the field of your interest.

    Am enjoying being here

    I found that I can connect with just about everyone, as people are open and approachable. Though most students are from the tri-state area, everyone I met was friendly and I did not feel like an outsider, being from the west coast. There is plenty to do around Marist, it is a true college town with bars packed with college students almost every night of the week. You can take a taxi-van anywhere in the town for just a couple of dollars, the more people you bring with you the less the cab drivers will charge each of you. The college itself does a lot to entertain students. Should you choose to stay in, there are activities to attend on campus almost every night.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes tend to be small, I've never been in a class with more than 25 students. This is so beneficial because each student gets as much individual attention as they need. Most teachers are quite dedicated and have real passion for their subjects. Also, many of the teachers have had quite impressive experience in the subject they teach, allowing them to have a good understanding of their subjects, which they pass on to students. I am a Fashion Design Major, and I learned that one of my teachers was even a guest on Oprah, to discuss fashion trends.

  • 12/22/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 9 people found this review useful. 4 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who knows how to work hard and have fun at the same time. If your looking for THE college experience, come to Marist.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard in high school. If you know that Marist is 100% right for you, definitely do early decision. Your committed to Marist once you apply, but it's so much easier to get in. Marist is getting increasingly hard to get in to. I've been told in a few years Marist will be comparable to NYU.

    Bang for the buck

    Marist is pricey. But the type of education your receiving is second to none. After one semester, I am confident that Marist will prepare me for the real world. For the money your spending, your getting the best professors, the best resources, having the most fun and meeting friends of a lifetime.

    Am enjoying being here

    This is one of the most fun colleges I've ever been to. I have visited many and not many colleges know how to have a good time like Marist. We work very hard but we party hard too. My motto has always been, Work hard, play hard. Marist provides one of the best college experiences I've seen.

    Am learning a lot

    After being at Marist for one semester, I have learned more in fifteen weeks then I have in my entire high school career. It is very academically challenging depending on your major, but the college provides more than enough opportunities to excel.

  • 06/21/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 5 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Artsy Liberal Arts track Teaching track Person with a lot of different interests Basketball athletes Swimmers

    Tips for prospective students

    Marist is not very diverse. There is the occasional person from Kenya or Madrid. Amazingly the tennis team practically composed of all international students from Germany to Brazil. But in general mostly everyone is from the tri-state area and undeniably Caucasian. Think about if you'll be cool with that. Join clubs, intramural sports, greek life, sport teams as you like and can handle. Extracurriculars make college life enjoyable, and helps you get better housing. Also because you probably won't get to do such fun things after you graduate. Women's Basketball is big at Marist, so much that other teams are often ignored though other teams win championships as well.

    Bang for the buck

    Though burdened by the reduction of my financial aid, I do believe that Marist gives a good bang for the buck. As a private school, it is a good 10k less than other private schools, while offering quality education. Adjunct professors are abundant in Marist; if Marist doesn't house a professor good enough to teach they course, they go out to find a professor who is. Internships are required for graduation and the school helps hook students up, which often lead to jobs right out of getting a diploma. The housing of Marist isn't shabby either, especially as you progress in years. Townhouses with singles are soon to come for upperclassmen, allowing you to choose your own meal plans. Laundry is also free, which is a magical thing.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is well-sized with a scenic landscape view of the Hudson river. Especially with the new construction comes a brand new building which many students compare to Hogwarts (though the building is stunning, it's not magical). The people of Marist are generally very amiable, outgoing, and like to have a good time. You never really walk anywhere without saying hi or having a conversation with at least one person. If you're a people person, Marist has nice people. If you're not, Marist has a nice scenic views, a grand library and well-equipped gym for you to tune out the people with.

    Am learning a lot

    Marist certainly gives students the opportunity to learn as much as they want to, not just in academics but also in life. The core requirements can be replaced with cultural or foreign language courses. So you learn what you want to learn. The school offers a lot of different certifications that can be added on to your major/minor. Professors have the simple intent of transferring their knowledge to their students and take time to learn from the students. Classes are small, lectures are generally seminars. I've had classes with less than ten people. But being involved within the campus is where one can develop life and leadership skills. Marist's academic offerings are well-versed, but the school organizations are just as diverse and interesting. If college is what a person makes of it, Marist makes it possible for a person to make the most of college.

  • 05/11/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    i was offered a fair amount of financial aid, which definitely encouraged my decision to go here.

    Will enjoy being here

    there are so many different things to do and people to meet. i'm expecting never to be bored.

    Will learn a lot

    the class sizes are great and the profesors really get to know you so you can get a personal one-on-one learning experience.

  • 05/07/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 7 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Marist is definitely worth its value, however, I wasnt offered much aid.

    Will learn a lot

    Marist is an incredible school especially for its academics. Its definitely an ambitious-type school, helping to push any student.

  • 10/29/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    The campus here is wonderfully beautiful and sits right on the water. The atmosphere is so accepting and make you feel like you do not want to leave.

    Will learn a lot

    The majors that they offer are numerous and they allow students to double and even triple major. There are an unlimited amount of study abroad programs.

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    security trucks are all over campus, along with blue-light systems, making the campus very secure.

    Greek Life

    not many people participate in greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are many clubs to satisfy people of all interests and majors.

    Bang for the buck

    marist is expensive, but with it comes amazing, townhouse housing for sophomores, juniors and seniors and a fantastic educational experience.

    Food and Dining

    food in the dining hall can get repetitive, but if you switch up your meals you'll be fine.

    Dorm Life

    there are four options for freshman students in traditional dorms and then fabulous suite style dorms and townhouses for sophomores, juniors and seniors, allowing more freedom and independence.

    Academic Rigor

    marist is more rigorous than high school, but by budgeting your time wisely, you can have plenty of free time and still do superbly in classes.

    In three sentences

    marist is a small campus with small classes in which professors learn your name and know your specific learning style. there is a lot of school spirit. there are many opportunities for off-campus trips into new york city and other exciting options.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Marist Safety and Security is the best I have seen. If you need anything while on campus, whether you feel unsafe or just think it's dark out, just call Marist Security and they will come right to you. There is always security roaming around campus to make sure everything is safe. I personally think it's an awesome system just based on the couple of visits I have made to Marist so far.

    Clubs and Activities

    You can go into any clubs you would like. Anything from sports to student council to meetings based on your intended major. You can even start your own club with ten people. Plenty of different options to keep you involved.

    What to do for fun

    There is plenty to do. Campus events are always happening. You can do anything from clubs to going to watch a play down in Manhattan with all your friends from Marist. You could also go and support school teams that may be playing. Games are a lot of fun to attend. Another thing to do is you can even go off campus to a drive in movie up the road, jet skiing on the Hudson River. There is plenty to keep you entertained.

    Food and Dining

    The food may be amazing for some, and horrible for others. It depends on your health nutrition and what you like to eat.

    Dorm Life

    I am not sure about this, because I will be a commuter student. From what I have seen they look pretty good for dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    it is a create place to begin your career, but you must be able to be ready for a challenge. Those who challenge themselves will always come out as the successful ones.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep on top of your work. College can be fun, but you must be all about time management.

    In three sentences

    Marist is perfect. The school campus is beautiful. The academics are great, and most importantly the students seem happy.

  • 07/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safe on campus. Security is very concerned with the well-being of the students. And if you need anything or feel unsafe or uncertain about a situation, talk to campus security about it. They are completely invested and will do what they can to ensure that you feel comfortable in your environment.

    Clubs and Activities

    Get involved! it's honestly the best way to meet people. There's a variety of things you can do or try. Just find something interesting and sign up.

