Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Mary Baldwin College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/30/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 1 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Mary Baldwin is great for people who don't mind being in a small and very quiet town. If you like being out in the country then you will like it here. It's a very beautiful place to look at. If you're serious about your education then this a good place for you as well because it's a good place to get some studying done.

    Tips for prospective students

    Mary Baldwin is a great school, but if you have to be fully aware that it may be a complete change from the environment that you're used to at home. This can be true for other schools as well. Mary Baldwin College is an all girls school in a very small town. Before deciding to live there you have to think about whether or not it's the right environment for you. It's important to visit and check out the dorms and all the facilities before attending any school not just Mary Baldwin.

    Bang for the buck

    Because Mary Baldwin is a private college, it comes at a pretty high cost. Whether or not the Baldwin experience is worth the money is a decision that can really only be made by each individual student. I feel that I'm getting my money's worth at Mary Baldwin. I enjoy the learning environment and the social environment at school. The dorms are nice as well. Freshmen dorms all com equipped with floor to ceiling storage and a sink and mirror. The dorms also have lounge areas and kitchens. There is also a gym that is free for students. They even offer free workout classes throughout the week.

    Am enjoying being here

    Mary Baldwin is located in Staunton Virginia, which is a very call town. Being in a small town is something that was hard to get used to because it's unlike home in the suburbs. There are a number of school events put on by different clubs and organizations. This gives the students something to do on a weeknight or a weekend. I personally come to enjoy the small town environment because I feel the school is more oriented towards studying than partying. Even so, that doesn't mean we don't have fun. The school has organized carnival events, mixers, shopping trips, spa days and each Saturday night there is an event for anyone who wants to come. The clubs and organizations put together a wide range of activities for students to become involved with. If you like volunteering and being socially involved or if you like watching improve there will always be something for you to do around campus. If campus events aren't your thing then there is always a party scene at JMU, which is thirty minutes away. There are also events that happen in downtown Staunton for people who like live bands and good food.

    Am learning a lot

    The courses at Mary Baldwin can definitely be challenging. Of course some classes are harder than others and some professors are more helpful than others, but the small class size creates an environment where students can connect with their professors better. General education classes at Mary Baldwin have about twenty students. The ability to connect with fellow students and professors in small classes has been helpful to me because I can follow along to the lectures and ask questions when I need to. I really feel as though I have learned a lot this semester.

  • 12/07/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 6 people found this review useful. 2 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Someone who wants a small campus and student body. Not a party school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study and get involved.

    Bang for the buck

    There is a wide variety of classes but there are a lot which are not offered more than every other year. There are plenty of opportunities to get involved on campus and plenty of leadership chances.

    Am enjoying being here

    It is a very small town and campus but allows you to get to know people well. Not always a lot to do around town over the weekends. However, there is always plenty to do on campus!

    Am learning a lot

    Classes are small and there is a lot of individualized instruction.

  • 12/09/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Girls who want to focus on SCHOOL. Girls who do not want boys interfering with school. Girls who care about the community and are ready for heavy community involvement.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want a party, do not come here. If you do not want an ALL GIRLS SCHOOL- NO GUYS- DO NOT COME HERE. While some girls can handle the no party and all girls school, not all of them can. VISIT the campus first to see if you like it. While they do give out a good amount of aid your first year, that should not be the only reason you attend. Again, this school is not for anybody.

    Bang for the buck

    While the freshmen dorms may not be as good as the upper clansmen, and some of the facilities are not 100% top of the line, they do the best they can to make sure you get the bang for your buck. It is a privet college- so it is expensive, but they do try to help! Our since center is getting ready to under go a $1.2 or so million dollar renovation. If you apply yourself, anything is worth the money.

    Am enjoying being here

    Mary Baldwin is A GREAT school, but, if you are the type of girl who likes to party then NO it is not the school for you. But, JMU is about 45 minutes away, so it's not to far from a party school if your up for a party. If you don't like parties that's great too! You can just stay on campus!

    Am learning a lot

    I've been attending MBC since my Christmas break, and I would have to say that I have learned a lot. The facility is very up front and willing to help- IF you step up to the bat.

  • 09/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 4 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There hasn't been any safety issues since I've been here. But MBC does send out alerts if anything is happening on or near campus. There are security officers walking around daily.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life.

    Great for these types of students

    International Students

    Bang for the buck

    If it wasn't for the money I would not be attending Mary Baldwin College. I have adjusted well and I am only here for my education.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't much to do on campus. About a minute away is a movie theater, and a couple boutiques. If you want fun, you will have to travel outside of Staunton.

    Food and Dining

    Honestly, the food is not good. If you want something to eat, I suggest you go to the Pub. There they serve hamburgers, chicken tenders, salad, wraps and more. It's good for on the go or to sit and relax after classes.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm Life isn't what I expected. The bathrooms and stall are really out to date as well as the laundry rooms. The furniture is old as well. There are problems with the water too.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes aren't that difficult. All of the professors leave their schedules pretty open to get in contact with them if you don't understand something or if you have any concerns with the lesson.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are planning to attend Mary Baldwin I suggest you bring your car with you. There isn't much to do on campus. Also while focusing on classes, take advantage of the writing center, the free tutoring and peer advising.

    In three sentences

    Mary Baldwin offers a lot of scholarship money to help pay for tuition. They also help new students transition easily from high school. The classes are small, personal, and inviting.

  • 07/29/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Mary Baldwin is the center for any Physical activity/health students. They have gateways for healthy living and it's a huge campus to walk daily. Mary Baldwin also has the absolute best accessibility for theater/Shakespeare majors! The theater programs are beyond phenomenal. I didn't personally do theater as my major, but I helped out in the theater constantly because it was so warm and welcoming. Mary Baldwin is located right down the street from a Shakespeare playhouse that's stunning and it's amazing to watch the plays even if you're not looking into it as a major.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan to attend Mary Baldwin, don't skip classes. That's the one thing Mary Baldwin teachers don't like. They take the time to come to teach the courses and get to know each of their students, so in return they like seeing their students. Go to Gypsy Hill, a huge park that has amazing scenery and take every opportunity to see downtown Stanton. It may seem small, but its magical for the people who enjoy seeing old little shops that are open and homey.

    Bang for the buck

    Mary Baldwin's cost rises about two thousand a year. It's expensive but its a good school. If you've got the money, go for it.

    Did enjoy being here

    By far I enjoyed attending Mary Baldwin. It was difficult on my health because there are limited options for disabled students and I had an issue with walking one semester and the stairs created huge problems for me.

    Did learn a lot

    I learned a lot attending Mary Baldwin for two years. Mary Baldwin is a school on the small side which made it perfect for education. Each class had 20-30 people and was very personal. You knew each teacher you had and they knew you by name.

  • 05/10/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Search around. Really get a good look at these colleges to make sure it fits you.

    Bang for the buck

    I hope it is !

    Will enjoy being here

    i feel like this is a place suitable to my personality. Minus the competitiveness of the boys, i think i could really focus on my schooling here.

    Will learn a lot

    This college seems very focused on education, after all, you are there to learn. They have many study programs available to help find the one that fits you best.

  • 06/17/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 7 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    LGBTQAI community, sheltered, young people, wanting an easy diploma.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring board games, DVDs, books, and creativity because there isn't anything to do in Staunton. You'll also want to bring money for pizza because that's all you'll be ordering from Dominos.

