Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Mars Hill University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/21/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 out of 10 people found this review useful. 1 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    A student who is looking for a small family oriented school it is great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research what Mars Hill College has to offer and see if it is the right school for you.

    Bang for the buck

    Mars Hill College is a private college so it is expensive however the college will work with the students financially.

    Am enjoying being here

    There a so many groups to join and activities to so at Mars Hill College. The school is located in the Blue Ridge Mountains and the school provides trips to go hiking, skiing, and camping. There are many active groups to join to get involved on campus.

    Am learning a lot

    Mars Hill College is a small college which allows for smaller classes. Being in small classes allow for more face time with Professors.

  • 02/04/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to live in a small town, where their friends and teachers become like family.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to come here, know that it is a small college. Work on keeping your grades up, and go out for scholarships.

    Bang for the buck

    Really expensive, but it is well worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is so small, and because of that it is easier to get to know people. The college sponsors so many events, and that allows all of the students to get to know each other and the staff.

    Am learning a lot

    Because of it being a private college the classes are so small, and with that the professors can work with each student. It is so helpful and is so much easier to learn the information they give us.

  • 01/12/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Mars Hill is great for students that would like to participate in a sport in college, over 75 percent of our population are student-athletes. But I don't want to discourage non-athletes either, Mars Hill is also a great school for students who do not wish to participate in a sport.

    Tips for prospective students

    When you come for a visit I would recommend coming when school is in session so that you can meet and talk to people. So that you can figure out just how much fun Mars Hill is and get the full MHC experience.

    Bang for the buck

    Mars Hill is a private school so it is very expensive, however, Mars Hill works with you and your parents to create a plan that fits your individual needs as far as financial aid goes. They offers so many scholarships and grants that everyone here receives at least some money from the college. Its great.

    Am enjoying being here

    I personally love Mars Hill. At first it was a little strange coming to a school that was much smaller than my high school, Mars Hill only has around 1100 people. I love that Mars Hill is little though, because you will walking around campus and you know or at least recognize every face you see and that part is amazing. There are also a ton of really nice people, when you come to visit campus or if you are a student you will hardly ever walk around and not see someone a smile on their face. People are so friendly.

    Am learning a lot

    At first Mars Hill is overwhelming, but then you get used to the challenges faced in your classes. I have learned an incredible amount about new topics and new information about topics I had previously learned about in high school. Mars Hill College is a great place to come to further your education.

  • 12/05/2010

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Love to do something and take part on activities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not ever give up!

    Bang for the buck

    They said I got $3,000 a year, so I'm guessing it is starting out good. I just hope I get a job there and earn more money while studying.

    Will enjoy being here

    I hope I meet new people because with out knowing anybody and being alone won't be good for me to even enjoy being there. I am very excited to meet new friends and professors.

    Will learn a lot

    I applied to Mars Hill College hoping that I will take advantage of what they will teach me in the future.

  • 10/01/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe, everyone respects each other, you could drop a $20 bill, and someone would return it to you.

    Greek Life

    Iota Alpha Omega! The best men's Christian fraternity!

    Clubs and Activities

    Soccer and Photo, White water rafting down Class IV rapids

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Getting baptized by my fraternity brothers in the smoky mountains and the crystal clear river was the best experience!

    Bang for the buck

    The college may be a little expensive, but they are extremely open to working with the students!

    What to do for fun

    Cycle on the Blue Ridge Parkway

    Food and Dining

    Pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    Great, respectfully of everyone

    Academic Rigor

    The instructors were very fair and worked with you, office hours were never a problem and they always took time to pray for you.

    In three sentences

    This was by far the best place for an education. I previously went to Arizona State University, however I was student #45/390 in most classes. I love the location, and the Iota Alpha Omega frat. was awesome!

  • 07/10/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    6 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It is great for students who are looking for a christain base college and for students who are looking for a small family school it is great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your research of MHC to see what it is offering. Keep your grades up and to apply for scholarships.

    Bang for the buck

    Mars Hill is a private college so a little more expensive, but worth the expense.