    What to do for fun

    There is not much around the campus, but there are plenty of activities that the campus hosts. Concerts, trips, and performances are pretty much a weekly thing. You can find things to do around campus if you just look.

    Food and Dining

    Food is actually very good. They usually have a theme and you can check the menu for the day online. There are little cafes if you do not want the food in the dining hall. And if you just want something completely different there are some food places across the street off campus.

    Dorm Life

    It's very important to have roommates that you connect with. I was lucky to get that when I transferred last semester. If you find you don't, housing is very understanding and will do what they can to accommodate you. The facilities are very nice as far as colleges go. I have only lived in upperclassmen housing, but what I've seen of the freshman dorms look fine.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes that are geared toward your major are very interactive, relevant, and interesting. The core curriculum takes up most of your study time. You want to find a course you find interesting that counts as a core, or you might be pulling your hair out.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sincere with your essay; tell the truth about yourself and do not worry too much about your scores. A lot of your admission criteria will be affected by your ability to handle coursework. Contact the school regularly with any questions or concerns; they are very helpful. Visit the school. The tours are actually informative. There isn't a set script for the tour guides so pick one that you believe will give you the information you want to hear. Apply on time. In my experience, with qualified candidates, acceptance is on a first-come-first-serve basis.

    In three sentences

    A community experience that provides a family oriented environment. It is a great place to call a home away from home. A good place to go if you are apprehensive about living away from home.

  • 09/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safe on campus wherever I go.

    Great for these types of students

    Marist is great for the future leaders of tomorrow that want to make a difference in the world.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The president's office use to be a carriage house.

    What to do for fun

    The historic Hudson Valley has many opportunities for students to learn and have fun!

    Dorm Life

    Housing staff (RAs) genuinely care about their residents

    Tips for prospective students

    Find a college that fits you. Don't listen to the other places people get into or are going to. You need to find a place where you can thrive and prosper as an individual.

    In three sentences

    Marist is one of the best colleges in the United States. The community environment, faculty, staff and administration is remarkable. I love it here!

  • 07/06/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    EVERYONE. I have friends from all walks of life. If you're serious about your education and you want the most amazing college experience, come here!

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard to stress yourself as an individual. As an Ambassador, I know what Marist is looking for. You can have a 2.7 GPA and still be accepted to this incredibly selective school. All that matters is how you present yourself, and how you will benefit and fit into the community here at Marist. There are so many different people here and the campus is diverse with types of students. Don't just go with the flow through school, work on your grades, community involvement (volunteer work is a BIG plus), and extracurriculars, and use them to paint a picture of a unique person that can positively contribute to Marist's campus.

    Bang for the buck

    It's expensive, let's leave it at that, but they really do try to meet your needs. Be prepared to take out a loan or two.

    Am enjoying being here

    I first came to Marist with incredibly high expectations, for it was my top choice. So far it has lived up to every one of them. It's a great school with an amazing community. I can't stress enough how much fun it is to be on campus, and how involved you can be so easily. If you really want to experience everything about college, this is a perfect place to be.

    Am learning a lot

    Marist has a wealth of courses that are essential for a core education, as well as interesting. I'm a Computer Science major and so far every class pertaining to my major has been involving, close-knit, and in-depth. Even classes outside of my major have been incredibly interesting due to the way the teachers are involved.

  • 12/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    If you're looking to come to Marist, which I'm assuming you are since you're looking at the Marist page, expect to have to apply yourself. This doesn't only apply to academics, but to social settings as well. A lot of new students tend to panic after a week of being at school. They look around and don't see immediate friendships forming. But, honestly, a week isn't enough time! Give the school a semester to show you what it has to offer.

    Bang for the buck

    I just think college is too expensive in general. So, with that in mind, it's hard for me to justify paying so much money for an education.

    Am enjoying being here

    A lot of people at Marist complain that there's not really a whole lot to do. But, it's just a matter of applying yourself. There are always activities happening on campus that make living there fun. Another huge plus (which you will hear about over and over) is the amazing view of the river. Having such a pretty campus makes a huge difference.

    Am learning a lot

    Being a science major means having tough classes. But, the majority of the professors at Marist are great teachers who definitely know their stuff. Because of them, I learned more this past semester than I have in my four years of high school.

  • 01/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Outgoing, Willing to try, Intelligent, Hard working

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're not accepted at first write letters, this school is so wonderful.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a beautiful campus and an exceptional school for a reasonable price.

    Am enjoying being here

    Yes, I thought it would be the right choice for me and it truly was I'm so happy!

    Am learning a lot

    Yes! Freshman year a writing course is mandatory, best class I've ever taken I learned so much and it really pushed me to work hard. Most classes teach you a lot.

  • 03/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 person found this inaccurate. 16 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Marist College is surrounded by a gate on one side and a river on the other. There are always campus security guards driving around to make sure everything is okay. We also have a blue light system that connects straight to the office of safety and security. Security guards are posted in the front of each freshmen residence hall every night.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is a small, but involved section of campus life. There are four sororities and three fraternities. There are no houses for these organizations. These fraternities and sororities participate in community service and are involved in many activities on campus, besides their own chapter events.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are opportunities everywhere to be involved in a club, and if a club that a student wants is not available, they can start it themselves! New clubs are being chartered all of the time and are encouraged. The more diversity, the better.

    What to do for fun

    Many students enjoy taking advantage of the programs that the Student Life Association, Student Government Association, College Activities, or Student Programming Council put on each week. There is always something to do, from catching a free movie in the theater to attending a game night. It's impossible for students to be bored on campus. Some students also enjoy the nearby nightlife and attend local dance clubs with their friends.

    Food and Dining

    Sodexo is the company behind all of the food and dining at Marist, and they are very receptive to students' opinions and wants. Things are always changing and updating for the dining hall at Marist. There is a pasta station, ice cream station, grill, and cultural theme nights. There's something for everyone.

    Dorm Life

    Freshmen are assigned one or two roommates before arriving at Marist. The office of housing and residential life do their best to match students up based on small quizzes taken during Orientation. Resident Assistants are upperclassmen students who make dorm life enjoyable through programs and gatherings.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors challenge their students in the classroom, and many students can be found in the library writing papers or preparing presentations for class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Marist is a great school for students of all backgrounds. With over 80 clubs and organizations, it's easy to find a group to fit in with who soon become a family. I would recommend to any prospective student to go into college with an open mind, because you might end up getting involved in something you never thought you would when first stepping foot on campus.

    In three sentences

    Marist College is a school for students who want to be challenged both academically and professionally. Students who attend Marist strive to do well in class, as well as have an enjoyable college experience. Marist is an absolutely beautiful campus and students and professors alike are able to benefit from the resources that the Hudson River provides.

  • 03/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and activities available. New clubs are frequently started by students. There are activity hours on Wednesdays from 11 am to 1 pm. There are no classes held during this time and it allows time for students to attend meetings without conflict.

    What to do for fun

    There are many options of what to do for fun. During warm days, may students choose to go outside and throw a Frisbee or talk with friends. The walking bridge that goes along the Hudson is also very popular. There is a mall, a drive in movie theater, and many activities put on by student government to attend. Also, there are student taxi rates.

    Food and Dining

    There is a variety in the cafeteria. Two stations that are popular are the pasta and deli station. The food is good, but it could be better.