    Bang for the buck

    Food is horrible. They aren't really to good at keeping the paths clear of snow and ice in the winter, even though they are heated. The teachers are good. Free laundry!

    Did enjoy being here

    They are horrible with matching roommates, so I had some pretty bad ones. Plus, the RAs are not really too helpful when it comes to uncomfortable roommate situations. I hid in the library for the most of my freshman year.

    Did learn a lot

    The teachers here are very helpful and want you to succeed; actually they may be a little too helpful sometimes. It really isn't like college. It is actually a lot like high school, considering there are a lot students that are accepted at MBC who are anywhere from 12-18 (they bypass high school). Furthermore, the food is dreadful for what you are paying, but there is a wide variety of cereal for you to eat at every meal along with a side of ice cream.

  • 05/10/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Women who do not mind going to an all girls school. Women ready to lead and change the world.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to work! And get active in the school, that is what Mary Baldwin is all about, being involved.

    Bang for the buck

    If you worked hard in high school and take challenging courses, they will reward you for your hard work. Also, all the opportunities they offer make it worth the cost.

    Will enjoy being here

    It has everything I wanted in a college: small, focus on learning, focus on the classic college experience without the massive parties.

    Will learn a lot

    The school is very focused on getting students involved in the school and leadership opportunities. The professors are very interested in their fields and it shows in their teaching.

  • 04/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You will feel very safe on campus. Like any other campus, you should be very aware of where you are going and when you go out. However, there are usually no problems on campus with this. Campus Security is awesome. They will help you whenever you need it.

    Greek Life

    There is none.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs you can get into. Most clubs sponsor fun activities campus wide and are a lot of fun to go to. So you do not have to be actively a part of a club to have the perks and fun that they have.

    Great for these types of students

    MBC is perfect for people that do not mind a small community with all women. If you want to get your work done and get a quality education, this is the place to go. If you are looking for a party scene, do not come here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Apple Day. This is usually the first day off from classes you will get. However, it is SO MUCH FUN. Apple Eve and Apple Day is just about the biggest event on campus. Apple Eve the school throws a big party for us. Food, drinks, fun, bonfire and a party. It is almost like the school's homecoming. Apple day you can go out and pick apples that are donated to charity. Sounds boring, but it is a lot of fun. After is a huge breakfast and then a fair. NEVER SKIP THIS EVENT.

    Bang for the buck

    You get what you are paying for. Tuition pays for FIVE academic terms. Fall term, Spring term and May term. May term is an extra three week term that ends by the usual time other schools ends. You will take up to four credit classes and only take them for three weeks. Fun classes are given during this term. So in short, you get a lot of classes done. My Freshman year I finished 39 credit hours. This is considered a lot, but you have the opportunity to get a lot of classes done in a short time period.

    What to do for fun

    Honestly, there is not too much to do for fun. HOWEVER, the school has a lot of options. Roughly, once or twice a month, there is a mixer. Go to those. They are usually free for MBC students and are a lot of fun. Downtown Staunton is also a lot of fun. It is a very safe town that closes fairly early. Go to the park, Mug Shots, Coffee on the Corner or even Hookah Dookah. There is a lot of things to do downtown if you just look for it. I promise. HOWEVER, the best thing that MBC does is DOWNTOWN MOVIE MADNESS. Once a month on a Thursday, the school buys out TWO movie theaters. Then they allow the students to go to a movie for FREE. You can also get a free popcorn or drink. Keep in mind, these are NOT old movies. THESE ARE NEW MOVIES. There is no catch. Just go twenty mins before the movie starts and BANG you get a free movie. The school also does first Friday events. Once a month they'll do a free or cheap event (usually under $10) and take students off campus for snow tubing or a water park or something fun like that.

    Food and Dining

    It could be better. It could be a LOT worse. Because it is so small, there are not a lot of choices, but the food staff is very nice about working around your diet and giving options that are healthy and good for you. Some days are just bad. So keep a stash of food in your room.

    Dorm Life

    Freshman dorms are not the great, but they are nice. Compared to other schools, they are awesome. Freshman dorms have sinks inside the rooms are a good size larger than other first year dorms in surrounding colleges. However, the school is very picky about noise and quiet hours. You will be written up if you make too much noise. However, this does not happen to often.

    Academic Rigor

    You will be challenged. Even some of the general education classes are a little difficult. It is college. So it will be hard. Also keep in mind, since it is a very small college, professors keep attendance as a grade. If you skip too many classes, you will lose points on your overall grade or possibly fail the course. However, keep in mind that if you just go to class, you practically get free A's. Also, there are a lot of resources made available to students. The writing center and tutors are there to help you with papers and subjects you do not understand. Also, most professors are VERY helpful when it comes to explaining concepts in and out of class. Since it is a small college, teachers will stop and explain concepts because there are not a lot of people in the classes. Most classes run about 20-30 people MAX. There are a few exceptions, of course.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep in mind that MBC is an ALL WOMEN'S COLLEGE in a small town. Unlike most single sex institutions, there is NO brother school. So in short, there is not much to do and you will not see a lot of guys on campus. If you like to party, this is not the place for you. There is always something you can get in to but MBC is very strict on students when it comes to noise and activity. HOWEVER, MBC provides a lot of events for you to be apart in. There are a lot of mixers and you can see a lot of guys there. Also, MBC does UNPROCTORED EXAMS. This means that you can take your final exam WITHOUT a teacher WHENEVER YOU WANT during exam week. There are a few rules of course that go along with this, but as long as students keep up integrity, we should be able to keep this unproctored exam schedule. This also allows you to start breaks early if you take all of your finals early. Also, keep in mind that MBC has a LOT of hills and walking. Pack a lot of walking shoes and cut down on the high heels. Heels on hills do not mix.

    In three sentences

    MBC gives a well rounded education experience. They will give you challenging work and push you to do your best. Don't give up and get help when needed and you should do very well here.

  • 06/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is generally a very safe one. The security office has even implemented BAM alerts which send messages about any dangers or disasters to every student on campus through text message and email.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life at Mary Baldwin College because it is an all women's college. Many students have attempted to establish sororities; however, the college itself is viewed as one large sorority.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are very many clubs and activities including but not limited to: College Democrats, College Republicans, Bella Voce, strings quartet, hiking club, Colleges Against Cancer, Circle K, SOULS, American Chemical Society, VWIL Band, Black Student Alliance, fencing club, and many, many more.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone can fit in easily at Mary Baldwin College. The student body--while small and all female--is rather diverse; students can be aged anywhere from 13 to 100 due to the ADP and PEG programs. There are also military cadets on campus from VWIL (the only all women's corps in America). Women of all sexual orientations are also accepted whole-heartedly with the LGBT group SOULS being one of the most active on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition, room, and board for 2011-2012 totaled to $36,500 which is admittedly very expensive but MBC generally makes it worth the money.

    Food and Dining

    There is one main dining hall on campus, as well as a small a la carte dining hall. The food in the former is generally healthy and tasty, with quality raising significantly on event days. The food in the latter in greasy, but the general public prefers it. There is only one meal plan (19 meals a week) which all on-campus students are required to buy unless significant diagnosed health issues prohibit.