    Will enjoy being here

    This is a new opportunity for me and I think I will enjoy the learning process in my field of study, and to enjoy my knew surrounding.

    Will learn a lot

    It's a small college, for me that means smaller number of students in class which will give more time for me to grasps the information that the professors are teaching, and for the professors to know me as a person and not a number in a class of hundreds.

  • 07/18/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Athletic; Nature loving; Someone that wants to be apart of a group; Religion seekers ( Great religion studies), Musicians, Artists.... Someone that can make their own fun without being in a city. This is a small country town area but with amazing nature.

    Tips for prospective students

    Never be scared to ask for help or tell a professor or financial aid about your situation. They are willing to work to help you. You have to work to get the grade but it is worth it!! Be prepared and on time and that is a major part of the effort. Also be ready for changes in weather! The weather changes all the time.

    Bang for the buck

    The dorms could use some help but overall the college is worth it. Yes its a private school and therefore it is a little expensive but so are all private colleges. Its small so it is more about finding who you are and growing which is the best part. You also live in the middle of the mountains which is the BEST part!!

    Am enjoying being here

    I love MHC and the opportunity the college has given me. I have learned and gained many skills since I've been there. I know I will continue to grow. The people are friendly and enjoyable to be around. If your in sports then its even better!

    Am learning a lot

    The professors at MHC are very caring and are willing to work with you! They want to see the best out of you and will try their best to work with you to make that happen. The classes are small and so its easier to ask questions and have them answered.

  • 02/06/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    8 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    -outdoor lovers: mhc is super close to the mountains and there is a plethora of activities! -people who are willing to word hard.

    What to do for fun

    there is a ton to do! you can go shopping in asheville or hiking, camping, kayaking, etc. in the mountains. whether you're an outdoorsy person or a shopaholic i'm sure you can find plenty to do to pass the time!

    Academic Rigor

    as a private college, mars hill offers an excellent standard of education!

    Tips for prospective students

    look into everything mars hill has to offer! from the location and everything there is to do in and around asheville to the sports and other programs on campus. don't be afraid to call with any questions. the people at the office of admissions are very easy to talk to!

    In three sentences

    i love that mhc is in the blue ridge mountains! as a homeschooler i am definitely looking forward to the small classes. even though it's expensive, they are really willing to work financially with the student and parents!

  • 02/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    not many things happen in small towns and its a very quiet place.

    Clubs and Activities

    clubs are very active and are supported by the college community

    What to do for fun

    there are many organized events on campus and because the location is close to the blue ridge mountains, there are great places to go on the weekends as well as many volunteer opportunities.

    Food and Dining

    it can get redundant but the faculty is amazing and so are mrs virginia's omelets.

    Dorm Life

    the resident advisers are wonderful people and make great friends and the dorms are being renovated.

    Academic Rigor

    it mostly depends on the major. a music major has the most rigor, then theatre arts and then zoology/biology

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure all financial aid is final so you don't arrive with an unsuspected balance

    In three sentences

    mars hill has such a great atmosphere and is one of strong community. the campus is beautiful and most of the professors are willing to help in any way they can.

  • 06/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus security is so good, it's annoying. Be careful where you park your car, they will give you a ticket. They are quick to respond to accidents and the local police, urgent care, and fire station are right down the road.

    Clubs and Activities

    I love going to the Christian organizations and the Outdoor Club. There are tons of other clubs for anyone from Student Council to Anime Club.

    Great for these types of students

    People who like to have fun, but aren't too over the top. Mars Hill is a dry campus. People who enjoy knowing their professors and not just being a number. This is a place where you can get 1 on 1 help.

    Bang for the buck

    Mars Hill College is too expensive for the dorm quality you receive. I love my teachers and my classes and friends, but the college needs to work on lowering it's price.

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of clubs and organizations as well as people just hanging out. Asheville isn't far away either, so if you're bored...it's your own fault.

    Food and Dining

    They are revamping the entire cafeteria to have ready-to-go stations all around. It's gonna be awesome!!