    Dorm Life

    The housing is average for freshman year. There are double rooms in three buildings with some build-ups. There is a fourth building with triples or quads. For sophomore year, there are options that include townhouses that provide kitchens and bathrooms. These are very popular. For upperclassmen, housing is on the other side of Rt 9. There is an underpass for students to walk through. Some choose to live in those townhouses or in an apartment off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Marist definitely has academics as a very high priority. The classes are challenging. The workload may vary from class to class. Papers are to be expected.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep in mind the size of the school you are looking for. Marist is a small school, but can be exactly what a student is looking for. There are many opportunities to make great friends and to get to know your teachers and advisors. Look into going abroad to the Florence Campus.

    In three sentences

    Marist is an all around great school. The academics and selectivity are recognized nation wide and the opportunities available for students are endless. The campus is beautiful and is right beside the Hudson River.

  • 04/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    The Florence campus has a few clubs, and they include yoga, pilaties, and more!

    Bang for the buck

    The Florence campus is 100% worth the money!

    What to do for fun

    The Florence campus is filled with great opportunities. There is so much history there, with museums, church, and the apartments themselves. The night life is also very fun, and the legal age in Italy is just 18. There are also many opportunities to travel throughout Europe.

    Food and Dining

    There is just one small cafeteria at the Florence campus. There are many, many restaurants in the surround area, though.

    Dorm Life

    I have an apartment with one roommate. It is nice to have our own kitchen and living room to ourselves. It does tend to be pricier through Marist housing than on your own.

    Academic Rigor

    I attend the campus in Florence. The classes are interesting, but all the teachers like to pile on papers, oral presentations, quizzes, and finals in the last two weeks.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to check out all of the Marist campuses (including out of the country)! Get involved in on campus activities!

    In three sentences

    There are great study abroad programs. Their organization is not always the best. The campus in New York is beautiful.

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There seem to be very few problems on campus, SNAP walks around, and there are blue lights, and security is constantly patrolling.

    Greek Life

    I am not associated, but it is a major part of campus life for many students.

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty are offered, and new clubs start all of the time.

    Great for these types of students

    Outgoing, intelligent young adults who are interested in a well-rounded education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Because the school is situated on the river, there are places to hang out down there, and events like Riverfest and the spring concert. There are also groundhogs all across campus who are fun to try and pet.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is undoubtedly worth it for those who can afford it.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of places to visit in the Hudson Valley Region like the walking bridge, Mohonk, New Paltz, and Rhinebeck. On campus, students are involved in a number of school run activities, like concerts, bingo nights, and movies. There is also a very active night life off campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not the best. However, as soon as sophomore year, students can choose to live in housing with kitchens and make their own food, which is easy, living minutes from grocery stores. There are also plans to renovate the cafeteria this summer.

    Dorm Life

    Freshman dorms are small: it's a simple fact of life. But this school actually gives opportunities to live in wonderful on-campus apartments as students move up. Housing is based on a priority point based system instead of a lottery, which motivates students to do well and be active participants in the school community.

    Academic Rigor

    This is the perfect continuation from high school. The classes are small enough to get individual attention and be very familiar and friendly with the professors. Grading is done very fairly, and those who work hard will succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enjoy the rest of high school, but be excited about coming here! Don't get worried about not making friends or leaving home, because you will make the best friends here and find a new home. Soon enough, you won't even want to go back home.

    In three sentences

    This is an absolutely beautiful school. The feeling around campus is that of a close-knit community that really cares about each other. This is definitely a great school to attend.

  • 05/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    While my sophomore year was very enjoyable, the quality of education does not merit the price placed upon it, especially with the increase which occurred a few days ago.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs to join and trips are advertised throughout the year. There are also many sporting events to attend.

    Food and Dining

    The meal plan is expensive but there is generally a good variety of food and the staff is friendly. Outside of the cafeteria, there are a few locations where food is sold, but it is highly overpriced.

    Dorm Life

    Freshman year was not enjoyable due to personality conflicts with my roommate. The school offers a very minimal survey to base roommate placement on. Sophomore year was fantastic due to being able to select your housemates. Some of the housing is very nice after the first year. Both years the resident assistants have been awesome.

    Academic Rigor

    The level of work depends entirely on the professor for the course. I have had some classes with minimal work, and others where I have to put everything else in my life on hold. The last two weeks of last semester contained several occasions where I had to work for 14 hours straight in order to meet certain deadlines.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't hesitate to request a roommate change. I didn't and it ruined my freshman year. You should also look into what professor is teaching the class during selection. While there are many great teachers here, I have had several poor classes that others enjoyed when taught by a different professor.

    In three sentences

    The quality of professors is fairly inconsistent. I feel that with the amount of money that is required for tuition there should be less mediocre professors. Despite this, if you live with people you like it is a great place to stay.

  • 05/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe.

    Greek Life

    It is small but present.

    Clubs and Activities

    BOOSTER CLUB

    Great for these types of students

    Hard working, determined, thick-skinned, social.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Marist beach days are when we all lay on the great lawn during the sweltering hot days and tan and have a blast party.

    What to do for fun

    Going out on the weekends, but so many planned activities on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Could be better.

    Dorm Life

    Marian hall was my family.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely go for the build up option. It lowers tuition, and when you do choose the build up choose Marian Hall to live in.

    In three sentences

    Marist College is a family. I feel very at home. I love it here.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    go out party

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of the work.

    In three sentences

    It is a good school that allows you to find who you are and what you want to be. With the help of the administration it is easy to keep up with work. However not all administration is open for assistance.

  • 06/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Marist security can be spotted everywhere on campus. You never feel unsafe while you are on campus, and if there ever is a problem, security handles the situation in a professional matter.

    Bang for the buck

    Marist provides you with an aducation that comes from hard work and dedication to your studies. The professors truly care not only about your grades but you as a person. Class sized are generally no more than twenty students which means professors know you by name, not by a number. Our beautiful campus is always well kept, and students truly respect our little paradise on the Hudson as well. Students as well as professors know that it is expensive to attend Marist, and no one takes that lightly. We are serious about our educations and know that coming to Marist, there is a bright future ahead.

    What to do for fun

    There is always a lot to do on campus. Being that we are right on the Hudson, students take advantage of the walking bridge, as well as hiking paths that connect right from the campus grounds. We are surrounded by great night life as well as campus activities that go on daily whether it is a sports game, musical production, or activity that campus activities creates.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good for the most part and there is a lot of variety. The quality of the food gets better each year and the staff truly listens to the students requests.

    Dorm Life

    Freshman dorms are just like any other dorm you can find at other colleges around the country, but each academic year,the housing gets better and better. As a sophomore you can already be living in an apartment or townhouse with your closest friends.

    Academic Rigor

    Marist is building a reputation for producing well rounded students. As much as students here at Marist love to hang out with their friends, they take their academics seriously as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    You must learn to balance your academics with your social life.

    In three sentences

    Marist has been the best experience in my entire life. The friends you will make will stay with you for the rest of your life. The professors can become your greatest supporters, and I believe that is why Marist graduates are working their dream jobs not only in this country, but around the world.

  • 07/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is security everywhere and always easily contacted. Even when the parking patrol becomes a bit much.

    Greek Life

    Cannot comment on this as per no being any part of the Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty of clubs and activities to choose from and get involved in.

    Great for these types of students

    Marist is very accommodating to incoming freshman. As a private school, those interested in living the college experience will enjoy it.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is beautiful.

    Bang for the buck

    The college is a great college but is very expensive. This has been more difficult when personally funding college.

    What to do for fun

    Sports and clubs are always a great way to keep busy and meet people.

    Food and Dining

    Typical college food at a price.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter student and can not answer this properly.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to visit the college and interact with the student before entering. As a transfer and commuter student, adjusting to the culture of the college has been a little difficult.