    Dorm Life

    Freshman dorms are very old, out-dated buildings. The upperclassman dorms are much better but smaller than dorms at most larger universities. There are many dorm rules since Mary Baldwin is a women's college governing everything from male visitation to bathroom usage.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors at Mary Baldwin College take learning serious. Small class sizes ensure that the professors come to know your name and are willing to help any time you ask for it. However, the professors do expect you to ask for any help and will not just hand it to you.

    In three sentences

    Mary Baldwin College is a small private women's college in Staunton, Virginia. The college is generally a good choice for any woman who is dedicated to her education.

  • 09/04/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 44

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I'm so excited that I got accepted! I think this would be a great experience for me. And, they gave me a really nice scholarship!

  • 10/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    If at anytime you feel unsafe you can call campus security and the will escort you wherever you need to go.

    Greek Life

    We do not have any greek life on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are far too many clubs to list that are offered here at MBC. We have theater club, social work club, psychology honors club, step dancing club, fencing, event planning committees, and the list goes one and on. If you want it we probably have it or some variation of it.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for students who are focused on their education and making said education count.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On campus we have a fun tradition called Apple Day. On Apple day girls go out and volunteer to pick apples to help feed the hungry in our community. Also on Apple Day there is a huge carnival that has super fun activities and events, but I believe the most fun thing is on Apple Eve when we have our dance party.

    Bang for the buck

    You receive a high quality education and will pay less for that education than at other similar colleges.

    What to do for fun

    Warning to those party girls out there. Unfortunately, Staunton is not the place to be if you want to go to parties and do things of that nature. The college itself offers a wide variety of activities such as Movie Madness where you can go to downtown Staunton and watch a free movie every month and receive a free beverage or popcorn. Also they offer events that include going bowling, karaoke, block parties and other fun things. If you want to be active they offer Zumba and Yoga at no cost to you to do in your free time which I highly recommend.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is very unique to say the least. The offer healthy choices, however it may not be the comfortable food you are used to at home. Overall though it is on a much higher scale when compared to other dinning hall food I have had from other colleges which barely pass for food.

    Dorm Life

    I currently live in Spencer Dorm(one of the two freshman dorms) and love the comfortable atmosphere here. The only down side is that they do not have air conditioning in either of the freshman dorms, however living in the mountains it will get cold at night if you open your window. *Note-They will put in an AC unit in a room if a student has a medical condition which requires it.

    Academic Rigor

    Being a freshman you can see the academic differences between college and high school and though it will be an adjustment there are many resources on campus to help you if you feel apprehensive or uncertain.

    Tips for prospective students

    If at all possible try to apply early so that you can try to figure out what more you may need to do financially. However don't worry if you don't receive what you expected or wanted for financial aid in your acceptance letter because there is still another chance to receive more in your financial aid package.

    In three sentences

    Mary Baldwin College offers student many opportunities in their education. The faculty and staff are committed to not only making you a better student but helping you to grow as an individual person. The atmosphere here is that of acceptance and confidence.

  • 03/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    With an office in close proximity, campus security definitely has a presence here. They are more than happy to assist students or escort them back to their dorms after dark if needed. Only a phone call away.

    Greek Life

    Since the school is basically a huge sisterhood as it is, there is no Greek life here. However there are academic societies and other programs that you may join.

    Clubs and Activities

    The women of Mary Baldwin have a variety of interests, skills, and talents. This has lead to the creation of numerous clubs and organizations ranging from the political to the artistic that cater to them. Dancers, singers, athletes, Democrats, theatre enthusiasts, cheerleaders, key club members, and those interested in relay-for-life can all find something to enjoy here.

    Great for these types of students

    Women focused on pursuing their academic goals as well as augmenting their college experience with leadership opportunities. There is also a celebrated Shakespeare program linked with the ASC for graduate students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Apple Day (carnival-esque) and Kwanzaa (a colorful and artistic celebration of African-American heritage) are two of the biggest traditions on campus. However Movie Madness, a night for students to watch a free movie with popcorn, is also popular.

    Bang for the buck

    Since it is a private institution, the school is expensive. However, Mary Baldwin is notorious for attracting students by offering generous scholarship and grant money. You will get a quality education here provided that you enroll in a program that the school is known for (such as Psychology, Teaching, or Social Work). Other schools may have better opportunities.

    What to do for fun

    Staunton is a historical and pretty town filled with lots of quirky shops. Students enjoy the movie theaters, thrift stores, organic grocers, and coffee shops offered downtown. The American Shakespeare Center (in walking distance from the school gates) also puts on great plays. On campus it is suggested that you audition in the theatre, or join a club or sport for fun. Having a car is ideal if you want to party, as JMU is one of the closest colleges to us.

    Food and Dining

    Horrible. Hunt Dining Hall (the main food facility) is one of the main things complained about at this school. Most students brave the walk up the mountain to the campus Pub which offers a more palatable variety (if monotonous) of fast food. There is a 100 percent chance that you will order food or spend money down town for something more enjoyably edible. Work-study checks may evaporate in the face of China House, Split Banana ice-cream, and Dominos.

    Dorm Life

    Poor. While doing laundry is free on campus, there is a definite lack of washers and dryers offered. The dorms are old, and most do not have air conditioning. Only the freshman dorms have sinks in their rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    It is very easy to succeed here provided you actually attend class, pay attention, and study for the exams. Difficulty ranges among the disciplines with the sciences and math departments having the most rigor. The professors and advisors really do care about the students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring walking shoes, invest in a car, and devote a bank account to simply buying food.

    In three sentences

    If you can deal with women 24/7, probably taking out loans to cover tuition, living on a mountain, a multitude of steps, horrible food, and crazy parking you can deal with Mary Baldwin College.

  • 04/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is open.

    Greek Life

    Nonexistent. Although there is a group on campus consisting of African-American students that mostly serves the purpose of a sorority. They host many events, have many traditions and are very exclusive.

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons of clubs but barely anyone attends meetings and every year a few fail. Very few activities, especially as the year progresses.

    Great for these types of students

    If you're studious (or want to be studious sometimes), love a small community and don't mind the lack of boys Mary Baldwin is the place for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The mascot is a Gladys the fighting squirrel who proudly wears pearls and she is featured walking around during Apple Day, a campus tradition. Apple Day embodies community service and the college's community togetherness, and no there isn't as much apple-themed dishes as you'd think.

    Bang for the buck

    For the size of the school and quality of the dorms the price is fitting. For the food, not so much.

    What to do for fun

    The school has a few organizations that have events every now and then. The Baldwin Program Board has the best ones. They have an event every third Thursday that utilizes both movie theaters and plays their own selection which you can see for free with either free popcorn or drink. In the beginning of the year there are a lot more events, but as winter and spring come around it's more sparse. Finally, downtown has a few shopping options (like thrift stores and vintage stores) and some nice restaurants (some give discounts).

    Food and Dining

    This is included in your tuition. Unfortunately, there are only two dining facilities on campus and no dining dollars for off-campus dining. Additionally, there are pretty limited closing hours (breakfast ends at 9:30, lunch at 1:30 and dinner at 7:30) and the food is cafeteria-style, no seconds until the last half hour of dining, and yes this is enforced. For the vegetarians,vegans, and people that eat halal/Kosher there are very limited pickings, though there is a salad bar that is always open. Dining services boasts in their healthy choices, but not in tasty ones...