    Dorm Life

    Some of the dorms are old and they stink, the most expensive dorms are obviously the best.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look for scholarships and grants. Don't just expect help to come to you, go and find it. Also, get out when you are on the campus. Don't stay in your room, go and make friends.

    In three sentences

    Mars Hill College is a great and amazing school. However, the school is very expensive and dealing with financial aid is difficult. The people and teachers there make the experience worthwhile.

  • 06/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you have always wondered about the world this is the perfect place for you. Liberal Arts classes promote individual thinking and explore questions that many never think about. You will be amazed with the new things you notice.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Annual Heritage Festival is amazing. Vendors line the streets and blue grass musicians occupy the school courtyard. They also teach several variations of square dancing.

    What to do for fun

    There is always some kind of activity planned. If not, there are televisions and game rooms for student use as well as a projection room for mass movie or video game nights. If you just want to hit the town, Asheville is a short drive away.

    Food and Dining

    There is going to be a brand new dining facility for the 2012-2013 school year. There are also two food shops on campus, not to mention the close by diners.

    Dorm Life

    Small, but homey. This is a great place to learn how to be independent while keeping the feeling of home.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors expect a lot. The courses are challenging. However, every professor has an open door policy and is always willing to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep an open mind. The classes are designed to help you question the world and think individually. It is worth it in the end.

    In three sentences

    This is the best decision I have ever made. This is the perfect place to develop individuality while defining the intellect. The people are great and there is always something happening.

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe because it is very small. The security makes its rounds to the dormitories at least every fifteen minutes. They are also always patrolling day and night.

    Bang for the buck

    Mars Hill College is more on the expensive side, due to the fact that it is a smaller private college. But if you want to get the college experience you will.

    What to do for fun

    There is not much to do in Mars Hill. The most fun we have are going to support our athletics. Also there is an occasional dance or two. Many of the clubs are always hosting some type of game or activity depending on the night.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not the greatest or the most home-cooked meal you have ever had, but it is edible. They are in the process of making a new dining facility so it may be better by the time any new coming student should attend.

    Dorm Life

    It just depends on which building you live in. All buildings are livable but most are older. You still have a the opportunity to make it your home for the next four years of your life.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are no different from the things taught in high school. Each student should know there is still a great amount more effort put forth for these types of classes. It is more their own responsibility to go to class and work hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students should know that no place is always perfect, being said Mars Hill is on the smaller side of most schools but fulfills its purpose to teach.

    In three sentences

    Overall Mars Hill is a very nice college. I like the location and atmosphere of the campus. Classes are small and personal.

  • 08/13/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    13 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Looking for a small, private college with a Christian atmosphere. Small class sizes with great professors.

    What to do for fun

    Outdoor Club

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit all colleges that you are interested in attending!

    In three sentences

    I loved the small town atmosphere. Everyone was extremely friendly when I visited. There seems to be alot of clubs and activities to become involved.

  • 09/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There isn't much to do at MHC once classes let out. The closest town with any notable attractions is seven miles south.

    Food and Dining

    The food could use some improving. The only time that the food is good are for special events that draw attention from outside the school.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are not the best in the world. However, much is currently being done at MHC to extensively renovate all dorms and apartments, as well as constructing new dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are tough, but as long as a student manages their time well, they will succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    As with other colleges, students will need to study and manage their time well in order to be successful at MHC.

    In three sentences

    Overall, Mars Hill College is a great place to go for a quality education while having fairly small classes at the same time.

  • 09/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is always here, 24/7. We also have police doing rounds in the area making sure the campus is a dry one.

    Greek Life

    We have several sororities and fraternities, and they regularly have rush and parties to get new people.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs for just about everything, from Anime/Japanese Culture, to Black Student Associations, to Marksmanship Society. Very diverse and there's something for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    Those that want a close-knit community, who don't want to be 1 of 5,000 in a class, and are generally motivated to do work.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Sunken Garden is by far the most beautiful on campus. And before exam week, all the professors and faculty cook us breakfast for dinner in the cafeteria. The sweet potato pancakes are to die for!