    In three sentences

    Marist College has been an eye opening experience. The programs offered are great and worth the hard work necessary to complete them. Aside from the beautiful campus, Marist offers a wide diversity in studies.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 25 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are tons of clubs on campus that would appeal to any student because of the variety. There are also all different intramural/club sports that you can join to become involved on campus. There are also many events each week supported by the SPC (Student Programming Council) that are open to all students such as trips to New York City, Comedy Shows, Movie Nights, Concerts, and many more.

    Dorm Life

    Great on campus dorm life options

    In three sentences

    Marist College is a beautiful campus and is extremely inviting. Starting from the first day, through the rest of your freshman year all resources are open to you and people are always looking to help you. It is an inviting, friendly, fun, and great academic school.

  • 07/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is of the utmost importance here. Security is always present and the group called SNAP can escort you anywhere you need to go where you may feel unsafe.

    Greek Life

    There is really not that much greek life; only very few scattered frats and sororities.

    What to do for fun

    There is really not a lot to do for fun here, unless you like to party. Even then, there are not really a lot of places to go besides the same old places. You need a car in order to get around to find things to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food is decent, however there is only one dining hall. The rest of the campus food stops cost money. The dining hall is not that large, however, the school is working to build a new and improved dining hall.

    Dorm Life

    The freshman dorms are very small and do not really make for social interaction. The dorms however are decent but not that large. There is not really enough room for all the students that the school admits.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at the school are very good, at least in the science department are very good. The professors are helpful and knowledgeable and will help you if you need help. Because it is a small school the professors know you by name and are very approachable during office hours.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students that attend here are offered a lot of resources in order to help them with internships, financial aid, and career choices. The academics are great and the professors are very helpful. It takes a bit of effort to stay with your academics because the atmosphere with the students is more focused on partying than actual academics. The outside environment of the school does not have many things for students to do other than party.

    In three sentences

    Marist College is a small school located on the beautiful Hudson River. The science program is great and the professors are very knowledgeable and interested in their subjects. The school needs more diversity, however.

  • 08/12/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 27 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    My friend said it wasn't bad.

    Dorm Life

    I am excited to live in a hotel.

    In three sentences

    The campus at Marist College is breath taking. I love how beautiful the view of the Hudson River is. It truly seems like the Harvard on the Hudson.

  • 11/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is tight. The doors to the dorms are all locked so that you need an id to get in and security guards have you swipe in from 3pm to 7am every day.

    Greek Life

    Fraternities and Sororities do not have houses but they have many activities and are known around campus. It isn't a huge part of life here but it is there if you want it.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are 100s of clubs that exists along with Greek life and sports. We have D1 varsity sports, club sports and intramurals.

    Bang for the buck

    Marist has amazing connections I know that I am pretty much guaranteed a job in my field. the education is top notch and the school is recruited by many Fortune 500 companies.

    What to do for fun

    There is so much to do. Their are sporting events happening all the time, clubs host activities every week and their is usually a movie night a few times a month. Many people go and that is a lot of fun on Friday and Saturday nights.

    Food and Dining

    They always offer many different choices with a pasta bar, ice cream station, sandwich station, bagel bar, grill, pizza, salad bar, theme cuisine along with the main entree.

    Dorm Life

    The rooms are fairly big and there are several different styles for housing.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are definitely challenging and will make you think without tons of busywork.

    Tips for prospective students

    Very technologically advanced. The connection with IBM makes the technology program one of the best in the country.

    In three sentences

    The Classes are challenging and the teachers are friendly and helpful. A beautiful campus with very nice accommodations. It has a friendly atmosphere and sense of community.

  • 11/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    They tricked saying that they have a lot of clubs and activities but when you actually go here, you see nothing.

    Great for these types of students

    You would like it here if you're typical American who live 1 or 2 hours away from home or who is totally racist.

    What to do for fun

    Nothing here is fun. If you don't have a car, then prepare to live a boring life here. Taxi will take 45 mins to get to you. Frats party always got busted at 10, clubs suck and expensive. People don't know how to have fun without being drunk here. There are no activities during weekend except for movie

    Food and Dining

    Food in cafeteria sucks and so unhealthy. You will get fat by the end of the year by eating those kind of pizza, grilled cheeses or pasta every single day.

    Dorm Life

    Freshmen dorms are big but really small room. People here are loud during quiet hours

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the classes here are jokes

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're international students and are considering to go here. Do not. You will regret it

    In three sentences

    People here are very close minded to international students. They don't go out of their comfort zone to make friends with people that don't look or act the same as they do.

  • 01/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Security guards are honestly the best. Everyone loves them. They are so nice and friendly where I have had guards make cookies and hand out candy for students. Extremely helpful and everyone usually knows them by name. I always feel safe on campus regardless of the time. I can walk by myself at night and feel comfortable.

    Greek Life

    Not hugely present because there aren't any on campus houses but its still available.

    Clubs and Activities

    So many different types of clubs and activities. Something for everyone but if you cant find what you want you can start it yourself.

    Great for these types of students

    Great school for students who want to be close to the city but still have a beautiful and safe campus. Also has a good reputation in the professional world.

    Bang for the buck

    A little on the expensive side but what the experience and outcome make it all worth it in my opinion.

    What to do for fun

    There's literally always something to do on campus. For on-campus activities the RAs are always planning free programs for the dorms. Campus activities always has events every day of the weekend and sometimes during the week such as comedians, movies, open-mic nights, and many more. Getting off campus would involve going to any of the many trips planed to the city to see broadway shows, eating around town, or partying. Party's generally happen off campus and are easy to get to and from with the taxis that line up in Donnelly every weekend to take students anywhere for a really cheap price of $3 or $2. A lot of people party but of course you don't have to. You aren't considered weird or othered if you don't. Many people don't and there are still plenty of things to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food is nothing like home cooking of course but it's not horrible. Theres the dinning hall but also the cabaret which is more grill stuff. The cabaret is consistently good. However in the dining hall, honestly, the quality varies day by day but there's always something to eat and with the possibility of having a kitchen starting sophomore year its not that important anyways.

    Dorm Life

    Living in the dorms is great. You get to meet so many people because everyone is so friendly. Also, the dorms are nationally recognized so basically they're pretty great. A lot bigger and nicer than any school I looked at before.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics can be challenging but its all about the effort you put into it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get in contact with admissions right away. They are really nice and helpful and it also helps if the person who is reading your application knows you.

    In three sentences

    Marist was definitely the best decision I ever made. The proximity to the city allows for amazing job and internship opportunities along with access to exciting shows and other planned trips. Also, the people that attend make the experience that much better because everyone is extremely welcoming and kind.

  • 01/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    NYC is less than a two hour train ride away for plenty of culture, music and fun.

    Food and Dining

    Food is pretty good but could use more vegetarian and vegan options.

    Academic Rigor

    Some programs seem to be lacking in any type of critical analysis.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you give yourself enough time to study.

    In three sentences

    It's a good school if you intend on majoring in business or management. Their film and video department and liberal studies program could be improved.

  • 01/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There are opportunities to join Greek life at Marist, for both women and men.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are outgoing and personable who loved to be involved!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Check out the Marist bucket list on Youtube!

    What to do for fun

    There are many opporunties on and off campus! Marist SGA and club organizations always have fun activities to join, some including attending the Mr. Marist event, movie night, and sporting events! Outside of campus, you can explore the historic Hudson valley by visiting the Vanderbilt mansion, for example or take a stroll on the Mid Hudson Bridge!

    Tips for prospective students

    It you want to receive a great education and have a great college experience, then come to Marist!

    In three sentences

    Marist College allows you as a student to academically and socially grow into a well rounded human being in society and to connect with great people who do great things!