    Dorm Life

    The dorms here are awesome! All of them are extremely nice compared compared to traditional public school dorms and a lot of freshmen living in the freshmen dorm have been fortunate enough to have one-person doubles and two-person triples. All of the upper class dorms are really nice, one even features a loft in every room!

    Academic Rigor

    If you want to challenge yourself you can, if you want to slack off you can do that too. The community and the small-class sizes are really encouraging and doing well is almost inevitable. Like all schools, some professors make the class harder than it should be but other than that all the professors stick to their office hours and can be very helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the college first. If you don't think you can handle small-town living, you probably can't. A lot of freshman transfer their first and second semesters because the school can't offer what large city colleges can (like concerts, shuttles, dining dollars, etc).

    In three sentences

    Being in a small all-girls school in the mountains is a great experience. You make close friends, can focus on your schoolwork and get involved on campus. Leadership and standing out isn't hard and both students and professors support you.

  • 06/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Usually the campus is extremely safe. We've had a few incidents this past year that are rare, but scary. Just remember that our campus is very open. Most people on campus are absolutely safe, but you can't instill that trust in the townies, or visitors from other schools. But all in all, it's a pretty safe campus. I go walking around upwards of 2 in the morning and I don't feel threatened.

    Greek Life

    None. It's an all-womens school. We're kinda like one big weird sorority.

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm sure our clubs are fine, I don't have any personal experience in them. We do have a big club fair toward the beginning of the year that's worth checking out if you are a club-inclined person.

    Great for these types of students

    Girls who think they'd be more comfortable around the presence of other women. Other than that, it's really up for grabs. You've got to come and visit to see if this is the best fit for you. Maybe even spend the night! Try to envision yourself here

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Apple Day is fun! Unfortunately, the ever-coveted breakfast is WICKED crowded. Get there early if you want to find a seat!! Walk around campus!! It's pretty and it's hilly and you're sure to find a spot where you can catch some peace and quiet.

    Bang for the buck

    Expensive school with very good financial aid.

    What to do for fun

    When I say it is a small school and a small campus, I mean it. A lot of the time, you've got to make your own fun around here. There is a party scene over at JMU that a lot of girls enjoy for the first few months here before that runs dry. I personally don't mind us being in such a small town. While some weekends can get boring, you're living down the hall from all your best friends, it isn't that hard to have fun. The school tries its best to entertain us with movie nights at the downtown theaters, or campus-wide events; you get what you put into it. You can have fun here if you try just a little

    Food and Dining

    Okay, this is the number one thing I would change about my college experience. The food. Don't come here expecting delicious food because you will be SORELY disappointed. While mostly edible (and even great, like on she-crab soup days!), the food is subpar at best most days. You may find yourself with better luck up at the 'Pub', our second dining location on the other side of campus.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm situations vary. I lived in Spencer for my freshman year, and it was great. The rooms are spacious, freshman dorms have sinks in the room (which you will miss greatly when you are no longer there). If you can, pick your roommate beforehand. While me and my roommate got along great, almost no other set of roommates got along at all on my hall. People were constantly moving around and hating each other due to bad matches. Try and save yourself from the stress! The kitchens and (communal, btw) bathrooms in most dorms are a little outdated, but functional.

    Academic Rigor

    It REALLY depends on the professor. I've had professors that are super lax on deadlines and give minimal work, but I've also had professors that gave work that required me to pull frequent all-nighters. It alllll depends on who you get.

    Tips for prospective students

    VISIT THE COLLEGE BEFOREHAND. I know it's tempting to just accept enrollment on a whim due to the great financial aid, but this school is definitely not for everyone. I visited the campus four times before attending in the fall. Be sure you know exactly what you're getting yourself into.

    In three sentences

    A small diverse community of women. Small, lovely, very open campus. Friendly staff and friendly students.

  • 06/22/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    16 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Female students, this is a private school for girls. Also many international students attend this school. I think they enjoy the atmosphere.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for scholarships if you dont plan to attend any other colleges. As well you might want to get a car because there are no walmarts and city like shopping centers.

    Bang for the buck

    This school was very costly for an out of state student like myself. I would have been paying more out of pocket than I would get compared to financial aid. Then there is the books and the cost of transportation to get to and from the school during breaks.

    Will enjoy being here

    Mary Baldwin is a nice school. The entire campus streaches over hills and grass covers more than buildings do. There is a small city walking distance from the school. I'm talking directly across the street.

    Will learn a lot

    The reason MBC was my dream college was because they are a private school that offer many majors that are rare to the east coast. Because the campus is so small I would imagine that everyone is more friendlier. This would include the professors whom I was told are close to all their students.

  • 06/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students that want creating life long friendships and create new experiences should apply.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not worry about distance from home and other colleges. Amtrak and local airports are close to Mary Baldwin so that you are able to journey home with no problem. With James Madison University only 30 minutes from campus, access is very accessible to students.

    Bang for the buck

    Mary Baldwin offers classes that area colleges don't offer. In the Spring of 2011 I was able to take a History of Furniture class for Art History. This is a class that you would not be able to take at any other college. Here you can expand your learning for the same price as any other class on campus.

    Am enjoying being here

    What more can a student ask for then the great views of the Shenandoah valley from Cannon Hill at Mary Baldwin College. Whether it be in the fall, winter or spring the environment around you always gets better.

    Am learning a lot

    Mary Baldwin has a reliable academic environment. Whether you need help with assignments or need advice from your adviser, the faculty at Mary Baldwin are always on hand to offer support.

  • 07/09/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    18 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    LGBT community, high schoolers wanting to go to college, women who are very sheltered

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't go to MBC if you are an art major. If you are into sociology, MBC is probably a good bet though because Cary Usher is awesome.

    Bang for the buck

    I got a decent financial deal but it wasn't worth it because I was miserable at that school.