    Bang for the buck

    Very expensive compared to public schools, but is fairly cheap for a Private school.

    What to do for fun

    The city of Asheville has the most fun. They have movie theatres, restaurants, fine dining, dance clubs, and so on. However on-campus entertainment, would be free movies, speeches, documentaries, films, and etc.

    Food and Dining

    The food is locally grown, sustainable, and full of vegetarian options. The food is not the best, though. The only reason most people fore-go the freshman fifteen is the lack of good options. We do have pizza ovens, however, and so that's a decent option.

    Dorm Life

    They rooms are pretty good sized. Guy dorms are a bit over-crowded, but they are building two new residence halls and renovating some of the old ones. Not a lot of air conditioning on campus, but you won't mind that when the snow hits. The views are rather nice, depending on where you live.

    Academic Rigor

    You will write papers, like any college, but I've had very few classes that made me feel like I was learning nothing new.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's best to bring a car if the small-town lifestyle is not your favorite. Try to focus on what's important, because the decisions you make now, will stick with you for the rest of your college career.

    In three sentences

    Campus is a beautiful place to grow. The teacher are engaging and are available to talk to you when you need. It's a small town where everyone knows each other.

  • 11/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Atheletes and people who like to be outdoors A LOT

    In three sentences

    Not too bad. It's a good college, just really small.

  • 11/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is pretty safe to me. I never have problems

    Greek Life

    There are Greek Life on Campus but I do not take part.

    Clubs and Activities

    The only activity i do here at school is play football.

    Great for these types of students

    If you like snow and the mountains you would love Mars Hill College.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The field house is where all the sports players go and thats my favorite building.

    Bang for the buck

    Mars Hill can great very cold because of the weather. The weather switch daily.

    What to do for fun

    I play football for fun and go down town to movies and shopping.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is excellent. The dorms are clean and the people that stay near me are cool.

    Academic Rigor

    The Academic area is great. The professors are very nice and helpful to all students

    Tips for prospective students

    This a great school full of nice a great people. It have a great view full of mountains and snow.

    In three sentences

    Mars Hill College is a great school. The environment around campus fits me. The people around campus are nice and hopefully people.

  • 01/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You have to join clubs and hang out with your friends. You can play Frisbee or basketball. The school also has a pool that people surprisingly rarely use.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafeteria is made so that no one can have an allergic reaction. So most of the food is fake and it tastes pretty bad on most days. You also won't be able to eat after six on Friday and Saturday.

    Dorm Life

    The school wants you to try to get along with your roommates so they won't switch students unless there is a fight in the building.

    Academic Rigor

    The amount of academic work you have to do is dependent on how many classes you take. Some people have an easy time because they only have four or five classes. Others have a stressful time because they took seven or eight classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is just like high school you only have to do your work.

    In three sentences

    People are friendly in mars hill. The teachers are all supportive to students. It is hard to find things to do on the weekends without a car.

  • 03/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security tries but is greatly understaffed versus the many students that have been accepted.

    Greek Life

    Delta kappa theta, Sigma alpha nu, Gamma chi epsilon

    Clubs and Activities

    Black student association. Christian student movement. Fraternities and sorities. Student government association.

    Great for these types of students

    Introverts and moutain lovers

    Bang for the buck

    The expense for the school is not necessarily worth what you are paying for.

    What to do for fun

    There are no entertainment centers in Mars Hill. You have to travel to asheville or Johnson City.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has some ok meals nothing too special and fancy but enough to satisfy your appetite. The cafe is not open late but the den is open until 11:30

    Dorm Life

    Dorm Life is not great in most of the buildings although they are building newer dorms. Rooms can vary in there appeal depending on the dorm you get into.

    Academic Rigor

    School work is not difficult but alot of effort is necessary in most of the disciplines.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for various weather changes. Mars Hill is a small town with nothing to do here. Big cities are near such as Johnson city and Asheville.

    In three sentences

    The campus is small. The people are warm and welcoming. Education is the teachers first priority.

  • 04/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to sports games, plays, bonfires or clubs. As well as go to Asheville, NC for shopping.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to work hard in your studies as well as in your work study job.