  • 04/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is pretty good, you can't get away with too much here and its generally pretty peaceful.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is very small here. There are only a few sororities and fraternities and they are very strict about no hazing. They're not a very large presence aside from the community service they always do and publicize.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a ton of great clubs on campus. There are a variety of performance groups such as dance, singers, and theatre, as well as a variety of academic related and co-curricular clubs. Basically if you can't find at least one club out there for you, you probably dont have a personality.

    Great for these types of students

    Athletes, communications majors, fashionistas, outdoorsy people.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Because of our location on the Hudson River, there is an event every year for the upperclassmen known as Riverfest that includes campus provided beverages as well as a lot of music.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is comparatively low for a private school but the cost of living on campus is outrageously high, making attending here a little too costly for what you are getting in return.

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of on campus activities to get involved with that dont cost much. Many people like to go out to local bars and there are also a few good music venues in the neighborhood that frequently host popular artists.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is miserable with very little variety and not enough accommodations for dietary restrictions. This is only an issue freshman year though because most upperclassmen dorms are equipped with kitchens.

    Dorm Life

    Freshman dorms can be a little tight but upperclassmen dorms are beautiful. Most are townhouses/apartments equipped with all the appliances you need to live in your own home. The only downside is that it is super expensive to live on campus compared to the cost of living in the surrounding area.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are generally not challenging. There are a lot of good, interesting classes and professors, but the workload is only as much as you put into it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you involve yourself in things here. If you aren't going to make an effort to try things and join clubs, you will probably not get much from this experience.

    In three sentences

    In general, Marist is a good place if you are a well rounded person. It is the sort of school that has a lot of good things, but no one great focus. It is not a very diverse campus, but can be an interesting place if you put yourself out there.

  • 04/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Getting bigger on campus but the rush process if very unorganized.

    Clubs and Activities

    All clubs and activities happen late at night like 9 p.m. or later.

    What to do for fun

    On weekends everyone goes to bars or sports houses.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would consider a school with more school spirt. Definitely try and stay a night to see if you really like it.

    In three sentences

    I was so excited about attending Marist College but was disappointed when I arrived. The campus is beautiful but don't be fooled the people aren't friendly and there is nothing to do during the day.

  • 05/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are numerous clubs and intramural sports. The party life isn't too bad either

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be shy, people are very personable here

    In three sentences

    Marist College is the perfect college if one if looking for a close-knit community and dorm-life. The people are very friendly, the campus is well-kept, and professors are educators and not just teachers. The small classrooms help ensure students are getting the attention they need to grasp the material.

  • 06/02/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    36 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students that

    Food and Dining

    The variety of the food is great! In terms of hygiene and overall tidiness of the dining halls, Marist is in tip top shape.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are quite versatile and can be chosen in regards to the students choice. There is a dorm which is known to have the most life, one that is smaller and a lot more conservative, and then the Leo hall which is known to be a balance. The dorms offered to Freshmans are impressive.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics push the students to exceed their own academic expectations. Marist also has plenty of courses to offer under each major depending on ones interest.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Show your passion and thirst for knowledge and what you look to do. 2. Focus on your academics, leave the admission counselors impressed with AP and honors courses. 3. Make connections, be yourself and confident when going on campus.

    In three sentences

    The ambience at Marist is very welcoming, all students have a very driven attitude and are very passionate about their academics. The campus is breathtaking; motivating in the sense that I WANT to push myself a bit harder in the steps towards success. Marist also offers plenty of opportunities for students to become involved abroad or in activities such as clubs and working on campus.

  • 06/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are blue lights around campus and in all of the parking lots. There is also a S.N.A.P program, this is where if a student feels uncomfortable walking somewhere on campus they can call a number and two SNAP members will come and walk them to their newest location.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is not huge at Marist but it does exist.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and activities, everyone can find their niche. If you don't find a club you like it is easy to start one.

    What to do for fun

    I really enjoy hanging around on campus, there is always so much to do. On the weekends their are movies and shows that come to the school. Once a month their are also trips to NYC for only 25$ you get a ride there and back as well as a prime seat at a Broadway show!

    Food and Dining

    The food here is great. There are so many different options! This year they just re-did the cafeteria and it will make the atmosphere match the food quality.

    Dorm Life

    There is no bad housing at Marist. As you get older and move up the housing only gets better. My freshman housing is where I met all of my closest friends. The housing staff does a great job of matching people up!

    Academic Rigor

    If you did well in high school you will have no problem keeping up. If you didn't do well in high school, there are many options for extra help and tutoring. Teachers are also always available to help out a student in need.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get out there and join clubs! This is a great way to meet people with similar interests, and to help you decide what you want to do with your future. Another tip would be to make sure your teachers know your name (for good reasons). Answer questions and ask questions, you never know when a teacher can help you make further connections.

    In three sentences

    I love Marist College. It has always felt like home from the second I pulled in for my first tour. I have made so many great friends, and have learned so much!

  • 06/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Top notch. I never feel unsafe on campus, even at night. You'll always see the white Honda Pilots driving around and you'll get used to the security guards and begin to know them well.

    Greek Life

    Join if you want, but it doesn't mean much to the students on campus. The frats are weird and the sororities don't live together or have houses ever.

    Clubs and Activities

    Intramural sports are huge on campus!!

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are looking for the typical college experience that includes bars, school spirit and knowing a lot of your classmates. Marist is good for a student who doesn't want to know every single person on campus but also doesn't want to be lost among their classmates. It's not huge on athletics, though Marist has a lot of successful athletic teams.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Go down to the river and make sure you jump in the Hudson before you graduate! You'll find most freshman at the mall on Saturday afternoons. They got there on the $1 shuttle from campus and they're wasting time before going to bars and parties at night.

    Bang for the buck

    Marist is pretty expensive for the size of it, but if you're looking for a good education, Marist will offer that to you. It is also constantly expanding and growing, so your degree will look even more impressive years from now.

    What to do for fun

    Marist is in an absolutely beautiful area, so the Fall is great for apple and pumpkin picking. There is so much beautiful hiking around and there are plenty of cute towns driving distance from campus. There is also a lot of history in the Hudson Valley between FDR's house and the Vanderbilt Mansion. At night, Marist students enjoy 18+ or 21+ bars.

    Food and Dining

    Marist uses Sodexo catering, so the food is very typical college food. There are not very many options on campus and the food gets very boring, but there are so many food options just off of campus. You'll find yourself going to Applebees, Rossi's, Red Fox Eatery and Campus Deli often!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at Marist are the best I have seen. After freshman year, you'll most likely be in a townhouse or apartment with a kitchen and they are wonderful. The dorms are visually appealing and pretty large.

    Academic Rigor

    Marist is definitely not an Ivy League or a little ivy but we hold our own. The communications program is said to be one of the easier programs at Marist while the athletic training and science programs are much more difficult. The remainder of the academic programs are challenging, but not overwhelming.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to the campus on a beautiful day and get a guided tour from one of the tour guides. Most of them are really well-trained and you get to pick who gives your tour. Eat a meal in the dining hall and make sure to check out the dorms and library- see if you can see yourself there.

    In three sentences

    Marist is a beautiful campus situated on the Hudson River with small class sizes and a great faculty. Marist boasts a nationally-ranked study abroad program along with really strong business and communications programs. The school holds approximately 5000 undergraduate and graduate students studying a wide array of programs, and Marist has 23 Division I sports teams.

  • 06/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security pretty much on point with providing a very safe and protected environment.

    Greek Life

    Its ok not really that big like big southern colleges but we do have them.