    Did learn a lot

    If you are serious about art, DO NOT ATTEND MARY BALDWIN!!! I was an art major at Mary Baldwin and DECRIED my art courses. (However, I did love my general education courses.) My opinion holds validity because I am not a slacker; MBC gave me a yearly $10,000 scholarship for ALWAYS maintaining above a 3.5. The Flawed Aspects of Mary Baldwin's art program: *The painting and drawing courses DO NOT HAVE REAL CLASSROOMS because they are in a gymnasium size room with cubicles. While my recent teacher tried to explain methods,oftentimes rock music and hammering from the other cubicles drowned her voice. This teacher admitted that she couldn't even hear her students when they asked questions. *The classes are infiltrated with immature, noisy 14-17 year olds due to the steadily growing PEG program. *There are no standards to grading methods. One teacher just put a random letter grade on art pieces without any explanation. *I have heard that Professor Sconyers (the only photography teacher) doesn't know photoshop too well. I have also heard many people who are serious about photography claim that he comes off too lax which is why the program attracts individuals who are lazy and not creative. One girl admitted her high school photography course was more rigorous, and that after attending Mary Baldwin, she never wanted to do photography again. *In the printmaking courses, Professor Sconyers teaches the methods out of order, which is confusing. Also the area is waaayyy too small for the work that has to be done. *Most art courses are only offered once a year. Art courses are only 3 credits but have 6-8 hours of classtime. The aforementioned results in students sometimes having to take two courses simultaneously! Yes, you read right...MBC art faculty expects students to possess Hermione Granger powers. *Many art students are rude and socially inept. When I tried to do photoshop in the art computer lab there was ALWAYS a group of 6-8 girls who ALL had on different music videos and television with the volume turned up. Sometimes the girls would even dance in the lab. In many of my classes, the girls talked loudly while the teacher lectured. *Many of the courses, particularly printmaking and photography, have the aforementioned chaos...even when people are trying to take tests. The crazy thing is that the teacher never discouraged this. *There must be low standards for hiring/keeping staff. One teacher has consistently received bad reviews from ALL of her students and yet she is still a part of the faculty. The past graphic design teacher (not the current one, who is actually good) was so terrible that she gave up halfway through a couple of her lectures and admitted things like, It's been a while since I used flash. Plus that past teacher was really mean. ***The senior art project critiques were the most disorganized part of the whole system. *They are at a set time a few times each semester. For me, this time was always when I had another class, which I HAD to skip in order to go to the senior critiques. Unfortunately, there is no rule that this counts as an excused absence, so as a result my attendance grade in that one course suffered. *There are so many art students that each student had less than 10 minutes devoted to her project, which resulted in not enough to no feedback. *Professor Sconyers didn't give me any advice during my year of senior critiques. However, he slammed all of his critiques on me when he graded me at the end of the semester. (I was very upset by this lack of support.) *There was no method to grading senior projects: no written evaluation, or even a verbal explanation of the grade. The grading was based on pure opinion. My poor roommate never discovered her grade until it was posted online because the faculty claimed they needed more time to think about her grade. *Mary Baldwin only offers a B.A. in art as opposed to a B.F.A. which is frankly not enough courses in art to excel to full potential. I could continue my list. However, I will conclude by declaring that after attending Mary Baldwin College, I no longer have a passion to create art.

  • 07/25/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Don't knock it 'til you try it. Baldwin is not a party school, but it does have it's own social atmosphere. Try everything and don't tip your nose at something new and unknown. You'll be surprised at the many things you lean from just getting out of the dorm and trying something new.

    Bang for the buck

    Baldwin may be on the expensive side on the Internet, but many grants and scholarships are provided to students who maintain good academic standing. Also the financial aid office is known for helping students and families with payment plans that make college affordable.

    Am enjoying being here

    The women that you meet here are going to be apart of your life for a very long time. Especially since Baldwin has gateways that fits the personality of each student accepted. In these gateways you will build close knit friends and even feel like family before the years are through.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors here really do care about their students success in the classroom. They are willing to work with students outside the classroom and even after hours to ensure that students are grasping the information.

  • 02/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    could be better

    Clubs and Activities

    i can't really name all of the clubs on campus but there is a lot.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    one unusual tradition is we have a holiday that we miss school for it is called apple day. and during this day we don't have school and there is a huge carnival for the students.

    What to do for fun

    there is a beautiful downtown area that is great to visit. also the school sets up a lot of activities that people can attend, such as mixers and movie night on campus.

    Food and Dining

    the food service works very hard to insure that everyone is happy with what they are eating and paying for. they have suggestion boxes where any student can put their request in, and for the most part the dining hall pulls threw.

    Dorm Life

    there are some facility problems since the buildings are so old. for example, there is no air conditioning, but the rooms are nice and spacious.

    Academic Rigor

    i feel that the academic is hard, but it is suppose to be and as long as you organize your assignments then you will do great in class. also they have free tutoring provided, you just have to make the effort to attend.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you look at all of the majors and minors that are given, so you can have an idea of what you are looking at. also come and visit the campus because the atmosphere might not be for everyone.

    In three sentences

    it is a very good school to attend if you are interested in attending a small college rather than a large university. the professors hear care tremendously about their students and they work hard on insuring the best material they can provide. this is an amazing college to attend, because of all the opportunities they can give to you.

  • 03/11/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    21 of 44

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    nice school.

  • 04/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have our own security guards

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs you can join. So get involved.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Unusual traditions on campus is Apple Day. You get the entire day off from classes and everything you eat will have apples. It is a nice size carnival that we have on campus.

    What to do for fun

    Visit downtown. It is a historical area. Get involved in the community because the people you meet will make your experience even better.

    Food and Dining

    The food can be way better but there are other places to eat on campus and close by campus if you do not always want to eat at the dining hall.

    Dorm Life

    Having a commuter bathroom is a lot to handle when you are use to having your own bathroom.

    Academic Rigor

    There small classes where everyone knows everyone and your professors really do know you by name.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not allow your friends to keep you from reaching your goals and your full potential. Your college experience is what you make it.

    In three sentences

    Mary Baldwin College is a close community and a beautiful campus. The faculty and staff are wonderful. Everyone you come in contact with wants you to succeed.

  • 04/30/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    23 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food was very good and they help you eat healthy

    Dorm Life

    The VWIL dorms are not the best structurally but they group is very tight nit.

    Academic Rigor

    This school seems to have academics as the most important thing.

    In three sentences

    This is a college for women that has an amazing military program in it.

  • 06/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are on top of things! The school makes campus police easy to locate and has policies dealing with visitors that make this a safe environment.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs and activities are active and meet / occur often. There is always something to do at Baldwin (unless it's 1o'clock in the morning and you're just bored XD).

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for any and all students. There are numerous groups and tools on campus to help every type of learner. There are different gateways and places for students who have different interests, but all students are welcome. There are so many different types of people here that you wouldn't believe.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year the campus stops to celebrate Apple Eve and Apple Day. On Apple Eve, classes end early to get ready for the night's festivities - a small, free carnival with lots of games and food. On the next morning students can opt to go apple gleaning at an orchard. (Students who attend are provided transportation.) All of the apples gleaned by students are donated and go to families in need. Then, for the rest of Apple Day, there are more festivities (and no classes).

    Bang for the buck

    Mary Baldwin is a very expensive college to attend, but they attempt to make up every cent in scholarships. With as much financial aid provided by the college as at Baldwin, it's pretty darn cheap compared to other universities, especially considering that MBC is a private college.

    What to do for fun

    You can always visit with friends on campus, and there are extracurricular groups for everyone here, but if you get sick of being on-campus, it's only a short walk downtown. Literally -- it's across the street. There are two movie theaters that let students see a free movie once a month, there's an amazing ice cream parlor, and, not too far away, there is a park with a pond, picnic benches, swings -- the works.

    Food and Dining

    I'm not going to be as enthusiastic about this point. Not gonna lie, sometimes the food here is awful, but most of the time it's pretty good. And hey, if they're serving fish or some less appealing meal, there are some nearby places to get food, cheap.

    Dorm Life

    There's always that one small group who tries to ruin things for everyone, but somehow Baldwin knows how to keep them scattered. If you're nice to your neighbors, they're nice back and you have a pleasant year!

    Academic Rigor

    These classes are pretty tough, but they're great! Your teachers do their best to work with you and your schedule, and there's always free tutoring available on-campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be put-off by the idea of a women's college. Sure, girls can be crazy, but for the most part the women I've encountered at MBC are amazing. Don't let that one Debbie Do-nothing discourage you from the experience you can have here!

    In three sentences

    Mary Baldwin College is just what it says - kind, compassionate, and changemaking. This campus may be small, but some of the greatest people work here or attend this college. When you're at Baldwin, you can always find your place.