    In three sentences

    It is a very challenging school, but it has a wide selection of majors to choose from. Each student can get one on one attention with a professor to help them select their courses. The area that the college is in is small, but it is near Asheville, NC for excitement.

  • 06/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    So far i have had no troubles on campus and this is after a full first year of attending the college.

    What to do for fun

    We have big movie nights at the college, a lot of social groups and events, cookouts, game nights, etc.

    Food and Dining

    I was able to make a good healthy meal out of all of the food severed a large majority of the time. The food was good and they did have a variety. There were times where i had to result on eating pizza for the fact that i just was not interested in the food being served.

    Dorm Life

    There are some improvements that can be done in my dorm building in particular. Overall it was not bad at all i enjoyed my dorm building a lot and would return to the same one if given the chance.

    Academic Rigor

    I love the academic levels and classrooms they are small and easy to maintain there's never any trouble trying to get help when ever you need it. The teachers are always willing to help you and there are a lot of teacher student interactions in class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out the website and all of the interesting things that are held on and off campus. Once you get here i can assure you they wont disappoint.

    In three sentences

    Mars Hill has great sites and views from inside out. You have the beautiful campus on the inside and the even more beautiful mountains on the outside. I would rate mars hill as an excellent school, from the people to the classrooms it always seems to amaze.

  • 07/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Outdoorsy stuff, like camping and hiking is free and fun! But if you want to go out into asheville it can get pricy. The tuition is high as well, but financial aid is usually pretty helpful.

    What to do for fun

    If you get involved in campus activities, you will always have something to do. Asheville is also 20 minutes away, and there is never a dull moment in that city. Tons of restaurants, art gallerys, and parks. Not to mention you are in the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains, you can hike and camp to your hearts content.

    Food and Dining

    The food is ok, but improving. Six out of the seven days of the week it is pretty decent.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is what you make it! If you choose to be friendly to your roommate and surrounding neighbors you'll have a great dorm life. The RA's and RD's are always super helpful with getting you involved in campus life.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the teacher, most classes are tough and require a lot of out of class time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Incoming freshman, don't pick a major. Play around with different classes the first year while still getting your general education classes under your belt. This allows you to get a better understanding of the different majors and pick the best for you.

    In three sentences

    Mars Hill is great school really focused on helping students get the best education they can. The small scale of the school allows the students to have closer relationships with their teachers as well as the students on campus. It's wide range of majors allows prospective students to meet all types of new people.

  • 07/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    For the short time I am here, again, I rate a 5 star rating. We have a girl with us who is not a Freshman, who helps us understand the ways and rules and keeps us on track for cleaning days. But there is also a security person that keeps watch over us and we know we are safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    For the time I am here, since July 1, I give it a 5 star rating. We are doing everything. I know when Fall Semester starts Aug. 23, we will be doing Football games and community service and just enjoying a super college life.

    Great for these types of students

    Mars Hill is great for any type student. It has so much to offer to all.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I am not really here long enough to answer this.

    Bang for the buck

    I give Mars Hill 5 Stars, as I feel that I am going to get more out of college than I ever imagined. Just touring the grouds back in May, I felt I had to be here to enjoy all this school has to offer. The one thing that impressed me the most is that I was told I will a staff member monitor me throughout the year and help to keep me in a positive direction. It is expensive, but the college works with you and then fafsa helps and now I am still applying for more scholarship to help with the remaining tuition.

    What to do for fun

    I couldn't even imagine that college would be fun. As it is, I have been in Mars Hill Summer program since July 1 and have not gone home once yet. I am ready to go home to relax, as we have not stopped doing things since I got here. We have gone to the Biltmore, to barbeques, to Virginia for bike riding. We were supposed to go white water rafting, but had to cancel due to waters a little rough, but will still do it before fall semester begins. Fun!