    Clubs and Activities

    Intramurals for various sports. My personal favorite basketball. There are also plenty of clubs to join for whatever you are really interested in.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is this great bonfire place which is a great spot to go and hang out with your friends.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of things to do for fun. There is a great gym also college activities are always putting on great shows whether its a comedian or even bingo nights. There are also lots of things to do off campus like go to the mall or even bowling alleys and pretty much anything you want to do.

    Food and Dining

    It could be better but for what it is. You can get a great meal but also got to watch out for the freshman 15.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great. Safe and friendly environment. You get to meet many new people and make life long friends.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics is really what you make of it. Pretty much what you expect from a top notch college, dedicated professors with plenty of experience working in their fields. The work is designed to really prepare you and improve your level of thinking going out into the real world.

    In three sentences

    Marist is full of opportunities to network and develop contacts for the field of your choice. Marist is filled with many resources that you can used to improve your learning. Marist is a friendly environment in which you can make many friends and meet many different people of various cultures.

  • 07/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never once felt unsafe on campus in the two years that I have been at Marist. Poughkeepsie is not the greatest area, but our campus security does an excellent job at monitoring the campus and keeping all of the students safe!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are SO many clubs on campus that finding the right ones for you will be no problem. There is at least one club out there for everyone. Because we have a priority point system for housing that takes into consideration your campus involvement in clubs, most students are really involved in multiple clubs. It is also not that hard to start your own club if you want to!

    Bang for the buck

    Marist was rated in the top 40 among Kiplinger's best values in private colleges. With the quality of the housing, professors, academic buildings, etc. you would expect the cost of the school to be higher. Honestly I think that Marist is a great bang for the buck!

    What to do for fun

    Marist is great about always having something to do for fun. Every weekend there are either student-run events going on in the Student Center or movies playing in the PAR. We have also a concert every fall and spring. Last semester we had the Goo Goo Dolls perform and they were amazing! When the weather is nice, students take to the green and we have what is known as Marist Beach, which is basically people playing music, laying out, playing frisbee or can jam, etc. Marist is located right on the Hudson River so it is also nice to go lay out on the dock. Once you go off campus, Rt. 9 has tons of things to do! There is the Poughkeepsie Galleria which has a movie theater, there is mini golf, a drive-in movie theater, the walking bridge over the Hudson, and restaurants galore!

    Food and Dining

    As a freshman you are required to be on the unlimited dining plan which means that you get to swipe into the dining hall as much as you want. Once you are in the dining hall you can eat as much as you like, which is nice because at some schools you are limited to how much food you are allowed to take, or at some schools you have to pay depending on the quantity of food. I never had a problem with the quality of the food in the dining hall. I felt like there were a good amount of options. We are actually getting a brand new dining hall this fall which is going to be gorgeous and is supposed to be focused around having food that is prepared right in front of you. I can't wait to see it!

    Dorm Life

    Marist has absolutely amazing housing! My freshman year I lived in Marian which is a Freshman dorm that is designed to have all triple and quad rooms. I had the best time there and became so close with the other people on my floor. Then, as a sophomore most students live in townhouses which are amazing. I had a great time living in Upper New last year! Then as a Junior or Senior you get to live in the townhouses across the street which are even nicer. Next year as a junior I will be living in a townhouse with a living room, kitchen, two bathrooms and eight single bedrooms. Marist housing is better than anything I have seen at other colleges!

    Academic Rigor

    Classes at Marist can be challenging depending on the subject and the professor. It is important to manage your time well and stay on top of your work load. If you do that, the courses are definitely manageable.

    Tips for prospective students

    My most important tip would be to actually visit the school. The second I walked on campus I fell in love and could see myself there. Campus tours is a very important step of the college-choosing process. Another tip would be to really think about how you are as a student and what kind of relationship you want with your professors while looking at colleges. I knew that I would not handle being in large lectures very well, so I wanted to go to a school where the class sizes were small and the professors would know my name.

    In three sentences

    Attending Marist College was the best decision I have ever made. The campus is beautiful, the professors are incredibly helpful and the students are very welcoming. The amount of school spirit Marist students have is unbelievable!

  • 07/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always security guards in the premises as well as around the schools. I have never felt threatened when on campus or have heard of any dangers besides petty thefts.

    Bang for the buck

    There are part time programs that cut tuition in half. If you are interested in those programs, I advise to apply early and get much information from the program director beforehand.

    What to do for fun

    Marist College has many activities that bring students together.

    Food and Dining

    Marist College offers plenty of choices and they even have their own coffee and smoothie shop, which is great to grab on the go.

    Dorm Life

    I cannot speak on dorm life, I do not live in a dorm. But I have heard that the new dormitory offered to undergrad students is very accommodating.

    Academic Rigor

    At Marist College, you will need to work hard for your grades. There is a lot of course work involved in many of the classes I have taken. The library is always full and you can always find help from a librarian if needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely work with your advisor to plan ahead for the semesters coming up. Apply for scholarships that the school provides. Check out the abroad program, it is a life changing experience.

    In three sentences

    A very technology-aware school. Amazing library and e-library. A lot of school spirit.

  • 07/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Nothing bad really happens on campus.

    Greek Life

    the greek life isnt very big.

    Clubs and Activities

    Marist has plenty of clubs and extra curricular activities to keep you occupied.

    Great for these types of students

    outgoing, party hungry, but smart.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The town of poughkeepsie is sketchy so do not wonder too far from campus. The first over 80 %s in the spring is the first day of marist beach (everyone comes to the main lawn to tan, hangout, and mingle).

    Bang for the buck

    Marist is over $40,000 a year which is ridiculous. That said you do walk away with a degree that will get you a job sooner then a suny school. Marist also has a good alumni program to help students get jobs.

    What to do for fun

    Go out and party is basically what everyone does. Multiple nights a week.

    Food and Dining

    The food is like every other school.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is crazy and fun!

    Academic Rigor

    Its a very good academic school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be careful if you are transferring, you will have to live in a hotel thats 10 mins down the road if they do not find you a suitable roommate by the time you transfer.

    In three sentences

    Marist is a small, fun yet challenging school. The campus is beautiful and is only an hour and a half train ride away from nyc. The people on campus are nice and friendly.

  • 08/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go out to bars!

    Food and Dining

    Sudexo is the company marist using for food. They are horrible! glad on campus housing sophomore year and beyond have kitchens (excluding Midrise). They are getting a big renovation of the cafe but if they keep Sudexo do not expect the food to be any better!

    Dorm Life

    Very good on campus housing. Would recommend all 4 years if you could. Fulton houses junior and senior are best.

    Academic Rigor

    Solid - work hard!

    Tips for prospective students

    First off I want to say I love Marist and the campus and location and everything. My main point I want to bring out is the way the school is run by the administration really sucks. There are some policies that just baffle me from my 4 years here. I just want to let people know what any time you intend to pick up the phone or go in person to Student Financial Services or Housing that those women (mostly women work in those depts.) are the rudest people you will ever meet. They do not care about you and will yell at you for being incompetent because you asked a question. I cannot tell you how many times i entered those offices with general queries and been told to my face I need to leave because I don't understand the rules These women are ruthless and really give Marist a bad name. This is mostly just a warning for parents or students who have to or about to deal with these women in Financial Services or Housing. Good Luck and just ignore them! Read more: http://collegeprowler.com/marist-college/#ixzz2cLY3I1HG

    In three sentences

    Beautiful Campus

  • 08/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is pretty much always something happening on campus. Student Programming Council works really hard to have fun activities for students both during the week and on the weekends. There are comedians, weekly movies, coffeehouses and much more. Every weekend there is a shuttle that brings you to the mall and the grocery store. Broadway shows are only $25 and they usually do one every month. You will not be bored!