  • 06/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 44

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Free movie nights downtown are a big hit. We have live musicians downtown and on campus around all the time. Get out of your comfort zone! go downtown, meet people.

    Food and Dining

    I personally greatly enjoy the food here but a lot of students complain. Again, do not be too rigid in your ways, be willing to try new things. Not a good place for vegans though..

    Dorm Life

    They like to have everyone get along. Be prepared for hall competitions and lounge movie nights.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are harder than others but overall the course work is easy. One on one time with a professor is impossible to avoid because the class sizes are so small.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be willing to see things from another persons point of view; being too rigid will make life here hell.

    In three sentences

    Mary Baldwin is a great school for the students out there who didn't think that they could make it to college. The people here are diverse and accepting. You will meet people here from all walks of life.

  • 07/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 44

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I share time with family and friends whenever possible, as much as possible. I exercise, go to church and share life with the ones a truly love. We do not know how long we will be in this world, and the beauties of the world are not material, but the abundance of family and friends who truly care for each other.

    Food and Dining

    Food has always been my weakness, I love to enjoy good food. This is why I love MBC because they demonstrate they concerns by preparing healthy meals for their students and staff. Bonappettite

    Dorm Life

    I had the wonderful opportunity of a week of learning on campus as an adult student; it was the best experience ever. I had the chance to see how younger adults experience dorm life. I enjoyed it, but the most impacting experience throughout it all was the ability to come back to my real life and acknowledge that what I have is the best thing. So, enjoy it while it is there!

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor is somewhat like your life, you have to abide by the rules in order to be successful. Learn the rules and play by them

    Tips for prospective students

    Always stay in tune with your adviser, professor and/or support staff. Take time to learn as much as you can, and apply that knowledge so it will stay in my memory longer. Education is an opportunity to succeed, work hard at it.

    In three sentences

    Great environment for adult learning and real life opportunities. Caring and nurturing staff and community. I am a squirrel girl for ever... I love it!

  • 11/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We do live on an open campus, but the campus security is always in their office. 24/7

    Greek Life

    Little Greek life. Only academic.

    Clubs and Activities

    This campus has so many clubs, from horseback riding to harry potter. If there a club you're interested in then we probably have it.

    Great for these types of students

    Mary Baldwin College is the type of college that allows a girl to be challenged and grow. The type of girls who come here are bold and strong, challenge normality, and want to be their best.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Baldwin loves it's traditions such as Founders Day, Signature Ball, Christmas Cheer, and our most favorite tradition: Apple day. Every year Baldwin students look forward to Apple Day, and we even get the day off. First we go Apple Gleaning for charity, then we have an Apple Day feast, and lastly we have the Apple Day fair. It is so much fun.

    Bang for the buck

    While it is an expensive school, the educations is more than worth what you pay for it. Plus the connections from going to an all-girls school is definitely worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Go see Staunton! The little community has a lot of fun activities. You can also take part in Baldwin activities or join a club. I would suggest bringing a car to drive up to Harrisonburg or even to Walmart.

    Food and Dining

    If you are a fan of southern food, you will love the colleges food. We have two dining areas, the main dining hall and the pub. Mary Baldwin prides itself in using fresh, local food. Even if you don't like the food, you can always use the kitchens in each of the dorms.

    Dorm Life

    Some of the girls are very loud, and the matches aren't perfect for roommates. If you don't like your roommate you should ask for another.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the best professors teach here. Academically Baldwin prepares you for any problem you might face and helps you discover who you are.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a school that will allow you to party every night and still pass with high marks, this probably isn't your school. If you love having small classes with professors you can connect with, then this your school.

    In three sentences

    A small all girl's college. Baldwin has an amazing following of Boldly Baldwin Women. We are smart, strong, and proud.

  • 11/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 44

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Mary Baldwin is located within the historic downtown of Staunton, so there are quite a few things one can do for fun. The school also organizes activities, events, and mixers.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall serves decent food, however the hours are somewhat restrictive. The food is generally low-calorie, which can be problematic for certain individuals. The dining service seems to be obsessed with healthy eating, which is not particularly good. Overall, the meals are edible, and there is a relatively large variety.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are comfortable. The rooms are much larger than those of many other schools. The building are kept very clean. The only downside is that some dorm buildings lack air conditioning.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics of this school are of extremely high quality. Students gain a wide variety of knowledge that will benefit them later in their academic lives and future careers.

    Tips for prospective students

    While attending a small college has its benefits, the variety of majors offered is limited. Certain departments are small, due to the lack of students pursuing certain subjects. Do research on your intended major and course offerings of the school beforehand.

    In three sentences

    Mary Baldwin is an allover good school. The professors are dedicated, and the courses are of good quality. For a small school, there are good opportunities.

  • 12/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You can see security around, and nothing has really happened yet. Staunton at night time is pretty shady, and it's probably a little bit dangerous off-campus.

    Great for these types of students

    If you love the small town feel and aren't really /that/ interested in partying every weekend, Mary Baldwin's great.

    Bang for the buck

    Probably too expensive for most students, but Mary Baldwin does offer a lot of scholarship money at least.

    What to do for fun

    Every month the Baldwin Program Board hosts a movie night where students can go to the movie theaters for free and get either a free popcorn or drink. The movies are current and change every month. They also host other events, like Spa Day and Apple Day. Each dorm has their own events as well.

    Food and Dining

    Hunt Dining Hall's vegetarian options kind of drop off in the middle of the year. The salad bar is always open thankfully, and their toppings (like sunflower seeds, dried blueberries, pumpkin seeds) change everyday. Their soups are usually quite good. The vegetables are either hit or miss. Usually they're either too salty or not salted at all.

    Dorm Life

    Some dorms are wonderful, and others... feel like a step back to the 60's. Most of the dorms have air conditioning though, and the RAs are pretty nice. The lounges are usually pretty neat and nice to hang out in with friends. 3/5

    Academic Rigor

    Not terribly difficult. The teachers are very helpful so long as you take the time to approach them and ask them for help. As long as you study, you'll be fine. It really depends on what you're planning to major in. The Science department isn't that big or prestigious. I'm not too familiar with the humanities side of Mary Baldwin, unfortunately.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the Blackfriars Theatre in Staunton! It's a lot of fun, and like many other stores in Staunton, it offers student discounts. Events when they happen are usually pretty nice. Don't be too excited about the dining hall though-- their food ranges from great to terrible in a matter of days. The Pub is always open, and Grab-n-Go isn't a bad option either.

    In three sentences

    Mary Baldwin is a small school, and it certainly feels like it. The events are usually small scale, and the town of Staunton gets boring after a couple of weekends. There is a great sense of community though, and the staff and other students are friendly.

  • 01/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Extremely safe environment.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many are available. If the one you want isn't available yet, you will be encouraged to get an academic advisor to work with you and you can start it yourself.

    Great for these types of students

    Young women who will thrive in a small, mostly female environment. Some guys attend classes, but they live off-campus. Excellent PEG program. This is a program for exceptionally gifted girls age 13-15 who are ready for college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Apple festival in the fall. Everything 'apple'. Lots of free fun and food.

    What to do for fun

    Shakespeare theatre, movie theaters, coffee shops, park, all in a safe environment. Campus is small so the officers know who belongs and who doesn't. They approach and speak to people who they don't recognize.