    Food and Dining

    I get 3 square meals a day. I am enjoying being able to go out with my dorm friends or by myself to the cafeteria and eat, and in my case, the food is included in my tuition. The food is great and the fact that it is included in my tuition is such a help and a lot of pressure off of me. We also go out to dine at local restaurants from time to time. 5 Stars

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life has been super. The girls are like a family, a family who stand by each other. I have made several new friends and am so pleased to have met each and every one of them. 5 stars

    Academic Rigor

    I am taking Personal Finances and Computer Art Graphics. My professors are great. I am enjoying college and the fact that I could take summer courses and get adjusted ahead of time is such an asset. 5 stars

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to Mars Hill and enjoy the beauty of N.C. and enjoy a staff of people that make college, especially Mars Hill College, a place you want to be. They are with you and behind you all the way. I could have never imagined it to be so great.

    In three sentences

    Mars Hill College is an excellent college, beyond what I could have imagined. I am presently in a summer program and will enter Freshman year, Aug. 23, 2013. I find the college staff, employees, professors, etc, the most helpful and concerned people that I could have ever hoped for.

  • 10/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety should never be something to worry about. Campus Security is driving around 24-7 and is available to escort anyone that feels unsafe.

    Food and Dining

    There are three options of dining on campus that are all very tasty. Also there are restaurants that are located within walking distance of the campus to give variety.

    Dorm Life

    There is always something new to participate in or games to play. There are meetings that are called Crossroads that is similiar to Chapel that meet twice during the week.

    Academic Rigor

    Mars Hill College challenges you to do your best in all that you do. It is not extremely difficult but the professors push you to think outside of the box.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus for starters and speak with students and faculty.

    In three sentences

    Mars Hill is an amazing school with many activities to participate in. Mars Hill is also a beautiful campus where everyone is friendly and easy to talk to and make friends. Security is very high at Mars Hill, so there is always a safe feeling.

  • 12/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Mars Hill's campus should be a little safer, security does not come all the time and also some of the dorms back in the wooded areas need more lighting so definitely bring a flashlight along!

    Greek Life

    Greek Life at Mars Hill is pretty fluent. Some students were a little disappointed because of some of the missing sororities and fraternities that they didn't have there.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs on campus are pretty cool. The clubs on campus run events sometimes which can be very exciting for anyone!

    Great for these types of students

    Mars Hill is great for the type of students that don't like to leave their dorms, love the cold, and also who like to just chill on campus with friends instead of leaving campus all the time.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Some traditions that we have at Mars Hill University is a back to school party that the school holds, and also a reading day which is a whole free day of no classes before exams!

    Bang for the buck

    Mars Hill is pretty good for their school book prices, and their small classes. This makes one on one learning possible, also their math and writing center.

    What to do for fun

    What to do for fun here is to definitely make sure that you have a car, because during the weekend there is not much to do at all on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Mars Hill is pretty good. Quite a bit of the food there though is in need of seasoning because it can be distasteful sometimes.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at Mars Hill College are not what you call cozy except for the two dorms added this year (Laurel, Dogwood). The other dorms on campus are run down, dirty, rusty, and in need of repair.

    Academic Rigor

    Mars Hill as far a learning it is wonderful, the professors are well in their teaching abilities and you will definitely succeed!

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips for prospective students I would say is to make sure that you know what your going to be later in life as far as your major goes. If you do not know don't waste your money because you might end up there for a longer period.

    In three sentences

    For Mars Hill College I would say is an inviting college friendly wise. The mountain weather is very frigid, so beware and bundle up on campus. Mars Hill College I would recommend having a car to entertain yourself on the weekends!

  • 01/19/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Overall pretty safe just some of the lights around campus will be burnt out and take forever to get fixed but you can always call security if you feel unsafe or need a ride to your dorm

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a number of different clubs and organizations

    Great for these types of students

    Students looking for a small community oriented school

    Bang for the buck

    Mars Hill is a small private University so its going to be on the expensive side although the college will work with you on financial aid

    What to do for fun

    Asheville is only about 30 minutes away, there's Weaverville which has more fast food joints than just hardees and subway, theres also clubs you can join and the occasional event that you can go to

    Food and Dining

    Some nights are good others are not the food quality varies greatlly wiht each passing day and they only serve really good food on special occasions or visitation days so you always have those to look forward to..