    Food and Dining

    Freshman are required to have an unlimited dining plan. This means unlimited swipes into the dining hall and $25 of Thrifty cash which can be used at any of the cafes around campus. The food is not horrible. Summer 2013 is when they're actually redoing the dining hall and upgrading the food so I don't even know what it will be like when I go back in a week.

    Dorm Life

    Freshman are required to live in dorms but there are plently of options. There are four residence halls for freshman and each is a little different. Champagnat is the largest and the noisest, but it's also connected to the student center. Sheahan and Leo are similar, but Leo is a bit bigger. Marian has triples and quads which may sound horrible but it really isn't. That's where I lived and I made lifelong friends from being in that dorm. Plus there are walk in closets.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes require a lot of reading and time outside of the classroom. There will be times when you stay up late and only get 3 hours of sleep. You will be frustrated and stressed. But Marist is ranked as one of Princeton's top colleges in the country and rightly so. All the hard work is worth it in the end.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to accepted students day! Visit campus and when you do, go on a tour and attend the information session. Don't be afraid to ask questions. Take time after the tour to just walk around campus on your own. Make sure that you are 100% sure that you want to go here before you decide.

    In three sentences

    Deciding to go to Marist is the best decision I've ever made. I truly feel like I belong here and I can't imagine attending college anywhere else. It's the best fit for me.

  • 08/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are activities all the time between games,concerts ,plays it is all up to you to find what you want.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is expensive apply for as many grants and scholarships as possible.

    In three sentences

    it is a beautiful campus.the class sizes are small so your professors know you.the sport teams are division 1.

  • 11/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a blue light system on the Marist campus along with security posted at a number of positions on campus as well as at off campus hangouts at all times. Despite the all time high murder rates in Poughkeepsie, I feel safe at all times in areas watched by Marist Security.

    Greek Life

    There is greek life but sparing greek houses, actually none are permitted on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is literally a club for everything and everyone. People actually go to them because of the priority point system and the budget allocations are substantial enough to cover guest speakers and fun events (with free food for members)!

    Great for these types of students

    Marist is for students that enjoy small class size, one-on-one attention from professors and other faculty and a tight community feel. There are opportunities to stand out- it's a big fish in a small sea sort of school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The riverfront location makes it easy for people to walk on to the Marist Crew team. The experience isn't for everybody, but most people who try it stick around for at least a year. There is something incredible about getting to wake up, take a walk to the boathouse and row on the Hudson before the majority of Poughkeepsie gets out of bed.

    Bang for the buck

    Marist is expensive, yet in an average price range for private schools. Cut corners by getting good grades to maintain academic or presidential scholarship, max out on work study hours or come in as a sports recruit to get the most bang for your buck. Marist is a growing household name with considerable merit.

    What to do for fun

    There are house parties hosted by fraternities and sports teams. However, in Poughkeepsie housing containing more than a particular number of woman residents are considered illegal brothels by default...don't expect to party at a sorority or women's team house...there are none. There are also several dive-y 18+ bars in the area and lenient 21+ bars. BARSTOOL BLACKOUT. This is the biggest event. Aside from nightlife, one can enjoy the shops in neighboring New Paltz, galleries in Beacon, historical masons/libraries and local farms, as well as the occasional dinner at CIA and walks on the walking bridge.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is newly renovated with upgraded meal options. By newly renovated, I mean that new quiet and outdoor dining areas are still in the process of opening and the main dining room features vegan, sandwich, international, pasta, pizza, grill, sushi, salad, soup, cereal, and desert stations open in addition to the daily course options. Some foods are made to order. That being said, the hours are inconvenient for students without kitchens in their housing units. There are also several small coffee and food cafes located on either side of campus.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is highly variable. You can opt for different options at variable price points depending on your priority point value for the previous semesters. Some housing is outdated and cramped while other housing is part of fairly new construction with lofty, spacious floor plans. Single, double and triple rooms are available as well as build-up housing for discounted pricing. It is a wet campus (with age limitations).

    Academic Rigor

    As a private college, Marist offers courses that vary in difficulty and grading policy. By using professor reviewing sites students have some power over the relative rigor of their courses. This is both a selling point and a negative point: it is difficult to gauge the intellect of students because some chooses courses and programs with highly variable levels of difficulty, yet students can find professors with different teaching styles or policies that better foster their learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should consider academic, social and living needs before choosing Marist. The housing is limited, even for a relatively small student body, therefore students must keep up with academics, extracurriculars and behavior in order to earn priority points and secure housing. Students should also consider that the class sizes are small - people who strive on individual attention will do well at Marist, those who prefer to be a fish in a sea of students in large lecture halls will not.

    In three sentences

    Marist College is currently committed to campus-wide expansion projects and creating an environment that is more culturally diverse. Marist has branched out from its Catholic affiliation and reputation as a small party school, to become a respected institution. Students enjoy small class sizes and state of the art facilities, as well as a variety of extracurricular activities and opportunities.

  • 12/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is relatively safe. I personally have never heard about anything bad happening on campus even though it's an open-campus (anyone can walk on to campus). Because of that, the school has the SNAP program which helps ensure safety of students walking around by themselves at night. The Poughkeepsie area, though--that's another story.

    Greek Life

    The Greek Life at Marist is pretty cool because it isn't too excessive. Every sorority and frat is welcoming, however, not very diverse because of the school's demographics.

    Clubs and Activities

    Marist forces every student to get involved (especially if they want good housing) because of the priority point system. There is Booster Club, the Literary Art Society, Intramural Soccer, the Criminal Justice Society, the Student Programing Council, and many, many other activities to dive into. There is something for everyone and it is also relatively easy to start a new club if needed.

    Great for these types of students

    Marist is a place for smart, open-minded, and outgoing people. You have to be willing to break out of your shell. Honestly, Marist is a place for every type of student. They try to be pretty accepting.

    Bang for the buck

    Marist is expensive. It's a private school in the state of New York. It's worth it though. Marist tries to set students up so that they are prepared for the workforce. 'Marist' is a name that will open doors in the professional world.

    What to do for fun

    The Student Programming Council tries to have an event of some sort happening every night. They bring in comedians, slam poets, and once or twice a semester, there is a concert. They also show free movies on Fridays and Saturday nights.

    Food and Dining

    The new cafeteria has a great look. It looks like a grand dining hall straight out of Harry Potter. The staff is still trying to make improvements as the year progresses and at times, it is a bit annoying. A lot of construction is still being done in and around the caf. The staff is nice. The food is less than perfect but the school tries to have a big variety of food that is diverse in flavor and cultural origin.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are great! Very spacious if you live in Marian, however in Leo, Champ, or Shehan -- a little tight. Each freshman dorm has its perks. The RAs and RDs are very nice and they do whatever they can to make life easier.

    Academic Rigor

    Marist is a tough school to get into! They only accept about one-third of applicants. Academic rigor depends on the major that one chooses. It also depends on the type of studying habits that a student has. The school is liberal but at the same time, very competitive.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit before you come! Get to know the campus and also try to get a feel for the Poughkeepsie area. The campus is BEAUTIFUL and scenic, there's no doubt about it. Stay focused senior year.

    In three sentences

    Marist is a wonderful place to be! The students and staff are welcoming and helpful and the campus is pretty. Everyone who can apply, should.

  • 02/23/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Lazy, just like most other colleges. When students ask for help or express a concern, security guards don't seem to care too much. Also they don't snowplow very well in the parking lot, causing frustration when there is limited spots in each lot.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's always something going on around campus!