    Food and Dining

    Most food is healthy. You won't get dessert here except for ice cream in the warmer months.

    Dorm Life

    Rooms are OK but not spectacular. Bathrooms are clean.

    Academic Rigor

    Fairly laid-back just don't fall behind.

    Tips for prospective students

    Rent your books. Keep in touch with your profs. Keep up with things day to day: don't let them build up.

    In three sentences

    Small college with professors who know you by name. Classes stay on topic with useful information. Small town life with plenty of things to do.

  • 03/07/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    31 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    great security you can call them to escort you from the car to open doors.

    Greek Life

    No greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    it is easy to start a club if there isn't one you like. Not that many exciting clubs tho,

    Bang for the buck

    Overly expensive for a liberal arts college and recently they changed dinning hall rules so that's ridiculous.

    What to do for fun

    Down town sometimes has live music and events. You have to drive a bit for some really good fun. Not a lot of shopping close by you have to drive at least 30-40 minutes for that.

    Food and Dining

    Dinning hall can be good sometimes but a lot of times they are horrible

    Dorm Life

    Rooms are ok. A lot of times the RAs can be over bearing but its pretty nice rooms. Just RAs check in a lot especially on weekends to make sure you are not breaking any rules.

    Academic Rigor

    Its a liberal arts college so its not as rigorous as many other schools. But great non the less. The teachers push you as much as they can.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for the hills and stairs. M.B.C stands for mighty big calves. The Student rules are extensive and sometimes overbearing. This is ] not a party school so if you are looking for a party school this is not for you.

    In three sentences

    Amazing teachers who are really invested in students education. Has great small town atmosphere. Great Liberal arts college.

  • 03/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security always drives around the campus to make sure all is in order and the students are safe.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is one tradition called Apple Day. It is a day where classes are cancelled, you go apple picking, and for the remainder of the day there is a carnival to celebrate.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't much to do on campus. However, there is a theatre you can go to, two movie theatre to go to, and Gypsy Hill Park to take a break from campus and stroll around the park. You can even feed the ducks!

    Food and Dining

    The food at the dining hall is not good. For me personally, I have gotten sick from the food. Go to the Pub, they have different varieties of food that you can take to go or sit and relax either inside or outside to enjoy the nice weather.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life was different from what I thought it would be. There are different dorm rooms, some out-dated while the others are nice. However, the hall would have fun games a couple of months and watch movies. They are strict about quiet hours so don't make to much noise!

    Academic Rigor

    These academic classes are difficult and challenging. It is a small college, and the classes are not that big. Professors does keep records of attendance and if you miss to many classes, they will mark it down. If you have any trouble in any of your classes, there is a writing center and tutoring center that would assist. Also your professors are very caring and would help you in any way possible with any assignment you are having difficulty on.

    Tips for prospective students

    RESEARCH!!! Go on their website and do some research, check out the majors and minors they that have to offer. Schedule an appointment to have a tour to check out the dorms, facilities, and where the different buildings are. If you have a car bring one!!! It would help out a lot.

    In three sentences

    Mary Baldwin is a small women's college. The school offers a lot of scholarships, and is a good choice for anyone woman who is dedicated about their education.

  • 03/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    CSA is the best club on campus and also ASK

    Great for these types of students

    The rich, the type of students that do not want boys around.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Back in those days, the senior would be catered to at Hunt Dining Hall every Sunday.

    What to do for fun

    If you have a car, then that;s fun for you.

    Food and Dining

    The food is horrible! I got food poisoning.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are okay. Some of the girls here can be very dirty. So, be careful on deciding what kind of person you would like as a rommate.

    Academic Rigor

    I am an intended Biology major, but I do not like the Biology department here. They do not reach teach you the information well.

    Tips for prospective students

    For prospective students, please be prepared! Attend all your classes, address your teachers as professor, and excel!

    In three sentences

    To be honest, I am used to a large city so I am not really used to the small, vintage environment. Honestly, I am not impressed with the school. The tuition is very expensive.

  • 03/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's open campus but nothing bad every happens in Staunton

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Alot of helpful and fun clubs activities to do.

    Great for these types of students

    What do you mean? This survey doesn't make sense?

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Apple Day. The only day off!

    Bang for the buck

    i'm not sure what you mean?

    What to do for fun

    Everything! you find things to do in this little town!

    Food and Dining

    Gross!! besides the pub most of the time I hate hunt

    Dorm Life

    The people here are really chill so you'll make fun

    Academic Rigor

    It's quite easy, but it's just alot of work like any other college.

    Tips for prospective students

    You should keep your grades up. The teachers are very helpful. The campus is small.

    In three sentences

    three sentences?

  • 03/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Don't have one we are ONE SISTERHOOD

    Clubs and Activities

    BSA, CSA, Colleges against cancer, SOULS.. We have everything you can name of ..

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Apple Day is the day we don't have classes and students go to the apple orchard, we also have a carnival that day.

    What to do for fun

    For fun you can attend BPB events, mixers or go to neighboring schools.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't the greatest so be prepared to eat outside or have your own things to cook in dorms.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life isn't for everyone. As a freshman you have very strict rules and visitors aren't allowed whenever you want. You have to sign everyone in and yell man in hall when a man is with you.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are mostly concerned about where to party and where the boys are and you don't have a car this school isn't for you.

    In three sentences

    Mary Baldwin is a wonderful school if you're main focus is school and not getting drunk. School provides you with everything and professors assist you when needed. School is a big family that like to help one another.

  • 06/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 44

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Bowling, Skating, Movies are free the first thursday of every month for us at the movie theatres. We have parties.

    Food and Dining

    There is much to chose from at the pub. Dining hall have good food here and there. School is in tower, so there are always diners you can go to or fast food.

    Dorm Life

    You can always make your room your own.

    Academic Rigor

    Small school means more time with your teachers. You gain a relationship because each teacher knows you by name and that helps most students want to do better if they see their teacher cares.

    Tips for prospective students

    focus and get to know your teacher. It is a small classroom based school setting and here the closer you are to your teacher, the more likely you would succeed because they love a student who is eager to learn.

    In three sentences

    Small school setting is better for thoses who need extra attention. Friendly school. All girl school be aware because some people attend not knowing.

  • 06/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 44

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I would say that if you have a car on campus, you could go home for the weekends, or go to JMU, Bridgewater, or UVA for parties. Mary Baldwin Students get in for free at the Bridgewater events.

    Food and Dining

    The food was okay during the summertime, but as it gradually gets close to the fall/winter months, it begins to deteriorate.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are old and are hard to live in. Living in Spencer my freshman year, the fire alarms are very sensitive and can go off at any time.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel like I am in high school. I just do not feel challenged here.

    Tips for prospective students

    My advice for incoming freshman and transfer students is to be prepared for the hills and the food! The food is not that great.

    In three sentences

    To be completely honest, Mary Baldwin is a nice institution if you are looking for less of a distraction and a quiet environment to do your studies. Their dorms are not decent and there is no diversity. The library is nice and very helpful.

  • 07/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is everywhere and seriously they see and hear all.

    Greek Life

    Academic only.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs and activities galore!

    Great for these types of students

    Mary Baldwin is great for girls that don't care about parties and boys. Also, for girls that want to make great friends (without the guy drama).