    Dorm Life

    Most of the dorms were built towards the mid 1900's, the heating sucks and maintenance takes a ling time to get to a problem you may have unless you bombard them multiple times about problems.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the teachers are very helpful if you ask the right questions, they can always be reached in their offices and are very helpful in answering questions about anything, but be prepared for a ton of work and taking classes that you might not think you honestly need for your major. The classes are also very small.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for very cold weather. Make sure you have a way to get food on the weekend (the caf has odd hours on the weekend), make friends with someone who has a car or drive your own.

    In three sentences

    This college is out in the middle of nowhere but not too far away that you can't find something to do. It reminds me of an upper level high school because it's so small and most of the buildings on campus are out of date and need to be renovated badly especially the older dorms. But overall it's an okay college, I give it a 6/10 rating.

  • 02/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They act more like dictators to students than helpful security officers. They find ways to get you in trouble more than keep you safe. They arrive late to all things whenever called. They are not physically fit and cannot contain a fight, instead have been knocked out and leads to multiple people in the hospital. Most of the time the cops are called before campus security is called. They believe that they are the law and cannot see that they do not help anybody but the trustees pockets and their own recognition.

    Greek Life

    No greek housing, very few greek chapters, and the only one that was worth joining was disbanded.

    Clubs and Activities

    Most sports will not cut a person from the team. Most clubs do little around campus and there are not too many events.

    Great for these types of students

    Cloggers, football players, lacrosse players, outdoorsy people, cross country people, and students that enjoy old people.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Clogging is the greatest thing since single sliced cheese on this campus. Not too many things except possibly a haunted campus. Painting the giant rock anytime is fun too.

    Bang for the buck

    You do not get what you pay for at Mars Hill.

    What to do for fun

    There are some fun things to do, such as the outdated weight room with machines from the 1980s in there. The intramural sports is fun but no real areas to play most sports on and there is a lack of intramural sports. Free wifi so online gaming and internet. It is a dry campus so a lot of sober fun.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria which is not open 24 hours a day or even 18. The den (only other place to eat on campus) is closed more times than open. On Saturday nights after 7pm there is no food available unless a student is willing to drive to Waffle House which is the closest restaurant in walking distance. The food is more times undercooked and raw then overcooked or cooked to perfection. All students eat in the cafeteria because it is the only place that accepts the Mars Hill student card. There is no organic food. Most vegetables are starting to rot. The only time food is cooked to perfection is when there is a health inspection. Mars Hill is in desperate need for a Michael Irvine figure to redo and teach the chefs how to cook.

    Dorm Life

    Newer dorms such as, Turner, Bailey, Brown, Laurel, Dogwood, and Azalea have little flaws but some mold. Other dorms like Myers, Dixon, Gibson, Huffman, Edna Moore, Stroup, and Fox have an abundance of mold and problems. In the newer dorms it is quieter and has nicer bathroom facilities and air conditioning. In other dorms it is always a ruckus and few Residential Advisors such as Benjamin Bunch (Clay) become violent when confronting certain individuals.

    Academic Rigor

    This is a liberal arts college. Unnecessary classes are required and most credits do not transfer.

    Tips for prospective students

    Only come to Mars Hill if it is your last resort. If you enjoy peace and quiet this is a great school for you due to the amount of elderly people on or near the campus. There are lots of opportunities to enjoy the wildlife and wilderness adventures.

    In three sentences

    Mars Hill is an institution that looks great on paper but when you get to Mars Hill you find out it is a retirement village thirty minutes away from real civilization. The food is terrible because it is not government funded, instead it is backed by a baptist society. The trustees run the school more than the president, that is why there is little things to do around here and so little nice things.

  • 02/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's always something sports-related going on.

    Tips for prospective students

    Put this one at the top of your list!

    In three sentences

    1. Academics - The teachers here are very helpful and knowledgeable. 2. Campus - Beautiful campus, kept very clean. 3. Staff - University Staff are all very helpful and available.