    Bang for the buck

    Marist is a bit expensive, but it is a private college so that is expected. I would recommend going to a community college for two years in order to reduce the cost, then apply to Marist, they will except most transfer credits!

    What to do for fun

    Marist is in a prime location for things to do for fun. Students could head up on Rt. 9 into Hyde Park to visit a town that is rich with historical significance. Or for something more modern, students can head into Poughkeepsie to embrace multiple avenues for fun that are available to the public

    Food and Dining

    Cafe food is on par. There are also some small coffee shops and other locations to get food sprinkled across campus. The food options off campus are fairly good; across the street of the college there are plenty of food options that will fit most anyone's pallet.

    Dorm Life

    I can not give a perspective on this category because I do not dorm here.

    Academic Rigor

    As stated above, the teachers for the most part are great and competent.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just like any other college, get your work done on time and stay focused. Remember you are at school for your grades, everything else comes secondary. Do not get hooked on extracurricular activities to the point that your grades are slipping. Basically, enjoy everything in moderation.

    In three sentences

    Marist has an absolutely beautiful campus which makes the atmosphere more encouraging to learn. Most of the professors, (with a few exceptions) are excellent and competent teachers. The activities they offer the student body as well as the workshops are a great treat to indulge in.

  • 03/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They offer multiple ski and snowboarding trips, along with discounted Broadway and Six Flags tickets. Every once in awhile there are also cheap trips into the city.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring your coat, upstate New York, especially this winter and spring, can be extremely freezing.

    In three sentences

    Marist College prestigious academic and social opportunity for anyone looking to explore New York in different respects. It is a friendly environment that is beautiful year round and filled with a great faculty. All in all Marist College is a great suit for outgoing and adventurous bright students.

  • 03/31/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    A random guy came into my room one night because he was so drunk. Lock your doors at night.

    Great for these types of students

    preppy

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The river is really nice and in the summer people go down there and just chill

    What to do for fun

    There's not too much on campus, and if you don't have a car then you have to take a taxi everywhere off campus which is annoying, but there is some fun stuff. There are cool restaurants like the CIA, and there are shuttles to the mall, and sky zone is cool too.

    Food and Dining

    Don't take your mom's home cooking for granted.

    Dorm Life

    Watch out for mice. The heating is always on full blast in the winter so you have to open the window. There is no air conditioning. If you live in Sheehan and you are a boy, beware of Shelly the ghost. This is not a joke. Champ is pretty gross.

    Academic Rigor

    Harder than high school by far.

    Tips for prospective students

    Poughkeepsie is pretty sketchy so be ready.

    In three sentences

    Marist is a place where you can either stand out or blend in. It is beautiful in the summer but freezing in the winter and windy all year round. Nothing in high school can prepare you for this, and it might just be the best time of your life.

  • 04/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Marist is great when it comes to safety and security. There has never been a time where I felt unsafe on campus, even if it was 3:00 in the morning. There are blue-light systems in place pretty much everywhere you turn, as well as Marist security vehicles circling campus at all hours of the day, and a SNAP team of students who circle campus at night as well.

    Greek Life

    There are sororities and fraternities here at Marist, but they don't make up the majority of campus life. If you are not part of the Greek Life you will not get judged, by the Greeks. If you have an interest in it do it, but if not that's okay too.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a ton of clubs and activities one can join. Pretty much any club you can think of is here, and if it's not you can simply go to Student Activities and request that club be made with you in charge. Also for the sporty type, there are intramurals for pretty much every sport. You will never be bored here at Marist.

    Great for these types of students

    For a student who loves a beautiful, picture perfect campus, is willing to work hard to receive good grades, and wants a small class size, Marist is the school for them. The Hudson River is literally right at our fingertips, we can simply take a walk down to the river whenever we please; the sunset is just gorgeous (especially with the infamous Rotunda in the background); the work-load is manageable; and when going to class you won't be a number but rather a name and familiar face recognized by the professors. Marist is great.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are many unique events that are held on campus. There is something called Foxapalooza, FoxFest, and Student Appreciation Day. The whole school gathers around on the green and in front of the river and we become one big community.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes Marist is extremely expensive, but that's should be expected since it is a private college. Marist's reputation on internships and getting their students jobs is worth the price. They may not be the most reasonable when it comes to receiving scholarships through the school; however, if you get a decent sized scholarship take it, it's worth every penny here.

    What to do for fun

    As I said, Marist's campus is just beautiful. When it's warm out there is a huge green in front of the library, which we call Marist Beach. Everyone is out there playing and having a great time, but if we are not there we are probably hanging out with friends some place else.

    Food and Dining

    There are a few places where you can go to get something to eat, but the Dining Hall is the main location; it is newly renovated and just beautiful. The staff is extremely nice and there are a ton of food options to choose from. The Cabaret is also the other main spot, but here you'll have to pay for your food, it does not come with the meal plan.

    Dorm Life

    Freshmen living is pretty standard, but it is different here because the people are great. The floors are decorated by the RA's so that there is a more homey feel. You have the choice of living in three different residents halls: Leo, Sheahan, Champagnat, and Marian.

    Academic Rigor

    Marist is a challenging college. College as a general statement is a huge adjustment from high school and it takes some getting used to. If the student puts in the time and makes the effort to want to learn, they will succeed here at Marist.

    Tips for prospective students

    If someone is seriously considering Marist, I would say absolutely apply. If the student has the grades and is willing to work hard for the next four years of their lives it is worth it. In the end, all of the hard work pays off.

    In three sentences

    Attending Marist was probably one of the greatest decisions of my life. I love everything about it from the river, to the buildings, to the overall atmosphere; everything about Marist is fantastic. Marist is a 10 out of 10.

  • 05/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe on campus but its a little creepy if you walk over to McDonalds at night; actually I don't recommend it.

    Clubs and Activities

    Here's what I'm involved in so far: Emerging Leaders Program National Society of Leadership and Success Campus Ministry Weekly volunteering at Catholic Charities Marist Singers Marist Dance Ensemble MCCTA

    What to do for fun

    sing, dance, hang out on Marist beach, run, hang out with my friends!

    Food and Dining

    Food is decent but I get tired of it because my Mom has trained me to eat very healthy compared to most college kids.

    Dorm Life

    I was extremely lucky to get the ONLY private bath dorm room in my building. I love my dorm but I'm looking forward to the townhouse-style living in subsequent years. I will really enjoy next year's living arrangements since I will be living with friends instead of being placed this year with two new acquaintances.

    Academic Rigor

    Since I've taken all required math and science courses as AP in high school, my workload has not been too difficult thus far. I'm a serious student who is part of the Honors' Program, received two Scholarships, and earned Dean���¢��������s List for Fall 2013, my first semester! I've been invited to be a member of the prestigious Dean���¢��������s Circle in Spring 2014.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join clubs. Get out of your comfort zone as often as possible; re-define yourself. Try new things and talk to many people. Marist is a mid-size school but feels even smaller. I love to walk to the river (or even jump in!). I like to sit on Marist beach, the hill overlooking the river by the library. I enjoy great friendships already and find that friendships are what make my college life rewarding. I would prefer if Marist were situated in a downtown area where we could walk to shops, restaurants, or theaters. This is the one missing link but once I have a car, I will feel better about this.

    In three sentences

    My parents have told me that I am a leader and as result of their guidance, I have come to not only believe that this is true, but also to live my life proving the truth of their words. Given this fact, I looked for a school that would allow leadership opportunities, deep and meaningful friendships, integrity, hard work, fun and security. Marist is that place that I can now call Â?home.