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every October MBC has Apple Eve and Apple Day. Apple Eve there is a huge gathering in the gym, where each class plays dodge ball against each other and at the end there is a huge dance party. On Apple Day, students can choose to go pick apples for charity or they can sleep in. The dining hall cooks an amazing feast that puts Harry Potter feasts to shame and in the afternoon there is a carnival.

    Bang for the buck

    I don't exactly know what this category means but MBC is private so it may be pricey but the academics is top notch and the campus is beautiful.

    What to do for fun

    MBC is located in Staunton, VA. Staunton is a very small town but it is one of the cutest towns in America. In fact, it was named #10 in best small town in America by the Smithsonian Magazine. It is in the heart of the Shenandoah Valley, which offers great outdoor activities. The little cafes are always a treat and MBC offers free movie tickets every 1st thursday of the month. If that's not good enough, James Madison University, Washington and Lee, and University of Virginia are each 20 minutes away....and they always have social gatherings.

    Food and Dining

    MBC has one of the most beautiful dining hall that has a view of the entire city. It is big and the food is good. There is also the Pub, which is easier to access form the art building and gym.

    Dorm Life

    MBC has three freshman dorms. Spencer, Woodson, and Tullidge. Spencer dorms is the best and nicest but Woodson has the working elevator. All upperclass dorms are super nice with air conditioning!!! Dorm life is key. The ladies that live around you become your friends and confidants.

    Academic Rigor

    Each academic department at Mary Baldwin has amazing professors that really do care about your future. Classes can be very hard but the key is to always study and pay attention in class. The professors mention their office hours frequently for your benefit. If you don't go to them they will go to you, small campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    To the women who plan to attend Mary Baldwin College, DO NOT EXPECT TO HANG WITH GUYS WHEN YOU COME HERE. You are planning on attending an ALL WOMEN'S COLLEGE. There are no guys, except for the few Adult Degree Program members and they are old. Make sure you are aware of this because I have seen girls drop out because they are furious that they can't get a boyfriend. Also, ladies you are attending a college, just like any other, be aware that your studies are going to be more rigorous and time consuming. This college is small, which will benefit you, because your professors will know you by name and face always.

    In three sentences

    Mary Baldwin College is dedicated to helping women succeed. Mary Baldwin College strives in the advancement of women in society and cultures worldwide. Mary Baldwin College is a tight knit community with excellent professors.

  • 08/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has a history of being safe. On site security is always on alert and the police station isn't far.

    Greek Life

    I am unaware.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of multicultural clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Females of different backgrounds and nationalities are welcome there. I think it's great for everyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Apple Day is fun and usually filled with games, food and lovely prizes.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a private liberal arts institution so that cost of attendance is higher than federally funded schools. Students should be ware.

    What to do for fun

    Bowling is near by. Ice-skating in Charlottesville is nearby. There are 5 historic districts in the Staunton community which make for very lovely walks with friends.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is ok for the first year but repetitious the subsequent years. There is a small selection for vegans and even less for gluten intolerant people.

    Dorm Life

    An all girls campus can be a challenge for young ladies hoping to meet suitable bachelors for dating or marriage. Some ladies complained about the condition of the dorms but I loved mine... of course, I was in the best one because we housed under age gifted students. I will say that the other dorms weren't up to par.

    Academic Rigor

    Mary Baldwin College has been called a great school for a b level student. Professors are known for working with students who are not able to turn in assignments by the deadline... especially if the students are adults.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get connected to college staff...they can help you more than the student body. Bring extra money for snacks; the cafeteria has strict operating hours, open 3x per day only. Befriend someone with a vehicle or save up money for a car the summer before school because a number of fun establishments aren't necessarily within walking distance.

    In three sentences

    Mary Baldwin College has an excellent program for teenage gifted students. Mary Baldwin College has a tight knit community perfect for students who might be overwhelmed by a large university. Mary Baldwin College has an excellent alumni network.

  • 09/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is available security at all times.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's plenty to choose from!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They say one of the buildings is haunted by Mary Baldwin herself!

    What to do for fun

    Watch movies, hang out with your newly made friends, go downtown where they have great shops & restaurants- but only after all your work is done!!

    Food and Dining

    It's not bad, the food is totally eatable & can go above & beyond.

    Dorm Life

    With the right roommate, everything can run very smoothly, & the lounges are amazing! perfect for movies & hangouts-but only after work is done!!

    Academic Rigor

    Strong, but not impossible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work first, then possible playtime can be considered! Don't be afraid to ask if you don't know something or you doubt your information. If the first person you ask can't help, go to the next! We are all squirrels here! (College mascot). Just don't be uncomfortable by the thought of going to a woman's college, it's distinguishing & eye catching.

    In three sentences

    I love this college more then I thought I would! It's an all-woman's college, meaning a lot of sisterhood bonds. It is most definitely NOT one of those party colleges, but you can still find yourself distracted when you go to the historical downtown they have here in Staunton.

  • 01/29/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 44

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can always go downtown. However, there is not much to do there either. You can watch a movie at the theatres. If you want to party, then a car would be required to drive down to JMU. If you want fast food, all of that would be in driving distance. Bottom line is... there is nothing to do for fun. On campus activities can most likely compensate for that.

    Food and Dining

    The food is bad. They lack the simple necessities such as ketchup and their food tastes bad. They have a poor selection and they are stingy with the amount that they give you.

    Dorm Life

    The freshman dorm is hectic. Upperclassmen dorms get better. The dorm you want to have is King. However, you would have to pay extra for that.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your major and professor, the classes may or may not be rigorous. I believe that all classes are do-able.

    Tips for prospective students

    Expect to be in an all girls setting. Being involved in clubs and activities is suggested if you want to have friends.

    In three sentences

    This school is focused on their studies. It is very different from a regular college and university. If you want to focus on school and not anything else, you should attend here.

  • 03/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Honors and Hispanic

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Apple day

    Bang for the buck

    Great

    What to do for fun

    Play sports

    Food and Dining

    Could be better for vegetarians

    Dorm Life

    Great

    Academic Rigor

    difficult

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! A very welcoming campus.

    In three sentences

    Epic... Epic.... Epic

  • 05/16/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    43 of 44

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    MBC is a great college for those who enjoy the small town atmosphere. This college has many leadership gateways to soothe any student interest. I personally chose the Virginia Women Institution of Leadership (VWIL) , it is a very intense program from what I have gathered.

  • 06/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is pretty safe but our security officers cannot carry any weapons so if there was a shooting or something you're pretty much on your own

    Greek Life

    No sororities allowed on campus

    Clubs and Activities

    There's many clubs, but not all of them are very active. If youre really social person you should join BPB.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who are very liberal, are into the arts

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Freshman dorm used to be a hospital, possibly haunted

    Bang for the buck

    Not worth 40,000 a year unless you have mad scholarships

    What to do for fun

    Coffee on the Corner

    Food and Dining

    Limited choices on campus, and most of the time its barely edible.

    Dorm Life

    Every floor has a tv room, unless you are in woodson then there is only 2. RAs are great, so are the maids.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on your professor.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Bring a Car 2. Buy a refridgerator and food. The dining hall is only good when Richard cooks. 3. Join Clubs 4. Pick your room early 5. Go to Blackfriars during pay what you will

    In three sentences

    Campus environment is quiet and close-knit. Dining hall food is not so great. Downtown is a really good place to hangout.